Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Santa Lucia Hotels with Similar Ranking

Club Amigo Mayanabo

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2016

Club Amigo Caracol

4.2 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 10, 2014

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia  

Ave Turistica, Playa Santa Lucia, Camaguey, Cuba

"everything was on point"
Posted by: elliot on Jul 28, 2014
see all reviews

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Reviews
Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Pictures and Information
Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Playa Santa Lucia Cuba

#3
of 5 Hotels in Playa Santa Lucia

User rating 4.3

Based on 15 reviews

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Information


Gran Club Santa Lucia, located right on the beach, is great choice for anyone looking for the sun, relaxation and a friendly atmosphere. The hotel offers 252 comfortable air-conditioned accommodations, including two for people with a disability. All standard rooms enjoy a garden view; the suite and junior-suite both have a living room and a sea view. Gran Club Santa Lucia has three à la carte restaurant, a buffet restaurant, three bars and a swimming pool with a special area for children.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Reviews

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 4.3 of 5 15 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  7
Average
  3
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (6)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 15

"(French review) -nous avons passé du bon temps, mais nous n’y retournerons pas"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 3.50 of 5

Posted by:  Natalie  on Nov 1, 2005  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2005
204 people found this review helpful

ok

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"(French review) -Nous avons adorer cet endroit"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Claudine  on Apr 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2006
182 people found this review helpful

ok

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach was beautiful and the pool was large enough"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Mandy  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
252 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
We flew with Sunwing, had an excellent flight with many extras including a hot towel, mints etc. The 90 minute bus ride to the resort was nice as it allowed us to sightsee a little before we got to the hotel. Check in was quick and easy and the buffet stayed open to allow us to have something to eat.

Rooms:
We got a JR suite which was exceptionally clean and provided us with everything we needed for a trip. We had requested an ocean view and king size bed and received both to our delight. One day we didn't have hot water but when you are in and out of the pool all day it doesn't really matter. The maid always left us with a decoration of towels and fresh flowers which we really appreciated and we never had any problems with theft.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet is large and there was always a table available and more than enough food of all different types. The a la cartes were a nice switch from the buffet and the waiters/waitresses were excellent - if only we got that sort of service in Canada! There were rarely line ups at the bars and the bartenders always made sure your drinks were good and strong. Neither me or my fiance had any stomach problems and there was always bottled water available. The bars and restaurants serve you bottled water and make their ice out of the same so there are no worries there.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was beautiful and the pool was large enough. Beach/pool chairs are plentiful and we never had to 'reserve' one with our towels. Both the beach and pool were very clean as were the grounds. The resort had some hurricane damage but they were working to restore it and it didn't affect our vacation in any way.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The resort had plenty of activities including kayaking, snorkeling, dance lessons, water polo, soccer etc. The staff were wonderful and always tried to make everyone feel special and included, young or old. We went on the catamaran tour to playa bonita and had the time of our lives! I would definitely recommend it.

Other Comments:
All in all a fabulous trip, couldn't have been better. If you want to find something wrong with the resort you can, after all it's not a 5 star, but a vacation is what you make it and we had a wonderful trip. I would argue this resort has the best staff out of any and if for whatever reason you do have a problem with something I'm sure they'll go out of their way to fix things. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a smaller place with good people.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best mojitos and pina colada's ever"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Connie from Ottawa  on Mar 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
277 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 16 - 23

A group of over 78 individuals ( family, friends and co-workers) booked this holiday thru Sell Off Vacation.com. The price was great for march break. I have been to this town twice and to this resort before. I knew what to expect and knew the kids in the group would have a great time. Check in went smoothly. The rooms were exactly as I remember them. I was very pleased on the second day to be upgraded to a suite! less than 3 min. to the beach and bars! The food was just as I remembered. There was plenty of selection and there was no reason for anyone to go away hungry. The pasta was amazing! The italian restuarant was a nice surprise and the seafood restaruant we had a birthday party at and a bottle of champagne was complimentary! Very nice

the front lobby had an ice cap. bar and the best mojitos and pina colada's ever

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"In case you didn't realize it, you are in Cuba"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Todd from Montreal  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
389 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 2 - 9:
We (family of 4, including boys 14 and 10) flew out of Toronto on March 2nd for a 1 week stay at the Gran Club Santa Lucia in Cuba. The same package out of Montreal was approx $1500 more expensive. We parked at DirectFlight Parking ($60 for the week) which gave us excellent drop off and pick up shuttle service. The Sunwing flight was a few minutes late taking off but the time was made up en route. The service was very good for what some consider "no frills". We had champagne, a decent airline meal with a glass of wine and saw a movie (High School Musical 3). Ok so the movie was a bit lame for the older folks but my kids were happy. Luggage pick up and customs were a breeze although the bank was closed so the bus driver ended up with a couple of US dollars. The bus ride was exactly as described: 90 minutes on a Montreal-style bumpy) road. FYI if you want your passport stamped you need to ask the customs officer to do it.

Rooms:
Check-in was uneventful. There seemed to be a lot of returning visitors who seemed bright enough to get out of the way with their luggage and let 1 family member stay in line until the actual check-in when all adults had to sign a damage "waiver". The crowd seemed to be in pretty good spirits and I thought that it may be a pretty good bunch for the week (more on that later). We stayed in the Junior Suite (#303) and the room was again, exactly as advertised. The slight musty smell went away in about 5 minutes once the AC was turned on. Suggestion: you only get 1 key and the power/AC is controlled by a key slot so if you can get ahold of any hotel key card (or any card with a magnetic stripe) it will work and you can leave the AC on when you are out. Our room was very clean (including the bathroom). We always had pleanty of hot (sometimes too hot) water and the maids did a great job of cleaning and replacing the towels. The bed linen was changed 1/2 way through the week. We left some gifts every day (the usual Dollar Store stuff: Hair clips, body lotions, razors, etc.). We found that the people appreciate gifts as much as a peso or 2 and the maids made some nice swans/hearts with the towels.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was OK. Not great...but not bad. The buffet was very clean and had a good selection but not much variety from day to day. Breakfast was good. There was an omelet station and quite a bit of fresh fruit. There were several types of breads for toast and usually 2 types of cold cereal. Our waitress was very nice and brought us our coffee and tea and juice every morning (again, the gift/tips seemed to help). The snack bar at the beach had hotdogs, hamburgers, fries and fruit. The lunch/supper buffet always had a couple of choices at the grill and there were at least 2 pasta choices. We went to the Cuban and Seafood a la cartes. They were not bad. The Seafood is actually the beach snack bar that is converted at night. One pain in the a$$ for both is the presence of cats looking for scraps. Of course they will stay away until some Muppet decides to feed them. Speaking of Muppet moves we pulled one of our own and forgot that there was a time change on the Saturday night and missed our reservation at the Italian a la carte. The bars had an ample supply of rum and fruit punch etc. The only blender to speak of was at the lobby bar where the Pina Coladas and Iced Cappuccinos were outstanding. There was also a Coffee bar where you could get Expressos etc. Suggestion for tea drinkers: bring a few tea bags from home as there seemed to be a shortage at times. One common point at all the bars/restaurants is that the people all work at the same slow pace. No complaints (at least not from us...but more on that later) but be prepared that the service speed is not the same as it is in Canada.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was big and clean. It also had a pool bar. The chairs were quite close together and if you want one you should try and grab one early by placing your towel or t-shirt on top. The beach was a bit of a disappointment. There was a lot of debris and seaweed. It was VERY windy the week we were there and the sand was blowing everywhere. You can walk a long way up and down the beach. There were a few local vendors but a simple "no gracias" usually did the trick. The grounds of the hotel were pretty nice. It was apparent that last year's hurricance did some damage but the resort is trying the replant some small trees on the grounds.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We played beach volleyball with Pluto and some of the other staff. My wife and son went on a Catamaran ride on the last (and least windiest) day. They also went horseback riding (6 pesos per person).

Other Comments:
All in all we had a good week. The weather was not great but it was better than snow and minus whatever. The staff was pretty friendly. We have been to Holguin and enjoyed it more and would probably try somewhere else before considering Club Santa Lucia again. We can't complain about the price though. A family of 4 for under $3000...you can't go wrong.

Now....I mentioned that crowd of the week. Here are some observations that not only my wife and I had, but some things that were noticed by our boys (remember our youngest is 10). I'm sure we have plenty of faults so I hope the comments are taken constructively:

To the guy who freaked out about being placed in a room next to the disco. Take your complaint to the desk. The 80 odd people at the orientation really didn't want to start their vacation by listening to you explode at the Sunwing rep. We also didn't really care about how you stayed at many other resorts and blah blah blah.
To the people who complained about the food yet took more that they could ever eat and left it on their plate without even saying or grunting a "gracias" to your server...take a second to look around the surrounding areas and wonder what some of the locals would give to have even a portion of that "lousy" food.
To the people who seemed to not realize that the napkins on the loaves of bread where there to be used...WAKE UP!!! I'm pretty sure if you think about it long enough the thought of someone picking sand out of their butt crack and then picking up the loaf with their bare hands may make you may think twice before ignoring the napkins.
Oh yeah people...In case you didn't realize it, you are in Cuba...While the staff did an excellent job of trying to accomodate the unilingual speaking (English, French, Italian) guests, it may be a "bonne idee" to keep your racist comments to yourselves. You may not want to assume that the staff (and/or other guests) don't know what you are saying when you laugh at an employee who mispronounce "merci".
Hey, not everyone was a Muppet. There was the guy who had enough of the heavyset guy who did the 3 plate balancing act without watching where he was going. Ok so maybe the guy could have avoided some of the language he used when informing the "gentleman" that he was not the only guest on the resort but I think he said what was on a lot of people's minds. There was also the couple with 3 kids under the age of 5 (including a 5 month old). Congrats... you have very well-behaved children and it was nice to see that they did not waste food and were very polite.

Last thing before I get off my soapbox: On the flight home...you know the one that lands at 2AM? Is it really necessary to get up and walk around and hover in someone's personal space after a hot day at the beach and perhaps forgetting that extra swipe of deodorant? Hey..at least we got to see Madagascar 2.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My children were treated very well!"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kyla from Nova Scotia  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
542 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 6 - 14
We were greated by PR staff and family that had flown down the week before. The lobby was very big and exceptionly clean. Our luggage was delievered to our suite.

Rooms
My three young children and I stayed in a family suite and had more then enough room. The suite was very clean. The maid clean and changed our sheets daily. The towels at the end of the beds were a hit with my children. My 4 year old daughter ended up being allergic to the flowers placed in the room and the maid was notified. She generously placed candies in place of the flowers which made my children very happy.

Restaurants and Bars
All the restaurants and bars had very good food and service. I've read in other reviews about the service being slow...you are on vacation...what do you have to rush for? Even though the service may have been slower than in Canada, the children always got fed first, the way it should be. My son had no to any of the bars and ordering himself a drink of juice or a "Mickey Mouse" (Shirley Temple in Canada - Sprite and grenadine). There was a variety of food to choose from and if the cats were a problem, as it seems for some on this review page, the buffet restaurant or the snack bar at the beach offer cat free dining. lol I personally did not find that the cats were around the guests, the ones I seen were always running away from people.
Over all, the food was good, the staff was excellent and would go out of their way to help. Our waitress was outstanding! Excellent with my children.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach was great with the exception of cigarette butts in the sand. Unfortunately that is due to the guests of the resort! The resort provided plenty of ashtrays along the paths and in buildings to place butts, but the guests merely "buried" them. Out of sight out of mind...until my 6 year old twins and my 4 year old started digging and playing in the sand. Again, this is not the fault of the resort but the ignorance of the guests. The pool was fairly clean and the grounds were beautiful. The staff were constantly working and improving the grounds.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Activities for the kids were very good. They offered activities through out the day. The only thing that I did not like was that the "baby disco" was at 9:30pm. A little too late for my kids after playing all day in the sun. Although they did make it to a couple and had a great time. The balloon animals were a huge hit! They can always use balloons so if you are looking to take something with you as a "thank you" this is a great gift for the animation staff.

Other Comments:
I was sad to leave. The staff were all very good to us and my children were treated very well! The only upset I had at the resort was caused by other guests not watching their children or just plain rude people. Other then the resort, the trip down on Sunwing was excellent, the trip back however was the worst flight I have ever been on! We left our resort at 7:00am to get the airport to find our flight delayed by 2 hours. We then were delayed an additional 2 hours after that. A total of a 4 hour delay with three children! We could have stayed at the resort and had breakfast instead of waiting in the airport for all that time! I would not recommend travelling Sunwing to anyone. The flight ran out of drinks and we were served water or wine with our meal! I didn't pay that amount of money to not have a choice, especially for my kids. Then they started Madagascar 2 in the middle of the meal only to stop and put on High School Musical 3. As if this wasn't bad enough, disappointing the young children, they did this while the kids were all trying to get their ear phones while their trays were down. The flight crew were rude! They were talking about other people in rows in front of us while walking down the aisle! People were asked to return to their seats if the seatbelt sign was on...it did not matter how badly you needed to use the facilities!!! Over all, SUNWING WAS HORRIBLE!!!!! THE RESORT WAS AWESOME! FIND A WAY TO GO TO THE GRAN CLUB WITHOUT USING SUNWING!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"First trip for all four of us without the children"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Margaret from St. Catharines  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
551 people found this review helpful

Arrival: End of April, 2009
Getting though customs and luggage pick up was a breeze. The bus ride to the resort not so much. If you have motion sickness take gravol. They don't have good roads. Arrival at the resort we were greeted with smiles, English speaking staff and a glass of fruit punch. We took the help of the bell man because it was dark and I don't think we would have found our room otherwise. They appreciate a small tip ( Canadian money is ok).

Rooms:
Rooms were spacious ( sunwing block I think). We had the junior suites which had a sitting area with couch (single bed underneath) two chairs, TV and small table and two chairs. The bedroom area had bed , two end tables, dressing table and mirror. Very simple but adequate decor. The bathroom has sink, toilette and shower and closet. Everything is very simple but very clean. The AC only works when the key card is put in the slot just inside the door ( I guess this helps to reduce wasteful power usage). You may find the room a little stale but this goes away after turning the AC on. The maids are very good at their job. Everything is cleaned even the windows and the AC units. I never met our maid but our traveling friends did and was able to thank her for a job well done. We left a gift and a note for ours, she in turn left a thank you note back. Bring a little something for the maids if you can they appreciate anything.

Restaurants and Bars:
There are a few bars to choose from they close at different times but there is always one open for drinks. Some very good drinks, Try them all you will find a favorite. The food is food. You will not go hungry none of us did. Not too much variety. But if you are not too picky you will soon find things you like. Do go to the reservations desk right outside the store near the lobby as soon as possible to book dinner at the three al a carte restaurants. ( Seafood, Cuban, Italian), the food is very good and well presented. Also a nice change from the buffet. There is also a Beach Snack Bar. They serve Hot dogs, Hamburgers and fries. Not bad at all we ate lunch there a few times. This Snack Bar is only open till 3 or 4. This is where the seafood restaurant is at night. There is a Pizza place on site. Not sure where it is or how the pizza is we didn't find it. But we did't ask anyone either.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The resort is fairly large. I am glad we used the help of the bellman after seeing things in the light we would have got lost finding our rooms. The pool is a nice size with the childrens pool attached by a small wall. Depending on when you go to the pool there were enough chairs usually. Go a little early before you go for breakfast and put your towel or shirt on the beach chair and you have it all day long.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
The entertainment was wonderful. They start at 10 in the morning with activities at the beach and in the afternoon move to the pool for more activities. These run till about 6. The same staff put on an amazing show in the evening starting at 9 until 11. I don't know when they sleep but they do a great job on little sleep. They have a different show every night. If you want to know anything about the area, resort or just knowledge of Cuba talk to the entertainment staff.

Other Comments::
There is a disco on site which is open Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Just a little note if you are not used to discos like us. It is very load. Lots of Base. But fun to watch all the young adults and teens let loose.

This was our first trip for all four of us without the children. We chose this way because our children are so busy and we needed time away just us. If you choose to take children they will have a great time too. Staff is very attentive to the children to make sure they are taken care of. Lots of kids went up to the bar to get their own pop and Shirley temples( called a mickey mouse) themselves. If you are picky and travel to north american 5 star resorts this may not be up to your standards, But it is clean, safe, relaxing and has everything you need. All four of us would definitely recommend this resort with Sunwing vacations. And we will probably return there again someday.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I didn't expect it this nice"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Tara  on Aug 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2009
549 people found this review helpful

Arrival August 17-24th 2009:
Was very nice. I got there by Sunwing, I must say that Sunwing was a very nice airline. The ride from the airport to the hotel was a long bumpy ride. I dont get car sick, but if you do, it might give you a problem. The ride was about 49-60 minutes. The bus was comfortable and relaxing, the chairs were so nice. I slept the whole way, and the bus was air conditioned with a bathroom in the back. It wasn't a problem, and it was really comfortable. When we got there which was close to 3:00 AM, checking in was not a problem. It went by very fast. We had our bags delivered to our room, and it wasn't any problem. He took the bags straight to the room, and happily helped us settle in. Since we had two rooms, one with our parents, and the other one with me and my older brother, my mom didn't like having us not in the same block. We were right across from eachother, and in the end it worked out fantastic. At first, the resort was huge, and it didn't look like I'd ever find my way arou! nd the resort. Although in the morning it definitely was easier. We went to get a drink (and they were still open) and then went to bed. The arrival was really nice and easy. (Also to add;; all the staff speak english, so if you cannot speak spanish, dont worry. Although most of the staff do speak spanish more often...)

Rooms:
Wow. For Cuba, I didn't expect it this nice. There were two beds, each with a small night table. About 5 lamps in the whole room. Two big windows, with thick curtains. A small table with two chairs. A closet, with a safe inside (we were juniors, with the yellow bracelet) and extra blankets. There was a TV on a table. And a long coffee table in front of a couch. Under the couch was a small pull-out bed. And then there was a vanity, with a small chair. We did have air conditioning, and it worked very nicely. Kept us cool while outside was very hot and humid. The bathroom had a sink, hair dryer, (again, we were juniors) toilet, and shower. We had plenty of towels. The rooms were so comfortable. I was surprised with how comfortable the beds where. They were quite low to the ground, but the pillows were very nice. The mattress was nice too. I loved the room, it was nice after a long day. Although, do remember that in order for your air conditioning and energy to work, you must i! nsert your keycard into a activator which turns on the air conditioning and energy. Once you leave the room, you must take your keycard and this turns off all the energy including the air conditioning. So when you enter your room, it might be very hot, but as soon as you insert your keycard again, the energy will come back. It wasn't a problem, and the air conditioning really cooled the place off quickly. Overall, the rooms were outstanding.

Restaurants and Bars::
Again, they were very nice. There was a selection of restaurants, and bars. They had the main buffet, which wasn't always too busy. They served breakfast, lunch, and dinner. They had eggs, pancakes, sausages, etc, for breakfast. Lunch wasn't too different, but they had some changes. And dinner was always nice. Although there wasn't too much variety. There were drinks and dessert too. But after staying there for a week, it got very repetitive and wasn't too good. Although you could go to 3 different restaurants. A-la carte. (sp?) We didn't go, but we heard from people we met at Gran Club Santa Lucia, it was VERY nice. So much better then the buffet, 100 times better. We didn't go because we were very busy. But it was nice to get away from the buffet and go there. There was also a snack bar at the beach where they served vegetables, fruit, fish, hotdogs and hamburgers. They were open for a long time during the day. So if you didn't want to go for lunch at the buffet, you coul! d get a hamburger or hotdog, and fries perhaps. They did have a bar right beside it, so you could get your drinks there. All the drinks and food at the snack bar were delicious. I loved the hamburgers and hotdogs. Very nice. There were about 3 bars. All three of them served the same things, but they had a nice selection. Most were alcoholic. But there were fruit punch, pop, and stuff for the kids. (I recommend the fruit punch!) One of the bars, yes, was a swim up bar. It was half on land, and half in the water. You would walk up some stairs in water, and there was benches. You could order your drink and take them around the pool, or whatever. Although, I must say that it did take a while to get your drinks at the swim up bar, it was often very full. But when it wasn't, you would have to nearly yell at the bartender to get their attention. Other then that, all the restaurants and bars were very nice.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
The Beach was very nice. White sand, and the water was often very clear. Lots of shade on the beach, and lots of chairs. It was often busy, but quiet. There was alot of people on the beach that would come around and offer hair braiding (for a couple pesos of course) but they wouldn't disturb you if you were relaxing. The beach was very clean, although when you first went in there were alot of rocks and seashells near the beginning. But it was nice once you got in. You could rent face masks, snorkel, flippers, etc, for free (I think only if you were a junior...not quite sure.) as well as there were catamarans, etc, you could use during the day. It was very nice. There was a boundary marking off where you could swim until, which was nice so you didn't have to worry about the younger children or anything. There were fish that swam around and would swim near your feet. Alot were silver, but if you swam out very far (you would pay for the scuba-diving for the day to do this) you! would see tons of tropical, colorful fish. The beach was very nice, and well kept. The pool was very large really. Some of it was very shallow, and was divided with a small wall, you couldn't miss. The deep area was pretty deep, but I'm 13, and I could reach the bottom without my head going under. It went to my nose. (Im about 5 feet.) Im sorry, I don't remember the actual height. BUT. There was alot of cups floating around. Alot. People would throw them into the pool, and it wouldn't be cleaned often, only at night but it was really annoying. The were stairs going into the pool and into the shallow end, which was nice. Other then the floating cups, the pool was very clean and comfortable. The whole resort was amazing, quite big, but you wouldn't get lost. Everything was clean, there was alot of cats and crabs roaming the whole resort. But they didn't bother you unless you were eating. The cats would sit below you and beg for food. But they were fed. I really recommend thi! s resort, it was all amazing.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
We did rent some mopeds (sp?) and went to Coco beach. It was about 4 hours. 20 minutes there. And 20 minutes back. But we did do a little roaming around. It was very nice, there was alot of stuff nearby. A gas station, a couple of restaurants. It was VERY hot. Be sure to wear tons of sun block because you could easily get burnt.

Other Comments::
I must talk about the staff. They were...AMAZING. They really made the resort come alive. They were many entertainers that would go around the resort. Froggy, one of the entertainers would keep the children happy. He would play games with them all, and he would dress up at a clown at the 9:00 shows every night. The shows at night were very nice, and complete with costumes, props, music, and more. There was a small band that played, and the entertainers would take some of the people from the crowd to dance. It was nice. They all were very nice about it. Froggy would spend 30 minutes at the beginning of the show playing a game with the children. He was so nice. After leaving Gran Club Santa Lucia, and Cuba. I really miss the staff. You became so attached with them all. And it was really sad. I must recommend this resort, you wont have any problems at all. It was like a dream, it was so comfortable. I really miss the staff.
Big thanks for Froggy though for making the trip so amazing. (:
Love you Froggy & Staff.

(: Tee.Kee@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Prostitution"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Edie from Kanata, Ontario  on Oct 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2009
574 people found this review helpful

Arrival: 0ct. 20 - Nov.3 2009

Rooms:
very clean and roomy

Restaurants and Bars:
Not all were open the first week as it was off season.The food was very poor, not that you would starve.Presentation o.k. but no seasoning and very little variety.[ I travel a lot and my expectations are not high]but any guests I spoke to agreed

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
clean lots of activities provided

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
no

Other Comments:
Sunwing offered 14 nights 15 days. Arrived 0500 oct. 20 and checked out nov.2000 so felt I'd been cheated by them. My biggest problem for a family resort was the blatent and obvious prostitution.[70 year old men with what appeared to be 15-16 year olds]I myself as a 62 year old was approached by 0ne of the guards asking me if I was interested in having a cuban boyfriend.A lot of male staff frequented the bar. I am not a prude and my value for money was certainly there as the weather and beaches were wonderful but these other activties would keep me from going back.I have made 5 other trips to cuba so I did have places to compare it with

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great resort, great staff"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  mary  on Sep 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
569 people found this review helpful

We traveled to Gran Club Santa Lucia in May 2010 and all I have to say is that we had a great time at this resort!

Arrival:
The check in was organized and quick.

Rooms:
We stayed in a Junior suite, close to the beach, pool and main area. Room was clean, and we had no problems with air conditioning or water. There were a mini-fridge and a hair dryer in our room.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet restaurant was quite good, food hasn't the variety we were expecting but it was ok, except for breakfast which was absolutely amazing! Please don't go to the Italian restaurant, it's a joke, it's one of the worst restaurants I have ever been, not Italian at all (it's the only thing I could possibly say was negative in our vacations).

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool was clean, beach a little dirty. The cappucinos at the coffe bar next to the pool are to die for.

Other Comments:
Gran Club Santa Lucia is a great place if you're looking to relax! I would recommend it to anyone who wants beach, sun, relaxation and a friendly atmosphere!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube