Iberostar Varadero Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Iberostar Varadero reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.5 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 22, 2012

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.3 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 18, 2014

Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.2 based on 37 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel

4.2 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Iberostar Varadero  

Carretera Las Morlas km 16, Sector Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Cuba

"i had so much fun"
Posted by: stan on Jul 10, 2014
see all reviews

Iberostar Varadero Reviews
Iberostar Varadero Pictures and Information
Iberostar Varadero Varadero Cuba

#21
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.8

Based on 25 reviews

Iberostar Varadero Information


Opened in late 2004, the three storey buildings are scattered through beautiful landscaped gardens in a peaceful location some 20 minutes from the centre of Varadero. Three magnificent swimming pools plus a children's pool, with a spectacular stretch of beach towards the end of the peninsula.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Varadero Reviews

Iberostar Varadero Review: 4.8 of 5 25 reviews
Excellent
  23
Very good
  0
Average
  2
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (6)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 25

"This is not the hotel to go to if you wish to enjoy a Cuban experience."

Iberostar Varadero
User Rating:  Iberostar Varadero Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kris  on May 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
501 people found this review helpful

The grounds, the food, the beach, the location are all fabulous.
The staff mostly unfriendly. The entertainment down right pathetic!
Have stayed many times in Cuba, but this has to be one of the most expensive trips and one of my worst holidays. Why? Because I never felt that I was actually in Cuba. There is absolutely no atmosphere in this hotel. It is dead. And I was there over Cnd. March Break folks. I can find all these lovely amenities in almost any country in the world. I thought I had booked a holiday in Cuba but this hotel could have been in Florida or Chicago. If you want to feel like you are in the states, by all means go there. If you want to feel like you are in Cuba, go somewhere else. One of the few places I have been in Cuba where they are not proud of their own culture and music. It is a wannabe American hotel. Except the service in the U.S. is much better.

Room Block:
11

Arrival:
Long delay in getting a room.

Rooms:
Very nice.

Restaurants and Bars:
Very nice

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very nice

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a five star"

Iberostar Varadero
User Rating:  Iberostar Varadero Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marjorie  on Mar 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
553 people found this review helpful

Staff great. Resort quaint in an old Cuban way. Junior suite adequate and maid was great. TV kept flashing a "pay up sign" on CNN that would block the screen and then eventually go away.
Food on the buffet bordered on horrible in the evening. Poor quality food that was over cooked and salty. Is this the same Iberostar chain we stayed at in Mexico? There are apparently no shrimp near Cuba. Saw some tiny ones at the A la carte but that was it.
Cuba does not have access to quality liquor other than rum. I asked the bartender for his best tequilla. His response? We don't have good tequilla. He was right. Good for cooking maybe.
Russian, Slovak, Czeck, and Germans appeared to be in a majority along with Canadians.
Iberostar management needs to visit this resort and bring the food quality up to their resorts in Mexico.

Room Block:
25

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very comfortable and relaxing!"

Iberostar Varadero
User Rating:  Iberostar Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Aija Aboltina  on Feb 24, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) NORWAY
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
452 people found this review helpful

Excellent stay! Spacious and comfy rooms, well organized within the huge garden. Good overall service and good memories.

Room Number:
143

Room Block:
E?

Arrival:
Welcoming, informative and supporting

Rooms:
Spacious and comfortable, with balconies. Quiet and well organized in several blocks.

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent choice in the main restaurant all day long! Special attitude and exellent performance in Japanese restaurant.
Good drinks at the Lobby bar.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Great beach! Though on windy days there is almost no beach at all.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
na

Other Comments:
Wonderful stay!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"iberostar varadero the best"

Iberostar Varadero
User Rating:  Iberostar Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  andres  on Aug 9, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) PERU
Visited on: Aug, 2006
2693 people found this review helpful

The best hotel.

I didn't get bored not even a second.

The animation was very good, the attention first level. Star friends very amused.

CONGRATULATIONS IBEROSTAR THE HOTEL IS EXCELLENT AND THE PEOPLE WHO GO THERE ARE VERY NICE.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent"

Iberostar Varadero
User Rating:  Iberostar Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jaime Coscarón  on Sep 18, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Sep, 2006
2516 people found this review helpful

I have gone of Honeymoon to this hotel and it was Incredible. The treatment, the people, the food, the animations, the facilities...

One of the five is really deserved each star that it has, the best hotel that I have seen in my life.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Great Great"

Iberostar Varadero
User Rating:  Iberostar Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jean Schiech  on Aug 16, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Aug, 2006
2112 people found this review helpful

The Iberostar was 5 star excellence

The food, the people and the entertainment was top class.

It was our first visit to Cuba and we stayed in this excellent hotel and would not hesitate to return.

Could not even think to stay anywhere else in Varadero

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Outstanding Resort"

Iberostar Varadero
User Rating:  Iberostar Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joseph  on Apr 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
577 people found this review helpful

We had two rooms between the five of us. Both rooms were kept in an outstanding condition by housekeeping. The maids were friendly and always smiled as with all the staff there. The towel art was outstanding. The “Star Fiends” involved as many people that they could in every event they ran. The never pressured you to join in but welcomed you with open arms. The staff works long hours, some I saw in the morning around 8am, through the day, and up until 11pm. Then I would see again the next morning at the buffet, still with a smile on their face and explaining what things they were running during the day or for the show that evening. I had seen complaints regarding food, service, and rooms. All I can say is that this is not the Europe or Canada, it’s a Cuba five Star and you’re in the Caribbean! There is enough of a variety of food to suit everyone’s tastes. I travelled with my wife, a three, nine, and fourteen years old and everyone could find something good to eat. We eat at either the Snack Bar of the Buffet for ease. The beach snack bar was good to if you want a quick burger on the beach. No lack of bars here, drinks are good and strong. You have to request less rum if you want a weaker drink. Children were treated as equals at the bars and restaurants. The staff treats you as friends. I read comments about tips. We were treated extremely well and we seldom tipped on a regular basis. I found our service was the same as those who did. When you do tip, which we did, they really appreciated it. There was no pressure from any of the staff in any regard. I’ve seen comments of mould, musty, and dirty rooms in some reviews. I like to address these. One, your in the Caribbean, the humidity are extremely high, adding water brought into the rooms by trowels, bathing suits, shells, results in the production of mould and or a musty smell. If you are taking the time to take pictures of dirt under the bed you missing out on what the Caribbean is all about. The beach was great; sand was white, soft, and warm. There is a build up of coral and shells in the backwash area so be careful. The venders, regardless of where you are on the resort are never in your face so there are no pressure sales. The ladies that work the kids club are great. They are extremely good with the children. After talking to them I learned that they are highly educated and love working there. All of the staff there are hard working and friendly, from the gardeners, maids, servers, bartenders, guest services, and management. You will enjoy yourself there if you set the right mind set prior to arriving, relax, slow down, you’re on vacation, and you’re in Cuba. A tip, people told us not to bring toiletries but just tip cash. I suggest both. They can not buy the same quality soaps and shampoos and if they do it cost quite a bit. We would go back there again!

Room Number:
1311/1312

Room Block:
13

Arrival:
Friendly and fast, one room wasn't ready but we had one to change in.

Rooms:
Clean with lots of space. Bathrooms are large and well appointed. Housekeeping was Outstanding! They were friendly and effective in making sure every thing was correct.

Restaurants and Bars:
Only used two restaurants because it was the best choice with children. Buffet had everything anyone even our two pickie eaters. Bars every where there were bars. The pool bar was great when your swiming with the children. The Snack Bar was friendly and quick. Theres a beach bar and a Beach grill. Good to get food and drinks if you don't want to leave the beach.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool was kept at a high standard. It is large and is broken into a deep and a shallow areas by a bridge. The Star Friends have a lot of activities at the large pool. There is a wave pool next to the kid's club which itself is within arms reach of the large pool. The beach is great! There's even a person to find you an area to place a lounge chair. Well he even carries it, places it, and brushes it off!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best holidays in my life"

Iberostar Varadero
User Rating:  Iberostar Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  mari  on Nov 23, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Nov, 2007
2324 people found this review helpful

We went there in July 2007, what can I say, everything was wonderful.

The best was the animation team they really were who take care of us and make we enjoy the place day and night.

Just one complain is that one of this guys is not anymore at the hotel, his name is Alberto I ask you to give him work again, he was the best, we would like to come back this year and will be nice if he is there again. Thanks also to Lalo the girl of the kids club he treated my child very well.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderfull"

Iberostar Varadero
User Rating:  Iberostar Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sofia Campos  on Jan 8, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) PORTUGAL
Visited on: Jan, 2008
2947 people found this review helpful

My family and I went last summer to Iberostar. Everything was 5 star, the staff, the food, the cleaness.
We would like to return this year.
The entertainment was super.
Congratulations and keep on the good work.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"i had so much fun"

Iberostar Varadero
User Rating:  Iberostar Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  stan  on Jul 10, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
17 people found this review helpful

I just got back on vacation from this wonderful hotel and I had the time of my life here, it was a great experience for me. I had so much happiness in experiencing Cuba for the first time and it was an amazing experience for me, I think that my consequent vacations will be in Cuba and most likely this hotel because I love Varadero city so much, it’s so lively especially at night. I had so much fun in Cuba and the hotel made sure that my stay was not regrettable. The staff works round the clock to make sure that the guests are all satisfied and comfortable; the hotel was well kept and maintained properly. The gardens were beautiful and you could see that they were very well maintained as well. My room had the garden view which beautiful and it was also very spacious, it was well cleaned and everything was in place, all equipments and amenities worked perfectly. I loved all the restaurants in the building, all the foods I ate there was nice and varieties were available even for the pickiest eater. There are lots of activities especially during the day if you are interested in being part of any of them. The animation team worked hard to make sure that the guests were entertained as well as putting up new different shows every night and that was a nice effort. The beach is fabulous and the staff here make your stay worthwhile because they are really lovely people.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube