Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin Province Hotel index > Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort  

Playa Esmeralda, Carretera Guardalavaca, Holguin
(Holguin Maps)

"3 times and counting! Great vacation!"
Posted by: George  on Apr 16, 2016
see all reviews

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Reviews
Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Pictures and Information
Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Playa Esmeralda Cuba

#1
of 2 Hotels in Playa Esmeralda

User rating 4.5

Based on 36 reviews

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Information


The resort is surrounded by beautiful gardens in an area of ecological importance, typical of the eastern part of the country.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Reviews

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 4.5 of 5 36 reviews
Excellent
  23
Very good
  9
Average
  2
Poor
  1
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (23)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
With friend (3)
With Spouse/Partner (12)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 36

"3 times and counting! Great vacation!"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  George  on Apr 16, 2016  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2016 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
33 people found this review helpful

This was my third visit to the SRLM in a year. I have been going to Cuba for over 25 years and have never visited a resort more than twice. Usually we stop going because of deteriorating service , inferior management changes, poor food choices or non competitive pricing to mention a few. I have never had a horrible time in Cuba but I do have 3 resorts that I would never visit again regardless of the price. Having said all of this I do not want to sound like a "Super fan" of the SRLM but so far it is my favourite and I don't have to think twice about booking it when I see if come up at the right price.

Arrival:

Rooms:
We stayed in the second floor of the Mares section with a spectacular view overlooking the pool and ocean. The room was very clean, no critters and everything worked without issue. The only thing I will say is that the rooms and some of the hotel are showing its age and might not be to everyone's standards but the positives of the resort far out weigh this in IMHO.

Restaurants and Bars:

Since my first visit the food selection in the buffet is still very good by Cuban standards or even Canadian standards IMHO. I only booked the Cuban restaurant once during our stay and the food was pretty good. There happened to be a wedding party and a large birthday group at the restaurant and food service was a little slow but the waitresses were always filling our wine glasses so we didn't mind too much. :) As repeat guests we were again invited to a VIP Lobster dinner at the Mediterranean restaurant at the beach. Awesome ambience, excellent food and a nice band as before. Friends we met went to the French restaurant and said it was exceptional. I might try it the next time. One nice thing is that if you arrive very late or miss a dinner or lunch service you can always find some good food at the 24 hour snack bar on the Luna side.

We always ate lunch at the Beach Restaurant and the selection is al a carte with a pretty good variety from Grilled fish, Calamari, chicken, pork chops , burgers etc. The fries are really good . They do run out of a few items closer to the end of lunch so getting there earlier is a bonus. The beer on tap is Crystal and is excellent.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is outstanding with white sand plenty of palapas and shade trees. There The are good snorkeling opportunities right out front of the Luna section and incredible coral and rock structures about 100 meters in the water directly in front of the Rio d Oro beach ( at about the white gazebo).

Other Comments:
You can see that they are starting to make improvements through out the resort from new loungers, new pergolas around the pool in the Mares section and a new cigar bar to name a few. They have updated a lot of the furniture in the main lobby to nice comfortable wide and cushioned seats and new tables. The older wicker furniture has replaced many of the plastic patio tables and chairs in the smoking section of the bar area. The bar has been modernized and set up against a wall. I think it makes lining up at the bar a little more organized. The resort was probably at about 2/3 capacity and there was never a long wait to get a drink. The staff were courteous and efficient regardless of whether you tipped or not.

Once again I would like to thank the staff. Since my first visit I now have a slight mobility issue and emailed Yunier Cespedes, the customer service manager, before departing and he came through with most of our requests and made sure that my room was close to the elevator.

The cigar prices were not too bad in the cigar shop at the hotel this time. I wish I would have bought more there before I left. They had a way better selection than at the duty free. The airport had a terrible selection. Only smaller cigars and the cheaper machine rolled. The clerks said people are hording on boxes of cigars and they are running out quickly.

Overall the SRLM is not a five star hotel but I would say a decent 4 star. if you are looking for a laid back vacation, great food and al a carte options, excellent service a fantastic beach and excellent snorkelling, this might be the right one for you.

I miss it big time already!



Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing vacation April 2015. Solid 4 Cuban star resort and 5 star service!"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  George  on Apr 24, 2015  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2015 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
144 people found this review helpful

For over 15 years friends have been telling me how good the Sol Rio de Luna y Mares is. I finally went for the first time and I can honestly see why this resort is a favourite of many of my friends and the many Europeans and Canadians I met at the resort. I am well-travelled in Cuba and my opinions are based on my other stays at 4 star Cuban rated resorts. I think the SRLM is a solid 4 star resort but I will give my overall experience a 5 star rating.

The price point was usually my main reason for not choosing this resort in the past but I truly understand that you usually get what you paid for. We actually got this resort cheaper than the former RPT . I was a repeat guest at the former Riu Playa Turquesa (Memories Holguin now) and really enjoyed it there but I was not overly impressed with a recent stay at Memories Varadero and found the RPT on our last visit just prior to the hand over was constantly running out of food very early in the dinner and lunch sittings and many items were not replenished.

Arrival:
Hotel check in went very smooth and efficiently. Many guests were upset that the hotel could not accommodate their special room requests. ( I sent an email in advance and got a nice reply but was not given any guarantees either. They said they would try their best. ). The hotel was at full capacity and the front desk assured people that they would move them to another room the next day if they desired. I normally don’t like ground floor rooms but after seeing that we had both a slight ocean view and a nice garden/pool view with a fully enclosed patio/balcony on the Mares side, we decided to keep it after all. The Luna side is a little more modern and quieter but we actually didn’t mind a little activity close by. Our room was handy to the lobby bar and buffet. We went back to customer service the next day to tell them that we were keeping our room because they had already arranged for us to see another room. Yunier the customer service manager and his assistant Virgen Maria were very professional and sincere in ensuring us that we would have a great stay and were happy that we liked our room after all. Knowing that we had chosen the Sol Rio over our repeat guest status at both the Blau Coste Verde and RPT we were afforded many of the repeat guest perks at the SRLM. I can’t thank both of them enough for their very kind gesture towards us, it was definitely more than we expected !

Restaurants and Bars:
I thought the food in the main buffet was very good. Fresh meats , fish and pasta was cooked to your preference at separate stations. The beach grill by the Luna had a great a la carte lunch menu. The 24 hour snack bar made amazing pizzas , calamari and chicken cordon bleu to mention a few.
I only tried the Mexican a la carte and I really enjoyed it. It was a hit or miss for some of the other guests I spoke to. I enjoyed the food at the main buffet so much that I didn’t bother booking any other a la carte restaurants. I hate being on a rigid schedule when I am on vacation. The nice thing about the resort is that you could always go to the snack bar for a missed meal. We arrived for check in at the resort after lunch service and had a great meal at the snack bar.
The bar service throughout the resort was very good to excellent.
The staff IMHO is what makes this resort stand out from many of the others that I have visited. Even though the resort was at full capacity there were rarely any line ups for food or drink and the waits were very short when there was. We were always served very courteously. Tipping isn’t mandatory but is well appreciated and does not go unnoticed. I will not get into a debate as to how much to tip or when to but I generally tip here and there throughout the day after a few drinks are ordered or if I am served in the restaurants/buffet and if someone goes above and beyond I don’t hesitate to add a few extra pesos.
Yes the resort is a little tired in some areas but the rooms, lobby pool areas and the grounds and beach at the resort were very clean and everything functioned very well. If a light went out or something broke down it was immediately fixed. Most of the guests we spoke to felt the same way we did about the resort and were really enjoying their vacations. We met many repeat guests. It was nice not to be on a vacation where all you heard was bitching and complaining. There is always room for improvement and management is well aware of this and are always finding ways to make things better. They certainly know how to run the resort at full capacity!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach IMHO is the best in the Holquin region. Nice sand, plenty of palms and palapas, clean and no grass close to shore. There are some rocky entry points more so over by the Rio de Oro but they are clearly visible from shore. The snorkelling was excellent near the wedding gazebo at the Rio de Oro and there were plenty of fish and small coral structures and grass about 70 meters out directly in front of the Luna side of the resort. We enjoyed the beach so much that we didn’t even step into either of the pools once.

Flight :
Air Transat . The online check-in did not work and I was advised to keep trying when I called customer service twice. This was a little disappointing but we did however luck out on getting emergency row extra leg room seats on the way down. Oh well. We had standard seats on the way back and the seats had OK leg room. Our flight was on a Canjet plane. No free meals and headsets are $8 but I knew that before I booked. I think I will give Sunwing the edge as far as in flight service goes.

My hat goes off to all the staff and management for making this one of the best vacations I have had to date in Cuba. (Having absolutely gorgeous weather didn’t hurt either). I hope to return for another visit later this year around November or December.
Cheers George W.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"nice trip for us"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  christy  on Aug 18, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
177 people found this review helpful

I visited with my family and it was such a nice trip for us, we will be coming back here again next time. We had mixed emotions when coming to this place because some people said they had bad experience while majority had good experience so we just went with our guts and the majority and it turned out to be one of the best holidays we have had in a while. Everything was great, the hotel was clean and maintained properly by the management. The staff was friendly and they try by remembering people that they have met before. It is our first time here but whenever you meet any staff and meet them on another occasion, they surprisingly remember you so it was comforting that we were in caring hands. The rooms are spacious, very big and had comfortable beds enough for me, my wife and my kid daughter. The furniture was nice and the bathroom seemed clean and nice. The bathrooms worked well, the showers functioned well, the phones worked and wasn’t so expensive considering we have a teenage daughter who needed to reach her friends. If you enjoy activities on holiday, they have plenty to offer in terms of activities and you will hardly find time to stay moody in your room. They offer an inexpensive WIFI in the lobby area that is fast in comparison to other hotels we have been to in the past. Thanks to the management for looking after us during our stay.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Sol Rio de Luna excellent choice!"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Eva  on Jun 28, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
309 people found this review helpful

Travelling to Cuba since 1986. Sol Rio de Luna is the best we have ever encountered. Every aspect of this holiday exceeded our expecations. Specifically I woud like to mention the quality and selection of the food. Not typically a cuban forte it was excellent. I had a hard time keeping my weight!!! Some evenings offered excellent classical music live performances.

Negatives to take into consideration: Steep stairs and a steep pathway to the beach. This might be an issue for some guest. Brochure mentiones that Yoga is offered. I was tempted to bring my mat as I enjoy Yoga several times a week at home. Thankfully I decided against. Unfortunately the instructor was sick the ONLY day this was offered. Sick I can understand - offering something once a week is not really an offer. If that day is your arrival or departure that renders that unavailable. On the other hand there was no one else interested in the yoga session when I arrived - that might be the reason for the "sparse" offerings.

Room Number:
2006

Arrival:
Excellent service!

Rooms:
Quite creative with an entertaining wall painting!

Restaurants and Bars:
Appreciated a snack at 1:00 am after our arrival at the restaurant/bar open 24 hours.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
impeccable

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The offered excursions are incredibly expensive. Example: A trip to see a farm, a school and some local market shopping at 100.00 per person - not sure if this attracts a lot of custoemrs.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I love this resort mainly for the people I have met over the last 20 yearson and off the resort."

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brian  on Apr 24, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
302 people found this review helpful

Until I found this resort I had traveled "all over the Caribbean"most islands twice never at the same resort.I had stayed away from Cuba due to American propaganda.When I finally tried Cuba I stayed at de Luna everything that was wrong with Cuba became clear to me very quickly"nothing is wrong with Cuba" U.S.lies.The food here is better then many resorts that I've stayed at two to three times the price.The poverty of the people of Cuba was not apparent,yes they struggle to survive;but no painful extreme wealth next to extreme poverty as in western type islands.In many ways I think Cubans are richer then us in the west they live with little stress and are a very happy people with close family ties and community.I was reminded by how safe it was to grow up in Ontario,Canada back in the 1960's.No need to lock doors people where talkative honest and friendly .This resort has been underrated year after year and in turn is great value.I like to be able to go out among the people and socialize.The rooms were clean and safe.The grounds are well kept and beautiful even after having to replace the beach sand from storm damage.Also damage from the odd hurricanes to the tree's where quickly treated and brought back close to its former beauty.Loads of interesting things to do close by tours,a marine land in the next bay and I enjoyed horseback riding and buggy trips out"Hola Joesph". I also enjoyed the local crafts people coming to the lobby once a week or a short trip to town to have a larger selection of fine art.The bands are great and I love the local music(Cheers Jose and Jaun Carlos The mystro.)I never worry about my belongings left by the pool,on the beach,in my room or on my table at night while I dance and enjoy myself.They have one masseuse guy known as a local old time witchdoctor sort of the man is magic.I enjoy it being out of the way if I wish to just relax I'll stay at de luna,if I want to have a party with loads of activity almost all night I book de Mares side.Good food and drink,music and entertainment,accommodations and beach,outings or a pig roast on the beach and dance the night or I should say morning away. This resort has it all a coral reef to dive on and local history and sights that I'm still discovering after twenty years of enjoyment.The little villages are nice and the people always friendly a smile and conversation is always tops when away from home.I your young and only want to get wasted then this is not for you.On one side it is a relaxing holiday on the other a good party time and adventuress you decide what one or mix of a holiday you want.Cheers Brian

Room Number:
6 rooms of preference

Room Block:
all

Arrival:
Well for me its like coming to my home away from home.Many of the staff have been here for ever? Its nice to go to a place that the workers remember your name your face and are genuine happy to see you again.The breakfast staff remember how I take my coffee and what I prefer the bar staff know my drinks and have been ready for me by the time I reach the bar.I have had some outing to their homes and treated as part of the family.You can't put a price on that!

Rooms:
Rooms are clean very relaxing decor and some with great views.They are secure and you will know your safe.Service if required is always trying to accommodate you the guest.Relax take it in and enjoy yourself its a place to rest once out that door you have many choices.Go for it !

Restaurants and Bars:
Great drinks and employees topped off with good food

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
A dream come true clean and enjoyable.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Dream Vacation"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Teresa  on Nov 1, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
324 people found this review helpful

This was my first trip in my life. It was everything I ever dreamed it would be. The staff were friendly....food was excellent. I think I gained 10 pounds it was so good...contrary to what I was told it would be! I will go back again someday...hopefully soon!

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was excellent. I think I gained 10 pounds it was so good...contrary to what I was told it would be! Loved it!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was phenomenal! Better than I imagined! 5 stars!

Other Comments:
I would go back every year if I could!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Very Special Kind Of Hotel"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Margarita  on Sep 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
384 people found this review helpful

My husband and I travelled to this hotel Sep 15 for one week. We were looking for that very special place to spend our 35th Wedding anniversary.

We sure found it at SOL RIO DE LUNA Y MARES !!!! This is truly a very special kind of hotel and I will tell you why.

To start with, the location of the hotel is phenomenal, the view of the ocean from anywhere you are ,lobby, pool, restaurants and rooms is breathtaking.

The beach with its powdery white sand and perfect blue sea is a "snorkelers paradise" with fish of all colours and sizes just steps from the shore.

The rooms, and the hotel in general are spotless clean and the restaurants and buffet area are always clean and tidy and found there was no problem with flies or birds inside these areas.

Now , what I consider to be the best part of staying here is the staff of this hotel, everyone is polite, friendly, even funny at times and always ready to help you, from the front desk, the bartenders, our chambermaid Miladis,the waiters -special mention to

Jose Antonio at the Mexican, waitresses like Clara, the cooks -special mention to Roger at the buffet , to the beach guy Juan and all the workers who always give you service with a smile.

I believe all this is possible due to the fact that the hotel is run by a very professional, efficient , friendly and caring general manager Manuel Vazquez and his right hand Lisandro Ramos who is in charge of food and beverages at the hotel.

You will see them always in the hotel area talking to the guests and making sure everything runs smoothly. This, in my opinion puts this hotel above all the others in the area.

About the food, I must say I was quite impressed with the variety of fresh fish and seafood available at the buffet and cooked in front of you , the same with the bread , always nice and warm just out of the oven.

There was a great variety of meats, salads, desserts and oh...the ice cream to die for, better than gelatto.

It has 4 restaurants a la carte and the Italian being our favourite for its excellent salad bar, the French with its exquisite cuisine and service, the typical Mexican one, and last but not least The Romantico, on the beach with its great atmosphere.

They also have a 24 hour snack bar that comes handy when your flight arrives late at night.

It was a great holiday for both of us and we definitely recommend this hotel to couples , families with big and small children and singles.

Feel free to contact us if you would like to know something we forgot to mention.

Margarita and Isidro

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best hotel in Cuba"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Beata  on Sep 12, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) POLAND
Visited on: Jul, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
339 people found this review helpful

This eas my third trip to Cuba and first to Holquin. I love Sol Rio! Hteir staff always friendly, always helpfull. They changed for us rooms and gave us great room with a pool and see view. Food was excellent, entertainment too. Most likely people who complain about this hotel never been to Cuba before especially Varadero.
I have never gave any money tip to anyone and had great service. True I hade some trikets which gave to cleaning lady, cooks, reception and few bartenders. Big Lady at the Beach bar got my beach dress. It was a pleasure for me to give it to her.
I also swap some tshirts for cigars at the beach. when we were leaving staff came to say goodbye to our bus and guard from the beach gave us bottle of rum. Sorry but I am bad with names.

Room Block:
Sol Rio Mares

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't come here. Please read!!!!"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jose  on Sep 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
362 people found this review helpful

I liked the surroundings, the pool during the day time, and several employees like Roger at the Buffet. On the other hand, customer service is horrible, elevators didn't work at least twice a day. Underage kids drinking (even with the white wristband). Many employees are hustling guests with fake cigars, and most of them don’t understand the concept of tipping, they will even ask for money. Entertainment is tailored to adults, not kids or teenagers. My wife got food poisoning at the buffet, I had to pay extra for things that were included in the package (scuba diving). If you have young daughters and still come here caveat! Employees don’t care they are underage.

Room Number:
3049

Room Block:
3rd floor

Arrival:
There were only a handful of people in the bus, check in was quick. They ordered cold drinks for us in the lobby. The bell boy nowhere to be found so I carried my own luggage.

Rooms:
I paid an extra $15 a night upon arrival to have a beach view. Room is big, clean but the AC does not work very well. The bathroom is old and somethings don't work properly.

Restaurants and Bars:
I only used the buffet and the snack bar. The buffet is a little disorganized, they only serve coffee at breakfast. My wife got food poisoning here (we believe due to bad fish). Service is best here, but still lacks, employees hassle for tips.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was not what I expected, definitely not the ones in the pictures. At least is quiet. Pool at the Mares is good, but stay away from the bar, no refrigerator in the bar, the poor woman has to come back and forth with ice, but it only lasts so long. The hotel surroundings are beautiful, out of this world.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities during the day are pretty fun, most of them in the pool. At night is for adults, and as I said a lot of underage drinking.

Other Comments:
Will never come here again. However I would like to try a different property nearby in Playa Pesquero, I hear the beach is a lot better there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Spectacular"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rolando Mora  on Dec 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
412 people found this review helpful

In the last two years we stayed in the same hotel 4 times. So that says a lot, you never go back to the same place if you don't feel like home.
My son and his fiance love the place.

Room Number:
2019, 4002

Arrival:
Like Always, just a few minutes at the reception. No standing in line waiting.
very, very quick checking in, as long as you have all the paperwork in order.

Rooms:
very clean, you can appreciated some age on the rooms and bathrooms, but sparckling clean.
The Ocena views are astonishing, sunset priceless.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants with a very good variety of foods and drinks.
The buffets serve for all the diferent tastes and flavors, not a single complain about it.
The snack bar is my son favorite, specially late at night, when he sends his fiance to get some snacks very late at night when we sit by the pool side listen to the oceans roar.
The bars, good, even we don't dring alcohol, they have a variety of non-alcoholic beverage for us, and most important the bartenders, they remember what we like to drink.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
large enough to accomodate as many people as you want, never crowed, water clean and perfect, bartender at pool very carismatic.
Awsome beach, clear water, super white sand, some wave on the water and kind of deep for small kids.
You will enjoy everything around the hotel, just by walking and admiring the place.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We love all the activities, Everyday was something very different,
from clasic music (live) to dance, to a fashion show, to the perfomer of a Holguin-Michael jackson (this one stole the people's heart).
You will not get bore at the hotel.
And if you like excursions, there is one every day, where you can go and see historic places, or just go a visit another cuban places and its nice people.

Other Comments:
We will be back

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube