Varadero Internacional Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Varadero Internacional reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Islazul Los Delfines

4.3 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 14, 2014

Mercure Cuatro Palmas

4.2 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 23, 2014

Villa Tortuga

4.1 based on 76 reviews
Last reviewed May 12, 2012

Acuazul

4.1 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 14, 2014

Club Tropical

3.8 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 10, 2014

BelleVue Sunbeach

3.8 based on 30 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Varadero Internacional  

Ave. las Americas, Km 1, Varadero, Matanzas
(Varadero Maps)

"PERFECT location for a holiday"
Posted by: everest on Jul 25, 2014
see all reviews

Varadero Internacional Reviews
Varadero Internacional Pictures and Information
Varadero Internacional Varadero Cuba

#1
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.8

Based on 94 reviews

Varadero Internacional Information


The 1950's a very much alive in Hotel Varadero Internacional. All rooms are spacious and the stretch of beach in front of the hotel is arguably Varadero's best. The Continental Cabaret is one of the best in Varadero and one of the highlights of the Hotel together with the excellency of the Universal Restaurant food.

Varadero Internacional official website
http://www.hotel-varaderointernacional.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Varadero Internacional Reviews

Varadero Internacional Review: 3.8 of 5 94 reviews
Excellent
  32
Very good
  33
Average
  12
Poor
  11
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Business (3)
Leisure (40)
Party (2)
Wedding (2)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (16)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (12)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (14)
Solo
1 - 10 of 94

"Do Not Stay Here!!!"

Varadero Internacional
User Rating:  Varadero Internacional Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Angie  on Jul 24, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
200 people found this review helpful

First off i flew with Cubana through Hola Sun.....Never Again. The food on the plane was terrible also no movie(not in english). On return the flight was delayed 5 hours(never told why,asked rep.,flight attendant). Hola Sun what a joke!!! The representive never showed up at the hotel for two days. I even called Hola Sun three times(at my own expense), before the rep showed their face. I was so unhappy with this hotel i wanted to change hotels I was not a happy camper. The night before i was to leave Hola Sun rep called and told me that the plane was delayed 4 hours. But she would not say why. I will tell ever one i know not to travel with Hola Sun. Or to go the Varadero Internacional

Room Number:
333

Arrival:
Slow check in.But that is normall here in Cuba.No welcome drink.

Rooms:
This room was the worst room i have ever stayed in. Mold every where. Paint peeling of the ceilings, walls. I am not talking a little bit of peeling but it coming off in sheets. The bath room was disgusting, mold all over, tub was rusting also had huge chips out of the bottom. There was no toliet paper too. No remote controll for TV. No water in room, there was to be a bottle in fridge. Air conditioner did not work. Room was hat and humid. We changed rooms on Sat.to 509. This room was better. Had a great ocean view. The air worked great.

Restaurants and Bars:
I have been to Cuba 4 times before so i thought i knew what to expect. But this place had the worst food ever. Usually you can count on breakfast for great coffee and orange juice. But not here....even breakfast sucked bad!!!!Coffee out of a machine... OJ tasted like watered down tang.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is great, But almost anywhere you go in Varadero the beach is beautiful. White soft sand, no rocks. No water shoes needed.

Other Comments:
Do yourselves a great big favour and look for another resort. There are sooo many to choose from. Go some place else.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointed"

Varadero Internacional
User Rating:  Varadero Internacional Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  bonnie  on Feb 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
224 people found this review helpful

Upon arrival we were whisked through check in and due to the hour we were directed to the dining room to eat before it closed for the night.could not believe the quality of the food- below standard.my room can only be described as something in need of huge updating and major cleaning- no hot water burnt out light bulbs mold in the bathroom and a bathtub you needed to wear rubber boots in.the sheets did not fit the bed the pillows were a joke.the hallways were a disgrace dirty filthy carpets any complaints to the front desk were met with a smile and than absolutely nothing was done to solve problems.your customer service person as no help he only spoke spanish a large number of guests were very unhappy as was i would not return to this hotel if this is how you run your establishments i certainly will never book with any grand caribe resort

Room Number:
330

Rooms:
disgraceful

Restaurants and Bars:
dining room should be closed sub standard food
snack bar ok
grill at the pool-only place to eat

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
run down

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"it was horrible."

Varadero Internacional
User Rating:  Varadero Internacional Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  domenico criserà  on Oct 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
197 people found this review helpful

Old and without maintenance .People who work there doesn't work very ignorant and non fiendly. The worst hotel in varadero. Not recomandable.

Room Number:
213

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a place to go"

Varadero Internacional
User Rating:  Varadero Internacional Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  giovanni rigo  on Aug 3, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
208 people found this review helpful

If You can choose another hotel please do! Rooms are big but poor in confort, no tovels on arrival and no igenic paper! Main buffett to avoid. One pool only for adults. The only good thing is the Cabaret, a night with dinner including Show and disco (if You ar reserving enough days).

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worst hotel ever!"

Varadero Internacional
User Rating:  Varadero Internacional Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  patti  on Nov 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
176 people found this review helpful

We have travelled to Mexico, Costa Rica. Dominican Republic. This was our 12th time to Cuba, 10th time to varadero (third time this year). This is the worst place we have ever stayed! Between the rotting concrete, mold issues and no water (hot or drinking water) Hotel Internacional is not an advertised four star, nor does it even come close. The food was horrible and repetitive in the buffet and if you didn't get there when they opened, they ran out! The al a carte was better but seating was at 8:00 at night...to late for us! Shame on Gran Caribe for not recognizing that there are significant problems and health issues at this hotel....the reason it is hard to find reviews on this hotel, is most people demand to be moved somewhere else! Do not recommend anyone stay here! I would rate it 2 star or less!

Room Number:
437

Arrival:
Middle of the night....dark dingy lobby! Very surprised at the shape of the whole hotel, peeling paint, mold, mold and more mold, cracked concrete, paint peeling of the paintings on the wall, only one vacuum for the whole hotel (carpet in the hallways was disgusting), leaking water from the ceiling in the lobby, few palapas, most beach chairs broken, no toilet seats in the cabaret and no toilet paper in the dispensers.

Rooms:
Antiquated is all I can say! Other than the mold in the curtains, bedspread, tub and most of the walls! The hair dryer. no kidding, is in the museum in the town we live in (at least we had one...most rooms didn't). No alarm clock. Sheets never changed the whole week we were there. Towel bar fell off. Toilet didn't flush well, tub didn't drain. Air conditioning was so loud we left it off. We asked to change rooms but every time we were told, maybe tomorrow and gave up determining we wouldn't get any better. In the bathroom, the only thing separating us from the room next door was the mirror on our wall. We could here the people next door like they were in our bathroom.

Restaurants and Bars:
Good drinks at the bars but there is usually a shortage of glass and you get really cheap, little plastic (unless you bring your own). The restaurant....what can I say....repetitive and very sparse. If you don't get there early, food is gone! Lots of people had there own cereal, granola bars, ketchup and peanut butter from home and survived on that. Pretty pathetic actually! An all inclusive with very little or poor quality food...supposed to be 4 star....absolutely no way!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The only thing good about the hotel is that it is right on the beach and if you are on the beach side it is a great view! The pool is ok but the bathrooms have no toilet seats, no toilet paper (or dispenser) and no soap!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The poor evening entertainment staff had to do their show on the terrace....it is extremely dangerous because of the concrete. It is cracked and uneven...surprised someone isn't seriously injured!

Other Comments:
We went with our 'Cuban' expectations as we have been to Varadero many times and couldn't believe how bad it was...most people left and went somewhere else. The beach was deserted in front of the hotel!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible"

Varadero Internacional
User Rating:  Varadero Internacional Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  sara benhabib  on Sep 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
209 people found this review helpful

I had the worst experience in my entire life. It is a shame the this hotel is not being taken of. The bathroom are deploreable.There are holes in the common areas near the internet room . The pool area was not opened but that due to algae in the bottom of the pool.The first room we were givenhad mole and rust in the bathtub.So we were given another room. The air vents in both rooms we were given A/C vents could give you Legionsaires disease if I would of stayed there the week I purchased. I check out of the hotel ASAP. The hotel itself needs to be shut down and completely remodeled.

Room Number:
336/542

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not worth the money"

Varadero Internacional
User Rating:  Varadero Internacional Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Amanda Cangelosi  on Jul 30, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
205 people found this review helpful

Having stayed only in Casa Particulares during my time in Cuba I was really looking forward to the luxury of a 4* resort in Varadero. As Hotel Internacional was a lot cheaper then the other resorts I was not expecting it to be to the same standard as the higher end hotels but was looking forward to a comfortable bed with lots of food and drink. However, I am sad to say that although cheap, this stay was not worth the money. The hotel had poor service, wasn't very clean, and the food was always cold and had probably been sitting out for some time. Although the buffet was always busy, the staff were unable to manage with the influx of guests and you were often left queuing before being seated and the food had either ran out or was cold.

I found that I ate less whist in this Hotel then when staying in Casas as I was a bit concerned about becoming ill from cold food. And my friend actually did become ill whilst staying at this Hotel.

Generally the staff were unfriendly, although there are some exceptions.

We were given a smoking room after asking for a non-smoking room. Although, certainly not a reason not to stay at the hotel but the room was grimy and smelled strongly of smoke. When asking to be moved the Hotel was full.

On the plus side the location is perfect for the beach and the pool is good too. The beach isn't very well maintained - most of the loungers were broken and had lots of litter.

I would not recommend Hotel Internacional.

Room Number:
525

Room Block:
Garden View

Rooms:
When booking given the option of smoking/non-smoking room. However was still given a smoking room when specifiying otherwise.

Shower pressure is low at busy times and water not very warm.

Rooms not very clean - dusty under beds etc.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food awful, often ran out of several options and desserts. Most of the left over food is cold and same choices used at dinner time that were at lunch.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very good access to the beach and the pool is good. However, the sun loungers are broken and there is rubbish on the beach. Most drinks served in plastic cups which can be found literring the grounds.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I didn't try out any of the activities.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Really good location but need a big updating."

Varadero Internacional
User Rating:  Varadero Internacional Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Erim Alvarez  on Aug 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
228 people found this review helpful

Need to be update is too old, and please bring tawells to the rooms,everything else is good

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Location, location, location"

Varadero Internacional
User Rating:  Varadero Internacional Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kenneth Mark Axelsen  on Oct 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) DENMARK
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
193 people found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and we were more than satisfied with the location. It was literally at the beach! However, the room was not that great as it had a moist smell and it was the same with the hallway. The buffet was not great as they served the same for lunch and dinner. However, it was possible to have dinner at another restaurant were the food was ok.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A little disappointed"

Varadero Internacional
User Rating:  Varadero Internacional Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Paul  on Feb 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
232 people found this review helpful

18 - 24 Feb 2011.

Varadero Internacional and it's Toilet Creature: it's not a 3 or 4 star hotel as advertised; no way. No upkeep or maintenance of any kind. Location is great, you're within walking distance of town and the great beach is right at your doorstep. But the toilets don't flush, many showers only dribble at best and it's never hot water; occasionally you'll get warm water.
We finally were shown a fourth room before we said, "This will do." The food at the daily buffet is always the same, bland and unexciting. Turkey once or twice was a real surprise considering they didn't put any effort into anything else. Always a shortage of plates, leaving many customers walking around like zombies looking for anything to put food on. Several people brought their own condiments too, ketchup, etc. Good idea.
The adjacent dining room restaurant is a pleasant change, with variety and taste and they serve you in proper dining room style. There is also a very worthwhile restaurant up beside the old Tower; a nice change from the buffet and not expensive (chicken, beef dishes for about $6 - $7, unless you order lobster ($18).
Bring your own glasses; the hotel serves most drinks in plastic glasses which are flimsy and tiny, maybe 6 ounces maximum, making your trips to the bar a lot more frequent and frankly annoying. Beware of anything labeled "Universal"...whether it's a sandwich, salad, omelet or a freaking breakfast pop tart...."Universal" means Ham and Cheese.
A couple in a neighbouring room gave us a detailed account of a large creature which surfaced in their toilet in the wee hours of the morning..."about 10 inches long, 5 inches wide with 5 or 6 legs and was walking around in our toilet." They couldn't identify this creature but soon flushed it away. After a lot of speculation, we still could not figure out what it must have been. My guess is it's still living inside the hotel plumbing. This made every trip to the bathroom a nervous adventure.
We asked for a hair dryer twice a day and left 7 days later with no dryer ever appearing. The towels were not replaced daily with fresh ones.
People: bring your own toilet paper... the hotel toilet paper is like crate paper and they're not generous with it. And everywhere else you go in Cuba there is No toilet paper and no toilet seats.
We went with very realistic expectations, but will choose another hotel next time. The Solymar is right next door and is a colourful, proper 5 star hotel. A few hotels to the West is The Four Palms (Cuatro Palmas), also a nicer place to stay and close to town. Good luck!

Room Number:
534

Room Block:
5th floor, east end

Arrival:
Arrived alright, no trouble at airport or with Security system.

Rooms:
Rooms need work. The entire hotel needs serious renovations. We finally settled on our 4th room, deciding this one will do but still not what I consider good for the money I am paying.

Restaurants and Bars:
Never spent much time in the bar, but pool table was always taken over by young local boys about 10 yrs old, never giving hotel guests a chance to play. The outside restaurant gave a nice change in dining, nice atmosphere, nice music, good food and tasty, proper dining room manners used by staff and very attentive waiters.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was great, groomed by workers in the morning, but they need to clean up the dangerous and foul-smelling jellyfish daily, not once a week. Nothing wrong with the pool at all, I don't know why people knocked it. Enjoyed the pool very much and it was not overrun by kids at all. Grounds were kept very clean, never saw any trash lying around at any time.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube