Iberostar Daiquiri Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Iberostar Daiquiri reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Guillermo Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Cayo Guillermo

4.3 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 30, 2014

Iberostar Daiquiri  

Cayo Guillermo, Jardines del Rey, Ciego de Avila, Cuba
(Jardines del Rey)

"adequate rooms"
Posted by: george on Jul 29, 2014
see all reviews

Iberostar Daiquiri Reviews
Iberostar Daiquiri Pictures and Information
Iberostar Daiquiri Cayo Guillermo Cuba

#2
of 4 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo

User rating 4.3

Based on 32 reviews

Iberostar Daiquiri Information


Located within the beautiful surroundings of Cayo Guillermo, the 4-star hotel Iberostar Daiquiri with a distinct architecture featuring a colonial town, tropical vegetation, wide private fine-sand beach and a coral reef 400 kilometers in length, is the ideal spot to spend a relaxing holiday next to a fine sandy beach.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Daiquiri Reviews

Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 4.3 of 5 32 reviews
Excellent
  13
Very good
  13
Average
  5
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (13)
Party (1)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 32

"adequate rooms"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  george  on Jul 29, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
22 people found this review helpful

The first thing that tripped me about this hotel is the amazing beach it has, I always find somewhere to stay there regardless of the time I go there. The resort has newly renovated rooms which were great, the rooms are clean and had enough space to accommodate me and my luggage. The bed was clean and comfortable, I am very sensitive when it comes to the type of bed sheet I use but the bed sheet here didn’t give me allergies or skin problems, they were dry cleaned properly and changed often throughout I stayed at this hotel. Since the rooms are newly renovated, the showers are new and working with good supply of hot water. The buffet was great and the buffet had wide variety for guests so you will hardly get repeated food. The a la carte restaurants are nice, I especially loved the Mexican restaurant and hoe to visit the hotel again so I can eat there. From the moment you step your feet on the premises of this hotel, the staff will treat you well, the services are top notch and incredible. The location is amazing because it is close to everything and everywhere. I followed the team that went for the catamaran excursion as most of their activities are free since they are mostly water sports. I love the lobby bar and they make the best Mojito I have ever taken in Cuba, I recommend this hotel you if you want the best. Thanks for a great time here.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"5 Star Holiday"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alec  on Jan 2, 2013  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
160 people found this review helpful

Before I started to write this review I had to go back and see what if anything people had to complain about. We were in Varadero in November at a same star resort and the Daiquiri was by far superior. We do not have one thing to complain about. Sr. Director I know you read these review’s so please convey to all your staff in all departments that they do a superb job. The Iberostar Daiquiri is a solid 4 star resort and we had a 5 star vacation.

CHECK IN; Very fast and professional

ROOMS; We had 4 rooms and they were all in the same building and as we requested. Cleaned daily and lots of towel art.

GROUNDS: Very clean and easy to navigate around.

POOL; Great pool, nice and clean.

BEACH; Very nice with lots of shade for everyone. No towel games here and we liked that.

FOOD; Good, a little more variety at the beach would have been nice. Mexican a la Carte, we found the best. I love my morning coffee & I had it coming out my ears. After the first morning I knew I was going to love this place.

ENTERTAINMENT; very good

BAR’S; All were great with great bar staff.

All 8 of us said we would go back again.

Room Block:
Varadero

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic holiday"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  BRIAN  on Mar 11, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
252 people found this review helpful

Just spent 14 glorious days at the daiquiri . Found all the employees we met from groundskeepers buffet front desk bar staff and animation team to be probably the most courteous group of people we have ever met on a resort.a little bit of respect goes a long way with the cuban people they work long hours for very little.get involved with some of the activities they offer we did and were known on a first name basis the next day. We always make a point of getting to know their names and introducing ourselves. Regarding some of the negative comments we have seen bed bugs are more than likely sand flea bites walk at waters edge to avoid them stay away from dry sand they will get caught in clothing if you do so ...some houseflies around resort but certainly no more than around most back gardens in north america outside large metro areas... Natives washing clothes would should not be a big issue did not see it but i would think most cubans would be hardpressed to find a washing machine on the island as nobody lives there ocean is big and can take a bit of dirty clothes not near as bad as what we in our developed country do to the waterways on a daily basis...no complaints with the food at this resort buffet was excellent...found numerous visitors who had gone to the resort for muliple visits which would indicate somwbody is doing something right... Plan to go back next year

Room Number:
5105

Room Block:
GUAMA

Arrival:
MET BY AIR CANADA REPRESNTATIVE FRONT DESK EXCELLENT

Rooms:
CLEANED DAILY AND VERY COMFORTABLE

Restaurants and Bars:
EXCELLENT

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
EXCELLENT

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
EXCELLENT

Other Comments:
HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice all inclusive resort"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ronald Beks  on Feb 28, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
247 people found this review helpful

Nice resort on a quiet island. beautifull (but bit small when tide is up) beach, just a few other resorts in the neighbourhood. Two pools, one with swim up bar. Staff is very friendly and works really hard to make your stay perfect (altough it could also be for the tips everybody seems to give....).
all day entertainment, so it is not possible to get bored here.
Rooms are nice and clean. restaurants are nice, food is ok, altough the mexican a la carte was not what we expected (more canadian-Mexican food we suppose, instead of real mexican food).

Arrival:
we arrived 2 hours before offical check in time, but we got our room immediatly anyway.

Rooms:
nice and clean

Restaurants and Bars:
ok, friendly staff

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
ok

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
all day entertainment, can't get bored!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Acceptable All Inclusive"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Claus Andreas Hygen  on Feb 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) NORWAY
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
223 people found this review helpful

Not a keen enthusiast of "All Inclusive" Resorts, we chose anyway to spend 4 days here. The rooms are in blocks spread out in a nice "tropical garden" aerea. The standard rooms are not luxurious, but rather nice, with a fridge, A/C and cable TV.
The breakfast is good (for Cuba that is), the buffet lunch and dinner will not win any gourmet awards, but are of acceptable standard, the Mexican restaurant was very good, keep away from the Cuban (the buffet is far better)!
The Hotel beach is nice, but narrow, and the water so shoal that you want be able to swim much.
But you don't really want to spend your time there. It's easy enough to get to Cayo Guillermo's main attraction, Play Pilar, by bus, rental car, scooter or bicycle.
All the usual cheesy "entertainment" including loud music by the pool, over eager leaders that want you to paricipate in silly games, shows at night (acceptable dancers) that could have been hold on any "All Inclusive Resort" in the world. And 98% of it has absolutly no connection with Cuban music or culture. This is the main reason for me to stay away from these resorts next time around.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic Experience"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rob  on Feb 5, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
263 people found this review helpful

Absolutely fantastic resort. Very clean with all of the amenities you would expect at a 4 star resort. The staff was very friendly and would do anything to accommodate your needs and requests. Tips of course go a long to improving the already great service but a few things are really appreciated. I gave some of the maintenance workers some tools, screwdrivers, pliers etc. and they were absolutely ecstatic. They always get forgotten in the world of tips. I would get overwhelmingly thanked 3 or 4 times a day, in a way you could see they were genuine and incredibly appreciative. I tipped the waitresses with pantyhose and the result was something that no amount of money could have generated. They would swoon over me to the point where they would run to me to ensure my wine glass was full and my needs were looked after even if I wasn’t in their section. It seems in Cuba, pantyhose goes further than dollars or pesos.
Beautiful beach, awesome pool, and a nightly entertainment show that was always fantastic. I’d definitely go again.
A food tip: fish: incredible, pork and chicken: excellent, beef: not so good.
Choose your food accordingly with some knowledge of the local availability and expertise. Most fish is fresh and caught locally, usually a few hours before you eat it.

Room Number:
5107

Arrival:
January 27, 2012

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent, see above

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Awesome, see above

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"At the beach while locals wash their clothers in the water? No thanks!"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Paolo  on Sep 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
310 people found this review helpful

On 16 august, during the afternoon, we were at the beach. Two people, NOT residing at the hotel came to the beach, spoke with one employee (that then left the beach), and entered the water with their clothes on. Then they washed their clothes in the water in front of all the tourists. I wonder if this is a common practice at this hotel.

Restaurants and Bars:
Tha lobby bar, called Mojito, does not make mojitos... Funny.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  sandra  on May 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Party | Family and Kids
368 people found this review helpful

We enjoyed 8 days at Iberostar Daiquiri, and it was absolutely lovely. The beach and pools were beautiful, drinks great and food very good. The staff were friendly and seemed to really like what they were doing. It was paradise. We were overlooking the main lobby, so it was a bit noisy some nights, but we could have switched our room easily, as our in-laws couldn't climb to our room floor, and were accommodated in a ground floor room, immediately.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Sometimes noisy at pool area, depending on what was going on, music and announcer for events, but you could always escape to the nearby beach....

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities were numerous and encouragement to participate was good. Or you could just sit back and watch the fun.

We especially enjoyed an off resort trip in a pontoon boat to a local small cayo for lunch and snorkelling.

Other Comments:
Ah, that rum, delicious....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Take time out"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  sandra  on Mar 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
385 people found this review helpful

I feel that I also have to defend the Daquiri. We have been to Cuba 8 times now -- 4 of them spent at the Daquiri. I have never found them to be anything but welcoming, from check-in to the restaurants to the pool/beach attendants and bars. I have, however, seen them react more 'cool-ly' to folk that treat them without any manners or respect. (Let's face it, how would you react to someone who spoke very condescendingly to you??) The food is different than Canada, but we have never ever had to do 'without'. Breakfast caters to all visitors -- "American" style (bacon/ham/eggs/pancakes etc) "European" (cold cuts/cheeses/breads/crackers) "Continental" (rolls/pasteries) plus fresh fruit, cereals, coffee juices. Lunch and dinner are similar, with several choices of entree, veg. and dessert. There is also pizza, pasta, hamburgs/hotdogs and fries. Yes, there is a fair amount of fish/seafood -- it's and ISLAND and surrounded by the sea! Beef is not as tender as we are used to (have you seen their cows??) There was plenty of chicken/turkey and pork/ham. Basically, if you can't find something to eat at all meals, you are waaaaaay too picky.

Room Number:
5235

Room Block:
Habana

Rooms:
As for the rooms -- we have stayed in 4 different buildings, the latest being "Habana". Always they have been clean and kept so daily. We had made a request through our travel agent that we be away from the disco and on a second floor -- both of these requests were met. Granted, some of the rooms may be a little 'tired' regarding decor, but they are constantly refurbishing the buildings, and it is possible that you may be in one that has not been re-done recently. If there is anything amiss, it is easy to call the desk and ask for assistance/repair.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is groomed daily. The staff on the beach (2 guys moving chairs) were very friendly and helpful. In fact, "Horhe" (George) hiked two chairs from the main beach area down to the watercraft area for me, as there were no more chairs in that area.

The pool is immaculately clean. The guys are out there every morning scrubbing the deck and walls of the pool, hosing down the chairs, washing down the little 'tables' under the palapas.

As stated in another review, there is a problem with people 'reserving' chairs, sometimes both at the beach and the pool even though their are signs posted saying this is not allowed. Unfortunately, such ill-mannered folk are everywhere, and feel that the rules do not apply them.

Other Comments:
We have found the Ibirostar Daquiri to be nothing, if not friendly and welcoming and a great holiday. Regarding activities, you can do as little or as much as you like. The "Animacion" team offer activities all day long -- archery, shooting, vollyball, minigolf, bowling, water exercise, dance lessons, etc etc etc -- and a good part of the evening/night as well(shows/disco). Would we go back again? Absolutely!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would not return"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Suzanne  on Mar 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
401 people found this review helpful

It was my first time to Cuba. The flight was great with sunwing there and back. to hotel was gorgeous. the problems start at the front desk.the staff are not very helpful and sometimes very snotty. kept refering us to guest services who spent their time booking restaurants. never got to lie on the beach as guests reserve their chaise lounges with their towels and are gone for hours at a time. I even saw the same guests at the pool when they had their chairs on the beach reserved with their towels. There are signs forbbing this, but nobody to enforce it. Guests should not have to get into altercations with other guests about this problem. Then there was the Mojito bar. Did not get a Mojito due to lack of mint according to bar tenders even though people we met from other resorts were having Mojitos. This is obviously because the bar staff didn't want to make them. We finally got one from another waiter who went to the kitchen to get mint and made us one 2 hours before getting on the bus to go to the airport.Except for the women at the front desk and staff at the Mojito Bar the remainder of the staff were exceptional. The friendliest people I have ever met who went out of their way to accommodate us. But the above problems left a bad taste in my mouth. Why do to a beach resort if you can't access the beach?

Room Number:
3321

Room Block:
3rd floor Granma

Arrival:
Feb. 24,2011 to Mar.3,2011

Rooms:
Kept very clean. Great woman cleaning. Her name was Raisa.

Restaurants and Bars:
The staff at the restaurants were exceptional. And also the other bar staff with the exception of the Mojito Bar.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Got to go to the beach once, went instead to the pool where once again chairs were reserved under the huts so forced to lie in the sun constantly. Pino, who serves fresh coconuts every day was a peach. Nice personality and made the time at the pool memorable. The gardens were phenominal. Those guys are hardest working of the entire staff.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Enjoyed the entertainment but once again, not enough seating. We didn't know that this was the Quebec spring break, so many many kids and the chairs in the room were taken up by little kids who were up well after 11pm. This is a bar after all. The entertainment from 9:30 on was adult. WE enjoyed the trip to Pillar Beach immensely. The lunch was good also. Worth the money. Got to lie on the beach there.

Other Comments:
It seems the desk staff who have the cushiest jobs are the snobbiest and of little help. They need to have classes in public relations. The remainder of the staff were beyond reproach. They were exceptional.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube