Playa Coco Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Playa Coco reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Cayo Coco

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 11, 2014

Iberostar Mojito

4.3 based on 51 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 28, 2012

Iberostar Cayo Coco

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 23, 2014

Tryp Cayo Coco

3.7 based on 72 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 31, 2014

Memories Caribe Beach Resort

3.5 based on 41 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 21, 2015

Playa Coco  

Carretera a Cayo Guillermo, Cayo Coco, Ciego de Avila, Jardines del Rey, Cuba
(Jardines del Rey)

"NEVER NEVER AGAIN!"
Posted by: Rosanna  on Aug 19, 2015
see all reviews

Playa Coco Reviews
Playa Coco Pictures and Information
Playa Coco Cayo Coco Cuba

#3
of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 3.7

Based on 55 reviews

Playa Coco Information



Comfortable beach resort with colonial style design.The Hotel Playa Coco is an exclusive 4-star All Inclusive hotel situated in the paradisiacal islet of Cayo Coco, Cuba, very close to Morón, in the province of Ciego de Ávila. The resort is perfect for beach holidays, with its Spa and relaxation areas. It is also situated in an ideal setting to hold weddings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Playa Coco Reviews

Playa Coco Review: 3.7 of 5 55 reviews
Excellent
  20
Very good
  17
Average
  4
Poor
  10
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (22)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (12)
With friend (1)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Solo
21 - 30 of 55

"Your holiday is what you make of it!!"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Danny  on Aug 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
287 people found this review helpful

Cuba will always be a favourite. Whoever has visited more than once, will understand what I mean!!

Arrival:
Sunwing, as usual, always a great flight with all the extra inclusions that other airlines have decided not to offer anymore. Once at the Cayo Coco airport, it was a breeze...we were the only landing flight, immigration and luggage within 25-30 minutes and then on the bus... One mishap though is that a family had a person without a Canadian passport so we unfortunatly got delayed for an hour and a hald almost..which was unfortunate, but hey we were 10 minutes away from the hotel and we all survived!!

Rooms:
All our group had Oceanview rooms in block 4 (the pink one on your left). They were spacious nice and very clean. Beach towels were there and none of us mentioned any kind of bad smell in the rooms. The women with us loved the rooms, and that tells that they were nice...us men just wanna shower and sleep!!!

Restaurants and Bars:
Bars are great, the beach one had lemon juice that tasted great. My favourite though was the 24 hour snack bar by the Teatro, Pedro and Angel (the chef) are the best staff boys I've ever met on holiday (and I go to Cuba twice a year)...Angel makes the best Tuna sandwich you can ever have and is the nicest man you can ever meet.

Buffet - mehhhhhhhh is all I have to say. the pasta bar and the grill had always something good. But the rest of the stuff that you choose from didn't have much choice, but, do not worry, you are still eating better than the rest of Cuba, so do not take this for granted.

Japanese - A MUSTTTT...simply amazing

Italian - Excellent

Seafood - DIdi not try it, our reservation was too early so we decided not to go.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach - I mean it's Cuba...do you really need me to say anything...It's Cuba people, the pearl of the caribbean..I've been to many beaches, Cuba does have the best sand and water on this planet

Grounds - Kinda lush, but beautifully kept. The hotel layout is very nice

Pool - Very nice freestyle pool. Nice for the afternoons because of the activities (if you wanna have some fun) but not too busy while we were there, it was low-season

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't do much. We just rented a car one day ($80 CUC) - I prefer doing my own excursions in Cuba since I know the place and trust the people - We drove to Moron (the Cayo Coco highway over the ocean is a wonderful experience by itself - they charge 2 pesos each way to use the Autopista, and bring your passport) then we came back and drove to Playa Pilar in Cayo Guillermo then went to an old resort we had stayed at back in January to visit some friends

Other Comments:
If I have anything negative to say about this resort it is the buffet food, then again we were there off-season and I do not know how it is during high-season. But still you will find something to eat, and you will not die of hinger.


Great vacation, great people....and remember, you and your crew make up your holiday. We've been to a 5 star Bahia Principe in the Dominican and had the worst time of our life (even though the food was great), because we had people that "suck" with us on holiday, so we're never taking them again...lol!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Ok place but has potential to be so much more"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Christine  on Jun 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
279 people found this review helpful

First, thanks to all for the negative reviews as it set our expectations so low that our experience could only go up from there. We were a group of 6, my husband and I traveled with our 2 kids (13yrs and 6yrs) and my husbands parents.

Your Arrival:
Flight - With Westjet - first time flying with them and loved it! Staff are great, funny and friendly. Both flights there and back were on time.

Check in - Very fast, front desk staff were friendly and even tried to joke around - first told us we didn't have the right papers from our travel agent, but they would sort it out if we wanted to come back tomorrow - haha, the look on my father-in-laws face was priceless.

Rooms:
Our room - #9112 - was very musty smelling when we walked in. I've been to Cuba 5 times prior and know that sometimes the room can be a bit musty when you first arrive, however this was really bad. We asked to see another room, but it was musty also so we didn't bother changing. The room my in-laws had - #9114 wasn't as bad. We lit some candles and put the air on, it helped but there was always a bit of an odour. Another disappointing thing about the room, was the repairs that were still needed. It appeared that in the past they may have had a leak in the room as we could see where they made a patch in the ceiling. Also, in the bathroom the mirror had rust around the edges and the 2 pot-lights over the mirror were rusted around the edges. Although the room was clean when we arrived, these are little things that should be fixed to give a better first impression. Room #9114 didn't have these problems. At one point room #9111 was unoccupied and the doors were open to air it out, we walked in and it looked better than ours too. If you can pack your own pillow - do it! The pillows were hard & lumpy.
As mentioned, the room was clean when we got there, but the housekeeping service during the week could be better. It would appear they only sweep/mop the bathroom and the main walkway from the front door to the back patio door - in-between the beds, tables were not swept. We also had sand in the bed - I didn't expect sheets to be changed but getting any sand off them would have been nice. I've stayed at 3, 4 and 5 star resorts all have been great with housekeeping - except this place. Also, it appears that they just sweep anything out onto the grass, and they even through out the plastic tealight holder onto the grass instead of the garbage.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food & Beverages - I don't get the complaints about the food at this resort - it was good. No worse or better than other resorts we've stayed at in Cuba. We always found something to eat. The Japanese restaurant was great, food was awesome and the chef was very friendly. The Italian restaurant was a disappointment. The food was very bland, which I didn't understand since they had garlic at the buffet - why wouldn't you use it at the Italian restaurant?! We didn't get into the Seafood restaurant as it was already booked. The snack bar at the beach was hit & miss, sometimes they had food and sometimes they didn't. As for beverages, there were times when one of bars wouldn't have beer - but there wasn't ever no beer in the resort. They seemed to have the basics in stock, rum, gin, vodka etc... To get any premium shots (ie Johnny Walker, Baileys etc..) there was a cost, but if your sticking to basic drinks you'll be ok.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We were there with low occupancy so not all the amenities were open. There was a small pool right outside our building, but the bar beside it and the ice cream parlour were not open - too bad or that would have been our spot all week. Main pool was good, with a swim bar - staff were always friendly. There is also a mini-putt and new playground equipment but was too hot to use. The Beach was great. I dont know that I would travel again in June as the bugs were bad, even though they resort sprayed every night (how people can blame the hotel on this is beyond me - try staying at a resort in Huntsville Ontario this time of year you'd have the same problem!). Also, it was HOT HOT HOT - and humid, even at night there wasn't a break. The temperature may drop a couple of degrees but it was still humid and little breeze.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't do any excursions, so I can't comment on those.

Other Comments:
Overall, we still had a good vacation. Not sure I would go back unless I got the same great deal again - we paid $400/pp (with taxes!!) so that helped us overlook things in our room. I would only recommend this resort if you see it at a good price - would not pay full price for it. I think they should rate it 3 star. This place has all the amenities & potential to be a great place, if they could just take care of details like the grounds, housekeeping and maintenance of the rooms.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was amazing! Plan on going back in 6 months"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Emmy  on Jun 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
277 people found this review helpful

This was my first trip to Cuba. I went with my husband and 2 of our friends
We were not sure what to expect, because we heard so many different points of views about Oasis Playa Coco..after just a day we loved it
The rooms are not bad, a bit too many sand bugs but not too bad. The food was good, the Japanese restaurant was amazing. The pools are nice and relaxing, beach is beautiful. The bartenders/chefs and especially our friends from the animation team were all super friendly. We became friends with so many of the staff members, their all so easy going and real easy to get along with. We plan on going back to same hotel for our next vac.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"oasis playo coco"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. linda oliver  on May 18, 2010  >  3 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: May, 2010
556 people found this review helpful

We had a excellant time in this resort. Staff were the best, rooms were clean and we all loved the night shows. there will be about 10 of us going this year.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Heaven <3"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Irene  on Apr 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
240 people found this review helpful

This hotel is the best place ever, it's like a heaven away from reality. You must visit it sometime in your life! I wish I could've never left. The drinks, the tanning, the people, the food, just the experience, AMAZING!<3

Your Arrival:
Nice plane ride, arrived there at 10am. Checked in, walked around the grounds for awhile, people are so friendly and nice! And sooooo much to drink!

Rooms:
Very big, nice and clean, bright, loved them !

Restaurants and Bars:
All restaurants were pretty good, but the Japenese restuarant was the BEST! Had the most delicious food ever there, and it's made right in front of you! And the bars there were amazing. All day everyday, from 10am till 2am, me and my friend drank. They make the best drinks! Pretty strong, but amazing! But if you get tired of the rum drinks, like the "Rum Punch", ask for something like a vodka & sprite, or else theyll put rum in everything! Favourite bars were the Yolanda (lobby bar) and the 24-hour bar!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful! Everything is so breathtaking and stunning, its amazing. And the weather there is so great! Felt like +30 degrees everyday, got such a nice tan ! :) The pool is a little cold sometimes, but very refreshing! And the ocean is the nicest. Makes you feel so much better!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Didn't do many activities, but snorkeling is a MUST! and the nightly shows & disco & kareoke night, are not to be misssed. the partys really get going around 11pm till about 2am or 3am, and its just a great time ! you meet so many memorable people

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome trip end of Feb 2010 Oasis Playa"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Scott  on Mar 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
232 people found this review helpful

Very clean, area buildings slightly rundown but they where painting the yellow buildings while we stayed there. Amazing beach, I cant beleive how some canadians treated the cubans at the resorts, these people think they should be slaves and yelling at them because they ran out of rice pudding, some people need to grow up. the resort was much more than expected, every body was friendly, meet garder super guy if you go there you will meet him. Beautiful area, super people, tipe will help you for better service. dont have to tip everyone, dont forget about the grounds people they really appeciate it, smile and hand shake and they give you trinkes to take home even hats.

Your Arrival:
Plane ride was great, going through Cuban customes was a breeze.arrvived at 9:30-10 at nite at hotel, waited a hour for bags, and the went around to diffrent areas, grabbed hamburger at 12:00, dont recommend them hotdogs are fine.

Rooms:
Very clean room, did have musty smell, hot water had to be timed if not it was cool shower, maid was amazing left peso and some dollar store items every day, bed was great.safe in closet, Large room, had Ocean view, what a view

Restaurants and Bars:
food was better than expected, some times there was little taste but over all was really good,
Lecarts, Japenese awesome, seafood was good, Italian was not bad, Cuban nite was awesome, cuban Barbeque was good. would advice to go to store for bottled water.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was clean, pools clean every morning. grounds had to be cleaned of cups and cig butts every morning, some people are slobs, grounds are amazing for 7 years old

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went on horse and buggy ride to old farm and beach. Never seen such blue water.
went into se Cigar factory and lunch, only problem lot of people begging for cash.
Wife talked me into the Spa, great value for money, highly recommended
Something going on everynite at resort

Other Comments:
Lots of insect replent, after nite rain, bugs out in morning till it heatsup, did have little stomach problem half way through, Imodium seemed to help. Sunscreen dont forget it, after walking in ocean rince off with fresh water and reapply, willsave you sunburn. People like to put some thing on chairs around pool early to save spots. i hope thay aren't to mad when I took them off on last day there.lol

I cant wait to go back next year, would like to try diffrent places, but i know Oasis Playa and it was great for the wife and I

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"dump"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Brenda  on Feb 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
251 people found this review helpful

This hotel was Not what I expected, the people are NOT happy they expected big tips for every thing. The front desk is the worst customer service I have every seen, paper products are hard to get, we did not get toilet paper in our room,when we arrived. And it took them several hours to get it. Then the maid did not leave any again, this was on going all week, LOTS of no see bugs they do not spray for them, and you well have bites all over you. Then you have to see the doctor for $25.00 then it will cost you for the drugs, bring bug spray if you go to this resort the food is plain NO taste bring spices with you as we did.

Your Arrival:
Bus was there for you but wanted a big tip for your ride to resort The front deck needs a lot of work on customer service they DON'T CARE, very unhappy people.

Rooms:
the room was a little dirty fuss balls on the floor and NO toilet paper in the room. all week the fuss was there and always asking for toilet paper.

Restaurants and Bars:
the food is plain no taste and the meat was over cooked. do not go to the BBQ night or Cuban night the food was tremble. every one left and went to the buffet, they are always late in opening on time for breakfast, lunch, dinner.
the nosee bug there on the beach for the BBQ night & Cuban night are very bad they DO NOT spray for them like other resort's

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very clean

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
NONE NO direction to whats going on no signs to say whats there we did not know there where bikes on the resort. If you go on the JEEP trip beware it said your OWN jeep but when you pay for this you will end up with a other couple in the jeep with you

Other Comments:
Bring bug spray and paper product it hard to get them there. I will never go back to Cuba as the people expect money for every thing. There was three of us and we went through $300.00 each in tipping as we did not go on any trips. Due to illness.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Big disappointment"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  travellinlady  on Jan 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
262 people found this review helpful

We vacationed at Oasis Playa Coco from Dec. 15 to 29. This is our 10th trip to Cuba, so we have realistic expectations.
Trip was by Sunwing.
Flight to and from were on time and smooth.
Hotel was near empty when we arrived. We don't mind repetitious or bland food, but we do like to get full. The buffet ran out of food for nearly every meal the first week.
The bars ran out of everything from alcohol to ice, and we were told "maybe tomorrow"
Cuban coffee is usually one of our high lights, but the coffee in the buffet was dispensed from a vending-type machine, and if you added milk, there was absolutely no taste whatsoever.
Staff was noticeably unhappy. Understaffed, for certain, but they were always out of plates, silverware, glasses etc.
The selection was so poor one evening, the wait time we had in the pasta line up was 45 min.!!!
The cappuccino in the lobby bar was excellent.
International drinks are advertised. There are none, unless you pay a surcharge.
Hotel grounds are beautifully kept, and the beach is spectacular.
A la cares: Japanese is excellent, Italian is acceptable, seafood is horrible. Many people walked out before they even finished their meal.
Volume of food improved somewhat the second week of our stay, as more guests arrived. Quality did not improve.
Food was recycled for so many meals we were afraid to eat some of it in fear of food poisoning.
Hotel was suppose to have rental cars and scooters. NONE. When we inquired, we were told "sorry, they are all broken"
The biggest disappoint met we had was the expectations for tips.
No tips = poorer service. Many staff came right out and asked "don't you have a gift for me?"
We spent over $500 in tips, just in our hotel, which we are accustomed to doing, it just took us by surprise when everyone had their hand out.
We have loved every trip we have made to Cuba, including attending 3 weddings there.
We are sad to say, we think Cuba is changing for worse.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"March Break Holiday"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Paula Fontaine  on Mar 19, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
971 people found this review helpful

Stayed here March 10-17, 2009. Beaches, beautiful, pools clean & tidy, bartenders, AWESOME! Rudolfo at the pool bar was terrific, good show-manship! The Tom Cruise of Cuba! Fernando at the 24 hr Restaurant, super guy & Ismaray, cute & funny. Food was fine, lots of variety, if you left hungry, your fault. The Japanese a la carte was fabulous! Great taste and well organized. Things to work on - towels, cleaning of the rooms could have been quicker, went back for a snooze in the afternoon and sometimes it still wasn't done. All bars should be stocked the same, got some drinks at one but not the other. Weather was absolutely wonderful, breezy but beautiful. One thing bothered me: there was a lady who would go topless at the pool bar area with young kids playing in the pool and no one from the resort stepped in to tell her that it was inappropriate. And with her french accent, she didn't get it when comments were made to her directly, she just didn't care. Very wrong. Would I go back, possibly, but I do consider it a 3.5 star not a 4.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"familia!"

Playa Coco
User Rating:  Playa Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  eugenio capasso  on Feb 3, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Feb, 2009
284 people found this review helpful

ho visto costruire il playa coco (quasi dall'inizio alla fine) durante le mie svariate precedenti vacanze e non potevo non collaudare l'eccellente opera. il titolo della mia opinione è quanto merita tutto lo staff. consiglio:per qualunque cosa chiedete ad ALEXI è una sorta di "mini superman" che risolve tutto e subito, le ragazze che curano i bambini sono fantastiche e l'animazione è DOC. che volere di più?

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube