Blau Costa Verde Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin Province Hotel index > Blau Costa Verde reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Pesquero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Gaviota Playa Costa Verde

4.4 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 19, 2014

Blau Costa Verde  

Playa Pesquero, Holguín, Cuba
(Holguin Maps)

"Great place "
Posted by: Bobby on Oct 23, 2014
see all reviews

Blau Costa Verde Reviews
Blau Costa Verde Pictures and Information
Blau Costa Verde Playa Pesquero Cuba

#2
of 3 Hotels in Playa Pesquero

User rating 4.2

Based on 38 reviews

Blau Costa Verde Information



Located on beautiful Playa Pesquero beach, Blau Costa Verde offers great all-inclusive value.


Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort is located in the Holguín province of Cuba, where Christopher Columbus first set foot in the New World. He is believed to have called it "the most beautiful country human eyes had ever seen"

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Blau Costa Verde Reviews

Blau Costa Verde Review: 4.2 of 5 38 reviews
Excellent
  15
Very good
  17
Average
  6
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (17)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
31 - 40 of 38

"It is was you expect ... resort food!"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Krista from London, ON  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
73 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 18 to 25
Our flight went well although it was about 2 hours delayed due to weather conditions in Toronto, but after the de-icing of the plane we were good to go. Once we landed at the Airport everything was very quick at the airport, we found our bus right away and then headed to the resort. They check-in was quick and easy.

Rooms:
Our room was great. We were in 2036 and to our suprise had a beautiful view of the ocean and the pool/entertainment. The room was what we expected, nothing fancy, but not horrible at all. Good water pressure, nice view and a bed to sleep on. The maids did a very good job.

Restaurants and Bars:
The drinks were amazing! They have execllent slushie machines at the bar by the pool and we basically drank there the whole time. The service was great and the food was greasy, but good! I think we had fries from the pool bar every day (you have to try them!). Their wasn't a server at the swim-up bar at all times, but if you got enough people to sit around it then one would come down.

Make sure you go to the Italian restaurant for lunch. They had the most amazing pizzas! We didn't discover that until the last day :(

The buffet was good. It is was you expect ... resort food!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was beautiful. The snorkeling was amazing! It was my first time snorkeling and I loved every minute of it. We just walked right out from the beach and saw a ton of beautiful fish! We brought bread on our last day and the fish went crazy .. they come right up and eat it out of your hand.

The pool was cool but very nice and refreshing. Always lots of loungers available.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The shows were great. My favorite was the Moulin Rouge. We only watched a few of them, but the staff did an amazing job!

We went to the Diso one night and it was a lot of fun. It didn't really get busy until 11:30 - 12ish.

There are a lot of staff around that love to get involved with any sports activities (volleyball, pingpong etc.) so you should ask them to play!

Other Comments:
If you are expecting a classy 5* resort then you may be disappointed. If you have an open mind and are looking for a fun resort to go to then you will like this one. I would definitely go back!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent-spotlessly clean and well maintained"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Barb  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Jan, 2009
68 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec. 29-Jan. 5/09
The flight was on time, the bus ride to the resort was great (a bit late because someone lost their luggage but heh....that could have happened to any of us).

Rooms:
Excellent-spotlessly clean and well maintained. Lots of hot water and very scenic (we had a balcony which overlooked the resort).

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was fabulous and great variety. The waiters and waitresses were so friendly and efficient. We really felt at home.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Small beach, but very well kept and the water was spectacular....so clear and clean. We snorkeled and saw numerous tropical fish. (Great snorkeling)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did not participate in any tours.

Other Comments:
We would highly recommend this resort. We encountered virtually no problems. Well....there was one thing.....there were tiny bug biting insects that tended to nip at us from time to time. Some called them sand mites but we weren't sure what they were. It was very hard to see them so consequently we didn't know we were getting bit. We would therefore recommend that you take along bug spray and use it particularly when you are on the beach or out walking around at night. Other than that, we'd certainly encourage you to try this lovely resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This was an incredible resort"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Colin from Yorkton, Saskatchewan  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
69 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 26 til Feb 2:
We booked through Sunwing. The flight there took just under 5 hours. You got free champagne and red wine with your meal. There was no hassles getting to your bus, but it took about 45 minutes from the Holguin Airport to where the Blau Costa Verde is. It's a good opportunity to view the Cuban countryside, and it's always very humbling when you see the locals homes & their way of life. There's also beer they sell you as you board the bus, but why pay for beer when you get it for free all week long at your resort :) Oh, and be prepared to tip the bus driver, take some loonies & toonies, I found this out the hard way as I had no choice but to tip $5. Our Sunwing rep was a lady named Miss Verne?? Bad with names, but she was very courteous, professional, and was always very open & honest in any question you would ask her.

Rooms:
Our room was great, we loved how it was painted in different shades of blue. We had an awesome chamber maid, keep tipping her and she'll go the extra mile. It was always nice & clean, and well kept. Only downside was the beds were a bit hard. It was also nice to have our fridge stocked up with beer & soft drinks & a big bottle of water. The 26 of Cubay rum as a welcoming gift was the best of all!! But that's exclusively through Sunwing.

Restaurants and Bars:
The main restaurant was awesome. Food was excellent, and every day they would have different themes such as Mexican, or oriental, or Cuban. I also loved the pizzeria as well, it was an excellent alternative if you would rather eat lighter. Never tried the a la cartes, my wife & I aren't really into that fancy dining stuff. The main bar was great as well, and the night chef made the best burgers at the main bar and they were ready almost in the blink of an eye. The beach restaurant is also a good alternative to lighter meals. It's the perfect place to go if you're hanging at the beach and want a quick bite. The beach bar could use some improvement though, it wasn't terrible, the bartenders were friendly, but it just needs character. The best bartender was the one at the beach bar. At first if there's only a handful by the beach bar, there's no bartender, but when they see there's enough people there, they'll meet & exceed your expectations. The lounge bar was excellent as well, on most nights a group of us would hang out there, and this older lady in her late 30's early 40's (sorry I am bad with names) would wait on you hand & foot.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
If you compare this beach to Punta Cana's beaches, well to be honest, Punta Cana would get the edge. That's not to say this beach was terrible, but you do need aqua socks as the sands are mixed with crushed coral and there are a lot of rocks & pieces of coral that wash up on shore. You can take a paddleboat at your own leisure, or go sailing with a guide. However, since my wife & I are hard core snorkelers, this was a definite paradise!! The reef was conveniently located right there at the beach, and all you had to do was strap on your snorkeling gear and climb in through a ladder and away you go. You will see a lot of incredible fish such as different colored tangs, parrotfish, snappers, those yellow & black striped ones that I call "bee fish" there were even squids & angelfish on the shallower areas, but don't go too far by the point as there's a lot of black spiny sea urchins. We did see a few lionfish, and as cool as they are, use your common sense and do not approach them as they are poisonous if you get stung. There was even a small yellow stingray. I would say if you are a beach bum, this beach is OK, but if you're a snorkeller, this is perhaps one of the best spots in the entire Caribbean. The best part is, you don't have to pay big bucks to go out to an overcrowded coral reef. You can come & go as you please and stay as long as you want... I certainly did for 4 hours til my legs cramped up. I can honestly say that this snorkelling site alone was better than any I've seen in Cozumel, or the Dominican Republic. We would come back to this hotel just for the snorkelling experience. Every day I would take some bananas & bread (stuff it in a water bottle) and feed the fish... when they see you have food, I guarantee they will follow you all over the place :) The pool was nice & relaxing, never overcrowded, and as mentioned earlier, the pool bartender was great... always service with a smile.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was a fairly good selection of excursions, but since we spent most days snorkelling, we did go on the catamaran. It was $120 CUC, but well worth it. Our guide was an older gentleman named Alfredo, and he was simply awesome. He would always go the extra mile to make you feel welcome and ensure that everyone on the boat was having a good time. It was a day long tour that took you to a dolphin swim site that I would say was much better than Dolphin Island in Punta Cana. You got more time with the dolphins, and you were able to interact with them more, and the dolphins themselves seemed very friendly. If you tip an employee there, they will take pics with your camera, and they did a great job. At the end of your swim, they will allow you to take a shot with one of the dolphins on the deck where the trainers are. A truly priceless photo if you love dolphins like I do. From there you go to another snorkelling site, which was also very good, but crowded. You'd see pretty much the same fish as you did back at the resort. To top off a very memorable day, you got a lobster dinner at a spot that overlooked the ocean. Before you boarded the bus, Alfredo took your order for dinner, and you had a choice between lobster & chicken. We also took a cab to the town of Guardalavaca which was about a 35km drive from the resort. There was a very nice beach, and the market there had a lot of unique Cuban souvenirs to choose from. The vendors there are not pushy at all, and unlike the Dominicans, they let you shop in peace and the prices were very reasonable.

Other Comments:
Overall, this was an incredible resort, a very memorable experience for our first time to Cuba. Some people have said the food was terrible in past reviews, but not here, the food was excellent no matter which place you ate at. Some whine about rooms, well if you're going to base your vacation on your room alone, then stay home!! I can't say enough about the snorkelling though, it was far better than what I expected. My wife & I would definitely come back to this place.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Food was great"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Wes from Calgary  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
82 people found this review helpful

Rooms:
Rooms were very clean, a bit out dated and the beds were a little hard but I guess thats normal for Cuba, Very pleased with the cleanleness of the rooms. House keeping made the room up in diff. ways all week.

Restaurants and Bars:v Food was great always a meal or snack at all times of day or night. Iam a very pickey eater and I had no prob. finding something I liked buffet was diff. every time/day

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was perfect,great snorkeling right of the beach, brought buns and bread from buffet to feed the fish they loved it they come right up to your hands to eat. spectacular sand and crystal clean waters....

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on the Holguin tour including tour of cigar factory mountain lunch and hour of free time in downtown Holguin. Very interesting and worth every penny, We also did the swimming with the dolphins now that is a must do... it also included a great peace of coral for an awesome snoreling adventure, very much worth the money..

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A la Carte were good"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Wendy from Saskatchewan  on Dec 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2008
75 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec.15-Dec.29.08
Short Delay at our end at the airport, Sunwing had an o-ring freezing, and it took 2 hrs to unthaw. Some travellers had to wait on the plane, so i would much rather of been in the airport, we were able to walk around. Quick service at the airport in holguin, and right to a waiting bus to transfer to the hotel, supper was waiting after checkin for us, and we started our vacation, we were unable to get adjoining rooms, with our children but we were only one room away on the same floor, so not too bad.

Rooms:
We had emailed ahead and asked to be in the same block of rooms as we were 2 years ago, and they were able to accomodate. It overlooked the grounds and busier area of the hotel. We had a welcome plate of fruit and bottle of rum, for being repeat customers. Had read some of the reviews saying rooms were moldy and dirty, but wasn't too concerned because we didn't see this last time as well. Friends stayed in another area of the resort and they had good rooms as well and they were on the bottom floor. They had their main door quit working on them and had to get the maintenance in twice to fix. But no problems.

Restaurants and Bars:
A la Carte were good, Italian and Cuban(steak/lobster was great). Buffet was always different and changed daily, but also had the usual pasta and meat/potatoes for the less adventurous. Breakfast was always good, lots of fruit and pastries, omelettes and meats if you choose. We did notice the bars could of had more staff on, at times we waited a long time for service, but if we got thirsty you just got up and got your own.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was good, reviews said rocky before we went, and yes compared to last trip we noticed more rocks but it depended where you went, and water shoes would be good for those with soft tootsies. The Pool was clean, clear and great. Grounds did get a beating from the hurricane and vegetation was more sparse and smaller than remembered but it is coming around. Always clean and well set out to get to all the activities.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on the catamaran excursion called the blue adventure, it is for snorkelling. Friends went on the catarmaran and dolphin excursion, our kids had already done dolphins in mexico and would rather snorkel so we chose this, $70 and $120 difference. We also did the jeep safari ride, no elephants or zebras but you get to see the real cuban area while riding in jeeps, that you get to drive, our teenagers thought this to be great. First time riding a stick. You see a cuban coconut farm, ride horses see where christopher columbus landed and see some culture, all while having a great time. Our guide, Hulio was hillarious, the group the day before had a snake in there jeep and thats all we heard, so we asked to have the jeep with out the snake when we went, he said they put the snake in the jeep to add flavour to the day, we said well it worked! We also went into Guadalavaca, and visited the markets, you can ride in for 5 peso a person, there and back, or 12 peso for a cab but thats both ways. Entertainment at night was amazing, get involved and have fun. Never in two weeks had a repeated nite.

Other Comments:
Take insect repellent, i did and we still got biten, it is the sand flies, they are very small but if you react to a mosquito bite, be prepared. Worse time they say is early morning, and late evening by the beach, or after a short rain. During the heat of the day you are ok. We always take our own go-cup, (thats an insulated cup/mug of some sort), means less trips to the bar. And if you want you can trade it or give it away at the end of your trip. Those with small children don't be concerned we saw how the girls who look after the children all day and then have them on stage after supper for a bit of dancing, they go all day, parties, activities, eating, my older children were envious, but kudos to those rec.girls they must of been exhausted at the end of the day. Well done Inushka!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing!!!!!"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Eleanor Maxwell  on Sep 25, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Sep, 2007
2751 people found this review helpful

I went to the Blau Costa Verde in June '07, we were supposed to be staying in the Club Amigo Atlantico Hotel--but after a local town trip we were very relieved we had been moved. As soon as we got to the hotel all of the staff were extremely welcoming and couldn't do enough for you.

Our room was very spacious, had air conditioning, safe, mini bar-which was filled up everyday with 2 beers, 2 soft drinks and a bottle of water, and the maid came in to clean everyday and left all the towels in origami styles. We also had a balcony which over looked the very well kept gardens, the huge pool, and most importantly the white sandy beaches and turquoise sea, which was idyllic!

Even though I am a very fussy eater-there were always plenty of food which was delicious, they had a buffet that was on for breakfast,lunch and dinner-which had a huge variety of food, also there was a Italian restuarant which was delicious. Throughtout the day there were snack bars open-both by the pool and the beach.

There were always plenty of things to do-sunbathe been the main activity, also there were peddle boats which you could take out at any time during the day, snorkling equipment, a sauna, gym, table tennis, pool tables, archery, and at around 3.30pm everyday the entertainers would get all the holiday-makers to join in and play games etc... also there were shows on everynight and beach partys-all this included in the price.

There were lots of amazing excursions that you could also go on. We only went on two-first been the Guardalavaca trip, in which you went to variuos parts of the town-which was amazing to see how the cubans lived, also you go to a couple of museums-which i surprisingly found to be extremely interesting-our tour guide was very knowlegable and explained everything we needed to know about cuba, at the end of the trip we went to a market-which was incredible-to see all of the wonderful creations the cubans had made-mainly out of shells and wood-word of warning-take plenty of money.

Our second trip was to swim with the dolphins, which had to be my highlight of the whole holiday-if u pay a little extra they will get the dolphins to lift you up and push you around the sea, they also do a sea lion show which is hilarious and a dolphin show-would highly recommend this trip--its worth every penny.

Also the weather was great-we only had one stormy night-which was good considering it was monsoon season-which did not spoil the holiday at all-it was amazing to watch.

Overall I wuld rate the holiday, hotel, staff everything 5*++++++ thank you to all the staff for the most amazing holiday i ever had, and will see you next year!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Le Blau, c'est comme chez moi !"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lyne Jacques  on Jul 20, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2007
394 people found this review helpful

Ma copin et moi sommes de retour de Holguin et du Blau plus précisement. Nous y avons séjourné à 2 reprises en 1 mois, une semaine en juin et 2 semaines en juillet. Nous nous y sentons comme chez nous ! Nous retournons à la fin d'août. J'ai, pour ma part, voyagé partout dans le monde, mais l'ambiance et l'accueuil que nous avons ressenti au Blau est extraordinaire. Premièrement, de part ses gens, son personnel, Cuba et le Blau sont des endroits à découvrir et à revoir. L'hôtel est très propre, la bouffe variée et excellente. L'équipe d'animation et les musiciens: Quinquento Cristal feront tout pour que vous passiez des vacances inoubliables. Hasta la proxima amigos del Blau, Lyne & Claudette

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"To enjoy the sun and the beaches"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  MARIA  on Aug 28, 2006  >  2 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Aug, 2006
2044 people found this review helpful

Very good relation very good quality price.

Good buffet. Good facilities.

Excellent situation, next to a precious beach. In order to relax because it is remote of any urbanized zone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not for singles."

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  pauline tattersall  on Nov 2, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Nov, 2005
1735 people found this review helpful

My friend and i stayed at the Blau Costa Verde, from the 9th September for two weeks.We had never stayed all inclusive before, so we had an idea that we would be spending alot of time within the hotel walls.We arrived at the airport in Holguin, to pouring rain, and a three hour wait to be transferred to our hotel because of computor failure. On the whole, the hotel was clean, staff were either over friendly or couldnt be bothered. Food was average,not much choice, but ok.We felt that our drinks were being rashoned,and that somehow the staff had been told to limit the amount of drinks to give us. We felt as though we were aking for something for free, not that we had paid up front for all inclusive services. As two single women, we found the days were ok, lovely beach, nice pool, but the nights were boring. Nothing but couples and honymooners, only one hotel bar to go to.We arranged trips to holguin city by taxi to get away from boring monotonous hotel evenings, but taxis were expensive 130 pesos for a 45 min journey, thats around £90. We could not afford to do that every night.Definatly not for singles looking for a a bit of life, my friend and i are not big nightclub ravers, but we do like company and the odd late night. The resort was too quiet, and remote.I think we should have gone to Varadero instead.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderfull time"

Blau Costa Verde
User Rating:  Blau Costa Verde Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  S.Jaspers  on Oct 15, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Oct, 2005
1711 people found this review helpful

For the second year we have been in Costa Verde Hotel. The change of the management was new for us but just like the year before they gave us a wonderful time. There is nothing to complain about, everybody was in a good mood, did their utmost to help or serve you. The food was excellent, more then enough variation and the resort itself is a very good place to be. The entertainment was good, the animators, all of them are great. We hope we’ll have the opportunity to come back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube