Barlovento Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Barlovento reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 44 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Barlovento  

Ave. 1ra. e/ 10 & 12, Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba.
(Varadero Maps)

"Could've been better"
Posted by: Ben on Oct 19, 2014
see all reviews

Barlovento Reviews
Barlovento Pictures and Information
Barlovento Varadero Cuba

#14
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.8

Based on 33 reviews

Barlovento Information


Located near the entrance of the Varadero Peninsula, Hotel Barlovento is integrated in perfect harmony with ideal natural surroundings, next to a precious white sanded beach that stretches for miles.

It's located in Varadero, only 1 km from city centre and 25 kms away from the nearest airport. It enjoys a perfect situation to go for a walk to the market, bars and restaurants.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barlovento Reviews

Barlovento Review: 3.8 of 5 33 reviews
Excellent
  11
Very good
  12
Average
  5
Poor
  4
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (11)
Party (1)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
1 - 10 of 33

"Could've been better"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ben  on Oct 19, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Leisure | With Group
12 people found this review helpful

This is a hotel that could have been better. I expected more. I was traveling this summer with 4 of my friends and we were not too happy with this hotel.

The staff was really bad. Most of them did speak English, but they just were not nice. We asked for help a few times and they just ignored us.

The rooms were pretty big and clean, the bathroom was clean, but the beds were awful. One of them was a foldable bed (we had two rooms, one with 2+1 beds and one with two beds) and that one was so bad that we had to change places and each of us slept one night on that bad because none of us could stand sleeping in that bed for 3 nights in a row.

The food was ok. It wasn't very diverse, but it was good. I was surprised that there was canned fruit, and not just fresh fruit, but I guess that is a matter of taste. I believe that we were there at a time where the hotel had many guests and that, that is the reason why the food was a lot better than most people say it is.

I have to say that the entertainment was at the highest levels. There was a different show every night and they were just great. There were concerts, magic shows and so on, and every single one of them was great.

The beach was clean and, also very good. This hotel is located in a great place, so everything is close to you. If you are looking for a luxury hotel, this is not the place you want to visit, but if you are looking for a nice relaxing vacation, then I definitely do recommend the Barlovento hotel.

All in all it is a nice place, don't expect too much from the beds and the staff, but everything else is great. My favorite parts were the shows - the entertainment and the traditional Cuban food and those are the reasons why I plan to come back to this hotel. Cheers.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"La estancia fue muy grata"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gustavo  on Aug 28, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: Aug, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
85 people found this review helpful

Estuve en el Hotel Roc-Barlovento los días 14 y 15 de Agosto del 2013, con mi esposa, mis 2 hijas y un grupo de amigos.
La impresión que nos llevamos del hotel fue la mejor.
Recibimos siempre un buen trato por parte del personal que trabaja en el hotel, en carpeta, y en especial del gerente del mismo.
Las habitaciones son cómodas, con muy buena limpieza y no presentamos problemas con la climatización en las mismas.
La comida, tanto el almuerzo en el ranchón de una de las piscinas (al lado del restaurante italiano) como en la mesa buffet por las noches, fue variada y con muy buena calidad en todos los casos. Solo en una ocasión se terminaron los dulces finos en el almuerzo. Recibimos también muy buena atención en el lobby bar.
La recreación también fue buena y variada, el show por la noche fue extenso y con un cuerpo de baile de muy buena calidad, hubo ofertas variadas como minigolf, dardos, bingo, etc. El personal encargado de esto muy activo y amable.
Las piscinas presentaban un estado muy favorable, con el agua muy limpia y siempre en recirculación. El sector de playa muy bueno y limpio.
Solo como detalle posible a superar, lograr ofertar cerveza en el ranchón de la playa y en la piscina más cercana al lobby bar (se nos explicó que el bar de esta no trabajaba todo el día debido a que el hotel no estaba a máxima capacidad de ocupación).
En resumen salimos muy complacidos del hotel y con deseos de repetir nuestra estancia en el mismo.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"hotel from hell"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  mandy  on Jun 8, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) BELGIUM
Visited on: Jun, 2012 | Party | With friend
207 people found this review helpful

hotel from hell

als ik iemand kan teggen houden dit hotel te boeken ben ik tevreden
je komt aan in dit hotel en het eerst wat je wil doen is gaan lopen zo erg
het is er vies ;vuil ,stinkt,onvriendelijk,eten? wil je echt niet heb er veel zien ziek worden , ben zelf ook ziek geworden van het eten en geloof me het is echt geen cadeau ;
mensen bij deze ben je gewaarschuud
blijf weg uit hotel from hell

Arrival:
29 5 2012
08 6 2012

Restaurants and Bars:
bad bad bad bad bad bad bad and more bad

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Barlovento was just fine"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Paula  on Apr 27, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
189 people found this review helpful

We wanted to try a resort closer to downtown. I had stayed at Los Delfinos before but could not book this from Nova Scotia.
The best things about Barlovento were:
Proximity to downtown. It was easy to walk to a variety of restaurants and there was a variety of transport options available. We could walk across the bridge and hire a particular car.
Rooms: Our room had no moldy smell and was kept very clean. We had towels and hot water.
Resort itself was kept very clean
The animation staff was great.
The dancers were amazing and their shows were absolutely thrilling. There was a magic show one night and a concert on night. All shows were great.
The best thing for us was that we were able to spend time with our Cuban friends on the beach without having to sit out in the sun.
Downside: The food at Barlovento was not the best, but we did expect this and planned to eat out a bit. We always found something to eat. Sometimes they ran out of wine, but we were able to bring our own bottle into the buffet etc.
We would return.

Room Number:
256

Arrival:
We arrived late at night and check in was very fast.

Rooms:
Very clean. Not a very large balcony. It was a fairly small resort so very easy to get around

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet became very repetitive after two weeks. We ate out a lot. The Mexican a la carte was great fun and the Italian was good. Book the a la carte from 3 to 5 pm at the restaurants for the next day.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was great. Lots of chairs and places for shade. Grounds lovely, didn't use the pools.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Unhappy"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dixie lLee  on Apr 14, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
195 people found this review helpful

We came home from a one week stay here yesterday. I was told that there were several cats and dogs living on the resort, which I thought was great. I saw a review asking guests not to complain about the animals because management would have them destroyed. The staff there confirmed this. There were several cats and dogs there when we arrived and two adorable puppies. I found them to be great and well mannered. After three days one family found a puppy and a dog dead outside their room. They had been poisoned due to a woman's complaining about them. (and a few others were not seen again) The kids were upset as was my husband and I. I spoke to management and voiced my outrage at such a cruel practice but they just denied it. That totally ruined the rest of my vacation. I was able to overlook the dirty room and so so food, & mosquitoes but not that. One of the other guests at the hotel that knows some of the local people was going to try and find the other puppy a home before they killed her too.
I will never go back there and if you go and you don't like animals, PLEASE DO NOT COMPLAIN! Just ignore them. They depend on the kindness of humans to survive.

Room Number:
127

Arrival:
March 28th 2012

Rooms:
The first room they took us to had black mold down one wall so we refused to stay there. The second was newly painted so we took that one, but the drapes and bed skirts were very dirty.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was okay.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach and Pools were Awesome

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The shows and activities were very good.

Other Comments:
I have been trying to find help for the animals there and have found a group called: APAC-Varadero Canadian Branch They help rescue animals and have an adoption program for strays. So far I have been unable to get this info to the hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"1 Voyage a cuba"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Stéphane  on Feb 25, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
201 people found this review helpful

Mon premier voyage a cuba et j'ai adoré suite au commentaire que jai lu avant de partir quelque un sont vrais voici la vérité ses un endroit ou la plage est exceptionelle, l'hotel ses tres bien,pour la bouffe j'ai aimer pourtant je suis difficile,le personnelle est tres bien, les chambre sont bien par contre les matelas sont a remplacer,sur 7 jour 2 fois que jai sentie une odeur de gaz le matin par contre sa disparait par la suite

Bref comme premiere expérience j'ai adoré et je vais y retourné

Bonne Vacance a tous

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our experience at Balavento Hotel"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Angela  on Dec 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
254 people found this review helpful

The location of the hotel is good and also the grounds are kept nice however on arrival we had to ask to change our room as the first one was awful very dated and not that clean. Our second room was much better, but the biggest letdown was the food which was dreadful. We had to eat out most of the time even though we had paid all inclusive.

Room Number:
348

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good beds, pools and location, but awful food"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Isaias  on Nov 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) BRAZIL
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
214 people found this review helpful

Excellent staff and nice structure... But they need urgently review their menu. The bread has no tasty, and the meals are terrible considering that we are in a 4 stars resort. I stayed in a 3 stars in Havana with excellent breakfast. Even in the casas particulars the food was better...

The bars were great aswell. Good beverages..

Room Number:
280

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The places should have more parties and activities for younger people.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Could be better on all point"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Patrice KRAUSE  on Oct 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Business | Solo
237 people found this review helpful

Could better for the star provided

Room Number:
274

Arrival:
GOOD

Rooms:
Cold water with dirty bathroom tub.
Television not very good and limited for channel.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurant not good and lower quality, also limited regarding the meals for diner.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bad service"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  CIPRIANA FRANCO  on Sep 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
239 people found this review helpful

The Hotel is very nice, near the beach and near the bus stop to the centre. Good restaurans. Bars often finish soft drinks and during my 3 day's stay the air conditioning in the room was not working and was not repaired although I asked for thst every day.

Room Number:
114

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
good service at the moment of check-in

Rooms:
nice, large,window d(it could not be locked)it did not close properly and air conditioning was not working

Restaurants and Bars:
good food at the restaurant. Bars often finish soft drinks, most of all the one on the beach (not cerveza nor coke)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very nice, clean and good service

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
very good activities on the beach

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube