Paradisus Princesa del Mar Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Paradisus Princesa del Mar reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.5 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 22, 2012

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.4 based on 26 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 18, 2014

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel

4.3 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 25, 2014

Paradisus Princesa del Mar  

Carretera Las Morlas km 19 1/2, Varadero, Matanzas
(Varadero Maps)

"why do people go there?"
Posted by: kaz on Mar 1, 2014
see all reviews

Paradisus Princesa del Mar Reviews
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Pictures and Information
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Varadero Cuba

#28
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.3

Based on 18 reviews

Paradisus Princesa del Mar Information


This stunning Ultra All Inclusive 5-star hotel is designed for adults over 18 years of age. Paradisus Princesa Del Mar provides all the luxury you can wish for in an elegant ambience that will certainly appeal to people who plan a wedding in Cuba or are looking for that perfect honeymoon.

For adults only (guests aged 18 and over)


Royal Section rooms and facilities will be closed until summer 2013 due to maintenance works.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Paradisus Princesa del Mar Reviews

Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 3.3 of 5 18 reviews
Excellent
  6
Very good
  0
Average
  8
Poor
  0
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Leisure (13)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Family and Kids
Solo
1 - 9 of 18

"Biggest Let down"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Amanda  on Jan 23, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) IRELAND
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
215 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the hotel for 10 days prior to travelling to Havana. it was the biggest let down. the food was disgusting and it made be violently ill for a few days. the rooms were below Average. We got married in a 5 star and it was not even close in the standard of rooms, food or service.
people were friendly, the poolw as nice but it was very boring with very poor entertainment. upon leaving we noticed that some of my husbands clothes had been taken from the rooms. Overall if it wasnt for the hotel we stayed in havana for 5 nights before traveling home it would of been the worst holiday ive ever been on.

Arrival:
Good - but it midnight so it wasnt very busy at all

Rooms:
Very disappointing. We upgraded to a room exactly the same. old fashioned and alot of things needed to be repaired inclu the bathroom door

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was vile!!! Made my seriously ill for the first couple of days i lived on toast for a few days. We werent told that appointments had to be made for the restaurants and ended up only eating in the restaurant once after arguing with the rep. The buffet was dirty and the food was always cold and it was very obvious that the buffet served the left over food from the restuarants.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool was beautiful and relaxing

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was none at all.

Other Comments:
I would never EVER travel back to Cuba!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not an ideal place"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Blair  on Nov 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Wedding | With Group
289 people found this review helpful

Overall, I don't think I would ever return to this resort. It was definitely not a five star. The food was awful, the staff was rude, and I caught bed bugs (as my doctor has informed me), from my room! Other guests in my group also caught bed bugs from their rooms.

The spa was okay. I have been to better ones that charge way less at home in Canada. I had a "Serenity Massage". It was nice, but I wouldn't spend the money ever again on a back rub that your partner could give you just the same.

Don't count on anything being on time or according to schedule. We ended up canceling our horseback riding due to multiple delays which left us waiting for hours in the hotel lobby.

Arrival:
Arrived early in the morning, had a little wait for my room, was given cocktails until room was ready which was okay.

Rooms:
Infested with bed bugs and ants. The room appeared to be fairly nice and clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Decent. Not a lot of alcohol selection. Still had to pay for certain liquors. Entertainment was fairly good, but always was too late in the evening (10 or 11pm).

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Alright. Found that the beach in town was better. Pools were clean and well kept. There was no fighting for lounge chairs as I have found at other resorts.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went on a Catarmaran to snorkel and see the dolphins. Was not impressed when the crew refused to turn back to shore when the whether turned to heavy winds and rain.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrrible"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  vicky  on Jul 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
284 people found this review helpful

This hotel has cockroaches at the buffet restaurant!!! They were coming out and walking around the tomatoes...everything!!! the room smelled so bad... mattress was gross!!! we got really sick on day 5 of trip...glasses and cups and dinner ware were not clean..they do not use sanitizer to wash dinner ware or plates or cups!!! i will not be going back there..ever!!!! this hotel should be rated a 1 star not a 5 star at all!!!!!

Room Number:
2108

Room Block:
2

Restaurants and Bars:
Horrible!! cockroaches....at buffet tables...everyone at resort saw them!!!

Other Comments:
cockroach infested at restaurants...horrible hotel

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Max 3 Star"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Will  on Mar 28, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
230 people found this review helpful


At our arrival to the airport tired it was 3 in the morning the bus din NOT take us directly to our hotel but first we had to wait almost an our until they got everyone on board for about 5 hotels and they dropt them off hotel after hotel, so it was around 5 AM when it was our turn and the guide made it clear that they should get about $ 5.00 tip from every couple.
We where told that there is going to be Wi-Fi available. Nothing .
The internet we paid $5.00 for a half an hour was so slow that I could not even check one of my emails, and this was beside the lobby not in our room, although websites say that we should Expect high-speed internet access AND a PC in the room. But again , no such a thing .
Tennis courts, none. and several multiple-purpose pools? the unusable one.
No heated Pools , in fact The Pool was so cold that maybe one or two dared to go in
The beach in front was plowed every morning without being cleaned up so it was dirty … plastic, cans etc.
The rooms supposed to be complete with stylish furnishing , not even close … No Jacuzzis More like the cheapest motel rooms in Canada or US.
Should have been included: VCR′s, CD stereos, , in-room video library, more but nothing
The fridge was a joke (the smallest I have ever seen, two beers / day Not every day, and not other alcoholic beverage choice.
The spring mattress was making noise at every breath I took .
Tv old Mono barely 2-3 channels in English .
Agent said, there is no construction or renovation going on , since we are going for this vacation to rest .
We where assured that she checked and there is nothing like construction or renovation going on , since according to her this was a brand now resort , We found out later that it was built more then 7 years ago. Well Right in front of our patio door (and only room) a major construction was going on DAY AND NIGHT, for the entire duration of our stay, just 100 yards from us.
The maintenance was so bad that most of the facilities looked like the cheapest hotels we have seen.
Our room was not even swept 3 days out of six, in spite of the fact that the chambermaids got about $10 worth of tips, but ours did not even understand English , let-alone speak it.
Second day we found a huge cockroach in our bathroom, but the bathroom and the room was equipped with ugly cheep furniture , and unsafe.
Not just all rusty and worn out equipment but loose too
The entertainers most of them they were great, but one of the two stages was so badly maintained that it was sinking under them in layers and we have witnessed how they have injured their feet like that on a patched up pieces of plywood “stage” nice entertainment .
The smallest problem with our food was that half was coming from canned food, but the biggest problem was that the buffet room was full of sparrows and they where in the food on the display tables as soon as nobody

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Rooms are generally pleasant and roomy enough"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dayel from Waterloo  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2009
181 people found this review helpful

Arrival: July 11-18 2009
Princessa Del Mar is sold as a Five Star Cuban resort. Our experience at this resort suggests nothing more than a 3.5 or 4 star. Although it is eye candy as far as appearance goes, the ambience and overall helpfulness of its employees falls far below expectations. If you want a 5-star experience in Varadero go to Sandals Royal Hicacos.

Rooms:
Rooms are generally pleasant and roomy enough. No major issues with the rooms or air conditioning. Everything functioned well and the maids created beautiful objects on our beds. It must be said that unless you leave the maids a gift they will not create anything for you.

Restaurants and Bars:
The Restaurants were ok. Nothing spectacular, nothing overly bad. The Buffet was very poor for breakfast and decent for lunch and dinner. If you did not get to the Buffet early most of the items left were in bad shape, not replaced with fresh or simply poor quality. No food was placed over ice which simply caused it to go bad over time. Many people got a case of Montezuma's revenge from eating the pork at the Buffet. The best place for breakfast is the Racquet Club where they are open 24 hours and prepare everything fresh for you. 3-4 star Restaurants at this resort.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The Beach was great. Although the sand isn't as soft as other resorts in Varadero, it certainly wasnt an issue. The water was beautiful and extremely warm. Some peddlars of various Cuban goods but not pestering by any means. The standard lifeguard/cigar selling routine as per every beach in Cuba.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Didnt take any tours. We did take a taxi into Havana and experienced a fantastic trip. Cost compared to the tour was about 15CUC more, but we never were pestered by beggars and got to see exactly what we wanted and more. Ask for Fernando at the front desk, he will help you set up a taxi trip.

Other Comments:
This resort has two very large problems. One is the mosquitoes. The issue is created by a large cesspool of a swamp that was man made at the resort. This swamp creates millions of the little pests. In order to control the problem the resort sprays large clouds of insecticide at various times of the day. Most of the time they spray while people are eating in the outdoor buffet and the Cuban Restaurant. Everything is inundated with the smell and of course the chemical itself. I complained bitterly to the ever present manager and he promised to provide me with a chemical listing of the spray but never did. The only thing he did suggest was that the spray was safe for humans as tested by the Cuban government. I personally dont know of any chemical insecticide that is good for breathing and ingesting. Meanwhile everyone continued to get eaten alive during the evening, spray or not. 1-2 Star for this issue...if they spray for insects it should be done when no one is awake. I would never go back due to this final issue. To pay more here than at Sandals Hicacos is a crime.

dayelb@gmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"why do people go there?"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  kaz  on Mar 1, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
75 people found this review helpful

I am baffled why people keep going back to Cuba. Yes the beaches are beautiful,but there is more to a vacation, like food and getting what you pay for. That's all I ask for. If I am paying for a five star resort, that is what I expect. I believe in tipping for good service but when the waitresses, and waiter put their hand out and expect it, don't crack a smile, dont refil your glass or take away dirty dishes, than I say nope. I work as well for money.
Piano players cannot look bored silly. Nope. I had a great time because of who I was with. We heard the good and the bad about Cuba, we wanted to experience it for ourselves and we did. We will never go again and don't know why people go.

Room Number:
4322

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a 5-start resort as advertised"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Leo  on Feb 27, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
151 people found this review helpful

Every day at the resort started the same way...early morning construction workers yelling and using noisy equipment so was just like being back in Canada at work. Lots of food, but not tasty (lost weight on all-inclusive holiday). Hot tubs not working (3 cold days, would have been nice). Pool was great, service was excellent, staff was excellent.

Arrival:
Great experience checking in and out.

Rooms:
Room was good, except trouble getting hot water for shower at night.

Restaurants and Bars:
Japanese restaurant was the best one

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool was great, grounds well kept.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"totally dissapointing"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rose  on Oct 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
259 people found this review helpful

My husband and I just came back from our holiday at this resort.
The room was dirty, and smelly; windows full of finger prints, mirror full of splash marks, the toilet was dirty, the bathtub had soap scum and I had to clean it before we had a shower. Lucky me we brought Lysol pads.
We had a terrible experience right after our arrival at the Racquet Club, we were actually served by a couple of German girl guests who were very drunk and depressed after finding out their entire wardrobe had been stolen by the staff. The bartender at this 24 hours "restaurant and bar" (Alberto) was very rude and lazy. There was never nothing to eat and the sight of that bar almost made me cry, there were only 2 or 3 bottles behind the counter... 5 ***** Really????
The food was mediocre at the main buffet, half of the time the food is made of leftovers from previous meals, fish is never cooked enough, fries are disgusting, the oil has never been changed; but what really got my attention is that almost everyone we spoke to had had issues booking for the "a la carte" restaurant but most nights they were either empty or closed. The French and Japanese restaurant were ok, the Italian was awful...
I also had issues with the cleanliness of the glasses and found lipstick on my glass wine, a real turn off.

The beach is nice too bad the beach chairs are very uncomfortable and the beach beds are dirty and seemed to have been abandoned for years without any maintenance. The cups at the beach are very small and fall down on the sand easily; I also agree with another review commenting on the state of the beach, it is very dirty as no one bothers to clean it.
My husband and I got tangled on a fish net (someone else has commented on it) and we saw the fish getting strangled and dying right on the net... it made us sick and we just turned around and left the beach, along with a lot of other people. Another tourist from Russia actually cut her leg on it. It was surreal to see that net lying right in front of the hotel. The local people placing the net were screaming at other guests who complaint about them fishing on the hotel’s beach.
On our last day the ocean was great with a lot of nice waves but the lifeguards decided to place the red flag, may be because they were feeling cold and did not want to get wet or get distracted from their "dealings" with the tourists (they offered rum and cigars to everyone). These life guards actually told us to bathe outside the limits of the hotel since they did not want to be responsible should anything happen to any of us. A large group of guest from the hotel ended up walking a long distance to be able to swim.

I have been at other resorts that were rated at 4 stars and my experience was 10 times better. At least the staffs made you feel like they wanted you there; they got you involved, nothing like that happened at this hotel. Aside from the odd exception most staff was rude.

Room Number:
1322

Room Block:
3

Arrival:
oct 16th

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't go there if your looking for a 5 star vacation!!!!!"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sherry  on Feb 25, 2013  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2013 | Leisure | Solo
133 people found this review helpful

I payed for a 5 star ocean/view jr suite. In short I spent 1 1/2 days in that room and it took me 2 days to get it. I had a confrontation with a maid over money and services and she would not let me back in my room that I locked myself out of for 15 mins. She had to be convinced by another maid. In addition to that the ocean view was a long way in the distance. The room smelled badly of mold and the tv cable was lose so the picture was fuzzy at
times as well as the phone cut in and out and light bulbs were burnt out.

I don't know about you but when I go on vacation, I don't want to deal with maintenence issues on top of all that!!!!! They could not place me in another ocean/view room intil the next day. They offered me a massage for my trouble. Not good enough!!!!!

After 3 days of this frustrating service, I asked to move to another hotel which they agreed too but I could not have a ocean veiw rm. I went to the other hotel and stayed for 1hr.....then I got on a flight and went home. I arrived Feb 19th at 6:30 pm and left feb 23rd at 7pm. I was there for a grand total of 4 nights out of 14 that I payed for.

I am now fighting to get my money back!!!!

So upseting.

I would never recomend this hotel or the services they call 5 star.

Room Number:
2309

Room Block:
2

Rooms:
moldy and need repairs

Restaurants and Bars:
Disco was moldy and smelled really bad!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
nice

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't go there if your looking for a 5 star vacation!!!!!"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sherry  on Feb 25, 2013  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2013 | Leisure | Solo
125 people found this review helpful

I payed for a 5 star ocean/view jr suite. In short I spent 1 1/2 days in that room and it took me 2 days to get it. I had a confrontation with a maid over money and services and she would not let me back in my room that I locked myself out of for 15 mins. She had to be convinced by another maid. In addition to that the ocean view was a long way in the distance. The room smelled badly of mold and the tv cable was lose so the picture was fuzzy at
times as well as the phone cut in and out and light bulbs were burnt out.

I don't know about you but when I go on vacation, I don't want to deal with maintenence issues on top of all that!!!!! They could not place me in another ocean/view room intil the next day. They offered me a massage for my trouble. Not good enough!!!!!

After 3 days of this frustrating service, I asked to move to another hotel which they agreed too but I could not have a ocean veiw rm. I went to the other hotel and stayed for 1hr.....then I got on a flight and went home. I arrived Feb 19th at 6:30 pm and left feb 23rd at 7pm. I was there for a grand total of 4 nights out of 14 that I payed for.

I am now fighting to get my money back!!!!

So upseting.

I would never recomend this hotel or the services they call 5 star.

Room Number:
2309

Room Block:
2

Rooms:
moldy and need repairs

Restaurants and Bars:
Disco was moldy and smelled really bad!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
nice

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube