Brisas Guardalavaca Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin Province Hotel index > Brisas Guardalavaca reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Brisas Guardalavaca  

Calle 2 No. 1, Playa Guardalavaca, Banes, Holguin

"Excellent resort at for a reasonable price"
Posted by: Sandra  on Feb 22, 2015
see all reviews

Brisas Guardalavaca Reviews
Brisas Guardalavaca Pictures and Information
Brisas Guardalavaca Guardalavaca Cuba

#2
of 2 Hotels in Guardalavaca

User rating 4.3

Based on 29 reviews

Brisas Guardalavaca Information


With a comprehensive array of all inclusive facilities at a very reasonable price, this resort makes an ideal base from which to explore the area or to simply relax and enjoy its many comforts.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Brisas Guardalavaca Reviews

Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 4.3 of 5 29 reviews
Excellent
  18
Very good
  9
Average
  1
Poor
  2
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (15)
Wedding (2)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (7)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
1 - 10 of 29

"Our second home"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Danielle van Elst  on Aug 5, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Aug, 2007
2920 people found this review helpful

We have been to the brisas for the last ten year, it may not be really plush, but we are treated like family by all the staff, we have been invited to their homes, and been out socialising with some of them. the customer relations are excellent, the restuarants are good, the beaches are excellent, and we in particular enjoy the live music.
Original Review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"we strongly recommend brias guardavalaca"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  ruth ann beals  on Jan 20, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2008
426 people found this review helpful

we have been there many times ,and we first started going it was a delta and under canadian management.we have noticed some changes but still like it overall and would go back as the people are very friendly at the resort and gone out of their way to please us,we do feel they could renovate the villa's as they do smell stale,also their microphone and sound system for their night shows need to be fixed as they were not operating.the food was good at the buffet but the al la carte near the beach had great atmosphere,the girl sang beautifully and the man played well but the food there was only fair.breakfast and dinner there was great.the italian restaurant was great and the guys who worked on the table were a+.we had michael and really liked him.the resort is handy to the down town markets and one can walk via the beach or from the front lobby.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A dream"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alexandra Berg  on May 31, 2008  >  3 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: May, 2008
936 people found this review helpful

We spent two nights at this wonderful hotel in March 2008 when we travelled to Cuba. We had a great apartment with a view of the ocean and beach, the gardener served us fresh coconuts, it was really a great place to relax.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The food could have been much better"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Biljana  on Oct 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Oct, 2008
256 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Brisas Guardalavaca from October 4 - 11, 2008. We went there as a family of 9 people (with 2 kids). Most of our family members have been to Cuba many times before, but this was our first time in this resort. We originally booked our stay at the neighbouring Club Amigo, but it was so severely damaged due to the hurricanes, that we accepted the alternative option of staying in the Brisas villas.

FLIGHT: We flew with Sunwing and the flight was excellent. There were no delays or problems, everything went smoothly. We were given an excellent, filling meal, which I haven't got with Air Canada in a long time.

WEATHER: We had great weather, with only occasional and short periods of rain. It would last for only a few minutes, we did not even bother getting out of water or from the beach. Considering that we came there right after the bad hurricanes, we were extremely lucky with the weather.

ROOMS: We had 4 rooms in villas section. The rooms on the upper floors are marked as suites, because they have a small seating area. Out of four rooms that our group had, the three had a very bad odour. It could be due to the recent hurricanes and air-conditioning not working for some time, but whatever the reason is, it does not make you feel better when you have to breathe in that smell. The air-conditioning was old and very noisy, so I turned it off for the first two nights. I was then coughing the whole night and suffered from an itchy throat. For the rest of the week, I kept the A/C on and slept on and off due to all that noise.

As for the seating area in the suites, it consisted of one sofa and two armchairs. They were in poor shape, with suspicious and very visible stains on the fabric.

The rooms seem to be recently painted, but the paint stains were everywhere! What a waste of time and money, the rooms still looked shabby and dirty.

The maids were replacing the towels really quickly and we never had to look for them (it happened to us in other resorts). Cleanliness has a very high spot on my must-have list and, although I could not say that the rooms and bathrooms were spotless, they were fairly OK.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The food could have been much better"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Biljana  on Oct 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Oct, 2008
256 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Brisas Guardalavaca from October 4 - 11, 2008. We went there as a family of 9 people (with 2 kids). Most of our family members have been to Cuba many times before, but this was our first time in this resort. We originally booked our stay at the neighbouring Club Amigo, but it was so severely damaged due to the hurricanes, that we accepted the alternative option of staying in the Brisas villas.

FLIGHT: We flew with Sunwing and the flight was excellent. There were no delays or problems, everything went smoothly. We were given an excellent, filling meal, which I haven't got with Air Canada in a long time.

WEATHER: We had great weather, with only occasional and short periods of rain. It would last for only a few minutes, we did not even bother getting out of water or from the beach. Considering that we came there right after the bad hurricanes, we were extremely lucky with the weather.

ROOMS: We had 4 rooms in villas section. The rooms on the upper floors are marked as suites, because they have a small seating area. Out of four rooms that our group had, the three had a very bad odour. It could be due to the recent hurricanes and air-conditioning not working for some time, but whatever the reason is, it does not make you feel better when you have to breathe in that smell. The air-conditioning was old and very noisy, so I turned it off for the first two nights. I was then coughing the whole night and suffered from an itchy throat. For the rest of the week, I kept the A/C on and slept on and off due to all that noise.

As for the seating area in the suites, it consisted of one sofa and two armchairs. They were in poor shape, with suspicious and very visible stains on the fabric.

The rooms seem to be recently painted, but the paint stains were everywhere! What a waste of time and money, the rooms still looked shabby and dirty.

The maids were replacing the towels really quickly and we never had to look for them (it happened to us in other resorts). Cleanliness has a very high spot on my must-have list and, although I could not say that the rooms and bathrooms were spotless, they were fairly OK.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Brisas Guardalavaca Villas is worth a visit"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Crawford  on Oct 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Oct, 2008
190 people found this review helpful

I stayed at the Brisas Guardalavaca from October 10 - 17, 2008. This was my 8th or 9th trip to Cuba and 3rd time at this resort, however, the 1st time solo. I flew Skyservice (despite comments from others, I had a good flight both ways) out of Toronto with Signature Vacations arriving at ~ 22:00. At the orientation meeting the next morning, our rep at the hotel told us that we were only the 2nd week of guests since Hurricane Ike and that they had worked very hard to get the Villas section in shape (the Hotel side was closed for planned renovations, and I would presume that now for some major repairs). The villas side, physically, was very similar to my 2 other stays. The room was clean and comfortable and I was fortunate to be in the 1st Villa on the 3rd floor. However, at the morning briefing 3 other guests reported that they had changed their rooms on arrival due mostly to the musty odour (which was more prominent as the rooms had been closed for a longer period than normal). All seemed to be satisfied with their new rooms.

The buffet services was no better then before, in that there was little service, unless you were a repeat guest with a history with the servers. The food in Cuba is never very gourmet, but there was lots of choice, a good assortment of fruit and salad, and of course ice cream. They have "stuck" a bar opposite the front desk that wasn't there 2 years ago, this is possibly to make up for the bars that are closed in the hotel. The only services available in the hotel were the Italian restaurant and Coffee bar, and the disco was supposed to open soon. Of the 2 la carte restaurants, I preferred the Italian over the Seafood, mostly due to the server, Enrico, the air conditioning, and the food is a bit better. However, the Seafood has a nice atmosphere with an ocean view (perhaps it would be more romantic with my wife?). As far as the resort goes it is mostly operations as before (good and bad), the main difference of the resort is the loss of the trees and the shade. Brisas Guardalavaca was always regarded by myself and others to have the best shade beach in Cuba. I go for the heat and the atmosphere, not to burn in the sun, but for now there is very little shade on the beach except for a few remaining trees and the new umbrellas they have put up (but we know that happens to an umbrella in the wind!). Our rep told us that they plan to replant some mature trees on the beach, but this will take time.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"BEI RICORDI AL BRISAS "

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  GRAZIA  on Dec 28, 2008  >  2 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: Dec, 2008
434 people found this review helpful

HOTEL SEMPLICE, MA FUNZIONALE UBICATO NELLA BELLISSIMA SPIAGGIA รจ L'IDEALE PER CHI HA FIGLI E VUOLE GODERE LA SPIAGGIA PERSONALE CORDIALE E PREPARATO CIBO DISCRETO LO CONSIGLIO

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"HABANA LIBRE TUTTO OK "

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  GRAZIA  on Dec 28, 2008  >  2 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: Dec, 2008
391 people found this review helpful

HOTEL CENTRALE NELLA BELLISSIMA HABANA PULITO, PERSONALE CORDIALE E L'IDEALE PER TRASCORRERVI POCHI GIORNI PER VISITARE LA BELLISSIMA AVANA LO CONSIGLIO A CHIUNQUE

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A fantastic holiday destination!"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Carol Blackmore  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jan, 2009
1655 people found this review helpful

Brisas is an amazing place to stay. Nothing is too much trouble - if there is something you need you only have to ask! all the staff are very friendly and eager to make sure your holiday is the best ever. We will certainbly be returning again!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We love this place"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jayneb from Ottawa  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
236 people found this review helpful

Arrival - Feb 8 - 15
Our arrival was smooth, Villa staff had all keys ready and waiting. We were offered valet service but since we new our way around decided to head to our room ourselves

Rooms
Stayed in Villa 5 (room 5203) Great location looking over the pool area and backing on to the beach. Last year we were in Villa 6 and that was great too.
Upstairs rooms are bigger(not sure if these are the Minisuites). We dont usually book the mini suuites but have been in them both times. The room had a king size bed, couch and they added a single bed for our 6 year old daughter. Bathroom large also. Good shower. Mini fridger and coffee maker also. Rooms were kept very clean. If you like big pillows you may want to figure out a way to bring one with you. (or ask for extras)

Restaurants and Bars
Both the Villa buffet and Hotel Buffet were open. We found them both comparable although people in the past have said the hotel one is better quality. Honestly, we found the food not as good as last yearbut nothing to complain about. Pasta made to order was a hiot at noth places. Went to the Italian and the seafood al a cartes, They were really enjoyable. Carlos is a waiter at the seafood one and will always take great care of you.
As usual the pizzas and bugers were a hit for lunches at the pool side.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Hotel pool has been completely renovated and look great. Villa pool is good to especially if you have little ones.It tends to be on the more quiet side and is more shallow.] Beach is good, they have lost a lot of trees from last year but have put up palapas to give more shade. We never had any trouble finding a spot to sit.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We participated in the tree planting ceremony for returning guests and found this lots of fun. Had a great lunch too. Our daughter felt really special.
Didnt partake in any tours really except to take a buggy up to the school to give out supplies that we had brought.

Other Comments
Overall what can I say. We love this place and my 6 year old daughter was already talking about when we go back next year what she will do. They have done such an incredible job since the hurricane. If you have never been here you would never know the devastation that took place there.
We will go back in an instant to meet up with new friens that we met and hope to take many friends with us next year.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The resort is almost like new again."

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Betty and Mike  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Mar, 2009
259 people found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from a 3 week stay at Brisas Guardalavaca. Feb. 13th to Mar 6th.

We flew with sunwing for the first time . We were happy with the all around service. We had no issues at the airport in Holguin apon arrival. We were packed to the max and sailed right through. We have been through this airport 7 times.
We bought some crystal beer by the buses for the 1 hour journey to the hotel. I really enjoy this ride as it allows you see cuba everyday. Lots do not venture off the resorts so it is good to see. We ourselves are out and about to the country pretty often. Don't miss a trip off the resort either by horse and buggy, scooter, taxi.
Check in was fast . We have been there before so we new our way around. We stayed in the villa section .It is quieter than hotel which we have also stayed in. Although we are not in them for long but to sleep and shower it gives us more room for all the stuff we took.
The resort is almost like new again.
The cubans worked extremely hard to get ready for the tourists.A few missing trees but,not much else.
The beach is still crystal blue. Water is fantastic for swimming. Hubby went snokeling and fishing.
The buffets were good. Lots of selection . There are still 2 alacarts. Seafood and Italian. Both to be enjoyed.
The entertain is good. They have a fiddler twice aweek. His name is Joey and loves to get the people dancing. Water ballet as well . Modeling shows ( my favorite ) :) Did the disco a few nights. It was good.
The games room still has pool and darts, pingpong and they have now put a sand pit up for botchy ball as well as badminton. Tennis courts are really good. Hubby played a lot. They have raquettes but, we brought our own with balls. Horse back riding for 2 hours takes you to some caves . Cost 12 cuc. Pretty neat. My husband also took the boat plane up around the resort. He liked that although itis 30. cuc for 10 mins.
We also rented a car for approx. 80 cuc allyou can drive for 12 hrs. We went out towards the Banes area to see what the hurricane did. Still a few homes without roofs.
All in all we loved seeing a lot of people we met over the last few years. Had a couple of visits to some homes we were invited back to.
Some people we have also met in years past coming back to this great resort.
Was sad to leave but, working on saving for next years adventure in Cuba.
The Cuban people are why we return.
Thanks for making it so special
Can;t wait till next time

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube