Barlovento Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Barlovento reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Barlovento  

Ave. 1ra. e/ 10 & 12, Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba.
(Varadero Maps)

"Very disappointing"
Posted by: Christine on Jan 16, 2015
see all reviews

Barlovento Reviews
Barlovento Pictures and Information
Barlovento Varadero Cuba

#14
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.7

Based on 34 reviews

Barlovento Information


Located near the entrance of the Varadero Peninsula, Hotel Barlovento is integrated in perfect harmony with ideal natural surroundings, next to a precious white sanded beach that stretches for miles.

It's located in Varadero, only 1 km from city centre and 25 kms away from the nearest airport. It enjoys a perfect situation to go for a walk to the market, bars and restaurants.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barlovento Reviews

Barlovento Review: 3.7 of 5 34 reviews
Excellent
  11
Very good
  12
Average
  5
Poor
  5
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (12)
Party (1)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (5)
With friend (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
31 - 35 of 34

"Barlovento"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Shayne and Julie  on Jan 31, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2006
2882 people found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Cuba for my wife and I (in our early 30s) but definitely not the last! The Barlovento is a terrific spot with clean rooms and grounds and a wonderful open air lobby and the beach is gorgeous. The staff are extremely friendly with special compliments to Javier at the lobby bar and Raphael at the A la Carte restaurant. (No more tequilla boom booms for a while!).

Although the food is not spectacular, we found the buffets to be adequate offering a good selection. The Mexican and Cuban A la Carte restaurants are a good change from the buffet as well. For a change of pace I would recommend the pizza at the restaurant directly across the road. $50 cuc for 8 people including drinks.

The shows in the evening are a good diversion and you can tell that the performers take pride in entertaining the guests. There was a street market close by for some time away from the resort and we both felt very at ease when away from the grounds, even at night. For excursions I would recommend the Cayo Blanco Catamaran tour and the Havana Special (a day tour of Havana and the Tropicana show in the evening) although one day just didn't seem enough to do Havana any justice.

We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best hotel, Best service, Best people"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Leah  on Jan 23, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2006
2870 people found this review helpful

This was our first trip away together for my boyfriend & I. It was also my boyfriends first trip anywhere outside of Canada. We had a blast. Best vacation ever. The only downside is the food, but to be quite honest the food was not much better at the 5 star we went to before the Tropicana. In general - do not expect much from the food & you will not be disappointed.

The hotel itself is all open concept. Beautiful hotel, nice rooms. We had two balconies and the air conditioning unit is a new model with remote control. The staff are amazing... to name a few: Julie at the pool bar took great care of us, Orlando & Alberto run activities and are also great entertainers, Yudis is a beautiful dancer/actress, Annia was our maid and she went above & beyond what she had too (a gift everyday helps provide great service), Pedro at the pool bar took great care of us. Anything we needed, we had.

The tourists we met really helped make our vacation memorable for us... we will see you all soon in Vancouver, Toronto, and Wasaga Beach. So many fond memories. So many gifts from the staff. The resort is top notch in comparison to other tourists that we met... that were staying elsewhere. We will definately come back next year to the Barlovento... price can't be beat for the vacation of a lifetime. I think I lucked out though because I went with the most wonderful man in the world. Truly the time of my life. If you want to do any excursions... #1) Jeep Seafari with speed boats, the ranch & saturna caves. #2) Havana Special with Tropicana at night. The show at the tropicana is really the #1 thing to see or do. #3) Jet Ski Adventure (ride your own, worth the extra money). Anyone going to Barlovento, tell the staff that Leah & Sean say hi.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good hotel, nice personal but service not so good"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marc Lippert  on Jan 18, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) LUXEMBOURG
Visited on: Jan, 2006
3131 people found this review helpful

My main point of critic is service around the food. They have good food, many cookers and enough personal. But preparation of food is often not so pleasant. Many personal but they don't manage to keep clean the cantine regularely. For example, there is one coffee machine there is always coffee on the floor but no one clean it up ! In the morning orange juice is mostly mixed up with so much water that you can't taste the orange. Many cookers are there, they have good food, but the taste remember allways the cantine. Maybe it is a problem of management and mentality because i think Barlovento is a good resort with many interesting options but the service around the food donĀ“t work as i wished it should. I compare with 3-4 stars in Greece or Spain. In one way personal is extremely nice and in the other way they don't make (for me) the best impression during work.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"BARLOVENTO"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lee  on Sep 12, 2005  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2005
2884 people found this review helpful

The Barlovento was a great experiance for my sister my mom and i.. we havent all gone on a vacation together EVER.. our cuba trip was the first trip together.. it was amazinG!! the food was great.. the rooms were nice and clean.. the beach was spectacular with the 2 pools.. im 15 years old and i found the hotel amazing..i thoguht there would be no kids but suprisingly there were many n i made some great friends there..and i also really liked the staff members there.. when we first waslked into the barlovento it was like paradise... the cool air coming in frum the front.. then the check in on your left and the bar on your right..after this we went to our rooms which had 3 beds for each of us and a balcony..t.v..air conditioning bathroom shower ect. the next morning.. we woke up ate and headed straight for the beach.. every night there would be great performances.. there was a great mexican retauraunt that we ate at.. and in the mornings theere was sales at the resort or you could go to the market that is about 2 minutes away.. i would give this hotel a 5 star rating..

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great stay at the Barlovento"

Barlovento
User Rating:  Barlovento Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jacob Decker  on Apr 29, 2005  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2005
4537 people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I (25's)just returned from the Barlovento, and I am happy to say that the hotel did nothing but contribute to a fabulous trip. Arriving at the hotel, we found that the lobby (and especially the grounds) were beautiful and the staff treated us perfectly. We happened to be the only two checking in at the time, so I'm not sure it always goes this smoothly, but we were in our room within five minutes. However, we were a little less than impressed by the room when we walked in. We were there on a special vacation and had requested an oceanview room with one king bed. What we had was a room with two double beds pushed together and a view of the staff living quarters, albeit among some palm trees (306). Now, the hotel is pretty much directly on the beach, but the restaurants and pools are mostly between the rooms and the beach so there are no rooms (as far as we could tell) with an oceanview. It also turned out that there was no hot water in our room, so when we spoke to our travel rep (sunwing) the next morning, we were moved by that afternoon. No problem. This new room had a very nice pool and palm tree view, hot water, and was nice and clean (321). The food was better than we had expected, more than edible and we never got sick. It inevitably becomes a bit repetitive as you eat three meals a day there for an entire week. We found that the Mexican restaurant (on site) was a nice break from the buffet food. We also found a restaurant just to the left of the resort called "Casa De Chef" which served incredible lobster dinners for 10 pesos - well worth it! The beach is unbelievable- the most beautiful I've seen. Soft, white sand and blue blue water. No jellyfish and some days with waves- just enough to be fun, not dangerous. All in all, I thought this was a very good resort. It's not five star, but then it never claims to be. Go expecting a three and a half star and I think you'll be very happy with what you find.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube