Iberostar Playa Alameda Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Iberostar Playa Alameda reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.3 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 18, 2014

Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.2 based on 37 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel

4.2 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda  

Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"Should improve customer service"
Posted by: Maria Emilia on Aug 22, 2012
see all reviews

Iberostar Playa Alameda Reviews
Iberostar Playa Alameda Pictures and Information
Iberostar Playa Alameda Varadero Cuba

#18
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.5

Based on 28 reviews

Iberostar Playa Alameda Information


The Iberostar Playa Alameda is designed in a traditional Andalusian style. Located on the Varadero beachfront and next to the Hicacos nature reserve, the Hotel Iberostar Playa Alameda guarantees days of beach enjoyment and relaxation in an atmosphere of tropical gardens, endless beaches and all the services you may expect of a 4+ star hotel.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Playa Alameda Reviews

Iberostar Playa Alameda Review: 4.5 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  18
Very good
  6
Average
  3
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (10)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
With friend (2)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
1 - 10 of 28

"Should improve customer service"

Iberostar Playa Alameda
User Rating:  Iberostar Playa Alameda Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Maria Emilia  on Aug 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: Aug, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
176 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
32

Room Block:
14

Rooms:
present problems with the bathroom, the minibar service and room lock

Restaurants and Bars:
excellent

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best vacation yet!!!!!!"

Iberostar Playa Alameda
User Rating:  Iberostar Playa Alameda Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Angela  on Aug 15, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
177 people found this review helpful

This resort is incredible, when we werent at the sandy beach we swam in the large pool with a great lunch bar. The thing that made our stay was the incredible staff, you really got to know them by the end of the week, so friendly and kind. Other canadians staying there said they have been to other resorts in cuba but only go back here because of the staff and i believe it. The food is ok, you have to go there with an open mind, the ingredients are different so everything tastes different. |But if you are travelling to another country, isnt that the point? The egg guy at the buffet Eduardo is hilarious.

You will not be disappointed with this resort - the music and shows are fun and the atmosphere is great for singles and families.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great staff, but hotel had problems"

Iberostar Playa Alameda
User Rating:  Iberostar Playa Alameda Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nancy  on May 24, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
219 people found this review helpful

We are not high maintenance people and don't demand a lot, but the Alameda had a few key problems:
--There are several stagnant bodies of water, one large lagoon next to the restaurant in particular, which were breeding grounds for mosquitos. I received more than 15 bites in one night and had an allergic reaction which required a trip to the on-site doctor. Luckily, I had proof of MCP and company insurance,
-- As hard as the staff works, and as diverse and yummy as much of the food was, my friend and I both contracted food poisoning, which luckily didn't bloom fully til we were back in Canada. Five days later, we are half normal again. I don't know if if came from the resort, the coconut a staff person gave us to drink from, or from the food on an excursion we took. (The catamaran day trip was lovely, but the eating spot was mere metres from the pungent washrooms. Enough said there.)
-- We had to switch rooms after two days because of the knock-down overwhelming smell of mildew. This wouldn't have mattered a pinch if the other issues didn't present themselves.

Those issues marred what otherwise would have been a lovely trip. As I said, all the staff were excellent and did their absolute best. It's the management who needs to take note.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Resort was Great!"

Iberostar Playa Alameda
User Rating:  Iberostar Playa Alameda Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Maurice  on Mar 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
251 people found this review helpful

The Resort was great but food could have been better. Highlight of trip was going to Havana in a rebuilt old car.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"New fan!"

Iberostar Playa Alameda
User Rating:  Iberostar Playa Alameda Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Fiona  on Mar 8, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
273 people found this review helpful

This was my 11th trip to Cuba and I absolutely loved this resort! I have stayed at 5*'s in Varadero and I now prefer the Playa Alameda. The animation staff and activities were tons of fun, there was a great selection of live Cuban music every day/evening (we like to dance!), the shows were fine and I enjoyed the food. My room was bright, clean and easily temperature-controlled. The beach is not as long as at some other resorts but there was lots of shade and no stones getting into the water. I liked the wide range of ages of the guests - families with kids, young people, couples of all ages, singles, everybody seemed to be having fun. Oh yeah, and really good croissants!

Room Number:
1618

Room Block:
1600

Arrival:
I was the only guest who arrived on that bus, so check in was obviously quick.

Rooms:
Clean, bright, air conditioning worked properly and not damp. Couple of minor maintenance things (shower leaked a bit) but nothing annoying. LOTS of hot water, nice shower stall and a separate bath. Beds were pretty comfortable and lots of pillows.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet food was fine although somewhat lacking in variety from day to day.
All 3 a la cartes had good food - I enjoyed the beach grill at lunch.
Truly fine mojitos in the lobby bar, always lots of mint.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
All very nice. The hotel's beachfront is not very long, but of course you can walk for a long way past the other resorts. Lots of shade palapas.
Grounds were pretty and well maintained.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Best animation team I've encountered in ages! Lots of them, lots of personality, lots of fun. They really made my vacation. Many activities through the day for different tastes and activity levels, lots of fun on the beach. I didn't have children with me but they seemed to have a great program for them.
The shows in the evening were entertaining, varied and fun - not too high tech, which never works very well in my opinion. If I want Las Vegas, I'll go to Las Vegas.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great time"

Iberostar Playa Alameda
User Rating:  Iberostar Playa Alameda Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  cindy  on Mar 5, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Wedding | With Spouse/Partner
266 people found this review helpful

We were there for our son's wedding. everyone was so helpful, mixup in our rooms, but we thoroughly enjoyed our room, staff everywhere was great, loved the food, beach, shows, my only regret is that we didn't stay longer!! we'll know where to return for our next relaxation time!! hats off to all the management and staff, i was in veradero 35 yrs ago and stayed at villa de veradero, wow, things have really changed. i hope the same friendly and atmosphere continue there for years to come. thank-you again.

Room Number:
1542

Arrival:
feb 19, 2012 little mixup with rooms, but we were left alone to enjoy such a beautiful room. front desk was very accomodating.

Rooms:
clean, clean, clean. we didn't drink beer, but everything else was good

Restaurants and Bars:
mmmmmm, nothing else to say

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
grounds very clean, sadly we did not use the pool, beach and ocean were just too inviting

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Vacation"

Iberostar Playa Alameda
User Rating:  Iberostar Playa Alameda Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  sheila  on Dec 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
317 people found this review helpful

We were very happy with the Playa Alemeda. Contrary to another review, our room in the 1400's block was not cold, damp and musty. It was fresh and clean and our maid, Elaine, was delightful! The front desk staff was always helpful and cheerful as well. A minor issue is that the staff in the little store was not too helpful. One time we waited several minutes while the clerk finished a phone call. We weren't in a hurry, though and we don't consider this to be a major issue. Another small inconvenience is that we arrived at night, and the front desk staff gave us a map with our room marked on it, but it was so dark outside that we could not see that markers for the rooms, or the map. We wandered a few minutes before we found where we were supposed to be. However, had we accepted the offer of the bell boy, we would not have had that issue. As well - this is Cuba. Extra power to light signs is likely not easy to come by. People who come here should realize that in Cuba, what we take for granted is not always easy to get. Therefore, be aware that the food choices may seem limited to some. However, the food was good, and if anyone goes hungry here, it is their own fault. All in all, we loved this place and would like to go back. It was very good value for the money!

Room Number:
1433

Room Block:
1400

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Time"

Iberostar Playa Alameda
User Rating:  Iberostar Playa Alameda Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Chad  on Nov 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
317 people found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Varadero and we had a great time. Our only other experience down south was in 2006 when we went to Punta Cana. Cuba is a communist country so you should expect to not have some to the comforts that you would get in other places. The food was very bland and not very good, but we knew this going down, so it's hard to complain too much about it afterwards. When we were there we had a wonderful time, the staff were great and beach was adequate and the weather was great. Upon returning we began comparing the trip to the D.R. trip and came away with the realization that we were disappointed, however after months of reflection and recently looking at our pictures from the trip we realized that it WAS a wonderful trip and we probably would go back. The big think about Cuba is that it is significantly cheaper than the D.R. or Mexico(which is where we booked this year), so you take the price point into consideration as well.
Again the place is fairly bland, the creature comforts just are not there, but the place overall is wonderful.

Arrival:
Our trip down was a bit of an experience. We left Charlottetown, PEI at 9am, to catch a flight out of Halifax at 4pm, w were delayed due to snow out of Halifax and didn't get into the resort until 12:30am, but the staff were great upon arrival and we went to the pool bar (which was still open) and they made us pizza and fries.

Rooms:
The rooms were fine. The beds were not overly comfortable, but after a long day in the sun, we had no problems getting to sleep. THe A/C worked great, which was our biggest concern, and we gave a $20 tip at the beginning of our stay to the staff for the mini fridge and we were always stocked on water, soda and beer.

Restaurants and Bars:
We only used the pool bar, which was great. The lunch food at the pool bar was always sufficient. Our family could always find something to eat at supper at the buffet but it was usually the same thing every meal, if you are going to Cuba to gain weight and gorge yourself you may want to consider a new destination, as the food is sub par at best.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was wonderful, the beach was great, the water was excellent in both. The grounds were kept very clean. I live on Prince Edward Island and we have plenty of wonderful beaches right here, so I do know a good beach, and this beach was great. We really enjoyed our time on it, and although it was busy, you were not sitting on top of one another.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went into Varadero one afternoon, which turned into a bit of a circus. The double decker bus taking us into town probably had 50 people over capacity on it, and it was 40 degrees out that day, so we didn't last too long. We ended up taking a taxi back to the resort which was an adventure all in itself. The taxi looked like it came from a junkyard, but it ran and it gave us a good story to tell when we came home.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"MOLD MOLD MOLD"

Iberostar Playa Alameda
User Rating:  Iberostar Playa Alameda Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  pierina  on Feb 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
386 people found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying the resort is very nice but watch out for the rooms our first night upon arrival we received a room in the 1400s and the awful smell was unbearable mold damp wet they could not change out room till the morning we covered our pillow with towels and when we woke up we woke up wet and cold we did get a new room in the morning that was much better we did not get any compensation for that our other room was not stocked as written hotel no coffee makers no robes had to request an iron and soap was given only once in the seven days even after leaving a not for our maid she did not leave anymore we had a really bad check out experience as another traveler from Quebec they had him open his suitcase in the lobby in front of everyone and with security for a missing robe which he did not have what a show they put on i had two pay for two towels which one i left out my fault but the other i have no idea to why i am paying for it something went missing from my bag left in the luggage room unattended which they claim they are not responsible for they is so much more i could write about the front reception but it would take much to long so travelers count your towels and do not leave anything unattended

Room Number:
1709

Room Block:
17

Arrival:
02/12/11 at 3:00am

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Lovely place!"

Iberostar Playa Alameda
User Rating:  Iberostar Playa Alameda Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tom  on Feb 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
394 people found this review helpful

My wife and I found the Alameda to be a place of rest and relaxation with our every wish quickly and fully satisfied. We particularly enjoyed the interaction with the staff. We look forward to our return and a renewal of acquaintances with our new friends.

Room Number:
1132

Room Block:
11

Arrival:
Quickly and coridally we were welcomed and in our room without undue delay.

Rooms:
Kingsize bed and nice seating area. We especially enjoyed the patio as we had a main floor roon.

Restaurants and Bars:
Superb...especially the Italian a la carte restaurant.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean, tidy, some repair going on but not intrusive

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube