Brisas Guardalavaca Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin Province Hotel index > Brisas Guardalavaca reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Brisas Guardalavaca  

Calle 2 No. 1, Playa Guardalavaca, Banes, Holguin

"Excellent resort at for a reasonable price"
Posted by: Sandra  on Feb 22, 2015
see all reviews

Brisas Guardalavaca Reviews
Brisas Guardalavaca Pictures and Information
Brisas Guardalavaca Guardalavaca Cuba

#2
of 2 Hotels in Guardalavaca

User rating 4.3

Based on 29 reviews

Brisas Guardalavaca Information


With a comprehensive array of all inclusive facilities at a very reasonable price, this resort makes an ideal base from which to explore the area or to simply relax and enjoy its many comforts.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Brisas Guardalavaca Reviews

Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 4.3 of 5 29 reviews
Excellent
  18
Very good
  9
Average
  1
Poor
  2
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (15)
Wedding (2)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (7)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
11 - 20 of 29

"My Paradise"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Donna  on Apr 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
503 people found this review helpful

This was the best holiday I have ever had. The Staff of the Brisas and the cleanliness of the Hotel was simply amazing. The food was superb and lots to choose from. The Noli Tour Rep (Yemileth Soto Yero) was so helpful and so pleasant that we immediately became friends. We all had such a good time that we are all going back ( very soon) I would make this resort my second home, actually if I had my choice I'd make it my first and here in Canada my second home. Such happy people and always smiling and singing. The weather was just great and we had the time of our lives. I just can't understand why it is listed online as a 3 star resort. Beaches are so clean and all the property around the resort was just immaculate. I hope I can be blessed with many more trips to Brisas.

Room Number:
574

Room Block:
oceanview

Arrival:
We arrived in the afternoon..great flight
Had a bus waiting to take us to the resort and it was a nice trip.
Love the palm trees and the tiny lizards....Had lunch at the 24 hour snack bar and the food was great.

Rooms:
Room 574
The room was decorated very nicely and the maid worked her magic with the towels every morning and the animals she created were just beautiful. The room was very clean and the view of the ocean was dynamic. Our Maid was Evia Rodriguez. I just loved her, she was very friendly and pleasant and just like one of us. We enjoyed her every day. Not many Hotels or Resorts have staff like this one and believe me I have been in a lot of them. Could not get over the niceness of all the staff.

Restaurants and Bars:
Did not visit any of the restaurants as we found the buffet just great and all kinds of diffrent foods and sweets for all three meals in the day. The staff in the buffet were just great as well. Jazmine and Marbel were above and beyond nice.
They are very respectful people and we loved them all.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The Beach was kept just so clean and the staff were always working on the grounds. I am an early riser and saw the beack being cleaned from the day before and the pool man doing the pool. Everything was just super clean and I know because I am one of those clean freaks. I look in every nook and cranny and believe me ... This is an Ace Resort. I have told all my friends about this resort and I have a lot of them.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activities were great, Water exercises, dancing etc.
Beach volleyball and all the things to do.
Glass bottom boat was a lot of fun as well.

Other Comments:
The Paradise Island trip was just beautiful..the safari etc. This was a real pleasure rip for me. The dinner we had after the safari was awesome. I don't think I can say anything negative about this trip. All in all, was the best time of my life and I met a lot of friends and that's what it's all about. Sharing, caring and trust.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best Vacation Ever!!"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on Mar 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
474 people found this review helpful

My family of 11 people went to Brisas on February 26th-March 5th. We flew with Sunwing Airlines which was such a treat. Right from take off you get a welcome glass of champagne, a hot meal with a glass of wine; fantastic service. Check in at Brisas was a breeze, no issues! We had Villa 1 room 1206 which was a great location to the pool and restaurant. The room was clean and to expected standards. I would suggest that you bring your own pillow or ask for more pillows and the front desk. My one and only complaint about the room was the king size bed was a bit hard but not terrible and the pillows are too thin.
The Villa buffet was okay, the best meal here was lunch when you could order off the menu (order the pork). The main hotel buffet is perfect for dinner-I always got the personally cook meal eg. Pasta or one night they had prawns. And for breakfast the best place to eat is the restaurant over looking the ocean (at night it is the seafood restaurant). Oh and don't make reservations there for dinner, wasn’t that good. The best place to eat of the three places you need a reservation for is definitely the Italian.
Things to do in the day: you could go on excursions, my mom, daughter and niece and I went on the Suncruise Catamaran which included snorkeling, swimming with the Dolphins and a Lobster, Chicken or Pasta lunch at the restaurant where the Dolphins are.
It was nice although for 120 pescos you are better off just to book just the Dolphin swimming. The snorkeling was no good for my daughter (7years) or me. The Lobster and Pasta lunch was gross. But we still had fun!
You could also book non-motorized water sports at the hotel part of the resort. The Villa pool during the day is relatively quiet while the hotel pool is where the action is. My daughter is a water baby and so she would swim all day at the Villa pool where I felt very safe letting her swim alone.
At night the hotel part is where to be. No entertainment happens at the Villas. The hotel part has a Disco which starts at 11:00 and prior to that the have shows at the stage and sometimes at the lobby bar. The best show for me was the water dancers; I believe it was on Thursday nights.
From 2:00pm till about 5:00pm there is a lady in a hut behind the hotel pool; we called her the donut lady! She makes donuts for about 3 hours a day with sugar, strawberry syrup, chocolate syrup or nothing on them. They are the best donuts I have ever had. My daughter and the donut lady had a liking for each other and at the end of the trip they exchanged gifts-it was very sweet. Make sure you find her and get your donuts.
Please do not listen to the bad reviews; book your trip at this resort and remember it is Cuba and you make your trip what you want it to be.
My family has already decided that we will be returning to Brisas Guardalavaca in 2012 and every year after. Next time though we are going for 10 days!! Enjoy your trip

Room Number:
1206

Room Block:
1

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our second visit."

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Margaret  on Mar 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
459 people found this review helpful

This is my second experience. My daughter, son and myself planted a tree during our second visit. The staff, food and entertainment was good. It is a respectable place for University students and families. The staff is very honest, helpful and pleasant. During our visit two families lost their cameras and it was retured by staff members. It was a nice feeling. The property is well kept and security is all over the property. You feel very safe. We will return. The staff members are always willing to satisfy customers and to improve their service. Thanks you Margaret

Room Number:
127

Room Block:
Hotel

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Most wonderful vacation"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dawn  on Jan 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
454 people found this review helpful

This hotel and the staff are amazing, as a diabetic, I was very disappointed that I could not enjoy any diet beverages in the hotel(none available, not usualy kept). I explained that to the hotel staff and the next morning they came and found me on the beach and advised me that the bars had been stocked with diet drinks. Absolutely phenominal.

We felt so safe on and off the resort, scooters were rented and we travelled all over.

The food was very good,; always a great variety, and the staff is awesome, the weather; it rained for 1 hour; fantastic!!!!!!!!!

My family and I will definately go back

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"awakening"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  joe  on Apr 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
472 people found this review helpful

This place was truly heaven for my familt and me the people are amazing that was most important. As well i found that the people visiting this resort were amazing i look forward to seeing my friends there again soon VIVA Cuba lol

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful vaction,with great people at Brisas Guardalava"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Betty from Winnipeg  on Apr 7, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
433 people found this review helpful

This was to be our 5th time here at Brisas Guardalavaca
We were booked in Sept this trip because it was for one month. As most canadians know most of the west had to travel via Toronto. We are from Winnipeg.Most charters only hold so many seats for 3 and 4 week travels.Also Westjet was the only carrier to Holguin Cuba.
Was very happy with the service I might add. Great luggage allowance.1 hundred pounds each plus 2 carry ons each at 10kg.Had it packed to the max

Your Arrival:
On time and good ckeck in.We stayed in the villas as much more room and in most places quite.Our room building 6000 you walk right out to thebeach. Awsome
coffee maker and small fridge with water everyday. Maid service has always been good.

Restaurants and Bars:
Two buffets to eat at. You can have your choice in the morning for fresh made eggs however you like them.Lots of fruits and veggies and more. There are 2 alacarts Italian in the hotel and Seafood down by the villas.Have yourself a drink at the cappachino bar next to Italian before dinner . Nice place for a coffee afterwards. Great service.Seafood, they sometimes have the servers entertaining you with sing or guitar. Very good.
You can also get breakfast served to you at 1o till ii.30 at the seafood if you miss buffet which closes at 10.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Love the beach. Just pristine. My hubby loves to snorkel and has gone fishing way out front of resort and caught alot of fish on occasion.
Pool at hotel is more lively as they have a grill bar there. Great pizzas and hotdogs and the like.Villa is nice for small kids. Little bar close by.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Always something to do/ The animation team really try to get you involved with volleyball, dancing games in the games room. They have archery with pelet gun ,Bachi ball and more.
The evening entertainment good. Modeling show my favorite :)Aquadic show, Christopher Columbus show Really funny :) and more.

Other Comments:
We rented a car for 5 days and toured around. Town of Banes to see friends. Holguin to visit and stay with friends.
Seaside town called Gibara. 2 hours from Guardalavaca. Really nice drive. Stopped at a home that served lobster there.Couldn;t have had a grander day. Stopped and played ball with some kids that were playing.My friend and I gave away alot of shoes and clothes on this journey.Fantastic
My husband and I wish to go back and do it all over again
Get out and meet Cuba
Bettyboop

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pleasant surprise"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Maryanne  on Feb 27, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
341 people found this review helpful

My daughter and I travelled to Brisas Guardalavaca for her university reading week, Feb 14-21. We wanted a week in the sun at a decent price, and our expectations were low. It was my 2nd trip to Cuba, the first time was a trip to Varadero and I had not had a good experience. So many people rave about Cuba, I gave it a second chance and I'm glad I did. I liked this area much more than Varadero. It is not as built up and seemed much less tourist-y and maybe because of this, I didn't see the hustlers, etc that I'd noticed in Varadero. I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel, which is rated 3+ some places and a 4* others. I'd read that the villas were considered the 4*; however, staying in either side (hotel or villas) you have access to the entire property. We stayed in the hotel and it was a little noisy because it was reading week, so we had a lot of 20 yr olds on our floor. I always pack earplugs, but this trip I forgot. Big mistake and it won't happen again. The hotel was decent, nothing fancy but really clean and everything in our room was functional. We ate in only one buffet (there are 2) and the food was good. We really enjoyed the a la cartes, and they do have a wine list ($) if you are a wine drinker. The beach is long and there is a boardwalk so you can walk safely past the next resort and to a flea market area and public beach. It's a nice, laid back atmosphere. We loved the staff and made friends that we did not want to leave. We also met a ton of Canadians and a few Brits and enjoyed sitting in the large lobby bar after supper for drinks. I really liked the atmosphere of this resort and would (will) return.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Super"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  FORESTIER  on May 23, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: May, 2009
620 people found this review helpful

Nous revenons de 15 jours à l'hotel Brisas. Bonne restauration, chambres correctes et trés bonne animation. Deux piscines et une grande plage avec arbres, parasols et transat. Une allée dallée vous permet une longue ballade jusqu'a un petit marché de souvenirs. Seul bémol, les excursions sont un peu chères et la ville est un peu loin (une bonne heure de car). Le personnel est adorable et si une ampoule est grillée dans votre chambre, 5mn après on vient vous la changer Je pense que nous allons y retourner. PF

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beach - AWESOME"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alex from Mississauga, Ontario  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
321 people found this review helpful

Arrival: May 30th to June 6th
Check-in was seamless - We were at our room in no time.

Rooms:
Rooms looked clean. Shower trickles water. took forever to wash. A/C unit doesn't drain - Leaks into bathroom ceiling instead. Room was VERY humid by end of week. Dehumidifier in A/C didn't work - We could be Hot and wet, or Cold and wet. (chose cold and wet - Hard to sleep) Matresses are DONE. Springs make noise and aren't very comfortable.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffets were very good. Some flies bug you while you eat. The Ala carte's were good for others, I just had bad luck - Cuban restaurant: I ordered Pork - Got dry, tough, old turkey instead. Had to drink water with each bite. Rice was dried out and borderline crunchy. Booked for seafood on Monday - Got to the resturant - But it was closed. Booking screwed up. Went again on Thursday - They ran out of lobster! Bummer! Was too drunk/hung over to go to italian when we booked it - Apparently pretty good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach - AWESOME. The one in front of the resort isn't the greatest, but if you just like to lay on the chairs and soak up the sun its awesome. Not too much swimming space before you hit the grass/urchins. But clean sand! Pools were great - the one int he villa's is a really neat layout - Kind of a lazy river style. The one by the hotels has the best bar. The grounds were well kept. No bugs either. Didn't get bitten once!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went to Holguin. 30cuc. We were lied to, told to use the black market to get cigars (I ended up doing this) etc. Our tour guide, was very deceitful. Led us to closed cigar shops, then referred us to a person "he didn't know" but could go describe to us in perfect detail, saying he works for the cigar factory and has good English... but he says: I don't recommened buying from him - He has very good English and gets real cigars - No banana leaves - But I don't recommend it. He'll be wearing a red shirt and will wait for you near the bus if you need him"

Lunch was amazing - On an old farm on top of a mountain. AMAZING chicken (best I've ever had)

Other Comments:
Overall, I met the best people. J&J, SDB&C, RF, SS, and many others made the trip one to remember - The resort looks great, but needs to work on the behind the scenes stuff - A/C, Food, Organization, etc. 6/10

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Negative ffedback"

Brisas Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Brisas Guardalavaca Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  bruce doucette  on Apr 22, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
784 people found this review helpful

My two main negative views on Brisas Hotel are on two ocassions during the early hours of the morning, drunken hooligans used profanity very loudly that could be heard throut the poolside of the Hotel and no one stopped them or interfered at all! The other negative is I ended up with several days of food poisoning.... Bruce Doucette

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube