Blau Costa Verde Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin Province Hotel index > Blau Costa Verde reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Pesquero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Gaviota Playa Costa Verde

4.4 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 19, 2014

Blau Costa Verde  

Playa Pesquero, Holguín, Cuba
(Holguin Maps)

"disappointed to the core"
Posted by: sammie on Aug 15, 2014
see all reviews

Blau Costa Verde Reviews
Blau Costa Verde Pictures and Information
Blau Costa Verde Playa Pesquero Cuba

#2
of 3 Hotels in Playa Pesquero

User rating 4.2

Based on 38 reviews

Blau Costa Verde Information



Located on beautiful Playa Pesquero beach, Blau Costa Verde offers great all-inclusive value.


Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort is located in the Holguín province of Cuba, where Christopher Columbus first set foot in the New World. He is believed to have called it "the most beautiful country human eyes had ever seen"

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Blau Costa Verde Reviews

Blau Costa Verde Review: 4.2 of 5 38 reviews
Excellent
  15
Very good
  16
Average
  6
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (16)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
1 - 10 of 38

"The best trip I've ever had!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Laura  on May 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2002 | Leisure | With friend
209 people found this review helpful

I just returned from the best resort Blau Costa Verde. Flew Air Transat. Arrived April 28/10 and left at midnight on May 5/10. Flew first class definitely worth the extra 55.00. I am 24 years old and traveled with my mother this year. We had an amazing time. The hotel is beautiful with lots to do for any ages. The food was amazing. Some of it even tasted like home. They don't have ketchup very often so I would suggest bringing your own. The staff was so helpful and very friendly. Some things that they really need are sunscreen, deodorant, soap, shampoo and conditioner. The things we take for granted. So if you can take some of these essentials to give to the staff. Trust me they really appreciate it. The beach is awesome but make sure you take your water shoes because there is some corral. You can feed the fish right out of your hand. Barbara does hair and nails. She is awesome so make sure to book an appointment with her. And if you do go by the fitness center please tell Barbara, Deni and the nurse Joa that Laura from Nova Scotia sends big hugs and lots of love. I had a blast with them. I wish they had of played more Cuban music at the restaurants but that is my only complaint. The Cuban restaurant was my absolute favorite. The Italian was amazing too. If you go to the Cuban restaurant get a banana split for dessert. I swear it was better than dairy queen. We stayed in room 3307 had an amazing view of the mountains and water. Maid was great. Hot water everyday. Needless to say I hope to be returning to this resort very soon. I would recommend it to anyone. Please remember to keep an open mind when traveling anywhere in Cuba they do not have the same things that we have. They are the sweetest people. And please remember to tip. They depend so much on this. If anyone is traveling to this resort and you live in or around Halifax if you could contact me at lauraj212010@hotmail.com if you would be willing to take a letter down for me that would be so appreciated. If anyone has any questions feel free to contact me by email.

Your Arrival:
Excellent very fast service

Rooms:
Great for the amount of time you spend in them. The beds are a little bit in the hard side but take the cushion art off the wall and use that. Always clean. Great shower. No complaints at all.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was very good at this resort. Cuban restaurant was the best.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful. Well kept at all times.

Other Comments:
Worth every penny to go this beautiful resort. Hope to be going back next month for my birthday!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderfull time"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  S.Jaspers  on Oct 15, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Oct, 2005
1711 people found this review helpful

For the second year we have been in Costa Verde Hotel. The change of the management was new for us but just like the year before they gave us a wonderful time. There is nothing to complain about, everybody was in a good mood, did their utmost to help or serve you. The food was excellent, more then enough variation and the resort itself is a very good place to be. The entertainment was good, the animators, all of them are great. We hope we’ll have the opportunity to come back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not for singles."

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  pauline tattersall  on Nov 2, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Nov, 2005
1734 people found this review helpful

My friend and i stayed at the Blau Costa Verde, from the 9th September for two weeks.We had never stayed all inclusive before, so we had an idea that we would be spending alot of time within the hotel walls.We arrived at the airport in Holguin, to pouring rain, and a three hour wait to be transferred to our hotel because of computor failure. On the whole, the hotel was clean, staff were either over friendly or couldnt be bothered. Food was average,not much choice, but ok.We felt that our drinks were being rashoned,and that somehow the staff had been told to limit the amount of drinks to give us. We felt as though we were aking for something for free, not that we had paid up front for all inclusive services. As two single women, we found the days were ok, lovely beach, nice pool, but the nights were boring. Nothing but couples and honymooners, only one hotel bar to go to.We arranged trips to holguin city by taxi to get away from boring monotonous hotel evenings, but taxis were expensive 130 pesos for a 45 min journey, thats around £90. We could not afford to do that every night.Definatly not for singles looking for a a bit of life, my friend and i are not big nightclub ravers, but we do like company and the odd late night. The resort was too quiet, and remote.I think we should have gone to Varadero instead.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"To enjoy the sun and the beaches"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  MARIA  on Aug 28, 2006  >  2 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Aug, 2006
2044 people found this review helpful

Very good relation very good quality price.

Good buffet. Good facilities.

Excellent situation, next to a precious beach. In order to relax because it is remote of any urbanized zone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Le Blau, c'est comme chez moi !"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lyne Jacques  on Jul 20, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2007
393 people found this review helpful

Ma copin et moi sommes de retour de Holguin et du Blau plus précisement. Nous y avons séjourné à 2 reprises en 1 mois, une semaine en juin et 2 semaines en juillet. Nous nous y sentons comme chez nous ! Nous retournons à la fin d'août. J'ai, pour ma part, voyagé partout dans le monde, mais l'ambiance et l'accueuil que nous avons ressenti au Blau est extraordinaire. Premièrement, de part ses gens, son personnel, Cuba et le Blau sont des endroits à découvrir et à revoir. L'hôtel est très propre, la bouffe variée et excellente. L'équipe d'animation et les musiciens: Quinquento Cristal feront tout pour que vous passiez des vacances inoubliables. Hasta la proxima amigos del Blau, Lyne & Claudette

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing!!!!!"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Eleanor Maxwell  on Sep 25, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Sep, 2007
2750 people found this review helpful

I went to the Blau Costa Verde in June '07, we were supposed to be staying in the Club Amigo Atlantico Hotel--but after a local town trip we were very relieved we had been moved. As soon as we got to the hotel all of the staff were extremely welcoming and couldn't do enough for you.

Our room was very spacious, had air conditioning, safe, mini bar-which was filled up everyday with 2 beers, 2 soft drinks and a bottle of water, and the maid came in to clean everyday and left all the towels in origami styles. We also had a balcony which over looked the very well kept gardens, the huge pool, and most importantly the white sandy beaches and turquoise sea, which was idyllic!

Even though I am a very fussy eater-there were always plenty of food which was delicious, they had a buffet that was on for breakfast,lunch and dinner-which had a huge variety of food, also there was a Italian restuarant which was delicious. Throughtout the day there were snack bars open-both by the pool and the beach.

There were always plenty of things to do-sunbathe been the main activity, also there were peddle boats which you could take out at any time during the day, snorkling equipment, a sauna, gym, table tennis, pool tables, archery, and at around 3.30pm everyday the entertainers would get all the holiday-makers to join in and play games etc... also there were shows on everynight and beach partys-all this included in the price.

There were lots of amazing excursions that you could also go on. We only went on two-first been the Guardalavaca trip, in which you went to variuos parts of the town-which was amazing to see how the cubans lived, also you go to a couple of museums-which i surprisingly found to be extremely interesting-our tour guide was very knowlegable and explained everything we needed to know about cuba, at the end of the trip we went to a market-which was incredible-to see all of the wonderful creations the cubans had made-mainly out of shells and wood-word of warning-take plenty of money.

Our second trip was to swim with the dolphins, which had to be my highlight of the whole holiday-if u pay a little extra they will get the dolphins to lift you up and push you around the sea, they also do a sea lion show which is hilarious and a dolphin show-would highly recommend this trip--its worth every penny.

Also the weather was great-we only had one stormy night-which was good considering it was monsoon season-which did not spoil the holiday at all-it was amazing to watch.

Overall I wuld rate the holiday, hotel, staff everything 5*++++++ thank you to all the staff for the most amazing holiday i ever had, and will see you next year!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A la Carte were good"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Wendy from Saskatchewan  on Dec 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2008
75 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec.15-Dec.29.08
Short Delay at our end at the airport, Sunwing had an o-ring freezing, and it took 2 hrs to unthaw. Some travellers had to wait on the plane, so i would much rather of been in the airport, we were able to walk around. Quick service at the airport in holguin, and right to a waiting bus to transfer to the hotel, supper was waiting after checkin for us, and we started our vacation, we were unable to get adjoining rooms, with our children but we were only one room away on the same floor, so not too bad.

Rooms:
We had emailed ahead and asked to be in the same block of rooms as we were 2 years ago, and they were able to accomodate. It overlooked the grounds and busier area of the hotel. We had a welcome plate of fruit and bottle of rum, for being repeat customers. Had read some of the reviews saying rooms were moldy and dirty, but wasn't too concerned because we didn't see this last time as well. Friends stayed in another area of the resort and they had good rooms as well and they were on the bottom floor. They had their main door quit working on them and had to get the maintenance in twice to fix. But no problems.

Restaurants and Bars:
A la Carte were good, Italian and Cuban(steak/lobster was great). Buffet was always different and changed daily, but also had the usual pasta and meat/potatoes for the less adventurous. Breakfast was always good, lots of fruit and pastries, omelettes and meats if you choose. We did notice the bars could of had more staff on, at times we waited a long time for service, but if we got thirsty you just got up and got your own.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was good, reviews said rocky before we went, and yes compared to last trip we noticed more rocks but it depended where you went, and water shoes would be good for those with soft tootsies. The Pool was clean, clear and great. Grounds did get a beating from the hurricane and vegetation was more sparse and smaller than remembered but it is coming around. Always clean and well set out to get to all the activities.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on the catamaran excursion called the blue adventure, it is for snorkelling. Friends went on the catarmaran and dolphin excursion, our kids had already done dolphins in mexico and would rather snorkel so we chose this, $70 and $120 difference. We also did the jeep safari ride, no elephants or zebras but you get to see the real cuban area while riding in jeeps, that you get to drive, our teenagers thought this to be great. First time riding a stick. You see a cuban coconut farm, ride horses see where christopher columbus landed and see some culture, all while having a great time. Our guide, Hulio was hillarious, the group the day before had a snake in there jeep and thats all we heard, so we asked to have the jeep with out the snake when we went, he said they put the snake in the jeep to add flavour to the day, we said well it worked! We also went into Guadalavaca, and visited the markets, you can ride in for 5 peso a person, there and back, or 12 peso for a cab but thats both ways. Entertainment at night was amazing, get involved and have fun. Never in two weeks had a repeated nite.

Other Comments:
Take insect repellent, i did and we still got biten, it is the sand flies, they are very small but if you react to a mosquito bite, be prepared. Worse time they say is early morning, and late evening by the beach, or after a short rain. During the heat of the day you are ok. We always take our own go-cup, (thats an insulated cup/mug of some sort), means less trips to the bar. And if you want you can trade it or give it away at the end of your trip. Those with small children don't be concerned we saw how the girls who look after the children all day and then have them on stage after supper for a bit of dancing, they go all day, parties, activities, eating, my older children were envious, but kudos to those rec.girls they must of been exhausted at the end of the day. Well done Inushka!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It is was you expect ... resort food!"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Krista from London, ON  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
73 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 18 to 25
Our flight went well although it was about 2 hours delayed due to weather conditions in Toronto, but after the de-icing of the plane we were good to go. Once we landed at the Airport everything was very quick at the airport, we found our bus right away and then headed to the resort. They check-in was quick and easy.

Rooms:
Our room was great. We were in 2036 and to our suprise had a beautiful view of the ocean and the pool/entertainment. The room was what we expected, nothing fancy, but not horrible at all. Good water pressure, nice view and a bed to sleep on. The maids did a very good job.

Restaurants and Bars:
The drinks were amazing! They have execllent slushie machines at the bar by the pool and we basically drank there the whole time. The service was great and the food was greasy, but good! I think we had fries from the pool bar every day (you have to try them!). Their wasn't a server at the swim-up bar at all times, but if you got enough people to sit around it then one would come down.

Make sure you go to the Italian restaurant for lunch. They had the most amazing pizzas! We didn't discover that until the last day :(

The buffet was good. It is was you expect ... resort food!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was beautiful. The snorkeling was amazing! It was my first time snorkeling and I loved every minute of it. We just walked right out from the beach and saw a ton of beautiful fish! We brought bread on our last day and the fish went crazy .. they come right up and eat it out of your hand.

The pool was cool but very nice and refreshing. Always lots of loungers available.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The shows were great. My favorite was the Moulin Rouge. We only watched a few of them, but the staff did an amazing job!

We went to the Diso one night and it was a lot of fun. It didn't really get busy until 11:30 - 12ish.

There are a lot of staff around that love to get involved with any sports activities (volleyball, pingpong etc.) so you should ask them to play!

Other Comments:
If you are expecting a classy 5* resort then you may be disappointed. If you have an open mind and are looking for a fun resort to go to then you will like this one. I would definitely go back!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent-spotlessly clean and well maintained"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Barb  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Jan, 2009
68 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec. 29-Jan. 5/09
The flight was on time, the bus ride to the resort was great (a bit late because someone lost their luggage but heh....that could have happened to any of us).

Rooms:
Excellent-spotlessly clean and well maintained. Lots of hot water and very scenic (we had a balcony which overlooked the resort).

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was fabulous and great variety. The waiters and waitresses were so friendly and efficient. We really felt at home.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Small beach, but very well kept and the water was spectacular....so clear and clean. We snorkeled and saw numerous tropical fish. (Great snorkeling)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did not participate in any tours.

Other Comments:
We would highly recommend this resort. We encountered virtually no problems. Well....there was one thing.....there were tiny bug biting insects that tended to nip at us from time to time. Some called them sand mites but we weren't sure what they were. It was very hard to see them so consequently we didn't know we were getting bit. We would therefore recommend that you take along bug spray and use it particularly when you are on the beach or out walking around at night. Other than that, we'd certainly encourage you to try this lovely resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Food was great"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Wes from Calgary  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
82 people found this review helpful

Rooms:
Rooms were very clean, a bit out dated and the beds were a little hard but I guess thats normal for Cuba, Very pleased with the cleanleness of the rooms. House keeping made the room up in diff. ways all week.

Restaurants and Bars:v Food was great always a meal or snack at all times of day or night. Iam a very pickey eater and I had no prob. finding something I liked buffet was diff. every time/day

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was perfect,great snorkeling right of the beach, brought buns and bread from buffet to feed the fish they loved it they come right up to your hands to eat. spectacular sand and crystal clean waters....

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on the Holguin tour including tour of cigar factory mountain lunch and hour of free time in downtown Holguin. Very interesting and worth every penny, We also did the swimming with the dolphins now that is a must do... it also included a great peace of coral for an awesome snoreling adventure, very much worth the money..

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube