Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Santa Lucia Hotels with Similar Ranking

Club Amigo Mayanabo

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2016

Club Amigo Caracol

4.2 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 10, 2014

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia  

Ave Turistica, Playa Santa Lucia, Camaguey, Cuba

"everything was on point"
Posted by: elliot on Jul 28, 2014
see all reviews

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Reviews
Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Pictures and Information
Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Playa Santa Lucia Cuba

#3
of 5 Hotels in Playa Santa Lucia

User rating 4.3

Based on 15 reviews

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Information


Gran Club Santa Lucia, located right on the beach, is great choice for anyone looking for the sun, relaxation and a friendly atmosphere. The hotel offers 252 comfortable air-conditioned accommodations, including two for people with a disability. All standard rooms enjoy a garden view; the suite and junior-suite both have a living room and a sea view. Gran Club Santa Lucia has three à la carte restaurant, a buffet restaurant, three bars and a swimming pool with a special area for children.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Reviews

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 4.3 of 5 15 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  7
Average
  3
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (6)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Solo
With Group
11 - 15 of 15

"The best mojitos and pina colada's ever"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Connie from Ottawa  on Mar 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
277 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 16 - 23

A group of over 78 individuals ( family, friends and co-workers) booked this holiday thru Sell Off Vacation.com. The price was great for march break. I have been to this town twice and to this resort before. I knew what to expect and knew the kids in the group would have a great time. Check in went smoothly. The rooms were exactly as I remember them. I was very pleased on the second day to be upgraded to a suite! less than 3 min. to the beach and bars! The food was just as I remembered. There was plenty of selection and there was no reason for anyone to go away hungry. The pasta was amazing! The italian restuarant was a nice surprise and the seafood restaruant we had a birthday party at and a bottle of champagne was complimentary! Very nice

the front lobby had an ice cap. bar and the best mojitos and pina colada's ever

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"In case you didn't realize it, you are in Cuba"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Todd from Montreal  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
389 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 2 - 9:
We (family of 4, including boys 14 and 10) flew out of Toronto on March 2nd for a 1 week stay at the Gran Club Santa Lucia in Cuba. The same package out of Montreal was approx $1500 more expensive. We parked at DirectFlight Parking ($60 for the week) which gave us excellent drop off and pick up shuttle service. The Sunwing flight was a few minutes late taking off but the time was made up en route. The service was very good for what some consider "no frills". We had champagne, a decent airline meal with a glass of wine and saw a movie (High School Musical 3). Ok so the movie was a bit lame for the older folks but my kids were happy. Luggage pick up and customs were a breeze although the bank was closed so the bus driver ended up with a couple of US dollars. The bus ride was exactly as described: 90 minutes on a Montreal-style bumpy) road. FYI if you want your passport stamped you need to ask the customs officer to do it.

Rooms:
Check-in was uneventful. There seemed to be a lot of returning visitors who seemed bright enough to get out of the way with their luggage and let 1 family member stay in line until the actual check-in when all adults had to sign a damage "waiver". The crowd seemed to be in pretty good spirits and I thought that it may be a pretty good bunch for the week (more on that later). We stayed in the Junior Suite (#303) and the room was again, exactly as advertised. The slight musty smell went away in about 5 minutes once the AC was turned on. Suggestion: you only get 1 key and the power/AC is controlled by a key slot so if you can get ahold of any hotel key card (or any card with a magnetic stripe) it will work and you can leave the AC on when you are out. Our room was very clean (including the bathroom). We always had pleanty of hot (sometimes too hot) water and the maids did a great job of cleaning and replacing the towels. The bed linen was changed 1/2 way through the week. We left some gifts every day (the usual Dollar Store stuff: Hair clips, body lotions, razors, etc.). We found that the people appreciate gifts as much as a peso or 2 and the maids made some nice swans/hearts with the towels.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was OK. Not great...but not bad. The buffet was very clean and had a good selection but not much variety from day to day. Breakfast was good. There was an omelet station and quite a bit of fresh fruit. There were several types of breads for toast and usually 2 types of cold cereal. Our waitress was very nice and brought us our coffee and tea and juice every morning (again, the gift/tips seemed to help). The snack bar at the beach had hotdogs, hamburgers, fries and fruit. The lunch/supper buffet always had a couple of choices at the grill and there were at least 2 pasta choices. We went to the Cuban and Seafood a la cartes. They were not bad. The Seafood is actually the beach snack bar that is converted at night. One pain in the a$$ for both is the presence of cats looking for scraps. Of course they will stay away until some Muppet decides to feed them. Speaking of Muppet moves we pulled one of our own and forgot that there was a time change on the Saturday night and missed our reservation at the Italian a la carte. The bars had an ample supply of rum and fruit punch etc. The only blender to speak of was at the lobby bar where the Pina Coladas and Iced Cappuccinos were outstanding. There was also a Coffee bar where you could get Expressos etc. Suggestion for tea drinkers: bring a few tea bags from home as there seemed to be a shortage at times. One common point at all the bars/restaurants is that the people all work at the same slow pace. No complaints (at least not from us...but more on that later) but be prepared that the service speed is not the same as it is in Canada.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was big and clean. It also had a pool bar. The chairs were quite close together and if you want one you should try and grab one early by placing your towel or t-shirt on top. The beach was a bit of a disappointment. There was a lot of debris and seaweed. It was VERY windy the week we were there and the sand was blowing everywhere. You can walk a long way up and down the beach. There were a few local vendors but a simple "no gracias" usually did the trick. The grounds of the hotel were pretty nice. It was apparent that last year's hurricance did some damage but the resort is trying the replant some small trees on the grounds.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We played beach volleyball with Pluto and some of the other staff. My wife and son went on a Catamaran ride on the last (and least windiest) day. They also went horseback riding (6 pesos per person).

Other Comments:
All in all we had a good week. The weather was not great but it was better than snow and minus whatever. The staff was pretty friendly. We have been to Holguin and enjoyed it more and would probably try somewhere else before considering Club Santa Lucia again. We can't complain about the price though. A family of 4 for under $3000...you can't go wrong.

Now....I mentioned that crowd of the week. Here are some observations that not only my wife and I had, but some things that were noticed by our boys (remember our youngest is 10). I'm sure we have plenty of faults so I hope the comments are taken constructively:

To the guy who freaked out about being placed in a room next to the disco. Take your complaint to the desk. The 80 odd people at the orientation really didn't want to start their vacation by listening to you explode at the Sunwing rep. We also didn't really care about how you stayed at many other resorts and blah blah blah.
To the people who complained about the food yet took more that they could ever eat and left it on their plate without even saying or grunting a "gracias" to your server...take a second to look around the surrounding areas and wonder what some of the locals would give to have even a portion of that "lousy" food.
To the people who seemed to not realize that the napkins on the loaves of bread where there to be used...WAKE UP!!! I'm pretty sure if you think about it long enough the thought of someone picking sand out of their butt crack and then picking up the loaf with their bare hands may make you may think twice before ignoring the napkins.
Oh yeah people...In case you didn't realize it, you are in Cuba...While the staff did an excellent job of trying to accomodate the unilingual speaking (English, French, Italian) guests, it may be a "bonne idee" to keep your racist comments to yourselves. You may not want to assume that the staff (and/or other guests) don't know what you are saying when you laugh at an employee who mispronounce "merci".
Hey, not everyone was a Muppet. There was the guy who had enough of the heavyset guy who did the 3 plate balancing act without watching where he was going. Ok so maybe the guy could have avoided some of the language he used when informing the "gentleman" that he was not the only guest on the resort but I think he said what was on a lot of people's minds. There was also the couple with 3 kids under the age of 5 (including a 5 month old). Congrats... you have very well-behaved children and it was nice to see that they did not waste food and were very polite.

Last thing before I get off my soapbox: On the flight home...you know the one that lands at 2AM? Is it really necessary to get up and walk around and hover in someone's personal space after a hot day at the beach and perhaps forgetting that extra swipe of deodorant? Hey..at least we got to see Madagascar 2.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach was beautiful and the pool was large enough"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Mandy  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
252 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
We flew with Sunwing, had an excellent flight with many extras including a hot towel, mints etc. The 90 minute bus ride to the resort was nice as it allowed us to sightsee a little before we got to the hotel. Check in was quick and easy and the buffet stayed open to allow us to have something to eat.

Rooms:
We got a JR suite which was exceptionally clean and provided us with everything we needed for a trip. We had requested an ocean view and king size bed and received both to our delight. One day we didn't have hot water but when you are in and out of the pool all day it doesn't really matter. The maid always left us with a decoration of towels and fresh flowers which we really appreciated and we never had any problems with theft.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet is large and there was always a table available and more than enough food of all different types. The a la cartes were a nice switch from the buffet and the waiters/waitresses were excellent - if only we got that sort of service in Canada! There were rarely line ups at the bars and the bartenders always made sure your drinks were good and strong. Neither me or my fiance had any stomach problems and there was always bottled water available. The bars and restaurants serve you bottled water and make their ice out of the same so there are no worries there.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was beautiful and the pool was large enough. Beach/pool chairs are plentiful and we never had to 'reserve' one with our towels. Both the beach and pool were very clean as were the grounds. The resort had some hurricane damage but they were working to restore it and it didn't affect our vacation in any way.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The resort had plenty of activities including kayaking, snorkeling, dance lessons, water polo, soccer etc. The staff were wonderful and always tried to make everyone feel special and included, young or old. We went on the catamaran tour to playa bonita and had the time of our lives! I would definitely recommend it.

Other Comments:
All in all a fabulous trip, couldn't have been better. If you want to find something wrong with the resort you can, after all it's not a 5 star, but a vacation is what you make it and we had a wonderful trip. I would argue this resort has the best staff out of any and if for whatever reason you do have a problem with something I'm sure they'll go out of their way to fix things. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a smaller place with good people.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"(French review) -Nous avons adorer cet endroit"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Claudine  on Apr 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2006
182 people found this review helpful

ok

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"(French review) -nous avons passé du bon temps, mais nous n’y retournerons pas"

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia
User Rating:  Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia Review: 3.50 of 5

Posted by:  Natalie  on Nov 1, 2005  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2005
205 people found this review helpful

ok

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube