Iberostar Varadero Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Iberostar Varadero reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Meliá Península Varadero

4.5 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 14, 2014

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 27, 2014

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel

4.3 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 25, 2014

Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.2 based on 37 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Iberostar Varadero  

Carretera Las Morlas km 16, Sector Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Cuba

"i had so much fun"
Posted by: stan on Jul 10, 2014
see all reviews

Iberostar Varadero Reviews
Iberostar Varadero Pictures and Information
Iberostar Varadero Varadero Cuba

#22
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.8

Based on 25 reviews

Iberostar Varadero Information


Opened in late 2004, the three storey buildings are scattered through beautiful landscaped gardens in a peaceful location some 20 minutes from the centre of Varadero. Three magnificent swimming pools plus a children's pool, with a spectacular stretch of beach towards the end of the peninsula.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Varadero Reviews

Iberostar Varadero Review: 4.8 of 5 25 reviews
Excellent
  23
Very good
  0
Average
  2
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (6)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 25

"i had so much fun"

Iberostar Varadero
User Rating:  Iberostar Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  stan  on Jul 10, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
29 people found this review helpful

I just got back on vacation from this wonderful hotel and I had the time of my life here, it was a great experience for me. I had so much happiness in experiencing Cuba for the first time and it was an amazing experience for me, I think that my consequent vacations will be in Cuba and most likely this hotel because I love Varadero city so much, it’s so lively especially at night. I had so much fun in Cuba and the hotel made sure that my stay was not regrettable. The staff works round the clock to make sure that the guests are all satisfied and comfortable; the hotel was well kept and maintained properly. The gardens were beautiful and you could see that they were very well maintained as well. My room had the garden view which beautiful and it was also very spacious, it was well cleaned and everything was in place, all equipments and amenities worked perfectly. I loved all the restaurants in the building, all the foods I ate there was nice and varieties were available even for the pickiest eater. There are lots of activities especially during the day if you are interested in being part of any of them. The animation team worked hard to make sure that the guests were entertained as well as putting up new different shows every night and that was a nice effort. The beach is fabulous and the staff here make your stay worthwhile because they are really lovely people.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very comfortable and relaxing!"

Iberostar Varadero
User Rating:  Iberostar Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Aija Aboltina  on Feb 24, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) NORWAY
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
468 people found this review helpful

Excellent stay! Spacious and comfy rooms, well organized within the huge garden. Good overall service and good memories.

Room Number:
143

Room Block:
E?

Arrival:
Welcoming, informative and supporting

Rooms:
Spacious and comfortable, with balconies. Quiet and well organized in several blocks.

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent choice in the main restaurant all day long! Special attitude and exellent performance in Japanese restaurant.
Good drinks at the Lobby bar.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Great beach! Though on windy days there is almost no beach at all.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
na

Other Comments:
Wonderful stay!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This is not the hotel to go to if you wish to enjoy a Cuban experience."

Iberostar Varadero
User Rating:  Iberostar Varadero Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kris  on May 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
512 people found this review helpful

The grounds, the food, the beach, the location are all fabulous.
The staff mostly unfriendly. The entertainment down right pathetic!
Have stayed many times in Cuba, but this has to be one of the most expensive trips and one of my worst holidays. Why? Because I never felt that I was actually in Cuba. There is absolutely no atmosphere in this hotel. It is dead. And I was there over Cnd. March Break folks. I can find all these lovely amenities in almost any country in the world. I thought I had booked a holiday in Cuba but this hotel could have been in Florida or Chicago. If you want to feel like you are in the states, by all means go there. If you want to feel like you are in Cuba, go somewhere else. One of the few places I have been in Cuba where they are not proud of their own culture and music. It is a wannabe American hotel. Except the service in the U.S. is much better.

Room Block:
11

Arrival:
Long delay in getting a room.

Rooms:
Very nice.

Restaurants and Bars:
Very nice

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very nice

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Outstanding Resort"

Iberostar Varadero
User Rating:  Iberostar Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joseph  on Apr 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
593 people found this review helpful

We had two rooms between the five of us. Both rooms were kept in an outstanding condition by housekeeping. The maids were friendly and always smiled as with all the staff there. The towel art was outstanding. The “Star Fiends” involved as many people that they could in every event they ran. The never pressured you to join in but welcomed you with open arms. The staff works long hours, some I saw in the morning around 8am, through the day, and up until 11pm. Then I would see again the next morning at the buffet, still with a smile on their face and explaining what things they were running during the day or for the show that evening. I had seen complaints regarding food, service, and rooms. All I can say is that this is not the Europe or Canada, it’s a Cuba five Star and you’re in the Caribbean! There is enough of a variety of food to suit everyone’s tastes. I travelled with my wife, a three, nine, and fourteen years old and everyone could find something good to eat. We eat at either the Snack Bar of the Buffet for ease. The beach snack bar was good to if you want a quick burger on the beach. No lack of bars here, drinks are good and strong. You have to request less rum if you want a weaker drink. Children were treated as equals at the bars and restaurants. The staff treats you as friends. I read comments about tips. We were treated extremely well and we seldom tipped on a regular basis. I found our service was the same as those who did. When you do tip, which we did, they really appreciated it. There was no pressure from any of the staff in any regard. I’ve seen comments of mould, musty, and dirty rooms in some reviews. I like to address these. One, your in the Caribbean, the humidity are extremely high, adding water brought into the rooms by trowels, bathing suits, shells, results in the production of mould and or a musty smell. If you are taking the time to take pictures of dirt under the bed you missing out on what the Caribbean is all about. The beach was great; sand was white, soft, and warm. There is a build up of coral and shells in the backwash area so be careful. The venders, regardless of where you are on the resort are never in your face so there are no pressure sales. The ladies that work the kids club are great. They are extremely good with the children. After talking to them I learned that they are highly educated and love working there. All of the staff there are hard working and friendly, from the gardeners, maids, servers, bartenders, guest services, and management. You will enjoy yourself there if you set the right mind set prior to arriving, relax, slow down, you’re on vacation, and you’re in Cuba. A tip, people told us not to bring toiletries but just tip cash. I suggest both. They can not buy the same quality soaps and shampoos and if they do it cost quite a bit. We would go back there again!

Room Number:
1311/1312

Room Block:
13

Arrival:
Friendly and fast, one room wasn't ready but we had one to change in.

Rooms:
Clean with lots of space. Bathrooms are large and well appointed. Housekeeping was Outstanding! They were friendly and effective in making sure every thing was correct.

Restaurants and Bars:
Only used two restaurants because it was the best choice with children. Buffet had everything anyone even our two pickie eaters. Bars every where there were bars. The pool bar was great when your swiming with the children. The Snack Bar was friendly and quick. Theres a beach bar and a Beach grill. Good to get food and drinks if you don't want to leave the beach.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool was kept at a high standard. It is large and is broken into a deep and a shallow areas by a bridge. The Star Friends have a lot of activities at the large pool. There is a wave pool next to the kid's club which itself is within arms reach of the large pool. The beach is great! There's even a person to find you an area to place a lounge chair. Well he even carries it, places it, and brushes it off!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a five star"

Iberostar Varadero
User Rating:  Iberostar Varadero Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marjorie  on Mar 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
568 people found this review helpful

Staff great. Resort quaint in an old Cuban way. Junior suite adequate and maid was great. TV kept flashing a "pay up sign" on CNN that would block the screen and then eventually go away.
Food on the buffet bordered on horrible in the evening. Poor quality food that was over cooked and salty. Is this the same Iberostar chain we stayed at in Mexico? There are apparently no shrimp near Cuba. Saw some tiny ones at the A la carte but that was it.
Cuba does not have access to quality liquor other than rum. I asked the bartender for his best tequilla. His response? We don't have good tequilla. He was right. Good for cooking maybe.
Russian, Slovak, Czeck, and Germans appeared to be in a majority along with Canadians.
Iberostar management needs to visit this resort and bring the food quality up to their resorts in Mexico.

Room Block:
25

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"it was a great week"

Iberostar Varadero
User Rating:  Iberostar Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Robert  on Feb 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
592 people found this review helpful

the main review point has to be the unmatchable friendliness, courtesy and general all around excellent staff. during our travels we have never been made as welcome as our stay with you. keep up the good work.

Room Number:
1044

Arrival:
was very quick and made you feel very welcome

Rooms:
cleanliness and the animals made out of our towels was super

Restaurants and Bars:
Food variety was very good and the serving staff was excellent. A special thank you to our morning hostess, Mabel. Her smiling face was a welcoming sight every day. Great work Mabel!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very well maintained. The excellent condition of the beach each morning was amazing.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The nightly shows were a big hit with all our group, especially my six year old grandson. Again, nothing but superb.
Trip into Havana and Varadero was very enlightening. Varadero residents were very friendly and did their utmost to make our time there a pleasant experience.
Our travel guide, Carlos, took us into Havana and showed some very interesting items. Good work Carlos!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had the best time of our lives and we cant wait to go back!"

Iberostar Varadero
User Rating:  Iberostar Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sofia  on Feb 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
569 people found this review helpful

Ottawa, Ontario

October 31 to November 7, 2009

It was our first time down south and we're so glad our travel agent recommended Iberostar Varadero Resort. The resort is clearly 5 star quality. We would recommend this resort to anyone. The resort is beautiful. The food is fabulous. The staff is super friendly.

Your Arrival:
Our room was ready upon arrival. They quickly took our luggage, checked us in and brought us to our room. We told them that we were on our honeymoon once we got there and later on that day, they left a bottle of champagne with a big plate of exotic fruits and an invitation to a special dinner to their Cuban restaurant.

Rooms:
Our room was nice and clean. It was a lot more spacious than we expected. We had a nice balcony with a garden view. We were on the third (and last floor) of our building so on the corner of our balcony, we could see the ocean.

All buildings had no more than 3 floors and all rooms had a view (ocean or garden) with a really nice balcony.

The layout was great - king size bed, TV and a quaint sitting area. The bathroom was huge with a awesome shower and a seperate bath tub.

The room was always clean. The fridge was filled daily. Our maid was really friendly.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants - The food was fabulous whether you ate at the buffet restaurant or at one of the à la carte restaurant. The service was impeccable. I was afraid to try the different foods since I'm allergic to seafood but the staff was really accommodating. I have no complaints.

Bars - Everywhere you looked, they was a bar. They never ran out of rum and they made sure to fill up your glasses!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was beautiful. My husband and I enjoyed the long walks. The water was so clear and warm. It was great.

The pool was fun. We usually hung out by the pool at the end of the day. It was nice to relax and have a few drinks with some of the staff members.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There are daily activities so you are never bored. You will find something to do at any time of the day. The staff is amazing!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"BRING ALBERO BACK !"

Iberostar Varadero
User Rating:  Iberostar Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mrs. Diane Marsh  on Jan 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jan, 1998
1142 people found this review helpful

A wedding party of us stayed in this hotel in April of 1997, It was fabulous, fantastic, the best holiday ever. Alberto was one of the best members of staff here who looked after us all very well.Where is he? Food fab, rooms excellent infact everything about the hotel was faultless. we will be back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Vraiment génial"

Iberostar Varadero
User Rating:  Iberostar Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on Aug 4, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2009
682 people found this review helpful

Nous sommes allés au Iberostar Varadero du 18 au 25 juillet 2009. Ce fut un voyage de rêve! La température était magnifique, entre 36 et 40 C. L'eau de la mer était aussi chaude que dans un bain. C'était vraiment génial !! Le Iberostar Varadero ne nous a vraiment pas déçu. Hôtel magnifique, personnel courtois, chaleureux, souriant et ils font tout pour nous rendre la vie agréable. L'animation à la piscine, à la plage, et les spectacles du soir étaient vraiment super! Les chambres sont belles, propres, et on ne manque de rien. La nourriture est délicieuse et il y en a pour tous les goùts. Nous avons eu droit à de la Langouste, des shushis, du filet mignon, du porc, du poulet, des légumes et des fruits à profusion, et les desserts étaient tellement bons. Les nombreux bars vous serviront de délicieux cocktails, "Sex on the Beach", Pina Colada, Banana Mama, etc. Au repas, vin à volonté. Mais ce que j'ai adoré par-dessus tout c'est que nous n'avons vu personne se déplacer ou exagérer avec la boisson. Je recommande le Iberostar Varadero à tous pour la qualité de cet hôtel et la gentillesse de son personnel. Vous ne le regretterez pas.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"viva Cuba 2009"

Iberostar Varadero
User Rating:  Iberostar Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  tatiana tsiroulnikova  on May 31, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) RUSSIAN FEDERATION
Visited on: May, 2009
1514 people found this review helpful

I just came back from varodero Cuba few days ago I had a wounderful time . Embero star has excellent service beutiful view friendly stuff I'm coming back for sure !

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube