Iberostar Daiquiri Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Iberostar Daiquiri reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Guillermo Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Cayo Guillermo

4.3 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 30, 2014

Iberostar Daiquiri  

Cayo Guillermo, Jardines del Rey, Ciego de Avila, Cuba
(Jardines del Rey)

"adequate rooms"
Posted by: george on Jul 29, 2014
see all reviews

Iberostar Daiquiri Reviews
Iberostar Daiquiri Pictures and Information
Iberostar Daiquiri Cayo Guillermo Cuba

#2
of 4 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo

User rating 4.3

Based on 32 reviews

Iberostar Daiquiri Information


Located within the beautiful surroundings of Cayo Guillermo, the 4-star hotel Iberostar Daiquiri with a distinct architecture featuring a colonial town, tropical vegetation, wide private fine-sand beach and a coral reef 400 kilometers in length, is the ideal spot to spend a relaxing holiday next to a fine sandy beach.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Daiquiri Reviews

Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 4.3 of 5 32 reviews
Excellent
  13
Very good
  13
Average
  5
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (13)
Party (1)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 32

"At the beach while locals wash their clothers in the water? No thanks!"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Paolo  on Sep 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
301 people found this review helpful

On 16 august, during the afternoon, we were at the beach. Two people, NOT residing at the hotel came to the beach, spoke with one employee (that then left the beach), and entered the water with their clothes on. Then they washed their clothes in the water in front of all the tourists. I wonder if this is a common practice at this hotel.

Restaurants and Bars:
Tha lobby bar, called Mojito, does not make mojitos... Funny.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"BED BUGS AND A HALF!"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anastasia  on Jan 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
258 people found this review helpful

A little background info. We're a couple in our mid to late twenties and I'd like to stress I am writing this review without bias, as I realize other individuals rely heavily upon reviews when making decisions about vacation spots.

Room Number:
3401 & 4369

Room Block:
Granma & Manzas

Arrival:
The flight was pretty turbulent both there and back, however the entire process went quite smoothly. We found the rep for transat and asked if the bus was going to Iberostar Daiquiri and it was, so they put our luggage away and we hopped on. The bus ride itself was incredibly bumpy and I had to put my head down to avoid bringing up, however it's not the drivers fault as the roads aren't in the greatest condition there.

The check in process was quick and we were up in our room within about 20 minutes or so. We were slightly disappointed that we had to pay 2 pesos extra a day for a safe though ...

Rooms:
The first room we were in was in the Granma block, room 3401 and had a walk-out patio area with a table and chairs which was nice, however their was a leak in the bathroom from the room upstairs. Apparently, their toilet was leaking down into our bathroom. There was also no remote control for the tv as well (which isn't really a big issue), but the main issue was the leak, specifically for sanitary reasons.

The second room we were moved to, which was 4369 in the Manzas block was perfect, until we went to turn on the tv and yet again, there was another problem. The picture was completely distorted. After called a few times over the course of two days, a technician finally came and replaced the tv, but that was the least of our problems. I kept getting bites around the ankles and on my arms, despite the fact that I would wear pants and a sweater out in the evenings due to the chill from the wind. By our fifth day, I had about 60 bites on my arms and legs, some of which were in clusters. Two of my friends also started developing the same type of bites as well. Upon returning to Toronto, I had a grand total of 100+ bites and I started doing some researching and also paid a trip to my doctor who confirmed my fear ... I had been bitten by bed bugs and am now on antibiotics along with a full body lotion to help with the swelling, burning, and itching.

The rooms were kept clean and our maid was very sweet, leaving us all kinds of designs with the towels, however bed bugs are a major issue at this resort, as we weren't the only ones who experienced this problem. If you read other reviews on different websites, you'll notice a pattern regarding the bed bug issue.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars were all pretty good, no complaints there. We really like the disco bar and pool bar. They make the same drink differently at each bar which we thought was pretty funny! They all taste great though. The blue lagoon, blue daiquiri, and rainbow punch, and miami vice (not mixed) were all really yummy! Make sure to tip the bar tenders here and there, because they don't make very much money at all and they could use the extra cash.

We decided to forgo the italian and cuban a la cartes, as our friends said they weren't very good. The main buffet is decent. All the rice and veggie dishes were great, but the pasta sauce tastes really strange along with some of the meat and chicken dishes. Stick to the fish if you can! The pizza would have been ok, if it wasn't for that weird cheese they use. All the desserts were fantastic, so if you find the food to strange tasting, just stick with the fruit, bread, and desserts!

We did try the mexican a la carte and it was pretty good. The appetizers were actually better than the main courses. I had the chicken fajitas with no complaints and my boyfriend had the chicken and beef skewers and didn't really like the beed. It was pretty chewy.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach: The beach was gorgeous. I stayed at the Melia last January and thought the beach was a bit wider there, however the beach at the Iberostar was just as stunning. Crystal clear water (provided the water is calm) and white sand. The water is a bit cool, but it's too be expected if you're traveling to Cuba during their winter. The beach was always clean, with very very minimal seaweed. I would go back to cayo guillermo just for the beach. It really is that gorgeous.

Pool: There's actually only one pool at this resort and the water is freezing! You have to work your way into the water inch by inch, so your body can adjust. There's a tiny pool for kids which is only about one foot deep and we found ourselves lounging in there because it was significantly warmer. The pool bar was different from what I've seen before as the seats are actually up out of the water, rather than in the water. Nonetheless, it was still quite nice.

Grounds: The grounds were always well kept, with gardeners working throughout the day, maintaining the property. There are a lot of beautiful large bushes with pretty red, pink, and yellow flowers. All in all the property is very well kept.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't really partake in the activities. They offer volley ball, bingo, water activities etc. We mainly enjoyed the shows and disco after the shows, which was a lot of fun.

I went to pilar beach on my previous trip to Cuba and it's definitely worth seeing. One of the most beautiful beaches in the Caribbean.

Other Comments:
Some of the bad: Again, I have to stress the problem with bed bugs. Quite a few people staying at the resort at the same time as us, have complained about bed bug bites. As I mentioned above, I am currently on antibiotics and have to use a body lotion for the intense burning and itching. The bites are enough to ruin a vacation, as they itch and burn non-stop and are far worse than any mosquito bite. If you're planning on still going to this resort after reading what I've written, I suggest you thoroughly inspect your mattresses and sofa for bugs, bug feces, and blood stains and if you happen to find any, ask to switch rooms and check again.

In addition, I was also harassed by some of the male entertainment staff. We made friends with a couple of them and also they tended to be a little "touchy", I would keep reminding them that I did in fact have a boyfriend (whom they also made friends with) ... the one incident that occurred which is completely unacceptable, was that one of the dancers grabbed my crotch from behind as I was walking in front of him and made it seem like it was no big deal when I freaked out on him. Furthermore, if you're a family going there on vacation with teenage daughters, please think twice because you'd be shocked to know what happens at that resort after hours between not only the entertainment staff and vacationers, but also between the young vacationers. We were actually quite shocked.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Acceptable All Inclusive"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Claus Andreas Hygen  on Feb 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) NORWAY
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
217 people found this review helpful

Not a keen enthusiast of "All Inclusive" Resorts, we chose anyway to spend 4 days here. The rooms are in blocks spread out in a nice "tropical garden" aerea. The standard rooms are not luxurious, but rather nice, with a fridge, A/C and cable TV.
The breakfast is good (for Cuba that is), the buffet lunch and dinner will not win any gourmet awards, but are of acceptable standard, the Mexican restaurant was very good, keep away from the Cuban (the buffet is far better)!
The Hotel beach is nice, but narrow, and the water so shoal that you want be able to swim much.
But you don't really want to spend your time there. It's easy enough to get to Cayo Guillermo's main attraction, Play Pilar, by bus, rental car, scooter or bicycle.
All the usual cheesy "entertainment" including loud music by the pool, over eager leaders that want you to paricipate in silly games, shows at night (acceptable dancers) that could have been hold on any "All Inclusive Resort" in the world. And 98% of it has absolutly no connection with Cuban music or culture. This is the main reason for me to stay away from these resorts next time around.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would not return"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Suzanne  on Mar 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
388 people found this review helpful

It was my first time to Cuba. The flight was great with sunwing there and back. to hotel was gorgeous. the problems start at the front desk.the staff are not very helpful and sometimes very snotty. kept refering us to guest services who spent their time booking restaurants. never got to lie on the beach as guests reserve their chaise lounges with their towels and are gone for hours at a time. I even saw the same guests at the pool when they had their chairs on the beach reserved with their towels. There are signs forbbing this, but nobody to enforce it. Guests should not have to get into altercations with other guests about this problem. Then there was the Mojito bar. Did not get a Mojito due to lack of mint according to bar tenders even though people we met from other resorts were having Mojitos. This is obviously because the bar staff didn't want to make them. We finally got one from another waiter who went to the kitchen to get mint and made us one 2 hours before getting on the bus to go to the airport.Except for the women at the front desk and staff at the Mojito Bar the remainder of the staff were exceptional. The friendliest people I have ever met who went out of their way to accommodate us. But the above problems left a bad taste in my mouth. Why do to a beach resort if you can't access the beach?

Room Number:
3321

Room Block:
3rd floor Granma

Arrival:
Feb. 24,2011 to Mar.3,2011

Rooms:
Kept very clean. Great woman cleaning. Her name was Raisa.

Restaurants and Bars:
The staff at the restaurants were exceptional. And also the other bar staff with the exception of the Mojito Bar.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Got to go to the beach once, went instead to the pool where once again chairs were reserved under the huts so forced to lie in the sun constantly. Pino, who serves fresh coconuts every day was a peach. Nice personality and made the time at the pool memorable. The gardens were phenominal. Those guys are hardest working of the entire staff.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Enjoyed the entertainment but once again, not enough seating. We didn't know that this was the Quebec spring break, so many many kids and the chairs in the room were taken up by little kids who were up well after 11pm. This is a bar after all. The entertainment from 9:30 on was adult. WE enjoyed the trip to Pillar Beach immensely. The lunch was good also. Worth the money. Got to lie on the beach there.

Other Comments:
It seems the desk staff who have the cushiest jobs are the snobbiest and of little help. They need to have classes in public relations. The remainder of the staff were beyond reproach. They were exceptional.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"If you get a good deal try it out!!"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Ken & Pam from Nova Scotia  on Mar 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
110 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 21
We arrived at 12 midnite, check in was smooth and fast, front desk staff is excellent and friendly!

Rooms
we were in Mantanza building 4368, a renovated room with a great view of the ocean! The renovations are minimal, same old black/white trim with a little varathan:) new curtains and a love seat and fresh paint.......very acceptable accomadations for a 4 star.

Restaurants and Bars
the buffet is the BEST I have ever been at in many. many trips. No need to ever go hungry, lots of fresh choices, meat. pork. fish. lobster on Friday....pasta, pizza..........endless choices! The Cuban was disgusting as was the service. We have been to this resort 3 times and I was shocked by the meal we were served here and the SIX friends I recommended the resort to.........not fit to eat. The Mexican was good and the service was better, we did not get to the Italian.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
the beach and pool are both excellent but the time we were there it was so windy you couldn t sit on the beach without a parka!! only the last couple da ys, so we hung around the pool alot. To get the real beauty of this resort you have to be at the beach IMO. The grounds and the gardners are jsut awesome......always little "gifts" for the ladies from the gardners!! rememebr them when you bring gifts, work gloves. hats or any little tools or jack knives are sought after!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
the star friends.....lead by a great guy " Willy" will keep you as busy as you like !! Tell Willy Tom Cruise says hi!! we went on a buggy ride to all the other resorts for an hour. looked around and shopped in thier stores..........5 pesos each!! best deal in town

Other Comments
while this is a nice, quiet. safe resort and an excellent place to get fed!! it has definatly gone down hill since my last visit, some major staff changes that didn t help .....I recommended it to 6 friends and for the first time found several issues that were not there 2 years ago or during our other visits. If you get a good deal try it out!!

sandylk@hfx.eastlink.ca

Photos: http://family.webshots.com/album/570768332lBvgJK

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The buffet at Iberostar was AMAZING."

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Marilyn and Charlene from Guelph, Ontario  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
144 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 25- May 2
Arrival and check-in at Iberostar was quite smooth. We were checked in and off to our rooms within 15 minutes.

Rooms:
We were initially not impressed with our room. The room we were given was in the 5000 block on the first floor (5101 to be exact). The room was very musty smelling and there was mould in the closet. As we checked out the rest of the room we noticed that there was no door on our safe. We were not comfortable with leaving our valuables unlocked so we called up to the front desk to request a new room. We were told that they had nothing available for us that day, but to check back the next day and they would try to move us. We insisted to be moved that day b/c of my Mom's allergies and the fact of leaving our valuables unattended. A couple of hours later, they had another room ready for us in the 2000 block and this room was much better. The rooms are dated and a little "tired" looking, but you're just there to sleep, right?

Restaurants and Bars:v The buffet at Iberostar was AMAZING. I have travelled to Cuba, DR, and Jamaica and by far this was the best food I've had. Always tons of variety and everything is labelled so u know what you are eating. Lots of good breads and cheese, fruits and veggies. The a la cartes were give or take, although I will say if you are to go to any of them (Mexican, Italian, Cuban), definitely hit up the Mexican. My mom had a shrimp dish which was to die for and I had some really tasty chicken fajitas. They also had some yummy quesedillas and guacamole on the appetizer buffet.

The bars were all pretty good. I agree with most people about the service at the pool/swim-up bar being pretty slow. We were disappointed to only have mojitos for one day. Apparently they were out of mint although we saw it growing in abundance along the beach.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Unfortunately for us, it was so windy the week we were there that we were only able to go to the beach on one afternoon. Even at that, it was a little chilly. The pool was beautiful though. Always clean and lots of chairs. We went out pretty early to ensure we got one of the chairs with an umbrella. They were always gone or "reserved" by 7:30 am.

Other Comments:
One major comment about this place. Bring your own tissue/toilet paper and hand sanitizer. There was NEVER any toilet paper, soap or paper towel in any of the washrooms (with the exception of our room). We found this very annoying and hopefully the resort will step up in this aspect.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach was a bit disappointing!"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kirinda from Nova Scotia  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
84 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 14 - 21
We arrived around midnight. Long line up to check in but we are used to that. My husband went to get drinks while we waited-SHOCKED to learn that the bars ALL close by 1:00 am (even though the site says 24 hour bars)

Rooms
Our room was great, third floor and NO bugs. Very clean and towels and facecloths daily. The toilet didn't always flush properly. The maids are sweet!

Restaurants and Bars
The buffet restaurant was by far the best place to eat. Lots of choices and GOOD food! We did 2 A-la Carte restaurants and we very displeased with both (Mexican and Italian) We got food poisoning from the mussels at Mexican. Both had a buffet type set up. We expect service at A-la Carte Restaurants.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach was a bit disappointing! It was very skinny and you had to wait all day for the tide to go out. The pools are not as deep as we would have liked. We generally would hang out at the beach all day and move up to the pool for late afternoon. We could always find a chair. Service was slow at times for the swim up bar.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Lots of activities on the beach and pool side if you want to participate. But if you don't they respect that! Didn't do any tours but enjoyed the hobie cats and paddle boats at the resort!

Other Comments
It was a nice resort I would go again for a really good deal, if not I'm sticking to Varadero (Tryp was the best by far)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"There is a flamingo pond"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lynne  on Feb 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
88 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb.7 - 21
Flew from Toronto (6:10 a.m. Sat.) via Sunwing; wonderful flight, arrived early, well worth extra for more leg room. Through customs and onto the bus no problem, impressed by the fact that no-one seemed to have problem with English. Check-in at reception didn't take long, loaded up our luggage and sent us off with directions to the room. One problem arose right away; the room assigned to us reeked of smoke so badly that there was no way we could stay in it, even one night, so off we returned to reception, to be told hotel was full, come back next day. We insisted that we would not stay in such a stinky room (they do not have non-smoking rooms), so the staff searched around a bit, suggested a couple of other rooms and sent us off to inspect the second find. It was great! On the third floor in a nice quiet building, not far from the main reception, buffet, or pool.

Rooms
The rooms were cleaned daily, fresh towels (and facecloths!) daily if you requested them, always some kind of towel or blanket sculpture awaiting. The bathrooms looked a bit worse for wear, but were clean, no problem with water pressure or temperature during the 2 weeks. The balcony was quite large with lots of palm trees to look out over. Only drawback was that it faced about due north, and we had a few days around 23-24C with high wi0nds, so felt "chilly" to sit out. Found a large area at the top of the stairs which was protected from the wind and partly sunny, so hung out there a bit.

Restaurants and Bars
We didn't frequent the bars much, but got good service while sitting in the lobby. The buffet restaurant was entirely non-smoking. There was always a wide variety of dishes to pick from, so I think you'd have to be really picky not to find enough. There was an abundance of fresh seafood every day, including rock lobster, calarmari, shrimp, and various fish. If you're not a seafood lover, there was always beef, pork, chicken, lamb, ham, etc. and the ever-present pizza and pasta bar. Lots of salads, soup, bread and rolls, desserts (usually looked better than they tasted, but some exceptions) and really, really good ice cream. Breakfast chefs cooked eggs or omelletes to order, kudos to Pablo for keeping his cool with the guy who wanted a six-egg-white omellete every morning! Went to all three a la cartes, was most disappointed with the Italian (pizza and spaghetti? at the buffet twice a day), but the chicken dish was good. The Mexican was the best, but the Cuban had the disadvantage of being located in the open-air building on the beach (in the process of closing it in, but we went on one of those really windy days!). Every night at the buffet restaurant, and at the Cuban, diners were seranaded by the house band, who are really talented, especially the singers.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach was nice white sand and turqoise water. We didn't have any problems with chairs. Didn't frequent the pool, the water was cold for most of our stay due to the cooler than normal weather. The gardens for the most part are gorgeous; bougainvilla (?) up and over the third floor on many buildings, lots of other flowers and greenery. We were thrilled to see a hummingbird the first 2 days, but then it was not seen again. There is a flamingo pond (including a couple of Mallard ducks), and a fish pond by the pool where the white Ibis and a kingfisher were known to frequent for snacks.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Part of our group of 8 went on the excursion to snorkel off Pilar Beach, enjoyed in very much. One went via the "train" for 5 pesos return. Two of us went to Trinidad; enjoyable but a really long day and didn't seem like quite enough time to do it justice.

Other Comments
We will definitely return to the Iberostar Daiquiri; unanimous among the 8 that it has the best beach of all the resorts we've visited. The staff are very good, very friendly, and even the housekeeper spoke and wrote English. Note to cat lovers - we saw 7 local cats at the resort, who would come by at mealtimes; 2 brown tabbies and a little fuzzy black one were very friendly, but the other black ones and the black and white kitty were very shy.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Très bon hôtel"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  masnada christophe  on Jan 25, 2008  >  10 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Jan, 2008
179 people found this review helpful

Nous sommes allés 2 fois dans cet hôtel. Les jardins sont magnifiques, la plage paradisiaque et pour les grincheux qui disent qu'elle est petite, il faut savoir qu'il y a une marée et que la plage est étroite le matin et immense l'après midi... Pour ce qui est des algues, il y en a quelques unes mais rien de bien grave ! Le service est très sympa, sans pour autant distribuer de cadeaux à tout va ! le comportement respectueux et la gentillesse est primordiale ! nous avons toujours été bien servis sans distribuer des pourboires a tout va ! Certaines chambres auraient besoin d'une rénovation mais rien de bien grave ! La nourriture est très bonne. En prenant un catamaran au club de sport de la plage, ils vous emmenent au large, il y a des milliers de poissons et de magnifiques coraux !! Bref, je vous conseille cet endroit paradisiaque ! Mais faites plutôt un combiné avec la Havane car Cayo Guillermo est isolé et on ne voit rien du vrai Cuba ! http://www.cayoguillermo.fr/cayoguillermo.html

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The staff at the IB Daiquiri are fantastic !!!!"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Peter from Fredericton, NB  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Feb, 2009
96 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 28 - Mar 7
Very smooth - met at the plane by a highway coach and a friendly guide.

Rooms
Good size. Slightly musty but nothing too bad. Bathroom was very adequate.

Restaurants and Bars
Main buffet food was good, especially for breakfast. Lots of choice. great service. Beach restaurant likewise. A la cartes were decent but nothing special. Pool bar also had snacks (burgers, hot dogs, etc) in the late afternoon. Main lobby bar is great, especially from 7 pm on when it is a center of activity. Nightly shows by the "Star Friends" are well done.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach is gorgeous. Lots of shades available. Pool is very nice. Lots of chairs but people do seem to reserve them early. Grounds are beautiful and VERY well maintained.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Full day catamaran trip was excellent.
Visit to Playa Pilar was great.

Other Comments
The staff at the IB Daiquiri are fantastic !!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube