Paradisus Princesa del Mar Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Paradisus Princesa del Mar reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.5 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 22, 2012

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.3 based on 21 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 27, 2014

Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.2 based on 37 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Princesa del Mar  

Carretera Las Morlas km 19 1/2, Varadero, Matanzas
(Varadero Maps)

"why do people go there?"
Posted by: kaz on Mar 1, 2014
see all reviews

Paradisus Princesa del Mar Reviews
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Pictures and Information
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Varadero Cuba

#27
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.3

Based on 18 reviews

Paradisus Princesa del Mar Information


This stunning Ultra All Inclusive 5-star hotel is designed for adults over 18 years of age. Paradisus Princesa Del Mar provides all the luxury you can wish for in an elegant ambience that will certainly appeal to people who plan a wedding in Cuba or are looking for that perfect honeymoon.

For adults only (guests aged 18 and over)


Royal Section rooms and facilities will be closed until summer 2013 due to maintenance works.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Paradisus Princesa del Mar Reviews

Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 3.3 of 5 18 reviews
Excellent
  6
Very good
  0
Average
  8
Poor
  0
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Leisure (13)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Family and Kids
Solo
1 - 10 of 18

"My best Christmasts"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  adrian jordan  on Feb 13, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) SRI LANKA
Visited on: Feb, 2008
2076 people found this review helpful

I stay there in Christmasts and it was like a dream for me this hotel is wonderful

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It is Cuba so be realistic about service expectations"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Fred from Toronto  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
171 people found this review helpful

Visited Paradisus Del Mar in Varadero February 13 to 20th. Overall, the place is very nice, well run, good food, enjoyable.

Good points-

- clean, spacious rooms,ladies that clean the rooms do a good job
- never a problem finding a good spot at the pool or beach
- beach and pool have enough people and action to have atmosphere but are sufficiently quiet and sedate (this is a plus or minus, you decide)
- this is an adult resort. Couples are either pre having children or 50+. There were a few university students with their parents.
- buffet is well run, good variety, well stocked (i.e. Breakfast ends at 10:30 but at 10:15 the omelet guy was active, a fresh tray of smoked salmon was brought out, servers were still attentive)
- buffet is more like food stations where meat/fish is grilled on request, food preped, stations have themes. It is not a cafeteria style presentation.
-The full service restaurants are nice in that they serve you but we enjoyed the buffet better than any of the full service restaurants. We tried cuba (okay) chinese and Japanese. We passed on italian thursday night in favor of lobster at the buffet. Could not get into the french. Others had great experience at the japanese, depends on chef and others at the table.
- You get the food at buffet but staff are very attentive. They bring drinks. Table cloths and cloth napkins. More interaction and attentiveness from the wait staff when at the buffet than from the wait staff in the full service restaurants.

If you want to find stuff to do, you can. You will not be dragged from your chair to join, that is for sure. Animation staff might be content to let everyone do nothing. Beach volley ball is from 11:00 to 1:00 and that is it. No all day long games (this may be a cuba/varadero thing as compared to mexico where the games run all day). Other activities are posted beside the bar at the pool. Find them, they won't find you.

Easier to get booze than food. They would do good by having snacks at the bar. There are too many hours when the only place that has food is the Racquet Club. Buffet lunch started at 1, dinner didn't start until 7.

It is Cuba so be realistic about service expectations. Management is spanish so that will influence staff training and service levels. It is not USA or Canada so service expectations should be adjusted accordingly and there are some language barriers. Remember that you will be okay. Forget it and you will be frustrated.

So here are the complaints. They did not ruin the trip but gives a sense of what can go wrong. Some of this could happen in any hotel

- resort is at the end of the peninsula, you may make a few stops on the bus from the airport at other places
- driver made a few extra pesos by picking up an extra passenger and making an extra stop from the airport
- after a quick check-in and despite reassurances otherwise, my children were given a single king size bed. The problem was quickly resolved.
- service always take a few minutes no matter how busy or slow it is at the bar
- someone else was booked into our room about three hours after we were and woke us up - we asked for sheets to be changed every day but they were not
- on the first morning we were there, we waited for almost an hour to book restaurants for the week. Suggestion is that you get to the lobby 8:30/8:45 and be at the front of the line
- key to room was cancelled during our first day but quickly reinstated
- check in date in system was 17th instead of 20th

Internet is 15cents a minute but slow. Rogers cell and text messaging will work. Others may not unless you have their 'world' phone. Blackberry email and messenger will not work in Cuba.

Enjoy. Worth choosing.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  JACKY jOHNSON  on Apr 5, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2009
831 people found this review helpful

We have just returned from this lovely hotel. The weather was great, the pools and gardens are just fantastic. The food was very good and so much choice in the buffet restaurant, we also enjoyed the al a carte restaurants. The people are lovely. I would recommend you take teabags if you love a cuppa. We would deffinately go back to this hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Rooms are generally pleasant and roomy enough"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dayel from Waterloo  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2009
179 people found this review helpful

Arrival: July 11-18 2009
Princessa Del Mar is sold as a Five Star Cuban resort. Our experience at this resort suggests nothing more than a 3.5 or 4 star. Although it is eye candy as far as appearance goes, the ambience and overall helpfulness of its employees falls far below expectations. If you want a 5-star experience in Varadero go to Sandals Royal Hicacos.

Rooms:
Rooms are generally pleasant and roomy enough. No major issues with the rooms or air conditioning. Everything functioned well and the maids created beautiful objects on our beds. It must be said that unless you leave the maids a gift they will not create anything for you.

Restaurants and Bars:
The Restaurants were ok. Nothing spectacular, nothing overly bad. The Buffet was very poor for breakfast and decent for lunch and dinner. If you did not get to the Buffet early most of the items left were in bad shape, not replaced with fresh or simply poor quality. No food was placed over ice which simply caused it to go bad over time. Many people got a case of Montezuma's revenge from eating the pork at the Buffet. The best place for breakfast is the Racquet Club where they are open 24 hours and prepare everything fresh for you. 3-4 star Restaurants at this resort.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The Beach was great. Although the sand isn't as soft as other resorts in Varadero, it certainly wasnt an issue. The water was beautiful and extremely warm. Some peddlars of various Cuban goods but not pestering by any means. The standard lifeguard/cigar selling routine as per every beach in Cuba.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Didnt take any tours. We did take a taxi into Havana and experienced a fantastic trip. Cost compared to the tour was about 15CUC more, but we never were pestered by beggars and got to see exactly what we wanted and more. Ask for Fernando at the front desk, he will help you set up a taxi trip.

Other Comments:
This resort has two very large problems. One is the mosquitoes. The issue is created by a large cesspool of a swamp that was man made at the resort. This swamp creates millions of the little pests. In order to control the problem the resort sprays large clouds of insecticide at various times of the day. Most of the time they spray while people are eating in the outdoor buffet and the Cuban Restaurant. Everything is inundated with the smell and of course the chemical itself. I complained bitterly to the ever present manager and he promised to provide me with a chemical listing of the spray but never did. The only thing he did suggest was that the spray was safe for humans as tested by the Cuban government. I personally dont know of any chemical insecticide that is good for breathing and ingesting. Meanwhile everyone continued to get eaten alive during the evening, spray or not. 1-2 Star for this issue...if they spray for insects it should be done when no one is awake. I would never go back due to this final issue. To pay more here than at Sandals Hicacos is a crime.

dayelb@gmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a five star"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dianne  on Apr 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
280 people found this review helpful

Paradisus Princessa was not a five star resort to use. We stayed in Cuba before at the Breezes Varadaro which was a 3.5 star and was way better than the five star. Don't waste your money on this supposed to be five star resort

Your Arrival:
We arrived late around 11:00 pm. Not to busy at this time. Arrived in our room very quickly.

Rooms:
Arrived in the room and was disappointed that we had two twin beds and we requested a king bed. We have travelled many times before and have never had problems getting a king bed like this place. We complained at the lobby about our room and they told us they had no rooms available come back tomorrow morning. So the next day, we went early and they said they don't have any rooms, to come back later. I persisted in asking, after 3 times and getting a different person at the desk, we finally changed rooms for the better. This room was much cleaner than the other room. The rooms however were just average, nothing special.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet restaurant was ok. You could always find something to eat. There was not enough staff working and they were very slow. You would think at a five star resort that you would get cloth napkins at the tables not napkins. Very cheap. The cuban restaurant had the fastest service, but when I received my main course the chicken was raw and they didn't seem to make a big deal. Terrible. The food was either undercooked or overcooked or cold at all the restaurants. The Japanese overall was the best meal we had all week.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool was nice but shallow, very cold. Only went in once. Could have been cleaner. Beach was nice but alot of garbage in the sand. All they want at the beach is tips. It is too much. They get your chair for you and they stood their waiting for a tip. Never been to a resort that all they want is tips, or you get crapy service. Grounds were average but not a five star. Need work on drainage system. It rained all day, and the walkways were flooded so much that we were walking in water up to our ankles. We had to walk in bare feet. It didn't matter where you walked it was like that. Even when it rained alittle bit it was still bad.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The most boring resort we have ever stayed at. The games room was disgusting, had two pool tables, no music, everything falling apart. No music going on around the pool area or any activity until 4 pm in the afternoon all to see a fashion show or learn how to dance. We had three days of rain and really had nothing to do allday. We took the jeep tour off the resort. It was ok, we seen some amazing stuff but overall you spent more time driving on the highway getting from place to place. Wasn't worth the money.

Other Comments:
Overall the staff were not very friendly especially the front staff, they were just rude. Bring lots of money for tips, you'll need it or you won't get good service. I've never had such poor drinks at this resort. And make sure you don't loose your umbrella because they don't tell you that you have to replace it when you check out. It cost my 15 pesos for loosing it. Overall go somewhere else.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Clean resort, good food amazing people. Loved it!!! Just got back yesterday! Would go back again"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie  on Apr 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
307 people found this review helpful

This is a wonderful resort, great staff, clean and great service. Would not hesitate to return. There is something for everyone there depending on what you like. It is not a huge resort but certainly what they have is very nice. They have one of the best gyms at any resorts we have travelled too.

Your Arrival:
Excellent. Desk staff very friendly and everything was well organized. Flew with Sunwing and they were awesome.

Rooms:
Clean but not fancy. Mosquito's were the only issue we had at night. The maid must have left the patio door open when cleaning the room because there were quite a few in the room at night. Suggest you bring bug spray.

Restaurants and Bars:
Lots to choose from. Food was great. Something for everyone!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool is incredibly clean. The beach is nice although they could lean the seaweed that is along the shoreline but if that's my only complaint - then there isn't a complaint because it was awesome. Sandy to walk out into the water and they were very helpful along the beach at the resort to find you a spot and get your chair.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Fantastic gym. One of the best we have ever been to on a resort at the Islands. Peter in the gym is very knowledgeable. 5 spinning bikes, 3 computerized bikes, 3 computerized treadmills, eliptical and lots of weights.

Other Comments:
I ran off the resort and felt very safe. The staff are very friendly and helpful and go out of their way for you.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Perfect holiday - going back next year... PPDM, you rock!!!"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mon  on Jan 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
324 people found this review helpful

We stayed for two weeks and can't fault anything. The manager is out and about at all times, checking that everything is up to standard - and it helps!

Room Number:
4010

Room Block:
Holguin

Arrival:
Very efficient, a lovely cocktail served while doing paper work.

Rooms:
Spacious, air conditioning worked well, nice and clean, bar stocked up every morning, a couple of mosquitos but -hey - you are in CUBA!!! Cleaners folded our towels into incredible creatures and things every morning - marvellous.

Restaurants and Bars:
Staff very friendly, would push their limits to get us what we wanted (even if it involved a walk into other restaurants to make us happy). Food choice enormous, you either book a la carte or go into a buffet restaurant - didn't find anything we didn't like. The best of all are the bars with even international brands in the all inclusive price - pool bar, rocket bar and beach bar are highly recommended, the staff are incredible - they enjoy watching you get high!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach very quiet, the already mentioned bar is great, a lot of lounges available. Pools very clean, although I missed a proper swimming pool. Gardeners working every day, keeping everything nice, chatting to you and making things out of palm leaves or handing flowers to ladies - how sweet!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Good choice of sport activities, we played voleyball every morning on the beach and afternoon in the pool, pool aerobics and games every afternoon very entertaining. Night entertainment after dinner - every night different, a band, fashion, dancing, pool ballet, karaoke.... Spanish lessons in the afternoon are fun as is the banana boat and the snorkling.

Other Comments:
See you next year!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not an ideal place"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Blair  on Nov 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Wedding | With Group
288 people found this review helpful

Overall, I don't think I would ever return to this resort. It was definitely not a five star. The food was awful, the staff was rude, and I caught bed bugs (as my doctor has informed me), from my room! Other guests in my group also caught bed bugs from their rooms.

The spa was okay. I have been to better ones that charge way less at home in Canada. I had a "Serenity Massage". It was nice, but I wouldn't spend the money ever again on a back rub that your partner could give you just the same.

Don't count on anything being on time or according to schedule. We ended up canceling our horseback riding due to multiple delays which left us waiting for hours in the hotel lobby.

Arrival:
Arrived early in the morning, had a little wait for my room, was given cocktails until room was ready which was okay.

Rooms:
Infested with bed bugs and ants. The room appeared to be fairly nice and clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Decent. Not a lot of alcohol selection. Still had to pay for certain liquors. Entertainment was fairly good, but always was too late in the evening (10 or 11pm).

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Alright. Found that the beach in town was better. Pools were clean and well kept. There was no fighting for lounge chairs as I have found at other resorts.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went on a Catarmaran to snorkel and see the dolphins. Was not impressed when the crew refused to turn back to shore when the whether turned to heavy winds and rain.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Biggest Let down"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Amanda  on Jan 23, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) IRELAND
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
202 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the hotel for 10 days prior to travelling to Havana. it was the biggest let down. the food was disgusting and it made be violently ill for a few days. the rooms were below Average. We got married in a 5 star and it was not even close in the standard of rooms, food or service.
people were friendly, the poolw as nice but it was very boring with very poor entertainment. upon leaving we noticed that some of my husbands clothes had been taken from the rooms. Overall if it wasnt for the hotel we stayed in havana for 5 nights before traveling home it would of been the worst holiday ive ever been on.

Arrival:
Good - but it midnight so it wasnt very busy at all

Rooms:
Very disappointing. We upgraded to a room exactly the same. old fashioned and alot of things needed to be repaired inclu the bathroom door

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was vile!!! Made my seriously ill for the first couple of days i lived on toast for a few days. We werent told that appointments had to be made for the restaurants and ended up only eating in the restaurant once after arguing with the rep. The buffet was dirty and the food was always cold and it was very obvious that the buffet served the left over food from the restuarants.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool was beautiful and relaxing

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was none at all.

Other Comments:
I would never EVER travel back to Cuba!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrrible"

Paradisus Princesa del Mar
User Rating:  Paradisus Princesa del Mar Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  vicky  on Jul 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
271 people found this review helpful

This hotel has cockroaches at the buffet restaurant!!! They were coming out and walking around the tomatoes...everything!!! the room smelled so bad... mattress was gross!!! we got really sick on day 5 of trip...glasses and cups and dinner ware were not clean..they do not use sanitizer to wash dinner ware or plates or cups!!! i will not be going back there..ever!!!! this hotel should be rated a 1 star not a 5 star at all!!!!!

Room Number:
2108

Room Block:
2

Restaurants and Bars:
Horrible!! cockroaches....at buffet tables...everyone at resort saw them!!!

Other Comments:
cockroach infested at restaurants...horrible hotel

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube