Iberostar Laguna Azul Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Iberostar Laguna Azul reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.5 based on 30 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 26, 2014

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 27, 2014

Royal Hicacos

4.1 based on 44 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Iberostar Laguna Azul  

Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba

"Beautiful Resort - Badly Managed....."
Posted by: Cathy on May 21, 2015
see all reviews

Iberostar Laguna Azul Reviews
Iberostar Laguna Azul Pictures and Information
Iberostar Laguna Azul Varadero Cuba

#9
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.2

Based on 40 reviews

Iberostar Laguna Azul Information


Standing in a privileged location on the seafront at Varadero Beach, the recently opened five-star resort Iberostar Laguna Azul offers a wide range of facilities making it the ideal choice for couples, families and groups. Be among the first to enjoy this fabulous hotel!

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Laguna Azul Reviews

Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 4.2 of 5 40 reviews
Excellent
  21
Very good
  10
Average
  5
Poor
  5
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (30)
Wedding (2)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (10)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (6)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (14)
Solo
1 - 10 of 40

"Horrible food and theft!"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alex  on Aug 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
208 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Arrival was simple. The check-in was horrible, that is when they told me that there was no wifi in the rooms or in the hotel, although the promised wifi on their website.

Rooms:
Room is good. Air conditioning is good and everything is easily acessable.

Restaurants and Bars:
Horrible and nasty food. Drinks like coca cola are mixed with water.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is very good. The pools are good too but they are often enough dirty with sand.

Other Comments:
At the last day, we started packing up and went for dinner. In the mean time my laptop and my son's iPhone recharger got stolen from the room.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"two words"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  angela  on Apr 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
201 people found this review helpful

stay away......not what we call food, beds hard, slow service,needs repairs for a new hotel, not a great place to sleep but pools and beach great, only alcarte resturant we recommend is the japanese which we consider to be 5 star all the way.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful Resort - Badly Managed....."

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cathy  on May 21, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2015 | Leisure | With friend
58 people found this review helpful

As a background we have been to Cuba 5 times, Dom Rep at least 8, Cozumel, Playa del Carmen, and Jamaica - so we have knowledge of the Caribbean.

We were two couples and traveled between May 10 to 17th.

PROs:
The resort is beautiful on outside, the lobby is stunning.
The terrace is amazing and they take great care of the grounds.
The beach is fantastic and the water is crystal clear.
Swim up bar is great, but could get crowded.
Fun trips to Varadero on double-decker bus for shopping
Pizza was delicious (long line, but worth it!)
Chicken, at station was excellent
Great omelets, good breakfasts everyday
WIFI works perfect (cards are $5 for 1 hour) . We sat on the Terrace and streamed the hockey play-offs thru Rogers. Is played perfectly!
We did have a lot of fun throughout our weeks stay.
The pool was great and the beach was perfect.
Went to a wedding that was absolutely beautiful. From what we saw, great care was taken by the wedding planner and all seemed to go very well.
Wedding was on top floor of main building in outdoor area (above lobby) – beautiful back ground of the ocean.
Wedding meal was delicious – especially the appetizer with shrimp and salad.
Beach entertainment was very comical and well organized. Fun to watch.

CONs:
Mix-up on rooms
Thin/Small bath towels, that were hardly ever changed
No refills of shampoo and conditioner.
Dirty housecoat (still trying to forget that one)
Hair Dryer kept overheating (took 45 minutes to dry hair)
TV remote was broken (complained every day, never fixed)
Told that all the “a la cartes” were booked. Finally after wasting an hour vacation time received some.
Could not see a Manager (told to make an appointment as he wasn’t in – ya right)
Flies everywhere in Buffet
Poor service (started getting our own water and beer).
Toilet seat are mismatched (if there is actually one on the toilet)
Kept running out of Plates at buffet and toilet paper and soap in public bathrooms
Kept running out of Mint (so no Mojitos), and ran out of straws on three occasions
Take care of your beach towel… they are gold – hard time changing them (they also get stolen).
The Hotel seems to be extremely poorly Managed.
If they had decent Management Team, this would be a great hotel

Conclusion - bring your own:
Toilet paper
Hand soap
Extra towel and face cloth
Mint
Straws
And a toilet seat

Room Number:
12317

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Place went downhill quick"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jeff  on May 16, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
74 people found this review helpful

This is a terrible resort now.
It is filthy.
TThere was poop on the floor for hours in mens washroom.
TThere are Cuban cockroaches throughout the whole hotel they are green mainly in the dark red hallways.
The pools are littered with garbage.
The beds are third world beds.
The buffet food was terrible.
TThe staff are great with kids
TThe beach isn't the best
Go to royalton far better.
Cayo Santa Maria is better

Room Number:
12504

Room Block:
12

Arrival:
Sept 1

Rooms:
Dirty bugs throughout
BBeds dirty
Furniture like rustic cabin

Restaurants and Bars:
Booze wasn't too bad

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Go out for dinner vs eating there

Other Comments:
Stay away from here.
I will bet my life you will find much better for same price

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Poor experience, not 5 star."

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Reese  on Jan 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
196 people found this review helpful

Went with my family to what they say is the newest and best 5 star all-inclusive resort in Varadero. The best thing I can say about the resort is that the rooms are nice...other than that the day we got there they had no hot water anywhere on the resort, the "hot tub" stays far less than lukewarm and the other one on the resort was empty.

They advertise that all the 'a la carte' restaurats are available for reservations but they are always "fully-booked" but 90% of the people don't show up and we were turned away from all 3 a la carte restaurants 3 out of 4 nights....most of them were empty with a table or two full and they still say there is nothing they can do to get you a table. Generally the food was terrible at the buffet, which is to be expected at any all-inclusive resort but when you aren't being let into nice a la carte places that are empty it is a little bit of salt in the wound to have to go down to the buffet and eat junk.

Of the 3 rooms we had 2 TVs stopped working and they sent someone by to say "yes broken" and that they would bring another....that didn't happen and it became a joke among the family that maybe the tv would come today.

The people that work there are very confused as to what is open and when, however, the bartenders seem to be the best people to talk to.

The spa was booked solid, I even witnessed them turn people away who had reservations booked a week in advance.

There were people there who said that they had a much better experience at a 3 star resort just down the beach the last time they were in Veradero.

It was very dirty outside around the pool with plenty of broken glass and plastic, also they allow seagulls to bathe themselves freely in the pool which was quite funny.

At night you can be woken up at 4am not by people partying (we did our fair share) but by staff yelling down the halls at each other with their radio sets on full volume.

Finally, BRING MONEY to change otherwise it is a 20 CUC cab ride to a bank on another resort.

Rooms:
Very nice and clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bars were good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Dirty

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not really five star yet!"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Diana  on Mar 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
221 people found this review helpful

We travelled to this resort Feb 28 to March 7 2010. The reason we chose this resort was because we had stayed at other Iberostars in the Caribbean and had not been disappointed. However, this resort is perhaps too new yet. We had hot water and bath sized towels only 3 days out of our 7 day stay. We used our pool towels for bathing purposes. Toilet paper was also an issue. Though we ourselves did not experience food problems we were careful of what we chose and did become aware of other people who had become seriously ill from uncooked meat served on the buffet. We did notice that the hotel lobby furniture seemed very worn for such a new resort making us think that this particular resort is not quite up to the Iberostar standard of luxury. We found that because the resort was filled to capacity all staff were extremely busy and hurried though those staff working at the buffet did try hard to please. I don't think we would return to this resort until we hear that they have overcome the difficulties of being too new to be so full.

Rooms:
We stayed in building 15 which we found noisy but clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
We dined at the Japanese which we found fun but rushed. We also dined at the Italian which was mediocre and the Gourmet which was very good. All the bars served great drinks.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The vegetation is not fully developed due to the newness of the resort but well cared for. The pools were cold but clean.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Why so much meat? Fries etc etc"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jake II  on Jan 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009 | Leisure
141 people found this review helpful

Arrival was no problem, plane / bus transfer was easy as pie. Smooooooth - flew on Sunwing from YYZ to Varadero.

Rooms::
Room was great - very very clean. Huge bathroom with big oval-shaped tub + shower, sink was big, everything was brand new and super clean.

Restaurants and Bars::
Steakhouse was poor - I had the rib eye (mistake) and tenderloin. In my experience cook it one level higher than what you want i.e. if you want medium, say medium well.

Cesar salad was three leaves of lettuce + some mayo and a crumbling of cheese. I wanted to ask for a bowl and make it as proper as can be, no dice.

Italian was better, ravioli was HUGE - i.e. the actual pasta piece was huge. The italian - how can you screw up italian? You can't, and they did a good job. Fish was good here.

Romantico/Gourmet-this was the best. Dreilyn, or Dreilis was great, funny and very patient. We had a baby with us so he took his time. Tenderloin and duck here are very good, don't try the lamb unless you're adventurous. Ladies also loved the fish here, can't remember the types but it was good.

Buffet - blah. Typical. Seems like whatever wasn't used the night before, they would add chops of ham or meat (example to the salads) to make it new. Well little options for vegetarians.
Deep-fried scrambled eggs, more oil used than in an exxon valdez.

I really can't explain it. One step in the next direction and the food COULD be much better. Fruit platter was always bad EXCEPT grapefruits. These were great. All other fruit was poor quality. The hotel needs to just add some vegetarian + healthier options than what's available, and it would be a GREAT buffet. Example, instead of eggs, why not just egg whites? Why so much meat? Fries etc etc., all that crap. Why no plantains?

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
1. the good: pools were both excellent, clean, and crisp.
2. bars; bars @ pools were great. - service was great.
3. pads only available by the pool but readily available - for the loungers. Get one in 5 minutes each day, no problem. Tip him a couple bucks and he'll look out for you as well, loved that.

Beach
great beach. good swimming, great entry into ocean.

Basically the grounds were GREAT. Clean / fresh, and everything worked great.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
OK so this is why this trip was pretty bad:
On the 2nd day we were there the hangglider/raft thingamajig that was making rounds on our beach crashed. It is rumoured 2 people died. My good friend ran over and what he saw pretty much confirmed this. Why would a resort with 5* rating, or any resort for that matter, allow for this sort of activity on the beach? It really ruined our trip, thinking of that. We could not go the rest of the trip without wondering about the people + their families, both occupant and pilot.

Other Comments::
Tennis courts were good - windy. Construction next door is quiet, so not bothersome. Ping Pong / shuffle board and bocci were all great. Drinks were ok, beer was the best option.

3/5 on the whole trip based on the one incident, and for the generally poor food options.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stayed for 1 week with my family"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Johanne  on May 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
413 people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time in Cuba. The weather was perfect but not the hotel.
It was too busy. Too many people on the beach and around the pool.
Too busy everywhere and impersonel. Hard to find a spot.
The buffet was pretty to look at but not good at all. Coffee lovers; have an expresso because the the cafe con leche is disgusting.
Restaurants à la carte ,ONLY one was good; the Japanese one. The others were aweful. The beach was pretty.
The staff at the front desk was OK. You don't need to know Spanish at all. They all speak English and they prefer to speak this language whoever you are.
This hotel is very clean and new.
The service was excellent when you needed something in your room.
The 10:00 shows were great with the talented musicians. I like the cuban music.
From 9 to 10:00 very boring. A waste of time to watch the tourists on the stage doing silly things. The disco, I don't know I didn't go.

Room Number:
15114

Room Block:
Central

Arrival:
May 8th.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Here is how it is"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Robert Oedegaard  on Jun 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) NORWAY
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
450 people found this review helpful

The facilitis (pools, bars, buildings) might be close to five stars, but the content around it is not quite there. Helpful staff in the front desk, easy check-in. Drinks in the pianobar are good. The BAD part is in the buffet. Me and my girlfriend arrived in the afternoon, and went there for the dinner buffet. The staff there are horrible. They are over-friendly, giving you almost no time to eat - because you are answering on the "is everyhing ok" question every 20 second. Not from the same waiters, but ALL of them. In addition the waiters are obviously instructed to touch all the male guest, putting their arm around your shoulder when asking if you want more wine etc. (The house-wine is good though!). In addition, they came with a questionnare to the table on our first night, asking us to answer how satisfied we were with cleaning, service etc. They were making a big deal that we HAD to cross on "very satisfied" with the restarant service, almost hanging over your shoulder making sure you crossed that. Well, I did not - i just choosed "good" and explained that they are trying to hard and we just want our meal in peace and quite. For me it is no problem if they come and ask if the food etc. is ok - but not every second minute! And they should learn to have one waiter per area of tables. Well the result of me choosing "good" resulted in three of them standing at our table demanding to know why it was not good. After tryting to explain (again) why, and they refused to understand and started being big-mouthed I demonstratively tared the form apart and said I did not wanted to answer it at all then if i cannot choose the answers myself! The result was very poor service from that shift of waiters the rest of our stay! Kids in a kindergarten behave better than these folks.

Well, and the food is not five star either. But - maybe as five-star as it gets on Cuba? It is ok - but not exciting. The pizzas are ok, and the selection is also good. But, most of it taste "nothing".

Rooms are big and the bed is good, but not very good bedsheets (they felt wet, or sticky). Cleaning is NOT five star, but again - it is OK. You are walking in and out in slippers with salt and sand all day and only to change and shower - so the room I had no problem with. But far from five star cleaning and maintenance everywhere.

But, an overall ok hotel. It is fairly cheap (early june) and we had a good time!

Room Block:
19

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"the food isn't great"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  zaraiah  on Jul 15, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
127 people found this review helpful

I visited this resort in February but just thought I put up a review for those who haven’t been here and since I plan on staying here next month I thought I shared my experience. It was a nice holiday for me when I visited this resort and the hotel is a very beautiful place. The roads leading up to the hotel was beautiful as well and knowing Varadero I was never bored throughout my stay here. Everywhere was clean, the hotel grounds, the lobby area and the beach too. The rooms were cool from the working AC and it was clean because the maid service made sure of that every day. The maids cleaned out the rooms every day and also restocked the mini bar with drinks and water. There is no special snorkeling tour or activity like that, all you got to do is bring your gear along as you come out to the beach and just snorkel away. The beach is really amazing especially at night, I take walks at night at the beach and it is usually awesome. The buffet breakfast was superb, I loved it but overall, the food wasn’t that great. The a la carte restaurants were great but you need to book them once you arrive if you don’t one be stuck eating out of one. The staff was great; they were warm and nice and helped the guests out when they needed it. I urge them to improve in their kitchen and things will be better.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube