Iberostar Laguna Azul Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Iberostar Laguna Azul reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.5 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 22, 2012

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.4 based on 26 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 18, 2014

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel

4.3 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 25, 2014

Iberostar Laguna Azul  

Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba

"the food isn't great"
Posted by: zaraiah on Jul 15, 2014
see all reviews

Iberostar Laguna Azul Reviews
Iberostar Laguna Azul Pictures and Information
Iberostar Laguna Azul Varadero Cuba

#12
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.2

Based on 37 reviews

Iberostar Laguna Azul Information


Standing in a privileged location on the seafront at Varadero Beach, the recently opened five-star resort Iberostar Laguna Azul offers a wide range of facilities making it the ideal choice for couples, families and groups. Be among the first to enjoy this fabulous hotel!

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Laguna Azul Reviews

Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 4.2 of 5 37 reviews
Excellent
  20
Very good
  10
Average
  5
Poor
  3
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (27)
Wedding (2)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (9)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (5)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (13)
Solo
11 - 20 of 37

"The best of the best- a true 5 Star"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anna  on Apr 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
437 people found this review helpful

This hotel is new- opened in 2009. I've been to cuba over 7 times and this is the best place in Varadero by far. The food, the rooms, the cleanliness all 5 stars. We read a ton of reviews good and bad, stop worrying and just go! You can't go wrong with an Iberostar, especially a 5 star one!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Iberostar Laguna Azul - Fabulous!!"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kim  on Mar 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
247 people found this review helpful

Just returned from the Iberostar and my husband and i were completely happy. Hotel was wonderful, clean and friendly with everything and more offered! The rooms were large and clean, the food was ample and very good. Great selections and the ala cartes were amazing! Staff friendly and always around to help. Beach was unbelievable, plenty of chair and umbrella for needed shade with miles of beach to walk, weather perfect! The Pina Coloda's are to die for!!! I have travelled to many places and this one is wonderful. For those of you reading bad reviews regarding food, staff, hard beds and drinks, those people need to stay home or visit their local Hilton, as the Iberostar Laguna Azul is amazing. When travelling food will be different, places will be different, so if you are willing to step out of your box and see the world and try new things, this is an amazing place, you will not be disappointed!! I would go back in a heartbeat. The Colonial tour to Havana was great and our tour guide was funny, charming and very informative.. Again i will be back!!

Room Number:
10216

Room Block:
10

Arrival:
Arrived to sunny Varadero, Air Canada vacations were waiting to take us to our resort.. Check in was fast and easy and very friendly. Drinks were waiting for us with smiling staff. The main lobby is bright and friendly with chairs, flowers and music.

Rooms:
Very large clean room, King sized bed, fridge which was filled daily, beautiful patio to sit and look over the ocean. Large closet and storage area, 2 robes left to use. Bathroom even had a scale if you needed to wanted to step on it! Quiet location, cleaning staff friendly and always ready to help or add extra items if needed. Bathroom offered a large jetted tub, soap, shampoo and body wash offered in rooms. Bring extra soap if you are a big soap user like i am!

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffets great, a ton of selection, from breakfast to lunch and dinner, beach buffet also had burgers, hot dogs, pizza and fries for those who didnt like to try new things. Staff friendly and always dancing, singing and smiling.

The bars great and make a fabulous spanish coffee and an amazing pina coloda. Bring a to go cup if you prefer a little bigger cup. Bartenders funny and easy to get along with and love an extra tip now and then.

The Japanese ala carte was amazing from the food to the entertainment, best i have ever been too. The steak house was good, but steak isnt a specality there so i will leave steak to Alberta, the Cuban restaurant was great also, with the Red Snapper being amazing!! My Husband had the Lobster and he loved every bite.

Again we were pleased with all the food, yes it is a little different but that is the experience of travelling.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Awesome! Clean! Awesome!! What more can i say? Sand and beautiful blue ocean with a light wind. Pools clean with a bit more activities, grounds clean and still new. Trees are just starting to grow, but amazing clean!

The place is amazing and i would go back tomorrow if i could!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activites, on beach were stretching, salsa lessons, water aerobics, volleyball, games.

Around the pool activites were going non stop and bingo at the end of the day.

All activities offered off the resort from your tour guide or vacation rep. We headed to Varadero one day on the double decker bus.. Fun and a learning experience with locals..

Trip to Havana booked with our Air Canada Vacation, awesome. Full day leaving at 8:00 in the morning and coming back at 7:00 at night. Old Havana, New Havana, a cigar factory, rum factory, and a stop at the market made the day complete. Well worth the cost of the tour.

Other Comments:
Again, this resort was wonderful and everything we expected. We would go again and recommend this resort to all family and friends. I think if you complain about this resort its time to stay home in the comfort of your own home. From Mexico to Dominica, to Costa Rica all are so different and have so much to offer. Embrace the difference and have fun, this place is amazing!! Enjoy the sun and bring the sunscreen! :)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful resort, friendly staff stayed here as my son was married at this resort, Had our choice we would of went back to the Sandals resort."

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  lorie Schnell  on Jan 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Wedding | Family and Kids
215 people found this review helpful

The staff is awesome, Food not so good but the Buffet on News Years Eve was awesome. Room service forget it. Our daughters and my future daughter in law were getting ready for the wedding and were hungry near lunch so ordered room service and guess what they never delivered the food this is not the first time this has happen. We were generous with tips also.No hot water for 2 days when we were there and it was chilly outside.We did not have wash cloths as no rooms have them, I requested wash cloths and I did recieve them daily and they did give me plenty of water as I do not drink alcohol. The maids do talk loud at 4 we heard 2 yeling back and forth and there was some upset people.The hotel it self is beautiful but very large. I am very picky when it comes to a hotel being clean and it was there was some garbage hanging around the hotel but you can blame that on the people who stayed there that do not put the glasses and plastic cups away. The staff has to go around and pick up! The hot tub is not hot at all.Overall would I stay here again I am not sure we stayed at the Sandals resort and Loved it, 18 years and up only. We would stay at the Sandals resort again for sure only down fall there was the staff was not as friendly as this hotel!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Poor experience, not 5 star."

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Reese  on Jan 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
183 people found this review helpful

Went with my family to what they say is the newest and best 5 star all-inclusive resort in Varadero. The best thing I can say about the resort is that the rooms are nice...other than that the day we got there they had no hot water anywhere on the resort, the "hot tub" stays far less than lukewarm and the other one on the resort was empty.

They advertise that all the 'a la carte' restaurats are available for reservations but they are always "fully-booked" but 90% of the people don't show up and we were turned away from all 3 a la carte restaurants 3 out of 4 nights....most of them were empty with a table or two full and they still say there is nothing they can do to get you a table. Generally the food was terrible at the buffet, which is to be expected at any all-inclusive resort but when you aren't being let into nice a la carte places that are empty it is a little bit of salt in the wound to have to go down to the buffet and eat junk.

Of the 3 rooms we had 2 TVs stopped working and they sent someone by to say "yes broken" and that they would bring another....that didn't happen and it became a joke among the family that maybe the tv would come today.

The people that work there are very confused as to what is open and when, however, the bartenders seem to be the best people to talk to.

The spa was booked solid, I even witnessed them turn people away who had reservations booked a week in advance.

There were people there who said that they had a much better experience at a 3 star resort just down the beach the last time they were in Veradero.

It was very dirty outside around the pool with plenty of broken glass and plastic, also they allow seagulls to bathe themselves freely in the pool which was quite funny.

At night you can be woken up at 4am not by people partying (we did our fair share) but by staff yelling down the halls at each other with their radio sets on full volume.

Finally, BRING MONEY to change otherwise it is a 20 CUC cab ride to a bank on another resort.

Rooms:
Very nice and clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bars were good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Dirty

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Legendary " I B E R O C H A I R S " and "

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  leonardito  on Nov 12, 2010  >  18 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
182 people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic holiday in Cuba
and really enjoyed staying at the Iberostar Laguna Azul
which is a beautiful hotel and very new.
The hotel is in a good location for taking lots of different trips.

The beach is long wide and with a gentle slope into the water.
There is over 400 shade palapas on the beach,
so finding one usually isn't an issue till about noon.

Rooms are large, bright and well appointed,
with a decent sized closet and storage spaces.
The bathroom is large with a corner tub and shower.

The main pool was quite lively and had lots of things going on.
There is also two smaller and quieter pools on the side.

We really enjoyed the food,
we could always find something to eat in the buffet
and particularly liked the breads,
the fresh fish and meat cooked in front of you.
We also enjoyed the a la carte restaurants especially the Romantico.
The staff was very courteous, polite.
The service was great, very fast and efficient.

The only negatives with this hotel are the beach and pool chairs.
They are the most unconfortable chairs that we have ever found.
They are made of a very hard plastic and they are back breaking.
At the pool it is possible to get a mattress for the chairs,
but at the beach they are not available.
It is really impossible to lay on these chairs for a long time.
Hopefully, the hotel will find a solution for this problem.

Overall, the Iberostar Laguna Azul is a very confortable hotel
and would recommend it.

Photos: http://leonardito.com/iberostarvar1010n/iberostarvar1010.php

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible food and theft!"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alex  on Aug 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
198 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Arrival was simple. The check-in was horrible, that is when they told me that there was no wifi in the rooms or in the hotel, although the promised wifi on their website.

Rooms:
Room is good. Air conditioning is good and everything is easily acessable.

Restaurants and Bars:
Horrible and nasty food. Drinks like coca cola are mixed with water.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is very good. The pools are good too but they are often enough dirty with sand.

Other Comments:
At the last day, we started packing up and went for dinner. In the mean time my laptop and my son's iPhone recharger got stolen from the room.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Iberostar Laguna Azul - Fantastic Resort, Great Setup, Good Food! Wonderful Vacation! "

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Line  on Apr 30, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
187 people found this review helpful

We stayed at this beautiful resort April 20 to April 27th. It was a great vacation. The weather was excellent, we gained weight so that answers your question about the food, we are so tanned that our friends don't recongnize us and we are struggling to get back on track here in Canada, it's going way too fast for us!

Your Arrival:
We flew Air Transat Club Class and it was a wonderful experience. The service you get is just amazing really. We weren't use to that kind of service on our flights, always flew economic rates. Hum, I really enjoyed it. We took it at the airport, last minute because they had seats available and were trying to sell them so we got sucked in but we really enjoyed the experience. We were early arriving in Varadero and things all went very smooth.

Rooms:
Our room wasn't ready when we got to the resort. We arrived around 11:00am so I wasn't surprised. It did take them way too long to give us our room, the service at the front desk was good and I know they tried their best for us but it was a busy day in the lobby. Once we did get our room we were very satisfied with it. King size bed, clean enough for our taste I guess, not perfect but it was decent. We had emailed the resort with a few choices of buildings and floors and we got what we had requested. I had said in my email that they were only preferences and not to stress it too much but they gave us what we had requested and we were very happy. Building 18, top floor facing the pool but I need to say that all the locations are good. This resort is so well set up it's crazy. It's a big enough resort but you feel right at home because the way the plan of the builgings was designed, loved it. They stocked the bar everyday. It was suppose to be every second day but we always tip well and leave a little note for more Cristal beer and we always got 2 or 3 everyday anyway for when the bars aren't open yet around 9:00 :)

Restaurants and Bars:
We tried 3 a la carte. gourment(del chef), Japonese, and the Romantico. They were all very very good. The beef tenderloin was amazing. No complaints on the food. The buffet had lots of choices and the service was excellent. I didn't really like the drinks too much. I noticed that they make many in advance and they were warm. I would always have to send the waitress back for a glass of ice cause the drink was warm. Warm pina colada's, not very good your your belly so be very careful. After I noticed the making of drinks in advance I stopped drinking them and by belly ache went away. I wasn't drinking too many of them but still got discomfort. The pool bar had slush machines so that was cold and refreshing but the lobby bar was a busy spot and I guess they tried to go fast on the drinks. We couldn't believe how fast the got our drink but came to find out that they were done in advance. Beer was safe and we had plenty. The ice cream shop was a real bonus also, yummy!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The big activity pool was very busy and loud but if your in to that you will have fun. We spent most of our time at the beach and the quiet pool behind our building. Not enough shade at the quiet pool if you need it. we were up early to reserve shade but they don't have enough of it around the pools. At the beach they have plenty of shade so no worries for the beach. We did find that the beach has changed quit a bit. Lots of broken shells, sea weeds etc and it's not getting cleaned often. The Laguna Azul does have plenty of space in from of the palapas so you don't have everyone walking close to your chair but other resort were terrible for that. They were almost sitting in the water under their palapas, not good. The grounds are still very young so trees and flowers are very small but it will get there eventually.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't do much for activities. We did go in town at the market of course. They have so much to offer and so cheap. Please, never try to bargain with the price they offer you, it's cheap enough already as it is. You'll feel bad if you do so please don't. We also went for our pizza fix at Pizza Nova at the Plaza Americas(little mall). except that, well we rested, slept on the beach, walked the beautiful beaches of Varadero, made new friends, hate great food and drank beer all week.

Other Comments:
This resort is wonderful. We are returning guest of Iberostar and we are very happy with this chain of hotels. The price will certainly go up because it is a real fine 5 star resort and will only get better. We had great weather and our vacation was perfect. We left all of our leftover stuff to a girl that worked the lobby cleaning and scubbing ashtrays every night. She was about 5 months pregnant and worked every night we were there. She was just so happy with our little things we take for granted. We tipped all week cause the service was very good and it was laways appreciated but certainly not requested by them in any way. We saw approx 10 weddings on the resort and they were all a bit different from each other but still all very beautiful. Until next year! Adios!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would go back tomorrow...."

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sara  on Apr 28, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
151 people found this review helpful

This was my first trip to Cuba. Actually my first trip out of North America. It was so amazing! All the people there were super nice and would go out of your way to help you.
I will never forget all the star friends I made. I still email them.
If I had the opportunity, I would be back in a second.

Your Arrival:
We left Toronto at 7am. We arrived at the resort shortly before 12. Check in is at 4pm. We were told this after asking when our room would be ready. We just put our luggage in a seperate room and went to the pool and got a drink. That was the worst part about arriving.

Rooms:
Our room had two beds, a couch and lounge chair, desk and chair, TV stand with a mini fridge below.
I like a hard bed, so these beds were perfect for me. Some people complained about the beds, but my friend and I didn't have any problems sleeping.
Our blow dryer was tempermental, but it worked when we needed it.

Restaurants and Bars:
We went to the disco every night. So much fun!
The cigar bar had the best drinks out of any bar. About halfway through the trip the bartenders knew what drinks we wanted as soon as they saw us. That made us feel great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I like a warm pool, so I didn't go in the pools that often, just to cool off.
It was a gorgeous resort with pools everywhere.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There is a nightly show. I believe 5 nights of the wk it is by the resort workers, with the other 2 nights the resort brings other people in. There was a magic show, Chicago tribute, Phantom of the Opera to name a few.
They are worth going to!
There is bingo a few times a day. I won a 26er my first night there. It set the mood for the trip. It was amazing from then on.

Other Comments:
Be prepared to be touchy-feely! I was taken back by the amount of kissing on the cheeks by people there. I backed away the first day, but after that I would know what to expect. Just be warned.
Lele made fun of me each time he saw me. He would pretend to back away from me whenever he saw me. It was funny.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"AWESOME VACATION SPOT!"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mss. marlene leblanc  on Apr 28, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010
412 people found this review helpful

April 11-18 This was my 3rd trip to my beloved Cuba.This year again with my fave cousin,Paul.It was glorious!exquisite hotel!Amazing staff!Delicious cuisine,and marvelous drinks!The beach is glorious,the main pool dreamy with a waterfall.The evening theater shows are superb!Of course I was in love for a week with Sandy,an amazing dancer in these shows!We did not try the reserved restaurants as our dear friend Raul,works in the buffet,and we wanted to spend as much time as possible with him.He is new to this resort,last year we stayed at Sol Coral where he worked at that time.I would highly recomend The Laguna Azul,it is awesome!I hope to return next year!Ciao!Besos

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had a blast at the Laguna Azul!"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Melissa  on Apr 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
202 people found this review helpful

I just got back from the Iberostar Laguna Azul on April 16th. I was travelling with just one friend and we were there for a week. The resort is absolutely gorgeous! Everything is quite new and very clean!
Our room was very nice and roomy! The beds were very comfortable. We didn't hear any noise from other rooms or from the hallway all week. We were in Building 10 which is in back of the horseshoe style buildings. There are 2 buildings that aren't connected to the rest of the buildings. This was one of them-it was very quiet which is what we wanted. One day we had a problem with our shower-the shower hose had a leak and sprayed water all over the floor without our knowing. The maintenance man came and fixed it in 5 minutes.
The entertainment at this resort is great. There are always activitites going on-the Star Friends team is awesome. We participated in salsa/meringue lessons on the beach, water aerobics in the ocean, bingo (I won a quart of rum), other games on the beach, and other games in the lobby at night (I won another quart of rum one night). The nightly shows were great-we went every night! Some were better than others, but we enjoyed them all. Before the show, they had competitions on the stage where the guests would go up to compete in different things-it was really funny. I won at a drum competition!
The beach was really nice and a lovely turquoise color! It was great for swimming-the depth of the water was perfect, and just enough waves! We had brought some floats from home, which were lots of fun! We did take a walk to the neighboring resorts, and our beach was by far the best one!
The pools were also very nice! We spent some time at the main pool and there was lots of going on, especially with the pool bar. The water in the pool was a really good temperature also. We did go in the hot tub one day-which is located on top of the big rock by the pool. It was very crowded and it wasn't hot! We didn't go back!
The food at the resort wasn't too bad! It was my 1st time in Cuba and I had been warned that the food isn't the greatest. So I wasn't expecting anything super good. I didn't starve, there was always a variety of food to eat. However, I was excited to get back home for some "real" food. We went to the Italian a la carte which was very good and the Japanese one. We really enjoyed the Japanese-it was a great experience and the food was really good also! There was also an ice cream parlor on the resort not far from the beach. The ice cream was really good and the lady working there was really nice. We gave her a Dora doll for her 3 year old daughter and she was very appreciative!
All in all, this resort was everything we thought it would be and more! I usually do not go back to the same resort twice, but I would definitely go back to this resort!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube