Blau Costa Verde Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin Province Hotel index > Blau Costa Verde reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Pesquero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Gaviota Playa Costa Verde

4.4 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 19, 2014

Blau Costa Verde  

Playa Pesquero, Holguín, Cuba
(Holguin Maps)

"disappointed to the core"
Posted by: sammie on Aug 15, 2014
see all reviews

Blau Costa Verde Reviews
Blau Costa Verde Pictures and Information
Blau Costa Verde Playa Pesquero Cuba

#2
of 3 Hotels in Playa Pesquero

User rating 4.2

Based on 38 reviews

Blau Costa Verde Information



Located on beautiful Playa Pesquero beach, Blau Costa Verde offers great all-inclusive value.


Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort is located in the Holguín province of Cuba, where Christopher Columbus first set foot in the New World. He is believed to have called it "the most beautiful country human eyes had ever seen"

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Blau Costa Verde Reviews

Blau Costa Verde Review: 4.2 of 5 38 reviews
Excellent
  15
Very good
  16
Average
  6
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (16)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
1 - 10 of 38

"disappointed to the core"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  sammie  on Aug 15, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
10 people found this review helpful

I was disappointed to the very core, it came as a shock to me, I am never going back to this hotel again. I love the welcoming spirit at this hotel because they give fresh juice to every arriving guest, it is my first time in this resort, so I it was amazing for me. I met a couple who came for their honeymoon and they were given a special treat and it made me think that my honeymoon will be here. All that was like I was dreaming because the moment I entered the room, everything I was promised and thought I would get was all nightmare for me. From the front desk on my way to the room, the place was so dirty and not kept well. The air condition place was so dirty like it hasn’t be renovated for a while, it was such a disappointed. The ceiling in both the room and the bathroom were hanging out, it was an eye sore and I can honestly say that I was note expecting such a low service or feature from such a lovely hotel with nice welcoming tactic. Insects were crawling from everywhere in the hallway, it was really awful. I can’t and won’t advise anybody to come here, it is not a place to be. When I asked to change rooms, they said there were no rooms available and my mood went to zero. It was a lovely vacation turned sour and I don’t recommend it to anybody.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"MAJOR construction now affecting the hotel as of late July 2012"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  MARGARET MCLEAN  on Aug 7, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
162 people found this review helpful

Not only are the building the new addition but they are working at the main hotel around the lobby, pool and only 1 bar is open. Buffet affected by dust and noise from passing machinery outside. What a mess !

Room Number:
4

Room Block:
432

Arrival:
late july 2012

Restaurants and Bars:
1 bar open with limited stock.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
pool has construction going on with loading working around the pool area- noisy and dusty.

Photos: https://picasaweb.google.com/peggymclean5/BlauConstructionJuly2012?authkey=Gv1sRgCKnUiefzjaqkZw#

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't know if I will be back - not a 4 star hotel more a 3.5"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Melissa  on Feb 28, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Business | Family and Kids
216 people found this review helpful

Hope you haven't left yet...but I just got back on Feb 26th from Blau Costa Verde and had a been eaten alive by bugs there. They were some in my hotel room but never found any in my bed---the maid was great.

I reacted to the bites so they look larger all around. I attribute it to either sand fleas at the beach or tiny black insects in our room.

Now coming from a tropical country I expect bugs, but I also expect to be educated or advised about them. Had I known I would have avoided the beach in the mornings, sunset, and after rainfall.

Having said that, I would have planned my trip better by bringing bug repellent...which I suspect most people did.

We were at Playa Pasquero last May '11 and liked the fact that their pool was larger, and at that time of the year there was no need to reserve beach chairs early in the mornings. Also we didn't pay an extra $25 for our lobster dinner there (although it was nothing to race about) or for Crystal/Buccanero beer ($1) where in Blau they charged extra for.

Blau was decent enough for a 4 Star. The staff was nice enough.

Room Block:
Block 5

Arrival:
Good service upon arrival

Rooms:
Large enough for two people, but little crowded for 3.

Large bathroom.

Restaurants and Bars:
Good enough variety. Snapper fish all around but not very tasty.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Too many bugs at the beach. Pool too small to accommodate full capacity

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
People seem to enjoy it. We didn't participate.

Other Comments:
If you want to take beer home buy it at the resort because it's $1.80 at duty free VS only $1 at the resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"One of the best resorts in Cuba."

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Charles  on Jun 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
329 people found this review helpful

I've stayed at maybe 10 resorts in cuba, this is one of my favorites. In some resorts cubans do not recieve the same service as other guest because of lack fo tipping but not at this hotel, they are treated as well as any other guest. The food is some of the best in cuba and the rooms comfortable. This also has some of the best entertainment in cuba.

Room Number:
1417

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Time at The Blau!!!"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Terri  on Apr 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
376 people found this review helpful

9th time in Glorious Cuba! First time at this resort. From the time we checked in, till the Sad day,we checked out, we experienced,Fun,Laughter,Awesome,Snorkling, Great Food, Great Staff:) A Holiday,we will carry with us,forever. We met so many amazing people, so many Return guests, Wow!! This says a lot about this little resort! We had e-mailed Guest Services, prior to our arrival,and we got so much and more! Nice Clean room, King Bed, quiet location, nice bathroom, we were overlooking the pool and resort! Sat on our Balcony and took pictures of the sun setting, truly amazing... We asked for extra pillows, we put the Foam Wallhangings under the sheets, and we truly slept like Babes! Nice little fridge,stocked,daily with water, beer cola ect..nice AC, Tv worked fine,:) We were greeted with sparkling wine and a Fruit tray,Beach Towels in our room, as well as a "Special Dinner" at the Seafood resteraunt at the beach, as we were celebrating an anniversary, on this trip! We never experienced, any bugs or whatever, the food was truly the best, we have ever experienced in all our trips to Cuba! And trust me,we are not Foodies!lol..Every Alacarte, had great food, Great service, Great Music, Our Fave, was the Italian.. Awesome Canneloni,Great wine, Beef Fungi (Beef with mushrooms) lol was to die for! The Buffet had amazing choices as well. Trust me , you will not starve, at this Resort! I ate more veggies here, than I probably do at home! SO Fresh! I loved the fresh Tomatoes and Cucumbers! Hubby loved the awesome Icecream!The 24 hour Snackbar was a hit, for sure! Hopping,at all hours.. Great Hamburgers, dogs, fries, Grilled cheese.. You cannot go wrong,, The night entertainment was good, a bit slow, at first, if you stick around, it does get better. So, Long story short, GO, you will not be dissapointed, as long as you go with an open heart, and do not expect "the Moon"... Happy Travels!!!

Room Number:
2408

Room Block:
#2

Arrival:
Quick, we arrived, late,due to delays in Toronto. Maybe took 20 minutes, from the time we arrived, till we were shown to our room.

Rooms:
Block 2 Room #2408

Restaurants and Bars:
Awesome!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean Pool Small beach, Great snorkeling!!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did not do any, been there, But one day we took the open bus trip into Guardavacela, fun! Nice beach, Flea Market, had fries at one of the many cafes on the beach! Fun! Did not experience any stress at all LOL!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great little resort!!"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Colin  on Mar 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
335 people found this review helpful

This was our third trip to the Blau and we'll certainly be back again. It continues to be an excellent little resort. The staff are very competent and friendly.

Room Number:
5401

Room Block:
5

Arrival:
From plane to bus was quick and easy. Bought a couple of cervesa ($1ea) for the bus ride. The Sunwing rep did a great job of pointing out places of interest during the 90 minute trip. Had a 10 min. pause along the road while the driver changed a fan belt.
The BCV was the first stop and we were checked-in and in our room within 15 minutes.

Rooms:
The room was fine. Everything worked, fridge was stocked and we had a nice ocean view. Beds looked new and were not as firm as in previous trips. Room was cleaned daily by a very pleasant lady. Bring a few extra hangers if you have more than 2 or 3 items to hang. Lots of hot water.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was very good. The staff in the buffet and restaurants were friendly and efficient. We tried both a la cartes and while both were good we preferred the Italian. The service was more relaxed and there was more choice.
Burgers, sandwiches, fries etc. at the pool bar were excellent.
Service was good at all of the bars. There were seldom any lineups. I thought the lobby bar had the best drinks while my wife liked the pool bar drinks best.
Good food and service at the beach restaurant.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach, while not as nice as it was 3 yrs ago before hurricane Ike, still has nice fine, white sand and lots of shade. Between 10 and 3 the beach was busy and it took a while to find a lounger.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Evening shows were quite good. Some impressive talent.

Other Comments:
Departure went as smoothly as our arrival. Our flight actually left about an hour early.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Loved it!!!!"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  gordon  on Mar 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
363 people found this review helpful

We arrived at 3;00 am due to a long delay in our flight. We were quickly registered and taken to our room. The room was not luxurious, but was very clean. That morning we went for breakfast at the buffet and were very pleasantly surprised with the variety of very tasty foods. The waffle/omlette station was great. I'm not sure which"other" Blau Costa Verde people commented on, but we found the food at all locations to be vey tasty and varied. All service during our stay was given with a smile. At no time did we experience the negativity mentioned in other reviews. It was fun to take impromptu Spanish lessons while experiencing the charm of the employee's efforts to speak in English. Yes, there are a lot of rocks as you enter the water so, you should bring water shoes. The water was crystal clear, so it wasn't difficult to find a path to a sandy area. We snorkelled and saw a wide variety of fish. On our last day, we even saw a small school of squid. The beach itself was very well maintained. The wonderful gentleman who helped with the lounges couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. We have travelled a fair bit, but we have never been treated to the variety and quality of evening shows as we were at "The Blau". Fashion shows, an amazing rock and roll show, an aquatic extravaganza, opera...yes, opera and a local singer who could hold her own with Celine or Jennifer Hudson. An incredible effort from an amazing cast. We went to the resort for R and R so cannot comment on other off-site activities. We would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Number:
5315

Room Block:
5

Arrival:
Aside from a very late arrival, we were taken very quickly to our room...about 5 minutes from arrival to check-in to room.

Rooms:
The room was basic, but very clean and was kept that way all week. Lots of hot water for showers. Our AC was not working, but was dealt with immediately. Beds were somewhat firm, but not unbearable. Fridge was stocked each day. Good size balcony with awonderful view of the water and the hills in the distance.

Restaurants and Bars:
We usually ate breakfast and dinner at the buffet where there was always an excellent variety of food and drink available. The red and white wines proved to be surprisingly good and the coffee and cappucinos were superb. The 24-hour snack bar served lighter fare....the egg sandwich was not a hit with us. We went to Mar y Sol near the beach for lunch. The menu was limited, but all the choices were tasty. We went to the Italian a la carte restaurat once and found the food and service to be top notch.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was well-maintained. The sand was white, clean and was not hot on the feet. Water was crystal clear. There are rocks to skirt around, so bring water shoes. Lots of lounges and a very reasonable amount of shade....it was WARM! Large free-form pool with swim-up bar. Very clean. Kiddie pool also available. The grounds are beautiful. The staff is always working on maintaining the plant life and general appearance. The only noticeable garbage was the plastic drink cups that people were too lazy to put in the trash bins.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did not go off-site. Evening entertainment was outstanding. Daytime offered volleyball, tennis, bocce, scuba lessons, archery, catamarans, pedal boats kayaks, windsurfing...and a really active program for the children.

Other Comments:
We would not hesitate to go back to "The Blau". We loved the people and the general atmosphere.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not what I expected"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ronnie  on Feb 20, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
349 people found this review helpful

This is my fourth visit to Cuba at an all inclusive. We were two couples. We arrived and right away were anxious to see the beach. What a horrible disappointment, the beach was not what we expected. Rocks littered the shoreline, and basically for at least five feet into the water was rough rocks, some small some large and some rough. If you didnt have water shoes it was indeed tricky to enter the water without alot of grimacing and careful spotting of where you could cut your feet and where it was safe to tread.So my tip is if you have to go to this hotel, bring rubber water shoes. I say there are many places to visit in Cuba why go where you have to wear shoes to enter the water?
My husband and my brother in law loves snorkeling, they found the coral reef was dead and lifeless having been tread on and picked clean of life. You could indeed spot some beautiful fish with bread or bananas.
We had some bad weather during our week, the rain was literally pouring through the ceilings of the main buffet. Judging from the reactions from the staff this had to be a normal occurence, rain was being gathered by the yellow buckets and made the floor another very tricky manuveuring. Very risky for a fall.
The A La Carte Cuban is good if you ask for the grilled fish. The italian I ordered the arrabiata pasta, totally not edible and disgustingly bitter and they need to research was a tomato sauce should be. It tasted like a mix of ketchup and bovril and very bitter.
The food was better than average for a cuban 4 star. The staff was not friendly like other resorts we have been. I know this people work horribly long hours and live in poverty but a smile goes along way to make everyones day a better one no matter what your circumstances are. Not all the staff were miserable but for those that were it made it uncomfortable.
Our room was kept clean and so I would give a five star to the cleaning staff they are friendly and work very hard.
We had black water at one point. I poured a bubble bath and didnt notice the color of the water til I climbed in to relax and soak and went to mix around the bubbles and was stunned to find the water coal black. We reported it and the water went back to being clear we we hoped it was something temporary in that section of the hotel.
I would rate this hotel a 3 or a 3 and a 1/2 star at best.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice and comfortable"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  JIM  on Feb 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
344 people found this review helpful

Nice place but the place is struggling to stay on its game. Employees are generally nice but they have a motive. A couple are actually nice and like their job but generally speaking they are there almost like they have to be but would rather not. Most people just hang around and drink all day maybe because the ocean is bit away and crowded. General main theme is to drink and eat like cattle. Another thing is all the employees like to stir at the females between the neck and knees they don't know what is going on other then that. Over all clean and safe good for kids. Since they are they have no view of ocean most of the time the better step their other items up.
Food good in Cuban standards and lots of it. Cuban restaurant was very good and pleasant I would like to thank them.

Room Block:
4

Arrival:
Long bus ride especially with riders yelling we need beer every 2 minutes. Nice tour guide but he was not impressed with the constant yelling where is the beer. embarrassing to say the least. thank you newfoundland

Rooms:
clean nice and a/c works good. Little things not repaired like broken latches so the door was difficult to open all week. Told rec. they smelled and said someone will look at it. They didn't. TV converter did not work. One safety box not working and they could not fix it. etc etc etc

Restaurants and Bars:
restaurants good especially the cuban one bars were good busy with one attended most of the time and people who didn't have manners. I always tip so generally I would get served eventually.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:


Beach was to far to small but there was lots of attendants to hustle your dollars getting you stuff. Pool was very nice well taken care of and great for the kids safe. Grounds well kept. The grounds people were not taken care of good enough. They did a great job and never stir at any of the girls going buy. Well mannered.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Muy buenas vacaciones en cuba"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sr. Eufronio Moreno  on Nov 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: Nov, 2010
640 people found this review helpful

Cuba es un pais excelente, com un potencial humano que no tiene parangon, siempre voy de vacaciones a una provincia diferente, este ano sera en Costa Verde, no conozco ese hotel, pero se que sera espectacular. Felicidades a todo el personal que trabaja en ese giro en Cuba. Chao HAA. Solo algo caros algunos destinos.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube