Barlovento Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Barlovento reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Barlovento  

Ave. 1ra. e/ 10 & 12, Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba.
(Varadero Maps)

"Very disappointing"
Posted by: Christine on Jan 16, 2015
see all reviews

Barlovento Reviews
Barlovento Pictures and Information
Barlovento Varadero Cuba

#14
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.7

Based on 34 reviews

Barlovento Information


Located near the entrance of the Varadero Peninsula, Hotel Barlovento is integrated in perfect harmony with ideal natural surroundings, next to a precious white sanded beach that stretches for miles.

It's located in Varadero, only 1 km from city centre and 25 kms away from the nearest airport. It enjoys a perfect situation to go for a walk to the market, bars and restaurants.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barlovento Reviews

Barlovento Review: 3.7 of 5 34 reviews
Excellent
  11
Very good
  12
Average
  5
Poor
  5
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (12)
Party (1)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (5)
With friend (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
1 - 10 of 34

"Great stay at the Barlovento"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jacob Decker  on Apr 29, 2005  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2005
4537 people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I (25's)just returned from the Barlovento, and I am happy to say that the hotel did nothing but contribute to a fabulous trip. Arriving at the hotel, we found that the lobby (and especially the grounds) were beautiful and the staff treated us perfectly. We happened to be the only two checking in at the time, so I'm not sure it always goes this smoothly, but we were in our room within five minutes. However, we were a little less than impressed by the room when we walked in. We were there on a special vacation and had requested an oceanview room with one king bed. What we had was a room with two double beds pushed together and a view of the staff living quarters, albeit among some palm trees (306). Now, the hotel is pretty much directly on the beach, but the restaurants and pools are mostly between the rooms and the beach so there are no rooms (as far as we could tell) with an oceanview. It also turned out that there was no hot water in our room, so when we spoke to our travel rep (sunwing) the next morning, we were moved by that afternoon. No problem. This new room had a very nice pool and palm tree view, hot water, and was nice and clean (321). The food was better than we had expected, more than edible and we never got sick. It inevitably becomes a bit repetitive as you eat three meals a day there for an entire week. We found that the Mexican restaurant (on site) was a nice break from the buffet food. We also found a restaurant just to the left of the resort called "Casa De Chef" which served incredible lobster dinners for 10 pesos - well worth it! The beach is unbelievable- the most beautiful I've seen. Soft, white sand and blue blue water. No jellyfish and some days with waves- just enough to be fun, not dangerous. All in all, I thought this was a very good resort. It's not five star, but then it never claims to be. Go expecting a three and a half star and I think you'll be very happy with what you find.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"BARLOVENTO"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lee  on Sep 12, 2005  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2005
2884 people found this review helpful

The Barlovento was a great experiance for my sister my mom and i.. we havent all gone on a vacation together EVER.. our cuba trip was the first trip together.. it was amazinG!! the food was great.. the rooms were nice and clean.. the beach was spectacular with the 2 pools.. im 15 years old and i found the hotel amazing..i thoguht there would be no kids but suprisingly there were many n i made some great friends there..and i also really liked the staff members there.. when we first waslked into the barlovento it was like paradise... the cool air coming in frum the front.. then the check in on your left and the bar on your right..after this we went to our rooms which had 3 beds for each of us and a balcony..t.v..air conditioning bathroom shower ect. the next morning.. we woke up ate and headed straight for the beach.. every night there would be great performances.. there was a great mexican retauraunt that we ate at.. and in the mornings theere was sales at the resort or you could go to the market that is about 2 minutes away.. i would give this hotel a 5 star rating..

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good hotel, nice personal but service not so good"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marc Lippert  on Jan 18, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) LUXEMBOURG
Visited on: Jan, 2006
3132 people found this review helpful

My main point of critic is service around the food. They have good food, many cookers and enough personal. But preparation of food is often not so pleasant. Many personal but they don't manage to keep clean the cantine regularely. For example, there is one coffee machine there is always coffee on the floor but no one clean it up ! In the morning orange juice is mostly mixed up with so much water that you can't taste the orange. Many cookers are there, they have good food, but the taste remember allways the cantine. Maybe it is a problem of management and mentality because i think Barlovento is a good resort with many interesting options but the service around the food don´t work as i wished it should. I compare with 3-4 stars in Greece or Spain. In one way personal is extremely nice and in the other way they don't make (for me) the best impression during work.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best hotel, Best service, Best people"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Leah  on Jan 23, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2006
2871 people found this review helpful

This was our first trip away together for my boyfriend & I. It was also my boyfriends first trip anywhere outside of Canada. We had a blast. Best vacation ever. The only downside is the food, but to be quite honest the food was not much better at the 5 star we went to before the Tropicana. In general - do not expect much from the food & you will not be disappointed.

The hotel itself is all open concept. Beautiful hotel, nice rooms. We had two balconies and the air conditioning unit is a new model with remote control. The staff are amazing... to name a few: Julie at the pool bar took great care of us, Orlando & Alberto run activities and are also great entertainers, Yudis is a beautiful dancer/actress, Annia was our maid and she went above & beyond what she had too (a gift everyday helps provide great service), Pedro at the pool bar took great care of us. Anything we needed, we had.

The tourists we met really helped make our vacation memorable for us... we will see you all soon in Vancouver, Toronto, and Wasaga Beach. So many fond memories. So many gifts from the staff. The resort is top notch in comparison to other tourists that we met... that were staying elsewhere. We will definately come back next year to the Barlovento... price can't be beat for the vacation of a lifetime. I think I lucked out though because I went with the most wonderful man in the world. Truly the time of my life. If you want to do any excursions... #1) Jeep Seafari with speed boats, the ranch & saturna caves. #2) Havana Special with Tropicana at night. The show at the tropicana is really the #1 thing to see or do. #3) Jet Ski Adventure (ride your own, worth the extra money). Anyone going to Barlovento, tell the staff that Leah & Sean say hi.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Barlovento"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Shayne and Julie  on Jan 31, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2006
2882 people found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Cuba for my wife and I (in our early 30s) but definitely not the last! The Barlovento is a terrific spot with clean rooms and grounds and a wonderful open air lobby and the beach is gorgeous. The staff are extremely friendly with special compliments to Javier at the lobby bar and Raphael at the A la Carte restaurant. (No more tequilla boom booms for a while!).

Although the food is not spectacular, we found the buffets to be adequate offering a good selection. The Mexican and Cuban A la Carte restaurants are a good change from the buffet as well. For a change of pace I would recommend the pizza at the restaurant directly across the road. $50 cuc for 8 people including drinks.

The shows in the evening are a good diversion and you can tell that the performers take pride in entertaining the guests. There was a street market close by for some time away from the resort and we both felt very at ease when away from the grounds, even at night. For excursions I would recommend the Cayo Blanco Catamaran tour and the Havana Special (a day tour of Havana and the Tropicana show in the evening) although one day just didn't seem enough to do Havana any justice.

We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Satisfied Vacationers"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Paul Clark  on Feb 21, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2006
2972 people found this review helpful

My wife and I had a one week stay at the Barlovento last week and were quite satisfied with our vacation. It was what we had expected from our research into the hotel and with it being our first time to Cuba. The buffet was not cruise ship quality but we were able to find enough choices to satisfy our appetites with lots of fruit available. Try to be early for meals to have best choices of food.

The rooms were decent size and were kept clean. Hot water didn't seem to be a problem for us. Room was very quiet with adjoining room noise not noticeable. Not allot of things happening at night like dancing etc. so it is a good hotel for relaxing. Good location in Varadero for walking tours with some small bars and restaurants handy to the hotel. Staff with a few exceptions were very friendly and we didn't feel pressured into tipping at any time. We did get a good deal on our hotel and flight package and might have felt different about things if we had paid a high price to stay there.

With giving it a three star I am comparing it with other places we have stayed over the years outside Cuba so we can't say how it compares with other local hotels. The location also means that you are the first stop coming from the airport and last for pickup going back. One good point is that the rooms are set back from the main road so it may be a little quieter than some of the other hotels downtown. I think that you have to go with an open mind and make your own decision but don't expect a five star hotel for three star price. All in all I would say that we had a good vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Glad we stayed"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cindi Guerard  on Mar 23, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2006
3306 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Barlovento Feb. 24 to March 10/06 and were pleasantly surprised! The hotel grounds are very lush and for the most part, well maintained. Three pools meant there was never a problem getting a lounge chair. The room was big, two queen sized beds, ours (#301) looked out over the biggest of the pools and was very nice (very small balcony though). The maids kept everything in good order and always left us swans, hearts and elephants made out of towels and/or blankets.

The beach is probably the best in the area, lots of lovely sand, lots of loungers and the beach bar staff always kept the rum flowing!!! Unfortunately, a lot of people on vacation didn't use the garbage cans and the beach became quite littered at the end of the day with empty plastic drink cups, but it was always cleaned up by the morning.

The nightly entertainment never failed to make us laugh and cheer and everyone tried their best to ensure we had a good time. The staff were great, treated everyone well and were always helpful if you had questions.

The only drawback for us was the food. My husband and I are NOT picky eaters, but the buffets left much to be desired during our two weeks. The food was plentiful, but very bland. We didn't let it ruin our vacation, we just found things that we liked and stuck to that, with the occasional off site supper to keep us happy.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel, it had a good mix of young and old, families and singles.

We got out of the hotel on a daily basis and did explore Varadero and area, we will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We all enjoyd staying in Barlovento!"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Katariina Rautalahti  on Apr 12, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) FINLAND
Visited on: Apr, 2006
3306 people found this review helpful

We just returned from our vacation in Cuba. We stayed the first week from 28 of March 2006 in Barlovento Hotel in Varadero. We are a family with two teenagers (sons). We all loved this place!

The personel was kind and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The meals were good (prefence: the mexican evenings which you have to reserve early!). Drinks were served all the time (but remember to bring your own thermo mug to keep them cool!). Pool area was simply great and there were plenty of chairs available for sunbathing. What I enjoyd most was that the most beuatiful beach was just behind the hotel area -önly some steps not more. There was even a nice beach bar with free drinks and chairs for everybody.

There was not much happening outside the hotel (execpt in the other hotels) but the Barlovento hotel offered entertainment not only durind days but also every evening. The location of the hotel was maybe the best in Varadero (if you are not interested in golf!) because it was close to the center of the city and shops (not many but f.ex a nice market for arts and crafts very close). Nothing to complain!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Happy Camper"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  yan  on Apr 13, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2006
3291 people found this review helpful

Me and my girlfriend went to Cuba for the first time on March 31 until april 8 th. We stayed a the Barlovento and we had a great time. The beach was very nice and we never had a probleme getting a chair on the beach. The employees of the resort were very nice and polite. The only little thing his that if you want to have a great meal you are going to be dissapointed. The food was ok but not great. The mexican dinner was the best one we had there. The place was amazingly CLEAN.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Barlovento lived up to our expectations!"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sarah Kurtz  on Apr 23, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2006
3419 people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I just spent a week at the Barlovento from April 13 until the 20th. We had a great time. The resort was small and beautiful, with three great swimming pools and 4 great bar areas. Most of the staff was really friendly and we really enjoyed the uncrowded beach and the availability of chairs around the pools.

The rooms were basic, but we hardly spent any time in them. The beach was amazing and the water was warm! The nightly shows were sometimes very impressive, and others.... kind of boring. The resort was really quiet after the shows ended, not too much partying. The best part of the Barlovento was the location. It is right at the beginning of the downtown strip and conveniently located near the markets and restaurants. We went to the Italian restaurant across the street twice and it was tasty. The snack bars were also impressive.

The food at the Barlovento was okay. The buffet got old very quickly and I ended up eating a lot of cheese and fruit. The Mexican restaurant was our favorite and the service there was amazing. Don't be surprised if everyone expects you to tip, it's customary. Our housekeeper was also very good and we left her a lot of little treats throughout the week.

I'd recommend the Barlovento for anyone looking for a conveniently located resort that wants nice beach and pool areas and friendly staff. The bartenders at the bar beside the stage were our favorite!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube