Mar del Sur Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Mar del Sur reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Dos Mares

3.1 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 9, 2012

Villa Herradura

3.0 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 8, 2012

Pullman

2.8 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Oasis

2.5 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 27, 2014

Mar del Sur  

Calle 3ra. y 30. Varadero. Matanzas
(Varadero Maps)

"disappointed"
Posted by: fidel on Jul 15, 2014
see all reviews

Mar del Sur Reviews
Mar del Sur Pictures and Information
Mar del Sur Varadero Cuba

#42
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.4

Based on 9 reviews

Mar del Sur Information


Located 2 blocks from the beach. The apartments are good choice for families.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Mar del Sur Reviews

Mar del Sur Review: 3.4 of 5 9 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  3
Average
  2
Poor
  1
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (4)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (1)
Solo
With friend
With Group
With Spouse/Partner
1 - 9 of 9

"disappointed"

Mar del Sur
User Rating:  Mar del Sur Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  fidel  on Jul 15, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
16 people found this review helpful

I can say that this is not the best hotel I have been to, I mean the location is great I am just disappointed in the place and it is only good for those on a budget who can’t afford upscale service because from the environment to the food, I didn’t like it. I love Cuba, I love the city but the hotel was disappointing, you should have seen how dirty the pool was, it was almost green. I feel like they clean the pool but somehow it still ends up being dirty so they should probably treat it or something but it is an eyesore. The hotel is not worth staying in because even the rooms are not clean and the hot water shower is even broken, I can’t deal with that. The walls looked damp and peeling and had this strong bad smell like it hasn’t been cleaned in a while. The room was in a poor state and should not even house a guest. The food was terrible and I didn’t enjoy any at all, I ate out most of the time because I felt like the foods were repetitive. The location is the only great thing about this hotel because it is close to the bank, restaurants and other important places you would like to visit or make use of. Basically, I feel strongly that this place requires better hotel management because it seems to have lots of potential that may bring more customers for the hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stay away"

Mar del Sur
User Rating:  Mar del Sur Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Miriam  on Apr 21, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
193 people found this review helpful

I have been to Cuba ten times and have stayed in an assortment of hotels from a two star to a 4 star. Like most people Cuba is well Cuba and we go to relax and enjoy the sunshine and the warmth of the people. My first impression of this hotel was old. There were so many things to complain about that honestly there are just too many to list. I will hasten to add that I am not a complainer and for the most part you get what you pay for. I did not pay for bad service or a filthy bed cover or for a closet door that fell off. Nor did I pay for absolutely no service in the so called restaurant. The barman was just plain lazy and clearly did not want to be there. The pool was green and not well maintained. After a rain storm water was coming in from various parts of the building and the hallway outside my room looked like a river. The room itself stank of cigarette smoke and was so small there wasn't even room for a dresser. I had to put my clothes over the t.v. I could go on but suffice it to say that one should not be staying at this establishment. I asked my rep to move me and she did at further cost to me but the rest of my stay in Cuba was as I expected it would be.

Room Number:
201

Arrival:
Aoril 4th 2012

Restaurants and Bars:
One, absolutely dire.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach down the end of the street. Pool one (filthy), grounds fairly clean

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
not a whole lot going on at the resort but the main town was just outside the hotel

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"2 star Spacious Apartment"

Mar del Sur
User Rating:  Mar del Sur Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Allan Kallal  on Apr 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
274 people found this review helpful

The hotel was all that was advertised.
Our appartment was fantastic, really big rooms, dinning room, living room, kitchen and balcony. Food was basic and plentiful.
Our issue was the appathy of Cuban staff, in the hotel out of the hotel.
Cuban's were not friendly, aloof, indifferent.
Cuba was safe, no peddelers. The poverty of the average cuban was incredible.

Arrival:
no problems

Rooms:
Clean, very spacious.

Restaurants and Bars:
Basic food and drinks.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beaches were fabulous, the best I have visited.
Pool is large, clean and alot of fun.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities were okay.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice hotel, good to relax for a few days, however don't expect too much"

Mar del Sur
User Rating:  Mar del Sur Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Philippe Dreesen  on Apr 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) BELGIUM
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
279 people found this review helpful

The hotel has a very nice location, a beautiful (and quite clean) pool, and a beach not to far from the hotel with a bar. The all-in arrangement covers for a 10am-10pm bar (and beach bar until 5pm) and breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our stay (twice two days) was quite enjoyable.

Don't expect haute cuisine food (during the rest of our trip in Cuba, the food was MUCH better). Breakfast was usually quite OK, however for lunch and dinner there were usually only a few 'good' dishes, and due to their popularity, these were gone after an hour or so; the less popular ones seemed to be 'recycled' a few times... Apart from the food, we had a great time there and returned two weeks later to stay for the night before catching our flight from Varadero.

Room Number:
211

Room Block:
18

Arrival:
The staff was usually helpful and friendly. We were able to get a room (we had a reservation). Before leaving we asked for a reservation for two weeks later (quite informal), and the guy confirmed it was ok. When we arrived two weeks later the hotel was fully booked, but after we said that the guy confirmed us earlier that we would have a room, they seemed to be able to find a free room... Hotel staff is quite friendly.

Rooms:
The rooms are clean. They have A/C, TV and a bathroom with hot water (which is quite exceptional in Cuba).

Restaurants and Bars:
The hotel has a very nice location, a beautiful (and quite clean) pool, and a beach not to far from the hotel with a bar. The all-in arrangement covers for a 10am-10pm bar (and beach bar until 5pm) and breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our stay (twice two days) was quite enjoyable.

Don't expect haute cuisine food (during the rest of our trip in Cuba, the food was MUCH better). Breakfast was usually quite OK, however for lunch and dinner there were usually only a few 'good' dishes, and due to their popularity, these were gone after an hour or so; the less popular ones seemed to be 'recycled' a few times...

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach and pool were very enjoyable.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Didn't take part in any other activities.

Other Comments:
Would stay there again (although not for more than two days)...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"WONDERFUL HOTEL"

Mar del Sur
User Rating:  Mar del Sur Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  RIGOBERTO MATOS RODRIGUEZ  on Jul 25, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Mexico
Visited on: Jul, 2008
1491 people found this review helpful

CONGRATULATIONS TO THE STAFF OF THIS HOTEL WE STAYED THERE 3 DAYS ON JULY 8, 9 AND 10, 2008 THE TREAT WAS EXCELLENT AND ALSO THE SERVICE AT THE HOTEL. I HOPE TO COME BACK IN DECEMBER AND I WILL GO WITH MY HOLE FAMILY.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very good!!"

Mar del Sur
User Rating:  Mar del Sur Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Martha Seńán Hernández  on Apr 20, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: Apr, 2008
2031 people found this review helpful

Thanks for the warm we received, greatings to all of you, specialle for Pepe the Director of the Hotel. Pepe, Thanks for everything

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice low price hotel"

Mar del Sur
User Rating:  Mar del Sur Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Erick Perez  on Mar 31, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) SWEDEN
Visited on: Mar, 2008
2307 people found this review helpful

Ok this is a two starts hotel but it should be tre. Very nice hotel, great staff, varied buffet with good food, problems fixed promptly (same day).
Highly Recomended!
Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Simple but clean"

Mar del Sur
User Rating:  Mar del Sur Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Johnny Depp ... Ce Grand Timide  on Mar 22, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2008
879 people found this review helpful

If memory serves me, in the 1980s this hotel was called “The Granma.” When I first stayed here this hotel had some well worth mentioning qualities. Twenty-five years later, the hotel has deteriorated a little. Simplicity and tranquility. The basics are all here, but no luxuries. The rooms are clean but they should be renovated. The decoration is a bit…old fashioned. Since the hotel offers “long-term rentals,” many retirees pick this place. Given the average age of the guests, it is a pretty quiet place that is to say that the atmosphere is more of rest than night life. I liked my stay here because I prefer to be downtown and I rather have the company of Cubans rather than to isolate myself in a “resort” in some remote part of the island.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"definite choice to return to"

Mar del Sur
User Rating:  Mar del Sur Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Barb  on Feb 29, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2008
868 people found this review helpful

-very pleasant and pleasing staff
-service was excellent
-price was very reasonable
-very clean rooms
-excellent location, close to downtown where it all happens and beach with drinks.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube