Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin Province Hotel index > Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)  

Calle Guardalavaca, Playa Yuraguanal, Rafael Freyre, Holguín, Cuba
(Holguin Maps)

"Relaxing week at the Memories Holguin Beach"
Posted by: Claire on Dec 10, 2015
see all reviews

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Reviews
Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Pictures and Information
Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Playa Yuraguanal Cuba

#1
of 1 Hotels in Playa Yuraguanal

User rating 4.2

Based on 39 reviews

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Information


This all inclusive resort is located on a stunning, natural beach in the resort area of Holguin.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Reviews

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 4.2 of 5 39 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  19
Average
  6
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (16)
Wedding (2)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
With friend (1)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Solo
21 - 30 of 39

"As expected WONDERFUL time"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Aida Tavares  on Jan 28, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2008
2648 people found this review helpful

This was our 5th trip to Cuba, our 3rd at Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa, and we are planning to go back for the 4th time. The accommodations and staff are all fantastic, very friendly. My daughter just loves the kids club. The beach, pools and entertainment are all very good. We found that the food could have been improved, a little more variety and added spices is something we would of like to see. The banquet dinner was FANTASTIC.
We all look very much forward to going back. A.T.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A vacation to remember."

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Janice  on Apr 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
350 people found this review helpful

This resort is built on a hill with a spectacular view and beautiful grounds.The gardeners work hard to keep the grounds looking so beautiful and are always friendly with a smile.Depending on where your bungalow was situated, you may have to climb some stairs, however the resort had many golf carts running and readily available that would pick you up and drive you to your destination,simply by calling the front desk requesting a drive.

Your Arrival:
WE arrived at 11am., and upon checking in were told our room would not be available for a few hours. Knowing this from a previous trip, we came prepared with our bathing suit/sunscreen/hat etc. in our carrying on luggage, making it easy to access. So once luggage was stored, off we went to explore. We had lunch, checked out the beach and resort, then went swimming in pool.

Rooms:
We were pleased with our room. Our bungalow was in the 500 section on second floor.Enjoyed sitting out on our balcony relaxing,the scenery was very nice. The beds are rather firm...but usually we were so tired by nighttime, we had no problem sleeping. Our a/c went on the blink one day,however we got prompt service after notifying front desk. Otherwise, the a/c worked wonderfully. There was no tub in our bathroom, only a shower, but we prefer showers. The shower stall had lots of room to place your essentials. The safe was user friendly..you could change your password # as often as you wanted.Lots of storage for clothes in the 2 closets. And there was an iron/ ironing board in our room.

Restaurants and Bars:
I was traveling with two 16 year old's and had some concerns whether they would like the food.We came prepared with our own ketchup which they enjoyed on their favorite food item... fries.The bars all had good food. I really liked the tuna sandwich at the sports bar and the fries were great.The kids enjoyed the ice-cream for dessert. The buffet in dining room always had a large variety of foods. Any meat you wished(burger/hot dog/beef/pork) and they would grill it for you. We ate a lot of chicken, even turkey which was very moist and tasty. The kids really enjoyed pasta, especially the friendly welcome from the cook.There was always fresh veg/fruit, the banana's, pineapple and pears are so tasty, not like we get at home. The waitress were friendly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
It was too windy to enjoy the beach during the first few days, plus my daughter disliked the sea grass.We really liked the pools. We enjoyed the second pool, it was large and deep and you could swim up to the edge of the pool and observe the scenery below.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We enjoyed the nightly entertainment. The aqua entertainment was fabulous! A must to see. And get your seat early, it was packed. The entertainment staff were always present in the dining room every evening, dressed in their costume(depending on the theme that night), they too are very friendly.

We took an excursion called Inside Tour. The price was 49 pesos and what a great deal! We thoroughly enjoyed this tour, can't say enough about it.First we took a ride on a relic of a train for approx. 25 min along the farm land, then from there our bus took us to a cigar factory, which was very interesting. Then off again to a restaurant that was snuggled on a hill overlooking a valley..what a view. The meal was delicious (the kids say, their best meal) and we were entertained by a talented band and dancers, what more could you ask for. After our meal off we go to Holguin visiting the cross on the hill overlooking the city.The locals come here to pray.Then into the city the bus dropped us off at a square, where we explored for 50 minutes enjoying speaking with some locals, some shopping, the relaxing with an ice cream at the square. A trip to remember!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Thank you Occidental!"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Karen Morgan  on Aug 26, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Aug, 2007
2404 people found this review helpful

Have just returned back from two weeks at this hotel. WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!

First, the majority of staff are outstanding - so friendly and attentive. Can't do enough to help,. Thats from check in to check out; golf taxis to towel man - amongst so mant others. The only people who let the hotel down (hence I have only given 4 stars; ebverything else 6 stars!)are 2 lots of bar staff (Main reception and Snack bar)who expect tips for doing nothing other than their basic job - not great service either. In comparison to the hard work others put in it is almost insulting. However, the waiters at the Pool Bar are the best ever - especiallt Nicholas! How on earth do they remember everyone's drinks without being reminded?

Second - Ok, so the buffet is a bit samey every day - but there is so much choice regardless! In terms of a la carte, the Oriental, Grill and Cuban stand out(to us anyway!) as the best.

Third - the rooms are lovely - great air con; bathrooms quite luxurious compared to what we were expecting. Cleaned every day -new towels and bedding as you want them - it is hard to find fault.

4) Pool towels - wish I'd realised before I went that I didn't have to pack towels for the whole family - you can get cleam ones as often as you need!!

5) Our rep at the hotel was a lovely guy called Janior Isla; works for First Choice - although knowing Janior he will help everyone. Having spent the past 20 years travelling the world and have met 100's of reps - he has to be the best I have ever encountered - class!

6) In terms of trips - you have to go to the Doplinarium (recommend the Cat trip) and Island Paradise - 2 of the best days of my life!

I would dearly love to return - and may just make that happen next year!

Hope this has been of some value.

Original Review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Sirenid Playa Turquesa"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mrs. Mireille Tardif  on Mar 28, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: Mar, 2010
640 people found this review helpful

Mon mari et moi revenons d'une semaine au Sirenis Playa Turquesa, nous étions 3 couples entres 50 et 55ans, avons beaucoups aimés, chambres propre, nourriture bien, aussi aux le snack bars et a la plage la pizza!!belles piscines, tres tres beau site A VOIR!!!, tres bon service et personnels souriants,pas de pression pour les pourboirs mais ils sont tres contents d'en recevoir!!La plage baignable mais pas la plus belle...beaucoups d'espace et chaise, palapas......je recommande cette hotel!! Tres belles vacances!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worth a visit"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Veronica Sullivan  on May 3, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: May, 2010
621 people found this review helpful

This hotel is in a beautiful setting. It's lovely and clean, as are the staff! The staff are all friendly and helpful and speak such good English. Great to have such a choice of pools or the beach. Food pretty good, plenty of choice although rarely hot. Spaced out a bit but we all need a bit of exercise! All in all I would go back but only after I've checked out the other resorts in Cuba.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Week in Paradise"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Bradley Duncan  on Jan 29, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2008
2534 people found this review helpful

One word sums it up, "Paradise." What a beautiful resort, from the staff to the other guests, I've never seen so many happy easy going people in one place! The beach is amazing, all the pools are kept imaculate, as well as the rooms and the rest of the resort. I would highly recommend this resort to any one of my freinds or family, and one day I hope to return to this absolutely beautiful part of Cuba. Simply astonishing!!!
Original Review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic Resort"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy Bedford  on Mar 19, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2008
2602 people found this review helpful

My husband and I just got back from a week at the Grand Playa Turquesa yesterday and we had a fabulous time! The resort is very clean and well kept. We especially loved the setting. The resort is set into a hillside and the grounds are very natural. We stayed in a second story room and it was very big, with a beautiful high ceiling. The beach was very relaxing and the 5 pools are beautiful and kept very clean. The staff was very helpful and I never felt a need to tip unless I wanted to. The food was good quality - sometimes a bit repetative, but very tasty. The 2 ala carte restaurants we tried (Cuban and the Grill) were excellent. Our Signature rep - Karel - was very helpful in booking tours. If you want to see the 'real' Cuba, go on the Holguin tour - it's a real eye opener. I would definately reccomend this resort for couples or families.
Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Grand Playa Turquesa"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  joanna  on Feb 27, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2008
2641 people found this review helpful

Just came back from Holguin, Grand Playa Turquesa february 2008, excellent service, the staff is great, its so clean you can eat on the floor, the beach is great and the food excellent, and what to say about Cuban people, the most friendly people i met in all my trip.I really recommended that Hotel

Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"GREAT"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mrs. Sherri  on Jan 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 1998
911 people found this review helpful

I would like to say, anyone who is looking for a great holiday this is the place to go. My family leaves again for our 4th trip this Jan. Everything about this resort is great. There is always something to do.If you like to take day trips there is alot of great ones. The jeep tour my kids did and loved it.Swimming with the dolphins was also something you will never forget. There is also horse back riding in walking distance, or a great bike ride to get there(great time). There was no fear of leaving the resort. We have been to Baseball games,Shopping and talked with alot of locals. They are so nice and happy to see you. Again alot to offer at this resort. Go and have a great time.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent"

Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa)
User Rating:  Memories Holguín Beach Resort (formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa and Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Shan MacDonald  on Mar 7, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2008
2595 people found this review helpful

This resort was just plain Excellent. The rooms were private and so clean. Food was great and the beach was beautiful however you had to get there early or no seating but the pools made up for that. Its quite a big resort with things spaced out so until your legs are ready for walking it has a shuttles that go from your room to any part of the resort you want. I noticed some people didnt like tipping the drivers which is too bad as they paractised there english and made you feel right at home. Will be going back in another year no doubt when I have stayed in other areas of Cuba.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube