Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin Province Hotel index > Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort  

Playa Esmeralda, Carretera Guardalavaca, Holguin
(Holguin Maps)

"3 times and counting! Great vacation!"
Posted by: George  on Apr 16, 2016
see all reviews

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Reviews
Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Pictures and Information
Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Playa Esmeralda Cuba

#1
of 2 Hotels in Playa Esmeralda

User rating 4.5

Based on 36 reviews

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Information


The resort is surrounded by beautiful gardens in an area of ecological importance, typical of the eastern part of the country.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Reviews

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 4.5 of 5 36 reviews
Excellent
  23
Very good
  9
Average
  2
Poor
  1
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (23)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
With friend (3)
With Spouse/Partner (12)
Solo
With Group
11 - 20 of 36

"Quite nice for first ever trip south."

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tony  on May 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
534 people found this review helpful

This was my first ever trip away to the south. We decided to go with Cuba and eventually at Luna Mares resort.
Overall, I would say it was better than expected considering the things we had heard about Cuba before leaving.
We wanted a quiet, layed back experience, and we got what we wanted. If you are into partying and a loud night life, Luna Mares is not the place for you.
There were more than enough daily activities to keep you busy if you wanted. Things like archery, water polo games, beach volleyball, pool volleyball, water aerobics, paddle boats, snorkeling, and at night there was always a 45-60 min show of some sort at the theatre. Tony, the main activity guy was amazing, and alot of fun.
They did a pig roast for everybody one day for lunch, which was quite delightful.

Room Number:
5215

Arrival:
Nolitours took care of most of the stuff for check-in for us, but I found the check-in process to be fast, and smooth, and a staff member was quick to take your luggage for you and direct you to the room. He followed with the luggage aproximatley 10 mins. later to the room. My only complaint, and it might just be my own fault for not going away before, was I didn't realize you needed to put your room card into a slot inside your rom inorder to get your electricty to work....should have told us that on check in, but only a small detail.

Rooms:
The room was a little worn and dated, but not a big concern. The big king size bed was a little hard, I slept fine, my wife not as good, but still ok. The bathroom was again worn a little, but everything was clean and fuctional.
The balcony was nice with a beautiful view of the ocean/beach area...absolutley fantastic view.

Restaurants and Bars:
When we went only 1 of the buffet restaurants was operational, so it tended to be fairly busy at breakfast and supper.
The first 3 days, i was difficult getting your drinks/refills at the buffet restaurant. the last half of the week got better.
The rumours about Cuban food that you hear is true, it wasn't GREAT food, but it wasn't terrible food either.
There was a ton of choices for all 3 meals at the buffet restaurant...selection certainly wasn't an issue.
I will say, the omlette stations were great, except, you do need to have them cook it longer than they are prepared to do. The first day I took the omlette as they prepared it, and the middle wasn't cooked. If you tell them to cook it longer the Omlette will be excellent.
The ala cartes we went to were:
French: good food, not much menu choices, but the food was good. Excellent service, very friendly and quick to refill your wine glass.
Romatic: By far the best food experience. No choices here, the menu was already set, but the atmosphere was amazing, view of the ocean at sunset was just lovely!! All 5 courses were layed out in a very elogant fashion, and food was all good!
International: Our least favorite eating experience. Chairs were very uncomfortable, staff wasn't friendly, and found the food to be very blaw!
For Lunches, we found Le Pinta restaurant VERY slow and waited over an hour for hamburger and fries.
Bars were all great service, and never had to wait long for drinks nor did we ever have to ask for more alcohol to be put in the drinks. The only issue here is that Rye and Cokes were disgusting, as the Cuban cola is undrinkable...disgusting!!!, but on the flip side, I found the Cuban 7-Up to be better than our 7-Up.
The swim up bar was awesome, and Paula, the bartender there every day was by far the best 'tender we came across!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was without a doubt the most beautiful I've seen, in person or pictures!!! No shortage of loungers, or shade if required. The white sand was like walking on clouds, and was VERY clean!!
The pools were also very good, clean and never real busy.
The grounds were cared for almost 24/7...we went down at a point that they had gone 9 weeks without rain...while some of the grass was brown and dead, all the garden, and flowers and shrubs still looked beautiful. They were constantly grooming the trees and shrubs!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
depends on what you want really. If you are looking for something to keep you occupied from 9-5 everyday then you'll be disapointed. If you are looking for something to do for a while, and spend most of your day in the sun, then this was your spot.
On resort activities included Archery, Beach volleyball, pool volleyball, water polo, kayaking, snorkeling, paddle boats, pellet gun shooting and silly fun games at the pool. Off resort activities all cost you extra $$$. Catamaran tours that included, snorkeling at a coral reef, with another option of adding swimming with the dolphins. We took the package of the Catamaran tour, snorkeling at the reef, swim with dolphins, and a lobster lunch and it cost us $120.00 each, but i feel it was well worth the money.
There were also deep sea fishing packages, scuba diving, and bus tours into 2 cities, either Holguin and/or Santiago.
There also was a trip into a small villiage about 10 minutes away from the resort, which had a little market. problem here is you have 2 choices, stay for 1 hour or 3. There is a beach right near by the market, but the market is fairly small...3 hours is way too much if you only want to spend time at the market.

Other Comments:
The alcohol for purchase is cheapest at the duty free shop at the airport in Cuba, butonly by about 50 cents a bottle, so not a big deal to purchase at the resort or market.
If you are purchasing cigars, go see Joe, a staff member who works down at the beach, he'll get you much better prices on the cigars than you'll get in the stores!!
All in all this was a great place to vacation, either with a family or as a couple.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent Value for the price"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sandy  on Mar 21, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
483 people found this review helpful

Beach - Absolutely spectacular - white sand - tons of chairs and beach huts
There was never a rush or fight to get beach chairs. Lots of things to do at the beach (hobo cats, sea kayaks, paddle boats, beach volleyball, archery, boco ball) Some times the wind was too strong and the boats did not go out.
Food - Overall very good. Breakfast- Excellent - They make eggs anyway you like right in front of you. Lunch and dinner were very good. They make pasta in front of you or they will fry up lots of varieties of meats for you. You have to remember you are in Cuba. This is not like a cruise ship or 5 star resort.
Rooms - This is where they could use some upgrading. However the beds were very comfortable and clean. I personally was hardly in my room. I would definately return to this resort.

Excursions

Rooms:
Rooms - This is where they could use some upgrading. However the beds were very comfortable and clean. I personally was hardly in my room. We had the top floor in the building between the Luna and Mares side. Our views were spectacular.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food - Overall very good. Breakfast- Excellent - They make eggs anyway you like right in front of you. Lunch and dinner were very good. They make pasta in front of you or they will fry up lots of varieties of meats for you. You have to remember you are in Cuba. This is not like a cruise ship or 5 star resort.
Disco - On beach, closer to the Mares side. Well layed out. My teenagers enjoyed it.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach - Absolutely spectacular - white sand - tons of chairs and beach huts
There was never a rush or fight to get beach chairs. Lots of things to do at the beach (hobo cats, sea kayaks, paddle boats, beach volleyball, archery, boco ball) Some times the wind was too strong and the boats did not go out.
Pools - Mares side - more activity and bigger pool. Very nice
Luna side - quieter, but very nice. Always able to get a chair

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots and lots of excursions to choose from. Your tour rep. will go over them with you. My teenagers swam with the dolphins and did the catamaran trip. They really enjoyed themselves.
Lots of other activities at resort - horseback riding ($8.00) mopeds, bikes,scuba diving in pool (free), archery, ping pong, tennis, basketball (all included)

Other Comments:
I would definately return to this resort. It sort of grows on you as the week goes on.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An average resort"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  E  on Feb 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
410 people found this review helpful

The food, in particular the seafood, is excellent, the beach and view are great.
Service, as a whole, needs improvement.

Arrival:
No info on the hotel from the staff at checkin. Staffs at the reception are not helpful (nor friendly).

Rooms:
Quite rundown. Shower is not as good as other cuban resorts we went to.

Restaurants and Bars:
Too crowded, and not enough staffs.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is the among the best. The ocean view is the best among all cuban resorts we went to. This was my tenth visits to Cuba.

Other Comments:
The resort needs a complete revenovation. More staffs are needed. Some staffs in the restaurant work very hard while others only serve the clients they know. As a result, uneven distribution of work among staffs in the restuarant. I feel sorry for those who really do their work. The noise from the disco is far too loud and last until 2am in the morning. Hard to get a nice sleep in most buildings.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Number of return trips speak for themselves"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ross  on Jan 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
373 people found this review helpful

My wife and I have been to this resort 6 times. Going again next month. Nuff said.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Was more then I expected"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pauline  on Dec 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
340 people found this review helpful

November 20 to November 27 2010. The weather was great. Between 27 and 30. The last day was 34. Little rain but nothing to get upset about. There are many things to do between a little sprinkle. We have done so much don't know where to begin. The service was excellent. Cuban staff beautiful and friendly. Big resort and well kept. Everything you need. Doctor's office, gym, spa, lots of restaurants, bank, gift shop, post office, cigar shop, hair dressing shop, waxing, pedicures, manicures, disco, public relations for reservations and any questions you had. Our air Canada rep was very hard to reach, not there most of the time but found out they have a desk to reserve tours and whatever you need if your rep is not available. That was the only downfall was with the rep.Thank God we had the VIP because it was all arranged by public relations.

Arrival:
Our flight was very good. First time with Air Canada and will travel with them from now on. I live in Northern Ontario and used to have to drive 8 hrs to get to the airport. Left from Timmins for only 96.00 extra. Did not have to get a room. We arrived in Toronto at 1:30 and left at 4:00p.m. We arrived in Holguin at7:45 by the time we got to our resort was 10:00p.m. We had someone greeting us and brought our luggage to the room. We then went to the 24 hr buffet on the Luna side for a bite to eat then went and checked out the disco on the beach.

Rooms:
I traveled with my sobrina, eeha and amiga. We had 2 rooms side by side adjoining. I was very happy about that. Our view was spectacular. Ocean view facing the pool and the sea. Room 3034 and 3035 smack in the middle of the resort on the Mares side. Leaving our room was the most breath taken view of the mountains and vegetation. It was lush and green. We were close to the elevators. The beds were very comfortable. The room itself was a fair size with t.v. which we never used, cd player. Our fridge was stocked with beer pop and water every day. VIP you get beer but with regular room you only get 2 1 litre bottles.

Restaurants and Bars:
They have the main buffet off the lobby named Colon buffet. Lots of choice in food. You can have them cook fish, steak, pork, eggs, omelets and so on if you want something done a special way. The variety is very good. No complaints. I have been to Cuba 6 times now and I am used to their foods. My niece and my daughters friend had a hard time adjusting but most of the times it's all in peoples heads. They had someone making smoothies every morning and the juice was freshly squeezed. The Cuban coffee is awesome. You won't miss Tim Horton's.
We ate at 4 a la carte restaurants. My favorite was the French. We went to the Italian, International. You must experience the French The banana pie is to die for. Ate lobster 4 times while I was there.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Not too much of a pool person but had to try the swim up bar. The waitress was funny and very friendly. The beach, the beach!!!!! Nicest beach I have seen in all my travels in Cuba. Wide and white powdery sand with aqua waters. It was a little rough but not that much. I was told by a Cuban friend because it was the time of the year. I believe her because I have been to a resort not far from there in March and the water was calm. There is a bathroom and a snack bar on the Mares side. The beach on the Luna side is a little rocky but they also have a snack bar and a bathroom. I have been to Melias Las Dunas in Cayo Santa Maria which had no bathroom and I did not like that because it was a far walk and I don't believe in pissing in the ocean. (Pardon my language)
Going to the beach from Mares side has quite a few stairs. This hotel might be difficult for the elderly and the disabled.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Wow!!! where do I begin. We have had a few trips to Guardalavaca by horse and buggy for 20 pesos for 2 hrs. to the market to do some shopping. Lots of vendors. That is the place to buy your goods and cigars. You must also try the beach. It is also beautiful. We only stayed for 1 hr at the beach and enjoyed live entertainment. They came and sang 3 songs for us. It was very special. Going back our driver from the horse and buggy took us to the village and gave us a little history about the village and the Cuban people. Very interesting. You can take a double decker for 2 pesos but 20 pesos for a horse and buggy and a bag full of beer and a quiet and intimate ride was more enjoyable for me. He would stop and let us take pictures and so on. Good way to give stuff to the Cuban people. I have known a Cuban family for 6 years now and went to her home town in Banes.(Twice now)by taxi. It's 45 minutes away and took a cab which cost us 65.00 tourist pesos. We got there at 1p.m. and left at 8p.m. Our taxi driver was so nice and also explained about every town. He was lot's of fun. His name is Hermes. We had so much fun with him. We had Christmas in November with my Cuban family. Got all 6 of them a pair of p.j.'s and each a makeup bags for the ladies and shaving kits for the men. I wrapped the gifts with Christmas wrapping in my room. Watching them smell a bar of soap, happy to get shampoo and asking what toothpaste was, smelling the perfume and happy to get a razor with blades was very emotional for all of us. They have nothing!!!! The child picked vitamins over candies. 8 year old folding the p.j. he received and admiring it with care when we give our children clothes and they toss it waiting for the next gift. They gently opened their gift not to tear the wrapping paper. I can't begin to express what I have seen. It was very emotional.

Other Comments:
All in all in 1 week we have done quite a bit. We savored every moment. Never again will I ever go for 1 week. Not long enough. If you plan on doing tours stay for 2 weeks. If you want is just the beach 1 week is enough but why go to Cuba without learning their culture. I also have to mention the dolphin tour (bring extra pesos for photos) which you can see from the hotel(not to far). You can go half a day by bus(79.00 pesos) or take the catameran for a whole day which gives you a lobster lunch and snorkeling . I have done both at the other resorts and it's an awesome experience. You will love to walk the beach there. Lots of trees and lots of sombreas for shade. I will return to this resort. Between Playa Pesquero where I have been twice and Sol Rio de Luna y Mares resort it's a tie. Scenery and beach Mares win. Playa Pesquero night life wins. Don't get me wrong, you have to try both.(they're not too far from each other). Service was very good at both. You will love the Cuban people. Treat them with respect and you will get 10 folds. Very family oriented, respectful and happy. Every time I go, I come back with good memories and I am great full for what we have and how lucky we are to be able to leave our country to experience their culture. Don't forget to bring stuff for them. Things we take for granted like toothbrushes and toothpaste, soap, vitamins,underwear, shoes, sandals, crocks, clothes. You don't have to buy anything. Any clothes that don't fit your children or yourselves, watches you don't wear, hats you don't wear. If your tired of your summer clothes leave it. Any medication, band aids (I always packed a medicine cabinet before I go) Anything you have at home in your medicine cabinet I always buy and leave it before I go. You never know you might need it and if you don't you can leave it behind. Hope this review helps and if you have any questions you can reach me at pas_lynn@msn.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"my stay at rio de luna y mares"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  marie  on Oct 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
307 people found this review helpful

My friend and I just got back , and we stayed at sol rio de luna y mares, i don't know where to begin,,, the food was excellent, the people there were amazing , the only thing is that the rooms were old but still very clean...
entertainment was a little boring.... but besides that for me it was great..... definetly will go back........I ve been to Cuba before and i must say this hotel beat it by miles.......

Arrival:
on time

Rooms:
they can work on the rooms

Restaurants and Bars:
fantastic

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
fantastic

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
ok

Other Comments:
it was great

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best Value"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Vily  on Mar 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
316 people found this review helpful

This resort is so worth the price you pay! It should be technically a 4.5 star resort! I loved the food and the beach! You get a lot more privacy here than you would at other resorts! Everyone that worked there were so nice!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Too windy and cool"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Keith  on Mar 13, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
325 people found this review helpful

Too windy and cool...you can't control the weather but we were not expecting how cool and windy our week turned out to, certainly not a canadian winter, but not warm.You definetly needed pants and a sweater in the evening and we covered up a lot on the beach too!

Your Arrival:
We left Halifax at 7:30pm on CanJet and arrived three and a half hours later in Holguin. The hotel is about an hour from the airport. It was after midnight when we arrived at the hotel and our checkin was handled quickly.Our request for a king bed was denied, which we expected anyway.

Rooms:
Our room, 2026, had just been painted. It was clean and everything worked. The AC was working and everything in the bathroom worked.That was a relief.The room was clean.We could see the ocean from our balcony. The balcony was private, enclosed. We liked that. The door did not lock, but we didn't complain about this since it hardly seemed important.Staff are very honest.Some things in our daughters rooms were not replenished quickly enough, toilet paper and hand soap, but not a major issue.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate at three a-la-cartes:International,Italian,and we are not sure what the third was.The Italian was our favorite.There was also a special Transat dinner on the beach, which was a letdown...another buffet.We were getting tired of the food after a week, however the flambayed bananas were a delight...excellent! The buffet staff were awesome, friendly and good service.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very nice beach, clean and no problem with getting a chaise any time of the day.The hotel staff will deliver one to any part of the beach you request...a great service some other resorts should emulate.I forgot and left my hat under the chaise the first day of our vacation when we left the beach.The next day when we returned to the beach I inquired if there was a Lost and Found,but my Spanish and his English lost something.A few minutes later he came over with my "sombrero".Where could you go in the Carribean and find such honest, kind and caring people, genuinely interested in making your vacation enjoyable.I would take some water shoes as there were some rocks exposed at the waters edge by the stong winds we experienced all week.We enjoyed snorkeling from the beach, lots of sand dollars to dive for, and some coral reefs a bit futhur out with some fish too.The other hotel on the beach is the Paridissus.The grounds of the hotel have an ecletic mixture of feral cats, horses, chickens and goats.The meowling cats and urine smell became a bit annoying near our rooms one night.We were all delighted with the animals.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There is not much in Quardalavacca, open air market, nice beach. Four of us took a taxi in for $5CUC and a horse and buggy back for $10CUC.Nice experience. The next day we took bikes in for some exercise, about a fifteen minute ride.We went on the catamarran/snorkelling excursion but nearly froze as the weather was cloudy and cool all day.We left from the port of Antilla, about an hour bus ride from the resort.The cat is fairly cramped with about 60 people on board, but it has good washrooms, and the staff serve drinks during the entire cruise.The snorkeling was not that great, but the meal on the island(Cayo Sartia) we landed on was excellent. While on the Island we took the wild Safari ride on the back of a huge truck, $9 CUC each, which our daughters enjoyed immensely. There are several species of African animals, including zebras and ostriches scattered about. Our driver, Cesar, stopped to feed the ostrich bananas.

Other Comments:
All the staff we met at the hotel were great and will do anything they can to ensure you have a nice vacation. The service was friendly.We tipped at all our meals and brought things for the maids we left in the room, and tipped whenever we had good service, which was everywhere.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Sol Río De Luna y Mares FEB 4-19"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mike  on Mar 13, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
342 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Sol Rio de Luna y Mares Resort from Feb 4th-19th. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Rooms:
We were on the Luna side in 8013 and the room were very spacious and clean with a King bed. There is a fridge, hair dryer and large full size bath

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet had a large choice and the food was good. We enjoyed all of the ala carte restaurants, with the exception of the Santa Maria which served rather dry sheesh kabobs. The French ala carte was excellent.
The staff were friendly and accommodating throughout the resort.
Lisney is a young lady who works at the reception desk on the Luna side. She is a walking history of Cuba and very proud of her country. She is a delight to chat with.
There is a picture #50 in the attached URL.
The piano bar also had an interesting young man playing who was very good. I have a couple of (poor quality) video clips taken with my camera attached as well.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is beautiful and extremely wide. Once you get to the water however, you must beware of the coral rocks, which are only a short way out. If the waves are large, you could have a hard time getting back in without skinning something. The grounds are well kept and other than sawed-off trees (which are re-growing), there is not much sign of the hurricane. Outside of the 8000 block of rooms (and just above the French restaurant), there are gardens where they grow their own flowers, herbs and yes,
the mint for the mojitos.
The bad:
I have never been a victim of mosquitoes or other insects previously but they found me there-big time. I don’t know what they were
-(sandflys?) but I had bites all over my feet and lower legs. I never once felt being bitten but they sure irritated later. I had 95% DEET with me, which prevented subsequent bites. They never bothered my wife at all. I did see several folks walk by that were also bitten. I would advise anyone to carry some kind of DEET bug repellent with them.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We hired a cab to take us into Guardalavaca to look around. He waited for us while we meandered around the marketplace. We also took a horse/buggy ride to the country. We visited a small farming area which there are also pictures of.
On the resort itself, there is an eco-tour which I would recommend. You should request the services of the guide who is very knowledgeable and makes it much more worth while.
There is also a small zoo about 2 Km from the resort. We took bicycles and had a very enjoyable time. The zoo keeper (a veterinarian) was very helpful and informative.
While walking about, I almost stepped on an Iguana (picture 44, 45) He had escaped last fall and the keeper said he was better off free and that he wasn’t going to go anywhere anyway, since he fed them. (good attitude)

Other Comments:
The Ugly:
We did have an unpleasant experience during our stay.
One day, we were reading in loungers at the small pool on the Luna side. Workers began hauling tables out around the pool at about 10:30 AM, until we were finally enclosed. A staff person came to us and asked if we had ala carte reservations for that night (we did not) and would we like to come to a lobster dinner that evening. We accepted the offer with the understanding it was made to compensate for the inconvenience at that pool.

We arrived at 8:30 PM and were seated. My wife left at 9:45 PM after no service. At 10, I became agitated and demanded to see the manager... After that it became ugly.
The next morning after breakfast we found a bottle of rum and a letter in our room, apologizing for any inconvenience and offering us a special lobster dinner that evening. We accepted their apology and went and had a lovely experience (except that we were centred out by ourselves like royalty) with a very good meal. The head waiter went out of his way to make sure everything was perfect. He confided that the wait-staff was hung out to dry for the fiasco the previous evening.
The letter I received also asked if I could meet with the General Manager on the following morning-and boy, could I ever.
We met and I immediately detected his inference to the wait-staff as the problem. I wasted no time informing him that it was not them who were the problem but the management, who organized this affair, with too many people, with too few staff and not enough food. I also illustrated a few other *management* problems such as the chronic absence of glasses at the fresh orange juice counter
at breakfast. I pointed out that it was not the fault of the man crushing the oranges in the machine nor that of the dishwasher. It was obviously a management problem for not having enough glasses. Lo and behold -and to their credit, the next morning (and the rest of our stay), there were no more line ups waiting for glasses.

As a final gesture and an attempt to attract us back, he made an offer to give us an upgrade on a future visit, to an oceanfront suite, with mini-bar service, ala carte every night, all inclusive massage etc. We accepted his offer and he said that he would have the necessary paperwork prepared. The day before we were leaving, we met him as we were leaving the buffet and he mentioned that everything would be ready by our departure the next day...We haven’t heard from him since.
For this deception alone, we will never return to this resort and I cannot recommend it. It is probably an isolated incident but it shows me the sincerity of the management and how much they really care. They could do well, to take an example from their staff.

I will be copying this to Sol Melia as well as the Sol Rio de Luna y Mares.

Photos: http://picasaweb.google.com/mribotto/LunaYMares?feat=directlinkp://

Videos: http://picasaweb.google.com/mribotto/PianoBar?feat=directlink

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Refreshing and Relaxing Resort"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sean  on Jan 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
261 people found this review helpful

I haven't traveled in Cuba before as I had heard medioker reviews in the past. My wife has been several times and stayed almost everywhere, she booked us in at the Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort as she said it was one of the best she has stayed at in Cuba. I have traveled quite extencively in Mexico, DR and over seas, so to say I have high expectations is an understatement. The resort lived up to those expectations.

Rooms:
The rooms were as expected, smaller but with good beds, nice bathrooms and a great view. The bedding was clean, the room itself was spotless and the decore was ver cuban!

Restaurants and Bars:
I had heard that the food in Cuba was usualy pretty bad. I found the food at Luna y Mares to be great for an all inclucive. You are limited, like elsewhere in Cuba to more localy grown fair, and you won't see a lot of imported food or drink. I found that there was a great selection of Pork, beef, Chicken and amazing seafood, the lunch and dinner buffets have a fresh fish grill going with a huge variety of fresh fish. I was told that because it is a spanish owner resort, they have access to more imports from Spain then non spanish owned resorts, I don't know if that is true or not, but the selection was great. Breakfast was good to. They have great coffee, fresh squeezed OJ and a varity of cold ceareals to compliment the hot food offered. All and all, I'd have to say that the food was better then any resort I've been in in Mexico or DR. I recomend the Burger at the 24 hour snack bar...it was amazing. If you are looking for good service for your drinks, see Jenny at the pool bar....she is a breath of fresh air!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The 2 pools were kept very clean and the main pool was a great size. The pool on the Luna size is smaller, but a great place to hang out without all the poolside games. The beach is wonderful, what flour like sand, and becausse it is a pricate cove for the 3 local resorts, it was not very busy. You could always find a chair. There is great snorkeling at the end of the beach and in 8 feet of water you could spend all day looking at the great fish! It was like swimming in a huge aquariaum

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube