Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin Province Hotel index > Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)  

Calle Guardalavaca, Playa Yuraguanal, Rafael Freyre, Holguín, Cuba
(Holguin Maps)

"Relaxing week at the Memories Holguin Beach"
Posted by: Claire on Dec 10, 2015
see all reviews

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Reviews
Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Pictures and Information
Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Playa Yuraguanal Cuba

#1
of 1 Hotels in Playa Yuraguanal

User rating 4.2

Based on 39 reviews

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Information


This all inclusive resort is located on a stunning, natural beach in the resort area of Holguin.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Reviews

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 4.2 of 5 39 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  19
Average
  6
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (16)
Wedding (2)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
With friend (1)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Solo
21 - 30 of 39

"Certainly an experence"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Chantelle  on Mar 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
231 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
We arrived at night to the Holguin air port. The airport process was pretty hastle free. We then boarded an air conditioned bus and had an hours drive to the hotel. Check in was very easy and we caught a cart to our room since it is a very long walk from the lobby to most rooms.

Rooms:
We did not have a very good first impression of our room. The very first thing was the smell. It smelt like mold. The phone, tv, fridge, and safe did not work in our room upon arrival. It was all fixed within a day tho. Our air conditioning didn't work the whole time. The room was always to hot or to cold. The beds were certainly not comfortable nor was the pillows. There was a stain on our floor from day one until we left the maids never cleaned it. The water hardly got hot in the shower and on day 4 the maid broke it and it never got fixed.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food there was nothing only horrible. On more than one night we only had bread for supper. We found that the omelettes and spaghetti were good that was made in front of you but the food that was pre-prepared was never good and was always cold. By day 5 we couldn't eat it anymore. We just ate the snack food we packed for the last to days, we couldn't stomach it any longer. The snack bar food was also not very good. Bring your own ketchup and mayo, the suff down there was not fit and the fruit selection was also not good. The bananas were cold and rotten and the pineapple was not ripe. Not impressed at all with the food. Smoking is also allowed in the restaurants and buffett which I found very offensive while I was eating.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was very nice. The sand was very nice. There were very few garbage cans so most times everyones garbage was left on the beach. The water was very nice. The pools were also very nice although it was a bit chilly.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The excursions were very good. We did the Holguin City tour and went swimming with dolphins. Both were very good experiences. Some of the tour guides were a bit to naggy for tips as were the bus drivers. If you end up getting sick you can not get your full amount back the most they will give you back is 50%

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"belle semaine en famille!"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. serge pronovost  on Mar 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: Mar, 2010
250 people found this review helpful

J'arrive du sirenis playa turquesa ,du 4 au 11 mars 2010!,moi ma conjointe et mes deux garçons de 11 et 13 ans!Idéal pour la famille ,plein d'activité ,le personnel professionnel! Bravo! Serge Pronovost

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All 18 in our group unanimously agree this is an excellent overal resort!"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Bill  on Feb 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
229 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
We arrived at midnight. Reception was friendly and efficient. There is a 24 hour snack bar and some of our group went for a snack before or after check-in. The hamburgers, pizza etc are quite good.

Rooms:
Rooms are clean, spacious and attractive.

Restaurants and Bars:
We were all very impressed by the quality and variety of the food. I have been here a number of times and the food has significanty improved. The a la carte restaurants are very good and so is the buffet. The staff are very friendly and proficient. The bartenders are efficient and excellent; the juggling bartenter is amazing!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The 7 cascading pools makes for a very attractive setting. The layout is excellent with the very good shallow pool mainly for children at the bottom and the adult only pool at the top. The swim-up bar is very popular of course.
The beach and pools have lots of chairs and space. The beach itself is good and since there is no adjacent resort(s), there is plenty of space.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Nightly entertainment is very good. I am always amazed at the widespread talent in Cuba,

Other Comments:
I highly recommend this resort for excellent overall enjoyment and value. Many of us repeatedly return her for good reason and I believe it is better than ever.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"GREAT"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mrs. Sherri  on Jan 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 1998
824 people found this review helpful

I would like to say, anyone who is looking for a great holiday this is the place to go. My family leaves again for our 4th trip this Jan. Everything about this resort is great. There is always something to do.If you like to take day trips there is alot of great ones. The jeep tour my kids did and loved it.Swimming with the dolphins was also something you will never forget. There is also horse back riding in walking distance, or a great bike ride to get there(great time). There was no fear of leaving the resort. We have been to Baseball games,Shopping and talked with alot of locals. They are so nice and happy to see you. Again alot to offer at this resort. Go and have a great time.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic Resort"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy Bedford  on Mar 19, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2008
2493 people found this review helpful

My husband and I just got back from a week at the Grand Playa Turquesa yesterday and we had a fabulous time! The resort is very clean and well kept. We especially loved the setting. The resort is set into a hillside and the grounds are very natural. We stayed in a second story room and it was very big, with a beautiful high ceiling. The beach was very relaxing and the 5 pools are beautiful and kept very clean. The staff was very helpful and I never felt a need to tip unless I wanted to. The food was good quality - sometimes a bit repetative, but very tasty. The 2 ala carte restaurants we tried (Cuban and the Grill) were excellent. Our Signature rep - Karel - was very helpful in booking tours. If you want to see the 'real' Cuba, go on the Holguin tour - it's a real eye opener. I would definately reccomend this resort for couples or families.
Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Shan MacDonald  on Mar 7, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2008
2514 people found this review helpful

This resort was just plain Excellent. The rooms were private and so clean. Food was great and the beach was beautiful however you had to get there early or no seating but the pools made up for that. Its quite a big resort with things spaced out so until your legs are ready for walking it has a shuttles that go from your room to any part of the resort you want. I noticed some people didnt like tipping the drivers which is too bad as they paractised there english and made you feel right at home. Will be going back in another year no doubt when I have stayed in other areas of Cuba.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Grand Playa Turquesa"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  joanna  on Feb 27, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2008
2541 people found this review helpful

Just came back from Holguin, Grand Playa Turquesa february 2008, excellent service, the staff is great, its so clean you can eat on the floor, the beach is great and the food excellent, and what to say about Cuban people, the most friendly people i met in all my trip.I really recommended that Hotel

Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Week in Paradise"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Bradley Duncan  on Jan 29, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2008
2448 people found this review helpful

One word sums it up, "Paradise." What a beautiful resort, from the staff to the other guests, I've never seen so many happy easy going people in one place! The beach is amazing, all the pools are kept imaculate, as well as the rooms and the rest of the resort. I would highly recommend this resort to any one of my freinds or family, and one day I hope to return to this absolutely beautiful part of Cuba. Simply astonishing!!!
Original Review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"As expected WONDERFUL time"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Aida Tavares  on Jan 28, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2008
2562 people found this review helpful

This was our 5th trip to Cuba, our 3rd at Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa, and we are planning to go back for the 4th time. The accommodations and staff are all fantastic, very friendly. My daughter just loves the kids club. The beach, pools and entertainment are all very good. We found that the food could have been improved, a little more variety and added spices is something we would of like to see. The banquet dinner was FANTASTIC.
We all look very much forward to going back. A.T.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Thank you Occidental!"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Karen Morgan  on Aug 26, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Aug, 2007
2315 people found this review helpful

Have just returned back from two weeks at this hotel. WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!

First, the majority of staff are outstanding - so friendly and attentive. Can't do enough to help,. Thats from check in to check out; golf taxis to towel man - amongst so mant others. The only people who let the hotel down (hence I have only given 4 stars; ebverything else 6 stars!)are 2 lots of bar staff (Main reception and Snack bar)who expect tips for doing nothing other than their basic job - not great service either. In comparison to the hard work others put in it is almost insulting. However, the waiters at the Pool Bar are the best ever - especiallt Nicholas! How on earth do they remember everyone's drinks without being reminded?

Second - Ok, so the buffet is a bit samey every day - but there is so much choice regardless! In terms of a la carte, the Oriental, Grill and Cuban stand out(to us anyway!) as the best.

Third - the rooms are lovely - great air con; bathrooms quite luxurious compared to what we were expecting. Cleaned every day -new towels and bedding as you want them - it is hard to find fault.

4) Pool towels - wish I'd realised before I went that I didn't have to pack towels for the whole family - you can get cleam ones as often as you need!!

5) Our rep at the hotel was a lovely guy called Janior Isla; works for First Choice - although knowing Janior he will help everyone. Having spent the past 20 years travelling the world and have met 100's of reps - he has to be the best I have ever encountered - class!

6) In terms of trips - you have to go to the Doplinarium (recommend the Cat trip) and Island Paradise - 2 of the best days of my life!

I would dearly love to return - and may just make that happen next year!

Hope this has been of some value.

Original Review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube