Villa Tortuga Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Villa Tortuga reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Islazul Los Delfines

4.3 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 14, 2014

Mercure Cuatro Palmas

4.2 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 23, 2014

Acuazul

4.1 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 14, 2014

Club Tropical

3.8 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 10, 2014

BelleVue Sunbeach

3.8 based on 30 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Varadero Internacional

3.8 based on 94 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 25, 2014

Villa Tortuga  

Calle 9 e/ Bulevar y Ave. Kawama. Matanzas
(Varadero Maps)

"No lo recomiendo para nada!"
Posted by: NATALIA ELENA TORRES  on May 12, 2012
see all reviews

Villa Tortuga Reviews
Villa Tortuga Pictures and Information
Villa Tortuga Varadero Cuba

#2
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.1

Based on 76 reviews

Villa Tortuga Information


Villa Tortuga has vast open spaces and lush green gardens that perfectly contrast the turquoise blue of the sea.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Villa Tortuga Reviews

Villa Tortuga Review: 4.1 of 5 76 reviews
Excellent
  30
Very good
  32
Average
  6
Poor
  8
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (25)
Party (3)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (13)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (2)
With Spouse/Partner (11)
Solo
With Group
21 - 30 of 76

"My lovely home in cuba"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  mario sprangers  on Apr 7, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) BELGIUM
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
235 people found this review helpful

Hello my friends,
I just got back from Hotel Tortuga and like always we had a wonderful time.
I am flying since 14 years to Cuba jajaja and have been their for 81 times and since the last 4 years I am going always to Hotel Villa Tortuga because all the working people became friends, the service is perfect, rooms are very clean and nice, beach, swimming pool, cocktails and my friend Keith from Canada who leaves there (lucky guy) so what do you need more to be happy just beeing over there in paradise !!!
I have been at Hotel Villa Tortuga around 20 times and I can tell you, please come to this wonderful hotel, you really will enjoy it.
I will be back in 6 weeks holala rakata.
I will have my wedding in December of this year and this will be the greatest event of the year at the hotel, please come and bring a lot of friend and presents.
Saludos a todos alla, asta pronto

Mario (el locito) y Maria (la mujer que me controla)

Room Number:
1211

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Тортуга - отличный семейный отдых!"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kuznetsova  on Mar 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) RUSSIAN FEDERATION
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
228 people found this review helpful

Отдыхали 3 недели в октябре семьей с ребенком 1год и 3месяца. Вилла Тортуга привлекла нас во всемирной паутине в первую очередь тем, что в недорогой трёшке обещали детский клуб от 0 до 4 лет. К сожалению, это не так. На территории отеля только детская площадка. Это единственное разочарование. В остальном оказалось все выше чем на три звезды. Поразило то, что в скромном отеле подают каждое утро свежевыжатый апельсиновый сок; в обед, на ужин мороженое по несколько сортов, большое разнообразие выпечки, алкогол

Room Number:
9304

Room Block:
9

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Premiere annee que nous reservions notre hotel separement (agreablement surpri)"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Pierre Bernier  on Mar 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Party | With Spouse/Partner
244 people found this review helpful

Nous avons fait afaire directement avec Cuba travel network via internet. Nous etions un peut craintif puisque nous avions réserver longtemp à l'avance,mais environs trois semaines avant le départ ils nous ont fait parvenir une confirmation écrite en réitérant le numéro de réservation ainsi que plusieur renseignements pertinents pour notre voyage et un numero de téléphone sans frais pour les rejoindre au besoin à la Havane ce qui nous a rasurés.
Lorsque nous sommes ariver à l'hotel nous sommes rester agréablement surpris du fait que nous étions seul à l'enrégistrement .

Room Number:
304

Room Block:
A

Arrival:
À notre arriver nous avons eu un service extrèmement courtoi en faisant affaire avec Marylène une personne très souriante très accommodante.

Rooms:
Nous avons obtenue exatement la chambre que nous avions demandé et nous étions heureux .

Restaurants and Bars:
Meme si cela faisait quatre ans que nous y avions pas été il est surprenant de voir que certain employés comme Peter au bar de la piscine nous reconnaissait. Au buffet qui étais très bon en passant nous avons obtenue un service extraordinaire avec Sandiego et Michel qui travaillais en équipe .

Other Comments:
Tous le personnel de l'hotel ont contribué à faire de notre séjour le plus agréable que nous ayons passés depuis que nous allons à Cuba.Nous croyons que Villa Tortuga se veut un hotel sans prétention mais très confortable au nivau qualité prix.Nous pensons sérieusement y retourner un jour.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great experience"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Galina  on Feb 23, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
234 people found this review helpful

We loved our holidays at Tortuga very much. A great place for the money we paid. They have a beautiful beach, good food and friendly staff. We enjoyed their evening entertainment programs. The hotel is close to the markets, restaurants and is not far from the city center. The rooms are modest and, although they need some renovation, are clean and comfortable. We'll definitely come back again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good value for the money, mostly."

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Uli Locher  on Feb 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
222 people found this review helpful

This is a modest hotel which houses guests in 2 and 3 storey buildings rather than high-rise boxes. It is located in the part of Varadero that does not look like Miami Beach. As usual it pays to fight for a better room than the first one they assign you. We had a "superior" room right on the beach. Everything is clean and relatively quiet. The food is modest but ok but stay away from that wine! One problem, though: depending on the wind you can get the smell from an oil refinery into the room - which happened on 2 of our 5 days.

Room Number:
306

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Une semaine de plaisir!!"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Maria  on Jan 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
213 people found this review helpful

J'ai été au Tortuga du 12 au 19 janvier 2011 avec mon copain! En général, nous sommes satisfaits pour un hôtel 3 étoiles et surtout pour le prix que nous avons payé (487$ can chacun).

Positif: Le personnel est vraiment très gentil et disponible. Il s'efforce même de parler en anglais, français ou même italien si le client ne comprend pas l'espagnol. La plage est propre et magnifique. La grosseur du site est parfaite. Il y a une belle piscine, un gym gratuit, un terrain de tennis, une table de ping pong, une table de billard, un comptoir de prêt de livres près de la piscine, etc. La femme de ménage faisait un bon travail, notre chambre était toujours nickel! Au buffet, il y a une section grillade, où la viande est différente à chaque jour! À pieds, il est très facile d'aller vers le centre-ville. On peut y croiser de bons restaurants, des marchés aux puces, de petits magasins, etc.

Négatif: Après 9h15, il n'y a plus d'eau chaude pour la douche. Il faut se lever de bonne heure parce que le buffet du petit déjeuner ferme à 9h30. Le buffet est un peu varié et c'est toujours le même à chaque jour. Ce sont les 3 mêmes fruits à tous les jours! J'aurais aimé pouvoir manger du melon d'eau, des oranges, etc. Mais il existe 2 restaurants vraiment pas chers à moins de 5 minutes à pieds de l'hôtel si on a plus envie du buffet (Chez Kiki's et El Castel Nuovo). Il y a un seul restaurant à la carte et le soir où on est allés, tout était trop cuits. Je n'ai jamais réussi à manger mes crevettes tellement elles se défaisaient! Pas très bon! Le soir, il y a toujours un petit spectacle sur la scène qui se termine vers 23h et après rien, pas de discothèque, pas d'autres animations.

Comme le but de notre voyage était de se reposer, nous avons passé un très beau séjour! Le seul hic est la nourriture, mais je crois que c'est pas mal la même situation partout à Varadero!

On retourne à Varadero l'an prochain et on va sûrement retourner au Tortuga!

Room Number:
4105

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great!! Please read below"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  kaitlyn  on Jan 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
223 people found this review helpful

I stayed at the Villa Tortuga and it was great. the staff are excellent. it was just a short walk to the market and a number of great resturants. the beaches were beautiful white sand.

While there I fell in love with a stray dog and found an organization that will help me adopt him but i need to send them a dog create. The easiest way to do this is to have some one take it with them as checked baggage. so please if you are going from Calgary to Verardero and are willing to help me Please send me an email. I will cover any addition cost that you may incure for checking additional baggage. thank you again
kdemers3@gmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice New Year in the lovely hotel"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Elena Khokhlova  on Jan 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) RUSSIAN FEDERATION
Visited on: Jan, 1999
290 people found this review helpful

I was really lucky that I trusted to my travel agent. Really nice hotel with its good service, lovely staff, very professional animations on the beach and for night time. And first of all wonderful location. Good food, respectively wide choice of meals and drinks. Clean and good organized territory. Room service is on the top. Thank you for nice vocation!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"beautifull but you have to consider a few facts ..."

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  steve  on Jan 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
222 people found this review helpful

staff : the batteries from the tv remote control were stolen in the room on the first day of our arrival. no hot water in the shower for the 7 days of our stay with just excuses an no other options. only hot water in the sink on rare occasions, same problem for several other visitors. very little english or french but enough to get around. most staff was kind but not all of them. so i have to give 2 stars out of 5 for that because we didn`t feel secure at all time for our belongings and because i had to take cold showers all week. that`s a lost to discourage many people ..

food: if you like or milk, beef, tomatoes, green vegetables or a coffee after your meal at the restaurant, don`t count on it.. it is as rare as finding water in the desert but most of it is rare in cuba anyways except for the coffee.. expect to have aldente pasta in oil for lunch, the same pasta re-heated in sauce for diner and sometimes the pasta from the day before in a mixture of sauce and cheese . the soups are all re-mixed with the addition of differents ingredients so nothing is lost day after day. on the other hand the fish, pork or chicken of the day is excellent. if you are vegeterian, avoid the place at all cost. the meals are very similar from one day to the next and from lunch to diner. i respect the fact that most cubans dont have access to those kind of meals but i`ve had so much better at other resorts in cuba. so for the food it`s 2 stars out of 5.

entertainment : it felt as if it was offered by high school students . the shows are repetitive. the same show was presented twice on the same week. many people watch the first few minutes and walk away.. if you like having a drink or two and expect to dance at some point during your stay, the occasions are rare. so many great artistic talents in cuba and it seems like they didn`t want to be seen at that hotel. a poor 1.5 stars for entertainment.

environment and others : the beach is beautifull and the installations are looking good as well. the toilets next to the beach are closed when the dining room is closed. you have to make sure that you reserve your a la carte diner days in advance or else forget about it. the exterior showers next to the beach don`t work . take your time to tour the site because you will not receive any informations at all about the installations on site. on our last day, since we have to check out at noon and leave the resort at 6pm, we were promised a room so we can wash and change. surprise.. i really did not expect the lady at the front desk to tell us in a very rude manner that they will not respect that engagement . it felt like she didn`t give a damn about anyone once they are to leave the premises. a bunch of us just had to change in the nearest outdoor bathroom and of course we could not get a shower before going back home for the long road to come. another 2 stars for that part of my personal evaluation.

Villa tortuga again, i`m

Room Number:
3301

Room Block:
no block names

Arrival:
december 31 2010

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Super Servicio en Villa Tortuga"

Villa Tortuga
User Rating:  Villa Tortuga Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  juan c guerra  on Nov 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Nov, 2010
525 people found this review helpful

Super buenisimo ese lugar estuve en Octubre y nada de quejarme,el servicio exelente,la oferta bien variada,las habitaciones limpias,el bufet exelente el nombre lo dice BUFET variedades de platos no es un Restaurant de Especialidades por eso se llama BUFET muy bueno,el personal de esta y del bar de la pisci mejor ni en Cancun,estuve en el Internacional de Varadero y alla no le ganan en la competencia,apesar de haberla pasado bien,solo una sugerencia,una hora antes de entregar las habitaciones al cliente deberian de poner el aire acondicionado para eliminar el olor a humedad dentro de la habitacion pero si no lo hacen seguire visitandolos,esperenme para Diciembre,Gracias por sus serviciosssssssssssss El Viento

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube