Playa Coco Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Playa Coco reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Cayo Coco

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 11, 2014

Iberostar Mojito

4.3 based on 51 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 28, 2012

Iberostar Cayo Coco

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 23, 2014

Tryp Cayo Coco

3.7 based on 72 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 31, 2014

Memories Caribe Beach Resort

3.5 based on 41 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 21, 2015

Playa Coco  

Carretera a Cayo Guillermo, Cayo Coco, Ciego de Avila, Jardines del Rey, Cuba
(Jardines del Rey)

"NEVER NEVER AGAIN!"
Posted by: Rosanna  on Aug 19, 2015
see all reviews

Playa Coco Reviews
Playa Coco Pictures and Information
Playa Coco Cayo Coco Cuba

#3
of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 3.7

Based on 55 reviews

Playa Coco Information



Comfortable beach resort with colonial style design.The Hotel Playa Coco is an exclusive 4-star All Inclusive hotel situated in the paradisiacal islet of Cayo Coco, Cuba, very close to Morón, in the province of Ciego de Ávila. The resort is perfect for beach holidays, with its Spa and relaxation areas. It is also situated in an ideal setting to hold weddings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Playa Coco Reviews

Playa Coco Review: 3.7 of 5 55 reviews
Excellent
  20
Very good
  17
Average
  4
Poor
  10
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (22)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (12)
With friend (1)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Solo
1 - 10 of 55

"Just wonderful"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alexander Wilson  on May 9, 2005  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2005
3112 people found this review helpful

Spent 7 wonderful days at Hotel playa Coco. Found the beaches to be exceptional with an lots of beach chairs, plenty of space, plenty to do at the beach and perfect weather with a wonderful breeze to cool you off with temps in the 30's. Our room in building 4, second floor was clean and well equipped with tv, cd player, king bed and lots of chairs. Bathroom was large and kept very clean by our room gal who was very pleasant and very thankful for tips and gifts. Buffet was super with numerous selections to satisfy all tastes and a staff that was super and willing to meet your every need. The Italian and Japanese a la cart restaurants were exceptional and I would highly suggest all to give them a try. Nightly entertainment in the theatre was ok with nightly shows. We spent more time in the lobby bar with piano player and the main lobby where Cuban bands performed each night. They were great. Disco was quiet due to the hotel not being too busy but we still took in the karoke nights that were very entertaining. Since this is a government run hotel there was plenty of staff even though the guests numbered from a high of 190 down to 150 for the week we were there. The 24 hour internet cafe is great and very affordable. The gift shop is well equipped but could have some sun glasses in stock as my wife lost her only pair and since they are a must we had to take a taxi to Hotel Tryp to get a pair at their gift shop which cost 35 pesos for the taxi and glasses. Suggestion take a second pair! The days that the vendors were set up outside provided a great chance to purchase things to bring home. From check-in to check-out the staff were wonderful and ever willing to answer all your needs with an ever present smile. Money exchange at the hotel was not a problem and available 24 hours a day at the front desk. There were some line ups and delays at the airport on arrival to exchange money but not too bad. There is no real need for pesos until you get to the hotel so I would suggest waiting until then. Overall this hotel is wonderful, food is great and the staff makes for a very relaxing time. I wuold ceretainly return to this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"4 Star +"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Abigail Nelson  on May 30, 2005  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2005
2373 people found this review helpful

Just came back May 26-2005. Weather was amazing (31C to 38C) Food was very good to excellent (Japanese restaurant was the best). Beach: white soft sand, ocean: many shades of blue. Always a nice breeze. Great resort fo family... many activities for kids (indoor game room, outdoor mini-put and activities, Aqua dance and Dancing lessons daily for all, treasure hunt etc. Disco all night long!!! Pools are very nice with different features, staff is amazing!!! Bar tenders make good drinks (also drinking games for adults). Definetely a four star place. The only area they need inprovement is in their nightly shows (rating 2-3). It's basically dancing every night...more variety would be nice...otherwise I recommend this resort... and it's only 20 min. from the airport!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bounty Island heaven"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  hayley  on Sep 12, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Sep, 2005
2091 people found this review helpful

We stayed for 14 nights in july. the food was fantastic especially the seafood restaurant. The beach was paradise pure white sands, warm shallow crystal clear waters. The coral reefs were very good and there in the shallow water. Rooms typically carribean. The people are so friendly too. Oh and the "caves" night club..thats great! the best holiday ever!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"GREAT HOLIDAY IN PLAYA COCO HOTEL"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Canada  on Oct 12, 2005  >  68 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2005
1973 people found this review helpful

We returned September 19 2005, The resort is very new and clean, the staff was great. The pool is big and very nice, the beach was tidy with the chairs neatly stacked every night. The lobby piano bar was a great place to spend a few hours the waiters were happy happy which in turn made us happy. The pianist played extremely well so good to listen to. Ala carte restaurants served excellent meals we found the main buffet food to be a little bland, but the coffee is the best we ever tasted. We had a GREAT HOLIDAY AT A GREAT HOTEL.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"great holiday"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Shirley Barber  on Oct 14, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Oct, 2005
1905 people found this review helpful

Staff delightful. Very clean, excellent maid service. Restaurants were superb especially the japanese. Variety of food in buffet could show a little more imagination, very repetative. Although tea and coffee making machine in room no tea, no milk and only one coffee filter provided for duration of holiday. Advertised as having a mini bar in room but non existent, just a fridge. Pool area ideal for children. Plenty of sunbeds. Beach areas very clean and beach bar/restaurant superb. Often ran out of certain drinks at all bars. Icecream parlour never open. Mosquitos a nightmare.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"great place"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  beverley heintze  on Nov 8, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Nov, 2005
1923 people found this review helpful

this resort is great we had no trouble with it at all, the food was good, had one of the best rooms we were in block 5 over looking the sea the beach is out of this world with the clear sea and powder white sand you could walk for miles along the beach and see no one it was heaven, hope to return there again very soon.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"If you get Playa Coco at a bargain price ..only deserves a 3 star"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lisa murrell  on Nov 22, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) ANGOLA
Visited on: Nov, 2005
2279 people found this review helpful

We went here last christmas...what a dissapointment. The management were aware of the problems and agreed to move us to a (in their words) proper 4 star hotel.

This hotel was finished by the goverment as the hotel chain pulled out hence the poor standards with.. accomodation, entertainment, food and some service.

Do not waste your time or money on this one!

uk

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Thank you to people of hotel Playa Cayo-Coco"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  marina khoushinsky  on Dec 6, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2005
1934 people found this review helpful

Hello everybody,

Thank you very much for marvellous vacation that I spent on your beautiful island. Everything was awesome: people, services, weather, beach, birds. Special thanks to DJ.

I wish you all the best.

See you again.

Marina

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Xmas Hols"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Nicola Christy  on Jan 4, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jan, 2006
1941 people found this review helpful

Have just returned from Playa Coco and what a great time we had. Hotel was lovely, food was very good lots of seafood, pork, chicken etc. Ice Cream Parlour was open, Kids Club excellent, lounge bar very relaxing. The holiday rep we had was excellent. Maid service very good. I couldnt fault the place, the people were so friendly. I would go back tmrw if I could. People must realise going to this hotel that it is not blackpool in the sun, they dont have Heinz Baked Beans or Danish bacon, just enjoy the local food, sun etc

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Honest review"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Al McCullough  on Feb 9, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2006
2357 people found this review helpful

Rooms: Nice size, but we had tiny ants in our bathroom the whole time, they were size of those no-seeums, but didn't fly thankfully.

Pools: Cold, cold, and cold. When it was nice out, and not windy, it was nice to jump in, but you have to get used to temperature. Kids love it no matter what though. Plenty of loungers and mix of sun/shade.

Food: Not that good at all. Plenty variety, but weird variety. Fries from 24hr and beach bar were always good though :). If you do the a la carte, skip the seafood and do the japanese twice or more. the japanese was amazing!

Service: Bad. very bad. The chamber maids did great, but the pool bar seemed to close when it was busiest (5pm) and same with the beach bar (4-5pm). A lot of staff seem to stand around quite a bit and watch what other staff are doing (a keg needed changing and we say 5 people watching).

Hope I didn't scare anyone. Your vacation is what you make it. If you just want a place to lay in the sun, this is pretty good. I wouldn't say it's a 4* though, no higher than 3.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube