Breezes Bella Costa Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Breezes Bella Costa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Breezes Bella Costa  

Ave Las Americas, Km 3½, Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba

"Its going to be our first time in varadero. second time in Cuba "
Posted by: LUCIA MARIA  on Jan 29, 2016
see all reviews

Breezes Bella Costa Reviews
Breezes Bella Costa Pictures and Information
Breezes Bella Costa Varadero Cuba

#16
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.0

Based on 31 reviews

Breezes Bella Costa Information


Breezes Bella Costa is located on a natural cliff in the famous beach of Varadero, the establishment is surrounded by an intimate atmosphere which together with its exclusive nature, the green one of its gardens makes of the Hotel an ideal place.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Breezes Bella Costa Reviews

Breezes Bella Costa Review: 4.0 of 5 31 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  16
Average
  5
Poor
  1
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (21)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
1 - 10 of 31

"Nolitours: Waste of money"

Breezes Bella Costa
User Rating:  Breezes Bella Costa Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Laura  on Jan 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
475 people found this review helpful

My Husband and I went to Breezes Bella Costa in Cuba for a holiday. We were fully prepared for the food to be bad but were careful to book a four star resort. We flew down with Nolitours. During that time we got hit by a hurricane and no my review is not about that. What it is about is that during all this time we never saw our Nolitours rep, we were never given the option of evacuating. As well our rooms were smelly and dirty. Smelling either of urine or other delightful odours. I have asthma and could hardly breathe. We complained several times at the desk and each time we moved to another room it was as dirty and smelly as the last. We finally ran into our Nolitours rep and she brushed us off like old dinner crumbs. We found the Hotel Manager talking to her and he pretended he did not speak or understand English while we were complaining. Upon our return to Canada I wrote several times to Nolitours bitterly complaining and they grabbed on to the fact that a hurricane was the cause of all our distress, even though I corrected them several times. In short they wrote me a final letter saying it was all out of their control and their representative in Cuba was doing a fine job. I will say I will never EVER book with Nolitours again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel Appearance"

Breezes Bella Costa
User Rating:  Breezes Bella Costa Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Pat  on Jul 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
439 people found this review helpful

I read the reviews after I came back. I noticed lots of people are saying that the poor quality accommodation is because it is Cuba, but I feel that the owners of the hotel are to be blamed for the poor condition the building and maintenance, it seems that no one inspects the building. I experience flooding in the room, caused by leaky roof, and the problem with the birds. Most of the staff were great. I am still trying to locate who owns this hotel so I can write to let them know how I feel about the delapidated building; and how much it needs to be updated.

Room Number:
426

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointing"

Breezes Bella Costa
User Rating:  Breezes Bella Costa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Celine  on Apr 15, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | With Group
287 people found this review helpful

Very nice beach and quality spectacles. But very disappointed with rooms. Guy at the front desk promised us a quiet room, but it was one of the most noisy, just above the 24 hour bar! (100 section). Many rooms don't have balconies, can you believe it? Stay far from rooms 131, 231, 331, etc. as they are close to the elevator. Don't change money at the front desk: they rip you off. My 10th stay in Cuba. You can get better for your money.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"3 Star Rating is being very generous"

Breezes Bella Costa
User Rating:  Breezes Bella Costa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie from CAN  on Feb 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
313 people found this review helpful

This was both my husband's and my first trip to Cuba and will be our last. I won't speak for the friends we went with but know for a fact one has made it very clear, she would only return if she won a trip to Cuba! Sunwings representation of this resort is grossly exagerated as the resort needs a major overhall. The price per person was $1490 is way overpriced for this resort.

Your Arrival:
Our arrival was uneventful. We didn't spend a lot of time going through customs and was pleased there weren't any men trying to grab our bags from us on the way to the bus. The ride to the hotel made the usual stops at the various resorts and the tour guide was informative and pleasant. I was appauled at the litter lining the highways and surprised nothing being done to have it cleaned up. We were greeted with a cool drink in the hotel lobby and check in was quick although our rooms weren't ready when we arrived. The hotel lobby bar was opened. We quickly found out the bar staff don't seem to have any training in mixing drinks, way too strong and most were left on the counter as we were unable to drink them.. what a waste of good alchol. They were also very limited in the number of drinks available. Beer and wine ended up being the preferred beverages. Word of advice, if you enjoy martinis bring some green olives as there were none.

Rooms:
Rooms are very dated, washroom sink taps were filthy even after daily cleaning and should be replaced immediately, sinks actually move, mirror all chipped and hair dryer was absolutely useless. Beds, if you want to call them that, were way below standard,very hard and uncomfortable. Chairs in the room were falling apart and my husband actually fell through one. We also had to put up with the smell of oil or diesel almost everynight and had to keep balcony door closed. Hard to get and stay asleep due to the nightclub music going on til the wee hours of the morning by that I mean 3 or 4 in the morning.

Restaurants and Bars:
Japanese place was good, very friendly staff and we enjoyed the experience. Italian wasn't bad either and staff as well were friendly. Shouldn't forget to mention that 4 out of the 7 of us were sick for a couple of days and still not sure what to chalk it up to? The buffet selection is very limited, lots of flies and birds sharing the fair.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool area small and not for those looking for a quiet time. Pool was cold and not many taking leasurly swims. The beach was quite nice but due to weather and windy conditions didn't get to spend alot of time there.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went to Havana and although it is a beautiful old city the Cuaban's are letting it fall down around them. It is probably one of the dirtiest cities I have visited with garbage all over the streets and stray dogs lying on sidewalks and near tourist attractions.
Golf was the saving grace for our group. Great golf course, challenging and a spectacular view. Would recommend it to all golfers.

Other Comments:
Buyer beware.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very enjoyable and good golf course"

Breezes Bella Costa
User Rating:  Breezes Bella Costa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  James  on Feb 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
439 people found this review helpful

The food was mediocre but acceptable my main complaint was no passenger elevators all 3 broken down were told they couldnt get parts.
enjoyed trip to havana planning to return next november for the golf tournament ,hope to get another hotel

Room Number:
328

Arrival:
some rooms not ready had to wait 3 hours for entry but our luggage was delivered to our roomm

Rooms:
clean and comfortable would like to see some bath towels

Restaurants and Bars:
bars service great, restaurants so so mostly self serve

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Okay, but not great"

Breezes Bella Costa
User Rating:  Breezes Bella Costa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Susan  on Mar 5, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
517 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
326

Room Block:
Main Hotel

Arrival:
Found our bus at airport and met our guide. Airport was chaotic. Uneventful trip to hotel. Check in was very good. We were early, but our room was ready.

Rooms:
The room was very clean and the maid had it spotless everday. However, it was in great need of updating. The paint was chipped, the ceiling was a grayish dirty colour.

Restaurants and Bars:
At Jimmy's Buffet, the staff is very inattentive and slow. The food was variable. Breakfast was always good. Disappointed in the lack of variety of fruit. Went to Martino's, the Italian ala carte. Good service, but food it was not authentic Italian. The steak was like a thick slice of roast beef.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was lovely and pool was nice. Needs a new liner though.

Other Comments:
I would try to book a room in the villas. The hotel is old and in great need of repair. Hotel is damp and the carpeting in the hallways is totally disgusting. Stained and dirty. Bring face cloths--they don't provide any.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We prefer a more International crowd"

Breezes Bella Costa
User Rating:  Breezes Bella Costa Review: 3.50 of 5

Posted by:  Nancy from Ontario  on Jan 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
176 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 12 - 19
Travelled Sun Wing out of London, ON. No problems except poor flight times this year...only get 6 full days.

Rooms:
Room was clean but the bed was terribly uncomfortable. Room 337.

Restaurants and Bars:
The Mirador Outdoor Eatery is one of the main reasons for choosing this resort again this winter. It is located right out on the beach, tile floor, covered ceiling, offers breakfast, smorg lunch and individual pizzas from 12 to 5 every day. The main beach bar is located here and the restaurant staff is very friendly and efficient. Since we are travelling with a toddler we can use the buggy here, be in the shade when we eat, and basically can stay on the beach for the entire day without so many trips to the room. We found the food in the main dining area and Mirador to be just fine, always something you might like.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The hotel itself is getting dated...an "aging Princess" so to speak. We were first here in 1994 before the "all inclusive" trend. But, the grounds are well maintained and things are generally satisfactory.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We are beach people so do not participate in the pool activities. However, I do know that Yacmel,is well liked and offers a fun pool side program. Be aware that the night entertainment is right in front of hotel rooms and is loud until 11 and then people hang around until much later. So, check out the location of your room before you have the luggage sent up if this might be a bother to you.

Other Comments:
Again this year there were problems with the elevator. Only 1 of 3 functioning...had to access the staff elevator many times. This resort is not for people with mobility problems...many steps up to the main buffet dining room and elevator problems.

Changing from the Iberostar to the Breezes chain has meant that 90% of the clientelle is from Canada. We prefer a more International crowd...so just an FYI in case you are interested as to who you will be sharing your vacation with. The Bella Costa is good value for the money because of its beach location and the outdoor Mirador. It has suited our purposes fine the last 2 years with a child in tow, but personally I would not want to be on a couple holiday with my husband of 35 years...a younger crowd/family oriented/noisy/etc.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Staff were all very helpful and most spoke excellent to good enough english"

Breezes Bella Costa
User Rating:  Breezes Bella Costa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Duane from Manitoba  on Jan 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
262 people found this review helpful

Arrived at 11:00PM and took about 1 hour to clear customs and get to the resort. Really not bad at all.

Rooms::
Very clean rooms, stayed in the villas offerred by my tour provider. Furnishings were dated but functional. Two TV's but only one worked, only a minor inconvenience. 220 volt outlets, take a converter. Lots of hot water and no power outages. Maid service was excellent, consider a small tip such as nylons or other hard to get embargo items, it will be appreciated. Villas were excellent since they are away from the noise of the main pool area, quiet and very close to the beach.

Restaurants and Bars::
Restaurants were clean, service was good. Main buffet room is large and noisy, needs an update. One negative of the buffet, one entire wall are glass windows that look on to the main pool area and need a good scrubbing, a little unpleasant to look through streaky dirty outside windows when your eating. Food was OK, but not great. Very little variety from day to day and far too bland for me. Bars were well staffed and drinks were good. Take an insulated mug for cold drinks and ask for lots of ice or your drink may not be cold or stay cold for long. The three other restaurants, Martino's (pasta and sea food) and Musani (Japanse, sushi) and the beach open air restaurant were all good. The best was Martino's, book it ASAP.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
Beach is great, best we've ever seen. Water was warm and crystal clear. Pools were good, a little cool. Hot tubs were not hot, only luke warm. Grounds were very clean. Watch for some uneven footpaths and surfaces.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
Stage shows each night at the hotel, nothing special, about the same as any other resort stage show. Took one sort of private tour to Havana. We booked a cab company and driver that took us to Old Havana, Revolution Square and the Capital building downtown. Old Havana was the best by far. Quite interesting. Hired a local guide that approached us, paid 5 CUC's person person, 5 of us in the group, for an almost 2 hour walking tour of the area. Guide spoke excellent english and was quite knowledgeable. Revolution Square and the Capital Building were waste of time. Revolution square is just that a square with not much else, interesting if your a politics/history buff. Capital building was closed, so we only saw the exterior.
Market area of Varadero was OK, worth an hour or so...walk off the flea market area a few interesting small places to see.

Other Comments::
Over all the hotel was quite good. We were told it was built in the mid 90's and is starting to show it's age. However, the staff were all very helpful and most spoke excellent to good enough english. Grounds very clean as were the rooms. Never been to Cuba before, the food was OK but, very bland compared to other places in the Caribbean. One major good point, the hotel and all places we went, appeared to be very safe and clean. Can't say that for other holidays were have been on.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice place "

Breezes Bella Costa
User Rating:  Breezes Bella Costa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Paul  on Feb 3, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
274 people found this review helpful

This was my 6th trip to Varadeo and the first at the Bella Costa. Great all round. Food was good compared to other places I have stayed. Stay in a bungelow if you can.

Your Arrival:
Excellent porter Josha

Rooms:
Good,

Restaurants and Bars:
Italian the best resturant , Japansee good, Cuban not the best.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Great

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Night entertainment fairly good.

Other Comments:
Will return without question

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Experience"

Breezes Bella Costa
User Rating:  Breezes Bella Costa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Vicki  on Feb 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Business | Family and Kids
261 people found this review helpful

I travelled with my 15 year old daughter. This was my third time to Cuba and although it was not the most beautiful resort I have stayed at, I have to say it was the best in alot of respects. It's a little run down ...could use a face lift, but was very clean

Your Arrival:
We arrived on Saturday January 30 for a one week stay. We flew Sunwing and had a wonderful flight. Getting our luggage was very quick and we were ready to roll on the bus in about 20 minutes. Though it states that it is only 35 minutes from the airport it took over an hour because of all the stops the bus made to drop other guests off at different resorts.
Check in was quick and our room was ready when we got there (12:00 noon)

Rooms:
The room was quite spacious and clean. The room itself and the bathroom were tired looking(needs some updating), but was adequate. Lots of closet space but not many drawers. Our cable kept cutting out when we had HBO on but no big deal. You get one bottle of water the day you arrive and then have to keep filling it up at the bar because they do not give you any more after that. Our maid was wonderful and made beautiful displays with our towels and fresh flowers an our beds. We left her 2 pesos a day and she left us a nice note each day telling us how happy our tip made her and how grateful she was.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food at this resort was very good. Jimmy's buffet had a large assortment to choose from and the food was fresh and delicious. We ate at all of the a-la-cartes and they were all awesome. My favourite was the Cuban restaurant. The beach grill was great for lunch as well. It had a nice buffet and a station where you could get freshly made pizza almost all day. The pizza was excellent, although you had to wait quite a while in line during the lunch hours Jimmy's buffet has a lobster night every Thursday. Get there right at 6:30 though or you will be waiting in a big line.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was small but adequate. water was a bit cold as well but once you got in it was very refreshing. The beach was beautiful with lots of chairs and cabanas available, so you didn't have to be there at the crack of dawn to get one. Lots of chairs around the pool as well. They were never all occupied

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There were activities and games during the day and the staff were very good at getting a lot of people to participate. They had entertainment every night at 9:30. Typical cuban show with dancers and music but we saw one of the best magic shows I have ever seen.

Other Comments:
I would definitely recommend this resort, especially for families with kids of all ages. It was fully booked when we were there but never seemed overcrowded. Great vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube