Iberostar Laguna Azul Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Iberostar Laguna Azul reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.5 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 22, 2012

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2012

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 5, 2013

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel

4.2 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Melia Varadero

4.1 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed May 23, 2012

Iberostar Laguna Azul  

Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba

"Wonderful"
Posted by: Stephen on May 22, 2012
see all reviews

Iberostar Laguna Azul Reviews
Iberostar Laguna Azul Pictures and Information
Iberostar Laguna Azul Varadero Cuba

#12
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.3

Based on 36 reviews

Iberostar Laguna Azul Information


Standing in a privileged location on the seafront at Varadero Beach, the recently opened five-star resort Iberostar Laguna Azul offers a wide range of facilities making it the ideal choice for couples, families and groups. Be among the first to enjoy this fabulous hotel!

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Laguna Azul Reviews

Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 4.3 of 5 36 reviews
Excellent
  20
Very good
  10
Average
  4
Poor
  3
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (26)
Wedding (2)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (9)
With friend (5)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (13)
Solo
1 - 10 of 36

"Horrible food and theft!"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alex  on Aug 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
192 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Arrival was simple. The check-in was horrible, that is when they told me that there was no wifi in the rooms or in the hotel, although the promised wifi on their website.

Rooms:
Room is good. Air conditioning is good and everything is easily acessable.

Restaurants and Bars:
Horrible and nasty food. Drinks like coca cola are mixed with water.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is very good. The pools are good too but they are often enough dirty with sand.

Other Comments:
At the last day, we started packing up and went for dinner. In the mean time my laptop and my son's iPhone recharger got stolen from the room.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"two words"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  angela  on Apr 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
185 people found this review helpful

stay away......not what we call food, beds hard, slow service,needs repairs for a new hotel, not a great place to sleep but pools and beach great, only alcarte resturant we recommend is the japanese which we consider to be 5 star all the way.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Poor experience, not 5 star."

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Reese  on Jan 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
175 people found this review helpful

Went with my family to what they say is the newest and best 5 star all-inclusive resort in Varadero. The best thing I can say about the resort is that the rooms are nice...other than that the day we got there they had no hot water anywhere on the resort, the "hot tub" stays far less than lukewarm and the other one on the resort was empty.

They advertise that all the 'a la carte' restaurats are available for reservations but they are always "fully-booked" but 90% of the people don't show up and we were turned away from all 3 a la carte restaurants 3 out of 4 nights....most of them were empty with a table or two full and they still say there is nothing they can do to get you a table. Generally the food was terrible at the buffet, which is to be expected at any all-inclusive resort but when you aren't being let into nice a la carte places that are empty it is a little bit of salt in the wound to have to go down to the buffet and eat junk.

Of the 3 rooms we had 2 TVs stopped working and they sent someone by to say "yes broken" and that they would bring another....that didn't happen and it became a joke among the family that maybe the tv would come today.

The people that work there are very confused as to what is open and when, however, the bartenders seem to be the best people to talk to.

The spa was booked solid, I even witnessed them turn people away who had reservations booked a week in advance.

There were people there who said that they had a much better experience at a 3 star resort just down the beach the last time they were in Veradero.

It was very dirty outside around the pool with plenty of broken glass and plastic, also they allow seagulls to bathe themselves freely in the pool which was quite funny.

At night you can be woken up at 4am not by people partying (we did our fair share) but by staff yelling down the halls at each other with their radio sets on full volume.

Finally, BRING MONEY to change otherwise it is a 20 CUC cab ride to a bank on another resort.

Rooms:
Very nice and clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bars were good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Dirty

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not really five star yet!"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Diana  on Mar 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
204 people found this review helpful

We travelled to this resort Feb 28 to March 7 2010. The reason we chose this resort was because we had stayed at other Iberostars in the Caribbean and had not been disappointed. However, this resort is perhaps too new yet. We had hot water and bath sized towels only 3 days out of our 7 day stay. We used our pool towels for bathing purposes. Toilet paper was also an issue. Though we ourselves did not experience food problems we were careful of what we chose and did become aware of other people who had become seriously ill from uncooked meat served on the buffet. We did notice that the hotel lobby furniture seemed very worn for such a new resort making us think that this particular resort is not quite up to the Iberostar standard of luxury. We found that because the resort was filled to capacity all staff were extremely busy and hurried though those staff working at the buffet did try hard to please. I don't think we would return to this resort until we hear that they have overcome the difficulties of being too new to be so full.

Rooms:
We stayed in building 15 which we found noisy but clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
We dined at the Japanese which we found fun but rushed. We also dined at the Italian which was mediocre and the Gourmet which was very good. All the bars served great drinks.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The vegetation is not fully developed due to the newness of the resort but well cared for. The pools were cold but clean.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Why so much meat? Fries etc etc"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jake II  on Jan 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009 | Leisure
126 people found this review helpful

Arrival was no problem, plane / bus transfer was easy as pie. Smooooooth - flew on Sunwing from YYZ to Varadero.

Rooms::
Room was great - very very clean. Huge bathroom with big oval-shaped tub + shower, sink was big, everything was brand new and super clean.

Restaurants and Bars::
Steakhouse was poor - I had the rib eye (mistake) and tenderloin. In my experience cook it one level higher than what you want i.e. if you want medium, say medium well.

Cesar salad was three leaves of lettuce + some mayo and a crumbling of cheese. I wanted to ask for a bowl and make it as proper as can be, no dice.

Italian was better, ravioli was HUGE - i.e. the actual pasta piece was huge. The italian - how can you screw up italian? You can't, and they did a good job. Fish was good here.

Romantico/Gourmet-this was the best. Dreilyn, or Dreilis was great, funny and very patient. We had a baby with us so he took his time. Tenderloin and duck here are very good, don't try the lamb unless you're adventurous. Ladies also loved the fish here, can't remember the types but it was good.

Buffet - blah. Typical. Seems like whatever wasn't used the night before, they would add chops of ham or meat (example to the salads) to make it new. Well little options for vegetarians.
Deep-fried scrambled eggs, more oil used than in an exxon valdez.

I really can't explain it. One step in the next direction and the food COULD be much better. Fruit platter was always bad EXCEPT grapefruits. These were great. All other fruit was poor quality. The hotel needs to just add some vegetarian + healthier options than what's available, and it would be a GREAT buffet. Example, instead of eggs, why not just egg whites? Why so much meat? Fries etc etc., all that crap. Why no plantains?

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
1. the good: pools were both excellent, clean, and crisp.
2. bars; bars @ pools were great. - service was great.
3. pads only available by the pool but readily available - for the loungers. Get one in 5 minutes each day, no problem. Tip him a couple bucks and he'll look out for you as well, loved that.

Beach
great beach. good swimming, great entry into ocean.

Basically the grounds were GREAT. Clean / fresh, and everything worked great.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
OK so this is why this trip was pretty bad:
On the 2nd day we were there the hangglider/raft thingamajig that was making rounds on our beach crashed. It is rumoured 2 people died. My good friend ran over and what he saw pretty much confirmed this. Why would a resort with 5* rating, or any resort for that matter, allow for this sort of activity on the beach? It really ruined our trip, thinking of that. We could not go the rest of the trip without wondering about the people + their families, both occupant and pilot.

Other Comments::
Tennis courts were good - windy. Construction next door is quiet, so not bothersome. Ping Pong / shuffle board and bocci were all great. Drinks were ok, beer was the best option.

3/5 on the whole trip based on the one incident, and for the generally poor food options.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stayed for 1 week with my family"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Johanne  on May 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
329 people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time in Cuba. The weather was perfect but not the hotel.
It was too busy. Too many people on the beach and around the pool.
Too busy everywhere and impersonel. Hard to find a spot.
The buffet was pretty to look at but not good at all. Coffee lovers; have an expresso because the the cafe con leche is disgusting.
Restaurants à la carte ,ONLY one was good; the Japanese one. The others were aweful. The beach was pretty.
The staff at the front desk was OK. You don't need to know Spanish at all. They all speak English and they prefer to speak this language whoever you are.
This hotel is very clean and new.
The service was excellent when you needed something in your room.
The 10:00 shows were great with the talented musicians. I like the cuban music.
From 9 to 10:00 very boring. A waste of time to watch the tourists on the stage doing silly things. The disco, I don't know I didn't go.

Room Number:
15114

Room Block:
Central

Arrival:
May 8th.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Here is how it is"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Robert Oedegaard  on Jun 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) NORWAY
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
311 people found this review helpful

The facilitis (pools, bars, buildings) might be close to five stars, but the content around it is not quite there. Helpful staff in the front desk, easy check-in. Drinks in the pianobar are good. The BAD part is in the buffet. Me and my girlfriend arrived in the afternoon, and went there for the dinner buffet. The staff there are horrible. They are over-friendly, giving you almost no time to eat - because you are answering on the "is everyhing ok" question every 20 second. Not from the same waiters, but ALL of them. In addition the waiters are obviously instructed to touch all the male guest, putting their arm around your shoulder when asking if you want more wine etc. (The house-wine is good though!). In addition, they came with a questionnare to the table on our first night, asking us to answer how satisfied we were with cleaning, service etc. They were making a big deal that we HAD to cross on "very satisfied" with the restarant service, almost hanging over your shoulder making sure you crossed that. Well, I did not - i just choosed "good" and explained that they are trying to hard and we just want our meal in peace and quite. For me it is no problem if they come and ask if the food etc. is ok - but not every second minute! And they should learn to have one waiter per area of tables. Well the result of me choosing "good" resulted in three of them standing at our table demanding to know why it was not good. After tryting to explain (again) why, and they refused to understand and started being big-mouthed I demonstratively tared the form apart and said I did not wanted to answer it at all then if i cannot choose the answers myself! The result was very poor service from that shift of waiters the rest of our stay! Kids in a kindergarten behave better than these folks.

Well, and the food is not five star either. But - maybe as five-star as it gets on Cuba? It is ok - but not exciting. The pizzas are ok, and the selection is also good. But, most of it taste "nothing".

Rooms are big and the bed is good, but not very good bedsheets (they felt wet, or sticky). Cleaning is NOT five star, but again - it is OK. You are walking in and out in slippers with salt and sand all day and only to change and shower - so the room I had no problem with. But far from five star cleaning and maintenance everywhere.

But, an overall ok hotel. It is fairly cheap (early june) and we had a good time!

Room Block:
19

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful Resort"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  C  on Mar 3, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
136 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
We arrived at Varadero airport at approximatley 10:00 a.m. on Feb. 23rd. Clearing customs was very quick but retrieving our luggage was a very slow process. Once out of the airport we located the bus to our resort and were underway very quickly. Check in at the resort was quick and efficient but we were unable to get into our room until 3:00 p.m. Their check out time is at noon so it takes a while for the maids to get the rooms in order for the new crowd. We checked out the resort and sat in the lobby bar until our room was ready.

Rooms:
The room was very, very nice. King size bed, a beautiful bathroom equipped with a hair dryer. The room had a nice sitting area with a comfortable couch and chair. Lots of closet space, an ironing board and iron and a safe in the closet. We were very surprised that we were able to watch the Olympics as they receive CTV from Toronto so that was a bonus. They also get CNN and I believe one other English speaking station. Our room was kept clean by our wonderful maid, Benelin. She was amazing. There is a mini fridge in the room which was kept stocked with local beer, water and pop. One suggestion I would make is that you bring your own facecloths as they don't supply them. There is not a coffee maker in the room either but that was okay.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet is the same as any resort buffets. There was always a wide choice and you could have omelettes made to order or eggs fried. The variety of breads available were amazing but the line ups to make toast on some mornings was quite long. We met some very nice waitresses (Gisela, Mildre) and waiters (Eduardo, Lewis and Enrique). They were so nice and so friendly. Dinners were rather repetative but they have to work with the supplies they can get. You are only able to book 3 ala carte restaurants and we chose the Cuban, Japanese and Romantico. The best of the three was the Romantico. We had an amazing meal our last night at the resort. There had also been a wedding that day and there were 2 table set up for the wedding party and the staff had done a wonderful job with the tables. They were very pretty and I'm sure the bride and groom were very happy with the tables. Again, very good service from the staff. The beach bar was a bit scary (hamburg, hot dogs and fries). We had to keep telling them to keep cooking as the hamburgs sometimes were still pink. We found one snack bar that made amazing pizzas but you have to ask for them as they aren't out on the table with the other food. They are made fresh to order.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were impeccable and the gardners work very had to keep everything looking nice. The flowers were just starting to come out as it is their winter. It will be lovely when they are in full bloom. The beach was very nice with nice clear turquoise water. There are 3 pools at this resort all kept very clean. The water was very cold but that is typical in the Caribbean. It was nice and refreshing on the hot days.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We only took the bus into Varadero. It was interesting but we are not very adventurous so we just stayed to the tourist area. I'm sure that there are a lot of things to see and do but we were there mainly for the beach and relaxation. It's close to Havana and you could book tours to visit Havana.

Other Comments:
Before we booked this resort we read some reviews that didn't have very good things to say about it. I'm not sure what they were complaining about because we found it to be clean, comfortable and a wonderful place to spend a week or two. The staff were wonderful, the food was good and the atmospere was enjoyable. What more do you want? Remember, it's Cuba and enjoy your stay.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"No major complaints"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Maureen  on Mar 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
139 people found this review helpful

Stayed March 20-27, 2010.
Hotel is clean and staff are helpful and very friendly. Food at buffet was not labled so we did not eat much of it, although most people did. Only heard of one person being ill at the resort and this person was also badly sunburnt, I think they had sun poisoning and it had nothing to do with the food. Weather was amazing the whole week. Did the Havana day trip and it was good, also went to Veredaro on the bus, not much there but was nice to see old cars etc.

Food
In the mornings you could have omlettes or eggs cooked for you which we did and they were very good, bread was excellent. For lunch we ate hamburgers which are cooked down by the beach area, we asked for well done and these were very good, did also eat some buns/cheese at the buffet. Dinners at the buffet, we tended to stick to food fresh off the grill, pork and beef which were good and rice from the buffet. Ice cream is also good. The a la cartes we had were the steakhouse, Romantica and Japanese. Japanese was by far the best with the steakhouse second and Romantica third. Make sure you book these right away, they fill up fast and some people did not get in to the three you are allowed.

No bugs, although one person did have a severe reaction to mosquitos, for the most part we didn't use bug spray but after seeing her reaction we did put it on for the nightly show in the theatre. That's where they seemed to be...otherwise no bugs but would suggest bug spray.

We didn't have hot water for a day (Saturday the day we arrived into Sunday)..probably with so many people coming and going. Otherwise no problem. Spent quite a bit on tips, everyone gets tipped including the staff cooking the food...you don't have to, but it is done.

Went with Sunwing, flight down was great but had a 5 hour delay on the return flight. Were supposed to leave at 10:40PM and left at 4:00AM due to weather conditions of the incoming flight from NFLD. Won't fly this late again.

Your Arrival:
Bring bug spray and lots of suntan lotion.

Rooms:
Clean

Restaurants and Bars:
Book a la carts right away, they fill up fast

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Well tended and clean. Beach is not cleaned daily so some trash around but livable

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Havana day trip was good

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice hotel"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Elisa  on Dec 9, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Haiti
Visited on: Jan, 1997
736 people found this review helpful

I stayed there in October, you can tell is a new hotel, the room and the bathroom were nice and clean. They have several big pools. Their fitness room is small but they have the basic for a good work out. The food was ok, but I only tried the buffet. Their piña colada was very tasty. Since the hotel is new their was no coconut water in place. I wou ld definatly recommend this hotel, I want to come back again. They also have a nice show at night. The beach was clean and beautiful. I loved it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube