Iberostar Laguna Azul Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Iberostar Laguna Azul reviews


Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.5 based on 30 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 26, 2014

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 27, 2014

Royal Hicacos

4.1 based on 44 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Iberostar Laguna Azul  

Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba

"Beautiful Resort - Badly Managed....."
Posted by: Cathy on May 21, 2015
see all reviews

Iberostar Laguna Azul Reviews
Iberostar Laguna Azul Pictures and Information
Iberostar Laguna Azul Varadero Cuba

of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.2

Based on 40 reviews

Iberostar Laguna Azul Information

Standing in a privileged location on the seafront at Varadero Beach, the recently opened five-star resort Iberostar Laguna Azul offers a wide range of facilities making it the ideal choice for couples, families and groups. Be among the first to enjoy this fabulous hotel!

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


Best Deals

Iberostar Laguna Azul Reviews

Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 4.2 of 5 40 reviews
Very good
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (30)
Wedding (2)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (10)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (6)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (14)
11 - 20 of 40

"Really enjoyed resort"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tammy  on May 24, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
466 people found this review helpful

The resort is beautiful,it is laid out well.Room was Ok, bathroom was great! Pools were a little crowded but we spent most of our time on the beautiful beach! Although we couldn't swim because of the invasion of "jelly fish"- they were really Portuguese Man of War- By the next week they were all gone!Food was Ok..I am picky so I ate burgers hotdogs and pizza most of the week.. drinks were great! Service was better than places we have been to in Mexico! I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

Feb 2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stayed for 1 week with my family"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Johanne  on May 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
437 people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time in Cuba. The weather was perfect but not the hotel.
It was too busy. Too many people on the beach and around the pool.
Too busy everywhere and impersonel. Hard to find a spot.
The buffet was pretty to look at but not good at all. Coffee lovers; have an expresso because the the cafe con leche is disgusting.
Restaurants à la carte ,ONLY one was good; the Japanese one. The others were aweful. The beach was pretty.
The staff at the front desk was OK. You don't need to know Spanish at all. They all speak English and they prefer to speak this language whoever you are.
This hotel is very clean and new.
The service was excellent when you needed something in your room.
The 10:00 shows were great with the talented musicians. I like the cuban music.
From 9 to 10:00 very boring. A waste of time to watch the tourists on the stage doing silly things. The disco, I don't know I didn't go.

Room Number:

Room Block:

May 8th.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Room was tired already but rest of resort was very good"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  MJ  on May 11, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
424 people found this review helpful

My teenage daughter and I spent 4 nights at this resort in April 2011. This was my 4th time in Varadero, first at this resort. This is my second stay at an Iberostar (first was Iberostar Varadero) and I am really impressed with their smart design and overall effort, with a few exceptions.

Ok, so worst first: I got a bit of a tummy bug after my first meal. However, I am very susceptible to foodborne illness in spite of all the normal precautions so I came properly prepared with drugs and had no further issues. That being said, food safety standards are nonexistent at the beach buffet and you couldn't have paid me enough to eat there with all the flies crawling on everything.

Also, this is a fairly new hotel so I was surprised that the room (18320) was so shabby. Both the safe and the patio door were broken and never fixed during our stay and there was a chronic infestation of tiny ants. The mattress on my bed had a very unpleasant odour. The bathroom was totally fine, and apart from the above issues, everything was clean.

The process for booking a la carte restaurants is tedious and you're liable to not get what you want unless you either go right away to make a reservation or get a lucky cancellation.

So that's the negative part of my review.

The positive part is about the service, the Japanese and Italian restaurants, the awesome musicians, and the two quiet pools. We absolutely loved the pool at the east side of the resort and on one of the days we visited, there was practically nobody there. The beach is also very nice, although not as nice as the main Varadero beach. There were a few loudmouths at the resort but that's pretty typical wherever you go. There was a beach party instead of a show on the Tuesday night.

The layout of the resort is quite compact and well-planned and the size is just right if you enjoy a smaller resort.

The main buffet restaurant is all right although I stuck to the made-to-order items so I can't comment on the steam tables - the food is certainly better than at Barcelo Marina Palace, where I went last year. The drinks were great, especially at the lobby bar (that's also typical of the resorts I've visited). The wines were passable, although I wasn't exactly writing down the names so I could have them at home. We also really enjoyed the little ice cream stand on the way to the beach. I was a bit disappointed with the coffee in the restaurant but there was a nice coffee setup at the main pool bar if you wanted to try your luck there.

Overall, I would return to this resort since I figure we have probably already had the worst room available!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best of the best- a true 5 Star"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anna  on Apr 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
490 people found this review helpful

This hotel is new- opened in 2009. I've been to cuba over 7 times and this is the best place in Varadero by far. The food, the rooms, the cleanliness all 5 stars. We read a ton of reviews good and bad, stop worrying and just go! You can't go wrong with an Iberostar, especially a 5 star one!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Iberostar Laguna Azul - Fabulous!!"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kim  on Mar 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
270 people found this review helpful

Just returned from the Iberostar and my husband and i were completely happy. Hotel was wonderful, clean and friendly with everything and more offered! The rooms were large and clean, the food was ample and very good. Great selections and the ala cartes were amazing! Staff friendly and always around to help. Beach was unbelievable, plenty of chair and umbrella for needed shade with miles of beach to walk, weather perfect! The Pina Coloda's are to die for!!! I have travelled to many places and this one is wonderful. For those of you reading bad reviews regarding food, staff, hard beds and drinks, those people need to stay home or visit their local Hilton, as the Iberostar Laguna Azul is amazing. When travelling food will be different, places will be different, so if you are willing to step out of your box and see the world and try new things, this is an amazing place, you will not be disappointed!! I would go back in a heartbeat. The Colonial tour to Havana was great and our tour guide was funny, charming and very informative.. Again i will be back!!

Room Number:

Room Block:

Arrived to sunny Varadero, Air Canada vacations were waiting to take us to our resort.. Check in was fast and easy and very friendly. Drinks were waiting for us with smiling staff. The main lobby is bright and friendly with chairs, flowers and music.

Very large clean room, King sized bed, fridge which was filled daily, beautiful patio to sit and look over the ocean. Large closet and storage area, 2 robes left to use. Bathroom even had a scale if you needed to wanted to step on it! Quiet location, cleaning staff friendly and always ready to help or add extra items if needed. Bathroom offered a large jetted tub, soap, shampoo and body wash offered in rooms. Bring extra soap if you are a big soap user like i am!

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffets great, a ton of selection, from breakfast to lunch and dinner, beach buffet also had burgers, hot dogs, pizza and fries for those who didnt like to try new things. Staff friendly and always dancing, singing and smiling.

The bars great and make a fabulous spanish coffee and an amazing pina coloda. Bring a to go cup if you prefer a little bigger cup. Bartenders funny and easy to get along with and love an extra tip now and then.

The Japanese ala carte was amazing from the food to the entertainment, best i have ever been too. The steak house was good, but steak isnt a specality there so i will leave steak to Alberta, the Cuban restaurant was great also, with the Red Snapper being amazing!! My Husband had the Lobster and he loved every bite.

Again we were pleased with all the food, yes it is a little different but that is the experience of travelling.

Awesome! Clean! Awesome!! What more can i say? Sand and beautiful blue ocean with a light wind. Pools clean with a bit more activities, grounds clean and still new. Trees are just starting to grow, but amazing clean!

The place is amazing and i would go back tomorrow if i could!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activites, on beach were stretching, salsa lessons, water aerobics, volleyball, games.

Around the pool activites were going non stop and bingo at the end of the day.

All activities offered off the resort from your tour guide or vacation rep. We headed to Varadero one day on the double decker bus.. Fun and a learning experience with locals..

Trip to Havana booked with our Air Canada Vacation, awesome. Full day leaving at 8:00 in the morning and coming back at 7:00 at night. Old Havana, New Havana, a cigar factory, rum factory, and a stop at the market made the day complete. Well worth the cost of the tour.

Other Comments:
Again, this resort was wonderful and everything we expected. We would go again and recommend this resort to all family and friends. I think if you complain about this resort its time to stay home in the comfort of your own home. From Mexico to Dominica, to Costa Rica all are so different and have so much to offer. Embrace the difference and have fun, this place is amazing!! Enjoy the sun and bring the sunscreen! :)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful resort, friendly staff stayed here as my son was married at this resort, Had our choice we would of went back to the Sandals resort."

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  lorie Schnell  on Jan 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Wedding | Family and Kids
235 people found this review helpful

The staff is awesome, Food not so good but the Buffet on News Years Eve was awesome. Room service forget it. Our daughters and my future daughter in law were getting ready for the wedding and were hungry near lunch so ordered room service and guess what they never delivered the food this is not the first time this has happen. We were generous with tips also.No hot water for 2 days when we were there and it was chilly outside.We did not have wash cloths as no rooms have them, I requested wash cloths and I did recieve them daily and they did give me plenty of water as I do not drink alcohol. The maids do talk loud at 4 we heard 2 yeling back and forth and there was some upset people.The hotel it self is beautiful but very large. I am very picky when it comes to a hotel being clean and it was there was some garbage hanging around the hotel but you can blame that on the people who stayed there that do not put the glasses and plastic cups away. The staff has to go around and pick up! The hot tub is not hot at all.Overall would I stay here again I am not sure we stayed at the Sandals resort and Loved it, 18 years and up only. We would stay at the Sandals resort again for sure only down fall there was the staff was not as friendly as this hotel!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Poor experience, not 5 star."

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Reese  on Jan 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
208 people found this review helpful

Went with my family to what they say is the newest and best 5 star all-inclusive resort in Varadero. The best thing I can say about the resort is that the rooms are nice...other than that the day we got there they had no hot water anywhere on the resort, the "hot tub" stays far less than lukewarm and the other one on the resort was empty.

They advertise that all the 'a la carte' restaurats are available for reservations but they are always "fully-booked" but 90% of the people don't show up and we were turned away from all 3 a la carte restaurants 3 out of 4 nights....most of them were empty with a table or two full and they still say there is nothing they can do to get you a table. Generally the food was terrible at the buffet, which is to be expected at any all-inclusive resort but when you aren't being let into nice a la carte places that are empty it is a little bit of salt in the wound to have to go down to the buffet and eat junk.

Of the 3 rooms we had 2 TVs stopped working and they sent someone by to say "yes broken" and that they would bring another....that didn't happen and it became a joke among the family that maybe the tv would come today.

The people that work there are very confused as to what is open and when, however, the bartenders seem to be the best people to talk to.

The spa was booked solid, I even witnessed them turn people away who had reservations booked a week in advance.

There were people there who said that they had a much better experience at a 3 star resort just down the beach the last time they were in Veradero.

It was very dirty outside around the pool with plenty of broken glass and plastic, also they allow seagulls to bathe themselves freely in the pool which was quite funny.

At night you can be woken up at 4am not by people partying (we did our fair share) but by staff yelling down the halls at each other with their radio sets on full volume.

Finally, BRING MONEY to change otherwise it is a 20 CUC cab ride to a bank on another resort.

Very nice and clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bars were good.


Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Legendary " I B E R O C H A I R S " and "

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  leonardito  on Nov 12, 2010  >  23 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
205 people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic holiday in Cuba
and really enjoyed staying at the Iberostar Laguna Azul
which is a beautiful hotel and very new.
The hotel is in a good location for taking lots of different trips.

The beach is long wide and with a gentle slope into the water.
There is over 400 shade palapas on the beach,
so finding one usually isn't an issue till about noon.

Rooms are large, bright and well appointed,
with a decent sized closet and storage spaces.
The bathroom is large with a corner tub and shower.

The main pool was quite lively and had lots of things going on.
There is also two smaller and quieter pools on the side.

We really enjoyed the food,
we could always find something to eat in the buffet
and particularly liked the breads,
the fresh fish and meat cooked in front of you.
We also enjoyed the a la carte restaurants especially the Romantico.
The staff was very courteous, polite.
The service was great, very fast and efficient.

The only negatives with this hotel are the beach and pool chairs.
They are the most unconfortable chairs that we have ever found.
They are made of a very hard plastic and they are back breaking.
At the pool it is possible to get a mattress for the chairs,
but at the beach they are not available.
It is really impossible to lay on these chairs for a long time.
Hopefully, the hotel will find a solution for this problem.

Overall, the Iberostar Laguna Azul is a very confortable hotel
and would recommend it.

Photos: http://leonardito.com/iberostarvar1010n/iberostarvar1010.php

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible food and theft!"

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alex  on Aug 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
220 people found this review helpful

Arrival was simple. The check-in was horrible, that is when they told me that there was no wifi in the rooms or in the hotel, although the promised wifi on their website.

Room is good. Air conditioning is good and everything is easily acessable.

Restaurants and Bars:
Horrible and nasty food. Drinks like coca cola are mixed with water.

The beach is very good. The pools are good too but they are often enough dirty with sand.

Other Comments:
At the last day, we started packing up and went for dinner. In the mean time my laptop and my son's iPhone recharger got stolen from the room.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Iberostar Laguna Azul - Fantastic Resort, Great Setup, Good Food! Wonderful Vacation! "

Iberostar Laguna Azul
User Rating:  Iberostar Laguna Azul Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Line  on Apr 30, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
206 people found this review helpful

We stayed at this beautiful resort April 20 to April 27th. It was a great vacation. The weather was excellent, we gained weight so that answers your question about the food, we are so tanned that our friends don't recongnize us and we are struggling to get back on track here in Canada, it's going way too fast for us!

Your Arrival:
We flew Air Transat Club Class and it was a wonderful experience. The service you get is just amazing really. We weren't use to that kind of service on our flights, always flew economic rates. Hum, I really enjoyed it. We took it at the airport, last minute because they had seats available and were trying to sell them so we got sucked in but we really enjoyed the experience. We were early arriving in Varadero and things all went very smooth.

Our room wasn't ready when we got to the resort. We arrived around 11:00am so I wasn't surprised. It did take them way too long to give us our room, the service at the front desk was good and I know they tried their best for us but it was a busy day in the lobby. Once we did get our room we were very satisfied with it. King size bed, clean enough for our taste I guess, not perfect but it was decent. We had emailed the resort with a few choices of buildings and floors and we got what we had requested. I had said in my email that they were only preferences and not to stress it too much but they gave us what we had requested and we were very happy. Building 18, top floor facing the pool but I need to say that all the locations are good. This resort is so well set up it's crazy. It's a big enough resort but you feel right at home because the way the plan of the builgings was designed, loved it. They stocked the bar everyday. It was suppose to be every second day but we always tip well and leave a little note for more Cristal beer and we always got 2 or 3 everyday anyway for when the bars aren't open yet around 9:00 :)

Restaurants and Bars:
We tried 3 a la carte. gourment(del chef), Japonese, and the Romantico. They were all very very good. The beef tenderloin was amazing. No complaints on the food. The buffet had lots of choices and the service was excellent. I didn't really like the drinks too much. I noticed that they make many in advance and they were warm. I would always have to send the waitress back for a glass of ice cause the drink was warm. Warm pina colada's, not very good your your belly so be very careful. After I noticed the making of drinks in advance I stopped drinking them and by belly ache went away. I wasn't drinking too many of them but still got discomfort. The pool bar had slush machines so that was cold and refreshing but the lobby bar was a busy spot and I guess they tried to go fast on the drinks. We couldn't believe how fast the got our drink but came to find out that they were done in advance. Beer was safe and we had plenty. The ice cream shop was a real bonus also, yummy!

The big activity pool was very busy and loud but if your in to that you will have fun. We spent most of our time at the beach and the quiet pool behind our building. Not enough shade at the quiet pool if you need it. we were up early to reserve shade but they don't have enough of it around the pools. At the beach they have plenty of shade so no worries for the beach. We did find that the beach has changed quit a bit. Lots of broken shells, sea weeds etc and it's not getting cleaned often. The Laguna Azul does have plenty of space in from of the palapas so you don't have everyone walking close to your chair but other resort were terrible for that. They were almost sitting in the water under their palapas, not good. The grounds are still very young so trees and flowers are very small but it will get there eventually.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't do much for activities. We did go in town at the market of course. They have so much to offer and so cheap. Please, never try to bargain with the price they offer you, it's cheap enough already as it is. You'll feel bad if you do so please don't. We also went for our pizza fix at Pizza Nova at the Plaza Americas(little mall). except that, well we rested, slept on the beach, walked the beautiful beaches of Varadero, made new friends, hate great food and drank beer all week.

Other Comments:
This resort is wonderful. We are returning guest of Iberostar and we are very happy with this chain of hotels. The price will certainly go up because it is a real fine 5 star resort and will only get better. We had great weather and our vacation was perfect. We left all of our leftover stuff to a girl that worked the lobby cleaning and scubbing ashtrays every night. She was about 5 months pregnant and worked every night we were there. She was just so happy with our little things we take for granted. We tipped all week cause the service was very good and it was laways appreciated but certainly not requested by them in any way. We saw approx 10 weddings on the resort and they were all a bit different from each other but still all very beautiful. Until next year! Adios!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube