Brisas Guardalavaca Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin Province Hotel index > Brisas Guardalavaca reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Brisas Guardalavaca  

Calle 2 No. 1, Playa Guardalavaca, Banes, Holguin

"Perfect"
Posted by: Molly on Oct 22, 2014
see all reviews

Brisas Guardalavaca Reviews
Brisas Guardalavaca Pictures and Information
Brisas Guardalavaca Guardalavaca Cuba

#2
of 2 Hotels in Guardalavaca

User rating 4.3

Based on 28 reviews

Brisas Guardalavaca Information


With a comprehensive array of all inclusive facilities at a very reasonable price, this resort makes an ideal base from which to explore the area or to simply relax and enjoy its many comforts.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Brisas Guardalavaca Reviews

Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 4.3 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  18
Very good
  8
Average
  1
Poor
  2
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (14)
Wedding (2)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
1 - 10 of 28

"Perfect"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Molly  on Oct 22, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Wedding | With Group
4 people found this review helpful

One great hotel. The Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel offers you anything that you would look for in a hotel, so I can say nothing but good things about this amazing place. When you first see the hotel, you can notice that you are looking at a hotel that is a really high class hotel. This hotel offers entertainment for everyone. No matter if you are traveling with your family, friends or with your partner, no matter if you are looking for a nice, relaxing vacation, or if you are going there to have a great time and dance the nights away, this hotel will offer you that.

Let's start with the rooms, they were nice, they were cleaned daily and there was enough room in them. The thing that I like the most was that there was a safe, I believe that it was less than $3 per night, so it wasn't expensive at all. There was a big, nice bathroom, enough towels and there was hot water all the time.

The food, unlike the other places in Cuba was more than good. It tasted great, it was diverse and it was really well prepared. There were bars and restaurants, so no matter if you want a snack, meal, nice cocktail or anything else, you can get it there at any time of the day or the night.

The entertainment was on the top of the line. There was a show almost every night, singers, players, dancers. Anything that you could ask for. And they were more than good. Just perfect, I loved each and every show there. There were both, night and day shows, so that is another plus.

Now let's talk about the beach. Oh my God, you have no idea how beautiful it was. It was really clean, there was enough room for everyone there and the water was unbelievably clean and warm. Beautiful. My friends got married on the beach, in the sunset and that was one of the most beautiful views I have ever seen.

I will come back to this hotel, it gave me one of the most beautiful experiences I have ever had. I love it. I recommend it to everyone that is going to Cuba.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"large space and clean rooms"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  ivy  on Aug 16, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
14 people found this review helpful

I had a good start from when I arrived the hotel because the room was already very clean and there was enough space to move around and keep my luggage so happy mood was activated. The room was cool because of the air condition that was on full speed, like I said from the beginning, I already love the place. The hotel is a big complex that has lots of stuff on it such as the very nice restaurant that I visited and their foods were really nice and I didn’t fall sick from eating any of their meal like the last time I visited Cuba. I explored the town very well courtesy of one of the staff members there who told me places I can visit and what not. I noticed something though, it was as though they paid special attention to Spanish speaking guests than English and it was okay because I still had everything that I wanted. The staff was nice, they paid attention and provided you with whatever you need and also some of them spoke English that was good enough for conversation. The pork in the Buffet was a little bit undercooked as I noticed it was a bit raw on the inside but that is about the cons of the restaurant in this hotel. Overall, I had such an amazing time here and hope to come back. Lets I forget, don’t miss out on the a la carte restaurants, you will enjoy them very well.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Viva Cuba!"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Steve  on May 4, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | With Group
30 people found this review helpful

We were a party of six. Our first Cuba experience. Couldn't be happier with the whole trip. Brisas had everything we went for. Food, accommodation, activities all first rate. Our previous Caribbean trips were to Dominican. There are definitely some advantages to Cuba. (Think no time share sharks). The shopping was also a lot more pleasant, both in variety and price. The Cuban people are very special. As in all of our other trips we were welcomed by the people of the country we were visiting. Some of the other travelers could learn some lessons on manners and grace from their hosts. Most of us but not all, seem to grasp the concept of Caribbean time when we arrive. Loved brisas and will certainly return to Cuba!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"best wedding ever"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  francois  on Jun 14, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2013 | Wedding | Family and Kids
105 people found this review helpful

cheap excellent wedding spot

Room Number:
316

Arrival:
we arrived June 2nd 2013

Rooms:
where really well token care of

Restaurants and Bars:
yummy

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
#1

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
#1

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great experience"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Paula  on Feb 5, 2013  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
133 people found this review helpful

Brisas Guardalavaca Jan 23 to 30, 2013

We had a great time at Brisas. The resort was a nice size and well laid out. It was a short, pretty walk along the beach to the village. Despite a bit of bad weather while we were there we were never bored.


The staff members at Brisas were charming and gracious. We did not experience any rudeness or indifference. All were professional and friendly. We tipped for good service and had good service provided.

We will return.

Room Number:
456

Arrival:
It takes about 1 1/2 hours to get to the resort from the airport. Grab a beer at the airport and relax and enjoy the trip. The check in was quick.

Rooms:
Room 456 hotel section, had two ¾ beds, 2 chairs, coffee maker, fridge, safe ($2.00 per day), bathroom with tub and shower, like most in Cuba. The room was well cleaned daily; room temperature was great, lots of hot water, lovely large deck with two chairs and table overlooking pool and beach. We thought the room was one of the best we have had, for the most part because of the view. The rooms in the hotel are close to everything so it is easy and quick to get around.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food: Brisas outshone so many other resorts with their food. There are plenty of a la carte options. We tried the Cuban, International, Zaguin (sp) and the Italian. They were all good. Some are open for lunch as well. The buffet was also good. The usual omelet station (the chef was amazing to watch flipping them) and pasta as well as carving stations were there. Brisas also had a lady who would make smoothies (beside the omelet station) A few times she made flambéed bananas-yum. There was also stir fries. In the afternoons a lovely lady made donuts, again –yum. I think we both gained weight.


Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach: The beach was quite shallow. There were sandy areas and areas where sea weed was growing. There were always chairs and we didn’t have any problem finding a tree to sit under. I enjoyed swimming and snorkeling at the beach. There were fish, sea urchins and the little spiky things in the water. It was easy to find something to see, especially if you followed the ridge where the sand met the rocky/weedy area. After seeing the spiky things I made sure I didn’t put my feet down unless I was in a sandy area though. There was also a nice gentle current that would carry you from the hotel side of the beach to the villa side of the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Entertainment: There was a great variety of entertainment offered. One afternoon a band played traditional music by the beach bar using a huge old player organ. There were different musicians playing in the lobby bar each evening. The musicians were great, but I wasn’t a fan of the pre-recorded background music. There were wonderful younger bands playing traditional, rock and reggeton. One night magicians and gymnasts performed. An absolutely amazing show featured a young man singing (I didn’t recognize what language) an opera about the sugar cane workers, accompanied by 2 other singers, 3 drummers and dancers. Because of rain, many of the evening performance were held in the disco. This was a shame, since few people were there to see them. Perhaps extra announcements from the lobby bar and beach bar, with more information would have encouraged more people to go and see the shows.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had a fine time but not a great time"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  cindy  on May 7, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
191 people found this review helpful

We traveled air transit and it sucked[seats too small and too close] this of course had nothing to do with the resort but helped to start off on the wrong foot. the resort was pretty ,food was fine ,breakfest was my faverite they bragged that oranges and grapefruit were their two top exporting fruit but we hardly seen any.they didn't seem to have a signiture drink ,which I look forward to at the different resorts.Our group go mainly to relax on the beach which was fine but not private. We were lead to believe that the pubic beach was up on the other side of the next resort, we had as many town's people on our beach as vacationers. they would set up under the trees then as the day would go along they would have lounge chairs ,food and drinks from the resort.I really wouldn't care other then I work my ass off all year to save enough $ to come to these places and they get all this handed to them by just one of them paying to stay for a night or week-end.On a good note the workers were very happy fun people, the rooms were nice and clean. Don't go any later then the first week in april ,we got 3 days of hard rain that took alot of the beach and turned the water brown. All in all we had a good time because of the people we meant .

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A wonderful place to stay."

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Barb  on Apr 8, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
171 people found this review helpful

We stayed here at our travel agents suggestion. We booked late & spaces at resorts where hard to get, so I wasn't expecting much. What a pleasant surprise. Everything was A-1. The food was plentiful and delicious. The staff where so pleasant and helpful. The nightly entertainment was first rate. After 11pm it was quiet & peaceful (we were at the front of the hotel)We felt totally safe walking/cycling off the resort in Cuban residential/farm area. No one hassled you to buy souvenirs etc. Only came across one person off resort who asked us for money. USA tourists can't fly into Cuba, so that was a bonus as well. We will definitely chose this resort again and stay longer than a week.

Rooms:
nice, clean, great maid service.

Restaurants and Bars:
Lots of choices in both.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Well cared for & clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities & excursions.

Other Comments:
Tons of very friendly staff. Canada has much to learn from Cuban hospitality!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Great Resort- I will be back"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  MARGARET MCLEAN  on Jan 21, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
211 people found this review helpful

Wonderful staff, my room was lovely, comfy king bed, frig, oceanfront in the hotel on 4th floor and very noisy until the wee hours of the morning.(use earplugs to sleep) Buffet food was good with much variety. I tried just 1 a la carte-the Cuban which was just OK.

Pool was a little cool but ocean was warm. Lovely beach, lots of loungers ever where. Entertainment was OK but very loud all day. Water show was A-1.
Massage hut beside the towel hut on the beach but I understand the hair salon in the hotel also give masssages. 3 or 4 computers in the lobby and Internet access is $6 for 1 hour. Pool snack bar make good pizza, hamburgers were mushy, hot dogs good. A few days a week a lady makes home made donuts behind the blue flowering arbour near the pool. Delicious and please leave her a tip. She uses only canola oil and I watched her clean the equipment in hot soapy water at the end of the day and she uses new oil each time. I will be back to Brisas as it is now my fave resort in Cuba.

Room Number:
416

Room Block:
Hotel

Arrival:
Jan 7, 2012

Rooms:
Spotless and clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Pool bar/snack bar can be very noisy as the music is loud all day from 10 a.m.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The workers are always cleaning.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There are many activities and tours( just see your rep.) and you can walk along the beach to the Market past the towel hut in 15 minutes. The towel hut has a lending library. Bring one/leave one.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bastante Bueno."

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pedro Francisco González  on Aug 20, 2011  >  4 contribution(s) PORTUGAL
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
261 people found this review helpful

Limpio. Agradable. Personal simpático. Desayuno variado. Otras comidas: podrían diversificar más. Piscina excelente. La playa, mismo ahí, con aguas cálidas. Espectáculos todas las noches y de calidad. Hubo un ballet acuático excelente.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My Paradise"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Donna  on Apr 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
369 people found this review helpful

This was the best holiday I have ever had. The Staff of the Brisas and the cleanliness of the Hotel was simply amazing. The food was superb and lots to choose from. The Noli Tour Rep (Yemileth Soto Yero) was so helpful and so pleasant that we immediately became friends. We all had such a good time that we are all going back ( very soon) I would make this resort my second home, actually if I had my choice I'd make it my first and here in Canada my second home. Such happy people and always smiling and singing. The weather was just great and we had the time of our lives. I just can't understand why it is listed online as a 3 star resort. Beaches are so clean and all the property around the resort was just immaculate. I hope I can be blessed with many more trips to Brisas.

Room Number:
574

Room Block:
oceanview

Arrival:
We arrived in the afternoon..great flight
Had a bus waiting to take us to the resort and it was a nice trip.
Love the palm trees and the tiny lizards....Had lunch at the 24 hour snack bar and the food was great.

Rooms:
Room 574
The room was decorated very nicely and the maid worked her magic with the towels every morning and the animals she created were just beautiful. The room was very clean and the view of the ocean was dynamic. Our Maid was Evia Rodriguez. I just loved her, she was very friendly and pleasant and just like one of us. We enjoyed her every day. Not many Hotels or Resorts have staff like this one and believe me I have been in a lot of them. Could not get over the niceness of all the staff.

Restaurants and Bars:
Did not visit any of the restaurants as we found the buffet just great and all kinds of diffrent foods and sweets for all three meals in the day. The staff in the buffet were just great as well. Jazmine and Marbel were above and beyond nice.
They are very respectful people and we loved them all.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The Beach was kept just so clean and the staff were always working on the grounds. I am an early riser and saw the beack being cleaned from the day before and the pool man doing the pool. Everything was just super clean and I know because I am one of those clean freaks. I look in every nook and cranny and believe me ... This is an Ace Resort. I have told all my friends about this resort and I have a lot of them.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activities were great, Water exercises, dancing etc.
Beach volleyball and all the things to do.
Glass bottom boat was a lot of fun as well.

Other Comments:
The Paradise Island trip was just beautiful..the safari etc. This was a real pleasure rip for me. The dinner we had after the safari was awesome. I don't think I can say anything negative about this trip. All in all, was the best time of my life and I met a lot of friends and that's what it's all about. Sharing, caring and trust.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube