Paradisus Princesa del Mar Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Paradisus Princesa del Mar reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.5 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 22, 2012

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.2 based on 37 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel

4.2 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Paradisus Princesa del Mar  

Carretera Las Morlas km 19 1/2, Varadero, Matanzas
(Varadero Maps)

"why do people go there?"
Posted by: kaz on Mar 1, 2014
see all reviews

Paradisus Princesa del Mar Reviews
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Pictures and Information
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Varadero Cuba

#26
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.3

Based on 18 reviews

Paradisus Princesa del Mar Information


This stunning Ultra All Inclusive 5-star hotel is designed for adults over 18 years of age. Paradisus Princesa Del Mar provides all the luxury you can wish for in an elegant ambience that will certainly appeal to people who plan a wedding in Cuba or are looking for that perfect honeymoon.

For adults only (guests aged 18 and over)


Royal Section rooms and facilities will be closed until summer 2013 due to maintenance works.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Paradisus Princesa del Mar Reviews

Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 3.3 of 5 18 reviews
Excellent
  6
Very good
  0
Average
  8
Poor
  0
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Leisure (13)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Family and Kids
Solo
1 - 9 of 18

"why do people go there?"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  kaz  on Mar 1, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
53 people found this review helpful

I am baffled why people keep going back to Cuba. Yes the beaches are beautiful,but there is more to a vacation, like food and getting what you pay for. That's all I ask for. If I am paying for a five star resort, that is what I expect. I believe in tipping for good service but when the waitresses, and waiter put their hand out and expect it, don't crack a smile, dont refil your glass or take away dirty dishes, than I say nope. I work as well for money.
Piano players cannot look bored silly. Nope. I had a great time because of who I was with. We heard the good and the bad about Cuba, we wanted to experience it for ourselves and we did. We will never go again and don't know why people go.

Room Number:
4322

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a 5-start resort as advertised"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Leo  on Feb 27, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
129 people found this review helpful

Every day at the resort started the same way...early morning construction workers yelling and using noisy equipment so was just like being back in Canada at work. Lots of food, but not tasty (lost weight on all-inclusive holiday). Hot tubs not working (3 cold days, would have been nice). Pool was great, service was excellent, staff was excellent.

Arrival:
Great experience checking in and out.

Rooms:
Room was good, except trouble getting hot water for shower at night.

Restaurants and Bars:
Japanese restaurant was the best one

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool was great, grounds well kept.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't go there if your looking for a 5 star vacation!!!!!"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sherry  on Feb 25, 2013  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2013 | Leisure | Solo
106 people found this review helpful

I payed for a 5 star ocean/view jr suite. In short I spent 1 1/2 days in that room and it took me 2 days to get it. I had a confrontation with a maid over money and services and she would not let me back in my room that I locked myself out of for 15 mins. She had to be convinced by another maid. In addition to that the ocean view was a long way in the distance. The room smelled badly of mold and the tv cable was lose so the picture was fuzzy at
times as well as the phone cut in and out and light bulbs were burnt out.

I don't know about you but when I go on vacation, I don't want to deal with maintenence issues on top of all that!!!!! They could not place me in another ocean/view room intil the next day. They offered me a massage for my trouble. Not good enough!!!!!

After 3 days of this frustrating service, I asked to move to another hotel which they agreed too but I could not have a ocean veiw rm. I went to the other hotel and stayed for 1hr.....then I got on a flight and went home. I arrived Feb 19th at 6:30 pm and left feb 23rd at 7pm. I was there for a grand total of 4 nights out of 14 that I payed for.

I am now fighting to get my money back!!!!

So upseting.

I would never recomend this hotel or the services they call 5 star.

Room Number:
2309

Room Block:
2

Rooms:
moldy and need repairs

Restaurants and Bars:
Disco was moldy and smelled really bad!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
nice

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't go there if your looking for a 5 star vacation!!!!!"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sherry  on Feb 25, 2013  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2013 | Leisure | Solo
108 people found this review helpful

I payed for a 5 star ocean/view jr suite. In short I spent 1 1/2 days in that room and it took me 2 days to get it. I had a confrontation with a maid over money and services and she would not let me back in my room that I locked myself out of for 15 mins. She had to be convinced by another maid. In addition to that the ocean view was a long way in the distance. The room smelled badly of mold and the tv cable was lose so the picture was fuzzy at
times as well as the phone cut in and out and light bulbs were burnt out.

I don't know about you but when I go on vacation, I don't want to deal with maintenence issues on top of all that!!!!! They could not place me in another ocean/view room intil the next day. They offered me a massage for my trouble. Not good enough!!!!!

After 3 days of this frustrating service, I asked to move to another hotel which they agreed too but I could not have a ocean veiw rm. I went to the other hotel and stayed for 1hr.....then I got on a flight and went home. I arrived Feb 19th at 6:30 pm and left feb 23rd at 7pm. I was there for a grand total of 4 nights out of 14 that I payed for.

I am now fighting to get my money back!!!!

So upseting.

I would never recomend this hotel or the services they call 5 star.

Room Number:
2309

Room Block:
2

Rooms:
moldy and need repairs

Restaurants and Bars:
Disco was moldy and smelled really bad!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
nice

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Max 3 Star"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Will  on Mar 28, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
209 people found this review helpful


At our arrival to the airport tired it was 3 in the morning the bus din NOT take us directly to our hotel but first we had to wait almost an our until they got everyone on board for about 5 hotels and they dropt them off hotel after hotel, so it was around 5 AM when it was our turn and the guide made it clear that they should get about $ 5.00 tip from every couple.
We where told that there is going to be Wi-Fi available. Nothing .
The internet we paid $5.00 for a half an hour was so slow that I could not even check one of my emails, and this was beside the lobby not in our room, although websites say that we should Expect high-speed internet access AND a PC in the room. But again , no such a thing .
Tennis courts, none. and several multiple-purpose pools? the unusable one.
No heated Pools , in fact The Pool was so cold that maybe one or two dared to go in
The beach in front was plowed every morning without being cleaned up so it was dirty … plastic, cans etc.
The rooms supposed to be complete with stylish furnishing , not even close … No Jacuzzis More like the cheapest motel rooms in Canada or US.
Should have been included: VCR′s, CD stereos, , in-room video library, more but nothing
The fridge was a joke (the smallest I have ever seen, two beers / day Not every day, and not other alcoholic beverage choice.
The spring mattress was making noise at every breath I took .
Tv old Mono barely 2-3 channels in English .
Agent said, there is no construction or renovation going on , since we are going for this vacation to rest .
We where assured that she checked and there is nothing like construction or renovation going on , since according to her this was a brand now resort , We found out later that it was built more then 7 years ago. Well Right in front of our patio door (and only room) a major construction was going on DAY AND NIGHT, for the entire duration of our stay, just 100 yards from us.
The maintenance was so bad that most of the facilities looked like the cheapest hotels we have seen.
Our room was not even swept 3 days out of six, in spite of the fact that the chambermaids got about $10 worth of tips, but ours did not even understand English , let-alone speak it.
Second day we found a huge cockroach in our bathroom, but the bathroom and the room was equipped with ugly cheep furniture , and unsafe.
Not just all rusty and worn out equipment but loose too
The entertainers most of them they were great, but one of the two stages was so badly maintained that it was sinking under them in layers and we have witnessed how they have injured their feet like that on a patched up pieces of plywood “stage” nice entertainment .
The smallest problem with our food was that half was coming from canned food, but the biggest problem was that the buffet room was full of sparrows and they where in the food on the display tables as soon as nobody

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful Resort"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Charl.  on Mar 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
230 people found this review helpful

I am beginning to think I was in a different resort than some of the reviewers. My girlfriend and I loved this resort so much that we are planning to return next year. Firstly, I would like to comment on the "bed bug" business. I would question this comment from the writer as we checked our room and there was nothing. My friend did get bitten on her bottom legs and ankles but was diagnosed by her doctor in Canada as having been bitten by sand fleas which seems to be the generally accepted reason if you check on the internet. If you had bed bugs you would see them. They are quite large. I got not one bite but I take garlic pills every day and they apparently protect you from this. The beach was the best in the whole area, lots of lounge chairs, beautiful warm water with no rocks, always could find food to eat that we liked, loved the entertainment that was available all over the resort (especially in the square at eight each night). Why would one complain about the alcohol when you could choose from so many drinks that were all free. People who expect North American Standards for a 5-star in any developing country should simply stay in N. American and pay a fortune as that is the reality of the situation. I have travelled a lot in Europe and in the south and find Europeans so much more adapatable than we are. I would recommend this resort highly. We loved everything about it. The staff were wonderful.

Room Block:
D

Rooms:
Only complain is that being on the ground we could not open our door at night for ventilation and we did not like sleeping with air conditioning. The screen had a small tear and the door almost impossible to figure out re. locking it. At first we were disappointed at being on the ground floor but decided it was quick and convenient and stayed. Were in D block and would recommend it as well as C for convenience.

Restaurants and Bars:
Racket Club, Italian, Japanese were our favourite but always something we liked at the buffet and the breads and sweets were wonderful

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Seemed to be two cultures--those at the pool and those at the beach. We swam twice in the pool but loved the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Things to do all day long such as Spanish Dancing, Spanish Lessons, Cuban Culture, Yoga, Vollyball and it goes on and on. I chose to be lazy and sit and read.

Other Comments:
Go with an open mind, enjoy the sun, the water and the people. Don't fret over little things in your room because you spend hardly any time there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Why you should pick this hotel"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  David  on Feb 5, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
225 people found this review helpful

We just returned from the Paradisus Princesa Del Mar on Sat Jan 28th 2012 this was my 5th stay in Cuba and my third in Varadero (I spent 2 weeks at the 5 star Riu Varadero in Feb of 2011,I have also been to Mexico 8 times,Jamaica once Punta Cana 5 times also Florida 5-6 times,Colombia South America 8 times and France,Germany, Switzerland)
So that being said I did not want to visit Cuba after last years stay at the Riu resort (bad experience and way too long a story but would not return there after last years experience the resorts are walking distance apart but worlds apart when it comes to food and the whole experience) the Paradisus is the 1st 5 star resort that is truely a 5 star that i have ever stayed in Cuba and I have stayed at 2 Princess resorts and 2 Riu Palace resorts in Mexico
the grounds are well maintained and groomed the Staff are second to none they are kind and cheerful from the Butler we had to the Grounds keeper that had a fresh flower for my wife every morning (he would always say with your permission to me before presenting her a flower or grasshopper he had made from leaves that he had cut) The food was outstanding we ate at theInternational/Cuban,french,Japanese,and oriental
and 3 nights we ate Lobster at the buffet.... yes grilled Lobster, even the beach grill is Ala carte and is a nice change from beach food that we are use to.The deep fried Calamari was
the best we have ever had.(and we are a group of 6 and we all agreed on that) The beef must be imported because it was tender and flavorful deserts where wow and Spanish
coffee after dinner finished it off. 12 year old Glenlivet scotch while watching the nightly show followed by closing the disco nightly ask Yoel and the disco for a flaming Sambucca you
will be surprised at what he will do with it. The nightly shows where fun Michael Jackson night was very cool. I cant think of a single negative thing to say about the food/staff/resort
We met with the hotel director(we wanted to tell him what a great resort he was running) I told him I would write a review that was worthy because its easier to write a crap review
than it is to write a nice one Anyways would i recommend this resort YES would I return YES I am looking to see if I can find a trip back late March/April of this year So cheers everyone hope to meet you 1 day at the Paradisus Princesa Del Mar
Dave Newell
Ottawa Canada

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends

Room Number:
72110

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Biggest Let down"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Amanda  on Jan 23, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) IRELAND
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
194 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the hotel for 10 days prior to travelling to Havana. it was the biggest let down. the food was disgusting and it made be violently ill for a few days. the rooms were below Average. We got married in a 5 star and it was not even close in the standard of rooms, food or service.
people were friendly, the poolw as nice but it was very boring with very poor entertainment. upon leaving we noticed that some of my husbands clothes had been taken from the rooms. Overall if it wasnt for the hotel we stayed in havana for 5 nights before traveling home it would of been the worst holiday ive ever been on.

Arrival:
Good - but it midnight so it wasnt very busy at all

Rooms:
Very disappointing. We upgraded to a room exactly the same. old fashioned and alot of things needed to be repaired inclu the bathroom door

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was vile!!! Made my seriously ill for the first couple of days i lived on toast for a few days. We werent told that appointments had to be made for the restaurants and ended up only eating in the restaurant once after arguing with the rep. The buffet was dirty and the food was always cold and it was very obvious that the buffet served the left over food from the restuarants.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool was beautiful and relaxing

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was none at all.

Other Comments:
I would never EVER travel back to Cuba!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"totally dissapointing"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rose  on Oct 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
235 people found this review helpful

My husband and I just came back from our holiday at this resort.
The room was dirty, and smelly; windows full of finger prints, mirror full of splash marks, the toilet was dirty, the bathtub had soap scum and I had to clean it before we had a shower. Lucky me we brought Lysol pads.
We had a terrible experience right after our arrival at the Racquet Club, we were actually served by a couple of German girl guests who were very drunk and depressed after finding out their entire wardrobe had been stolen by the staff. The bartender at this 24 hours "restaurant and bar" (Alberto) was very rude and lazy. There was never nothing to eat and the sight of that bar almost made me cry, there were only 2 or 3 bottles behind the counter... 5 ***** Really????
The food was mediocre at the main buffet, half of the time the food is made of leftovers from previous meals, fish is never cooked enough, fries are disgusting, the oil has never been changed; but what really got my attention is that almost everyone we spoke to had had issues booking for the "a la carte" restaurant but most nights they were either empty or closed. The French and Japanese restaurant were ok, the Italian was awful...
I also had issues with the cleanliness of the glasses and found lipstick on my glass wine, a real turn off.

The beach is nice too bad the beach chairs are very uncomfortable and the beach beds are dirty and seemed to have been abandoned for years without any maintenance. The cups at the beach are very small and fall down on the sand easily; I also agree with another review commenting on the state of the beach, it is very dirty as no one bothers to clean it.
My husband and I got tangled on a fish net (someone else has commented on it) and we saw the fish getting strangled and dying right on the net... it made us sick and we just turned around and left the beach, along with a lot of other people. Another tourist from Russia actually cut her leg on it. It was surreal to see that net lying right in front of the hotel. The local people placing the net were screaming at other guests who complaint about them fishing on the hotel’s beach.
On our last day the ocean was great with a lot of nice waves but the lifeguards decided to place the red flag, may be because they were feeling cold and did not want to get wet or get distracted from their "dealings" with the tourists (they offered rum and cigars to everyone). These life guards actually told us to bathe outside the limits of the hotel since they did not want to be responsible should anything happen to any of us. A large group of guest from the hotel ended up walking a long distance to be able to swim.

I have been at other resorts that were rated at 4 stars and my experience was 10 times better. At least the staffs made you feel like they wanted you there; they got you involved, nothing like that happened at this hotel. Aside from the odd exception most staff was rude.

Room Number:
1322

Room Block:
3

Arrival:
oct 16th

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrrible"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  vicky  on Jul 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
264 people found this review helpful

This hotel has cockroaches at the buffet restaurant!!! They were coming out and walking around the tomatoes...everything!!! the room smelled so bad... mattress was gross!!! we got really sick on day 5 of trip...glasses and cups and dinner ware were not clean..they do not use sanitizer to wash dinner ware or plates or cups!!! i will not be going back there..ever!!!! this hotel should be rated a 1 star not a 5 star at all!!!!!

Room Number:
2108

Room Block:
2

Restaurants and Bars:
Horrible!! cockroaches....at buffet tables...everyone at resort saw them!!!

Other Comments:
cockroach infested at restaurants...horrible hotel

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube