Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Santa Lucia Hotels with Similar Ranking

Club Amigo Mayanabo

4.2 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 27, 2014

Club Amigo Caracol

4.1 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 27, 2014

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia  

Ave Turistica, Playa Santa Lucia, Camaguey, Cuba

"everything was on point"
Posted by: elliot on Jul 28, 2014
see all reviews

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Reviews
Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Pictures and Information
Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Playa Santa Lucia Cuba

#2
of 4 Hotels in Playa Santa Lucia

User rating 4.3

Based on 15 reviews

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Information


Gran Club Santa Lucia, located right on the beach, is great choice for anyone looking for the sun, relaxation and a friendly atmosphere. The hotel offers 252 comfortable air-conditioned accommodations, including two for people with a disability. All standard rooms enjoy a garden view; the suite and junior-suite both have a living room and a sea view. Gran Club Santa Lucia has three à la carte restaurant, a buffet restaurant, three bars and a swimming pool with a special area for children.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Reviews

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 4.3 of 5 15 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  7
Average
  3
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (6)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 15

"everything was on point"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  elliot  on Jul 28, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
8 people found this review helpful

This resort is a hidden gem and most people don’t know about it, I have encountered firsthand the kind of services rendered here and it deserves a 5star. Everything was better than I expected right from the check in to the food and to the customer service. The staff is the most important and beautiful thing about this very resort, they make you feel at home, they are all so nice. The reception staff was kind to me at check in, they made sure everything was in order and sent me to my room. The staff is friendly and welcoming and was so nice to me. The staff at the resort are all well trained and very understanding of whatever you are asking from them, they make you feel like you are at home and take good care of you, let me use this opportunity to hail the hotel management for this wonderful time in the resort. The beach is great but they can improve on it by cleaning it. The rooms are more than okay, the size is adequate, it has all the things you will need and it is also clean. The staff is trustworthy, I didn’t find it difficult to tip them because they deserve it, and they helped me map out places I could visit while in town. During my stay here, the crowd was mostly families. The lobster dinner I had was the best I have ever taken so kudos to the chef for such an experience.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing stay at an amazing resort"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alexandra  on May 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
162 people found this review helpful

Reviews do not pay this place justice. It is absolutely beautiful with a great atmosphere. For my first trip to Cuba, I could not have asked for a better place. The staff is wonderful and always smiling and ready to help. The entertainers even took the time to learn everyone's name and made us all feel at home. Will be going back in a few months, it became like a second home.

The food was good, some days better than other, but no complaints here.

My only tip would be to go there with an open mind and you will not be disappointed!

Have a fun and safe trip!

Room Number:
1115

Arrival:
Arrived May 8 @ 3-4am...yep that early :S, thank God the bar is 24 hours :P. At that time there was only one person for the check in. We had to be patient. But the service was still great!

Rooms:
Rooms were clean and nice. No complaints. The maids made sure all was how we liked it. It also helped that we left some treats for them in the rooms :)

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet is good. Seafood restaurant was not that great, but the Italian one was great. We did not have time to try the Cuban restaurant.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Amazing beach! Absolutely gorgeous. The pool is great as well, loved the pool bar. The place is beautiful and colourful. The flowers are also maintained daily.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The excursions were great! Camaguey and Playa Bonita are a must! The entertainment staff does a great job of keeping you entertained with nightly shows and daily activities, like beach yoga, water aerobic and dance lessons.

Other Comments:
Amazing! Was very sad to leave. Enjoy your stay there!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a bad place"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Deborah  on Feb 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
152 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
202

Arrival:
We flew Sunwing out of Toronto. Our flight departed on time. We received a bon voyage glass of champagne. Choice of omelet or French toast served with wine (if you wanted). We were also given a snack, chocolate and complimentary drinks (juice, pop, coffee, tea) during the flight. No problems arriving in Cuba. Quick through customs, baggage and onto bus. There are Cubans selling bags of cold beer – 5 for $10 Canadian – to drink on the 90 minute bus ride to the resort.

Check-in was very slow, with a huge unorganized line up. Most rooms were ready but ours was not ready until 4 pm (check in was 3 pm).

Rooms:
We had an oceanview junior suite and it was very nice. King bed in one room, three-quarter bed and a pull-out sofa. We were on the second floor with a balcony. The balcony is on the opposite side of the room from the door so actually there was a balcony on each side. I heard many complaints about the hotel rooms and several people moved over to the Brisas next door. We were in the first building (four rooms in a building) closest to the beach. The commercial centre was behind us. There is an open air bar there that played loud music in the afternoon but it shut down by 6 or 7 every night.

The electronic key mechanism on many of the room doors do not work and those rooms have only one key – pretty difficult when there are four people coming and going from the room at different times. They do not offer a safe key at registration – ask for it when you check-in or you will have to go back up to the desk to get it. We had no problems with water.

We had awesome maids. When they made up the sofa bed they only put on sheets and a pillow about an inch thick. The next day the pillow was replaced with a nice big fluffy one and there was also a blanket. She put towel art on each bed every day. The last two days was a different maid, no towel art, but the room was still cleaned perfectly.

Restaurants and Bars:
We were pretty disappointed in the food – but, hey, it is Cuba. We had been to Brisas previously and the food there was awesome so I was expecting kind of the same from the resort next door. I was wrong. We never left hungry though. At breakfast you could get omelets or eggs at the grill. The bacon looked absolutely gross. A couple of days they had hash browns or French fries and always fruit and bread. There was cereal but what they called “milk” was as thick as yogurt and smelled sour. I have no idea what it was – could’ve been yogurt (there was white and pink) but they called it “cold milk”. They had a pasta bar at lunch and dinner and that’s pretty much what we lived off of. I’ve seen other reviews that say they had ham and roast beef but we didn’t see any of that. They did have turkey one night. We ate at the Italian and Cuba al a cartes. The Italian was gross (everyone we talked to felt the same way). The pasta sauce in the buffet was much better. We had pork chops and chicken steak in the Cuban restaurant. The pork chop tasted just like a fried pork chop but the chicken steak was really good. It was just a flattened boneless breast cooked in a sauce. Sunwing customers are allowed to go to the Brisas one night for buffet dinner. We booked that our second day there and went that night – it, as previously, was wonderful. Friends we met tried to book the Brisas but were told only 5 people per night were allowed to go so book that one early!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The resort was pretty worn and tired looking but the landscaping was beautiful and well kept. The lagoon where the fish and flamingos were contained green stagnant water. It would have been beautiful had the pump been working – there were waterfalls and water spouts throughout. The beach bar was downright dangerous! Loose and missing boards on the wooden walkway – several spots where people (I assume) had fallen through were never fixed and broken or missing stairs. The pool and lobby bars were nice. In the resort listing it says there are 5 bars but I never saw the other 2 – don’t think they exist. There was a coffee bar at the pool but you could not get drinks other than coffee there. One thing we found was that there were not enough places to sit and relax in the evening. There were 5 or 6 four-person tables at the pool bar, maybe 10 at the lobby bar and the typical sofa groupings in the lobby (3 or 4), but that was it. We sat mainly on our balcony in the evening because usually all other places were full.

The pool was nice with a swim-up bar. By the end of our week, the pool water was pretty cloudy and the waterfall had quit working. There were always chairs to be found at the pool and the beach. The beach had quite a lot of washed up seaweed. During the week a tractor came along and cleaned some of it up but not on the weekends. It was very windy most days we were there so we hung out by the pool most days – it is extremely hot up there as there is no wind at all. They have kayaks and pedal boats you can use for free at any time the watersports booth is open. No one in my family got any insect bites other than on one of our excursions that went into the forest (Cangilones).


Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on the Iguana Island catamaran tour. You go out and snorkel by the reef and then down a river for about an hour or so where sometimes they find a dolphin family that “performs”. Unfortunately they couldn’t be found on our tour, but the guys tried really hard to find them. At Iguana Island we went on an uphill trail that was pretty rough. Some of the older people stayed at the restaurant. There were also a couple people who fell and got scraped up. They don’t tell you that it is a somewhat strenuous trail and most of us had flip-flops/sandals on. The iguanas are wild – not the least bit tame but some of them come looking for food – they loved bananas – grab some from the breakfast buffet. The meal consisted of paella with pork and fish, beef for non-seafood eaters, tomatoes and bananas.

We also went on the Congilones tour. It was very interesting and we all enjoyed it. It consisted of a visit to an old sugar mill, the crocodile farm (the crocs are raised to release not to eat or kill for commercial reasons), a trip to an aboriginal descendent and her farm. From there we trekked up the mountain to a cave. Take bug spray – I’m still scratching the welts I got from mosquitoes or some blood sucking insect! We wore hard helmets with headlamps and toured through the cave. We then went to Cangilones Park and had a delicious buffet lunch consisting of a couple of pork dishes, rice, soup, vegetables and fruits. This is actually a camping/picnicking spot for the locals. There is a river (Maximo River) to swim in. Since we went on Sunday there were several local families picnicking and swimming there.

Other Comments:
All in all it was a good week. What I really did not like was that it was so windy both times we were there and I wonder if it is a seasonal thing. There really isn’t much to do in the area other than the excursions, which are quite pricey in my opinion. The food was adequate –if you aren’t picky or if you like pasta, you will get by. I liked that the resort was not overcrowded and I loved our junior suite.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent Week"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bob  on Dec 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
302 people found this review helpful

My wife and I had a most pleasant stay at Granclub. The staff was extremely cordial,courteous,attentive and respectful. They were also well trained, and well mannered. This hotel is extremely comforatble with nice surroundings, properly treed, well kept gardens and clean. Bar tenders, house maids,kitchen and reservation staff know the value of good service and endeavoured to live up to it,despite the fact that Cuba has strained resources. Entertainment at this hotel lacked nothing. Froggy and Melissa kept their guests at Salsa steps and at night entertainment at ACHE the stage on the compound was beyond expectation. Froggy,Melissa, Ariel,Judy, Zahilly andothers made sure we participated and enjoyed cuban music and culture. Good singing by the in-house and at dinner time provided anenchanting atmosphere. After the show at Ache many of us went over to La Cancha disco to continue with salsa dancing. The menus at Granclub offer a very wide variety. Fish,fruits,meat dishes,rice,peas, pasta,caribbean provisions etc. and were quite tasty. If you are a bacon and eggs,or hamburger person, those were readily available at the grill. We had snapper and lobster, which were very enjoyable. The beach is wide, clean and very private, and the sea offered a rich green colour with great bathing. We had a Junior Suite that was very comfortable and clean, with a useful balcony to sit out.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome Resort"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Daniela  on Dec 13, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
283 people found this review helpful

I had an awesome time as did my 11 yr old daughter! The staff and entertainment staff were the best I have encountered. Rooms were clean and very spacious (Junior suite). Food is not bad but not great. But you don't go to cuba for the food. If you like lobster, you must go to the excursion at coco beach!!! Fantastic! Bonfire, dancing and lobster!
I'm heading down there again on the 27th of December. I am a professional wedding photographer. If any one is getting married down there during that week, send me a message! :) daniela at danielamaksic.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great resort, great staff"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  mary  on Sep 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
329 people found this review helpful

We traveled to Gran Club Santa Lucia in May 2010 and all I have to say is that we had a great time at this resort!

Arrival:
The check in was organized and quick.

Rooms:
We stayed in a Junior suite, close to the beach, pool and main area. Room was clean, and we had no problems with air conditioning or water. There were a mini-fridge and a hair dryer in our room.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet restaurant was quite good, food hasn't the variety we were expecting but it was ok, except for breakfast which was absolutely amazing! Please don't go to the Italian restaurant, it's a joke, it's one of the worst restaurants I have ever been, not Italian at all (it's the only thing I could possibly say was negative in our vacations).

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool was clean, beach a little dirty. The cappucinos at the coffe bar next to the pool are to die for.

Other Comments:
Gran Club Santa Lucia is a great place if you're looking to relax! I would recommend it to anyone who wants beach, sun, relaxation and a friendly atmosphere!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Prostitution"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Edie from Kanata, Ontario  on Oct 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2009
312 people found this review helpful

Arrival: 0ct. 20 - Nov.3 2009

Rooms:
very clean and roomy

Restaurants and Bars:
Not all were open the first week as it was off season.The food was very poor, not that you would starve.Presentation o.k. but no seasoning and very little variety.[ I travel a lot and my expectations are not high]but any guests I spoke to agreed

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
clean lots of activities provided

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
no

Other Comments:
Sunwing offered 14 nights 15 days. Arrived 0500 oct. 20 and checked out nov.2000 so felt I'd been cheated by them. My biggest problem for a family resort was the blatent and obvious prostitution.[70 year old men with what appeared to be 15-16 year olds]I myself as a 62 year old was approached by 0ne of the guards asking me if I was interested in having a cuban boyfriend.A lot of male staff frequented the bar. I am not a prude and my value for money was certainly there as the weather and beaches were wonderful but these other activties would keep me from going back.I have made 5 other trips to cuba so I did have places to compare it with

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I didn't expect it this nice"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Tara  on Aug 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2009
305 people found this review helpful

Arrival August 17-24th 2009:
Was very nice. I got there by Sunwing, I must say that Sunwing was a very nice airline. The ride from the airport to the hotel was a long bumpy ride. I dont get car sick, but if you do, it might give you a problem. The ride was about 49-60 minutes. The bus was comfortable and relaxing, the chairs were so nice. I slept the whole way, and the bus was air conditioned with a bathroom in the back. It wasn't a problem, and it was really comfortable. When we got there which was close to 3:00 AM, checking in was not a problem. It went by very fast. We had our bags delivered to our room, and it wasn't any problem. He took the bags straight to the room, and happily helped us settle in. Since we had two rooms, one with our parents, and the other one with me and my older brother, my mom didn't like having us not in the same block. We were right across from eachother, and in the end it worked out fantastic. At first, the resort was huge, and it didn't look like I'd ever find my way arou! nd the resort. Although in the morning it definitely was easier. We went to get a drink (and they were still open) and then went to bed. The arrival was really nice and easy. (Also to add;; all the staff speak english, so if you cannot speak spanish, dont worry. Although most of the staff do speak spanish more often...)

Rooms:
Wow. For Cuba, I didn't expect it this nice. There were two beds, each with a small night table. About 5 lamps in the whole room. Two big windows, with thick curtains. A small table with two chairs. A closet, with a safe inside (we were juniors, with the yellow bracelet) and extra blankets. There was a TV on a table. And a long coffee table in front of a couch. Under the couch was a small pull-out bed. And then there was a vanity, with a small chair. We did have air conditioning, and it worked very nicely. Kept us cool while outside was very hot and humid. The bathroom had a sink, hair dryer, (again, we were juniors) toilet, and shower. We had plenty of towels. The rooms were so comfortable. I was surprised with how comfortable the beds where. They were quite low to the ground, but the pillows were very nice. The mattress was nice too. I loved the room, it was nice after a long day. Although, do remember that in order for your air conditioning and energy to work, you must i! nsert your keycard into a activator which turns on the air conditioning and energy. Once you leave the room, you must take your keycard and this turns off all the energy including the air conditioning. So when you enter your room, it might be very hot, but as soon as you insert your keycard again, the energy will come back. It wasn't a problem, and the air conditioning really cooled the place off quickly. Overall, the rooms were outstanding.

Restaurants and Bars::
Again, they were very nice. There was a selection of restaurants, and bars. They had the main buffet, which wasn't always too busy. They served breakfast, lunch, and dinner. They had eggs, pancakes, sausages, etc, for breakfast. Lunch wasn't too different, but they had some changes. And dinner was always nice. Although there wasn't too much variety. There were drinks and dessert too. But after staying there for a week, it got very repetitive and wasn't too good. Although you could go to 3 different restaurants. A-la carte. (sp?) We didn't go, but we heard from people we met at Gran Club Santa Lucia, it was VERY nice. So much better then the buffet, 100 times better. We didn't go because we were very busy. But it was nice to get away from the buffet and go there. There was also a snack bar at the beach where they served vegetables, fruit, fish, hotdogs and hamburgers. They were open for a long time during the day. So if you didn't want to go for lunch at the buffet, you coul! d get a hamburger or hotdog, and fries perhaps. They did have a bar right beside it, so you could get your drinks there. All the drinks and food at the snack bar were delicious. I loved the hamburgers and hotdogs. Very nice. There were about 3 bars. All three of them served the same things, but they had a nice selection. Most were alcoholic. But there were fruit punch, pop, and stuff for the kids. (I recommend the fruit punch!) One of the bars, yes, was a swim up bar. It was half on land, and half in the water. You would walk up some stairs in water, and there was benches. You could order your drink and take them around the pool, or whatever. Although, I must say that it did take a while to get your drinks at the swim up bar, it was often very full. But when it wasn't, you would have to nearly yell at the bartender to get their attention. Other then that, all the restaurants and bars were very nice.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
The Beach was very nice. White sand, and the water was often very clear. Lots of shade on the beach, and lots of chairs. It was often busy, but quiet. There was alot of people on the beach that would come around and offer hair braiding (for a couple pesos of course) but they wouldn't disturb you if you were relaxing. The beach was very clean, although when you first went in there were alot of rocks and seashells near the beginning. But it was nice once you got in. You could rent face masks, snorkel, flippers, etc, for free (I think only if you were a junior...not quite sure.) as well as there were catamarans, etc, you could use during the day. It was very nice. There was a boundary marking off where you could swim until, which was nice so you didn't have to worry about the younger children or anything. There were fish that swam around and would swim near your feet. Alot were silver, but if you swam out very far (you would pay for the scuba-diving for the day to do this) you! would see tons of tropical, colorful fish. The beach was very nice, and well kept. The pool was very large really. Some of it was very shallow, and was divided with a small wall, you couldn't miss. The deep area was pretty deep, but I'm 13, and I could reach the bottom without my head going under. It went to my nose. (Im about 5 feet.) Im sorry, I don't remember the actual height. BUT. There was alot of cups floating around. Alot. People would throw them into the pool, and it wouldn't be cleaned often, only at night but it was really annoying. The were stairs going into the pool and into the shallow end, which was nice. Other then the floating cups, the pool was very clean and comfortable. The whole resort was amazing, quite big, but you wouldn't get lost. Everything was clean, there was alot of cats and crabs roaming the whole resort. But they didn't bother you unless you were eating. The cats would sit below you and beg for food. But they were fed. I really recommend thi! s resort, it was all amazing.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
We did rent some mopeds (sp?) and went to Coco beach. It was about 4 hours. 20 minutes there. And 20 minutes back. But we did do a little roaming around. It was very nice, there was alot of stuff nearby. A gas station, a couple of restaurants. It was VERY hot. Be sure to wear tons of sun block because you could easily get burnt.

Other Comments::
I must talk about the staff. They were...AMAZING. They really made the resort come alive. They were many entertainers that would go around the resort. Froggy, one of the entertainers would keep the children happy. He would play games with them all, and he would dress up at a clown at the 9:00 shows every night. The shows at night were very nice, and complete with costumes, props, music, and more. There was a small band that played, and the entertainers would take some of the people from the crowd to dance. It was nice. They all were very nice about it. Froggy would spend 30 minutes at the beginning of the show playing a game with the children. He was so nice. After leaving Gran Club Santa Lucia, and Cuba. I really miss the staff. You became so attached with them all. And it was really sad. I must recommend this resort, you wont have any problems at all. It was like a dream, it was so comfortable. I really miss the staff.
Big thanks for Froggy though for making the trip so amazing. (:
Love you Froggy & Staff.

(: Tee.Kee@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My children were treated very well!"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kyla from Nova Scotia  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
285 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 6 - 14
We were greated by PR staff and family that had flown down the week before. The lobby was very big and exceptionly clean. Our luggage was delievered to our suite.

Rooms
My three young children and I stayed in a family suite and had more then enough room. The suite was very clean. The maid clean and changed our sheets daily. The towels at the end of the beds were a hit with my children. My 4 year old daughter ended up being allergic to the flowers placed in the room and the maid was notified. She generously placed candies in place of the flowers which made my children very happy.

Restaurants and Bars
All the restaurants and bars had very good food and service. I've read in other reviews about the service being slow...you are on vacation...what do you have to rush for? Even though the service may have been slower than in Canada, the children always got fed first, the way it should be. My son had no to any of the bars and ordering himself a drink of juice or a "Mickey Mouse" (Shirley Temple in Canada - Sprite and grenadine). There was a variety of food to choose from and if the cats were a problem, as it seems for some on this review page, the buffet restaurant or the snack bar at the beach offer cat free dining. lol I personally did not find that the cats were around the guests, the ones I seen were always running away from people.
Over all, the food was good, the staff was excellent and would go out of their way to help. Our waitress was outstanding! Excellent with my children.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach was great with the exception of cigarette butts in the sand. Unfortunately that is due to the guests of the resort! The resort provided plenty of ashtrays along the paths and in buildings to place butts, but the guests merely "buried" them. Out of sight out of mind...until my 6 year old twins and my 4 year old started digging and playing in the sand. Again, this is not the fault of the resort but the ignorance of the guests. The pool was fairly clean and the grounds were beautiful. The staff were constantly working and improving the grounds.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Activities for the kids were very good. They offered activities through out the day. The only thing that I did not like was that the "baby disco" was at 9:30pm. A little too late for my kids after playing all day in the sun. Although they did make it to a couple and had a great time. The balloon animals were a huge hit! They can always use balloons so if you are looking to take something with you as a "thank you" this is a great gift for the animation staff.

Other Comments:
I was sad to leave. The staff were all very good to us and my children were treated very well! The only upset I had at the resort was caused by other guests not watching their children or just plain rude people. Other then the resort, the trip down on Sunwing was excellent, the trip back however was the worst flight I have ever been on! We left our resort at 7:00am to get the airport to find our flight delayed by 2 hours. We then were delayed an additional 2 hours after that. A total of a 4 hour delay with three children! We could have stayed at the resort and had breakfast instead of waiting in the airport for all that time! I would not recommend travelling Sunwing to anyone. The flight ran out of drinks and we were served water or wine with our meal! I didn't pay that amount of money to not have a choice, especially for my kids. Then they started Madagascar 2 in the middle of the meal only to stop and put on High School Musical 3. As if this wasn't bad enough, disappointing the young children, they did this while the kids were all trying to get their ear phones while their trays were down. The flight crew were rude! They were talking about other people in rows in front of us while walking down the aisle! People were asked to return to their seats if the seatbelt sign was on...it did not matter how badly you needed to use the facilities!!! Over all, SUNWING WAS HORRIBLE!!!!! THE RESORT WAS AWESOME! FIND A WAY TO GO TO THE GRAN CLUB WITHOUT USING SUNWING!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"First trip for all four of us without the children"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Margaret from St. Catharines  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
304 people found this review helpful

Arrival: End of April, 2009
Getting though customs and luggage pick up was a breeze. The bus ride to the resort not so much. If you have motion sickness take gravol. They don't have good roads. Arrival at the resort we were greeted with smiles, English speaking staff and a glass of fruit punch. We took the help of the bell man because it was dark and I don't think we would have found our room otherwise. They appreciate a small tip ( Canadian money is ok).

Rooms:
Rooms were spacious ( sunwing block I think). We had the junior suites which had a sitting area with couch (single bed underneath) two chairs, TV and small table and two chairs. The bedroom area had bed , two end tables, dressing table and mirror. Very simple but adequate decor. The bathroom has sink, toilette and shower and closet. Everything is very simple but very clean. The AC only works when the key card is put in the slot just inside the door ( I guess this helps to reduce wasteful power usage). You may find the room a little stale but this goes away after turning the AC on. The maids are very good at their job. Everything is cleaned even the windows and the AC units. I never met our maid but our traveling friends did and was able to thank her for a job well done. We left a gift and a note for ours, she in turn left a thank you note back. Bring a little something for the maids if you can they appreciate anything.

Restaurants and Bars:
There are a few bars to choose from they close at different times but there is always one open for drinks. Some very good drinks, Try them all you will find a favorite. The food is food. You will not go hungry none of us did. Not too much variety. But if you are not too picky you will soon find things you like. Do go to the reservations desk right outside the store near the lobby as soon as possible to book dinner at the three al a carte restaurants. ( Seafood, Cuban, Italian), the food is very good and well presented. Also a nice change from the buffet. There is also a Beach Snack Bar. They serve Hot dogs, Hamburgers and fries. Not bad at all we ate lunch there a few times. This Snack Bar is only open till 3 or 4. This is where the seafood restaurant is at night. There is a Pizza place on site. Not sure where it is or how the pizza is we didn't find it. But we did't ask anyone either.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The resort is fairly large. I am glad we used the help of the bellman after seeing things in the light we would have got lost finding our rooms. The pool is a nice size with the childrens pool attached by a small wall. Depending on when you go to the pool there were enough chairs usually. Go a little early before you go for breakfast and put your towel or shirt on the beach chair and you have it all day long.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
The entertainment was wonderful. They start at 10 in the morning with activities at the beach and in the afternoon move to the pool for more activities. These run till about 6. The same staff put on an amazing show in the evening starting at 9 until 11. I don't know when they sleep but they do a great job on little sleep. They have a different show every night. If you want to know anything about the area, resort or just knowledge of Cuba talk to the entertainment staff.

Other Comments::
There is a disco on site which is open Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Just a little note if you are not used to discos like us. It is very load. Lots of Base. But fun to watch all the young adults and teens let loose.

This was our first trip for all four of us without the children. We chose this way because our children are so busy and we needed time away just us. If you choose to take children they will have a great time too. Staff is very attentive to the children to make sure they are taken care of. Lots of kids went up to the bar to get their own pop and Shirley temples( called a mickey mouse) themselves. If you are picky and travel to north american 5 star resorts this may not be up to your standards, But it is clean, safe, relaxing and has everything you need. All four of us would definitely recommend this resort with Sunwing vacations. And we will probably return there again someday.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube