Playa Coco Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Playa Coco reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Cayo Coco

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 11, 2014

Iberostar Mojito

4.3 based on 51 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 28, 2012

Iberostar Cayo Coco

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 23, 2014

Tryp Cayo Coco

3.7 based on 72 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 31, 2014

Memories Caribe Beach Resort

3.5 based on 41 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 21, 2015

Playa Coco  

Carretera a Cayo Guillermo, Cayo Coco, Ciego de Avila, Jardines del Rey, Cuba
(Jardines del Rey)

"NEVER NEVER AGAIN!"
Posted by: Rosanna  on Aug 19, 2015
see all reviews

Playa Coco Reviews
Playa Coco Pictures and Information
Playa Coco Cayo Coco Cuba

#3
of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 3.7

Based on 55 reviews

Playa Coco Information



Comfortable beach resort with colonial style design.The Hotel Playa Coco is an exclusive 4-star All Inclusive hotel situated in the paradisiacal islet of Cayo Coco, Cuba, very close to Morón, in the province of Ciego de Ávila. The resort is perfect for beach holidays, with its Spa and relaxation areas. It is also situated in an ideal setting to hold weddings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Playa Coco Reviews

Playa Coco Review: 3.7 of 5 55 reviews
Excellent
  20
Very good
  17
Average
  4
Poor
  10
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (22)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (12)
With friend (1)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Solo
1 - 10 of 55

"Our vacation experience in cayo coco be live resort"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Anthony and Myrna  on Jun 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
712 people found this review helpful

This was the most frustrating vacation that my wife and I had gone to. We picked Cuba this time to experience the Cuban vacation that the ads are talking about, but it turnrd out to be a dreadful experience. The food was awful. My wife and tried all the courses in the menu and we were so terribly disappointed with overall quality of the food. The beef was like leather, the pork was so tough that we had to cut the meat in small portions to make it easy to chew, and the chicken was rubbery-like. At the beach bar/restaurant, we ordered a hot dog and to my amazement, it came in a dinner roll rather than a hot dog bun. We came back on Saturday, june 11 and my stomach is still recovering from the hamburger which was a big mistake for me trying it. On one of the dinner time on Thursday, I ordered a spaghetti with meat sauce, only for the waiter to come back and we were told that they do not have it. Sio, I opted for the sauge pizza, but lo and behold, they were out of it too. So what's the point of having them on the menu. The wine was the cheap kind unless you want to pay extra for a premium kind. There was no diet cola. The mosquitos(and there was millions of them) were terrible. My wife had to get some medication as soon as we came back, thank God.

Room Number:
4207

Arrival:
Arrived on the evening of June 4,2011, Saturday at approx. 8PM and by the time we got settled in our room, the buffet restaurant was closed and there was absolutely nowhere to buy food especially for a diabetic like me.

Rooms:
The room(#4207 in the purple building) was decent and clean. However, you cannot watch TV and fall asleep because I had to get up just to turn the TV off. The remote was not working. We tried to brew coffee at night only to find out that the coffee machine was not working. The pillows were too small, a 4 star plus can surely provide for a better pillow. We came to Cuba to relax and getting a good night sleep was a struggle. The toilet was not bad. You have to call and request for toilet tissues, what's with that? The maid was very courteous and helpfull but she was only able to do so much with what was available.

Restaurants and Bars:
My wife and I do not drink( we might as well drank to get our money's worth). The bar at the pool side was ok. We tried the pina colada, however, there was no margaritas available and we were told that we can get them in Mexico(and that is were we are going back again)unfortunately. Like I said, the restaurants were nice, too bad they served awful food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was beautiful. Tere was lots of beach lounge chairs. My wife and I totally enjoyed the sunshine from Sunday to Tuesday, and then the rain came down everyday from thereon, and that's when all the mosquitos appeared. It was so difficult to stay outside at anytime because of the mosquitos. We had mosquito bites all over our faces and exposed body parts. I had terrible welts on my arms and face due to my slapping the bugs and you can see the blood after you hiy them.
The pool was beatiful. The grounds are well kept and flowers everywhere.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"terrible... worst experience of my life"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  jj  on Dec 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Business | Family and Kids
319 people found this review helpful

I will be honest through the full review. The staff were a mix of some of the nicest people i ever met and the worst. Soe would make amn effort with you to see if you are a tipper and then if you werent would not bother with you. Prepare fro day 3 to get harrassed to leave money and clothing etc for tips. I gladly did this - but not to thoiuse who were brazan enough to ask.

I cant comment on enetertainment as there wasn't any. The disco bar was clo9sed the whole tgime anfd could not drink anything as they had no diet/ sugar free drinks. The breakfast was quite good to be honest thugh expect lots of ques. The rooms are a disgrace... take loo roll clean towels and blankets and a bath plug (and a bottle of bleach). If you havr children do not stay here there really is nothing for them. Kids club was shut rge whole time and there were pool tables etc but no good without the ques. Reception staff are no help and ignorant. Im sorry for the fe genuine nice staff. Please do not waste your money. Do npot use the safes. Ours was emptied and returned after 2 days and a day of polioce interviews.

:( waste of money .... luckily got a flight ho,e 3 days early :)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The only good word I can put for someone in this hotel is the entertainment personnel"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  malgorzata  on Apr 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
597 people found this review helpful

All i want to say is: this hotel has thiefs!
where is my clothes that i had with me on my vacation,
i travelled with my family and when we came back home at least 10 things of our clothing was missing, and it's not that we left them there, 10 pieces of clothing would be hard to miss in a small hotel room and besides we checked everything to make sure we did not leave anything behind, can someone tell me how it could have dissappeared? I gave lots of clothes away but the things that I am missing are not the one's I gave away, I am assuming someone with extra key like the cleaning personel or whoever might have done it especially that when I came to my room once the card was not working, it could have been someone in my room locked from the inside of the room searching through my things and that's why my card was not working as you will not be able to open the room if it is locked from the inside, I am really dissapointed to find out that I am missing so many things, I will never go back to this hotel ever again and i will make sure all my friends will know about this theft incident, also my agent and all the travel agencies that i know will know about this, this is insane, you leave your clothes on the chair or in the bag with dirty clothes and someone goes through it and just takes it???????????? I think this hotel should have some rules for the cleaning personnel, this should not be happening

Room Number:
3207

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"NEVER NEVER AGAIN!"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Rosanna  on Aug 19, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2015 | Leisure | Family and Kids
301 people found this review helpful

FIRST TIME IN CUBA and WITH CHILDREN? PLEASE DO NOT SELECT THIS HOTEL IF I WERE YOU. WHY?

1. FRONT DESK (EVENING RECEPTION) - If you cannot speak their language, expect cold treatment. You ask for the bus schedule, they will just point you to the sign. They will only smile at people they like.

2. INDOOR ACTIVITIES - No indoor activities for the kids- we have to spend almost a $1000 CAD $ for outdoor activities. After saving for this travel for almost 2 years and excited to see Cuba,you are not ready for additional expenses because of what you hear from other people telling you there will be a lot of activities for kids and teenagers. BUT NOT THIS PLACE. .

3. ROOMS - We are 5 people, so they gave us 2 rooms. One room with 1 king size bed (2 beds put together) and 1 single bed. Balcony door cannot lock, reported but no one came to fixed. 2nd room with one king size bed, you cannot stay for long because of the smell. Requested for adjoining room, front desk told me they do not have adjoining room. The next day, housekeeping is cleaning next door, guess what I saw............ adjoining room! I've asked and they said it is already booked. Requested again to change room , they said fully booked. So we ended staying in one room. 4 people in one king size bed, 1 person in the single bed. Air Con not working properly. Water and power out for 2 day.

4. FOOD - They gave us 3 ala cart dinner which were fantastic especially the Italian food. Buffet........ once you ate there 3x, you dont want to go again even just eating egg. Everyday they have the same food and you have to wait for a longer time to eat fresh ( I doubt) grilled seafoods and meat. Thank God, my friend suggested to me to bring noodles and thermos just in case kids will not like the food.

5. DINING STAFF, HOUSEKEEPING and GARDENERS - they are so friendly especially our housekeeper, Yanara.

6. POOL - not that great for 4 star hotel

7. BEACH - I would say it's nice

8. TOUR - pricey but better than just swimming at the pool and beach for 7 days.

9, INTERNET - You have to buy the card and stay at the lobby, everyday cannot connect. I paid for the card and never used.

10. SAFETY and SECURITY - You do not have to worry, you will feel safe even your things inside the room.

WARNING! Read the review first before you book the hotel. I know some people are picky, but please believe because they are telling the truth. Do not just go for the price, look also for the activities and fun for your family. As a first timer, I learned my lesson a lot. Read reviews carefully and believe in them. You do not want to spend money for nothing. You work hard for it, you deserve the best. Not perfect but at least something that you paid for.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"poor service"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Angelo  on Aug 14, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2015 | Leisure | Family and Kids
291 people found this review helpful

Not enough staff. They changed towels two times in seven days. Rooms are not properly maintained. Maintainance takes long. The buffet has a poor choice.

Room Number:
4208

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disastrous"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Chandra  on Dec 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
306 people found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Cuba, and it was one of the worst experiences ever. We arrived at the Be Live Playa Coco the room was not ready (I don’t see why since there was only 80 people on the resort), we lost almost all of the day waiting for the room. When we did get the room it was disappointing, the bed was hard like rock, pillows was filthy and paper thin, The back door also did not lock at all very unsafe room. Sheets were not changed, no bottles of water provided, no toilet paper left. There was roaches in the bathroom.

We all know that the food in Cuba is not the best, it is very balnd but there is no excuse for this Hotel to serve customer rotten food, the fish was disgusting, everything was either from a can or frozen and uncook. We always ask for orange juice but it seems that they always ran out of orange juce, they also ran out of vodka, soda, etc. If you are not in the buffet for the first half hour then you might as well don’t show up any meal because the food was taken away to feed the staff. It was like a first come first serve basis. Lets not discuss the absolute disgrace of their specialty restaurant.

There was no entertainment what so ever, the bar was closed in the club (no one attend due to that). The pool was freezing cold, jaccuzi was freezing cold also, when ask why it was not heated the worker reply the hotel is not officially open until the 24th of December, I ask then why people pay to come to this hotel and not get the full services which was advertised by Sunwing? No one was willing to assist with any of your issues. when you go to receptionist for help they would see you standing there unwilling to help and continue with their conversation with their co-worker (which comes first in every aspect).

The beach was the only thing that was good about this hotel except we did not get to even enjoy that due to their bad weather condition of 5 degrees.

Overall we were extremely disappointed with experience and would NOT recommend this location/hotel based on advertisment. SUNWING SHOULD NOT ADVERTISING THIS HOTEL AS FOUR STAR BECAUSE THIS IS NOT A FOUR STAR, I WOULD RATE IT 2 ½.

Room Number:
3212

Arrival:
12/04/2010

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Won't go back"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Deb  on Mar 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Wedding | With Group
569 people found this review helpful

This place is a mess!!
Grounds unkept.
Not enough lounge chairs at pools or beach.
Understaffed like crazy!
Washrooms around the resort (beach, lobby, restaurant)had no soap, no toilet paper, broken locks and you were lucky to get a toilet seat! Imagine a handicap bathroom with no toilet seat...
Came home covered in bug bites. Could hardly sit on the plane.
5 inch cockroaches.
No hot water for 2 days


We had fun because we were with a group for a wedding and we made our own fun.

Room Number:
8309

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Vacation from hell"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Judith  on Jan 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
379 people found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Cuba. People were friendly but the room was cold and we had no hot water for two days. The only restaurant worth going to was the Japanese one. Too many people and u always had to line up for the buffet. There is no heat in the room so when the temperature dips down to 8 or so u cannot stay warm. Very run down. The whole place needs some tender loving care.

Room Number:
4301

Room Block:
Pink building

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Be Live Playa Coco,Cuba."

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marlene  on Feb 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
531 people found this review helpful

I have to say it was terrible! And maybe if it was cheap or rated as a 2 star I would have understood. The room smelt of amonia...mattress was flea invested. The food was always cold and tasteless and some nights we had to wait to get into buffet because staff shortage even though half of the room was closed off. Italian restaurant!!! we left and went to buffet along with others. The only saving grace was the beach and sun.
My advice...save your money or pay more and go where it truely is a 4 star!

Marlene
Whitby,ON

Room Number:
5103

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"March Break Holiday"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Paula Fontaine  on Mar 19, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
971 people found this review helpful

Stayed here March 10-17, 2009. Beaches, beautiful, pools clean & tidy, bartenders, AWESOME! Rudolfo at the pool bar was terrific, good show-manship! The Tom Cruise of Cuba! Fernando at the 24 hr Restaurant, super guy & Ismaray, cute & funny. Food was fine, lots of variety, if you left hungry, your fault. The Japanese a la carte was fabulous! Great taste and well organized. Things to work on - towels, cleaning of the rooms could have been quicker, went back for a snooze in the afternoon and sometimes it still wasn't done. All bars should be stocked the same, got some drinks at one but not the other. Weather was absolutely wonderful, breezy but beautiful. One thing bothered me: there was a lady who would go topless at the pool bar area with young kids playing in the pool and no one from the resort stepped in to tell her that it was inappropriate. And with her french accent, she didn't get it when comments were made to her directly, she just didn't care. Very wrong. Would I go back, possibly, but I do consider it a 3.5 star not a 4.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube