Iberostar Mojito Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Iberostar Mojito reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Cayo Coco

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 11, 2014

Iberostar Cayo Coco

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 23, 2014

Playa Coco

3.7 based on 55 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 19, 2015

Tryp Cayo Coco

3.7 based on 72 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 31, 2014

Memories Caribe Beach Resort

3.5 based on 41 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 21, 2015

Iberostar Mojito  

Ave de los Hoteles, Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey, Ciego de Avila, Cuba

"The best!"
Posted by: d  on Apr 28, 2012
see all reviews

Iberostar Mojito Reviews
Iberostar Mojito Pictures and Information
Iberostar Mojito Cayo Coco Cuba

#4
of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 4.3

Based on 51 reviews

Iberostar Mojito Information



Iberostar Mojito, situated in Cayo Coco, the north coast of Ciego de Ávila Province and linked to the main island by a road over the sea called pedraplén, is a true ecological paradise with a variety of plants and animals, in front of the spectacular Coral Reef.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Mojito Reviews

Iberostar Mojito Review: 4.3 of 5 51 reviews
Excellent
  29
Very good
  17
Average
  5
Poor
  2
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (28)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Solo
1 - 10 of 51

"NH Krystal Laugna NOT EVEN 2 star as advertized 4 star"

Iberostar Mojito
User Rating:  Iberostar Mojito Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alex Mak  on Jan 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
301 people found this review helpful

DONT waste tour time and Money on NH Krstal Laguna Creep, Rotten and Fithy Food with untidy rooms and rude staff. I stayed there with my family

Your Arrival:
No welcome drink! Disgusting and smelly rotten food.only when you tip the waiter they listen otherwise no service?

Rooms:
untidy rooms; Mosquitos; Bugs and above all no water in morning???

Restaurants and Bars:
charges extra for International Beer and Whiskey

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
always need to book( God knows when your turn comes ) in advance for GYM, Cycling, Boating and even

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Be warry"

Iberostar Mojito
User Rating:  Iberostar Mojito Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  gary barton  on Feb 18, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Feb, 2009
1018 people found this review helpful

We were there last Oct 16th till Nov 08 The rooms were massive, place was half closed food was a bit average nothing was ever hot beaches were stunning.You had to keep your eye on your beach towels security would collect them in at night from around the pool, then towel man would try to charge you 40 cuban peso for not looking after them.Rest of workers were great,used to run out of tomato juice at night as well as tonics. I would still go back as i enjoyed it apart from our towels went missing and i spent 4 days borrowing someone elses.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This is one place we will not be going back to."

Iberostar Mojito
User Rating:  Iberostar Mojito Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  saeid  on Feb 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
294 people found this review helpful

We had 3 rooms in this hotel on the week of Jan 22 to 29 2011. this hotel has been rated 4 stars, that should be rated 2 stars. I don't complain about the food because when you go to Cuba, you can't expect to get good food. At dinner time, getting to buffet restaurant there was a line up and we had to stand in line for a while to get a table, also when we had reservation at 8:00 p.m. for the A la carte restaurant they didn't let us to get in to our tables 15 minutes after 8:00 out side in the rain, and it took for the waiter half and hour to get our order at 8:45. The ground is un even with lots of holes and gaps and one of elderly crew had a fall on one of these gaps and broke her glasses. We had to spend $85 to get a taxi to take us to closest city to get her glasses. This hotel is not safe for children or elderly patrons due to the unevenness of the ground and poor lit pathways. I left my jacket on table and when I got back it was gone. I asked the hotel guest service but was not found. One of rooms was full of ants and we didn't get any bottled water except for the first day of the arrival, when we asked the maid, she told us they didn't have any. We had to walk all the way to bar to get water to take medicine. The hotel is advertised as a beach front resort, but you have to walk 10 minutes from the room location through the laguna to get to the beach and while walking through the laguna walkways on warm days it smells very bad on windy days you could not perceive this foul smell. The beach by itself was very good, clear water and soft white sand, but the bar and the boats were opened 2 days during our week stay. There were not enough chairs in beach and we had to put our towels on the ground to get a tan. Nightly entertainment was the worse we ever seen in this type of all inclusive resorts (twice a year through Signature vacations). Nightly entertainment was performed with the audience making guest do push-ups and silly stuff as collecting shoes from the the audience or kissing as many guest as they could. Only 2 nights out of 7 nights this place had a live band and dancers performing Cuban dance. Don't bother in bringing up your concerns with the guest service personnel, when our representative from Sunquest approached her and apologize for speaking among themselves in Spanish, she rudely stated to him in Spanish that he shouldn't be sorry after all we were the ones that should be accommodating to their culture. On our departure day, our Sunquest representative mentioned that management had confirmed with him they had sent a bottle of Cuban rum to our room but we never received anything.
This is one place we will not be going back to.

Room Number:
1117,1120,1121

Room Block:
11

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A fantastic but stressful hotel"

Iberostar Mojito
User Rating:  Iberostar Mojito Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alexandra Berg  on May 31, 2008  >  3 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: May, 2008
819 people found this review helpful

The hotel has good facilities but it is badly organized. One had to wait a long time to get one’s food, the reception service was bad, there was no coffee, the staff only worked when tipped, let alone other details that besmirched the hotel’s overall image some. On the other hand, the villas and the beach are magnificent.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Simple but enjoyable resort."

Iberostar Mojito
User Rating:  Iberostar Mojito Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jackie  on Apr 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
276 people found this review helpful

The Emperador Laguna is a large resort but half of it was closed when we were there. It looked like they were winding down the season in many ways. The rooms were clean but tired and ours had no balcony.It is quite a treck to the beach over wooden briges over the lagoon, housing the Lagoon cabins. The washrooms nearest the beach were locked. The beach is lovely and clean with ample shade. It was not even necessary to go early in the morning to save a shade spot as there were so few people there this time. There were a lot of Cuban people on the beach as it is a public beach.It would not have been fair if there was a lot of tourists staying there as they were using the shade areas. There wes always a breeze at the beach and good size waves.The food was very good. The a la carte restaurants were good. The buffet had a good selection and the cooks were visable to hear your comments. Really good desserts! The shows were mostly good except for the ususal ridiculous audience participation ones, of which there were thankfully only 2 while we were there. There were little bands at the restaurants playing and in the lobby and Cigar House. They were really pushing thier own CD's.The drinks were not as good as other places. They tasted artificial and the juices were watered down. Lots and lots of ice in everything both blended and cubes. The washrooms were not the cleanest at times in the lobby and pool areas. They seemed to not have enough staff to look after them properly.They had 3 pools. One for kids, one for everyone and one for adults only. We quickly discovered that "Adult" meant topless, which you don't see too often in Cuba. One thing that really bugged me was the 2 bus rides. The resort is only 12 minutes from the airport. When we arrived, the fellow handling our bags and information could barely speak English but managed to tell us 3 times that we should tip both he and the bus driver and if we could not afford both, to tip only him. We have been many times to Cuba and have been lucky enough to get proper tour guides with lots of interesting local information, so we found this unacceptable and too bad for the people new to Cuba. Not a good first impression. On the way back to the airport, same thing, different guy. And we had to get our own luggage from the bus.The tour guide was at the airport though and was helpful to us in several ways while we were at the resort.
I would go there again, but perhaps make sure I got a room closer to the beach. My needs are fairly simple, clean rooms with no bed bugs, which this was and a nice clean beach and eating areas. Also, there were not a lot of noisy french people here ruining the shows by yapping all the way through and being beligerant to the staff.

Room Number:
1213

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"NOVEMBER HOLIDAY TO CUBA"

Iberostar Mojito
User Rating:  Iberostar Mojito Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  NATHAN WRIGHT  on Nov 18, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Nov, 2008
765 people found this review helpful

I HAVE JUST HAD TWO WEEKS IN THE NH KRSTAL LAGUNA THE FIRST TWOWEEKS IN NOVEMBER. WE ARRIVED AT THE HOTEL AFTER A LONG FLIGHT FROM MANCHESTER THE CHECK IN WAS OK A BIT OF A QUEUE BUT IT WHENT DOWN PRETY QUICK. WE GOT OUR KEY AND FOUND OUT THAT OUR ROOM WAS THE FURTHEST AWAY FROM THE MAIN LOBBY BAR POOL ETC WHICH WAS ABIT OF A PAIN.... OUR FIRST WEEK THE WEATHER WAS TOTALLY RUBBISH AND THATS PUTTING IT POLITE.WE DID NOT SEE THE SUN FOR FOR THE FIRST EIGHT DAYS IT WAS VERY CLOUDY AND RAINED ALOT OF THE TIME.WE DID EVENTUALLY HAVE AROUND FIVE DAYS OF NICE WEATHER AND IT WAS VERY HOT WHEN THE SUN DID COME OUT.THE BEACH WAS A TYPICAL PARADISE BEACH (APART FROM THE SEA WEED NOT VERY NICE )AROUND THE MAIN POOL IT WAS VERY LOUD THE ANIMATION TEAM WHAT WE SAW OF THEM!!!!! JUST HAD A DJ BOX PUT IT ON FULL BLAST AND DISAPEARED FOR THE REST OF THE DAY SO YOU WOULD BE LISTENING TO THE SAME MUSIC ALL DAY.THERE IS ANOTHER POOL AT THE TOP OF THE HOTEL JUST PAST THE ADULT POOL WHICH WAS A LOT BETTER IT WAS MORE RELAXED AROUND THERE.OUR FIRST WEEK THERE WAS A HURRICANE EXPECTED SO THE HOTEL GOT DESERTED APART FROM AROUND FIFTY PEOPLE FROM THE UK WHICH RESULTED IN ALL OF THE OTHER RESTAURANTS AND BARS BEING CLOSED WHICH WAS VERY BAD AT NIGHT TIME BECAUSE WE HAD TO SIT IN THE LOBBY BAR ALL NIGHT WHICH WAS VERY BORING.AGAIN THE DJ BOX GOT PUT IN THE LOBBY AND WAS ON FULL BLAST YOU COULD NOT HEAR YOUR SELF THINK IN THERE.PLUS THERE WAS LIMITED SEATING AREAS EVEN THOUGH THERE WAS NOT MANY PEOPLE IN THE HOTEL IT WAS STILL HARD TO FIND A SEAT.THE SECOND WEEK STARTED TO GET BUSY SO THE OTHER RESTAURANTS STARTED TO OPEN BUT YOU HAVE TO BOOK IN TO THESE. ITS BEST TO BOOK THE RESTAURANTS WHEN YOU FIRST ARRIVE ON YOUR HOLIDAY YOU WILL BE IN A QUEUE FOR A LONG TIME WHICH IS A BIT OF A PAIN.THE FOOD IN THE RESTAURANTS WAS NICE BUT THEY ALWAYS HAD RUN OUT OF MOST OF THE FOOD WE ORDERED SO YOU GET WHAT YOU ARE GIVEN ALSO THE FOOD IS NEVER HOT ITS JUST WARM ITS THE SAME IN THE MAIN DINNER HALL.THE WAITERS AND WAITRESSES ARE REALLY POLITE COULD NOT FAULT THE SERVICE THEY GAVE.I FOUND THAT YOU HAD TO QUEUE FOR EVERYTHING ESPECIALLY AT THE BARS WHEN IT GOT BUSY. THE BARMAN WAS MORE INTERESTED IN WASHING THE GLASSES THEN SERVING PLUS IF YOU LIKE YOUR LAGER ORDER TWO OR THREE BECAUSE SOME OF THE BARS GIVE IT YOU IN WHAT I COULD ONLY EXPLAIN AS A SHOT GLASS BUT THE LOCAL LAGER WAS VERY NICE.PLUS IF YOU ARE A WINE DRINKER THE RED AND WHITE ARE GOOD TO.ON ARRIVAL I THOUGHT IT WAS VERY UNFAIR THAT THE CANADIANS GOT A BOTTLE OF RUM AND A PACK OF CIGARS FREE WE GOT NOTHING.I AM AFRAID I WILL NOT BE GOING BACK TO CUBA IN A RUSH.ONE THING I FORGOT TO MENTION WAS THE COWS WALKING AROUND THE HOTEL WHICH I THOUGHT WAS TOTALLY BIZZARE.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"O.K., but better elsewhere!"

Iberostar Mojito
User Rating:  Iberostar Mojito Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Robert  on Mar 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
278 people found this review helpful

PROS: Stayed at the former El Senador site. Nice atmosphere. Clean. Well kept. Food is good (see Cons!). Lobby bar and seating are pleasant. Stayed in a Villa on the lagoon. Comfortable and large. Bathroom newly renovated. Quiet at night. VIP restaurant is good. Service everywhere is attentive and smiling.

CONS: No beach at high tide,...literally! (we arrived two days after full moon!) Beach disappears. Only the section at Emporador site is visible, and even that is small. Blau Colonial section was a bit better. But that's all! High Tide lasts for three to four hours. The Buffet is good, but the management closed the Buffet at the Emporador site on at least three occasions (Dinner time!). As a result, counter cooks could not keep up at the El Senador Buffet. Line ups to get in. Staff were great at keeping the diners moving. But one waited 20 minutes to get any cooked meat! Bread was occasionally not available after 30 minutes into Breakfast or Lunch.

This is our third visit to Cuba and we love it. Stayed at Turquesa and Paradisius Rio de Oro in Holguin on earlier visits. Had good experiences. Beaches there are smaller and not as pretty. But they did not disappear!

Too much choice in Cuba. Will not return to NH Krystal, and probably not to Cayo Coca.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointment"

Iberostar Mojito
User Rating:  Iberostar Mojito Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  susan hale  on Apr 24, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
1183 people found this review helpful

There were many positive things about this hotel. However, there is supposed to be a 24-hour snack bar and we were refused food. After a few complaints at the front desk, we were able to get only a tuna sandwich. The restaurant staff was asleep on the floor in the corner and didn't want to get up.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A week of total relaxation..."

Iberostar Mojito
User Rating:  Iberostar Mojito Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Carrie  on May 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
272 people found this review helpful

I was pleased with the resort and I would gladly go there again. The resort is only 15 minutes away from the airport - which I found convenient.

The food was plentyful and varied.

Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The pool and the beach were exactly what I was hoping they would be.

Your Arrival:
Arrival and Check-in – the bus (greyhound type) was ready and waiting for us at the airport. It took about 15 minutes to get to the resort. There were no problems checking in. Our room was ready.

Rooms:
Room – 1206 (if you can’t handle stairs make sure that you get a ground floor room) We stayed on the Laguna side of the resort. The room had sliding doors and a small patio outside. The room was clean. The sheets were not always clean. The maid left a large bottle of water in the fridge every day. We left gifts on the beds for the maid every day and she seemed pleased to look after us. The air conditioning worked fine.

We never had a problem with hot water in the shower, although the toilets didn’t always flush so we poured water from the garbage can and it helped the toilet to flush. We always had 2 rolls of toilet paper. The bathroom was clean and if you wanted new towels (because they didn’t dry from day to day) toss them on the floor or they won’t get changed.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants – the buffet had an assortment of foods available. My daughter has celiac and lactose intolerance and she even found food she could eat. Omelets, eggs, and French toast were made to order plus chicken, pork, and seafood grilled right in front of you. Good salad bar and fresh fruit. They also had hamburgers, hotdogs, and pizza. The staff was pleasant. We loved their cheese. Regardless of rumours, they do have ketchup and mustard.

If you eat at the restaurants on the water make sure you use bug spray – my daughter got bitten alive. The a la carte restaurants were okay, but nothing special, there were only three entrée choices at the Cuban El Gallo, VIP, and Seafood El Malecon restaurants. Our reservation at the VIP restaurant was at 8:30 at night and it was pouring rain and there were no lights – we could hardly see where we were going.

Bars – the bar in the Laguna lobby had a better assortment of drinks available, the poolside bar on the Laguna side was okay. One of the poolside bar bartenders made rounds at the pool and brought us drinks. We took refillable water containers and the bar staff had no problem putting our drinks in them (much easier than carrying around plastic cups). Plus the bartender put lots of ice in them to keep the drink cold.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach and Pools – We were able to get a hut every time we went to the beach. There was a man who brought us beach chairs and cleaned them off for us. The sand was white and the water was very clear. There are huge rocks in the water in some places – they can be seen from the beach if the water is still. If there are waves it is harder to see the rocks and they are very rough if you catch your feet on them. We didn’t find a washroom near the beach so you had to go back to the resort which was a good walk.

The pool was clean and refreshing. Plenty of chairs for guests.

The towel hut was nearby.

Grounds – The resort is quite large so there is a lot of walking involved. The grounds were clean and well kept. There were usually grounds keeping staff hiding in the hedges to give you items made from the palm fronds. There was security on the grounds. The Emperador side seemed to be closed which was where the VIP restaurant was and there were no lights on at night.


Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities and Entertainment – The entertainment was very good. There was a fashion show by a local designer with great musical accompaniment. Two nights the entertainment was guest involved. The other nights were mostly Cuban music with entertainment and dancers with a ton of costume changes. If it was raining the show was held in the Disco. Every night they had a special show earlier for the kids called mini disco.

Other Comments:
Bank – there was a small bank in the court of the lobby and if it was closed you could change your money at the front desk.

I was disappointed by the lack of information. We were given a map and told to attend the orientation the next morning (but we missed it as our clock was wrong). No clock in the room. We had a hard time trying to get information from the hotel staff. Our WestJet rep wasn’t around all week. The hospitality staff rushed us out. You had to make reservations for the a la carte through hospitality which was located in the court of the hotel (no one told us this).

Note: If you think you can wash some clothes by hand while you’re there – don’t even think about it – it takes at least 3 days for a bathing suit to dry. We took 2 clotheslines – hung one in the bathroom and the other we attached to the sliding doors so the clothes would dry in the morning sun.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"KRYSTAL LAGUNA NH HOTEL"

Iberostar Mojito
User Rating:  Iberostar Mojito Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Oscar  on Apr 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Apr, 2010
751 people found this review helpful

Ottimo resort ubicato in un vero e proprio paradiso terrestre; una spiaggia meravigliosa, sembra quasi vergine. Ottime le abitazioni, noi avevamo scelto una minisuit vicino alla zona piscina, abbastanza pulita e molto spaziosa. Ottima la cucina dei ristoranti buffet (ce ne sono 2) e ben assortita, un punto in meno invece ai ristoranti alla carta che non sono molto assortiti e i cibi troppo elaborati. Merita il piatto di aragosta anche se non è inclusa nel pacchetto all inclusive (non capisco il motivo visto che il costo non è eccessivamente alto). Voto negativo alle attività serali: mi aspettavo di trovare musica cubana e possibilità di ballare salsa però niente di tutto questo; unico divertimento notturno una discoteca con musica internazionale di scarsa qualità. Fuori del resort solo natura incontaminata, d'altronde siamo in un cayo.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube