Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin Province Hotel index > Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort  

Playa Esmeralda, Carretera Guardalavaca, Holguin
(Holguin Maps)

"nice trip for us"
Posted by: christy on Aug 18, 2014
see all reviews

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Reviews
Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Pictures and Information
Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Playa Esmeralda Cuba

#1
of 2 Hotels in Playa Esmeralda

User rating 4.4

Based on 34 reviews

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Information


The resort is surrounded by beautiful gardens in an area of ecological importance, typical of the eastern part of the country.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Reviews

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 4.4 of 5 34 reviews
Excellent
  21
Very good
  9
Average
  2
Poor
  1
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (21)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
With friend (3)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
With Group
11 - 20 of 34

"An average resort"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  E  on Feb 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
339 people found this review helpful

The food, in particular the seafood, is excellent, the beach and view are great.
Service, as a whole, needs improvement.

Arrival:
No info on the hotel from the staff at checkin. Staffs at the reception are not helpful (nor friendly).

Rooms:
Quite rundown. Shower is not as good as other cuban resorts we went to.

Restaurants and Bars:
Too crowded, and not enough staffs.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is the among the best. The ocean view is the best among all cuban resorts we went to. This was my tenth visits to Cuba.

Other Comments:
The resort needs a complete revenovation. More staffs are needed. Some staffs in the restaurant work very hard while others only serve the clients they know. As a result, uneven distribution of work among staffs in the restuarant. I feel sorry for those who really do their work. The noise from the disco is far too loud and last until 2am in the morning. Hard to get a nice sleep in most buildings.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Number of return trips speak for themselves"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ross  on Jan 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
324 people found this review helpful

My wife and I have been to this resort 6 times. Going again next month. Nuff said.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Was more then I expected"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pauline  on Dec 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
297 people found this review helpful

November 20 to November 27 2010. The weather was great. Between 27 and 30. The last day was 34. Little rain but nothing to get upset about. There are many things to do between a little sprinkle. We have done so much don't know where to begin. The service was excellent. Cuban staff beautiful and friendly. Big resort and well kept. Everything you need. Doctor's office, gym, spa, lots of restaurants, bank, gift shop, post office, cigar shop, hair dressing shop, waxing, pedicures, manicures, disco, public relations for reservations and any questions you had. Our air Canada rep was very hard to reach, not there most of the time but found out they have a desk to reserve tours and whatever you need if your rep is not available. That was the only downfall was with the rep.Thank God we had the VIP because it was all arranged by public relations.

Arrival:
Our flight was very good. First time with Air Canada and will travel with them from now on. I live in Northern Ontario and used to have to drive 8 hrs to get to the airport. Left from Timmins for only 96.00 extra. Did not have to get a room. We arrived in Toronto at 1:30 and left at 4:00p.m. We arrived in Holguin at7:45 by the time we got to our resort was 10:00p.m. We had someone greeting us and brought our luggage to the room. We then went to the 24 hr buffet on the Luna side for a bite to eat then went and checked out the disco on the beach.

Rooms:
I traveled with my sobrina, eeha and amiga. We had 2 rooms side by side adjoining. I was very happy about that. Our view was spectacular. Ocean view facing the pool and the sea. Room 3034 and 3035 smack in the middle of the resort on the Mares side. Leaving our room was the most breath taken view of the mountains and vegetation. It was lush and green. We were close to the elevators. The beds were very comfortable. The room itself was a fair size with t.v. which we never used, cd player. Our fridge was stocked with beer pop and water every day. VIP you get beer but with regular room you only get 2 1 litre bottles.

Restaurants and Bars:
They have the main buffet off the lobby named Colon buffet. Lots of choice in food. You can have them cook fish, steak, pork, eggs, omelets and so on if you want something done a special way. The variety is very good. No complaints. I have been to Cuba 6 times now and I am used to their foods. My niece and my daughters friend had a hard time adjusting but most of the times it's all in peoples heads. They had someone making smoothies every morning and the juice was freshly squeezed. The Cuban coffee is awesome. You won't miss Tim Horton's.
We ate at 4 a la carte restaurants. My favorite was the French. We went to the Italian, International. You must experience the French The banana pie is to die for. Ate lobster 4 times while I was there.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Not too much of a pool person but had to try the swim up bar. The waitress was funny and very friendly. The beach, the beach!!!!! Nicest beach I have seen in all my travels in Cuba. Wide and white powdery sand with aqua waters. It was a little rough but not that much. I was told by a Cuban friend because it was the time of the year. I believe her because I have been to a resort not far from there in March and the water was calm. There is a bathroom and a snack bar on the Mares side. The beach on the Luna side is a little rocky but they also have a snack bar and a bathroom. I have been to Melias Las Dunas in Cayo Santa Maria which had no bathroom and I did not like that because it was a far walk and I don't believe in pissing in the ocean. (Pardon my language)
Going to the beach from Mares side has quite a few stairs. This hotel might be difficult for the elderly and the disabled.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Wow!!! where do I begin. We have had a few trips to Guardalavaca by horse and buggy for 20 pesos for 2 hrs. to the market to do some shopping. Lots of vendors. That is the place to buy your goods and cigars. You must also try the beach. It is also beautiful. We only stayed for 1 hr at the beach and enjoyed live entertainment. They came and sang 3 songs for us. It was very special. Going back our driver from the horse and buggy took us to the village and gave us a little history about the village and the Cuban people. Very interesting. You can take a double decker for 2 pesos but 20 pesos for a horse and buggy and a bag full of beer and a quiet and intimate ride was more enjoyable for me. He would stop and let us take pictures and so on. Good way to give stuff to the Cuban people. I have known a Cuban family for 6 years now and went to her home town in Banes.(Twice now)by taxi. It's 45 minutes away and took a cab which cost us 65.00 tourist pesos. We got there at 1p.m. and left at 8p.m. Our taxi driver was so nice and also explained about every town. He was lot's of fun. His name is Hermes. We had so much fun with him. We had Christmas in November with my Cuban family. Got all 6 of them a pair of p.j.'s and each a makeup bags for the ladies and shaving kits for the men. I wrapped the gifts with Christmas wrapping in my room. Watching them smell a bar of soap, happy to get shampoo and asking what toothpaste was, smelling the perfume and happy to get a razor with blades was very emotional for all of us. They have nothing!!!! The child picked vitamins over candies. 8 year old folding the p.j. he received and admiring it with care when we give our children clothes and they toss it waiting for the next gift. They gently opened their gift not to tear the wrapping paper. I can't begin to express what I have seen. It was very emotional.

Other Comments:
All in all in 1 week we have done quite a bit. We savored every moment. Never again will I ever go for 1 week. Not long enough. If you plan on doing tours stay for 2 weeks. If you want is just the beach 1 week is enough but why go to Cuba without learning their culture. I also have to mention the dolphin tour (bring extra pesos for photos) which you can see from the hotel(not to far). You can go half a day by bus(79.00 pesos) or take the catameran for a whole day which gives you a lobster lunch and snorkeling . I have done both at the other resorts and it's an awesome experience. You will love to walk the beach there. Lots of trees and lots of sombreas for shade. I will return to this resort. Between Playa Pesquero where I have been twice and Sol Rio de Luna y Mares resort it's a tie. Scenery and beach Mares win. Playa Pesquero night life wins. Don't get me wrong, you have to try both.(they're not too far from each other). Service was very good at both. You will love the Cuban people. Treat them with respect and you will get 10 folds. Very family oriented, respectful and happy. Every time I go, I come back with good memories and I am great full for what we have and how lucky we are to be able to leave our country to experience their culture. Don't forget to bring stuff for them. Things we take for granted like toothbrushes and toothpaste, soap, vitamins,underwear, shoes, sandals, crocks, clothes. You don't have to buy anything. Any clothes that don't fit your children or yourselves, watches you don't wear, hats you don't wear. If your tired of your summer clothes leave it. Any medication, band aids (I always packed a medicine cabinet before I go) Anything you have at home in your medicine cabinet I always buy and leave it before I go. You never know you might need it and if you don't you can leave it behind. Hope this review helps and if you have any questions you can reach me at pas_lynn@msn.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"my stay at rio de luna y mares"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  marie  on Oct 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
265 people found this review helpful

My friend and I just got back , and we stayed at sol rio de luna y mares, i don't know where to begin,,, the food was excellent, the people there were amazing , the only thing is that the rooms were old but still very clean...
entertainment was a little boring.... but besides that for me it was great..... definetly will go back........I ve been to Cuba before and i must say this hotel beat it by miles.......

Arrival:
on time

Rooms:
they can work on the rooms

Restaurants and Bars:
fantastic

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
fantastic

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
ok

Other Comments:
it was great

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best Value"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Vily  on Mar 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
274 people found this review helpful

This resort is so worth the price you pay! It should be technically a 4.5 star resort! I loved the food and the beach! You get a lot more privacy here than you would at other resorts! Everyone that worked there were so nice!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Too windy and cool"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Keith  on Mar 13, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
276 people found this review helpful

Too windy and cool...you can't control the weather but we were not expecting how cool and windy our week turned out to, certainly not a canadian winter, but not warm.You definetly needed pants and a sweater in the evening and we covered up a lot on the beach too!

Your Arrival:
We left Halifax at 7:30pm on CanJet and arrived three and a half hours later in Holguin. The hotel is about an hour from the airport. It was after midnight when we arrived at the hotel and our checkin was handled quickly.Our request for a king bed was denied, which we expected anyway.

Rooms:
Our room, 2026, had just been painted. It was clean and everything worked. The AC was working and everything in the bathroom worked.That was a relief.The room was clean.We could see the ocean from our balcony. The balcony was private, enclosed. We liked that. The door did not lock, but we didn't complain about this since it hardly seemed important.Staff are very honest.Some things in our daughters rooms were not replenished quickly enough, toilet paper and hand soap, but not a major issue.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate at three a-la-cartes:International,Italian,and we are not sure what the third was.The Italian was our favorite.There was also a special Transat dinner on the beach, which was a letdown...another buffet.We were getting tired of the food after a week, however the flambayed bananas were a delight...excellent! The buffet staff were awesome, friendly and good service.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very nice beach, clean and no problem with getting a chaise any time of the day.The hotel staff will deliver one to any part of the beach you request...a great service some other resorts should emulate.I forgot and left my hat under the chaise the first day of our vacation when we left the beach.The next day when we returned to the beach I inquired if there was a Lost and Found,but my Spanish and his English lost something.A few minutes later he came over with my "sombrero".Where could you go in the Carribean and find such honest, kind and caring people, genuinely interested in making your vacation enjoyable.I would take some water shoes as there were some rocks exposed at the waters edge by the stong winds we experienced all week.We enjoyed snorkeling from the beach, lots of sand dollars to dive for, and some coral reefs a bit futhur out with some fish too.The other hotel on the beach is the Paridissus.The grounds of the hotel have an ecletic mixture of feral cats, horses, chickens and goats.The meowling cats and urine smell became a bit annoying near our rooms one night.We were all delighted with the animals.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There is not much in Quardalavacca, open air market, nice beach. Four of us took a taxi in for $5CUC and a horse and buggy back for $10CUC.Nice experience. The next day we took bikes in for some exercise, about a fifteen minute ride.We went on the catamarran/snorkelling excursion but nearly froze as the weather was cloudy and cool all day.We left from the port of Antilla, about an hour bus ride from the resort.The cat is fairly cramped with about 60 people on board, but it has good washrooms, and the staff serve drinks during the entire cruise.The snorkeling was not that great, but the meal on the island(Cayo Sartia) we landed on was excellent. While on the Island we took the wild Safari ride on the back of a huge truck, $9 CUC each, which our daughters enjoyed immensely. There are several species of African animals, including zebras and ostriches scattered about. Our driver, Cesar, stopped to feed the ostrich bananas.

Other Comments:
All the staff we met at the hotel were great and will do anything they can to ensure you have a nice vacation. The service was friendly.We tipped at all our meals and brought things for the maids we left in the room, and tipped whenever we had good service, which was everywhere.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Sol Río De Luna y Mares FEB 4-19"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mike  on Mar 13, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
288 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Sol Rio de Luna y Mares Resort from Feb 4th-19th. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Rooms:
We were on the Luna side in 8013 and the room were very spacious and clean with a King bed. There is a fridge, hair dryer and large full size bath

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet had a large choice and the food was good. We enjoyed all of the ala carte restaurants, with the exception of the Santa Maria which served rather dry sheesh kabobs. The French ala carte was excellent.
The staff were friendly and accommodating throughout the resort.
Lisney is a young lady who works at the reception desk on the Luna side. She is a walking history of Cuba and very proud of her country. She is a delight to chat with.
There is a picture #50 in the attached URL.
The piano bar also had an interesting young man playing who was very good. I have a couple of (poor quality) video clips taken with my camera attached as well.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is beautiful and extremely wide. Once you get to the water however, you must beware of the coral rocks, which are only a short way out. If the waves are large, you could have a hard time getting back in without skinning something. The grounds are well kept and other than sawed-off trees (which are re-growing), there is not much sign of the hurricane. Outside of the 8000 block of rooms (and just above the French restaurant), there are gardens where they grow their own flowers, herbs and yes,
the mint for the mojitos.
The bad:
I have never been a victim of mosquitoes or other insects previously but they found me there-big time. I don’t know what they were
-(sandflys?) but I had bites all over my feet and lower legs. I never once felt being bitten but they sure irritated later. I had 95% DEET with me, which prevented subsequent bites. They never bothered my wife at all. I did see several folks walk by that were also bitten. I would advise anyone to carry some kind of DEET bug repellent with them.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We hired a cab to take us into Guardalavaca to look around. He waited for us while we meandered around the marketplace. We also took a horse/buggy ride to the country. We visited a small farming area which there are also pictures of.
On the resort itself, there is an eco-tour which I would recommend. You should request the services of the guide who is very knowledgeable and makes it much more worth while.
There is also a small zoo about 2 Km from the resort. We took bicycles and had a very enjoyable time. The zoo keeper (a veterinarian) was very helpful and informative.
While walking about, I almost stepped on an Iguana (picture 44, 45) He had escaped last fall and the keeper said he was better off free and that he wasn’t going to go anywhere anyway, since he fed them. (good attitude)

Other Comments:
The Ugly:
We did have an unpleasant experience during our stay.
One day, we were reading in loungers at the small pool on the Luna side. Workers began hauling tables out around the pool at about 10:30 AM, until we were finally enclosed. A staff person came to us and asked if we had ala carte reservations for that night (we did not) and would we like to come to a lobster dinner that evening. We accepted the offer with the understanding it was made to compensate for the inconvenience at that pool.

We arrived at 8:30 PM and were seated. My wife left at 9:45 PM after no service. At 10, I became agitated and demanded to see the manager... After that it became ugly.
The next morning after breakfast we found a bottle of rum and a letter in our room, apologizing for any inconvenience and offering us a special lobster dinner that evening. We accepted their apology and went and had a lovely experience (except that we were centred out by ourselves like royalty) with a very good meal. The head waiter went out of his way to make sure everything was perfect. He confided that the wait-staff was hung out to dry for the fiasco the previous evening.
The letter I received also asked if I could meet with the General Manager on the following morning-and boy, could I ever.
We met and I immediately detected his inference to the wait-staff as the problem. I wasted no time informing him that it was not them who were the problem but the management, who organized this affair, with too many people, with too few staff and not enough food. I also illustrated a few other *management* problems such as the chronic absence of glasses at the fresh orange juice counter
at breakfast. I pointed out that it was not the fault of the man crushing the oranges in the machine nor that of the dishwasher. It was obviously a management problem for not having enough glasses. Lo and behold -and to their credit, the next morning (and the rest of our stay), there were no more line ups waiting for glasses.

As a final gesture and an attempt to attract us back, he made an offer to give us an upgrade on a future visit, to an oceanfront suite, with mini-bar service, ala carte every night, all inclusive massage etc. We accepted his offer and he said that he would have the necessary paperwork prepared. The day before we were leaving, we met him as we were leaving the buffet and he mentioned that everything would be ready by our departure the next day...We haven’t heard from him since.
For this deception alone, we will never return to this resort and I cannot recommend it. It is probably an isolated incident but it shows me the sincerity of the management and how much they really care. They could do well, to take an example from their staff.

I will be copying this to Sol Melia as well as the Sol Rio de Luna y Mares.

Photos: http://picasaweb.google.com/mribotto/LunaYMares?feat=directlinkp://

Videos: http://picasaweb.google.com/mribotto/PianoBar?feat=directlink

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Refreshing and Relaxing Resort"

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sean  on Jan 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
208 people found this review helpful

I haven't traveled in Cuba before as I had heard medioker reviews in the past. My wife has been several times and stayed almost everywhere, she booked us in at the Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort as she said it was one of the best she has stayed at in Cuba. I have traveled quite extencively in Mexico, DR and over seas, so to say I have high expectations is an understatement. The resort lived up to those expectations.

Rooms:
The rooms were as expected, smaller but with good beds, nice bathrooms and a great view. The bedding was clean, the room itself was spotless and the decore was ver cuban!

Restaurants and Bars:
I had heard that the food in Cuba was usualy pretty bad. I found the food at Luna y Mares to be great for an all inclucive. You are limited, like elsewhere in Cuba to more localy grown fair, and you won't see a lot of imported food or drink. I found that there was a great selection of Pork, beef, Chicken and amazing seafood, the lunch and dinner buffets have a fresh fish grill going with a huge variety of fresh fish. I was told that because it is a spanish owner resort, they have access to more imports from Spain then non spanish owned resorts, I don't know if that is true or not, but the selection was great. Breakfast was good to. They have great coffee, fresh squeezed OJ and a varity of cold ceareals to compliment the hot food offered. All and all, I'd have to say that the food was better then any resort I've been in in Mexico or DR. I recomend the Burger at the 24 hour snack bar...it was amazing. If you are looking for good service for your drinks, see Jenny at the pool bar....she is a breath of fresh air!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The 2 pools were kept very clean and the main pool was a great size. The pool on the Luna size is smaller, but a great place to hang out without all the poolside games. The beach is wonderful, what flour like sand, and becausse it is a pricate cove for the 3 local resorts, it was not very busy. You could always find a chair. There is great snorkeling at the end of the beach and in 8 feet of water you could spend all day looking at the great fish! It was like swimming in a huge aquariaum

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Clean but boring....."

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Disappointed  on Jan 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
186 people found this review helpful

Departed Toronto on Sunwing Airlines after leaving one and a half hours late..due to the removal of nine passengers....which we never found out why only from heresay...The service on this charter is fabulous...it is like years ago when we were treated well....champagne breakfast which was hot and very tasty...hot towels is always a nice gesture...free pillows etc etc...the flight attendants are so nice and continually came round to see if we needed anything unlike other airlines where they disappear after an hour only to see them again shortly before landing.we paid more to have the extra leg room which was so well worth it....I will be flying Sunwing whenever I can.....

Your Arrival:
Arrival went very well..through customs also what was when I got my suitcase a customs came up to me and said he needed to go through my suitcase...he pulled out my travelling kettle and asked me what it was...he didn't understand me so had to ask another agent close by she asked me what it was also I told her it was a kettle to boil water to make tea or coffee....this cleared up the situation quickly...got on the bus and everything was very quick and efficient... At the resort our check-in was quite fast...

Rooms:
We had the perfect room, view, size, cleanliness.... room 2061 on the Mares side....beds were comfy. the only gripe we had were the bedspreads there were rough and scratchy...looked like they had been made out of curtain material..put the blanket on instead and we were comfortable...Our housekeeper Minerva was so nice and our room was spotless our whole week...we brought a couple of jackets, Tylenol, aspirin and candies for her kids....she was sp appreciative..also I brought a new pair of men's sandals which we gave to the gardener...people seem to forget them sometimes..we also tipped Minerva quite well the day before we left because apparently others go in the rooms before the maids get to them and take what people have left...so if you are pleased with your housekeeper give it to her personally before you leave...this way you know she gets it...

Restaurants and Bars:
Food at the Colon was very repeticious...same old every meal...poor quality of food...roast pork was very tough looked good but couldn't chew it..bread totally tasteless except the odd time we found good buns...bring coffemate because they don't have that anywhere...their milk is quite different...the pasta bar was a lifesaver....very good as long as you tell them to cook it a bit longer so it will be hot....porridge would have been nice but there wasn't any...ate at the Italian, the appetizer was to die for...parmesan cheese with balsamic vinegar with crispy bread to dip in...the Lasagna had big chunks of hamburger in with little sauce...not very good !! The french one we had heard people raving about disappointed us...the Lobster bisque had a very strong fishy taste..ans salty....the grilled shrimps and rice were very tasty...also the roast pork...We as well as others were asking for different wine..they serve the same wine everywhere...both the red and white tasted awful...people were leaving their glasses full..it is the quality of everything and not the quantity that leaves a lot to be desired

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach access not easy for people with handicaps....beach was gorgeous excpet for the very thick sand which made it hard for walking unless you were were right near the water...the ocean water was very warm unlike the pools that are not heated and are freezing cold...they were pretty empty...the grounds are immaculate..place needs more flowers--color missing...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
This section is why us and a lot of people we spoke to will never go back to this resort...boring, boring , boring.....every resort I have been to has daily actvities and entertainment...water volleyball, 2 drinking games and what they call crazy games which we saw twice in one week....was the extent of "daily activities" the weather wasn't the best so people sitting around the Mares pool were very bored....let's just say they didn't do anything except play music and stand around the lobby doing nothing...shame on the animation team... we took the horse and buggy into Guardalavaca one day. we enjoyed the ride and the few vendors that were there..they don't harass you like thay do in Jamaica.... The computer room need some new keyboards. they are in bad shape with their letters missing... Locks on the lobby washroom doors should be put on...this is neglect....

Other Comments:
If this resort would up their food quality and change their animation team..get some employees with a little bit of up and go in them..it would be an awesome place....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The buffet was amazing."

Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort
User Rating:  Sol Río de Luna y Mares Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Shan  on Jan 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
182 people found this review helpful

The hotel is actually two that have been combined into 1 - the older and the newer. We stayed in the older area of the hotel and it was faboulous. We had a small leak in our room - it was fixed immediately - hotel and plumber could not have been more accomodating. The rooms were large and a great view of the ocean. Bed was comfortable. Room was kept immaculate. Staff were friendly. I lost my camera and the whole resort was looking for it even though I only mentioned it to the desk clerk. We met staff outside of the hotel - on a side trip and they were welcoming and friendly. We woudl highly recommend this hotel - not only for the comfort and cleanliness but for the staff. The food was very good. The buffet was amazing.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beautiful white sand , small coral reef just off the main beach were you could just swim out to if you chose.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
horseback riding - short but interesting, horses were in excellant condition and treated well. Side day trip to Santiago de Cuba. We hired a taxi and the driver. Couldn't have found a better tour guide and friend.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube