Barlovento Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Barlovento reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Barlovento  

Ave. 1ra. e/ 10 & 12, Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba.
(Varadero Maps)

"Very disappointing"
Posted by: Christine on Jan 16, 2015
see all reviews

Barlovento Reviews
Barlovento Pictures and Information
Barlovento Varadero Cuba

#14
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.7

Based on 34 reviews

Barlovento Information


Located near the entrance of the Varadero Peninsula, Hotel Barlovento is integrated in perfect harmony with ideal natural surroundings, next to a precious white sanded beach that stretches for miles.

It's located in Varadero, only 1 km from city centre and 25 kms away from the nearest airport. It enjoys a perfect situation to go for a walk to the market, bars and restaurants.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barlovento Reviews

Barlovento Review: 3.7 of 5 34 reviews
Excellent
  11
Very good
  12
Average
  5
Poor
  5
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (12)
Party (1)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (5)
With friend (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
11 - 20 of 34

"Bad service"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  CIPRIANA FRANCO  on Sep 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
342 people found this review helpful

The Hotel is very nice, near the beach and near the bus stop to the centre. Good restaurans. Bars often finish soft drinks and during my 3 day's stay the air conditioning in the room was not working and was not repaired although I asked for thst every day.

Room Number:
114

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
good service at the moment of check-in

Rooms:
nice, large,window d(it could not be locked)it did not close properly and air conditioning was not working

Restaurants and Bars:
good food at the restaurant. Bars often finish soft drinks, most of all the one on the beach (not cerveza nor coke)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very nice, clean and good service

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
very good activities on the beach

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I had a good time, but........"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  galloso ana  on Apr 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
411 people found this review helpful

It's a good Hotel, but not to consider a four star Hotel. Very good location, food,service and night entertainment, but you should improve the room's cleanliness; at the restaurant you have enough personal but not a good organization, I had to wait a lot for a clean table and some time I had to remove by myself the stuff that other people left on the table;and another thing is the quality of the plastic cups is terrible, it would be better to give out glass cups or if not you can use better plastic cups. I don't really care about the cost if I'm going to receive the service that I paid for. Four star means a lot. Thank's

Room Number:
178

Arrival:
Mar 26/2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Hotel, Nice Pools and Beach"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Desmond  on Feb 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
358 people found this review helpful

Have stayed here before and was again very pleased with the Hotel Barlevento. great Staff especially Osmany and all the Front Desk Staff friendly and efficient. You can evenwalk up ,knock and speak to the Manager who has his office right off the Main Lobby near the Front Desk. Great Hotel ,Helpful Staff and Managment ,Comfortable Room,,Good Food, Nice Pools and Beach. I will definetly return to enjoy this great place for a nice Cuban Holiday. Hi to all at Barlevento!!!!capt. Des from Ottawa , Canada.

Room Number:
??near Main Pool

Room Block:
ground Floor

Arrival:
Nov 21/2010 to Dec 05/2010

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Meilleur que bien d'autres hôtels de Varadero"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Patrick Guebhardt  on Oct 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Oct, 2010
616 people found this review helpful

J'ai passé une petite semaine dans cet hôtel, alors que je travaillais dans la région... Je ne pouvais donc profiter des nombreux aménagements de cet hôtel que le soir - et la nuit ! En effet trouver un hôtel de cette qualité en formule todo incluido avec le bar en face de la réception ouvert 24/24 m'a permis de passer fort agréablement mes nuits d'insomnies. TOUT le personnel est très très sympa, forçant certainement ce caractère pour améliorer leur pourboire, mais ils sont VRAIMENT VRAIMENT sympas!! La nourriture y est meilleure que dans bien d'autres hôtels de Varadero au prix parfois triple !!! Le spectacle de danseurs y est d'une très grande qualité! Trois piscines, excusez du peu alors que l'hôtel donne SUR la plage de Varadero! La mer Caraïbe est par moments carrément trop chaude pour y faire autre chose que la planche !!!!!!! enfin bref, pour sûr un hôtel dans lequel je reséjournerai si je suis amené à retourner dans le coin, que ce soit pour un hébergement alors que j'y bosse ou pour des vacances!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great hotel, perfect location"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Debra  on Mar 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
302 people found this review helpful

We just returned from two weeks at the Barlovento Hotel in Varadero. We flew with West Jet Vacations out of Thunder Bay

Your Arrival:
Check in was really quick...front desk has an amazing group of very friendly and helpful people. There was a bell boy there to take our luggage to our room...no waiting.

Rooms:
Our room was great. We were in a bungalow just down from the beach, across from the out door lunch buffet and the quiet pool. The room was smaller than our friend’s but our balcony was huge. The room had a fridge that was stocked with bottled water every day so we never had to buy it. The maid service was very good too....no too many fancy sculptures on the bed but that’s ok as long as the room is clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
We booked all of our al a cartes as soon as we got there as they fill up fast. We went to all three...they were all great. Mexican was the most fun and the food was very good. We were the last sitting so we never felt rushed. The tequila shooters were funny....”no lady the camera never worked we have to do it again!” A great bunch of guys working there! The Cuban restaurant...in the same place as the Mexican...was really good too. The Italian was a nice quiet change from the others...the music was more classical....food tasty.


The food in the dining room was basic. We always found something we liked. Some days were better than others. Breakfast was really good as you have the fresh juice bar, eggs cooked the way you like them....bacon too if you take it to the grill. Lunch is at the beach restaurant with burgers, pasta, fish, sausage, chicken and pork....you wont go hungry! For supper there was something different at the carving station every night. We had a very nice white and red wine at meals also...it came after day two.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
There are three pools at the resort. The two near the lobby are the busiest....as well as the noisiest. The music and entertainment team are always there. If you like the involvement then that is your spot. The kids pool is next to it. There were a few small ones enjoying it. When it is windy on the beach this pool is more sheltered so not as cool. The pools were always being cleaned. The one night the aqua ballet was done in the larger pool...they are really amazing artists. There were always enough chairs by the pools...never saw the towel game played.

The beach is beautiful...what we go to Varadero for! There are too few beach loungers so get there earlier in the morning....9ish is fine. Coming at 11 you are not likely to get a chair. They do need to invest in a few new ones. Beach bar was a fun place with one of the nicest bartenders I have ever met. She is always smiling and happy....even when it was a little cool and windy. They don’t have beer at the beach but she can come up with something for you. There are hobi cats, kayaks and paddle boats to take out. The water doesn’t get deep fast but is not too shallow either...perfect for everyone...my grand daughter loved jumping into the waves.

Other Comments:
This hotel is at the edge of the town so is a perfect location. You can walk to the flea markets and restaurants in town. If you need a taxi the most we paid to get to the other end of town was $6. I would go back to this resort in a second and would recommend it to anyone. We loved it!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"one of the best"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  yenisleydis fernandez  on Mar 15, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Mar, 2009
1089 people found this review helpful

staff is the best! service a+ reservation girl yuli i give her A+++++ what a nice girl!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  mauricio castellanos  on May 4, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Colombia
Visited on: May, 2008
3163 people found this review helpful

We do have excellents remembers from this wonderful hotel. My Honeymoon wouldn't be so magic if the escenography of this hotel Barlovento weren't there. WHAT A WONDERFUL PEOPLE!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"GOOD TRIP"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  linda et chantale  on Apr 27, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2008
864 people found this review helpful

Great trip for a week. The hotel is really good and clean. Cuban food is very good but quite different from Canadian food. If you want Canadian food, better to stay in Canada. The staff is very friendly, 80% of the guests are French. We went for a safari in jeep (great). Good gifts to bring for the staff is nail polish, lipstick, makeup, perfumes. We like the vacations so much we are sure to return. From the hotel to the city is only 5 minutes. Great. Linda and Chantale Alma

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"El hotel barlovento"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jaime Kenrsre  on Mar 31, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: Mar, 2008
4178 people found this review helpful

Es increible la amabilidad que dan los trabajadores de ese hotel sin saber a veces si van a obtener alguna retribucion por el buen trato y en especial resalto la agradable sonrrisa de una simpatica camarera de el bar playa (la china) quien nos mantubo casi durante una semana en ese bar como si fuerasmos familia y lo sorprendente fue que esa amabilidad fue para todos los turistas iguales y yo y mi esposa pensabamos que era muy personalisado para nosotros.Me encantaria que se le hiciera alguna mencion a los mojitos que en particular prepara ella en el bar playa.Y algo que resaltar es la seguridad y el trato humano de los trabajadores de ese hotel. En realidad se los recomiendo a todos los que no tienen informacion sobre hoteles.
Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"best resort in varadero"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  steve belous  on Mar 16, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2008
4069 people found this review helpful

I've been to cuba 3 times , in different resorts every time... Barlovento was the smallest , rated the lowest , but surprisingly it was the best resort of all by far. Very clean, excelent staff and service, and the best location. The food was as good as any of the other resorts....but the location is perfect for walking the town at night and trying outside restaurants. I recommend this resort to anyone and will return next time I go to varadero. Not sure how the resorts are rated exactly but this one is totally under rated. It deserves a much better rating. Cleanliness is key , and most places are lacking that, even the 5 star places. The staff here was unbelievably friendly , where other resorts they were overworked and grumpy to people.

Original Review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube