Blau Costa Verde Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin Province Hotel index > Blau Costa Verde reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Pesquero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Gaviota Playa Costa Verde

4.4 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 19, 2014

Blau Costa Verde  

Playa Pesquero, Holguín, Cuba
(Holguin Maps)

"disappointed to the core"
Posted by: sammie on Aug 15, 2014
see all reviews

Blau Costa Verde Reviews
Blau Costa Verde Pictures and Information
Blau Costa Verde Playa Pesquero Cuba

#2
of 3 Hotels in Playa Pesquero

User rating 4.2

Based on 38 reviews

Blau Costa Verde Information



Located on beautiful Playa Pesquero beach, Blau Costa Verde offers great all-inclusive value.


Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort is located in the Holguín province of Cuba, where Christopher Columbus first set foot in the New World. He is believed to have called it "the most beautiful country human eyes had ever seen"

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Blau Costa Verde Reviews

Blau Costa Verde Review: 4.2 of 5 38 reviews
Excellent
  15
Very good
  16
Average
  6
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (16)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
21 - 30 of 38

"Hotel was excellent value."

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  tony  on Jun 1, 2009  >  4 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jun, 2009
106 people found this review helpful

Arrival: 30th June to 14th July 2009
Thomas Cook Airline the only fault with this holiday, because I refused to pay an upgrade and despite being one of the first to check in at Holquin, we were deliberately seated in seperate aisles, petty, spiteful and certainly unnecessary.

Rooms:
A little dated but clean and generally well maintained, perhaps the maid could do with cleaning a little more in the bathroom instead of wasting time making hearts and swans from the linen in the hope of getting a bigger tip.

Restaurants and Bars:
No complaints but the beach bar fish and the lunch time Pizzas in the Italian restaurant are the best food. A better chef would I think earn this hotel another star as the rest of the food was a bit mundane.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Excellent. 5 star

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Again excellent, the Caribean life tour was very interesting.

Other Comments:
Would certainly return as hotel was excellent value and other than the airline we thorougly enjoyed the holiday after all other airlines fly to Holquin.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The entertainment here was of a consistantly high quality"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jenn from NS  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
95 people found this review helpful

Travel:
We Travelled with Air Canada. All I can say is that I will take ANY and I do mean ANY means to avoid using Air Canada in the future. Travelling with this airline was a nightmare, from having 2 severly drunk person in the emergency exit row ( the aircrews only concern was that one of them was blocking the drink cart with their foot while they were passed out in their seat), to no meals, to no service reps in Holguin, to sending half the luggage on our return flight to Toronto. To say the experience sucked out loud would be a 'mild' understatment.

Arrival: April 25 - May 9, 2009
We arrived in the early evening. They served us wine and orange juice while we waited in line to check in which was a nice touch. The check in process was efficient and seamless.

Rooms
Our room was in the #1 block as requested but we were unable to get a room with 1 bed. While this was disappointing it was not so huge a deal that we were willing to pay the 26CUC a day for the VIP upgrade. The room was dated but clean. The beds are very hard as others have noted but we used the wall hangings over the beds as a mattress pad which solved the problem. There was never any shortage of hot water or water pressure. The air conditioner worked but was only able to just barely keep the room cool. Again not a deal breaker and acceptable by Cuban standards. The maid kept the room adequately clean and supplied the usual towel / blanket art.

Restaurants and Bars
The food at this resort was very very good, especially by Cuban standards. We were very impressed by the quality and selection, which was notable given the hotel was less than half full during our stay. We ate mostly at the buffet with occasion lunch forays to the snack bar or beach restaurant. Both A La Carte's were good with the Italian being our favourite. They even did a pool side dinner theatre event one night which was amazing. All in all the food at this resort far exceeded our expectations.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach is nice with fine sand and good snorkeling. The snorkeling is not as good as Jibacoa but perhaps that is an unfair comparision. The pool while small is nice. The grounds are quite nice and well kept.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We did the 'discovery' excursion which took us to a fishing village, mini zoo and the Gurardlavaca market. It was a nice half day tour and a bargain at 15CUC. Other than that we cycled a few times along the road to Holguin which was nice and gave us a chance to distribute gifts to some locals.

Other Comments
If one is looking for a quiet room be sure to request the #1 or #6 block as the other blocks overlook the pll / snack bar/ stage area which can be quite noisy. The staff at this resort are very friendly which really add to our vacation. The entertainment here was of a consistantly high quality and included a varied selection of local talent from water ballet to opera, local cuban bands, rock band, etc. If I were to return to the Holguin area I would most definately stay at this resort again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The swimming and snorkeling is excellent"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Raine from Nova Scotia  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
69 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 18-26
We had the VIP package so our check in was quick and easy. There was a minor wait with the regular line, but nothing worth talking about.

Rooms:
Rooms were spotless, the hotel is a little tired but the rooms are very clean. The beds are hard and the pillows are tiny, but we slept anyway because we were busy all day.

Restaurants and Bars:
The beach restaurant and pool bar had great hamburgers and fries. The buffet has lots to eat, with a turkey or ham or pork roast freshly carved every evening and a pasta bar. On Cuba night, try the Cuba soup...very yummy! Their breads are to die for...very fresh and tastey. Breakfast is the usual, bacon, eggs, cereal, breads, pancakes, salad, fruit, yogurt, cheeze. Always found something to eat.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Sat at the pool for about an hour in the evening but didn't swim in it. Looked very clean. The ocean beach is the nicest we have been to. Minimal waves and a spot to snorkel. Lots of fish to watch. There is a little coral and rocks on the beach so wear beach shoes in the water. No seaweed whatsoever. The hotel grounds are also kept very clean and plants are manicured. There is a problem with shade on the beach. The hotel is trying to make some palapas for shade but are having trouble getting palms for the roof (or thats what I was told). The little shades at the pool, are too small. They don't provide much shade but there are trees to sit under for shade.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There is a team of entertainers on the resort, they have beach volleyball, archery, shooting, pool volleyball, aquafit classes which we watched but didn't participate in. There are kayaks on the beach as well as paddle boats, but you must reserve them early and they are booked for an hour so they aren't available all the time. The catamaran rides are included but are hit and miss. The person with the jug of beer and pocket full of money gets a ride first, even if you booked. I should add that we didn't use the catamarans because we have a boat at home and we were there to relax, so it didn't matter if we got on the hobie cats or not, so this is an unbiased report.

Other Comments:
This was our second time at the BCV, and we found the first trip much better. Service was slow, and we tipped. The lack of shade on the beach is a problem for us. We don't like to bake, and if you didn't get to the beach before 7am, you didn't get shade. The swimming and snorkeling is excellent. There is security everywhere, and we left our bags with cameras etc on the beach and they weren't touched. Food is average. Rooms are clean. We had a good time but probably won't go back to the Blau.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We have made friends with a Cuban couple"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mike and Heather from Nova Scotia  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
64 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 6 - 14:
We booked with Signature vacations and flew Skyservice. Flight was delayed 2-1/2 hours. Nothing new with Skyservice. This is our 2nd time at Blau and 4th in Holguin. Customs was a breeze. First time that I have seen each hotel with its own bus, no stops at other hotels. Check in was quick but we were 3rd or 4th in line. Two people on the desk, both courteous and quick. I have read reviews complaining about check-in taking too long, I wonder if that is because people have had such long days and patience and tempers are shorter?

Rooms:
The rooms at Blau are basic but clean and bright. We were in Block 6, good location to buffet and pool. Last year we were in Block 2 which is a little farther from the buffet and pool but closer to the beach. Both Blocks are quiet. Like everyone we left things for the maids daily. This is greatly appreciated. We also tipped the gentleman that refilled our fridge, this resulted in re-stocking even if we didn't use what was in there. In room safe simple to use and no charge. We did have one evening where the hot water was only trickling out of the shower head. It was okay by morning.

Restaurants and Bars:
Cuban food is a subject that I see in reviews that takes the most abuse. Let me start by stating I am not fussy, I do however have Irritable Bowel. That being said, for those who write bad reviews, what are you expecting. Filet mignon and caviar!! Cuba is a country where what we consider basic necessities are sometimes a luxury. Breakfast - my choices were eggs cooked my way - scrambled, fried, boiled or an omlet. Fresh fruit, pan fried potatoes, churros, beans, fried "sausage", milk, orange, mango and mixed juice, Coco Puffs, toast, rolls, cheese and yogurt. My wife does not give me that selection to choose from. I am sorry that there is not peanut butter everyday or your favorite jam.

Lunch - you could eat at the pool bar, beach bar with fresh fish and calamari, chicken and fresh fruit. The Italian a la carte served pizza at lunch. Or you could go to the buffet- fresh fish, pork or beef cooked in front of you. Also a pasta bar. The buffet dishes usually have a potato, fries, rice, chicken, fish or beef, vegetables, grilled onion, stuffed pepers, grilled eggplant, bread and desserts.

Supper - We ate at both a la cartes and had awesome meals. At the Italian restaurant I had Steak and mushrooms cooked the way I asked and it was delicious. Buffet was a repeat of lunch with a little variation on the dishes. One night at 2:00am when the drinking munchies started I had a toasted ham and cheese sandwich. My wife will not get up at that time of night and feed my munchie craving Bar service was slow at times but they are understaffed. Cuba is no different than anywhere else. If you show some interest in the person serving you, not just treat them as someone who is there to serve you, you see the smiles and eagerness. Cubans are very friendly and open. We would go to the lobby bar for a couple of drinks around 4:00pm and shoot the breeze with the other guests and barstaff. Fernando and Ronny would keep an eye on our drink as we were talking and when it was almost empty ask if we needed another. Leovanny at the pool bar was the same way. No the swim-up bar is not manned. But someone is watching because we never sat for more than 2 or 3 minutes and a staff member would come along. As long as we sat there staff would stay with us.

Drinks are served in small plastic cups, if you drink alot or don't like to make several trips then bring an insulated mug. We prefer Bubba mugs. Drinks stay cool for hours in them.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach - Beautiful white sand, there are some pieces of dead coral to avoid when walking in and out of the water. Snorkelling is good just off shore, bring bread or bananas from the buffet. The hurricane wreaked havoc on the palapas and shade trees, they are slowly rebuilding. The beach is not quite as nice as what I saw in Cayo Coco but I wouldn't say it was bad.
Pool - Clean, different depths, seperate area for kids but still part of the main pool area.
Grounds - The gardeners are constantly, watering, cutting, trimming and weeding. Landscape is mature but the hurricane did a number on a lot of trees.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did not do any tours this year as we have done them in years past. We did go to the market and buy a few things. Prices are reasonable and if you want there is some barter room, not like Mexico or Jamaica. The vendors are regulated and must submit a payment or tax to the government. So when you barter there profit goes down. Watch wood products for worm and bug holes as Canada Customs may take your purchase when you get home.

Other Comments:
I know I have rambled for a while but there are a few things I would like to let people know about. We have made friends with a Cuban couple who work at Blau. We have known them for six years and we have learned alot about the Cuban people and their lives.
Everything in Cuba is regulated. A resort worker is paid $0.45CUC per day. A bar of soap is $0.45CUC So gifts like soap, shakpoo, toothpaste and razors are very appreciated. Basic medicine like Tylenol and Childrens Tylenol are not easy to get. Even sunscreen for gardeners or resort workers. Clothing and shoes are very expensive. A pair of sneakers is equal to a weeks pay. Anytyhing you can give is appreciated. The Cuban people are very family oriented. If you give something and they cannot use it or it doesn't fit, they will have a sister, cousin, uncle or someone they can give it to. Canadians are considered wealthy and by there standards we are. to put it in perspective: We took a tour and I tipped the guide $20.00CUC three days later I was in the lobby and his bus pulled in and he was taking another group. He saw me and came over and hugged me and shook my hand and thanked me repeatedly. When you do the math I gave him the equal of 45 days pay.
ONE FINAL THING CUBANS CANNOT CONVERT LOONIES AND TWOONIES TO THEIR MONEY they will try to find a Canadian to trade with. Cuban banks do not recognize our change as currency.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"They have a VIP package, but suspect it is not of value"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Carl and Marj from Nova Scotia  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
82 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 20 - 27
Arrived at night, seemed seamless, as was departure. Airport washrooms not recommended....stinky.

Rooms
We were first given a musty smelling room on ground floor, unit 6, poor view. We We changed rooms (from ground floor, unit 6) the next day without a problem to building 5, 2nd floor. Rooms were dated, but clean. We enjoyed the activity of the balcony overlooking the 24 hour pool bar.But, noise does not bother us. Beds are hard, so we brought a foam shell...it worked

Restaurants and Bars
Buffet is OK. The pool bar is really good (staff is more than accomodating). Recommend early morning take out coffee at the pool bar. Italian restraurant spotty, but good. Noon thin crust Pizzas good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach is fine, and not too crowded. You can walk up to the other two resort beaches. Snorkeling is great. Activities and staff make it fun. Cigar sellers (you know the seconds, or third tpes) on the "out of bounds" walkway.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We shared a cab (six to a mini van) to the flea market....for the same fare as the bus/train thing. It worked well....driver waited for us while we shopped and had a beer on te beach.

Other Comments
While the 4 star rating is a "cuban 4 star",the friendly staff at this resort make it a true 4 star. Pool small. Pool side bar staff are excellent. Hotel managers are always on site....keeping things in order. A good family resort.Evening entertainement, and buffet entertainement is really good. We would visit here again. You cannot beat the staff, friendly and service with no hastles. Good for a relaxation trip....I suspect those seeking outside adventure may be dissapointed. They have a VIP package, but suspect it is not of value.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I felt very safe and the people are great!"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie from Timmins, On  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
77 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Blau Costa Verde resort. You can drink beer on the busses.We went on the Jeep Tour,Eric was our guide and it was GREAT. First the jeep,then horses to go to a farmer's house for fresh coconuts and fresh made coffee the old fashion way,visit where Christopher Columbus landed,had dinner,then off on the speed boats. The Aboriginal people entertained us with a tribal ritual,then it was picture time.We had left the resort at 8am and returned about 6pm.

You can also take a cab in the early morn for about 90 peso's and he will take you anywhere you want to go and he's yours for the whole day!This way you get to see the real Cuba and Cuban people,not just what the government wants you to see.

We enjoyed the resort very much,workers were great! I don't consider myself picky when it comes to food,however I did not enjoy the buffet. The A La Cartes were great though and I went whenever possible and for VIP its easy. The hamburgers and fries at the snack bar were good until the last day I had one and found 2 bugs in between my burger and bun(glad it was the last day).

Lobster dinner was great. For lunch I went to the Italian a la carte for seafood pizza,it was very good.But I can not say this enough bring Imodium,if you don't you will be very very sorry.

Bring water shoes for the beach,as there is many rocks.Bring large cups(bubba's)this way for drinkers less trips to the bar!

Take the bus to Guardalavaca to shop at the market,everything is handmade and BEAUTIFUL,the prices are better then great and you can barter.

Bring clothes,most of the people seemed to have children ages 6 and up,so bring clothes sizes 6 and up. Clothes are very expensive as well as shoes for Cuban people,very hard for them to get,also toy's for children. They would be more happy to barter for clothes then for Cuban tourist peso's.Also shampoo's,soaps,toothbrushes and toothpaste,tapes,tarps(buck store has them)children's medicine.If you stay at one of the resorts by Blua if you go to the beach you can see a fishing village off to the left,Ike tore it apart and some locals still live there. 10-15 people per house(my kitchen is larger then their whole house)they are in need of clothes,shoes,tarps would be great for them.Very safe to walk across the river and visit with them,they are very nice happy people(they do not speak english so have a book for translation with you).They still have no hydro. You are very safe in Cuba and we were not scared to venture off on our own.When we went to the village it just happen to be the man of the houses' grand-daughter's birthday March 4th 2009 she was 3 years old,we had allot of stuff to give them but wish we had allot more.They are in great need of clothes(sizes 4 and up)for children and adults. Tarps would help them out tremendously. Try to bring clothes for you to wear that you don't want to bring back and then you can give them away and that will leave room in your baggage to go home. We were told that the people that work on the resort are considered rich,and of what I seen they are. Everyone seems to leave everything in their room when they leave so the maids tend to get everything and sell and barter to the other workers.When you go off the resort you will see many people in need of things. When we went on the Jeep tour the Jeep in front of us had prepared many zip lock bags full of paper,pens,crayons,toys,soaps and such to give out to the locals.They are happy to get anything,they do not ask for money,as the tourist peso's is worth nothing to them.If you like to tip you should bring rolls of Canadian loonies and use that, saves you on transferring that to Peso's.

I would for sure go back to Cuba,I felt very safe and the people are great! I would also stay again at the Blau Costa Verde!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A more relaxing, friendly and more human scale"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Murray and Elise from Montreal  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
73 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 14 to March 21:
We made our arrangements with Air Canada Vacations for the first time, and everyone that we dealt with were very friendly and professional. The flight left and arrived exactly on time, (no delays due to malfunctioning coffee machines like other tour operators!) and although there were not any free meals, what was offered on the menu, while not very varied, was reasonably priced and definitely better than those free "breakfast burritos" offered with the other tour operators. Minor point maybe, but we also appreciated the monitors in the headrests and the free movies, as the flight can get a bit long without any distractions! The bus ride in a large air conditioned coach from the airport to the hotel took about an hour and a bit, and the first thing that you notice is what good shape the roads are in, (aside from a few gravel sections) as they are much better than the roads frpm the airport to Bavaro Beach in Punta Cana and with much fewer potholes than Montreal! Reception at the hotel was also fairly quick and the staff were very friendly and accomodating, which is another reason why we tend to prefer Cuba to the Dominican Republic.

Rooms:
Our room was very basic but very clean, with two very firm but comfortable double beds and is what we come to expect after several times of staying in Cuba. One really nice feature however is the free in room safe, which is very easy to program with a numeric code on the small screen on the safe. Very modern! There were the usual problems when everyone seemed to shower at the same time, such as early morning and late afternoon, but hey its Cuba! you just have to adjust and go with the flow The only complaint that we would have however for the hotel, was that our room was in building 5 and was located right above the restaurant and looked out over the 24 hour snack/bar. While this was great in the early evening as you were only steps away, if you didn't have ear plugs, you are not going to get any sleep at all. People typically used this bar area until about 4:30 in the morning and were very loud, so try if possible NOT to stay in buildings 4,5 or 6 unless you are in rooms facing away from the pool and bar areas.
We found it a bit strange that the hotel is laid out this way and have never seen it anywhere else. There are three wings (4,5,6) looking out over this very busy area. It is the first time that we have seen a hotel whereby about one quarter (at least) of the rooms would be affected by the noise level, and you would think that maybe they would close down this one bar around midnight, and have another one farther away that they could keep open. But again, you just have to adjust, as everything and everybody at this hotel are just great.

Restaurants and Bars:
While there were only two a la carte restaurants, Italian and Cuban, and as we only had two reservations to take, that didn't take anything away from the food experience as the buffet was surprisingly good. That also went for the snack bar at the pool and the ranchon down at the beach. There were also bars inside the main hotel, as well as the small "take out" bar at the beach. All the restauarant and bar staff were great, and again the food was also very good, especially for Cuba. One other great thing about this hotel is that are many places (outside and inside) where you can just sit and take a break, play cards, or have a drink or a snack. There were musicians playing at the buffet and the lobby bar every night and the atmosphere was great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was a bit of a disappointment as it is very small and there is just the one. It is very clean though, and is in great shape. Saving grace is that it is very well located beside the snack bar and restaurants and its great to have a mid afternoon coffee or drink and look out over the pool. We weren't there to spend all day at the pool anyways! Interesting however, that even though there was only the one small pool, you could usually always find somehere to sit during the day, something which is next to impossible at any of the other much bigger resorts/pools as all the chairs tend to get "reserved" very early.
The beach was also on the small side, compared to the vast expanses of Bavaro Beach but very nice just the same, the white sand and turquoise waters are great! The beach is shared by two other resorts, but it is just big enough that it never seems to get crowded, (like Bavaro Beach in Punta Cana) and you don't feel obliged to take one of those grueling two hours walks. The palapas are few in number however, (thanks to the last storm) and everyone tries to get to the beach early in order to grab some shade from the few trees that remain standing. The grounds of the hotel are very clean, and while not spectacular or lush, offer the opportunity for a very pleasant walk down to the beach. Say hello to the two resident cats just before you arrive down at the beach!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went out on the small Hobie catamaran with "Daniel" on our third day and it was great fun as it was pretty windy further out, and Daniel was pushing the boat along very quickly. Word to the wise, get down in line before 9:00am as the reservations go very quickly. Also, if you reserve for the end of the day, sometimes it will be too windy to go out and they shut it down until the next day. 2:00pm or 3:00pm is perfect.
The evening "spectacles" were also very good, which we have found in the past is not always the case, as they had a great troupe of dancers and singers.
I also went out on the "Ocean Paradise" excursion on the big catamaran on our last full day, and the bus leaves at 8:00 am and you get back around 3:30pm. It costs about 76 CUC and it includes bus transport to the marina, two snorkelling stops, and a lunch back on land at the end. Roy was our guide on the bus, and on the boat, very amusing guy. He was also the guide when you went snorkelling and he would swim down to the sea floor and dig up stuff that he would then feed to the fish. If you want to see fish, stay near Roy! Also think about wearing that life jacket, as you tend to get involved with looking at the sea floor, and the next thing you know you are a few hundred yards away from the boat and trying to swim back against the current and waves! Very safe operation though, as at the second more interesting reef they also have a second smaller motorboat with a lifeguard that will help you out if you need it. Both snorkelling areas are within outer reefs that filter out the stronger waves (and bigger fish?) and also you don't feel that you are out in the middle of the ocean. The boat ride was also great fun, although they never got the sails up............has anyone ever seen these big catamarans with their sails up? So if you are going for the "sailing" experience, you might need to look elsewhere. Around 1:30pm you arrive back at the marina and they take you by the same bus to one of their properties overlooking Guadavarca Beach (yes I know I probably spelled it wrong). Great view, ordinary food, with a choice of pasta, lobster, chicken or fish. All in all still worth the price? Yes.

Other Comments:
What you start to realize after the first few days here, is that while the Blau might not seem to have as much to offer as the other much bigger and fancier resorts elsewhere, it seems to have a more relaxing, friendly and more human scale which makes it a great place to vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our new favorite place"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Carole McDonald  on Feb 24, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
680 people found this review helpful

We arrived in Holguin on January 7th for a 1 week stay at the Blau Costa Verde. The rooms were very clean and spacious. We enjoyed having a safe and mini bar that was included in the price. The food was in our opinion excellent. The fresh grilled fish was amazing. My husband and our friends that we went with were very inpressed with the beef whether it was a burger or a steak the said it was very good. The entertainment was above average. There was an amazing water show and the comedy routines brought us to tears with laughter. There is an excellent entertainment crew. One gentleman in particular that seemed to organize and run events such as timed coctail mixing competition, archery, volley ball and much more was truely a delight to get to know. He was also involved with the nightly entertainment and was in our opinion GREAT!! We were blessed with beautiful weather everyday. It rained one evening for abour an hour. The water was as clear as can be. We snorkeled everyday right off the beach. We also snorkeled off the paddle boats. We enjoyed feeding the fish. We just walked out up to our waists and fed them by hand. I got some amazing pictures of that. The general friendliness was wonderful. Most employees spoke very good english. The shows and daily entertainment were announced in English, French, Spanish and German. Very talented workers to know so many languages. We as a group definately plan to return to this resort. We had a fabulous time. Thank you to all the employees that made our stay so memorable.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Cuban people couldn't do enough for you"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Mauraen  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
60 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 9 - 16
Airline Skyservice late both times and food was not good.

Rooms
Clean, well kept.

Restaurants and Bars
Good food and lots of it. Bars noisy as expected.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beautiful, well kept. Watch out for bitty little bugs in the evening.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Lots to do all the time.

Other Comments
The Cuban people couldn't do enough for you. I would highly recommend this resort. Please bring extra clothes,soaps,shampoos and kids toys to give away. These people are very appreciative when given extras.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This was an incredible resort"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Colin from Yorkton, Saskatchewan  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
67 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 26 til Feb 2:
We booked through Sunwing. The flight there took just under 5 hours. You got free champagne and red wine with your meal. There was no hassles getting to your bus, but it took about 45 minutes from the Holguin Airport to where the Blau Costa Verde is. It's a good opportunity to view the Cuban countryside, and it's always very humbling when you see the locals homes & their way of life. There's also beer they sell you as you board the bus, but why pay for beer when you get it for free all week long at your resort :) Oh, and be prepared to tip the bus driver, take some loonies & toonies, I found this out the hard way as I had no choice but to tip $5. Our Sunwing rep was a lady named Miss Verne?? Bad with names, but she was very courteous, professional, and was always very open & honest in any question you would ask her.

Rooms:
Our room was great, we loved how it was painted in different shades of blue. We had an awesome chamber maid, keep tipping her and she'll go the extra mile. It was always nice & clean, and well kept. Only downside was the beds were a bit hard. It was also nice to have our fridge stocked up with beer & soft drinks & a big bottle of water. The 26 of Cubay rum as a welcoming gift was the best of all!! But that's exclusively through Sunwing.

Restaurants and Bars:
The main restaurant was awesome. Food was excellent, and every day they would have different themes such as Mexican, or oriental, or Cuban. I also loved the pizzeria as well, it was an excellent alternative if you would rather eat lighter. Never tried the a la cartes, my wife & I aren't really into that fancy dining stuff. The main bar was great as well, and the night chef made the best burgers at the main bar and they were ready almost in the blink of an eye. The beach restaurant is also a good alternative to lighter meals. It's the perfect place to go if you're hanging at the beach and want a quick bite. The beach bar could use some improvement though, it wasn't terrible, the bartenders were friendly, but it just needs character. The best bartender was the one at the beach bar. At first if there's only a handful by the beach bar, there's no bartender, but when they see there's enough people there, they'll meet & exceed your expectations. The lounge bar was excellent as well, on most nights a group of us would hang out there, and this older lady in her late 30's early 40's (sorry I am bad with names) would wait on you hand & foot.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
If you compare this beach to Punta Cana's beaches, well to be honest, Punta Cana would get the edge. That's not to say this beach was terrible, but you do need aqua socks as the sands are mixed with crushed coral and there are a lot of rocks & pieces of coral that wash up on shore. You can take a paddleboat at your own leisure, or go sailing with a guide. However, since my wife & I are hard core snorkelers, this was a definite paradise!! The reef was conveniently located right there at the beach, and all you had to do was strap on your snorkeling gear and climb in through a ladder and away you go. You will see a lot of incredible fish such as different colored tangs, parrotfish, snappers, those yellow & black striped ones that I call "bee fish" there were even squids & angelfish on the shallower areas, but don't go too far by the point as there's a lot of black spiny sea urchins. We did see a few lionfish, and as cool as they are, use your common sense and do not approach them as they are poisonous if you get stung. There was even a small yellow stingray. I would say if you are a beach bum, this beach is OK, but if you're a snorkeller, this is perhaps one of the best spots in the entire Caribbean. The best part is, you don't have to pay big bucks to go out to an overcrowded coral reef. You can come & go as you please and stay as long as you want... I certainly did for 4 hours til my legs cramped up. I can honestly say that this snorkelling site alone was better than any I've seen in Cozumel, or the Dominican Republic. We would come back to this hotel just for the snorkelling experience. Every day I would take some bananas & bread (stuff it in a water bottle) and feed the fish... when they see you have food, I guarantee they will follow you all over the place :) The pool was nice & relaxing, never overcrowded, and as mentioned earlier, the pool bartender was great... always service with a smile.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was a fairly good selection of excursions, but since we spent most days snorkelling, we did go on the catamaran. It was $120 CUC, but well worth it. Our guide was an older gentleman named Alfredo, and he was simply awesome. He would always go the extra mile to make you feel welcome and ensure that everyone on the boat was having a good time. It was a day long tour that took you to a dolphin swim site that I would say was much better than Dolphin Island in Punta Cana. You got more time with the dolphins, and you were able to interact with them more, and the dolphins themselves seemed very friendly. If you tip an employee there, they will take pics with your camera, and they did a great job. At the end of your swim, they will allow you to take a shot with one of the dolphins on the deck where the trainers are. A truly priceless photo if you love dolphins like I do. From there you go to another snorkelling site, which was also very good, but crowded. You'd see pretty much the same fish as you did back at the resort. To top off a very memorable day, you got a lobster dinner at a spot that overlooked the ocean. Before you boarded the bus, Alfredo took your order for dinner, and you had a choice between lobster & chicken. We also took a cab to the town of Guardalavaca which was about a 35km drive from the resort. There was a very nice beach, and the market there had a lot of unique Cuban souvenirs to choose from. The vendors there are not pushy at all, and unlike the Dominicans, they let you shop in peace and the prices were very reasonable.

Other Comments:
Overall, this was an incredible resort, a very memorable experience for our first time to Cuba. Some people have said the food was terrible in past reviews, but not here, the food was excellent no matter which place you ate at. Some whine about rooms, well if you're going to base your vacation on your room alone, then stay home!! I can't say enough about the snorkelling though, it was far better than what I expected. My wife & I would definitely come back to this place.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube