Iberostar Mojito Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Iberostar Mojito reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Cayo Coco

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 11, 2014

Iberostar Cayo Coco

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 23, 2014

Playa Coco

3.7 based on 55 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 19, 2015

Tryp Cayo Coco

3.7 based on 72 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 31, 2014

Memories Caribe Beach Resort

3.5 based on 41 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 21, 2015

Iberostar Mojito  

Ave de los Hoteles, Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey, Ciego de Avila, Cuba

"The best!"
Posted by: d  on Apr 28, 2012
see all reviews

Iberostar Mojito Reviews
Iberostar Mojito Pictures and Information
Iberostar Mojito Cayo Coco Cuba

#4
of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 4.3

Based on 51 reviews

Iberostar Mojito Information



Iberostar Mojito, situated in Cayo Coco, the north coast of Ciego de Ávila Province and linked to the main island by a road over the sea called pedraplén, is a true ecological paradise with a variety of plants and animals, in front of the spectacular Coral Reef.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Mojito Reviews

Iberostar Mojito Review: 4.3 of 5 51 reviews
Excellent
  29
Very good
  17
Average
  5
Poor
  2
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (28)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Solo
11 - 20 of 51

"Can't wait to go back !"

Iberostar Mojito
User Rating:  Iberostar Mojito Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Patty  on Feb 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
165 people found this review helpful

We can't say enough about how pleased we were to spend our eighth visit at Hotel La Laguna. The staff are so friendly, accommodating and willing to please.
There is a good variety of food in the specialty restaurants and the buffet. We loved the poolside restaurant for lunch and snacks with our server Dayami.
Our favourite bartenders, Edil, Alain and Roberto were always ready to serve up a tasty drink.
Ariel in customer service was always available and very helpful.

Room Number:
2214

Arrival:
Fast sign in at reception with cold drinks served with a smile !

Rooms:
Clean rooms with comfy pillow and nice bedding. Plenty of hot water and great water pressure.

Restaurants and Bars:
All the food and beverages you want...who could ask for more?

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was beautiful, but also enjoyed the quietness of the adults only pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
They had a nice variety of evening entertainment.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic vacation"

Iberostar Mojito
User Rating:  Iberostar Mojito Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ewa  on Jan 31, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
161 people found this review helpful

I've booked room for the 3 of us, my cousin, his wife and me. We were hoping to get separate room for me, of course paying extra, but the girl at the reception told me I have to pay 160 pesos per night for 7 nights, do the math, I thought it was a totally rip off so I've met with rep Eddie the next day and after 3 days of negotiation with his company he gave me the price, but it was already Wendsday so Friday was approaching quick so staying with my cousin and his wife was a mistake but I survived. The first room the girl from the reception gave us was funny, after we've open the door a frog jumped from the bed, the room was dirty, waste basket was full, room looked like someone just moved out and the maid didn't have the chance to clean, the A/C wasn't working, the sliding door to get an air wasn't working, maybe 2 man could open it - we couldn't. After returning to the reception she gave us another room 1920 so it was better.

Room Number:
1920

Room Block:
19

Arrival:
Upon arrival we were greeted with a glass of juice, it was nice.

Rooms:
Very clean, but when our lady maid had day off another maid just come, get the souvenirs from the bed and didn't do nothing. Funny.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants are good, bars have excellent bartenders.Food was good and plenty, deserts are the best

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach and pools are very good

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best experience we have ever had."

Iberostar Mojito
User Rating:  Iberostar Mojito Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kaye and Rick  on Jan 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
200 people found this review helpful

My husband and I visited this resort from Dec.21st till Dec.28th, 2011 and this being our first time to Cuba, we were not sure what to expect and we were very pleasantly surprised. From the moment we were picked up at the airport to the minute we were dropped off again, it was nothing but first class. From the receptionist at the desk to the chambermaids,to the gardeners, to the bartenders, to absolutely every employee at the resort, we were treated like royalty. The food was fantastic, the service was top notch, we can not find one bad thing to say about this resort. We can not wait to go back. If you are planning a trip to Cuba, do not miss this top notch gem.

Room Number:
1805

Room Block:
18

Arrival:
Went smooth, no waits. Every one was friendly, greeted with a drink.

Rooms:
Very clean. Always made up. Turn down service at night. Very friendly staff.

Restaurants and Bars:
We never had to wait in line, meals were fantastic, always hot, always served with a smile

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Perfectly manicured, beautifully groomed

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had a BLAST"

Iberostar Mojito
User Rating:  Iberostar Mojito Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kim  on Dec 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
207 people found this review helpful

A week wasnt near long enough for my daughter Kristin and myself. We have been to Cuba many times and this resort had the best food by far. The staff was the best. You felt like you were a member of their family. The beach was beyond beautiful. We would both go back in a heartbeat.
KIM & KRISTIN ONTARIO CANADA

Room Number:
1907

Room Block:
19

Rooms:
Very clean and spacious

Restaurants and Bars:
Juan Carlos has done a great job at the buffet. Bartender Wilbur was a joy to watch.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We toured the resorts along the beach and other than the Tryp's lobby bars view Hotel La Laguna had the best beach,pools and well kept grounds

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful place for R& R"

Iberostar Mojito
User Rating:  Iberostar Mojito Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Bill  on Dec 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
188 people found this review helpful

Once again we return to Laguna Resort (use to be NH Krystal)
We want to say thank you to all the wonderful people who work so hard to make the resort a great place to visit.
This is our 7th time to come back and we are looking forward to the 8th.
A special thank you to Alex (Chicho) who works really hard to maintain the pools then goes the extra distance to serve his clients drinks throughout the day.Just sit back and he will be around to bring you a nice cold beverage.
Go meet Freddy in the cigar bar for his entertaining and wonderful service, he keeps the drinks flowing with a variety of fast moves with the bottles and a great sense of humour.
To Inacel our maitre'd at the specialty resaurtants we thank you for the awesome service and the warm conversations, may all your visitors be as happy as you.
To Tamara at the lounge bar for those wonderful Spanish coffees and many other evening beverages you made our vacation special.
The food in the specialy restaurants was excellent and we certainly ate too much!The presentation of the plates was very impressive and artistic.

The buffet offered a really good variety of food that met our picky needs. The seafood was plenitful and the breakfasts was always inticing. As usual we ate too many omeletes which are to die for!
The entertainment was much better then we had in the past, well done folks!
We noticed that the resort had made a lot of improvements to the grounds, the buildings and the workers were eager to help. We were very impressed with the condition of the washrooms this year, both by the Sirenas snack bar and the lobby area.
Yu just have to remember it's a slower pace then the Canadian rat race, so enjoy the moment it's a wonderful place to be.
A special thanks to Ariel (the wedding planner)for excellent customer service and assisting us with our travel arrangement to Moron etc. It is a pleasure to chat with the resort staff and learn about their culture and social lives.
So if you are visiting say hi to, Jose the maitre d' in the buffet resaurant he is friendly and has a great humour.
There are lots to things to do and see, the resort is a jewel thats why we continue returning year after year.
We did miss our ole friend Carbos who was the bartender at the pool bar, his excellent knowledge of the english language and jolly humour was enjoyable, he could also serve up some awesome drinks.Look forward to seeing him next year at the pool bar.
The week of December 6 to 12 was like a Canadian home with lots of Christmas decorations throughout the resort.
Our room was very nice, kept very clean and the maids service was excellent and accomodating.
We are looking forward to returning when the resort will be under the Iberstar banner.Keep up the good work Laguna!
Thanks to all the people of Laguna resort!

Room Number:
2034

Room Block:
20

Arrival:
Arrived December 6th the staff at the desk were quick to get us registered.
Dulce and Jesus did a great job getting us to our rooms as quick as possible.

Rooms:
Room had a fridge and was very spacious
View of the ocean, nice and quiet and out of the busy area which we really enjoyed.
We enjoyed the towel sculptures the maid left on the bed each day.
The room was throughly cleaned each day.
We always had plenty of hot water for showering and cold water in our fridge.

Restaurants and Bars:
Specialty Restaurant the El Malecon seafood was great. Loved the lobster (only 12 CUC) and good selection of other food for the none seafood eaters.
They had opened the Cuban/steakfood restaurtant which is on the boardwalk, once again a great meal!
We were impressed at how efficient the waiters were and yet we had some great conversations with Inacel our waiter. Great job!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool is huge, with a swim up bar and music to get you in the mood for R&R
The grounds was clean and constaintly maintained.

The grounds staff made some nice souvenir hats for us along with many other trinkets which we enjoyed. They never asked for a tip but was very appreciative when we gave them a hat or t-shirt later.

The beach is great, wonderful for nice long walks. Lots of room and no problem getting a lounge chair at any time.

The beach was raked in the morning and staff tried hard to keep it clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was lots to do! If you are bored, sit back and have a cold beverage or just ask Adrain for some suggestions, he too has a great sense of humour.

We watched the entertainment crew who baby sat the children and was amazed at how well they did their job. As grandparents we took notice of the kids activities and how much the children seemed to be having a lot of fun

Other Comments:
I think I may regret being so positive about this resort as we enjoyed the peace and quiet because the resort was not as busy as it should be, oh well we will enjoy it next year.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic Get away"

Iberostar Mojito
User Rating:  Iberostar Mojito Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  pb  on May 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
250 people found this review helpful

What a fantastic resort, I have been to cayo coco before and I must say that trying to please everyone when you go on vacation with a group sure is challenging. My husband and I went with another family of four and everyone was so amazed with the resort and all it had to offer. something for everyone. The staff where excellent, the room where very clean and the beach was spectacular, the one thing that amazed us was the food, with so many picky eaters everyone enjoyed something.We are already planning the next trip to return. looking forward to the opening of the newly renovated side on our next trip.
PBECKY, BARRIE ONTARIO

Arrival:
EVENING:

Rooms:
clean room, and the maid service was very good, everyday she put a little surprise design with the towels.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurant was fabulous, everyone really enjoyed the pasta bar, and the pizza. My favorite had to be the seafood and the variety of choices..
the bar staff, Excellent. and the pool bar was great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
breathe taking!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There were plenty of Activities off and on the resort. The representatives where there to help you plan excurssions which we did a few.

Other Comments:
I would recomend this resort to everyone, with or without kids.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"AMAAAAAZING"

Iberostar Mojito
User Rating:  Iberostar Mojito Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  David  on Apr 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Business | With Group
275 people found this review helpful

Ok, where can I possibly start. I traveled to this resort with my Father, Grandfather, and four family friends. Right off the bat they were more then accommodating when it came to getting my Grandfather a ground floor room. The group of us stayed for 2 weeks and it was incredible. The beach was absolutely amazing as was the walk along the boardwalk to get there. I was able to walk about 100 meters out in the ocean it was so shallow. The sand was so white it was positively blinding. Every morning the whole length of the beach was groomed to keep it looking amazing. Next I guess I would have to say that the food was the best I've ever had on vacation. The buffet selection and food was just a succulent as the a la carte restaurants. The price for the 2 weeks I stayed was far more then reasonable. Now then on to the important part, the staff. Oh my God, the staff was absolutely incredible.
From the buffet there was Eri Vasquez, she was such an amazing server, very friendly, ultra personable. There was also Louis Manuel and Aisel, they were the chefs who cooked eggs for breakfast and steak and fish for dinner. They were so friendly every morning and really made us feel welcome, and yes they were amazing cooks. Nipolito Amarante was a supervisor, he came over to our table every morning to make sure everything was going well with our stay, and he was hilarious to talk to. Very nice man! The groundskeeper in charge of our block was a man named Raul, he was the first staff member I met while there and he really set the tone for what the rest of the people there were like, very friendly. My maids name was Yaquelin, every afternoon she made sure the room was perfect, she even folded my clothes that I left on the floor, she was such a pleasant woman. At the swim-up bar I have to sing praises to Leonardo the bartender and Lixander the gentleman who fetched the drinks. Leonardo was a superb bartender and a nice man to talk to. We started talking about fishing and the next day he came in with photos of him fishing with his family. Lixander couldn't do enough for you while sitting around the pool. The lifeguards there were also very friendly. Next is the cigar bar. The two gentleman that work there are absolutely incredible. Felix and Freddy are their names. They are true entertainers as well as amazing flare bartenders. Across from the cigar bar is the steakhouse where we met Juan Carlo. Wow. After we got to know him reservations were not a problem. And what a comedian he was. I have absolutely no complaints there. And last but certainly not least was Lisdy Lopez. While we were there she was promoted from the buffet to the seafood restaurant and I can understand why. As well as being an amazing hostess, she was funny and would routinely walk around the table gently singing, what a voice. All in all I can say that the group of us thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and I have already begun saving because I will be booking to go back to this resort in November!!!

Room Number:
2012

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"5 star people look after you here"

Iberostar Mojito
User Rating:  Iberostar Mojito Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Susan  on Apr 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
279 people found this review helpful

We stayed at Emperador on the Laguna side. We had great rooms centrally located and the rooms were kept very clean. Noticed on our first day that the main attraction for my husband & I (Wilbur, the bartender) was waiting tables. What a waste of a talented entertainer. After a kind word to the "Big Boss" - Wilbur was returned for an evening's entertainment. We had a great waiter most days named Orlando who couldn't of looked after us better. Everybody says the food is not good in Cuba, well there was six of us in our group and we loved the food. We loved the place, the beach is second to none but most of all the people went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, and memorable. This was our second time at this hotel and it definitely won't be our last. If you go definitely look for Wilbur - he's worth the trip.

Arrival:
We were picked up at the airport promptly by knowledgeable SunWing staff and had a very comfortable bus ride to the hotel. The only hitch was on registering we had asked for a ground floor room as one of our party has had a knee replacement and this didn't happen. The hotel staff offered to change her room, but she didn't want to be apart from the other two couples in our group.

Rooms:
Very clean and comfortable and centrally located for the beach, buffet and pools.

Restaurants and Bars:
We were there the week before they completely closed down the Emperador side so we didn't get to enjoy all of the restaurants. That was disappointing.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is the best! Clean and uncrowded with a lot of water sports to choose from and a bar conveniently located to quench your thirst. The only drawback was no washroom nearby. I'd hate to think that people were using the ocean.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Simple but enjoyable resort."

Iberostar Mojito
User Rating:  Iberostar Mojito Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jackie  on Apr 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
276 people found this review helpful

The Emperador Laguna is a large resort but half of it was closed when we were there. It looked like they were winding down the season in many ways. The rooms were clean but tired and ours had no balcony.It is quite a treck to the beach over wooden briges over the lagoon, housing the Lagoon cabins. The washrooms nearest the beach were locked. The beach is lovely and clean with ample shade. It was not even necessary to go early in the morning to save a shade spot as there were so few people there this time. There were a lot of Cuban people on the beach as it is a public beach.It would not have been fair if there was a lot of tourists staying there as they were using the shade areas. There wes always a breeze at the beach and good size waves.The food was very good. The a la carte restaurants were good. The buffet had a good selection and the cooks were visable to hear your comments. Really good desserts! The shows were mostly good except for the ususal ridiculous audience participation ones, of which there were thankfully only 2 while we were there. There were little bands at the restaurants playing and in the lobby and Cigar House. They were really pushing thier own CD's.The drinks were not as good as other places. They tasted artificial and the juices were watered down. Lots and lots of ice in everything both blended and cubes. The washrooms were not the cleanest at times in the lobby and pool areas. They seemed to not have enough staff to look after them properly.They had 3 pools. One for kids, one for everyone and one for adults only. We quickly discovered that "Adult" meant topless, which you don't see too often in Cuba. One thing that really bugged me was the 2 bus rides. The resort is only 12 minutes from the airport. When we arrived, the fellow handling our bags and information could barely speak English but managed to tell us 3 times that we should tip both he and the bus driver and if we could not afford both, to tip only him. We have been many times to Cuba and have been lucky enough to get proper tour guides with lots of interesting local information, so we found this unacceptable and too bad for the people new to Cuba. Not a good first impression. On the way back to the airport, same thing, different guy. And we had to get our own luggage from the bus.The tour guide was at the airport though and was helpful to us in several ways while we were at the resort.
I would go there again, but perhaps make sure I got a room closer to the beach. My needs are fairly simple, clean rooms with no bed bugs, which this was and a nice clean beach and eating areas. Also, there were not a lot of noisy french people here ruining the shows by yapping all the way through and being beligerant to the staff.

Room Number:
1213

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent place when you get to know it."

Iberostar Mojito
User Rating:  Iberostar Mojito Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Brad  on Mar 31, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
269 people found this review helpful

Summary:

Resort is good. Not exceptional but a good solid fun place to be with nice people and exotic.

Check out the place during the night, security is all over the place and there really is no-one to really protect against other than the tourists. All paths are well lit and the stars are bright in the area due to little light pollution.

Get to know the people, Cuba is all about the people.

Room Number:
2122

Room Block:
21

Arrival:
Was with "Sunwing" and pickup was prompt and bus was air conditioned.

The new lobby is nice looking and we did have a room to place our luggage until we could check-in and get the luggage delivered.

Small issue that they were in the process of spot painting in that storage room and our children were amazing at finding the spots and smearing it on them, parents and luggage.

Were able to get cool drinks immediately and when kids needed to go to washroom staff banded the kids promptly.

Rooms:
Good rooms with windows that open the widest I have seen. Great view on the second floor and the birds and wind sounded great.

Washroom was good and descent size with sliding mirror doors as closet with much room for toiletries.

A safe is provided but many do not work from what I heard, our other family member had one that worked we used.

TV was a bit odd due to changing of hotel subscription / channels probably due to new ownership change.

Did see some ants, mainly getting in from under the room door, hotel could stand to install "sweepers" at the bottom but a rolled up towel did the trick.

Two double beds joined, large sleeping surface all things considered.

Restaurants and Bars:
Hands down best: Cigar Club
The bartender there knew ways to spin bottles in the air but his art of mixing made the hotel lobby bar seem pitiful in comparison. Save your tips for this place, fastest service you can get and only one person. Nice high ceiling and MANY fans (very quiet ones as well), they open the ends of the building which is over the water which keeps it cool and great to stay in and relax. Open around 6:00-7:00pm and closes around 11:00pm. Pool table and cigar / alcohol store also there. Look for "Ismael Glez Roman" when he plays there (guitar and saxophone) you can see he loves what he does and "Amilkar" on piano is a good second. The "in-house band" saxaphone player is amazing and is better than the lead singer when he gets to sing.

Disappointing: Lobby Bar
Nice place to hang out but the staff was a bit of a mix. Couple nice good staff but most with a hint of attitude and always on the make for a big tip. You tip excessively you get great service but sets a bad expectation. Found these people had some thing on the side going and I had to wait often unless I had a peso or two in hand visible. Great place for the view but again, save your tips for better things.

Mixed feelings: Disco.
Like a box of chocolates, you never know what you will get. Sometimes empty, sometimes hopping. Good drink service, mixing is a bit sketchy but they are willing to be directed or just give you lots of it (be careful here...). DJ happy to take suggestions if you are sure what you ask for will get the people moving (Does have current music due to vacationers visiting with memory sticks full of music). Suggestion: If no-one in the disco just order a drink and wait until it is done, no-one likes to stay in an empty disco so it stays that way. We sat down with it empty and had 15-20 people stop and stay in the space of a drink. Good light show that they are still playing with, impressive when they fire the whole thing up.

Awesome: Seafood Restaurant: Book this one and not regret it, good food and atmosphere and the staff were friendly and fast, I like this crew, they seem to click well.

Normal: Buffet: Find a waiter/waitress that mean business, they will make it great as they hustle drinks, cutlery, napkins and wine to you and make the dinner time feel good. We had a couple that may not have smiled much at first but it was a good meal with no waiting (the smiles came later when they realized we appreciated the efforts). Chat up one of the people at a favorite cooking station, the food seems to get better and do not forget to tip them.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach: Awesome, just no proper words. Nice white sand and blue clear water. Usually a great breeze but get that sunblock on or get burned in short order. Pull up a chair there at night and look at the stars and hear the waves with your favorite someone and it will hit you all the more that you are on vacation. Bar stereo was a bit on the distortion loud side but good music but at least there is a bar near at hand. Had a couple of the staff willing to march chairs to me a fair distance so no worries there.

Pools: Clean, clear, good variety and a fair number of chairs. The old El Senador side of the resort got shut down part way through our stay and that was the best pool for kids with a shallow end walled off (check to see if open when booking?)

Well kept grounds BUT wonder how it gets done with all the gardeners jumping out of the brush to sell you something at every opportunity. It is a bit much I hate to say. Find some gardener who is doing the work and bring him a beer, a large tip and small talk, you would feel better than dealing with these salesmen. If I hear one more time "My friend, uno momento!" from a gardener I may charge them for wasting my time.

They were prettying up the resort with spot painting as mentioned, really should have got people doing this at off-hours, it was getting hazardous trying to avoid the paint. Some attention could be given to the flagstones ringed with cement: the cement was falling off and could stand to be re-done. Everything else looks nice, used but not "tired" and it looks like they are addressing it.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
DO NOT USE SCOOTERS: Some of our family had an accident in the past (front wheel fell off) and a fellow had a mechanical failure and wiped out during our stay. If you see road rash on the sides of the scooters back away quickly. You have been warned.

Glass Bottom Boat Ride: Just do it, the snorkeling at the end was worth it just for that.

Jeep Ride to Moron: This is where much of the staff come from to get to work. Worth the trip just to see the HUGE bridge they made and a chance to see the seas of flamingos. The town is a bit sketchy but as the locals told me, the resort is the "golden prison" and is not representative of Cuba. It was amazing to see just how many schools they have. Bring your water and be prepared for many stops as tourist activities that can drain the pesos...

Other Comments:
Keep a set of swimsuit and home/holiday clothes in your carry-on since plane delays and odd issues can occur and Cuba sucks when you are wearing winter clothes.

No Canadian change (bills OK)! Hard to convert and no-one wants it, you have been warned.

Throttle back on the tips except on the "nice people" you get to know. Heavy tipping is getting to be expected. As pointed out by a local: "See that fancy car? That is a bartender, think what he gets in a day if he is tipped for every drink."

Cuba just cannot import some things so clothes, sewing kits, shoes, glasses, music (sheet, cd, mp3 for the right person), toiletries, small electronics (solar calculators) are helpful. General consumables that you would not want to do without they probably need. Small hand tools are in high demand.

Bring multiple pens for your own use (hard to find) you are constantly filling out forms.

Bring water tight drinking containers for water or alcohol on the go.

20 convertible pesos is a "normal" month's wage so bear in mind what money like this means to them.

Bring some kind of Spanish primer with you, any attempt at Spanish seems to surprise the locals to no end.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube