Barlovento Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Barlovento reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Barlovento  

Ave. 1ra. e/ 10 & 12, Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba.
(Varadero Maps)

"Very disappointing"
Posted by: Christine on Jan 16, 2015
see all reviews

Barlovento Reviews
Barlovento Pictures and Information
Barlovento Varadero Cuba

#14
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.7

Based on 34 reviews

Barlovento Information


Located near the entrance of the Varadero Peninsula, Hotel Barlovento is integrated in perfect harmony with ideal natural surroundings, next to a precious white sanded beach that stretches for miles.

It's located in Varadero, only 1 km from city centre and 25 kms away from the nearest airport. It enjoys a perfect situation to go for a walk to the market, bars and restaurants.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barlovento Reviews

Barlovento Review: 3.7 of 5 34 reviews
Excellent
  11
Very good
  12
Average
  5
Poor
  5
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (12)
Party (1)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (5)
With friend (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
21 - 30 of 34

"What an amazing staff!"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Darlene Whitmore  on Mar 15, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2008
3160 people found this review helpful

I am just returning for the second time in 2008 from the Barlovento in Varadero, Cuba and I have nothing but rave reviews of the staff and the hotel! This hotel is clean and attractive but the staff is the shining star for sure! The first trip in February 2008, I was accompanied by 4 of my girlfriends and we had such a wonderful time! We enjoyed all of the staff who are very warm and friendly and incredibly helpful - I have nothing but the deepest respect for all of the staff here. I loved it so much, that I returned for a second trip in March 2008 and this time I travelled with my teenage daughter. We were both amazed at how helpful, friendly and inviting the staff are at this hotel! Particularly the Animacion staff of Yovani, Alberto, Leticia, Regla, Alex, Legna and Dinorah - we were awed by how incredibly accomodating this staff was to us! We love them all and we would love to thank each of them personally for making our vacation incredible! The food at the Barlovento is better than most other foods we ate in both of my trips to Varadaro (we did try some local cuisine to compare to it and it certainly doesn't compare). Food is not a huge factor for Cuba overall as we discovered on a day trip to La Habana as well - it's either very bland or very salty (to be fair, I am a chef and restaurant owner myself, so I can be a bit of a critic). At the Barlovento, however, the Mexican restaurant called El Cactus, the food was always well above par - and the staff of Ramone, Mango aka Junio, and Yanet went above and beyond the call of duty! The beach grill for lunch was always excellent with Chef Luis being exceptionally helpful and pleasant. The Creole restaurant was very tasty and for those travelling as a couple, this restaurant is also very romantic. The buffet hacienda restaurant was so/so but if you choose wisely, the omelettes are made a la minute and are always very tasty (I would recommend bringing ketchup from outside Cuba for ketchup conneseiurs, lol) We encountered many servers during my two trips to the Barlovento but shining above them all was Annabel who I made efforts to find and have her serve us during our stays -- what a lovely person! Thank you Annabel!! Muuaahh! There are 4 bars at the Barlovento with rotating staff but I would really like to thank Teo, Josehp, Hilda, Miquel, Jaquelin, Gretel, Javier, Joel, Pelly, Leo and last but not least, La China for making both my trip in Feb and my trip in March amazing! They were incredibly welcoming and, not only did they remember me, but they went out of their way to make each and every day special for me/us! Thank you, my Barlovento/Cuba friends and we wish God's blessings on you forever! You have created wonderful memories for us that we will treasure always!!!! I hope that you will make sure to thank your staff personally for me and I will definitely return many times to the Barlovento! Sincerely, Darlene Whitmore

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"voyage merveilleux"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  demers suzanne  on Jun 26, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2007
335 people found this review helpful

Nous étions à cet hôtel du 24 février au 10 mars et ce fut un voyage très bien, la nourriture était bonne de même que le service et tous les gens étaient chaleureux, la chambre était très propre de même que tout le site. Le snack-bar du midi était vraiment bien près de la mer. En tout cas je retourne encore l'année prochaine pour 21 semaines. Mais ce n'est pas pour les jeunes car il n'y a pas d'activité pour eux. Pour nous il y a des spectacles etc. C'est très bien comme hôtel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Merveilleux"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  suzanne demers  on May 31, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2007
234 people found this review helpful

Bonjour, J'étais en vacance pour 2 semaines et c'était merveilleux, le service est très bien, le staff est chaleureux et la nourriture est bonne, pour qualité prix c'est la meilleure. En plus c'est tranquille, et très propre que demandez mieux, je retourne l'an prochain et en plus les serveurs et serveuses sont excellents. susandemers309@hotmail.com Montréal, canada

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I like it"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Maurizio Molari  on Feb 4, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Venezuela
Visited on: Feb, 2007
5347 people found this review helpful

The only thing is that I could't find the tennis camp and there was to many people. "

This review has been submited originally in spanish. Our editorial team have translated it to english, to offer better service to our clients."

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Just back"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Monique & Bas  on Sep 21, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Sep, 2006
3344 people found this review helpful

We just got back from a one week stay at the Barlovento hotel. We had a fantastic time there. The rooms were good and clean, the staff was very friendly and the meals in the mexican restaurant were perfect.

The meals in the buffet restaurant did not have a lot of variety, but were still fine.

If we go back to Cuba, we will definitly come back to the Barlovento hotel.

As for excursions: the catamaran trip (crucero del sol) and the trip to Cienfuegos, Trinidad, Topes de Collenates and Santa Clara were excellent!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Barlovento lived up to our expectations!"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sarah Kurtz  on Apr 23, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2006
3418 people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I just spent a week at the Barlovento from April 13 until the 20th. We had a great time. The resort was small and beautiful, with three great swimming pools and 4 great bar areas. Most of the staff was really friendly and we really enjoyed the uncrowded beach and the availability of chairs around the pools.

The rooms were basic, but we hardly spent any time in them. The beach was amazing and the water was warm! The nightly shows were sometimes very impressive, and others.... kind of boring. The resort was really quiet after the shows ended, not too much partying. The best part of the Barlovento was the location. It is right at the beginning of the downtown strip and conveniently located near the markets and restaurants. We went to the Italian restaurant across the street twice and it was tasty. The snack bars were also impressive.

The food at the Barlovento was okay. The buffet got old very quickly and I ended up eating a lot of cheese and fruit. The Mexican restaurant was our favorite and the service there was amazing. Don't be surprised if everyone expects you to tip, it's customary. Our housekeeper was also very good and we left her a lot of little treats throughout the week.

I'd recommend the Barlovento for anyone looking for a conveniently located resort that wants nice beach and pool areas and friendly staff. The bartenders at the bar beside the stage were our favorite!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Happy Camper"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  yan  on Apr 13, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2006
3290 people found this review helpful

Me and my girlfriend went to Cuba for the first time on March 31 until april 8 th. We stayed a the Barlovento and we had a great time. The beach was very nice and we never had a probleme getting a chair on the beach. The employees of the resort were very nice and polite. The only little thing his that if you want to have a great meal you are going to be dissapointed. The food was ok but not great. The mexican dinner was the best one we had there. The place was amazingly CLEAN.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We all enjoyd staying in Barlovento!"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Katariina Rautalahti  on Apr 12, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) FINLAND
Visited on: Apr, 2006
3306 people found this review helpful

We just returned from our vacation in Cuba. We stayed the first week from 28 of March 2006 in Barlovento Hotel in Varadero. We are a family with two teenagers (sons). We all loved this place!

The personel was kind and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The meals were good (prefence: the mexican evenings which you have to reserve early!). Drinks were served all the time (but remember to bring your own thermo mug to keep them cool!). Pool area was simply great and there were plenty of chairs available for sunbathing. What I enjoyd most was that the most beuatiful beach was just behind the hotel area -önly some steps not more. There was even a nice beach bar with free drinks and chairs for everybody.

There was not much happening outside the hotel (execpt in the other hotels) but the Barlovento hotel offered entertainment not only durind days but also every evening. The location of the hotel was maybe the best in Varadero (if you are not interested in golf!) because it was close to the center of the city and shops (not many but f.ex a nice market for arts and crafts very close). Nothing to complain!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Glad we stayed"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cindi Guerard  on Mar 23, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2006
3306 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Barlovento Feb. 24 to March 10/06 and were pleasantly surprised! The hotel grounds are very lush and for the most part, well maintained. Three pools meant there was never a problem getting a lounge chair. The room was big, two queen sized beds, ours (#301) looked out over the biggest of the pools and was very nice (very small balcony though). The maids kept everything in good order and always left us swans, hearts and elephants made out of towels and/or blankets.

The beach is probably the best in the area, lots of lovely sand, lots of loungers and the beach bar staff always kept the rum flowing!!! Unfortunately, a lot of people on vacation didn't use the garbage cans and the beach became quite littered at the end of the day with empty plastic drink cups, but it was always cleaned up by the morning.

The nightly entertainment never failed to make us laugh and cheer and everyone tried their best to ensure we had a good time. The staff were great, treated everyone well and were always helpful if you had questions.

The only drawback for us was the food. My husband and I are NOT picky eaters, but the buffets left much to be desired during our two weeks. The food was plentiful, but very bland. We didn't let it ruin our vacation, we just found things that we liked and stuck to that, with the occasional off site supper to keep us happy.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel, it had a good mix of young and old, families and singles.

We got out of the hotel on a daily basis and did explore Varadero and area, we will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Satisfied Vacationers"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Paul Clark  on Feb 21, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2006
2972 people found this review helpful

My wife and I had a one week stay at the Barlovento last week and were quite satisfied with our vacation. It was what we had expected from our research into the hotel and with it being our first time to Cuba. The buffet was not cruise ship quality but we were able to find enough choices to satisfy our appetites with lots of fruit available. Try to be early for meals to have best choices of food.

The rooms were decent size and were kept clean. Hot water didn't seem to be a problem for us. Room was very quiet with adjoining room noise not noticeable. Not allot of things happening at night like dancing etc. so it is a good hotel for relaxing. Good location in Varadero for walking tours with some small bars and restaurants handy to the hotel. Staff with a few exceptions were very friendly and we didn't feel pressured into tipping at any time. We did get a good deal on our hotel and flight package and might have felt different about things if we had paid a high price to stay there.

With giving it a three star I am comparing it with other places we have stayed over the years outside Cuba so we can't say how it compares with other local hotels. The location also means that you are the first stop coming from the airport and last for pickup going back. One good point is that the rooms are set back from the main road so it may be a little quieter than some of the other hotels downtown. I think that you have to go with an open mind and make your own decision but don't expect a five star hotel for three star price. All in all I would say that we had a good vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube