Iberostar Daiquiri Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Iberostar Daiquiri reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Guillermo Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Cayo Guillermo

4.3 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 27, 2012

Iberostar Daiquiri  

Cayo Guillermo, Jardines del Rey, Ciego de Avila, Cuba
(Jardines del Rey)

"5 Star Holiday"
Posted by: Alec  on Jan 2, 2013
see all reviews

Iberostar Daiquiri Reviews
Iberostar Daiquiri Pictures and Information
Iberostar Daiquiri Cayo Guillermo Cuba

#2
of 4 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo

User rating 4.3

Based on 31 reviews

Iberostar Daiquiri Information


Located within the beautiful surroundings of Cayo Guillermo, the 4-star hotel Iberostar Daiquiri with a distinct architecture featuring a colonial town, tropical vegetation, wide private fine-sand beach and a coral reef 400 kilometers in length, is the ideal spot to spend a relaxing holiday next to a fine sandy beach.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Daiquiri Reviews

Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 4.3 of 5 31 reviews
Excellent
  13
Very good
  12
Average
  5
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (12)
Party (1)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With Group
11 - 20 of 31

"BED BUGS AND A HALF!"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anastasia  on Jan 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
252 people found this review helpful

A little background info. We're a couple in our mid to late twenties and I'd like to stress I am writing this review without bias, as I realize other individuals rely heavily upon reviews when making decisions about vacation spots.

Room Number:
3401 & 4369

Room Block:
Granma & Manzas

Arrival:
The flight was pretty turbulent both there and back, however the entire process went quite smoothly. We found the rep for transat and asked if the bus was going to Iberostar Daiquiri and it was, so they put our luggage away and we hopped on. The bus ride itself was incredibly bumpy and I had to put my head down to avoid bringing up, however it's not the drivers fault as the roads aren't in the greatest condition there.

The check in process was quick and we were up in our room within about 20 minutes or so. We were slightly disappointed that we had to pay 2 pesos extra a day for a safe though ...

Rooms:
The first room we were in was in the Granma block, room 3401 and had a walk-out patio area with a table and chairs which was nice, however their was a leak in the bathroom from the room upstairs. Apparently, their toilet was leaking down into our bathroom. There was also no remote control for the tv as well (which isn't really a big issue), but the main issue was the leak, specifically for sanitary reasons.

The second room we were moved to, which was 4369 in the Manzas block was perfect, until we went to turn on the tv and yet again, there was another problem. The picture was completely distorted. After called a few times over the course of two days, a technician finally came and replaced the tv, but that was the least of our problems. I kept getting bites around the ankles and on my arms, despite the fact that I would wear pants and a sweater out in the evenings due to the chill from the wind. By our fifth day, I had about 60 bites on my arms and legs, some of which were in clusters. Two of my friends also started developing the same type of bites as well. Upon returning to Toronto, I had a grand total of 100+ bites and I started doing some researching and also paid a trip to my doctor who confirmed my fear ... I had been bitten by bed bugs and am now on antibiotics along with a full body lotion to help with the swelling, burning, and itching.

The rooms were kept clean and our maid was very sweet, leaving us all kinds of designs with the towels, however bed bugs are a major issue at this resort, as we weren't the only ones who experienced this problem. If you read other reviews on different websites, you'll notice a pattern regarding the bed bug issue.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars were all pretty good, no complaints there. We really like the disco bar and pool bar. They make the same drink differently at each bar which we thought was pretty funny! They all taste great though. The blue lagoon, blue daiquiri, and rainbow punch, and miami vice (not mixed) were all really yummy! Make sure to tip the bar tenders here and there, because they don't make very much money at all and they could use the extra cash.

We decided to forgo the italian and cuban a la cartes, as our friends said they weren't very good. The main buffet is decent. All the rice and veggie dishes were great, but the pasta sauce tastes really strange along with some of the meat and chicken dishes. Stick to the fish if you can! The pizza would have been ok, if it wasn't for that weird cheese they use. All the desserts were fantastic, so if you find the food to strange tasting, just stick with the fruit, bread, and desserts!

We did try the mexican a la carte and it was pretty good. The appetizers were actually better than the main courses. I had the chicken fajitas with no complaints and my boyfriend had the chicken and beef skewers and didn't really like the beed. It was pretty chewy.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach: The beach was gorgeous. I stayed at the Melia last January and thought the beach was a bit wider there, however the beach at the Iberostar was just as stunning. Crystal clear water (provided the water is calm) and white sand. The water is a bit cool, but it's too be expected if you're traveling to Cuba during their winter. The beach was always clean, with very very minimal seaweed. I would go back to cayo guillermo just for the beach. It really is that gorgeous.

Pool: There's actually only one pool at this resort and the water is freezing! You have to work your way into the water inch by inch, so your body can adjust. There's a tiny pool for kids which is only about one foot deep and we found ourselves lounging in there because it was significantly warmer. The pool bar was different from what I've seen before as the seats are actually up out of the water, rather than in the water. Nonetheless, it was still quite nice.

Grounds: The grounds were always well kept, with gardeners working throughout the day, maintaining the property. There are a lot of beautiful large bushes with pretty red, pink, and yellow flowers. All in all the property is very well kept.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't really partake in the activities. They offer volley ball, bingo, water activities etc. We mainly enjoyed the shows and disco after the shows, which was a lot of fun.

I went to pilar beach on my previous trip to Cuba and it's definitely worth seeing. One of the most beautiful beaches in the Caribbean.

Other Comments:
Some of the bad: Again, I have to stress the problem with bed bugs. Quite a few people staying at the resort at the same time as us, have complained about bed bug bites. As I mentioned above, I am currently on antibiotics and have to use a body lotion for the intense burning and itching. The bites are enough to ruin a vacation, as they itch and burn non-stop and are far worse than any mosquito bite. If you're planning on still going to this resort after reading what I've written, I suggest you thoroughly inspect your mattresses and sofa for bugs, bug feces, and blood stains and if you happen to find any, ask to switch rooms and check again.

In addition, I was also harassed by some of the male entertainment staff. We made friends with a couple of them and also they tended to be a little "touchy", I would keep reminding them that I did in fact have a boyfriend (whom they also made friends with) ... the one incident that occurred which is completely unacceptable, was that one of the dancers grabbed my crotch from behind as I was walking in front of him and made it seem like it was no big deal when I freaked out on him. Furthermore, if you're a family going there on vacation with teenage daughters, please think twice because you'd be shocked to know what happens at that resort after hours between not only the entertainment staff and vacationers, but also between the young vacationers. We were actually quite shocked.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This is One Great Resort in a Tropical Paradise!"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jennifer  on Nov 3, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
195 people found this review helpful

My family and I just spent a wonderful week at the Iberostar Daiquiri in Cayo Guillermo, Cuba. We were there from October 26 to November 2, 2010 and flew on Sunwing from Toronto, Canada.
This was our 2nd time at this resort...we had such a nice time last year, we decided to go back again this year!

Arrival:
The airport is modern and clean. Customs and baggage pick-up took no time at all and within minutes, we were sitting on a brand new tour bus ready to be taken to the Iberostar.
The Sunwing reps were professional and friendly and spoke perfect English.

Check-in at the Iberostar Daiquiri was fast and easy. A porter helped take our bags to our room.

Rooms:
Spacious with a lovely balcony to sit out on.
Clean!!! Very clean!
The TV got some interesting channels and my daughters were able to watch iCarly in the late afternoons after a day out in the sun while my husband and I relaxed on the balcony with a drink.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate in the main dining room and enjoyed every meal. The wait staff is wonderful! Many of the same staff we warmly remembered from our trip last year were there to greet us...and they remembered us too!
The Cuban people employed at the Iberostar are beautiful and friendly. They know how to offer true service to the guests. We got better and more genuine service here than we get at home dining out in Toronto!

The bartenders are great too; they mix up the drinks fast and good! Coffee too.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool is gorgeous! We all really loved swimming in the pool and sitting by it every morning. Lots of chairs to sit on, no waking up early to reserve needed.
Beautiful!
The beach is stunning; fine white sand and clear, aqua water. Shallow for the kids too.

The grounds around the Iberostar were lovely to walk through. Beautiful tropical plants and palm trees to enjoy.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Spent an afternoon at Pilar Beach, a few km from the Iberostar. We hired a taxi for 10 pesos return trip. There is a restaurant there for snacks and drinks.
This is a truly beautiful beach that is worth the trip.

Other Comments:
Cuba is a tremendous place to visit; the culture is fascinating and rich, the people are beautiful and friendly, the island is a paradise.
Iberostar Daiquiri is a terrific resort to come for a relaxing vacation. The service is outstanding, the food is great, the resort is clean and well-managed. Don't hesitate!
Also, you can get freshly rolled Cohiba cigars to enjoy too for very cheap! These cigars cost $70 in Canada and my husband bought them at the resort's cigar shop for $9! The Cohiba cigars are world famous. What better experience than to enjoy an excellent quality product like the Cohiba in the ideal climate of the country of origin? My husband really loved that.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Grounds were lovely"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jolie  on Jan 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
237 people found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from a week at the Iberostar Daiquiri on Cayo Guillermo. It was our first trip to Cuba and we would go back in a heartbeat, as we fell in love with Cubans in general and the language, culture, etc.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was better than we were expecting"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Irene  on Sep 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2009
185 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
We were 90 minutes late taking off as there was a problem with the plane once we were boarded. Flight was good, but be warned with Air Canada there is no free food. Make sure you eat or take a sandwich. We arrived at dusk which was bad as we were greeted by 1000's of mosquitos as we got off the plane and in the immigration room as well. Immigration was quick and luggage off quickly, but an hour wait on the bus for one person who got stopped at customs for bringing in too much luggage. We got to the hotel quickly and then were told to go and eat and come back for our room keys as it was nearly 10pm.

Rooms:
We were on the third floor of the main building, but not good for any one with knee problems. Rooms were okay and view was great facing the ocean. The maid was really good and got a few treats during the week.

Restaurants and Bars:
we could not fault the restuarants and the food was good for Cuba. If you need diet pop you have to buy it at the store. Sometimes there was a shortage of rum. the staff in the restuarants were really good and very chatty and spoke quite a bit of English.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the pool was lovely and warm as the weather was very hot. they need to have one pool for the kids and an adult pool as the swim up bar was always full of kids splashing and taking up the seats.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
no

Other Comments:
It was better than we were expecting and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. All the staff were very happy and made you feel welcome. Not too thrilled with the entertainment, but once you have seen these shows they are all the same. We would certainly recommend this hotel and will definitely go back some time in the not too distant future I would have a ground floor room next time though.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Love love loved it!"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Melanie from Ottawa  on Sep 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2009
214 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Sept 5-12
Love love loved it! A million times better than where we stayed in March (NH Eden Real, Punta Cana). We are in our mid-twenties, and don't have super high expectations. We had an AMAZING week, it was a super good deal, we decided to go and booked just a week prior, and it's not so so busy at this time of year. It was very hot and sunny every day, most nights it rained a bit.

Rooms:
Very basic, but clean. I emailed ahead to ask for a room close to the beach, upper floor with a king bed, and got two of the three, as there are no king beds at all. Our building was named Varadero, an amazing location (close to beach, pool and main building). No musty smell at all. I did bring a scented candle just in case, but didn't need to use it. Our a/c was a little weak, they did offer to switch us, but we just stayed, as we had already settled in.

Restaurants and Bars:
You don't travel to Cuba for 5* food, for us it was totally fine, always something to eat (and we don't eat fish or seafood), good burgers at the snack bar for lunch. Buffet was good, we tried the mexican and italian a la cartes which were very good. The beer was great and always cold, the red & white wines were very good. Amazing cafe con leches served at bars too, we looked forward to those every morning.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nicest beach we've ever seen, amazing white sand, always able to find a spot under a palapa on the beach. Pool was great too. Ground were lush and lots of palm trees, gardeners come around to give you coconuts to eat or drink. Offer then a beer or a cold drink, as they work very hard in the sweltering heat, they will be very thankful. We brought insulated mugs for our drinks, saves you trips to the bar and keeps your beverages cold... the bartenders never minded serving you drinks in them.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Always lots to do, but only if you want to. Volleyball, bocce on the beach, archery, bingo, the usual. Some shows were very good, others were kind of cheesy. We did the boat adventure morning excursion, took a 5 minute bus ride to the marina nearby, and took 2 person motor boats to a channel for snorkeling and back. Very fun, recommend this for sure. Make sure to check out Killer darts in the lobby at 8pm - sooo much fun. Applauso!!

Other Comments:
Sometimes they ran out of towels, so i would suggest bringing your own just in case. But, we can't wait to go back, the beach, water and service were all amazing, we were pleasantly surprised. We will go back for sure.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I squished him!!"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Chris from Hamilton, Ontario  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2009
173 people found this review helpful

Arrival: July 11th to 18th
Flights: We would take Sunwing any day of the week. Everything about the flight was fantastic. We were supposed to have a layover in Holguin on the way home, but that got switched so we actually got an extra 2 hours at the resort. We arrived home at the same time as we were originally supposed to. On the return flight we had one flight attendant who would have belonged on the resort in the animation team. Her name was Isabelle. She made me laugh for the entire flight home even though I was passing out because of fatigue!! I will be writing a comment to Sunwing to praise her. The food on the flight is airline food...so not wonderful...but...can't complain. I wasn't really hungry, so it didn't matter. They had some chocolate banana cake that was heavenly!! The champagne on the flight down to Cuba was a nice touch to toast a great vacation. We got wine (included) with dinner as well, which is nice so you don't have to dig for money!!

Check In/Check Out:
We arrived at the hotel around 8pm or 9pm. The only people checking in were those on our bus, say 10 groups. The wait was at most 10 minutes. Quick and easy!! We could have waited for someone to take our bags to the room, but we just started to wander. One of the hotel staff offered to point us in the right direction without the expectation of a tip, which was nice since we didn't have any CUC's at that point. There was no bank to convert money before getting on the bus. However, upon return to the airport to go home, we quickly found out that we could have found the bank in the departure side of the airport. I am not sure what the exchange was at the airport versus at the hotel. There is a bank beside the hotel, so it is a better rate than in the hotel itself.

Rooms:
Not the greatest, but for Cuba, very nice. We did NOT get a "non-smoking" room, but luckily, it didn't smell too bad (room #2157). We used a courtesy suite at the end of the trip before leaving which had a disgusting smell of smoke, so we're lucky we didn't get that room (room #3103). Our room was on the ground floor, and we could see the ocean from our window. That was kind of nice, even though we didn't spend much time in the room looking out the window!! There were a couple small issues with the room, but nothing major and we didn't even report it. Looking back at it, we probably should have so the things could have been fixed for the next people!! We had a cockroach one day. I squished him!!

Restaurants and Bars:
Being Cuba, I had very low expectations. The Iberostar exceeded every expectation I had of any resort. You could always find something that was fantastic to eat. I was very impressed with the food. We ate at all three a-la-cartes, with the Mexican being the best, followed by the Cuban, and then the Italian. Funny, because Italian is my favourite kind of food. The service was reasonable, not outstanding, but good. The thing I enjoyed the most was the "Lemonade Slush" they had because it is hot, and the slush is refreshing!! The slush machines didn't always work 100% so they would have to use a blender to make ice chips, but what can you expect in 30+ celsius weather!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was good. It is kinda 3 pools split by two sets of staircases, one "activities" pool, one wading pool, and one pool with a swim up bar. Pretty good. Nice and clean and a perfect temperature. The beach was fantastic. A few days there was some seaweed on shore, and then some out a couple hundred feet, but we had no issues at all. The sand was gorgeous.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did many of the activities on the resort. All of which were fantastic. From beach volleyball to pool basketball, from archery to dance lessons, everything was a ton of fun. We actually spent a lot of time with one of the "Star Friends". Her name is Ledy. I would recommend to anyone travelling to this resort to find her and talk to her. She is one of the nicest people you would ever want to meet. She speaks excellent English, and is just a genuinely kind person. Tell her Chris and Jennifer "Number One" say hi!! All the activities we did, they had to differentiate Jenn from the other Jenn!! I will be writing Iberostar to provide positive feedback on Ledy, because she made our trip even more wonderful, just by being herself!! Our Sunwing rep, Carlos, was amazing. He helped us out in every way imaginable. We really appreciate all his hard work. We did the catamaran trip which included lunch, all the drinks, snorkelling, and a visit to Pillar Beach. It was fantastic. The lunch might have been the best meal on the trip. How can you go wrong with chicken, shrimp, and lobster!! It was $75 CUC's per person.

Other Comments:
All and all, our trip was fantastic. I was hesitant to go to Cuba, but after being there, I would go back in a heartbeat. I would visit Moron next time because I don't think that we really got the sense of what Cuba is really like.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The people are really friendly"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Claire from Moncton, New Brunswick  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
143 people found this review helpful

Arrival: May 2 to 9
The flight from Halifax on Air Canada was much better than we expected. Lots of leg room and the entertainment system was great. Watched two movies we hadn't seen yet, so the flight went quickly both ways. The flight attendants were always smiling and kept everyone happy. The man in back of me was very nervous about flying. The attendant chatted with him to settle his nerves and assure him that turbulence was quite normal:) We were early leaving Halifax. The Halifax airport was in a bit of a mess because the passengers for three or four flights were all trying to check in at the same time. The Air Canada employee helping people with the computerized check-in was excellent. We had to pay for food and snacks on the flights, but if you charge it on your charge card, you get 10% off and prices were reasonable. Pop, juice, water, etc. was free, so if you don't want to pay, bring a snack with you. Cayo Coco airport is great. Modern and air conditioned. Smaller than Varadero, so a lot quicker to get through, get your luggage and get on the bus to your hotel.

Rooms:
Our room was great. On the third (top) floor so didn't hear any noise from above. Lots of hot water and good water pressure. Room cleaned every day and fridge replenished every second day. We had to use our room towels for a couple of days as the truck that delivers the clean laundry broke down. Even though the towels were missing when the maids made up the rooms, they left replacements so we always had clean towels.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate at the Cuban and Mexican a la cartes, but didn't bother with the Italian. The buffets were good and you don't have to dress up. My husband wore nice shorts with clean T-shirts and his sneakers. I wore dresses a few nights, but at the end went with nice dress shorts and Ts and sandelas. Honestly, after we had been on the beach all day, it was all we could do to get showered and dressed to go and get a bite to eat. Also, you can get burgers and hot dogs at the pool bar every afternoon around 4:00. They are really big so if you have one of those, you probably won't even want supper.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Lovely beach with lots of palapas and coconut palms. The water is quite shallow, but warm and enough to bob around in. The water was quite calm every day. We managed to get the same palapa everyday with out leaving our towels out. There seemed to be palapas available at all times, but the ones nearest the beach bar were the first to go. Yes, there is saving going on, but really isn't necessary. There is a man down on the beach in the morning to help you get your chairs set up. At 12:00 noon the gardeners will come to you to offer coconut meat to eat or coconut water to drink. They don't make you pay, but it is polite to give them a peso. We gave them t-shirts and workgloves and something for their wives. They are very appreciative of anything, really. If you get the gardeneres a drink from the bar,, kind of hide it from the guys in dress pants and sunglasses. You'll know who I mean when you see them.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Every afternoon at 4:30, we played bingo a the pool bar. Their bingo cards go up to 90 and the callers call the numbers in Spanish, English, French and German. It was lots of fun. Two afternoons following bingo, they had fashion shows. The clothes were designed by Cubans. The clothes were amazing and the models, both men and women, were gorgeous.

Other Comments:
Again, the airport in Cayo Coco is so much better than Varadero. It is smaller but they don't get as many flights as Varadero, so a lot less people and quicker getting through. Once you get past check-point charlie, there is a bar, a place to get snacks, meals, etc. duty free (Cuban rum for 7.00 CUC/750 ml bottle for example) , National brand liquor, ciggies/cigars candy, Cuban honey - really cheap, and souvenirs. There was no one handing out toilet paper at the washroom and there was toilet paper in every stall. Felt foolish when I got home and found the roll I took from the hotel in case there was none at the airport:). There was also a band playing at the airport while we were waiting for our flight. Our flight left early and had a nice smooth flight home.

I had read a review on a different website that said the women are in desparate need of bras. To buy a bra in Cuba might cost more than half of their monthly salary and that is only if there are any available to be purchased. The American trade imbargo is still in place, so it is extremely hard for the people to get goods even if they have the cash. I had brought some bras reduced at Wal-mart (white and beige) as well as some Fruit of the Loom undies. The ladies were very happy with them. Also, I tried to give some of them to the girls who are doing the menial jobs, like sweeping. The room maids get lots of "gifts" and money from the guests, but the people who have little contact with the guests, get nothing. Share the wealth. I also had picked up some nice dresses at Value Village. Wore them one night and gave them to the girls. That way you can be sure your luggage is not going to be overweight when you come home. My husband donated quite a few T-shirts he had "grown out of" to the gardeners and the Hobie cat guy. They were very pleased. Also, black dress shoes or sandals for the waiters and waitresses. Nice to have some good shoes when you are on your feet all morning, noon and night.

Would we go back to this resort? Yes, for sure. The people are really friendly and most speak an amazing amount of English. I felt ignorant and embarrassed with my piddly amount of Spanish. So, I am taking Spanish lessons in hopes that when I return, I might be able to have a little conversation in Spanish with the people who work so hard to make our vacations wonderful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

" Perfection=10 day packages!! :-)"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Karla Colp  on Apr 28, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
913 people found this review helpful

The Iberostar Daiquiri is a truly awesome paradise.Magnificent scenery,exciting day trips with friendly & thoughtful staff in ALL areas that are second to none. Have made 2 (1-week)trips and are anxiously waiting for a 3rd booking. The only thing that would make it perfect would be the opportunity to book 10day stays. I hope that is something we will see in the very near future from this amazing resort!!!! Gracias, K Colp

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The buffet at Iberostar was AMAZING."

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Marilyn and Charlene from Guelph, Ontario  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
139 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 25- May 2
Arrival and check-in at Iberostar was quite smooth. We were checked in and off to our rooms within 15 minutes.

Rooms:
We were initially not impressed with our room. The room we were given was in the 5000 block on the first floor (5101 to be exact). The room was very musty smelling and there was mould in the closet. As we checked out the rest of the room we noticed that there was no door on our safe. We were not comfortable with leaving our valuables unlocked so we called up to the front desk to request a new room. We were told that they had nothing available for us that day, but to check back the next day and they would try to move us. We insisted to be moved that day b/c of my Mom's allergies and the fact of leaving our valuables unattended. A couple of hours later, they had another room ready for us in the 2000 block and this room was much better. The rooms are dated and a little "tired" looking, but you're just there to sleep, right?

Restaurants and Bars:v The buffet at Iberostar was AMAZING. I have travelled to Cuba, DR, and Jamaica and by far this was the best food I've had. Always tons of variety and everything is labelled so u know what you are eating. Lots of good breads and cheese, fruits and veggies. The a la cartes were give or take, although I will say if you are to go to any of them (Mexican, Italian, Cuban), definitely hit up the Mexican. My mom had a shrimp dish which was to die for and I had some really tasty chicken fajitas. They also had some yummy quesedillas and guacamole on the appetizer buffet.

The bars were all pretty good. I agree with most people about the service at the pool/swim-up bar being pretty slow. We were disappointed to only have mojitos for one day. Apparently they were out of mint although we saw it growing in abundance along the beach.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Unfortunately for us, it was so windy the week we were there that we were only able to go to the beach on one afternoon. Even at that, it was a little chilly. The pool was beautiful though. Always clean and lots of chairs. We went out pretty early to ensure we got one of the chairs with an umbrella. They were always gone or "reserved" by 7:30 am.

Other Comments:
One major comment about this place. Bring your own tissue/toilet paper and hand sanitizer. There was NEVER any toilet paper, soap or paper towel in any of the washrooms (with the exception of our room). We found this very annoying and hopefully the resort will step up in this aspect.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great place to relax and soak up the sun"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  John from Nova Scotia  on Mar 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
97 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 7 - March 14
flew sky service out of halifax 1 hour late leaving made up for the hour in cuba very quick c/w customs and luggage pick up 4o min bus ride to the resort.

Rooms
a litte dated but very clean no musty smell at all,read about people talking about bathroom being old and run down not the case in the 2 room we had tip bring a lillte CLR for the shower head.

Restaurants and Bars
buffet and bars were great service a very good depending on were you were sitting as in the lobby and the show at night. don't waste you time with the a la carts not very good

Beach/Pools/Grounds
beach was a little narrow until the tide goes out cleaned every day as in the seaweed picked up lot of chairs to be had. Pool was in 2 sections c/w swim up bar and games area chairs could be found there at any time of day too.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
no nite life to speak of when the show was over it was of to the lobby or bed. Took the JEEP ON tour 2 hour of speed boat you drive and snorkling then a jeep tour to MORAN c/w atour guide dinner and a drink included 95 cuc per person a full day but not a bad tour very informative if you ask the right questions.

Other Comments
All in all a stong 4 star resort very compact very will kept by the ground crew. from lobby to beach a 2 min walk at best. Towels can be hard to come by at times. But all in all a great place to relax and soak up the sun and the cubian people

grantj32@yahoo.ca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube