Iberostar Daiquiri Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Iberostar Daiquiri reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Guillermo Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Cayo Guillermo

4.3 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 27, 2012

Iberostar Daiquiri  

Cayo Guillermo, Jardines del Rey, Ciego de Avila, Cuba
(Jardines del Rey)

"5 Star Holiday"
Posted by: Alec  on Jan 2, 2013
see all reviews

Iberostar Daiquiri Reviews
Iberostar Daiquiri Pictures and Information
Iberostar Daiquiri Cayo Guillermo Cuba

#2
of 4 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo

User rating 4.3

Based on 31 reviews

Iberostar Daiquiri Information


Located within the beautiful surroundings of Cayo Guillermo, the 4-star hotel Iberostar Daiquiri with a distinct architecture featuring a colonial town, tropical vegetation, wide private fine-sand beach and a coral reef 400 kilometers in length, is the ideal spot to spend a relaxing holiday next to a fine sandy beach.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Daiquiri Reviews

Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 4.3 of 5 31 reviews
Excellent
  13
Very good
  12
Average
  5
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (12)
Party (1)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With Group
21 - 30 of 31

"Language was not a problem in the least."

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Garnett & Denise from Ottawa  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
79 people found this review helpful

Flight was arranged through Sears : Air Transat via Skyservice (Great flight times: Depart Ottawa 6am - Arrive Ottawa 2.40pm ) No delays going, One hour delay on return because of late Ottawa departure (de icing etc.) Skyservice have crowded planes and always seem to have long washroom lines and angry service staff.

We were pleased to see that our request for three rooms, (second or third floor),in the same building, had been addressed by a very courteous and efficient front desk. First time that message appeared to have been relayed and obeyed. Most times the five ou us have to fight hard or wait a day until the three rooms in same building can be accommodated. Language was not a problem in the least.

The IBEROSTAR-DAIQUIRI in Cayo Guillermo ( close to Cayo Cocca) is indeed a keeper and one to share with friends. Food was very good and diversified in the buffett. (Great Pork, Turkey, Fish...Lamb and Beef not so good). The hurricanes have passed and the vegetables and fruits are once again being grown locally so supply much better than our Varadero experience in November 2008. Theme restaurants were not Great. Mexican and Italien were good , not exceptional, but the Cuban was a little shakey and could be avoided. Appetizers in Italian were very good (Calamari, Smoked Salmon, Fish Fritters, Cold Pickled Asparagras etc.)

Tours are numerous and in general pretty good. The full day trip to the mainland visited two towns, a Crocodile Farm, A Sugar Plantation, A Cigar Factory, A jet Boat tour of a Mango everglade as well as a Rick Shaw ride through town, Tour of two museums. Left at 7.30am back at 5pm for 75Convertible Pesos ( 1CP + $1.41CAD). Cubans take advantage of Canadians in money conversions since US$ was about $1.27 at the time of our holiday. Bank outside complex was a little better than the hotel lobby for value but Passport needed.

Hotel is on a mile and a half narrow sandy beach with only 5 hotels sprinkled along the coast. Tides play a big part in water levels but at low tide you can walk in knee high water out at least 50/60 yards before drop off. High Tide can be windy and water takes over much of the beach area. Lots of trees and lounges are available free.

Shows were great... Cubans are the best dancers and choreographers in the world and live music at shows was a pleasant surprise from lip sink shows of the Dominican. Black light show was amusing and usual Broadway, Legends of Music, and Man/Woman shows were nightlyfrom 9.30pm to 11, when Disco took over until 1am.

All in all pretty good. Weather first week was in high 20's but nights are cool and second week daytime highs were in the low to mid 20's with high winds which made beach dwelling tough. Pool areas were sheltered and much warmer ... but crowded. Kid program appeared to be quite a sucess and staff seemed very friendly and spoke English and French pretty well.

This resort is small (312 rooms)but very well maintained. We definitely would return and have no problem recommending it to everyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"If you get a good deal try it out!!"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Ken & Pam from Nova Scotia  on Mar 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
105 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 21
We arrived at 12 midnite, check in was smooth and fast, front desk staff is excellent and friendly!

Rooms
we were in Mantanza building 4368, a renovated room with a great view of the ocean! The renovations are minimal, same old black/white trim with a little varathan:) new curtains and a love seat and fresh paint.......very acceptable accomadations for a 4 star.

Restaurants and Bars
the buffet is the BEST I have ever been at in many. many trips. No need to ever go hungry, lots of fresh choices, meat. pork. fish. lobster on Friday....pasta, pizza..........endless choices! The Cuban was disgusting as was the service. We have been to this resort 3 times and I was shocked by the meal we were served here and the SIX friends I recommended the resort to.........not fit to eat. The Mexican was good and the service was better, we did not get to the Italian.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
the beach and pool are both excellent but the time we were there it was so windy you couldn t sit on the beach without a parka!! only the last couple da ys, so we hung around the pool alot. To get the real beauty of this resort you have to be at the beach IMO. The grounds and the gardners are jsut awesome......always little "gifts" for the ladies from the gardners!! rememebr them when you bring gifts, work gloves. hats or any little tools or jack knives are sought after!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
the star friends.....lead by a great guy " Willy" will keep you as busy as you like !! Tell Willy Tom Cruise says hi!! we went on a buggy ride to all the other resorts for an hour. looked around and shopped in thier stores..........5 pesos each!! best deal in town

Other Comments
while this is a nice, quiet. safe resort and an excellent place to get fed!! it has definatly gone down hill since my last visit, some major staff changes that didn t help .....I recommended it to 6 friends and for the first time found several issues that were not there 2 years ago or during our other visits. If you get a good deal try it out!!

sandylk@hfx.eastlink.ca

Photos: http://family.webshots.com/album/570768332lBvgJK

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach was a bit disappointing!"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kirinda from Nova Scotia  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
79 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 14 - 21
We arrived around midnight. Long line up to check in but we are used to that. My husband went to get drinks while we waited-SHOCKED to learn that the bars ALL close by 1:00 am (even though the site says 24 hour bars)

Rooms
Our room was great, third floor and NO bugs. Very clean and towels and facecloths daily. The toilet didn't always flush properly. The maids are sweet!

Restaurants and Bars
The buffet restaurant was by far the best place to eat. Lots of choices and GOOD food! We did 2 A-la Carte restaurants and we very displeased with both (Mexican and Italian) We got food poisoning from the mussels at Mexican. Both had a buffet type set up. We expect service at A-la Carte Restaurants.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach was a bit disappointing! It was very skinny and you had to wait all day for the tide to go out. The pools are not as deep as we would have liked. We generally would hang out at the beach all day and move up to the pool for late afternoon. We could always find a chair. Service was slow at times for the swim up bar.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Lots of activities on the beach and pool side if you want to participate. But if you don't they respect that! Didn't do any tours but enjoyed the hobie cats and paddle boats at the resort!

Other Comments
It was a nice resort I would go again for a really good deal, if not I'm sticking to Varadero (Tryp was the best by far)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We were also amazed at the quantity"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Elaine  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Feb, 2009
83 people found this review helpful

We were at this Resort from February 13th until the 27th, 2009. Our first comment has to be on our arrival. We are seasoned travellers, travelling five people together, requiring three rooms, and this is the first time that our three rooms, as always requested in advance, were together. The reception people and the registration procedure, was the smoothest, most accommodating we have ever, ever had. Kudos to the reception.

Although the resort is an older one, it has been kept in very good condition and the beach and pool areas are also kept in very good condition with plenty of staff to assist in your every need. We were also amazed at the quantity, choice and quality of the food at the buffet.

There are very few negatives:

1. With the exception of the appetizers at the Italian restaurant, we did not enjoy the a la carte restaurants. We preferred the buffet food.

2. There is a problem with beach towels. There are very few, hard to get, and some are in very bad condition. That said, we will DEFINITELY be returning for another visit to this Resort

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"There is a flamingo pond"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lynne  on Feb 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
81 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb.7 - 21
Flew from Toronto (6:10 a.m. Sat.) via Sunwing; wonderful flight, arrived early, well worth extra for more leg room. Through customs and onto the bus no problem, impressed by the fact that no-one seemed to have problem with English. Check-in at reception didn't take long, loaded up our luggage and sent us off with directions to the room. One problem arose right away; the room assigned to us reeked of smoke so badly that there was no way we could stay in it, even one night, so off we returned to reception, to be told hotel was full, come back next day. We insisted that we would not stay in such a stinky room (they do not have non-smoking rooms), so the staff searched around a bit, suggested a couple of other rooms and sent us off to inspect the second find. It was great! On the third floor in a nice quiet building, not far from the main reception, buffet, or pool.

Rooms
The rooms were cleaned daily, fresh towels (and facecloths!) daily if you requested them, always some kind of towel or blanket sculpture awaiting. The bathrooms looked a bit worse for wear, but were clean, no problem with water pressure or temperature during the 2 weeks. The balcony was quite large with lots of palm trees to look out over. Only drawback was that it faced about due north, and we had a few days around 23-24C with high wi0nds, so felt "chilly" to sit out. Found a large area at the top of the stairs which was protected from the wind and partly sunny, so hung out there a bit.

Restaurants and Bars
We didn't frequent the bars much, but got good service while sitting in the lobby. The buffet restaurant was entirely non-smoking. There was always a wide variety of dishes to pick from, so I think you'd have to be really picky not to find enough. There was an abundance of fresh seafood every day, including rock lobster, calarmari, shrimp, and various fish. If you're not a seafood lover, there was always beef, pork, chicken, lamb, ham, etc. and the ever-present pizza and pasta bar. Lots of salads, soup, bread and rolls, desserts (usually looked better than they tasted, but some exceptions) and really, really good ice cream. Breakfast chefs cooked eggs or omelletes to order, kudos to Pablo for keeping his cool with the guy who wanted a six-egg-white omellete every morning! Went to all three a la cartes, was most disappointed with the Italian (pizza and spaghetti? at the buffet twice a day), but the chicken dish was good. The Mexican was the best, but the Cuban had the disadvantage of being located in the open-air building on the beach (in the process of closing it in, but we went on one of those really windy days!). Every night at the buffet restaurant, and at the Cuban, diners were seranaded by the house band, who are really talented, especially the singers.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach was nice white sand and turqoise water. We didn't have any problems with chairs. Didn't frequent the pool, the water was cold for most of our stay due to the cooler than normal weather. The gardens for the most part are gorgeous; bougainvilla (?) up and over the third floor on many buildings, lots of other flowers and greenery. We were thrilled to see a hummingbird the first 2 days, but then it was not seen again. There is a flamingo pond (including a couple of Mallard ducks), and a fish pond by the pool where the white Ibis and a kingfisher were known to frequent for snacks.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Part of our group of 8 went on the excursion to snorkel off Pilar Beach, enjoyed in very much. One went via the "train" for 5 pesos return. Two of us went to Trinidad; enjoyable but a really long day and didn't seem like quite enough time to do it justice.

Other Comments
We will definitely return to the Iberostar Daiquiri; unanimous among the 8 that it has the best beach of all the resorts we've visited. The staff are very good, very friendly, and even the housekeeper spoke and wrote English. Note to cat lovers - we saw 7 local cats at the resort, who would come by at mealtimes; 2 brown tabbies and a little fuzzy black one were very friendly, but the other black ones and the black and white kitty were very shy.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The staff at the IB Daiquiri are fantastic !!!!"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Peter from Fredericton, NB  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Feb, 2009
90 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 28 - Mar 7
Very smooth - met at the plane by a highway coach and a friendly guide.

Rooms
Good size. Slightly musty but nothing too bad. Bathroom was very adequate.

Restaurants and Bars
Main buffet food was good, especially for breakfast. Lots of choice. great service. Beach restaurant likewise. A la cartes were decent but nothing special. Pool bar also had snacks (burgers, hot dogs, etc) in the late afternoon. Main lobby bar is great, especially from 7 pm on when it is a center of activity. Nightly shows by the "Star Friends" are well done.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach is gorgeous. Lots of shades available. Pool is very nice. Lots of chairs but people do seem to reserve them early. Grounds are beautiful and VERY well maintained.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Full day catamaran trip was excellent.
Visit to Playa Pilar was great.

Other Comments
The staff at the IB Daiquiri are fantastic !!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Family fun "

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  julia hick  on Jan 27, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jan, 2009
1408 people found this review helpful

My family and I had a great time at this complex. We made some great friends. The staff were all fab. We felt very welcome. We have recommended the hotel to all our friends and failmy. We will be back in May. Carn't wait. See you all soon. The Hick Family. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"10 Night Stay"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pam Wilson  on May 2, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2008
2884 people found this review helpful

I have no real complaints of Iberostar Daiquiri!! Except for the lobby bathrooms get pretty gross and smelly!! I would imagine the upkeep is tough!!! I do have a request??!!! Could you please consider offering 10 night stay packages? I know alot of people that would be interested in staying for 10 nights!!!! 7 is just NOT long enough and 14 is too much for some of us Canadians who only get two weeks vacation per year!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would love to go back to the Iberostar Daiquiri."

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Wilma  on Apr 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2008
79 people found this review helpful

My sister and I left Halifax on April 3rd for a week long stay at the Iberostar Daiquiri. This was my third trip to Cuba and this was the most beautiful resort. What stood out the most was the excellent service. It couldn't have been better. The beach and pool areas were great and there was plenty of loungers. Early in the morning there was also staff on the beach helping guests set up loungers for the day. As soon as they could see you had selected a spot they would rush right over. Drinks were also served to you while you lounged around the pool and on the beach.

The food was great and they had a large variety daily.

While there I unfortunately became ill but I had Montreal ER nurses who came to my assistance when I fainted. Thanks again to them.

Also many thanks to the retired teachers from Truro, your kindness is greatly appreciated. I would love to hear from you. Wilmaross@eastlink.ca or 826-7141

I would love to go back to the Iberostar Daiquiri and I would absolutely recommend it to family and friends.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Très bon hôtel"

Iberostar Daiquiri
User Rating:  Iberostar Daiquiri Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  masnada christophe  on Jan 25, 2008  >  10 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Jan, 2008
173 people found this review helpful

Nous sommes allés 2 fois dans cet hôtel. Les jardins sont magnifiques, la plage paradisiaque et pour les grincheux qui disent qu'elle est petite, il faut savoir qu'il y a une marée et que la plage est étroite le matin et immense l'après midi... Pour ce qui est des algues, il y en a quelques unes mais rien de bien grave ! Le service est très sympa, sans pour autant distribuer de cadeaux à tout va ! le comportement respectueux et la gentillesse est primordiale ! nous avons toujours été bien servis sans distribuer des pourboires a tout va ! Certaines chambres auraient besoin d'une rénovation mais rien de bien grave ! La nourriture est très bonne. En prenant un catamaran au club de sport de la plage, ils vous emmenent au large, il y a des milliers de poissons et de magnifiques coraux !! Bref, je vous conseille cet endroit paradisiaque ! Mais faites plutôt un combiné avec la Havane car Cayo Guillermo est isolé et on ne voit rien du vrai Cuba ! http://www.cayoguillermo.fr/cayoguillermo.html

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube