Villa Cuba Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Villa Cuba reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 21, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2013

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Villa Cuba  

Ave. Las Américas, Rpto. La Torre, Km 3, Varadero
(Varadero Maps)

"don't miss the fresh coconut water"
Posted by: adams on Jul 14, 2014
see all reviews

Villa Cuba Reviews
Villa Cuba Pictures and Information
Villa Cuba Varadero Cuba

#8
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.9

Based on 43 reviews

Villa Cuba Information


A favourite place for families, this all inclusive hotel offers a wide range of entertainment and activities.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Villa Cuba Reviews

Villa Cuba Review: 3.9 of 5 43 reviews
Excellent
  18
Very good
  14
Average
  5
Poor
  2
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (15)
Party (2)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Solo
1 - 10 of 43

"Keep in mind this family vacation cost us 15,000.00 plus"

Villa Cuba
User Rating:  Villa Cuba Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Adell and Gord  on Jan 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
237 people found this review helpful

My husband and I booked and paid in full this Christmas gift to our children and grandchildren from Dec. 19,2009-Dec. 26, 2009 all inclusive 4 bedroom Villa at Villa Cuba. Paid in full June 30, 2009. We received a confirmation number for the villa stating when we arrived on Dec. 19, we had this. Keep in mind this family vacation cost us 15,000.00 plus. We had to board the limo at 2:30 am Sat. morning for our fight to leave Toronto at 7:15 am we also arranged for the family to and from the Person airport. 10 people total,6 adults,children and spouses, 1 18 year old, 1 14 year old, and 1 5 year old grandchildren. Tired, we arrived at the Villa Cuba resort to only find out there is NO villa for us, this is the ONLY reason we booked here for the Villa which my husband and I knew they had because we and another couple were there 4 years before in a 2 bedroom.Now 10 people each 2 pc. of luggage and carry-ons standing in the lobby with nowhere to go. I asked the staff to check here is the confirmation number, they would not, I argued that we paid for a 4 bedroom villa and it was confirmed by them months ago, they didn't care. I was told their responsility was to give us 4 rooms when clearly on my confirmation invoice which I showed them STATED complete 4 bedroom villa. We asked for the manager, they refused to let us speak to him/her, we were approached by the Hola Sun rep. only for them to side with the hotel.Now my first and wanting to be just perfect family vacation turned into a nightmare, I was tired of talking, my family was upset, hungry, and tired this went on for 4 hours in the lobby from our arrival at 11:30am till 4:20pm. Finally they said we can show you a villa but it only has 3 bedrooms right now because another couple is in the 4th room, and we have 1 other bedroom in the villa accross the way with 1 bedroom also occupied by other people. Take it or leave it. Come Monday the couple in the 3 bedroom villa will be leaving and the other family member can move in with you. Now this is a family vacation,living with other people, your family split up etc. etc. So 1 of my children and 1 of my grandsons spent 2 nights away from us with strangers.I am apolled at the customer service and I will not ever be returning to this resort again, no compensation for inconvienence they just did not care. So I will not be stopping here as I write to you, I will be writing to the head office of Hola Sun they were fast at demanding the money up front which they got, I will be writing the Travel boards all I can find, I will be writing the leader of the country to let him know how Canadians have been treated and I will be in touch with my travel agent so she is aware and sends no one else there. If you have any other suggestions please let me know they have not heard the end of this.This caused hard feelings where tempers and long waits got the better of us among my family upon arrival, mixed emotions and my family never wanting to return to Villa Cuba again.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
Booked a day trip with the Hola Sun rep. Leighe (I think is spelt)another $727.32 over an above to go to Havana for the day tour. I paid for it on Monday for a Wednesday tour all was fine till I returned to her desk on Tuesday to see about another tour, I approached her desked and the first thing she said to me was your tour is tommorrow you leave at 8:00am, I looked at her and replied that is not why I am here. She didn't know why I was their and after that rude comment I was not booking anything else with her. She was part of the problem on Saturday and I guess she felt I was a trouble maker why? I wanted what we paid for nothing more then what they confirmed months ago.

Other Comments::
I have been a few place, never before have I been insulted,or have I been disrespected the way I was at this Villa Cuba Resort customer service counter.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible"

Villa Cuba
User Rating:  Villa Cuba Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jarod  on Sep 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2012 | Party | Family and Kids
159 people found this review helpful

2 heures d'attente pour le chek-in, attente de midi à 5h pour avoir notre chambre, air climatisé brisé, forte odeur de moisissure dans la chambre, douche mal concu qui cause une inondation dans la chambre a chaque douche, plein de fourmis dans la chambre et attente de 1h a 3h du matin a attendre que la concierge vienne vaporisé produit a fourmis (due aller 4 fois a la reception), infesté de mouche (buffet, terrasse, lobby, chambre), eau de la picine chaude et brouiller, pas de bar dans la picine, pas de fillet de volleyball dans la picine, les drinks était de tres basse qualité (aucun malaxeur donc un pina colada fait de jus et 3 glacons???), tout était froid dans le buffet, choix tres peu varier dans le buffet, toujours toujours la meme chose dans le buffets, supposé avoir de la nourriture 24h mais rien d'ouvert entre 2 p.m. et 6h30 p.m., seulement 3 choix au snack bar (hot dog, hamburger et sanwich au fromage) et les 3 ne son pas toujours disponible, pas de moutarde, pas de confiture, pas de beurre d'arachide... j'ai beau être imaginatif pour me faire a grignotté mais quand même, animation inexistante avant 4 p.m., aucun horaire pour les activités, personnel à l'air bête et non-souriant... aucun bonjours... très froid comme ambiance. J'ai été a d'autre hotel de varadero et j'estime que cette hotel est au mieux un 2 étoiles et demi... très très loin d'un 4.

Room Number:
1321

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a place for young people!"

Villa Cuba
User Rating:  Villa Cuba Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  sange  on Feb 24, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2006
3360 people found this review helpful

Me and my friend stayed at Villa Cuba in may 2005. We are two 21 year old girls. We will not go back to villa cuba unless we are 60 years old and retired! Need i say more. If you are young do not stay at this resort. Staff was helpful and friednly. The food was horrible. The breakfast was the only meal that i looked forward to. I also liked the ice cream. Our hotel room was grose. The resort was too quiet and boring. No young people. Also you had to walk a bit to get to the beach. I recommend that if you go to Veradero Cuba...you stay at Barcelo Solymar!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible!"

Villa Cuba
User Rating:  Villa Cuba Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Stefan Meijers  on Mar 17, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
201 people found this review helpful

I have stayed 3 nights in this horrible hotel. Never again!
Bad food and service, even bugs in bathroom.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

" important"

Villa Cuba
User Rating:  Villa Cuba Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy  on Jan 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Colombia
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
209 people found this review helpful

Llegamos el dia 24 d dic 2011 el personal del hotel fue muy amable pero las conditions y Los services del hotel fueron pesimos, para la cena cobraron un exedente de 14 cuc x persona y a las 9 de la Noche no habia ni la mitad de lo q debia haber, en Los bares no habia Ron, cerveza, mojitos cuando nosotros pagamos todo incluido, en toads las tiendas del hotel las vendedoras sobrecargan Los precios A Los extranjeros en general de 4 estellas no tiene nada.

Room Number:
3323

Arrival:
24 d diciembre 2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nothing but the beach"

Villa Cuba
User Rating:  Villa Cuba Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marko  on Jan 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
229 people found this review helpful

It is supposed to be a 4 start hotel, but for sure one of the stars is a part of the Cuban flag, has nothing to do with the quality of the hotel. The week that we stayed at the resort the weather wasn't great and we couldn't enjoy the beach (which is only good part about the actual resort), so we stayed at the bar most of the time. To be honest there is nothing and I mean nothing to do at this place, so if you don't have a great company with you, don't even think of this place. So where do I start; the games room, with games which are dangerous for you and your kids. The elevators, where 2 out of 4 were broken the whole time, my friends managed to get stuck in the other two twice, and on the last night one of them went down with 5 people inside – I didn't see any ambulances, but even if everybody is ok, this is not away to spend your vacation in the rollercoaster ride down the elevator shaft. The common area washrooms were dirty, no towels, soap or toilet paper, and some of them were so stinky - you could not even enter them.

Rooms:
Rooms, first of all we couldn't get a room, then we spent hours switching rooms looking for something appealing. The one that we settled in was in the main building and actually had warm enough water to take a shower ( after waiting for 5 - 10 mins, letting the cold water run down). But our friends were not so lucky and the only warm water they had was in the actual ocean.
The room was not sound isolated, so if somebody was making noise outside (and lots of people did (all the time)), you will hear the noise very well, from 8 AM till 3 AM.

Restaurants and Bars:
Unfortunately I had worst food than these one, but it gives no credit to this place. The entire menu was %99 the same every day, so if you like same, tasteless food over and over again than you will be fine. The food is OK, but far from being enjoyable. I went to other resorts where after first round in a buffet you will go again wondering what should I take since you not too sure what you like the most, in this place it was the opposite, you would go back, cause you didn't like anything and wonder which food was okay enough so you could actually eat it and get enough energy to function till the next meal...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activities and entertainment, hmmm, I'm not sure if bingo is a considerable activity, all other stuff is not even worth mentioning. Considering the fact that the weather was bad I would expect more, or at least something, but whatever they did was very poor and not professional.

Other Comments:
With all due respect the entire thing scores no more that 2 stars, comparing to any other place I've been to and I've seen few dozen hotels around the world.

If you get a deal for a week under 500 bucks, flight and taxes included, you will get your money worth, otherwise don't even think about it!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fourth time at Villa Cuba."

Villa Cuba
User Rating:  Villa Cuba Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alain  on Jun 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Business | Solo
210 people found this review helpful

I go at this hotel over 4 times. The price is good, room is simple but clean, restaurant it's basic, no great animation, but good pool and beautiful beach, at 7 minutes of Varadero(walk). If you compare with Punta Cana hotel or Riviera Maya, it's probably between 2 or 3 stars no more.

Room Number:
1601

Arrival:
Each time is correct for reception, with many people in bus you can wait 10 minutes or 20 minutes you will go at room. The first problem usualy is elevator, often is broken or very slow. It's not good hotel for people with low mobility, many stairs, each service at different levels,... some service are not available without by stairs.

Rooms:
Room is correct, little humidity, air conditionning is not cold... large room, but bed id 3/4 is not double bed, for me is ok but familly is not correct. The bathroom is large, shower in bath, hot water is not stable... you will have hot water but he change rapidly. The electricity outlet vary, sometime is only 220 volts, sometime is 110 volts and 220 volts with A outlet and F outlet, sometime you have the good outlet but no electricity!
Balcony usualy is small, some balcony is larger ( over the buffet restaurant).

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurant buffet is basic buffet, no great choice,... with air conditionning.
The italian restant restaurant change for Asian restaurant since 2 years, that's correct, no more.
On the beach, the restaurant change, because the last he detroy by fire. Is better now for lunch, but now not open for supper.
Mariposa is the better choice for a la carte restaurant but the reservation is not easy to make!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is very beautiful, many long chairs and palapas, one bar with domestic alcool on beach.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our assessment of this Hotel"

Villa Cuba
User Rating:  Villa Cuba Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Carl  on Jan 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
195 people found this review helpful

We just returned from Cuba and we stayed at this hotel for one week. The wife and I have been going south for 22 years and have never stayed at the same hotel more than once accept for one. This Hotel is not in the best shape and does need some repairs. The staff was curtious and there were some problems, but for the price we paid for the trip we got our moneies worth. We got three good meals a day ( although the food was not as hot as we have liked it). The room was done everyday, accept for the day we had 3 inches of rain and they could not get to the rooms till later in the day and even then they would have done it, but we told the maid it was okay till the next day. The entertainment was good (again for the Price). The beach is always good there and the gounds were clean and they were planting new plants everyday. The condo units look like they have been all painted and in verygood shape. If you go there on a last minute deal for the price we paid (under $500.00 each) you are not going to get much better than this. And there were no empty rooms and we met people who were there for there forth time and loved it.

Room Number:
2675

Room Block:
10

Arrival:
Jan. 16/2011 at 3am.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome but a few flaws"

Villa Cuba
User Rating:  Villa Cuba Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  carla  on Feb 7, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
191 people found this review helpful

Well lets start with our first night there arrived at about 11:30pm was checked in promptly and shown to our room. Our room was amazing, king size bed which we asked for, nice balcony view of pool, it even had a bouda in the bathroom never saw one before so that was cool but we never used it lol. It had a nice sized tub and shower, the shower leaked on the floor when u had a shower but if u just let it leak it dries itself because the floors are concrete and it dries fast and the water goes into a little drain on the floor. We had a safe and a fridge in the fridge u get a 2litre bottle of water which when empty u can fill at the bar for free. The resort was beautiful lots to do and plenty to see. The bank was a 5 minute walk from the restort and the disco was about a 20 min walk. From our room to the beach about 3mins. Every staff member from the restaurant to the bar tenders were amazing and very polite and helpful. The people at the front desk were very rude and short it seemed that when u asked them something it was like u were bothering them so i didn't like that much. Also the elevators never worked the whole time we were there actually someone got stuck between floors on tuesday and it took me to tell the bartendar someone was screaming for help. The food was really gross but i kinda knew that before i went but next time i go i will definetly know to bring things. Make sure u bring your own towels and face cloth because they have a real shortage. So bring towels for beach and for bathing with.They charge 20:00 pecos for a towel for the beach u get it back at the end of your stay. All in all it was a great trip can't wait to go back. If u are expecting our standards don't go it is far from what we r use to. Oh and by the way we had lots of hot water in our room so if u read someone say they had no hot water i don't know what happened because we had plenty. Also if u can take the double decker bus into town go it was something to see. We also went to Havana long trip 10hrs but well worth it. We also did the catamaran trip do that also u get to snorkel and have interaction with a dolphin and lunch on a private beach.That was 101pecos well worth it. that was an 8hr day. So go enjoy because the beach was awesome and the people u meet there will leave an ever lasting impression.

Room Number:
1302

Arrival:
Saturday Jan 28th at 11:30pm left on Saturday Feb 4th at 8:30pm

Rooms:
like i said the room was amazing but i forgot to mention the TV only has 2 canadian channels but who is there to watch TV.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate the buffet a few times I was not use to the food but i survived. We ate at 2 al a carte restaurants the Meriposa it was suppose to be canadian food but the steak was so thin and tough i had to pick it up with my fingers and eat it couldn,t cut it so not that great. We had lunch and dinner at the Cuban restaurant by the beach that was better Fish and shrimp, rice, buns, fruit, ice cream and of cours free booze lol. I found the lunch buffet the best at the buffet and u can eat lunch at the cuban restaurant also they have different things at both. bon appetite lol

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was amazing and also the pool very clean. When u go down to the beach take some pecos because the people come around and sell things. Like jewelry, hats, cups they also have pineapple drinks filled with rum. The ground are soooo clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
They had activities every day we played bingo, we did arobics, dancing lessons trivia games, mini golf which my b/f won a bottle of rum. Every night they have a different show at 9:30 by the pool that was something to see very well done. Also if u get free tickets from whoever u booked your trip from for the cabara show go it was great and u get to stay for the disco after and dance with all the locals. If u do not get free tickets it is 25pecos each. That is at the place called the International 20mins from our resort walking it is on the right hand side just like the bank.Right across the street from the resort is horse back riding 1hr is 15pesos we didn't do it but we got some great pics of the horses. Also if u can get a massage it is 20pesos but well worth the half hr u get. The lady did mine she was really good.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice rooms, a bit worse catering"

Villa Cuba
User Rating:  Villa Cuba Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ondrej Chaloupecky  on May 12, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) CZECH REPUBLIC
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
177 people found this review helpful

Room and hotel equipment generally meets 4* hotel expectations, not far from Varadero city, nice and clean beach (from main building some 300metres). A bit unhappy regarding food (one day delicious garden party with load of meat, sides and deserts but other days relatively poor lunches and dinners).

Room Number:
212

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube