Barlovento Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Barlovento reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Barlovento  

Ave. 1ra. e/ 10 & 12, Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba.
(Varadero Maps)

"Very disappointing"
Posted by: Christine on Jan 16, 2015
see all reviews

Barlovento Reviews
Barlovento Pictures and Information
Barlovento Varadero Cuba

#14
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.7

Based on 34 reviews

Barlovento Information


Located near the entrance of the Varadero Peninsula, Hotel Barlovento is integrated in perfect harmony with ideal natural surroundings, next to a precious white sanded beach that stretches for miles.

It's located in Varadero, only 1 km from city centre and 25 kms away from the nearest airport. It enjoys a perfect situation to go for a walk to the market, bars and restaurants.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barlovento Reviews

Barlovento Review: 3.7 of 5 34 reviews
Excellent
  11
Very good
  12
Average
  5
Poor
  5
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (12)
Party (1)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (5)
With friend (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
1 - 10 of 34

"hotel from hell"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  mandy  on Jun 8, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) BELGIUM
Visited on: Jun, 2012 | Party | With friend
454 people found this review helpful

hotel from hell

als ik iemand kan teggen houden dit hotel te boeken ben ik tevreden
je komt aan in dit hotel en het eerst wat je wil doen is gaan lopen zo erg
het is er vies ;vuil ,stinkt,onvriendelijk,eten? wil je echt niet heb er veel zien ziek worden , ben zelf ook ziek geworden van het eten en geloof me het is echt geen cadeau ;
mensen bij deze ben je gewaarschuud
blijf weg uit hotel from hell

Arrival:
29 5 2012
08 6 2012

Restaurants and Bars:
bad bad bad bad bad bad bad and more bad

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Could be better on all point"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Patrice KRAUSE  on Oct 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Business | Solo
480 people found this review helpful

Could better for the star provided

Room Number:
274

Arrival:
GOOD

Rooms:
Cold water with dirty bathroom tub.
Television not very good and limited for channel.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurant not good and lower quality, also limited regarding the meals for diner.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very disappointing"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Christine  on Jan 16, 2015  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
251 people found this review helpful

I arrived at the Kawama, where I'd booked, to find out they were OVERbooked so I'd been bumped "up" to the Barlovento. I arrived just before 9:30 pm, just as they were closing the buffet for the night; good thing I'd eaten on the plane! I was checked in by a surly fellow and left to find my room all on my own. The lighting was very poor, and they'd stuck me in a ground level room, way at the back. There were bloodstains on my sheet and rust in my tub. Not very uplifting. My bottom lip quivered, but I thought I'd make the best of it and went to say "hi" to the beach. I said hi, and went roaming around, checking out the public areas. I tried to order a drink and was told they didn't have wine (I'd ordered sangria). I joined a bunch of very drunk, chain-smoking Russians and French Canadians in the outdoor theatre. The dancing was beautiful--very talented men and women. The atmosphere was nastacular, though. I went to bed when the entertainment was over. I slept fairly well in my dreary room, only to be awakened VERY early by traffic noise and thwop-thwop-thwop! Tennis court room! I changed rooms later in the day. I was moved to a second floor room overlooking the pool. MUCH better, except for the one night there was a rave or something nearby. I thought I was going to cry.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was pretty terrible, and the buffet service was worse. I was a lone female and I was avoided like the plague. I only ever had one good server, and her name was Deysey. She's the only person I had to tip. The food was...wow. It was covered in flies, picked over, warm when it should have been cold...I stuck with cheese, meat and bread for breakfast most days, and for lunch I ate at the pool grill after my first lunchtime experience, where I could not get a glass of wine for some reason. Others were drinking wine, but when I politely asked my waiter if I could have a glass, he threw up his hands and said, "Pah!". Alrighty. To the grill I went. The burgers there were very good, as were the homemade potato chips.

The a la cartes were very good. The Italian was delicious, with indifferent service; my appetizer and entree came at the same time? Tasty though. The Mexican wasn't as tasty, but the service was outrageously fun. Those guys love their job, and it was a fun dinner for one.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is very nice, but there was a pervy security guard who kept telling me how drop dead gorgeous I am, and how perfect my body is (it isn't). I spent two days with that, then moved along to Kawama's beach and facilities; I used Barlovento as my resting place only.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I never noticed a disco of any sort, but there was usually something going on like shuffleboard, music, dancing, water ballet. I divided my evenings between Barlovento and Kawama.

Other Comments:
Smoking. Smoking everywhere. In the outdoor theatre, in the lobby...just gross. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Glad we stayed"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cindi Guerard  on Mar 23, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2006
3306 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Barlovento Feb. 24 to March 10/06 and were pleasantly surprised! The hotel grounds are very lush and for the most part, well maintained. Three pools meant there was never a problem getting a lounge chair. The room was big, two queen sized beds, ours (#301) looked out over the biggest of the pools and was very nice (very small balcony though). The maids kept everything in good order and always left us swans, hearts and elephants made out of towels and/or blankets.

The beach is probably the best in the area, lots of lovely sand, lots of loungers and the beach bar staff always kept the rum flowing!!! Unfortunately, a lot of people on vacation didn't use the garbage cans and the beach became quite littered at the end of the day with empty plastic drink cups, but it was always cleaned up by the morning.

The nightly entertainment never failed to make us laugh and cheer and everyone tried their best to ensure we had a good time. The staff were great, treated everyone well and were always helpful if you had questions.

The only drawback for us was the food. My husband and I are NOT picky eaters, but the buffets left much to be desired during our two weeks. The food was plentiful, but very bland. We didn't let it ruin our vacation, we just found things that we liked and stuck to that, with the occasional off site supper to keep us happy.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel, it had a good mix of young and old, families and singles.

We got out of the hotel on a daily basis and did explore Varadero and area, we will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Unhappy"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dixie lLee  on Apr 14, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
439 people found this review helpful

We came home from a one week stay here yesterday. I was told that there were several cats and dogs living on the resort, which I thought was great. I saw a review asking guests not to complain about the animals because management would have them destroyed. The staff there confirmed this. There were several cats and dogs there when we arrived and two adorable puppies. I found them to be great and well mannered. After three days one family found a puppy and a dog dead outside their room. They had been poisoned due to a woman's complaining about them. (and a few others were not seen again) The kids were upset as was my husband and I. I spoke to management and voiced my outrage at such a cruel practice but they just denied it. That totally ruined the rest of my vacation. I was able to overlook the dirty room and so so food, & mosquitoes but not that. One of the other guests at the hotel that knows some of the local people was going to try and find the other puppy a home before they killed her too.
I will never go back there and if you go and you don't like animals, PLEASE DO NOT COMPLAIN! Just ignore them. They depend on the kindness of humans to survive.

Room Number:
127

Arrival:
March 28th 2012

Rooms:
The first room they took us to had black mold down one wall so we refused to stay there. The second was newly painted so we took that one, but the drapes and bed skirts were very dirty.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was okay.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach and Pools were Awesome

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The shows and activities were very good.

Other Comments:
I have been trying to find help for the animals there and have found a group called: APAC-Varadero Canadian Branch They help rescue animals and have an adoption program for strays. So far I have been unable to get this info to the hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good beds, pools and location, but awful food"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Isaias  on Nov 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) BRAZIL
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
471 people found this review helpful

Excellent staff and nice structure... But they need urgently review their menu. The bread has no tasty, and the meals are terrible considering that we are in a 4 stars resort. I stayed in a 3 stars in Havana with excellent breakfast. Even in the casas particulars the food was better...

The bars were great aswell. Good beverages..

Room Number:
280

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The places should have more parties and activities for younger people.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good hotel, nice personal but service not so good"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marc Lippert  on Jan 18, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) LUXEMBOURG
Visited on: Jan, 2006
3131 people found this review helpful

My main point of critic is service around the food. They have good food, many cookers and enough personal. But preparation of food is often not so pleasant. Many personal but they don't manage to keep clean the cantine regularely. For example, there is one coffee machine there is always coffee on the floor but no one clean it up ! In the morning orange juice is mostly mixed up with so much water that you can't taste the orange. Many cookers are there, they have good food, but the taste remember allways the cantine. Maybe it is a problem of management and mentality because i think Barlovento is a good resort with many interesting options but the service around the food donĀ“t work as i wished it should. I compare with 3-4 stars in Greece or Spain. In one way personal is extremely nice and in the other way they don't make (for me) the best impression during work.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our experience at Balavento Hotel"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Angela  on Dec 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
504 people found this review helpful

The location of the hotel is good and also the grounds are kept nice however on arrival we had to ask to change our room as the first one was awful very dated and not that clean. Our second room was much better, but the biggest letdown was the food which was dreadful. We had to eat out most of the time even though we had paid all inclusive.

Room Number:
348

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Satisfied Vacationers"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Paul Clark  on Feb 21, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2006
2972 people found this review helpful

My wife and I had a one week stay at the Barlovento last week and were quite satisfied with our vacation. It was what we had expected from our research into the hotel and with it being our first time to Cuba. The buffet was not cruise ship quality but we were able to find enough choices to satisfy our appetites with lots of fruit available. Try to be early for meals to have best choices of food.

The rooms were decent size and were kept clean. Hot water didn't seem to be a problem for us. Room was very quiet with adjoining room noise not noticeable. Not allot of things happening at night like dancing etc. so it is a good hotel for relaxing. Good location in Varadero for walking tours with some small bars and restaurants handy to the hotel. Staff with a few exceptions were very friendly and we didn't feel pressured into tipping at any time. We did get a good deal on our hotel and flight package and might have felt different about things if we had paid a high price to stay there.

With giving it a three star I am comparing it with other places we have stayed over the years outside Cuba so we can't say how it compares with other local hotels. The location also means that you are the first stop coming from the airport and last for pickup going back. One good point is that the rooms are set back from the main road so it may be a little quieter than some of the other hotels downtown. I think that you have to go with an open mind and make your own decision but don't expect a five star hotel for three star price. All in all I would say that we had a good vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Barlovento was just fine"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Paula  on Apr 27, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
444 people found this review helpful

We wanted to try a resort closer to downtown. I had stayed at Los Delfinos before but could not book this from Nova Scotia.
The best things about Barlovento were:
Proximity to downtown. It was easy to walk to a variety of restaurants and there was a variety of transport options available. We could walk across the bridge and hire a particular car.
Rooms: Our room had no moldy smell and was kept very clean. We had towels and hot water.
Resort itself was kept very clean
The animation staff was great.
The dancers were amazing and their shows were absolutely thrilling. There was a magic show one night and a concert on night. All shows were great.
The best thing for us was that we were able to spend time with our Cuban friends on the beach without having to sit out in the sun.
Downside: The food at Barlovento was not the best, but we did expect this and planned to eat out a bit. We always found something to eat. Sometimes they ran out of wine, but we were able to bring our own bottle into the buffet etc.
We would return.

Room Number:
256

Arrival:
We arrived late at night and check in was very fast.

Rooms:
Very clean. Not a very large balcony. It was a fairly small resort so very easy to get around

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet became very repetitive after two weeks. We ate out a lot. The Mexican a la carte was great fun and the Italian was good. Book the a la carte from 3 to 5 pm at the restaurants for the next day.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was great. Lots of chairs and places for shade. Grounds lovely, didn't use the pools.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube