Brisas Guardalavaca Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin Province Hotel index > Brisas Guardalavaca reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Brisas Guardalavaca  

Calle 2 No. 1, Playa Guardalavaca, Banes, Holguin

"Excellent resort at for a reasonable price"
Posted by: Sandra  on Feb 22, 2015
see all reviews

Brisas Guardalavaca Reviews
Brisas Guardalavaca Pictures and Information
Brisas Guardalavaca Guardalavaca Cuba

#2
of 2 Hotels in Guardalavaca

User rating 4.3

Based on 29 reviews

Brisas Guardalavaca Information


With a comprehensive array of all inclusive facilities at a very reasonable price, this resort makes an ideal base from which to explore the area or to simply relax and enjoy its many comforts.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Brisas Guardalavaca Reviews

Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 4.3 of 5 29 reviews
Excellent
  18
Very good
  9
Average
  1
Poor
  2
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (15)
Wedding (2)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (7)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
1 - 10 of 29

"I am requesting complete reimbursement"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lupo family  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
227 people found this review helpful



This was the 6th visit to this resort Brisas Guardalavaca and the first time I ran into this manager.. The manager at the hotel has only been there for under 2 years. The employees who work under his supervision are not happy. If they miss there lunch doing other work for the hotel they do not eat. If they are asked to work late they do not get paid though many of the staff have no choice or they will loose there jobs. Many of the staff remembered my family they gave us a warm welcome. They could not believe what was happening to us by this manager. I guarantee that this resort under the current management will continue to collapse in ratings. Our first 4 vacations to this resort were great the hotel was rated at 5 star plus. The last time it was 4 star 2 years ago. This last visit 3 star I never called the hotel until this time because I was not aware of calling ahead until they brought it to my attention on my last visit.

What we received from the hotel is not what I had requested for in the vacation request:
1: Hotel room >> Not a Villa

2: 2 Single Beds and one 5-foot long portable folding bed (Cot)

When dropped off in front of the resort Brisas Guardalavaca Villa Registration with the Sunquest information session letter provided by Sunquest Representative Ernesto on the Bus from the Airport. When we went to the Check-in reception at the resort, the admin could not confirm our reservations, as she explained we did not exist on the list. I then showed her the confirmation letter from Sunquest. She proceeded to call the Customer Relations Manager Angeline for the resort. The Customer Relations Manager requested that we go to the hotel reception, as I was disgusted in the treatment I was receiving at the Villa reception.

At the hotel reception, the Customer Relations Manager Angeline explained the resort was over booked and there was No Villa’s available. There would be one available on Tuesday or Wednesday. Angeline suggested taking the hotel room she had arranged for us until then. Having No choice but to except Angeline’s excuse for the over booking of the resort. She explained if we would accept the offer for the hotel room, she would request from the manager a letter recommending reimbursement from Sunquest for the vacation/hotel. Angeline also would include a bottle of RUM and VIP service (WHICH WAS NEVER RECEIVED) I immediately contacted Ernesto (Sunquest representative). Ernesto spoke to Angeline over the phone at the hotel.

Soon after, Ernesto came to the hotel lobby where he explained in English that he had confirmed our reservation with the hotel upon receipt. I explained to Angeline that I contacted Isabel Reservation Manager, as per the hotel manager’s instructions. The previous hotel manager suggested after booking your next vacation. Call ahead before traveling, as we were repeat customers this was our fifth visit to the same resort. I called Isabel and explained all above. Isabel asked if we have preference of Villa’s as they were all available. I explained to Isabel as I recall there were 2 Villas with partial ocean view either would be nice to have the only preference we had is to be placed on the top floor. I had Isabel repeat my request she repeated all accordingly. Isabel came to the lobby to assist Angeline; Isabel verified all the statements made above with Ernesto present. They then apologized for the inconvenience and explained this was an over booking error and will be corrected ASAP.

Angeline then requested to please take the room she has had prepared until Tuesday or Wednesday. I explained to Angeline that if we have to unpack, repack, and unpack that will take time out minimum 1 day out of our 7-day vacation. After talking to my family, we decided to remain in the hotel, as long as were going to be reimbursed for our inconvenience, and downgrade from Villa to Hotel room. After talking to a few families from the GTA staying in the hotel, each family paid a range of $1000 to $1200 per person Taxes & Surcharges included compared to our $1686 per person Taxes & Surcharges included. Last minute travelers paid $650 to $800 per person Taxes & Surcharges included.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I am requesting complete reimbursement"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lupo family  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
227 people found this review helpful



This was the 6th visit to this resort Brisas Guardalavaca and the first time I ran into this manager.. The manager at the hotel has only been there for under 2 years. The employees who work under his supervision are not happy. If they miss there lunch doing other work for the hotel they do not eat. If they are asked to work late they do not get paid though many of the staff have no choice or they will loose there jobs. Many of the staff remembered my family they gave us a warm welcome. They could not believe what was happening to us by this manager. I guarantee that this resort under the current management will continue to collapse in ratings. Our first 4 vacations to this resort were great the hotel was rated at 5 star plus. The last time it was 4 star 2 years ago. This last visit 3 star I never called the hotel until this time because I was not aware of calling ahead until they brought it to my attention on my last visit.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The food could have been much better"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Biljana  on Oct 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Oct, 2008
256 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Brisas Guardalavaca from October 4 - 11, 2008. We went there as a family of 9 people (with 2 kids). Most of our family members have been to Cuba many times before, but this was our first time in this resort. We originally booked our stay at the neighbouring Club Amigo, but it was so severely damaged due to the hurricanes, that we accepted the alternative option of staying in the Brisas villas.

FLIGHT: We flew with Sunwing and the flight was excellent. There were no delays or problems, everything went smoothly. We were given an excellent, filling meal, which I haven't got with Air Canada in a long time.

WEATHER: We had great weather, with only occasional and short periods of rain. It would last for only a few minutes, we did not even bother getting out of water or from the beach. Considering that we came there right after the bad hurricanes, we were extremely lucky with the weather.

ROOMS: We had 4 rooms in villas section. The rooms on the upper floors are marked as suites, because they have a small seating area. Out of four rooms that our group had, the three had a very bad odour. It could be due to the recent hurricanes and air-conditioning not working for some time, but whatever the reason is, it does not make you feel better when you have to breathe in that smell. The air-conditioning was old and very noisy, so I turned it off for the first two nights. I was then coughing the whole night and suffered from an itchy throat. For the rest of the week, I kept the A/C on and slept on and off due to all that noise.

As for the seating area in the suites, it consisted of one sofa and two armchairs. They were in poor shape, with suspicious and very visible stains on the fabric.

The rooms seem to be recently painted, but the paint stains were everywhere! What a waste of time and money, the rooms still looked shabby and dirty.

The maids were replacing the towels really quickly and we never had to look for them (it happened to us in other resorts). Cleanliness has a very high spot on my must-have list and, although I could not say that the rooms and bathrooms were spotless, they were fairly OK.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The food could have been much better"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Biljana  on Oct 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Oct, 2008
256 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Brisas Guardalavaca from October 4 - 11, 2008. We went there as a family of 9 people (with 2 kids). Most of our family members have been to Cuba many times before, but this was our first time in this resort. We originally booked our stay at the neighbouring Club Amigo, but it was so severely damaged due to the hurricanes, that we accepted the alternative option of staying in the Brisas villas.

FLIGHT: We flew with Sunwing and the flight was excellent. There were no delays or problems, everything went smoothly. We were given an excellent, filling meal, which I haven't got with Air Canada in a long time.

WEATHER: We had great weather, with only occasional and short periods of rain. It would last for only a few minutes, we did not even bother getting out of water or from the beach. Considering that we came there right after the bad hurricanes, we were extremely lucky with the weather.

ROOMS: We had 4 rooms in villas section. The rooms on the upper floors are marked as suites, because they have a small seating area. Out of four rooms that our group had, the three had a very bad odour. It could be due to the recent hurricanes and air-conditioning not working for some time, but whatever the reason is, it does not make you feel better when you have to breathe in that smell. The air-conditioning was old and very noisy, so I turned it off for the first two nights. I was then coughing the whole night and suffered from an itchy throat. For the rest of the week, I kept the A/C on and slept on and off due to all that noise.

As for the seating area in the suites, it consisted of one sofa and two armchairs. They were in poor shape, with suspicious and very visible stains on the fabric.

The rooms seem to be recently painted, but the paint stains were everywhere! What a waste of time and money, the rooms still looked shabby and dirty.

The maids were replacing the towels really quickly and we never had to look for them (it happened to us in other resorts). Cleanliness has a very high spot on my must-have list and, although I could not say that the rooms and bathrooms were spotless, they were fairly OK.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"we strongly recommend brias guardavalaca"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  ruth ann beals  on Jan 20, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2008
426 people found this review helpful

we have been there many times ,and we first started going it was a delta and under canadian management.we have noticed some changes but still like it overall and would go back as the people are very friendly at the resort and gone out of their way to please us,we do feel they could renovate the villa's as they do smell stale,also their microphone and sound system for their night shows need to be fixed as they were not operating.the food was good at the buffet but the al la carte near the beach had great atmosphere,the girl sang beautifully and the man played well but the food there was only fair.breakfast and dinner there was great.the italian restaurant was great and the guys who worked on the table were a+.we had michael and really liked him.the resort is handy to the down town markets and one can walk via the beach or from the front lobby.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had a fine time but not a great time"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  cindy  on May 7, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
451 people found this review helpful

We traveled air transit and it sucked[seats too small and too close] this of course had nothing to do with the resort but helped to start off on the wrong foot. the resort was pretty ,food was fine ,breakfest was my faverite they bragged that oranges and grapefruit were their two top exporting fruit but we hardly seen any.they didn't seem to have a signiture drink ,which I look forward to at the different resorts.Our group go mainly to relax on the beach which was fine but not private. We were lead to believe that the pubic beach was up on the other side of the next resort, we had as many town's people on our beach as vacationers. they would set up under the trees then as the day would go along they would have lounge chairs ,food and drinks from the resort.I really wouldn't care other then I work my ass off all year to save enough $ to come to these places and they get all this handed to them by just one of them paying to stay for a night or week-end.On a good note the workers were very happy fun people, the rooms were nice and clean. Don't go any later then the first week in april ,we got 3 days of hard rain that took alot of the beach and turned the water brown. All in all we had a good time because of the people we meant .

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beach - AWESOME"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alex from Mississauga, Ontario  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
320 people found this review helpful

Arrival: May 30th to June 6th
Check-in was seamless - We were at our room in no time.

Rooms:
Rooms looked clean. Shower trickles water. took forever to wash. A/C unit doesn't drain - Leaks into bathroom ceiling instead. Room was VERY humid by end of week. Dehumidifier in A/C didn't work - We could be Hot and wet, or Cold and wet. (chose cold and wet - Hard to sleep) Matresses are DONE. Springs make noise and aren't very comfortable.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffets were very good. Some flies bug you while you eat. The Ala carte's were good for others, I just had bad luck - Cuban restaurant: I ordered Pork - Got dry, tough, old turkey instead. Had to drink water with each bite. Rice was dried out and borderline crunchy. Booked for seafood on Monday - Got to the resturant - But it was closed. Booking screwed up. Went again on Thursday - They ran out of lobster! Bummer! Was too drunk/hung over to go to italian when we booked it - Apparently pretty good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach - AWESOME. The one in front of the resort isn't the greatest, but if you just like to lay on the chairs and soak up the sun its awesome. Not too much swimming space before you hit the grass/urchins. But clean sand! Pools were great - the one int he villa's is a really neat layout - Kind of a lazy river style. The one by the hotels has the best bar. The grounds were well kept. No bugs either. Didn't get bitten once!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went to Holguin. 30cuc. We were lied to, told to use the black market to get cigars (I ended up doing this) etc. Our tour guide, was very deceitful. Led us to closed cigar shops, then referred us to a person "he didn't know" but could go describe to us in perfect detail, saying he works for the cigar factory and has good English... but he says: I don't recommened buying from him - He has very good English and gets real cigars - No banana leaves - But I don't recommend it. He'll be wearing a red shirt and will wait for you near the bus if you need him"

Lunch was amazing - On an old farm on top of a mountain. AMAZING chicken (best I've ever had)

Other Comments:
Overall, I met the best people. J&J, SDB&C, RF, SS, and many others made the trip one to remember - The resort looks great, but needs to work on the behind the scenes stuff - A/C, Food, Organization, etc. 6/10

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Brisas Guardalavaca Villas is worth a visit"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Crawford  on Oct 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Oct, 2008
190 people found this review helpful

I stayed at the Brisas Guardalavaca from October 10 - 17, 2008. This was my 8th or 9th trip to Cuba and 3rd time at this resort, however, the 1st time solo. I flew Skyservice (despite comments from others, I had a good flight both ways) out of Toronto with Signature Vacations arriving at ~ 22:00. At the orientation meeting the next morning, our rep at the hotel told us that we were only the 2nd week of guests since Hurricane Ike and that they had worked very hard to get the Villas section in shape (the Hotel side was closed for planned renovations, and I would presume that now for some major repairs). The villas side, physically, was very similar to my 2 other stays. The room was clean and comfortable and I was fortunate to be in the 1st Villa on the 3rd floor. However, at the morning briefing 3 other guests reported that they had changed their rooms on arrival due mostly to the musty odour (which was more prominent as the rooms had been closed for a longer period than normal). All seemed to be satisfied with their new rooms.

The buffet services was no better then before, in that there was little service, unless you were a repeat guest with a history with the servers. The food in Cuba is never very gourmet, but there was lots of choice, a good assortment of fruit and salad, and of course ice cream. They have "stuck" a bar opposite the front desk that wasn't there 2 years ago, this is possibly to make up for the bars that are closed in the hotel. The only services available in the hotel were the Italian restaurant and Coffee bar, and the disco was supposed to open soon. Of the 2 la carte restaurants, I preferred the Italian over the Seafood, mostly due to the server, Enrico, the air conditioning, and the food is a bit better. However, the Seafood has a nice atmosphere with an ocean view (perhaps it would be more romantic with my wife?). As far as the resort goes it is mostly operations as before (good and bad), the main difference of the resort is the loss of the trees and the shade. Brisas Guardalavaca was always regarded by myself and others to have the best shade beach in Cuba. I go for the heat and the atmosphere, not to burn in the sun, but for now there is very little shade on the beach except for a few remaining trees and the new umbrellas they have put up (but we know that happens to an umbrella in the wind!). Our rep told us that they plan to replant some mature trees on the beach, but this will take time.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our second home"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Danielle van Elst  on Aug 5, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Aug, 2007
2920 people found this review helpful

We have been to the brisas for the last ten year, it may not be really plush, but we are treated like family by all the staff, we have been invited to their homes, and been out socialising with some of them. the customer relations are excellent, the restuarants are good, the beaches are excellent, and we in particular enjoy the live music.
Original Review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Super"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  FORESTIER  on May 23, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: May, 2009
620 people found this review helpful

Nous revenons de 15 jours à l'hotel Brisas. Bonne restauration, chambres correctes et trés bonne animation. Deux piscines et une grande plage avec arbres, parasols et transat. Une allée dallée vous permet une longue ballade jusqu'a un petit marché de souvenirs. Seul bémol, les excursions sont un peu chères et la ville est un peu loin (une bonne heure de car). Le personnel est adorable et si une ampoule est grillée dans votre chambre, 5mn après on vient vous la changer Je pense que nous allons y retourner. PF

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"large space and clean rooms"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  ivy  on Aug 16, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
285 people found this review helpful

I had a good start from when I arrived the hotel because the room was already very clean and there was enough space to move around and keep my luggage so happy mood was activated. The room was cool because of the air condition that was on full speed, like I said from the beginning, I already love the place. The hotel is a big complex that has lots of stuff on it such as the very nice restaurant that I visited and their foods were really nice and I didn’t fall sick from eating any of their meal like the last time I visited Cuba. I explored the town very well courtesy of one of the staff members there who told me places I can visit and what not. I noticed something though, it was as though they paid special attention to Spanish speaking guests than English and it was okay because I still had everything that I wanted. The staff was nice, they paid attention and provided you with whatever you need and also some of them spoke English that was good enough for conversation. The pork in the Buffet was a little bit undercooked as I noticed it was a bit raw on the inside but that is about the cons of the restaurant in this hotel. Overall, I had such an amazing time here and hope to come back. Lets I forget, don’t miss out on the a la carte restaurants, you will enjoy them very well.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent resort at for a reasonable price"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sandra  on Feb 22, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2015 | Leisure | Family and Kids
255 people found this review helpful

We visited Feb 6-13, 2015. Travelled with spouse, 2 children aged 14 & 10, and another couple. Everyone was pleased with the resort and their rooms. We stayed in the villas, our friends stayed in the hotel. Villas are very spacious. The resort was very clean. Food was quite good, especially the a la carte restaurants, grille, and the pasta bar at the buffet restaurant. My kids are quite picky but always found something to eat. Bartenders worked hard to serve everyone quickly. We used the fitness centre a few times. Some decent cardio equipment but it would have been nice if it was air conditioned. It got too hot if there was no breeze. Entertainment staff was quite good. All of the shows we saw were great.

Room Number:
4212

Room Block:
Villas

Arrival:
Arrived at 4 pm and our room was not ready:( They had us wait in the lobby and gave us welcome drinks. Check in and out was very quick. They will only give you 1 keycard per room, which is a real hassle and waste of time when you are there with 4 people though. They need to do something about this as we wasted time looking for the person who had the key many times.

Rooms:
Very clean and spacious.

Restaurants and Bars:
Very good made to order eggs, French toast, pancakes, etc. for breakfast. We enjoyed the seafood restaurant the best. I found the water tasted weird from many of the bars though. If you go to the bar at the villa pool, this water tasted the best. You can also buy bottled water at the store for 1 peso for 1.5 Litres, but during the day, I sipped water from the villa pool in a large insulated cup and it was fine. Also by the main pool they have a jug of water with lemon and lemonade you can help yourself to. Both tasted fine.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube