Breezes Bella Costa Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Breezes Bella Costa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Breezes Bella Costa  

Ave Las Americas, Km 3½, Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba

"Its going to be our first time in varadero. second time in Cuba "
Posted by: LUCIA MARIA  on Jan 29, 2016
see all reviews

Breezes Bella Costa Reviews
Breezes Bella Costa Pictures and Information
Breezes Bella Costa Varadero Cuba

#16
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.0

Based on 31 reviews

Breezes Bella Costa Information


Breezes Bella Costa is located on a natural cliff in the famous beach of Varadero, the establishment is surrounded by an intimate atmosphere which together with its exclusive nature, the green one of its gardens makes of the Hotel an ideal place.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Breezes Bella Costa Reviews

Breezes Bella Costa Review: 4.0 of 5 31 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  16
Average
  5
Poor
  1
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (21)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
11 - 20 of 31

"Excellent."

Breezes Bella Costa
User Rating:  Breezes Bella Costa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Simone  on May 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
507 people found this review helpful

Overall it was a good stay i would definently go back.
- Food was good., alot of varities to pick( italian, japenese and cuban food)
-Alot entertainment in the night( Dancing)
- Havana trip was awesome.
- the downfall of my trip is that they stole my camera in accidental hotel in havana..WATCH YOU BELONGING CAREFULLY!
- Bella costaawesome trip...would def go back.

Room Number:
483

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great experience! We will be back!"

Breezes Bella Costa
User Rating:  Breezes Bella Costa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Elizabeth  on Mar 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
485 people found this review helpful

This was our first family vacation. My husband and I and our 3 teenagers plus a friend of my sons (ages 12, 14 and two 17 year olds). The kids had a great time. Alot of safe, fun activities for them. I did not worry about them as they experienced the resort independently. All the staff were very courteous and welcoming. Our Nolitours representative was fabulous! It is very important that when you go to one of these resorts you attend the orientation. there you will meet your tour representative and they give you alot of very valuable information. They let you know when and where they are available (which is every day). Our son's friend become ill (nothing to do with Cuba; an old infection that reaccured) and he had to leave early. We decided at 5 pm he was going. Our Nolitour's rep had him on a bus to the airport by 7:30 pm and he was on a plane home by 11:00 pm that night. In the mean time we met the doctor and they had antibiotics to us within 45 minutes.

We received wonderful service. The people in Cuba make very little money therefore we tipped whenever possible. We tipped at every meal (our guide was a peso a person; at dinner more, usually 10 pesos), our cleaning ladies every day (2 pesos in each rooms)and whenever we returned our towels and at the bar. It was no big deal to us but huge to them. At the end we were receiving hugs and gifts from the staff. We paid $820 a person for everything!

Remember: Patience when you go to Cuba. Things are much more laid back and yes, some times things are broken down. The people that work and live there have very little so always remember that. When approached about an issue in a respectful way, things were always taken care of.

Room Number:
718 and 719

Arrival:
Arrived around 1 am on March 7th. It was raining. Front desk staff were welcoming and prepared. I was up by 7 am to go the ocean. Took my breath away!

We flew with Air Transat. Fantastic. Both ways we received a meal and complimentary glass of wine. The flight to Cuba we received champaigne.

The trip home was a nightmare as the Cuban airport was over run with travelors that night. We were told 21 flights were leaving from the Varadero airport. Thousands of people I kid you not. Crazy. People were fainting, little verbal fights in the lines everywhere. But we made it home right on schedule. We spoke to several people in line who have been to this airport and stated this was a freak event.

Rooms:
We had 2 ground floor villa rooms. Beautiful. A stones throw from the ocean. A huge balcony to relax on. Close to the Jacuzzi and bar. I do not think I would want to stay in the hotel portion. The villas are the newer section. My only complaint of the whole trip was the pillow, too firm. I would consider my own pillow next time.

Restaurants and Bars:
I was impressed with the food. The breads are to die for as is the coffee. We ate at all 3 a la carte restaurants and I would have to say the Italian was my favourite; my husband would say the Cuban (you eat overlooking the ocean). We have to keep in mind this is another country and things are prepared very differently. I thought they did a great job trying to please people from all different ethnic backgrounds and countries. Kudos to Dania and Luis, staff at Jimmy's Buffet!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We stayed at the ocean the whole time. My thinking was I can sit by a pool all summer. Having said that, the pool was big, clear and clean. They emptied the jacuzzi every night and filled it with fresh water. There are staff everywhere constantly cleaning, picking up, watering. The place was very well kept. Unfortunately it is the tourists that would allow their cups and straws to blow around the grounds. That was the only garbage I ever saw.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We decided to not go on any tours as the kids were not interested (I would say that is a good sign about the resort in itself) and quite honestly, my husband and I just wanted to lay by the ocean and read. There was always an activity happening by the pool or in the hotel. My son said the "entertainers" were fantastic and made his trip!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very enjoyable and good golf course"

Breezes Bella Costa
User Rating:  Breezes Bella Costa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  James  on Feb 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
439 people found this review helpful

The food was mediocre but acceptable my main complaint was no passenger elevators all 3 broken down were told they couldnt get parts.
enjoyed trip to havana planning to return next november for the golf tournament ,hope to get another hotel

Room Number:
328

Arrival:
some rooms not ready had to wait 3 hours for entry but our luggage was delivered to our roomm

Rooms:
clean and comfortable would like to see some bath towels

Restaurants and Bars:
bars service great, restaurants so so mostly self serve

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nolitours: Waste of money"

Breezes Bella Costa
User Rating:  Breezes Bella Costa Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Laura  on Jan 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
475 people found this review helpful

My Husband and I went to Breezes Bella Costa in Cuba for a holiday. We were fully prepared for the food to be bad but were careful to book a four star resort. We flew down with Nolitours. During that time we got hit by a hurricane and no my review is not about that. What it is about is that during all this time we never saw our Nolitours rep, we were never given the option of evacuating. As well our rooms were smelly and dirty. Smelling either of urine or other delightful odours. I have asthma and could hardly breathe. We complained several times at the desk and each time we moved to another room it was as dirty and smelly as the last. We finally ran into our Nolitours rep and she brushed us off like old dinner crumbs. We found the Hotel Manager talking to her and he pretended he did not speak or understand English while we were complaining. Upon our return to Canada I wrote several times to Nolitours bitterly complaining and they grabbed on to the fact that a hurricane was the cause of all our distress, even though I corrected them several times. In short they wrote me a final letter saying it was all out of their control and their representative in Cuba was doing a fine job. I will say I will never EVER book with Nolitours again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bella Costa Staff Excellent"

Breezes Bella Costa
User Rating:  Breezes Bella Costa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  sandy  on Jan 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
307 people found this review helpful

Just returned from one week at Bella Costa Cuba. Hotel very good staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms very clean but spartan. For Cuban standards good. Food could of been better but you did not go hunger.

Italian Rest. not really Italian food that Canadians eat.

Breakfast best meal of the day. We had lunch at the beach rest. it was good.

Room Number:
362

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Time of our life !"

Breezes Bella Costa
User Rating:  Breezes Bella Costa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Velma  on Jan 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
320 people found this review helpful

Travelled as a group of nine. 4 adults, 5 teenagers.
We flew sunwing from Winnipeg. The staff on the flight were polite, helpful and fun-loving. They had a contest going to guess the combined ages of all the stewardesses and my sister-in-law guessed right and won a box of wine!
Check into the hotel was smooth and trouble free. The staff at the hotel are very nice and so gracious. A wonderful resort for families!! Lots of activities for the teenagers on and off the beach. The rooms were clean, the maid service was excellent. The food at the buffet, grill restaurant and a la cartes ( Cuban, Japanese, Italian) was top notch!! This was our 3rd visit to Cuba and my sister and brother-in-laws first and we will definitely be returning to this resort!!
K & V Dunn, Hartney, Manitoba, Canada

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"enjoyable"

Breezes Bella Costa
User Rating:  Breezes Bella Costa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jeff  on Mar 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
325 people found this review helpful

Overall we enjoyed our trip to Varadero and would definately go back.

Your Arrival:
Traveled with Sunwing Vacations. Flight times were excellent, morning flight there, evening flight back. Flights were on time, staff were great. Cramped seating as per the ususal vacation carriers. No problems getting through the customs etc. Check in at the resort was quick and easy. The front lobby is fairly generous and gives a good first impression.

Rooms:
We had a standard room (no balcony) and didn't regret the choice. We still had a pretty good view of the ocean. The room is somewhat dated but acceptable as was the bathroom. We didn't expect anything major with the room but we weren't disappointed with it.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was as good as we have had anywhere else. Good selection and not bad at all. The buffet food is a little bland but they are cooking to accomodate everyone, not just you!!! There is salt and pepper on the table for those who need it. We were fine with it. The staff was always willing to accomodate.

The resturants were all right. We enjoyed the Italian one the best. The Japanese and Cuban ones were nothing overly special but still pretty decient.

We enjoyed the fact that you can get a snack at almost anytime of the day or night, not just during the regular dining hours.

Overall pleased with the food after reading some of the reviews before going.

The bars at the resort were great. The pool bar is open til 1:00 and Vladamir makes a great mohito. Service was friendly and as efficient as they could manage based on the crowd at times. Never had to wait too long for a drink. Would definately take a large beer cup or container to take to the beach as the cups are small plastic 6 oz. ones so you'd have to get 2 or 3 at a time.

The lobby bar is open 24 hrs. We would usually go in to the lobby bar when the pool bar would close or if it was a little chilly in the evening. We met a lot of great people hanging out at the pool and lobby bars.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Step out of the hotel section and you're at the pool. Usually enough lounges for everyone who cares to be by the pool. Just past the pool is the beach. Beautiful sand and clear blue water. There is a sand bar just out a ways so the water doesn't get too deep for kids or others. We had a few windy days that created a close down for swimming as the under tow was too much and the jelly fish are blown in on the beach. You have to watch out for them as to not step on them. Lots of lounges and shade protection on the beach for all to enjoy.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The evening entertainment was outstanding. Should be a must to take in for most people. They always had various games running during the day or dance lessons for all who want to participate.

Golf was included with the resort and I really enjoyed the course. It was challanging without being rediculous. The vierws on the course were at times spectacular. When booking through the resort, make sure they actually phone for the tee times as this can produce some wait time to get on if they don't. This is the only course in Cuba but is wasn't too busy to get on. A real enjoyment to play.

Other Comments:
We did an evening show with the Varadero Tropicana. An excellant evening and well worth the price to take it in. We also did the day trip to Havana. Again, and excellant trip to go and discover the history and architecture. Yes, its an old city and lots of areas are in need of repair. I don't know of too many older cities that you could visit that don't have some of the same problems, especially in a third world county.

We went with some hesitation after reading a lot of the reviews but were quickly put at ease as we arrived. Not everyone I spoke to at the airport before heading back were as pleased with the other resorts they stayed at but we were very pleased with ours and would recomend the Bella Costa to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"3 Star Rating is being very generous"

Breezes Bella Costa
User Rating:  Breezes Bella Costa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie from CAN  on Feb 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
313 people found this review helpful

This was both my husband's and my first trip to Cuba and will be our last. I won't speak for the friends we went with but know for a fact one has made it very clear, she would only return if she won a trip to Cuba! Sunwings representation of this resort is grossly exagerated as the resort needs a major overhall. The price per person was $1490 is way overpriced for this resort.

Your Arrival:
Our arrival was uneventful. We didn't spend a lot of time going through customs and was pleased there weren't any men trying to grab our bags from us on the way to the bus. The ride to the hotel made the usual stops at the various resorts and the tour guide was informative and pleasant. I was appauled at the litter lining the highways and surprised nothing being done to have it cleaned up. We were greeted with a cool drink in the hotel lobby and check in was quick although our rooms weren't ready when we arrived. The hotel lobby bar was opened. We quickly found out the bar staff don't seem to have any training in mixing drinks, way too strong and most were left on the counter as we were unable to drink them.. what a waste of good alchol. They were also very limited in the number of drinks available. Beer and wine ended up being the preferred beverages. Word of advice, if you enjoy martinis bring some green olives as there were none.

Rooms:
Rooms are very dated, washroom sink taps were filthy even after daily cleaning and should be replaced immediately, sinks actually move, mirror all chipped and hair dryer was absolutely useless. Beds, if you want to call them that, were way below standard,very hard and uncomfortable. Chairs in the room were falling apart and my husband actually fell through one. We also had to put up with the smell of oil or diesel almost everynight and had to keep balcony door closed. Hard to get and stay asleep due to the nightclub music going on til the wee hours of the morning by that I mean 3 or 4 in the morning.

Restaurants and Bars:
Japanese place was good, very friendly staff and we enjoyed the experience. Italian wasn't bad either and staff as well were friendly. Shouldn't forget to mention that 4 out of the 7 of us were sick for a couple of days and still not sure what to chalk it up to? The buffet selection is very limited, lots of flies and birds sharing the fair.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool area small and not for those looking for a quiet time. Pool was cold and not many taking leasurly swims. The beach was quite nice but due to weather and windy conditions didn't get to spend alot of time there.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went to Havana and although it is a beautiful old city the Cuaban's are letting it fall down around them. It is probably one of the dirtiest cities I have visited with garbage all over the streets and stray dogs lying on sidewalks and near tourist attractions.
Golf was the saving grace for our group. Great golf course, challenging and a spectacular view. Would recommend it to all golfers.

Other Comments:
Buyer beware.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not all it is cracked up to be."

Breezes Bella Costa
User Rating:  Breezes Bella Costa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on Feb 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
326 people found this review helpful

Bella Costa is an old hotel that needs to be refurbished. Taken over by Breezes approx. 3 yrs. ago. Staff are excellant, very pleasant and helpful. Friends found cockroaches and ants in their room, but we did not. Had a water leak on our section of the floor. Pool was fine, lots of chairs. Weather was so so, some days very windy couldn't used beach as it was too cold.

Your Arrival:
Trip from Toronto to Cuba was a long process as is with every trip. Arrival was fine, bus trip from airport to hotel not very long, but had to stop off at different hotels, that's expected. Greated by friendly front desk staff. Drinks awaiting your arrival.

Rooms:
Room not ready when we got there, had to wait couple of hours. Rooms cleaned every day. Our room overlooked the pool, ocean and stage. Entertainment ended at approx. 11 PM so don't try to sleep before that.Safe in the room. Towels not bath size, but adequate. No face cloths.

Restaurants and Bars:
Jimmy's restaurant good. Great staff, very helpful, you ask and they try to accomodate you. Specialty restaurant's not all they are cracked up to be. Italian restaurant presented you with a menu, but didn't have everything available. Head waiter rude. Japanese rest. not bad. Fish was good. Lobster on Thursday nights at Jimmy's. Beach rest. not bad, good french fries, pizza. Birds flying around all the time.
If you decided to tip you will get great service. Seems they pay more attention to those with money.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice. Took the long walk into Varadaro by the beach, 4 1/2 klms. one way. Clean. Life guards good at posting flags water conditions and jelly fish. Lots of lounges and sunshade.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Approx. 4 -5 games per day. Winner gets bottle. Took excursion into Havana. Not bad but because is was on a Monday some of the attractions were not open. Tour of castle limited to one area. Tour guide nice and informative. Lunch provided on tour, wasn't bad. Kids begging all the time. When you say no they will continue to ask for money. Just walk away.

Other Comments:
I haven't decided if I would ever to return to Cuba. Once was enough. If you go outside the resort and need to use the facilities take some kleenex with you as they don't have any or they will ask for money for some. Shopping is not great, just junk at the markets, same everywhere. Wood carvings very nice, but do not think they would last in Canada because of the temperature here. Would likely crack and dry out. Vendors will bargin. We also took a taxi (old car) into town and it was a nightmare. Not all taxis as bad as the one we had. Took a taxi back to hotel from town and used the newer vehicle. Cost in the area of $5.00 p. Lots of places to drink in town, didn't try any food.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Experience"

Breezes Bella Costa
User Rating:  Breezes Bella Costa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Vicki  on Feb 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Business | Family and Kids
260 people found this review helpful

I travelled with my 15 year old daughter. This was my third time to Cuba and although it was not the most beautiful resort I have stayed at, I have to say it was the best in alot of respects. It's a little run down ...could use a face lift, but was very clean

Your Arrival:
We arrived on Saturday January 30 for a one week stay. We flew Sunwing and had a wonderful flight. Getting our luggage was very quick and we were ready to roll on the bus in about 20 minutes. Though it states that it is only 35 minutes from the airport it took over an hour because of all the stops the bus made to drop other guests off at different resorts.
Check in was quick and our room was ready when we got there (12:00 noon)

Rooms:
The room was quite spacious and clean. The room itself and the bathroom were tired looking(needs some updating), but was adequate. Lots of closet space but not many drawers. Our cable kept cutting out when we had HBO on but no big deal. You get one bottle of water the day you arrive and then have to keep filling it up at the bar because they do not give you any more after that. Our maid was wonderful and made beautiful displays with our towels and fresh flowers an our beds. We left her 2 pesos a day and she left us a nice note each day telling us how happy our tip made her and how grateful she was.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food at this resort was very good. Jimmy's buffet had a large assortment to choose from and the food was fresh and delicious. We ate at all of the a-la-cartes and they were all awesome. My favourite was the Cuban restaurant. The beach grill was great for lunch as well. It had a nice buffet and a station where you could get freshly made pizza almost all day. The pizza was excellent, although you had to wait quite a while in line during the lunch hours Jimmy's buffet has a lobster night every Thursday. Get there right at 6:30 though or you will be waiting in a big line.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was small but adequate. water was a bit cold as well but once you got in it was very refreshing. The beach was beautiful with lots of chairs and cabanas available, so you didn't have to be there at the crack of dawn to get one. Lots of chairs around the pool as well. They were never all occupied

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There were activities and games during the day and the staff were very good at getting a lot of people to participate. They had entertainment every night at 9:30. Typical cuban show with dancers and music but we saw one of the best magic shows I have ever seen.

Other Comments:
I would definitely recommend this resort, especially for families with kids of all ages. It was fully booked when we were there but never seemed overcrowded. Great vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube