Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin Province Hotel index > Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)  

Calle Guardalavaca, Playa Yuraguanal, Rafael Freyre, Holguín, Cuba
(Holguin Maps)

"Relaxing week at the Memories Holguin Beach"
Posted by: Claire on Dec 10, 2015
see all reviews

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Reviews
Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Pictures and Information
Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Playa Yuraguanal Cuba

#1
of 1 Hotels in Playa Yuraguanal

User rating 4.2

Based on 39 reviews

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Information


This all inclusive resort is located on a stunning, natural beach in the resort area of Holguin.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Reviews

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 4.2 of 5 39 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  19
Average
  6
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (16)
Wedding (2)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
With friend (1)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Solo
1 - 10 of 39

"GREAT"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mrs. Sherri  on Jan 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 1998
824 people found this review helpful

I would like to say, anyone who is looking for a great holiday this is the place to go. My family leaves again for our 4th trip this Jan. Everything about this resort is great. There is always something to do.If you like to take day trips there is alot of great ones. The jeep tour my kids did and loved it.Swimming with the dolphins was also something you will never forget. There is also horse back riding in walking distance, or a great bike ride to get there(great time). There was no fear of leaving the resort. We have been to Baseball games,Shopping and talked with alot of locals. They are so nice and happy to see you. Again alot to offer at this resort. Go and have a great time.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Incredible"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  danielle fullman  on May 23, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: May, 2005
2395 people found this review helpful

My wife, daughter(14), and I just returned from Turquesa. May14-21. We had an incredible time. This truely is a 4 star resort. The service was excellent,the food was very good, we ate at an ala carte restaurant only once,but this was our choice as the buffet always had excellent variety. The food was far from plain. The staff were all extremely pleasant,especially Armando at the beach bar and Jorge Luis at Don Bartolos.The shows were good, also the other entertainment was also good. We went on two excursions, the sun tour with catamaran,lobster lunch(oh my god),snorkelling and dolphin swim,worth every penny.The jeep safari, also very good,and worth the money.As with any thrid world country you can expect minor glitches. There are insects, yes, even in your room, but it's the tropics it's normal.The a/c went off from 6-9pm 3 nights in a row, but if your out for dinner or drinks you would never notice.All in all would we go back? Well lets just say we didn't want to leave.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"2nd time there, still loved it"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jacob Decker  on Jun 1, 2005  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2005
2291 people found this review helpful

This was our 2nd trip at Grand Playa Turquesa, during our March break - a little more expensive on charters at that time but well worth it. We travelled with another family (4 adults, 4 kids ranging grades 3-6). The resort is completely safe, staff is friendly & professional, security is relatively tight and we're nowhere near a main commercial area... so this being our 2nd stay here, we felt no worries letting them explore on their own as a 'team', as long as we knew where they were. The food does get a little same-old/same-old after 5 days or so, but it is always fresh. Make sure your meat is cooked through, and ask that it be, if you're used to that.... We lost one piece of luggage between the airport and our resort - Melanie from Transat Vacations and the very helpful front desk team helped recover it from another hotel in Guardalavaca, within 12 hours. We found out that we could indeed book more than our allegedly 'allotted' A La Carte restaurants on the 5th day there, but we enjoyed the excellent service, smiles and got to brush up on our old rusty spanish skills, to boot. No worries about water, food or bugs (I really don't know why so many people have cited bugs in reviews - we have not had any issues with bugs!) We did find out that the A/C does cut off when the sliding patio doors are opened - and occasionally, Cuban Power generators go on leave for a few hours anyway - it's to be expected. Our biggest issue this time around? Towels. There are almost never enough for the up to 1300 guests, and, a lesser problem, standing in the 08h00 line-up to reserve pedal-boats and the one, sole sailboat left intact after masses of inexperienced sailors have broken the remaining three boats over the past year... All in all, an excellent vacation, great memories and wonderful snorkelling (Bring fins, mask, beach shoes and an underwater camera...) We may be back in '06!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not Great, Not Bad"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  I Smith  on Jun 2, 2005  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2005
2273 people found this review helpful

This is my fourth time to Cuba now and I’d have to say this has been my least favourite hotel (I have always traveled during the “low” season). Waiting staff wasn’t very good. I noticed that families and older couples were always served first, while younger couples were always left to collect their own utensils and glasses. The food variety, well there was none really. The buffet had a decent variety to choose from but didn’t change day to day. The A La Carte restaurants (especially Cuban and Italian) were great though make sure you go! Entertainment was so so. A good Cuban friend of mine who we invited to the resort for the day (who is part of the entertainment staff at Brisas Sierra Mar) even said that the entertainment staff was unreceptive and the shows were uninspiring. I’d recommend NOT taking the city tour, Go and rent a car. Cubans are one of the friendliest people you will find and the trip into town was well worth it (~50 CUC/person for the tour or 125 CUC for a Jeep with 500 km) Or for a big adventure, head off to Santiago for the day (approx 3 hrs easy driving). Beach was nice, rockiest beach I’ve been to. Lots of stairs at this resort so try to get a room near the main stage and bar. For the prices that we found, head up to Cayo Coco or Cayo Guillermo. If you enjoy being on main land, check out Santiago de Cuba (check out a baseball game when you’re there) Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Place"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Raul Fuentes  on Jun 7, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2005
2326 people found this review helpful

I has stayed all over Cuba since 1992. I would have to rate this hotel #1. Staff was great. Room very clean and up to date. Food was good. Pools were very nice. With the bar staff very helpful. This is trip number # 24 for me. The phones worked, shower hot, bar fridge, but they should refill every other day, not just once. Hotel rooms very quiet, was in the 800 block. But I like quiet, a little walk from the pools and bars and disc. But if you are to drunk to find you room, that is your problem and not the hotels. Good mix of families, couples, English and Canadians. There are lots of stairs. Long distance to the beach area, but cool bar on the beach.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"top holiday"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Diane Smith  on Aug 22, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Aug, 2005
2097 people found this review helpful

Just come back from a great holiday at Playa Turquesa, had a great family holiday although the food was repetative it was of a reasonable standard and we did not go hungry. We enjoyed our time on the beech along with the friendly beech bar staff who always welcomed you with a smile and provided you with good service. The watersports were good although you did have to book early in the morning. The entertainment at night left a little to be desired but the cubalibre and Cubatta never stopped flowing along with the Mimossa. Our 14 year old son soon made many friends so much that we hardly saw him. The complex is very safe and there was no need to worry about the childrens welfare. We went on three trips, The adventure tour where you get the chance to drive your own speed boat this was a day not to be missed along with swimming with the Dophins which was unbeleiveable. However, I would recommend that you give the Cuba inside trip a miss which includes a 20min journey on a 100 year old steam train through non existant sugar plantations, 10 minutes in the cigar factory where we were promised we could roll our own (this did not happen) a meal which consisted of beetroot, fried banana, rice and beans along with a dubious peice of pork which was un-edible and appeared to have been sweating in the sun for a number of hours not to mention numerous ants crawling all over the place mats. We then went on to Holguin town for 1 hour and beleive me an hour was more than enough. Overall we spent approx 4.5 hours sat on a coach in the blazing heat. The rooms were clean and upto date, the pools were beautiful although watch out for the giant crabs, biting ants and mosquito's and the many steps up to the dining and entertainment areas. This hotel does have it's ups and downs but overall is rated one of the best in Guardalavaca and was worth every penny.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Playa Turquesa is the best hotel"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  jessica davies  on Jan 3, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jan, 2006
2136 people found this review helpful

It was the best hotel ever. The entertainment staff were very nice and I was with them most of the holiday. I am going next year with my mum and dad and I'm taking them christmas presents as they had never heard of christmas before they worked in the hotel. They are very kind but very poor they get 20 cuban pasos a month. There is a lot of food to choose from I would recomend it to everyone. The sand is white on the private beach the sea goes out ages before you can't touch the bottom then even further out there is a cliff in the sea 100 m deep. You can go out on pedalos kiaks katermrans. They do windsurfing as well and you don't have to pay. There is pizza and icecreams and drinks served on the beach. You can play vollyball at 10.30 am or 3.00pm everyday. You can go on many trips I went on the Holguin tour to the cigar factory and to the town centre and to the dolphin swim.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  jessica davies  on Apr 18, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2006
2125 people found this review helpful

I have just come onto this website and saw my review from january! it made me very upset because the hotel staff at the Occidental are the best in the world they are the nicest. I went on holiday at christmas played olley ball every day and the cubans gave me christmas presents.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Deffinitly recommend it!"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alistair Skinner  on Jan 30, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2007
3538 people found this review helpful

Just got back from 2 weeks and just feel the need to commend ALL the staff ie.bar/waitresses/chambermaids/gardeners/entertainment staff. They couldn't have tried harder to make us feel welcome and make the most of our holiday.

I hope I can go back there one day with the rest of my family. Only negative comment:
1. Lack of english tea,
2. No jacuzzis as mentioned,
3. Shame about the relentless insect bites.

Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We met the happiest people"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  R schulte  on May 7, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: May, 2007
3275 people found this review helpful

We have just come home after two weeks at the turquesa hotel, we met the most friendliest people, the buffet was mostly the same every day but the a la carte restaurants were varied, the hotel and grounds were spotlessly clean and we had the best time, plenty of activities if you wanted them and evening entertainment was good, we made good friends. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Original Review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube