Blau Costa Verde Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin Province Hotel index > Blau Costa Verde reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Pesquero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Gaviota Playa Costa Verde

4.4 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 19, 2014

Blau Costa Verde  

Playa Pesquero, Holguín, Cuba
(Holguin Maps)

"disappointed to the core"
Posted by: sammie on Aug 15, 2014
see all reviews

Blau Costa Verde Reviews
Blau Costa Verde Pictures and Information
Blau Costa Verde Playa Pesquero Cuba

#2
of 3 Hotels in Playa Pesquero

User rating 4.2

Based on 38 reviews

Blau Costa Verde Information



Located on beautiful Playa Pesquero beach, Blau Costa Verde offers great all-inclusive value.


Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort is located in the Holguín province of Cuba, where Christopher Columbus first set foot in the New World. He is believed to have called it "the most beautiful country human eyes had ever seen"

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Blau Costa Verde Reviews

Blau Costa Verde Review: 4.2 of 5 38 reviews
Excellent
  15
Very good
  16
Average
  6
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (16)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
1 - 9 of 38

"MAJOR construction now affecting the hotel as of late July 2012"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  MARGARET MCLEAN  on Aug 7, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
159 people found this review helpful

Not only are the building the new addition but they are working at the main hotel around the lobby, pool and only 1 bar is open. Buffet affected by dust and noise from passing machinery outside. What a mess !

Room Number:
4

Room Block:
432

Arrival:
late july 2012

Restaurants and Bars:
1 bar open with limited stock.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
pool has construction going on with loading working around the pool area- noisy and dusty.

Photos: https://picasaweb.google.com/peggymclean5/BlauConstructionJuly2012?authkey=Gv1sRgCKnUiefzjaqkZw#

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"disappointed to the core"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  sammie  on Aug 15, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
10 people found this review helpful

I was disappointed to the very core, it came as a shock to me, I am never going back to this hotel again. I love the welcoming spirit at this hotel because they give fresh juice to every arriving guest, it is my first time in this resort, so I it was amazing for me. I met a couple who came for their honeymoon and they were given a special treat and it made me think that my honeymoon will be here. All that was like I was dreaming because the moment I entered the room, everything I was promised and thought I would get was all nightmare for me. From the front desk on my way to the room, the place was so dirty and not kept well. The air condition place was so dirty like it hasn’t be renovated for a while, it was such a disappointed. The ceiling in both the room and the bathroom were hanging out, it was an eye sore and I can honestly say that I was note expecting such a low service or feature from such a lovely hotel with nice welcoming tactic. Insects were crawling from everywhere in the hallway, it was really awful. I can’t and won’t advise anybody to come here, it is not a place to be. When I asked to change rooms, they said there were no rooms available and my mood went to zero. It was a lovely vacation turned sour and I don’t recommend it to anybody.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Multi -Cultural"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jane  on Apr 1, 2010  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
154 people found this review helpful

The Blau Costa Verde in Holguin is a great place to snorkell. There is a coral reef right there along the shore with all kinds of fish species. This beats having to travel out to sea to snorkell!
The hotel rooms are spotlessly clean, large and comfortable. The air conditioning is centrally controlled and they often turn it down in the afternoon and through the night. This is a pain but a phone call to the front desk will quickly correct it.
The hotel staff are all very polite and accommodating. They all encourage tipping. The coffee with milk at the Snack Bar is delicious. The steaks at the Cuban Restaurant are cooked to your liking and grilled to perfection. The water activity crew at the beach are all excellent. Make sure you go for a Hobbie Cat ride with "Ray"! He is very handsome, charming and extremely good at what he does! This place is a great Family vacation resort!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice and comfortable"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  JIM  on Feb 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
340 people found this review helpful

Nice place but the place is struggling to stay on its game. Employees are generally nice but they have a motive. A couple are actually nice and like their job but generally speaking they are there almost like they have to be but would rather not. Most people just hang around and drink all day maybe because the ocean is bit away and crowded. General main theme is to drink and eat like cattle. Another thing is all the employees like to stir at the females between the neck and knees they don't know what is going on other then that. Over all clean and safe good for kids. Since they are they have no view of ocean most of the time the better step their other items up.
Food good in Cuban standards and lots of it. Cuban restaurant was very good and pleasant I would like to thank them.

Room Block:
4

Arrival:
Long bus ride especially with riders yelling we need beer every 2 minutes. Nice tour guide but he was not impressed with the constant yelling where is the beer. embarrassing to say the least. thank you newfoundland

Rooms:
clean nice and a/c works good. Little things not repaired like broken latches so the door was difficult to open all week. Told rec. they smelled and said someone will look at it. They didn't. TV converter did not work. One safety box not working and they could not fix it. etc etc etc

Restaurants and Bars:
restaurants good especially the cuban one bars were good busy with one attended most of the time and people who didn't have manners. I always tip so generally I would get served eventually.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:


Beach was to far to small but there was lots of attendants to hustle your dollars getting you stuff. Pool was very nice well taken care of and great for the kids safe. Grounds well kept. The grounds people were not taken care of good enough. They did a great job and never stir at any of the girls going buy. Well mannered.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not what I expected"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Karen  on Apr 13, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
156 people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at the Blau Costa Verde from March 24-31, 2010. I was dissapointed with the buffet selection. The resstaurants were great and always found something good to eat.

Our rooms were neat and comfy. I took a foam mattress pad with me because the beds are pretty hard. If you are not a VIP guest, ask to be put in building 5 block, it is very quiet and away from the stage. Building 4 gets all the noise from the pool and lobby bars.

As far as the cleanliness around the pools, I never saw anyone, through the day, cleaning up cups etc but this is not saying that the 1 person who is responsible for cleaning around the pool does not work hard. My theory is, they need more staff during the day to work on the cup clean up. We never stayed at the beach. It states the beach is great for scuba diving etc, and I do agree. If you are looking for a beautiful rockless, shell-less beach, do not go to this resort. The bugs get pretty bad at night as well.

As far as the staff, there are some of the waitresses that are awesome and always give a smile.

The Italian and restaurant down by the beach were excellent and the staff were great.

We did meet a great bunch of Canadians from our hometown Province, NS and the weather is awesome.

The bathrooms off the lobby had a very bad smell even though they seemed to be pretty clean.

I will say that the entertainment at night was excellent and highly recommend it.

My advise, if you are looking for sun and warmth on a cheap budget, this is a place for you. I will try another resort on my next trip to Cuba.

Your Arrival:
Arrival was fast and easy!!!

Rooms:
Clean

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants had great food and staff

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool was a good size but the pool area seemed to be pretty dirty at times.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Not a lot of entertainment for children it seems

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't know if I will be back - not a 4 star hotel more a 3.5"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Melissa  on Feb 28, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Business | Family and Kids
211 people found this review helpful

Hope you haven't left yet...but I just got back on Feb 26th from Blau Costa Verde and had a been eaten alive by bugs there. They were some in my hotel room but never found any in my bed---the maid was great.

I reacted to the bites so they look larger all around. I attribute it to either sand fleas at the beach or tiny black insects in our room.

Now coming from a tropical country I expect bugs, but I also expect to be educated or advised about them. Had I known I would have avoided the beach in the mornings, sunset, and after rainfall.

Having said that, I would have planned my trip better by bringing bug repellent...which I suspect most people did.

We were at Playa Pasquero last May '11 and liked the fact that their pool was larger, and at that time of the year there was no need to reserve beach chairs early in the mornings. Also we didn't pay an extra $25 for our lobster dinner there (although it was nothing to race about) or for Crystal/Buccanero beer ($1) where in Blau they charged extra for.

Blau was decent enough for a 4 Star. The staff was nice enough.

Room Block:
Block 5

Arrival:
Good service upon arrival

Rooms:
Large enough for two people, but little crowded for 3.

Large bathroom.

Restaurants and Bars:
Good enough variety. Snapper fish all around but not very tasty.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Too many bugs at the beach. Pool too small to accommodate full capacity

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
People seem to enjoy it. We didn't participate.

Other Comments:
If you want to take beer home buy it at the resort because it's $1.80 at duty free VS only $1 at the resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not for singles."

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  pauline tattersall  on Nov 2, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Nov, 2005
1734 people found this review helpful

My friend and i stayed at the Blau Costa Verde, from the 9th September for two weeks.We had never stayed all inclusive before, so we had an idea that we would be spending alot of time within the hotel walls.We arrived at the airport in Holguin, to pouring rain, and a three hour wait to be transferred to our hotel because of computor failure. On the whole, the hotel was clean, staff were either over friendly or couldnt be bothered. Food was average,not much choice, but ok.We felt that our drinks were being rashoned,and that somehow the staff had been told to limit the amount of drinks to give us. We felt as though we were aking for something for free, not that we had paid up front for all inclusive services. As two single women, we found the days were ok, lovely beach, nice pool, but the nights were boring. Nothing but couples and honymooners, only one hotel bar to go to.We arranged trips to holguin city by taxi to get away from boring monotonous hotel evenings, but taxis were expensive 130 pesos for a 45 min journey, thats around £90. We could not afford to do that every night.Definatly not for singles looking for a a bit of life, my friend and i are not big nightclub ravers, but we do like company and the odd late night. The resort was too quiet, and remote.I think we should have gone to Varadero instead.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not what I expected"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ronnie  on Feb 20, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
345 people found this review helpful

This is my fourth visit to Cuba at an all inclusive. We were two couples. We arrived and right away were anxious to see the beach. What a horrible disappointment, the beach was not what we expected. Rocks littered the shoreline, and basically for at least five feet into the water was rough rocks, some small some large and some rough. If you didnt have water shoes it was indeed tricky to enter the water without alot of grimacing and careful spotting of where you could cut your feet and where it was safe to tread.So my tip is if you have to go to this hotel, bring rubber water shoes. I say there are many places to visit in Cuba why go where you have to wear shoes to enter the water?
My husband and my brother in law loves snorkeling, they found the coral reef was dead and lifeless having been tread on and picked clean of life. You could indeed spot some beautiful fish with bread or bananas.
We had some bad weather during our week, the rain was literally pouring through the ceilings of the main buffet. Judging from the reactions from the staff this had to be a normal occurence, rain was being gathered by the yellow buckets and made the floor another very tricky manuveuring. Very risky for a fall.
The A La Carte Cuban is good if you ask for the grilled fish. The italian I ordered the arrabiata pasta, totally not edible and disgustingly bitter and they need to research was a tomato sauce should be. It tasted like a mix of ketchup and bovril and very bitter.
The food was better than average for a cuban 4 star. The staff was not friendly like other resorts we have been. I know this people work horribly long hours and live in poverty but a smile goes along way to make everyones day a better one no matter what your circumstances are. Not all the staff were miserable but for those that were it made it uncomfortable.
Our room was kept clean and so I would give a five star to the cleaning staff they are friendly and work very hard.
We had black water at one point. I poured a bubble bath and didnt notice the color of the water til I climbed in to relax and soak and went to mix around the bubbles and was stunned to find the water coal black. We reported it and the water went back to being clear we we hoped it was something temporary in that section of the hotel.
I would rate this hotel a 3 or a 3 and a 1/2 star at best.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"To enjoy the sun and the beaches"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  MARIA  on Aug 28, 2006  >  2 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Aug, 2006
2043 people found this review helpful

Very good relation very good quality price.

Good buffet. Good facilities.

Excellent situation, next to a precious beach. In order to relax because it is remote of any urbanized zone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Food was great"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Wes from Calgary  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
82 people found this review helpful

Rooms:
Rooms were very clean, a bit out dated and the beds were a little hard but I guess thats normal for Cuba, Very pleased with the cleanleness of the rooms. House keeping made the room up in diff. ways all week.

Restaurants and Bars:v Food was great always a meal or snack at all times of day or night. Iam a very pickey eater and I had no prob. finding something I liked buffet was diff. every time/day

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was perfect,great snorkeling right of the beach, brought buns and bread from buffet to feed the fish they loved it they come right up to your hands to eat. spectacular sand and crystal clean waters....

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on the Holguin tour including tour of cigar factory mountain lunch and hour of free time in downtown Holguin. Very interesting and worth every penny, We also did the swimming with the dolphins now that is a must do... it also included a great peace of coral for an awesome snoreling adventure, very much worth the money..

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube