Playa Coco Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Playa Coco reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Cayo Coco

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 11, 2014

Iberostar Mojito

4.3 based on 51 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 28, 2012

Iberostar Cayo Coco

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 23, 2014

Tryp Cayo Coco

3.7 based on 71 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 18, 2013

Memories Caribe Beach Resort

3.4 based on 38 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Playa Coco  

Carretera a Cayo Guillermo, Cayo Coco, Ciego de Avila, Jardines del Rey, Cuba
(Jardines del Rey)

"muy bun hotel"
Posted by: Bob  on Apr 13, 2014
see all reviews

Playa Coco Reviews
Playa Coco Pictures and Information
Playa Coco Cayo Coco Cuba

#4
of 10 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 3.8

Based on 51 reviews

Playa Coco Information



Comfortable beach resort with colonial style design.The Hotel Playa Coco is an exclusive 4-star All Inclusive hotel situated in the paradisiacal islet of Cayo Coco, Cuba, very close to Morón, in the province of Ciego de Ávila. The resort is perfect for beach holidays, with its Spa and relaxation areas. It is also situated in an ideal setting to hold weddings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Playa Coco Reviews

Playa Coco Review: 3.8 of 5 51 reviews
Excellent
  20
Very good
  16
Average
  3
Poor
  9
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (19)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (9)
With friend (1)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Solo
1 - 10 of 51

"muy bun hotel"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bob  on Apr 13, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Party | Family and Kids
25 people found this review helpful

Excelente hotel, muy buen servicio, grand personal, exelente playa, buena comida, exelentes tragos....

Room Number:
4103

Room Block:
4

Arrival:
muy bien

Rooms:
exelente

Restaurants and Bars:
buenas bebidas, exelentes comidas, buen servicio, mucha cortecia...

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
muy limpia, buen paisaje

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
buena animacion

Other Comments:
en general, muy bien la jardineria

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best Beach Ever!!"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Angie  on Jul 23, 2012  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
219 people found this review helpful

I loved this resort. This resort is very well laid out...everything is close...not a huge resort. But the best part of this resort is the gorgeous beach.With turquoise water...snorkle form the beach...white soft sand....just beautiful. But the pool is fantastic too...its not only three feet deep..very nice pool. The rooms were good size. Now the only complaint i do have is that they need to update the beds(mattress). Food wasn't bad either by Cuban standards.

Room Block:
500 Yellow Building

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Best i have ever seen. Enjoyed this beach

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Great nightly entertainment. Very enjoyable.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Absolutely Amazing"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Erika  on Jul 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
227 people found this review helpful

After reading many positive recent reviews, we decided to give Hotel Playa Coco a try. I had been to Veradero on two previous occasions and was a little disappointed, especially the second time around. I must say that I am thrilled that we chose this hotel for our stay from June 22 to June 29, 2012 because the food and service at Hotel Playa Coco was outstanding.

Room Number:
5301

Room Block:
Yellow Beachfront

Arrival:
Upon arrival, we were greeted by welcoming hotel staff who offered us a most welcome drink. Check in was fast and we were given wonderful oceanfront rooms. Our bags were carried to our rooms.

Rooms:
The room was spacious and comfortable with a king-sized bed and a single cot, a wicker chair and sofa. The curtains and bedspreads were coordinated, in a cheery green and yellow, as was the furniture. The washroom was also large and clean. Toilet paper was always available. The air conditioning was welcome after a hot day in the sun on the beach. We appreciated the mini fridge and safe in the room. Everything was in great working order. The room was cleaned beautifully.

Restaurants and Bars:
I love to cook and am pretty particular about my food. I could not believe how great the food was at this hotel, in terms of both flavour and variety. Breakfast at the Buffet included fresh juices, fresh fruit, an egg station serving made-to-order eggs, a crepe station serving made-to-order thin pancakes, all sorts of sausages, bacon, fresh breads, cheeses, ham, and more. Lunch at the Buffet had salad fixings, tasty slow cooked dishes like pork and chicken, lots of vegetables, grilled meats/fish/seafood, and a pasta station. Dinner carried on in a similar vein. A large variety of desserts always completed a meal.

For a change, there was the Rancherito on the beach which was open for lunch and during the afternoon. There you could get pasta dishes, pizza, hamburgers, hotdogs, French fries, and ham/cheese sandwiches. No mushy pasta with tasteless sauces here. The pasta was cooked al dente and was served with either a delicious seafood sauce or meaty bolognese sauce. Ditto for the quality of the pizza. Then there was the snack bar at the pool which offered decent hamburgers, French fries (frozen but hot and freshly made to order) and grilled sandwiches all day/night. Then there were grills around the pool and beach area with meat and fresh fish/seafood. The a la carte restaurants also had excellent food together with amazing attention to detail. No time to get bored!

And, then, the fabulous dinner on the beach! Tables, decked out in white tablecloths and candles floating in blue water, were set up on the white sands of the beach. There was live musical entertainment with a pianist and flautist. An over-the-top buffet completed the magic. The spread included lobster, shrimp, fish, chicken, pork, and beef galore, a seafood paella, proscuitto, blue cheese, and even a roasted turkey. All this, in addition to an abundance of salads, rice, potatoes, vegetables and desserts (including bananas flambe). The spread was a sight to behold!

Our last day was topped off by trying a suckling pig which roasted for hours on a spit over an open pit. Succulent and delicious!

Service at all the restaurants was fabulous. The servers were very welcoming and professional. Glasses were continually being refilled and dishes were continually cleared away

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was absolutely incredible! Fine white sand with turquoise water that you could wade out into. There were plenty of chairs and areas of shade. Service again was amazing with waiters coming to offer drinks on the beach.

The pool was beautifully maintained with attractive bridges crossing it in different areas. It also had areas for volleyball.

The grounds were well manicured with beautiful vegetation and flowers.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The Animation Team drew people into pool and beach activities during the day. We, however, preferred to rest on the beach, which they respected. Nonetheless, they made sure they remembered our names and periodically came by just to check on us.

One area of disappointment was the Pilar/Media Luna tour we booked. We were told that it included many things that did not materialize; for example, time on the island of Media Luna (we did not step foot on it), an hour of snorkeling (more like half an hour), having an expert in the water explaining the marine life (no one explained anything), and being shown the residences of pre-revolution presidents (nothing). Pilar beach, however, was beautiful and the underwater world, even for the short time we were given, was amazing. The included lunch was great!

Other Comments:
All the staff were eager to please. We were asked several times a day by different personnel if we were enjoying ourselves. It seemed like a genuine concern for our well-being at their hotel.

I must give special thanks to Araceli, in public relations, who went the extra mile in making us feel special and ensuring that our stay was memorable. Our time was running out and we still had not tried the Japanese a la carte restaurant. She made arrangements to have it opened just for us and another family who was leaving the same day. She also arranged for a late check-out when our plane left late. Muchas gracias, Araceli!

I would return to Hotel Playa Coco in a heartbeat. If you want a relaxing vacation with great food and lots of personal attention, this is the place to go.

Muchas gracias to all the hard-working staff!!

P.S. Do not forget your insect repellant and sunscreen!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing experience"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Amy  on May 5, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
250 people found this review helpful

This was my first time ever to Cuba, It was amazing, I can't wait to come back to this resort, we already have 2 more vacations planned for this year!

Arrival:
Checking in was fast and very helpful, drinks were brought right when we arrived, very nice.

Rooms:
The rooms were nice, no problems. Always clean by the time we got back in the afternoon/evening.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restauraunts and bars were also very good, people were soo friendly and always there for you.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was gorgeous, we walked throught the neighboring resorts beach and it was nothing comparred to ours, The pools were very nice also, and grounds were clean and tidy. Very nice gardening.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The only good word I can put for someone in this hotel is the entertainment personnel"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  malgorzata  on Apr 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
243 people found this review helpful

All i want to say is: this hotel has thiefs!
where is my clothes that i had with me on my vacation,
i travelled with my family and when we came back home at least 10 things of our clothing was missing, and it's not that we left them there, 10 pieces of clothing would be hard to miss in a small hotel room and besides we checked everything to make sure we did not leave anything behind, can someone tell me how it could have dissappeared? I gave lots of clothes away but the things that I am missing are not the one's I gave away, I am assuming someone with extra key like the cleaning personel or whoever might have done it especially that when I came to my room once the card was not working, it could have been someone in my room locked from the inside of the room searching through my things and that's why my card was not working as you will not be able to open the room if it is locked from the inside, I am really dissapointed to find out that I am missing so many things, I will never go back to this hotel ever again and i will make sure all my friends will know about this theft incident, also my agent and all the travel agencies that i know will know about this, this is insane, you leave your clothes on the chair or in the bag with dirty clothes and someone goes through it and just takes it???????????? I think this hotel should have some rules for the cleaning personnel, this should not be happening

Room Number:
3207

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome stay.. will be returning!"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  steph  on Feb 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
254 people found this review helpful

Nothing bad to say about this resort, we went with a group of people and all of us had a blast. The food had a good variety, something for everyone. We stayed in the yellow building had great view of the ocean and close to the pool. Room was very clean and fully stocked. Entertainment staff especially Moko, Jack and Miakel were awesome the biggest reason why we will be returning. The night shows were very good and always got us involved in daily activities. They made our stay so much more enjoyable.

Room Block:
yellow building

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our vacation experience in cayo coco be live resort"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anthony and Myrna  on Jun 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
552 people found this review helpful

This was the most frustrating vacation that my wife and I had gone to. We picked Cuba this time to experience the Cuban vacation that the ads are talking about, but it turnrd out to be a dreadful experience. The food was awful. My wife and tried all the courses in the menu and we were so terribly disappointed with overall quality of the food. The beef was like leather, the pork was so tough that we had to cut the meat in small portions to make it easy to chew, and the chicken was rubbery-like. At the beach bar/restaurant, we ordered a hot dog and to my amazement, it came in a dinner roll rather than a hot dog bun. We came back on Saturday, june 11 and my stomach is still recovering from the hamburger which was a big mistake for me trying it. On one of the dinner time on Thursday, I ordered a spaghetti with meat sauce, only for the waiter to come back and we were told that they do not have it. Sio, I opted for the sauge pizza, but lo and behold, they were out of it too. So what's the point of having them on the menu. The wine was the cheap kind unless you want to pay extra for a premium kind. There was no diet cola. The mosquitos(and there was millions of them) were terrible. My wife had to get some medication as soon as we came back, thank God.

Room Number:
4207

Arrival:
Arrived on the evening of June 4,2011, Saturday at approx. 8PM and by the time we got settled in our room, the buffet restaurant was closed and there was absolutely nowhere to buy food especially for a diabetic like me.

Rooms:
The room(#4207 in the purple building) was decent and clean. However, you cannot watch TV and fall asleep because I had to get up just to turn the TV off. The remote was not working. We tried to brew coffee at night only to find out that the coffee machine was not working. The pillows were too small, a 4 star plus can surely provide for a better pillow. We came to Cuba to relax and getting a good night sleep was a struggle. The toilet was not bad. You have to call and request for toilet tissues, what's with that? The maid was very courteous and helpfull but she was only able to do so much with what was available.

Restaurants and Bars:
My wife and I do not drink( we might as well drank to get our money's worth). The bar at the pool side was ok. We tried the pina colada, however, there was no margaritas available and we were told that we can get them in Mexico(and that is were we are going back again)unfortunately. Like I said, the restaurants were nice, too bad they served awful food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was beautiful. Tere was lots of beach lounge chairs. My wife and I totally enjoyed the sunshine from Sunday to Tuesday, and then the rain came down everyday from thereon, and that's when all the mosquitos appeared. It was so difficult to stay outside at anytime because of the mosquitos. We had mosquito bites all over our faces and exposed body parts. I had terrible welts on my arms and face due to my slapping the bugs and you can see the blood after you hiy them.
The pool was beatiful. The grounds are well kept and flowers everywhere.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent Staff"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Darlene  on Apr 1, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
431 people found this review helpful

This was our third visit to this resort..and it has gone slightly downhill since our last visit in 2009 which had alot to do with changing hands. However, our main reason for visiting this resort was to be with our cuban friends that we have had the pleasure of getting to know. They made our vacation worth every penny. We did run out of water a few days and toilet paper seemed to be made of gold as it was hard to get..We did take extra with us on the advice of a previous review.
They were many french canadians at the resort and many very rude to the staff, we witnessed one person spitting on the floor in the buffet, i guess they were never raised with manners,very disgusting.
We find the food so so,,but you certainly would not starve, there's someting for everyone.
Apparently 60 staff were let go prior to us attending the resort, which put a huge strain on the remaining staff.
The resort is now owned 51 % by the government and 49% by private investors, most staff do not receive a wage there , only tips.
Many people had bug bites from tiny flying bugs , almost like mosquitoes but smaller and cannot be seen with the naked eye until they bite and you are left with large welts,which are very itchy. Contrary to previous reviews , they are not sand fleas or bed bugs or bed fleas.
Overall, we would probably return again, only as previous said to be with our Cuban friends, they are delightful and accomodating. They all work at the resort.

Room Number:
8301

Arrival:
On time, Sunwing, smooth flight, quickly passed thru customs and out of the airport in no time

Rooms:
We were upgraded to a suite, clean, spacious...

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate mainly at the beach bar and buffet, no problems

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool clean, beach beautiful,,,Grounds dry , have had no rain for 2 months...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did not partake in any activities

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Won't go back"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Deb  on Mar 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Wedding | With Group
423 people found this review helpful

This place is a mess!!
Grounds unkept.
Not enough lounge chairs at pools or beach.
Understaffed like crazy!
Washrooms around the resort (beach, lobby, restaurant)had no soap, no toilet paper, broken locks and you were lucky to get a toilet seat! Imagine a handicap bathroom with no toilet seat...
Came home covered in bug bites. Could hardly sit on the plane.
5 inch cockroaches.
No hot water for 2 days


We had fun because we were with a group for a wedding and we made our own fun.

Room Number:
8309

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Be Live Playa Coco, Cayo Coco"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brenda  on Feb 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
457 people found this review helpful

B prepared should b the name....bring your own Toilet Paper...and pray nobody from the shower above you is going to fall through the ceiling...while you shower. Also bring something for bugs bites...My legs are pretty bad from knee down ......very itchy.

some were friendly, some not.....met lots of people frm around the world that was great experience.

Over all if u want a great night life for singles...not to go...and in the evenings I had to wear a sweater gets cool.

catamaron....day trip is worth it if the boat had music....no music but we made it work...

Room Number:
2209

Room Block:
Flamingo

Arrival:
9pm On Wednesday Feb. 16/2011

Rooms:
1 large bed....set up pretty nice we had a patio...ust make sure the ceiling in shower is not drupping above your head. No coffee machine, small fridge but no supplies....you have to bring the one big bottle of water to bar to fill every time it's empty.

Restaurants and Bars:
ok

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
ok

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
ok

Other Comments:
Don't waste yr time..

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube