Playa Coco Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Playa Coco reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Cayo Coco

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 11, 2014

Iberostar Mojito

4.3 based on 51 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 28, 2012

Iberostar Cayo Coco

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 23, 2014

Tryp Cayo Coco

3.7 based on 72 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 31, 2014

Memories Caribe Beach Resort

3.5 based on 41 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 21, 2015

Playa Coco  

Carretera a Cayo Guillermo, Cayo Coco, Ciego de Avila, Jardines del Rey, Cuba
(Jardines del Rey)

"NEVER NEVER AGAIN!"
Posted by: Rosanna  on Aug 19, 2015
see all reviews

Playa Coco Reviews
Playa Coco Pictures and Information
Playa Coco Cayo Coco Cuba

#3
of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 3.7

Based on 55 reviews

Playa Coco Information



Comfortable beach resort with colonial style design.The Hotel Playa Coco is an exclusive 4-star All Inclusive hotel situated in the paradisiacal islet of Cayo Coco, Cuba, very close to Morón, in the province of Ciego de Ávila. The resort is perfect for beach holidays, with its Spa and relaxation areas. It is also situated in an ideal setting to hold weddings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Playa Coco Reviews

Playa Coco Review: 3.7 of 5 55 reviews
Excellent
  20
Very good
  17
Average
  4
Poor
  10
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (22)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (12)
With friend (1)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Solo
11 - 20 of 55

"Our vacation experience in cayo coco be live resort"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Anthony and Myrna  on Jun 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
712 people found this review helpful

This was the most frustrating vacation that my wife and I had gone to. We picked Cuba this time to experience the Cuban vacation that the ads are talking about, but it turnrd out to be a dreadful experience. The food was awful. My wife and tried all the courses in the menu and we were so terribly disappointed with overall quality of the food. The beef was like leather, the pork was so tough that we had to cut the meat in small portions to make it easy to chew, and the chicken was rubbery-like. At the beach bar/restaurant, we ordered a hot dog and to my amazement, it came in a dinner roll rather than a hot dog bun. We came back on Saturday, june 11 and my stomach is still recovering from the hamburger which was a big mistake for me trying it. On one of the dinner time on Thursday, I ordered a spaghetti with meat sauce, only for the waiter to come back and we were told that they do not have it. Sio, I opted for the sauge pizza, but lo and behold, they were out of it too. So what's the point of having them on the menu. The wine was the cheap kind unless you want to pay extra for a premium kind. There was no diet cola. The mosquitos(and there was millions of them) were terrible. My wife had to get some medication as soon as we came back, thank God.

Room Number:
4207

Arrival:
Arrived on the evening of June 4,2011, Saturday at approx. 8PM and by the time we got settled in our room, the buffet restaurant was closed and there was absolutely nowhere to buy food especially for a diabetic like me.

Rooms:
The room(#4207 in the purple building) was decent and clean. However, you cannot watch TV and fall asleep because I had to get up just to turn the TV off. The remote was not working. We tried to brew coffee at night only to find out that the coffee machine was not working. The pillows were too small, a 4 star plus can surely provide for a better pillow. We came to Cuba to relax and getting a good night sleep was a struggle. The toilet was not bad. You have to call and request for toilet tissues, what's with that? The maid was very courteous and helpfull but she was only able to do so much with what was available.

Restaurants and Bars:
My wife and I do not drink( we might as well drank to get our money's worth). The bar at the pool side was ok. We tried the pina colada, however, there was no margaritas available and we were told that we can get them in Mexico(and that is were we are going back again)unfortunately. Like I said, the restaurants were nice, too bad they served awful food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was beautiful. Tere was lots of beach lounge chairs. My wife and I totally enjoyed the sunshine from Sunday to Tuesday, and then the rain came down everyday from thereon, and that's when all the mosquitos appeared. It was so difficult to stay outside at anytime because of the mosquitos. We had mosquito bites all over our faces and exposed body parts. I had terrible welts on my arms and face due to my slapping the bugs and you can see the blood after you hiy them.
The pool was beatiful. The grounds are well kept and flowers everywhere.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent Staff"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Darlene  on Apr 1, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
602 people found this review helpful

This was our third visit to this resort..and it has gone slightly downhill since our last visit in 2009 which had alot to do with changing hands. However, our main reason for visiting this resort was to be with our cuban friends that we have had the pleasure of getting to know. They made our vacation worth every penny. We did run out of water a few days and toilet paper seemed to be made of gold as it was hard to get..We did take extra with us on the advice of a previous review.
They were many french canadians at the resort and many very rude to the staff, we witnessed one person spitting on the floor in the buffet, i guess they were never raised with manners,very disgusting.
We find the food so so,,but you certainly would not starve, there's someting for everyone.
Apparently 60 staff were let go prior to us attending the resort, which put a huge strain on the remaining staff.
The resort is now owned 51 % by the government and 49% by private investors, most staff do not receive a wage there , only tips.
Many people had bug bites from tiny flying bugs , almost like mosquitoes but smaller and cannot be seen with the naked eye until they bite and you are left with large welts,which are very itchy. Contrary to previous reviews , they are not sand fleas or bed bugs or bed fleas.
Overall, we would probably return again, only as previous said to be with our Cuban friends, they are delightful and accomodating. They all work at the resort.

Room Number:
8301

Arrival:
On time, Sunwing, smooth flight, quickly passed thru customs and out of the airport in no time

Rooms:
We were upgraded to a suite, clean, spacious...

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate mainly at the beach bar and buffet, no problems

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool clean, beach beautiful,,,Grounds dry , have had no rain for 2 months...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did not partake in any activities

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Won't go back"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Deb  on Mar 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Wedding | With Group
569 people found this review helpful

This place is a mess!!
Grounds unkept.
Not enough lounge chairs at pools or beach.
Understaffed like crazy!
Washrooms around the resort (beach, lobby, restaurant)had no soap, no toilet paper, broken locks and you were lucky to get a toilet seat! Imagine a handicap bathroom with no toilet seat...
Came home covered in bug bites. Could hardly sit on the plane.
5 inch cockroaches.
No hot water for 2 days


We had fun because we were with a group for a wedding and we made our own fun.

Room Number:
8309

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Be Live Playa Coco, Cayo Coco"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Brenda  on Feb 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
569 people found this review helpful

B prepared should b the name....bring your own Toilet Paper...and pray nobody from the shower above you is going to fall through the ceiling...while you shower. Also bring something for bugs bites...My legs are pretty bad from knee down ......very itchy.

some were friendly, some not.....met lots of people frm around the world that was great experience.

Over all if u want a great night life for singles...not to go...and in the evenings I had to wear a sweater gets cool.

catamaron....day trip is worth it if the boat had music....no music but we made it work...

Room Number:
2209

Room Block:
Flamingo

Arrival:
9pm On Wednesday Feb. 16/2011

Rooms:
1 large bed....set up pretty nice we had a patio...ust make sure the ceiling in shower is not drupping above your head. No coffee machine, small fridge but no supplies....you have to bring the one big bottle of water to bar to fill every time it's empty.

Restaurants and Bars:
ok

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
ok

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
ok

Other Comments:
Don't waste yr time..

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Be Live Playa Coco,Cuba."

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marlene  on Feb 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
531 people found this review helpful

I have to say it was terrible! And maybe if it was cheap or rated as a 2 star I would have understood. The room smelt of amonia...mattress was flea invested. The food was always cold and tasteless and some nights we had to wait to get into buffet because staff shortage even though half of the room was closed off. Italian restaurant!!! we left and went to buffet along with others. The only saving grace was the beach and sun.
My advice...save your money or pay more and go where it truely is a 4 star!

Marlene
Whitby,ON

Room Number:
5103

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Vacation from hell"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Judith  on Jan 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
379 people found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Cuba. People were friendly but the room was cold and we had no hot water for two days. The only restaurant worth going to was the Japanese one. Too many people and u always had to line up for the buffet. There is no heat in the room so when the temperature dips down to 8 or so u cannot stay warm. Very run down. The whole place needs some tender loving care.

Room Number:
4301

Room Block:
Pink building

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"terrible... worst experience of my life"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  jj  on Dec 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Business | Family and Kids
319 people found this review helpful

I will be honest through the full review. The staff were a mix of some of the nicest people i ever met and the worst. Soe would make amn effort with you to see if you are a tipper and then if you werent would not bother with you. Prepare fro day 3 to get harrassed to leave money and clothing etc for tips. I gladly did this - but not to thoiuse who were brazan enough to ask.

I cant comment on enetertainment as there wasn't any. The disco bar was clo9sed the whole tgime anfd could not drink anything as they had no diet/ sugar free drinks. The breakfast was quite good to be honest thugh expect lots of ques. The rooms are a disgrace... take loo roll clean towels and blankets and a bath plug (and a bottle of bleach). If you havr children do not stay here there really is nothing for them. Kids club was shut rge whole time and there were pool tables etc but no good without the ques. Reception staff are no help and ignorant. Im sorry for the fe genuine nice staff. Please do not waste your money. Do npot use the safes. Ours was emptied and returned after 2 days and a day of polioce interviews.

:( waste of money .... luckily got a flight ho,e 3 days early :)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disastrous"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Chandra  on Dec 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
306 people found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Cuba, and it was one of the worst experiences ever. We arrived at the Be Live Playa Coco the room was not ready (I don’t see why since there was only 80 people on the resort), we lost almost all of the day waiting for the room. When we did get the room it was disappointing, the bed was hard like rock, pillows was filthy and paper thin, The back door also did not lock at all very unsafe room. Sheets were not changed, no bottles of water provided, no toilet paper left. There was roaches in the bathroom.

We all know that the food in Cuba is not the best, it is very balnd but there is no excuse for this Hotel to serve customer rotten food, the fish was disgusting, everything was either from a can or frozen and uncook. We always ask for orange juice but it seems that they always ran out of orange juce, they also ran out of vodka, soda, etc. If you are not in the buffet for the first half hour then you might as well don’t show up any meal because the food was taken away to feed the staff. It was like a first come first serve basis. Lets not discuss the absolute disgrace of their specialty restaurant.

There was no entertainment what so ever, the bar was closed in the club (no one attend due to that). The pool was freezing cold, jaccuzi was freezing cold also, when ask why it was not heated the worker reply the hotel is not officially open until the 24th of December, I ask then why people pay to come to this hotel and not get the full services which was advertised by Sunwing? No one was willing to assist with any of your issues. when you go to receptionist for help they would see you standing there unwilling to help and continue with their conversation with their co-worker (which comes first in every aspect).

The beach was the only thing that was good about this hotel except we did not get to even enjoy that due to their bad weather condition of 5 degrees.

Overall we were extremely disappointed with experience and would NOT recommend this location/hotel based on advertisment. SUNWING SHOULD NOT ADVERTISING THIS HOTEL AS FOUR STAR BECAUSE THIS IS NOT A FOUR STAR, I WOULD RATE IT 2 ½.

Room Number:
3212

Arrival:
12/04/2010

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Super belles vacances"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sue  on Oct 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
317 people found this review helpful

Pour ceux qui aime le luxe, ce n'est pas la place pour eux...C'est un pays très pauvre et pourtant tellement beau. Quand j'y suis allé ce n'était pas mon idée de critiquer négativement ce beau pays pauvre mais d'admirer le paysage fantastique. La bouffe est quand même bien, j'ai vue pire dans les resto de Montréal...Notre chambre était bien de toute façon on y va que pour dormir. Le service est bon et les serveurs aussi. Ce n'est pas d'une propreté incroyable mais ce n'est pas si sale que le monde disent. C,est sûr qu'il y a des bibittes mais on en a ici aussi!!!! Très reposant et relaxant c'est la Sérinité sur place!!!! Pas trop d'activités parce que c'est une île et pour aller à Moron ça prends 1 heure de bus. Vixits Canne à sucre, usine de cigare, magasiner et c'est vraiment pas cher! Ceux qui veulent faire la fête je ne leur recommande pas même si il y a une discothèque dans une grotte. Spectacles à tous les soirs et c'est bon. J'ai connu Calabria lè-bas et quand je suis revenue ça commencait à jouer à la radio.

Arrival:
IL y a un mini aéroport là-bas ça l'air d'un petit hangar mais lorsque j'ai mise le pied sur le sol Cubain avec le gros soleil qui m'attendait je suis tombée en amour avec la place. Seul hic! je me suis fait fouiller parce que j'avais apporter mes médicaments. Si vous devez en apporter, emmenez la prescription de la bouteille c'est très surveillée là-bas. Une bagatelle. J'y retourne encore cet hiver et j'ai très hâte. La sainte paix!!!!

Rooms:
Propres et fait à tous les jours....

Restaurants and Bars:
Ils ont un vin absolument délicieux (rouge)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Super de belle piscine avec motif dedans super beau et la mer on se voit les orteils.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Il faut sortir en bus pour aller en ville.

Photos: http://facebook.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"be live cayo coco"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. linda oliver  on Sep 26, 2010  >  3 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: Sep, 2010
590 people found this review helpful

i went with the girls in november last year.just had an excellant time, the staff were awesome especially joel and omar .the girls and i are coming back november 16 th for another week . see .you guys then linda oliver

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube