Playa Coco Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Playa Coco reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Cayo Coco

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 11, 2014

Iberostar Mojito

4.3 based on 51 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 28, 2012

Iberostar Cayo Coco

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 23, 2014

Tryp Cayo Coco

3.7 based on 72 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 31, 2014

Memories Caribe Beach Resort

3.5 based on 41 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 21, 2015

Playa Coco  

Carretera a Cayo Guillermo, Cayo Coco, Ciego de Avila, Jardines del Rey, Cuba
(Jardines del Rey)

"NEVER NEVER AGAIN!"
Posted by: Rosanna  on Aug 19, 2015
see all reviews

Playa Coco Reviews
Playa Coco Pictures and Information
Playa Coco Cayo Coco Cuba

#3
of 10 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 3.7

Based on 55 reviews

Playa Coco Information



Comfortable beach resort with colonial style design.The Hotel Playa Coco is an exclusive 4-star All Inclusive hotel situated in the paradisiacal islet of Cayo Coco, Cuba, very close to Morón, in the province of Ciego de Ávila. The resort is perfect for beach holidays, with its Spa and relaxation areas. It is also situated in an ideal setting to hold weddings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Playa Coco Reviews

Playa Coco Review: 3.7 of 5 55 reviews
Excellent
  20
Very good
  17
Average
  4
Poor
  10
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (22)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (12)
With friend (1)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Solo
1 - 10 of 55

"NEVER NEVER AGAIN!"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rosanna  on Aug 19, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2015 | Leisure | Family and Kids
3 people found this review helpful

FIRST TIME IN CUBA and WITH CHILDREN? PLEASE DO NOT SELECT THIS HOTEL IF I WERE YOU. WHY?

1. FRONT DESK (EVENING RECEPTION) - If you cannot speak their language, expect cold treatment. You ask for the bus schedule, they will just point you to the sign. They will only smile at people they like.

2. INDOOR ACTIVITIES - No indoor activities for the kids- we have to spend almost a $1000 CAD $ for outdoor activities. After saving for this travel for almost 2 years and excited to see Cuba,you are not ready for additional expenses because of what you hear from other people telling you there will be a lot of activities for kids and teenagers. BUT NOT THIS PLACE. .

3. ROOMS - We are 5 people, so they gave us 2 rooms. One room with 1 king size bed (2 beds put together) and 1 single bed. Balcony door cannot lock, reported but no one came to fixed. 2nd room with one king size bed, you cannot stay for long because of the smell. Requested for adjoining room, front desk told me they do not have adjoining room. The next day, housekeeping is cleaning next door, guess what I saw............ adjoining room! I've asked and they said it is already booked. Requested again to change room , they said fully booked. So we ended staying in one room. 4 people in one king size bed, 1 person in the single bed. Air Con not working properly. Water and power out for 2 day.

4. FOOD - They gave us 3 ala cart dinner which were fantastic especially the Italian food. Buffet........ once you ate there 3x, you dont want to go again even just eating egg. Everyday they have the same food and you have to wait for a longer time to eat fresh ( I doubt) grilled seafoods and meat. Thank God, my friend suggested to me to bring noodles and thermos just in case kids will not like the food.

5. DINING STAFF, HOUSEKEEPING and GARDENERS - they are so friendly especially our housekeeper, Yanara.

6. POOL - not that great for 4 star hotel

7. BEACH - I would say it's nice

8. TOUR - pricey but better than just swimming at the pool and beach for 7 days.

9, INTERNET - You have to buy the card and stay at the lobby, everyday cannot connect. I paid for the card and never used.

10. SAFETY and SECURITY - You do not have to worry, you will feel safe even your things inside the room.

WARNING! Read the review first before you book the hotel. I know some people are picky, but please believe because they are telling the truth. Do not just go for the price, look also for the activities and fun for your family. As a first timer, I learned my lesson a lot. Read reviews carefully and believe in them. You do not want to spend money for nothing. You work hard for it, you deserve the best. Not perfect but at least something that you paid for.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"poor service"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Angelo  on Aug 14, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2015 | Leisure | Family and Kids
2 people found this review helpful

Not enough staff. They changed towels two times in seven days. Rooms are not properly maintained. Maintainance takes long. The buffet has a poor choice.

Room Number:
4208

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Warning. Never again"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sherri  on Apr 5, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2015 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
53 people found this review helpful

My husband and I first went to this resort in 2008 for our honeymoon. It was great. I was very disappointed with our vacation last week. This resort is now a dump!! No toilet seats or toilet paper anywhere. Filthy!! Lots of staff but not very accomodating. We had no hot water for 4 of our 7 days. Pillows were like bags of rocks which we paid extra for. The cleaning staff never once cleaned our bathroom or stocked our room with toilet paper or water. We put a complaint in about the hot water at the front desk and were told to go to our room and wait for a worker to come look at it. No one showed up. Wasted a whole night waiting!! Some people were given buckets so they could at least flush their toilets. Lots of huge cockroaches. Sewage back ups in lobby washroom. No hot tubs working. Lots of garbage along the beach. When it rained water was pouring into our friends bathroom light fixture. Plug outlets hanging out of the walls. Very unsafe. Despite all the crappy conditions of the hotel and staff we had good time anyway but the rating should definatly be changed!!

Room Number:
5315

Restaurants and Bars:
Staff only came back if you tipped.

Other Comments:
I get one holiday a year and was very disappointed!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"cayo coco is a nice place"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  greg  on Jul 30, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
73 people found this review helpful

Well first of all, Cayo Coco is a nice island and a good place to spend your vacation and to crown it all, Hotel Playa Coco is a nice hotel to stay in while enjoying the beautiful gift of Cayo Coco. The beach is beautiful, it is actually the main reason I rented a place at the resort, it is hard for you not to like the beach. As much as the place is nice, I should also state that I am disappointed in the place a little bit, I expected more from their food selection than any other city I have been to in Cuba. The building is beautiful with an amazing view of the ocean, the rooms are just great, they are cleaned and well maintained and everything that is present inside the rooms are all in good working condition. The staff in any hotel should be the difference asides the services and in the case of this very hotel, the staff really made the difference. I have never met any staff as good and s composed as the ones at this resort, I was so dazzled. You should try the beach bar and the grill while in this hotel, you will enjoy it. You shouldn’t forget to bring mosquito repellant as you are going to this place, I made that mistake and wouldn’t advise you to but I definitely recommend this place to you if you intend to have a nice time. I made so many friends here and are still in touch with them.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"muy bun hotel"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bob  on Apr 13, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Party | Family and Kids
98 people found this review helpful

Excelente hotel, muy buen servicio, grand personal, exelente playa, buena comida, exelentes tragos....

Room Number:
4103

Room Block:
4

Arrival:
muy bien

Rooms:
exelente

Restaurants and Bars:
buenas bebidas, exelentes comidas, buen servicio, mucha cortecia...

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
muy limpia, buen paisaje

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
buena animacion

Other Comments:
en general, muy bien la jardineria

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best Beach Ever!!"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Angie  on Jul 23, 2012  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
293 people found this review helpful

I loved this resort. This resort is very well laid out...everything is close...not a huge resort. But the best part of this resort is the gorgeous beach.With turquoise water...snorkle form the beach...white soft sand....just beautiful. But the pool is fantastic too...its not only three feet deep..very nice pool. The rooms were good size. Now the only complaint i do have is that they need to update the beds(mattress). Food wasn't bad either by Cuban standards.

Room Block:
500 Yellow Building

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Best i have ever seen. Enjoyed this beach

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Great nightly entertainment. Very enjoyable.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Absolutely Amazing"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Erika  on Jul 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
299 people found this review helpful

After reading many positive recent reviews, we decided to give Hotel Playa Coco a try. I had been to Veradero on two previous occasions and was a little disappointed, especially the second time around. I must say that I am thrilled that we chose this hotel for our stay from June 22 to June 29, 2012 because the food and service at Hotel Playa Coco was outstanding.

Room Number:
5301

Room Block:
Yellow Beachfront

Arrival:
Upon arrival, we were greeted by welcoming hotel staff who offered us a most welcome drink. Check in was fast and we were given wonderful oceanfront rooms. Our bags were carried to our rooms.

Rooms:
The room was spacious and comfortable with a king-sized bed and a single cot, a wicker chair and sofa. The curtains and bedspreads were coordinated, in a cheery green and yellow, as was the furniture. The washroom was also large and clean. Toilet paper was always available. The air conditioning was welcome after a hot day in the sun on the beach. We appreciated the mini fridge and safe in the room. Everything was in great working order. The room was cleaned beautifully.

Restaurants and Bars:
I love to cook and am pretty particular about my food. I could not believe how great the food was at this hotel, in terms of both flavour and variety. Breakfast at the Buffet included fresh juices, fresh fruit, an egg station serving made-to-order eggs, a crepe station serving made-to-order thin pancakes, all sorts of sausages, bacon, fresh breads, cheeses, ham, and more. Lunch at the Buffet had salad fixings, tasty slow cooked dishes like pork and chicken, lots of vegetables, grilled meats/fish/seafood, and a pasta station. Dinner carried on in a similar vein. A large variety of desserts always completed a meal.

For a change, there was the Rancherito on the beach which was open for lunch and during the afternoon. There you could get pasta dishes, pizza, hamburgers, hotdogs, French fries, and ham/cheese sandwiches. No mushy pasta with tasteless sauces here. The pasta was cooked al dente and was served with either a delicious seafood sauce or meaty bolognese sauce. Ditto for the quality of the pizza. Then there was the snack bar at the pool which offered decent hamburgers, French fries (frozen but hot and freshly made to order) and grilled sandwiches all day/night. Then there were grills around the pool and beach area with meat and fresh fish/seafood. The a la carte restaurants also had excellent food together with amazing attention to detail. No time to get bored!

And, then, the fabulous dinner on the beach! Tables, decked out in white tablecloths and candles floating in blue water, were set up on the white sands of the beach. There was live musical entertainment with a pianist and flautist. An over-the-top buffet completed the magic. The spread included lobster, shrimp, fish, chicken, pork, and beef galore, a seafood paella, proscuitto, blue cheese, and even a roasted turkey. All this, in addition to an abundance of salads, rice, potatoes, vegetables and desserts (including bananas flambe). The spread was a sight to behold!

Our last day was topped off by trying a suckling pig which roasted for hours on a spit over an open pit. Succulent and delicious!

Service at all the restaurants was fabulous. The servers were very welcoming and professional. Glasses were continually being refilled and dishes were continually cleared away

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was absolutely incredible! Fine white sand with turquoise water that you could wade out into. There were plenty of chairs and areas of shade. Service again was amazing with waiters coming to offer drinks on the beach.

The pool was beautifully maintained with attractive bridges crossing it in different areas. It also had areas for volleyball.

The grounds were well manicured with beautiful vegetation and flowers.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The Animation Team drew people into pool and beach activities during the day. We, however, preferred to rest on the beach, which they respected. Nonetheless, they made sure they remembered our names and periodically came by just to check on us.

One area of disappointment was the Pilar/Media Luna tour we booked. We were told that it included many things that did not materialize; for example, time on the island of Media Luna (we did not step foot on it), an hour of snorkeling (more like half an hour), having an expert in the water explaining the marine life (no one explained anything), and being shown the residences of pre-revolution presidents (nothing). Pilar beach, however, was beautiful and the underwater world, even for the short time we were given, was amazing. The included lunch was great!

Other Comments:
All the staff were eager to please. We were asked several times a day by different personnel if we were enjoying ourselves. It seemed like a genuine concern for our well-being at their hotel.

I must give special thanks to Araceli, in public relations, who went the extra mile in making us feel special and ensuring that our stay was memorable. Our time was running out and we still had not tried the Japanese a la carte restaurant. She made arrangements to have it opened just for us and another family who was leaving the same day. She also arranged for a late check-out when our plane left late. Muchas gracias, Araceli!

I would return to Hotel Playa Coco in a heartbeat. If you want a relaxing vacation with great food and lots of personal attention, this is the place to go.

Muchas gracias to all the hard-working staff!!

P.S. Do not forget your insect repellant and sunscreen!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing experience"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Amy  on May 5, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
321 people found this review helpful

This was my first time ever to Cuba, It was amazing, I can't wait to come back to this resort, we already have 2 more vacations planned for this year!

Arrival:
Checking in was fast and very helpful, drinks were brought right when we arrived, very nice.

Rooms:
The rooms were nice, no problems. Always clean by the time we got back in the afternoon/evening.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restauraunts and bars were also very good, people were soo friendly and always there for you.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was gorgeous, we walked throught the neighboring resorts beach and it was nothing comparred to ours, The pools were very nice also, and grounds were clean and tidy. Very nice gardening.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The only good word I can put for someone in this hotel is the entertainment personnel"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  malgorzata  on Apr 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
318 people found this review helpful

All i want to say is: this hotel has thiefs!
where is my clothes that i had with me on my vacation,
i travelled with my family and when we came back home at least 10 things of our clothing was missing, and it's not that we left them there, 10 pieces of clothing would be hard to miss in a small hotel room and besides we checked everything to make sure we did not leave anything behind, can someone tell me how it could have dissappeared? I gave lots of clothes away but the things that I am missing are not the one's I gave away, I am assuming someone with extra key like the cleaning personel or whoever might have done it especially that when I came to my room once the card was not working, it could have been someone in my room locked from the inside of the room searching through my things and that's why my card was not working as you will not be able to open the room if it is locked from the inside, I am really dissapointed to find out that I am missing so many things, I will never go back to this hotel ever again and i will make sure all my friends will know about this theft incident, also my agent and all the travel agencies that i know will know about this, this is insane, you leave your clothes on the chair or in the bag with dirty clothes and someone goes through it and just takes it???????????? I think this hotel should have some rules for the cleaning personnel, this should not be happening

Room Number:
3207

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome stay.. will be returning!"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  steph  on Feb 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
325 people found this review helpful

Nothing bad to say about this resort, we went with a group of people and all of us had a blast. The food had a good variety, something for everyone. We stayed in the yellow building had great view of the ocean and close to the pool. Room was very clean and fully stocked. Entertainment staff especially Moko, Jack and Miakel were awesome the biggest reason why we will be returning. The night shows were very good and always got us involved in daily activities. They made our stay so much more enjoyable.

Room Block:
yellow building

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube