Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Granma Province Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sierra Maestra

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 22, 2014

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo  

Km 12 1/2 Marea del Portillo, Pilon, Gramma, Cuba

"basically heaven on earth"
Posted by: darlington on Sep 10, 2014
see all reviews

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Reviews
Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Pictures and Information
Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Granma Province Cuba

#1
of 4 Hotels in Granma Province

User rating 3.4

Based on 34 reviews

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Information


Club Amigo Marea del Portillo is a complex that include Farallon del Caribe and Marea del Portillo properties.

The complex is surrounded harmoniously by the combination of the Caribbean Sea with all its attributes, and the mountain; giving it a matchless beauty and offering to its guest a pleasant stay, in a tropical atmosphere that offers security and tranquility, ideal for vacations with the family, Honeymoons, Diving, activities with the nature and more.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Reviews

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 3.4 of 5 34 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  17
Average
  8
Poor
  5
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (33)
Party (1)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (10)
Solo Traveller (9)
With friend (4)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
1 - 10 of 34

"basically heaven on earth"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  darlington  on Sep 10, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
11 people found this review helpful

Basically, the hotel is like heaven on earth, the serenity is amazing, very quiet yet good place. The landscape is something else, beautiful cannot begin to quantify it but it is very pretty. The room has a nice balcony where you can sit and watch people from there; it is such a good view. The pool is nice and then the swim up pool is great because they serve tropical drinks. I read plenty of reviews before I went to this place and all of them had nothing but good things to say about the hotel so I had to go see for myself what the fuzz was all about. I even had an expectation of what the place would be like but what I saw was way above what I expected, it was simply an amazing vacation for me and I will come here for my honeymoon as soon I prepare for the trip. The food choices were way better than some hotels I have gone to, although sometimes, they had little choices than normal but the ones they had was great. The entertainment team really tried their best; they made sure everybody was happy. They had or put up shows to entertain their guests and it was fun. Marea del Portillo is a nice place, overall the area is peaceful and relaxing and I couldn’t have asked for a better time in Cuba than what I experienced. Thanks to the management for a great time in their hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Quite surprised"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Johana  on Apr 30, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
40 people found this review helpful

Great place to relax and take in fabulous scenic views. Will definitely return.

Room Number:
10

Room Block:
Marea del Portillo Cabana section

Arrival:
Sunwing is the only company that flies to Manzanillo de Cuba, for this resort. The arrival was in the evening, no delays, and flight is just under 4 hours. Please try to get the elite plus package with Sunwing, as you will get more leg room on the plane, and extra 10kg luggage allowance, which is less stressful, when you are packing. I know, my husband always says, why do you need to pack so much, but I seem to pack everything and anything, and that extra 10kg gives me a backup, in case I ran over the regular baggage allowance, which I think these days is 20 kg.

Customs did took a while to go through, but because we were the only passengers being picked up for the resort, we did not worry about losing our bus, etc.

After Customs, because we had the elite plus, our luggage was already out waiting for us. Got out of the airport, and we were received by the Sunwing representative, who had our hotel check-in card and room information already for us.

I had my husband pick up the hotel information, while I went to the exchange and got some Cuban convertible pesos.

The ride to the airport is a bit long--brochure says 1.5 hours, but it is close to 2 hours. Conditions of the road are terrible, hence, the longer ride.

The reception at the hotel greeted us and gave us one key for the room. That did not matter to us, but I believe some quests traveling as friends had issue with that. I am not sure if they managed to get the second key from them or not.

Rooms:
We were booked for the Cabana VIP package. Cabanas are in the older section of the resort or what repeaters referred to as down the hill section. This resort consists of two sections--up the hill (Farallon), and down the hill (Marea). Farallon seemed a newer than Marea, but they only have hotel styled rooms and no cabanas. Cabanas rooms are in bungalows, I guess, a bit more spacious than regular rooms. If you do get cabanas, ask for oceanview, as you will see it right off your terrace or balcony window. The location of our room was great, as it was very close to the beach and beach bar, but far enough from the main pool and bar, where night entertainments took place at night.

Rooms are quite all and tired looking, but chambermaids did their best to keep them clean. The sheets were clean and towels were clean and plenty. I believe the resort is 30 plus years old, so you need to keep that in mind, that it will not be all modern looking.

Washroom was spacious, but only had a shower. We had plenty of hot water, but others in other cabanas complained that they did not have any hot water at all. The water power was not strong, but we were able to take shower every day. If you be-friend the chambermaid, you can ask for extra towels and toilet paper, which in Cuba seems a high priced commodity. But while we were there, although it lacked some luxury, we were happy and comfortable.

Each room has separate air conditioner, and it seems to be in a fine working condition. We never had problems with it, and we stayed cool the entire stay.

Restaurants and Bars:
There are four restaurants in the two resorts. One buffet and one a la carte at Marea, and one buffet and one a la carte at Farallon. Each section also had a snack bar, where you can get hot dogs, sandwiches and hamburgers during the late afternoons.

This is a three star resort and it is in Cuba, so food, although always prepared well, nothing to write home about. They had varieties, so no one starved. In fact, by the middle of our vacation, my husband, who is a picky eater, did not complain at all and enjoyed what he was offered.

Bars were always plentiful and bartenders always willing to make you anything you asked them to. I even got an idea from a fellow traveler and started to ask them to make a banana smoothie, by setting a side a banana at breakfast or lunch, and they were more than happy to make that for me. Although, if you just want a smoothie without alcohol, let them know. (I made a mistake of not telling them the first time, and although very delicious, I was a bit light headed from the alcohol--but that's just me).

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds were always kept clean by the staff. Pools were clean as well. The beach was clean, but make sure you take beach shoes with you, as they have gravels and rocks in the water.

Also, if you are booked at Farallon, your beach is not right out by your door. You need to walk down a path downhill, as Farallon is up the hill. So, most guests who wanted the beach, will come down to Marea to enjoy the beach. Walk down is about 10 minutes and I am a slow walker, but they also do have shuttle golf carts during the day. In the evening, you can hire a cab for one Cuban convertible peso to take you up the hill or down the hill.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
If you book for a VIP package, you get certain excursions included with it. We did not regret the purchase of the VIP package. The excursions include:
1. a sunset cruise, which is beautiful, and a must see;
2. two trips to Cayo Blanco for the day. They take you out to a remote island and they cook you BBQ lunch. On one of the trips you will get a voucher for a half a lobster each per person.
3. a picnic hike around the resort. Surprisingly, this was a very informative and a good tour. You get to see how the locals live and farm in that region. Beautiful scenic views. It is about a 2.5 hour tour, and we enjoyed every minute of it. Alex, the tour guide was very nice and very informative.

Other Comments:
If you are looking for a luxurious resort with all of its flashy amenities, this is not the place for you. The resort is clean but old and nothing has been modernized.

I think it is what you make of your vacation. If you are going to find everything and anything wrong, then you will definitely find that here. But, if you go into this with open mind, and realize this is Cuba, and that you are in a three star resort, you will have fun.

Check out the night entertainments. They were fabulous. We have been to resorts in Dominican Republic, both 4 stars and 4.5 stars, and the entertainment here was MUCH better!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Five star service, wonderful weather"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  eeeefarm  on Apr 14, 2014  >  10 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | With friend
35 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
415

Arrival:
We travelled with Sunwing and arrived half an hour early, however the bus was delayed leaving for the resort because of line ups at the airport Cadeca. Our bus trip was unfortunately taken in the dark. Once at the hotel, we were met with welcome cocktails and music, and check in was quick and efficient. A bell boy escorted me to my room, which had the air conditioning running and a light on to greet me. The fridge was stocked with beer, soft drinks, water, and juice. A bottle of rum and a bottle of wine were also included in my VIP package.

Rooms:
My room was spacious, had ample room in the closet and plenty of hangers for my clothes, and also four drawers available. There was a full length mirror as one of the closet doors, and of course a safe. (included in the VIP package). The beds were comfortable and not as hard as I usually find in Cuba. The bathroom had a walk in shower, no tub. Everything worked well except for the fluorescent light in the bathroom, which was sometimes a bit reluctant to ignite. Hot water for the shower required patience, but showed up eventually after running the tap for several minutes. The balcony was a perfect place to sit, and the view over the bay was wonderful.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet restaurant had an outdoor section, which was our choice every time. The indoor area isn't air conditioned, and outside had a cooling breeze. Remember not to sit in a sunny area at supper! But breakfast was very pleasant outside. Service was good, coffee was delivered promptly to the table for breakfast, and at other meals orders for beer or wine or whatever were taken soon after we sat down.

The food was fairly typical for Cuba, and the bread particularly was nice and fresh every day. Real butter was provided, unlike at the five star I visited in February, which had only trans fat margarine.

The a la carte was very nice, did have air conditioning.....which was a bit anemic, but at least running.....and the food was good. We visited both the a la carte at Farallon and at sister resort Marea, which was also good.

The snack bar had coffee available early in the morning, and it was a treat to sit and enjoy the view while sipping a cappuccino before breakfast. Several lunches were served at the snack bar, buffet style, instead of at the buffet. It was a pleasant change, and the food provided was good and fresh. I noticed no problems with flies.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is dark sand, which is not so esthetically pleasing as white, and also gets hot underfoot. We didn't spend much time at the beach, except to visit for sailing. The palapas are located in front of Marea, and there seemed to be good availability of shade and chairs.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did the Cayo Blanco excursion on the three days it was available. We enjoyed snorkelling and sailing from the island, and the white sand was pleasing to the eye when we rested or had lunch. Food was good, with several choices on the grill. I'm vegetarian, so squash, potatoes, and a rice dish kept me satified.

The one thing that really needs to be addressed on the island is the appalling state of the washrooms. It is a good plan to make sure you won't be needing them for anything urgent, and you can always resort to using the ocean as a "swim up bar".

Other Comments:
I need to mention the front desk staff. They were always very pleasant and helpful. Changing money was done professionally, and a receipt was provided.

I would recommend the Farallon as an excellent choice in this area. If a person had mobility issues, the Marea might be a better fit, in which case the cabanas with VIP option would be the way to go. I found walking back and forth between the resorts an easy ten minute trip, and if you prefer a cab or buggy, they are available for 1 CUC. We did use a cab for our a la carte dinner at Marea, otherwise the walk was preferable for us. Farallon has several levels and stairs are necessarily involved, e.g. the buffet is on the second floor.

Quibbles: I had some difficulty with the key card to my room. It generally took a few attempts to get it to work. OTOH, it didn't bother me enough to get it reprogrammed. The hot water, as mentioned, took a while to come and was rarely very hot, although adequate for a shower.

Photos: http://s11.photobucket.com/user/eeeefarm/library/Farallon?sort=6&page=1

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"reception can be sneaky"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  paul gordon  on Jul 24, 2013  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2013 | Leisure | Solo
94 people found this review helpful

I have stayed here 8 times and invited a baseball friend to toom with me
over the last year and never had a problem.
july 3rd- the reception tricked me and gave my friend a separate room key and there was problems- the Cubans locales do not have access to free booze and if they have their own room- they will over drink- and that is what happened
the front reception was sneaky- and did not tell me on wed july 3rd that they gave my Cuban friend a separate room key- and therefore he got drunk- and I was imbarressed- they should listen to my wishes- since I spend over 5,000 per year coming to this resort-
other than that- it has safe cycling- and is good value for the funds
no one likes to be tricked- Canadians are not stupid people.
one of my Cuban friends has stayed with me over the past year each trip in my room and the booze was controlled- and I never had a problem until the last trip
horseback riding good
breakfast is good
rooms are clean
wasaga beach Ontario
canada

Other Comments:
thanks goodness for debbies comments
tripadvisor is a joke
with there 3 month policy- for someone like me who goes to cuba once per month

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"8 times and coming back"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  paul gordon  on Apr 16, 2013  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Leisure | Solo
109 people found this review helpful

quiet
good service
polite
good value
good beach
good fresh food with a smile
two section hotels to choose from
they have 1 dollar pesos at front desk
2 computers
new scooters and bicycles
taxies out front to go to pillon
ping pong-pool-tennis-voliball
POSSIBLE improvements
toronto airport sucks- no wonder it is voted the worst airport in north american- they tell us- luggage belt number 13- we wait 30 min- and it came out on belt number 9- then they locked us in when we got off the plane- 200 people were locked inside- i had to go back to the plane- to tell the man to open the doors????- then - i tell the immigration woman this- so she has my luggage checked- and found nothing wrong- then i paid for the valet parking and- i had the ruddist woman serve me- and i caught a cold - and had to wait 40 min for the truck to be pulled up- why did the woman on the pickup truck give us the phone number to call- so they could warm up our cars- poor poor service toronto airport!!!!!!!!
hotel improvements
1) we need canadian bacon!!!
2) shampoo in the room
3) entertainment more than 1 time per week at lower hotel
4) keep pesos avail at the front desk
over all very good value
and i will be returning
friendly and good service

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"best time ever"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Maggie  on Mar 9, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
129 people found this review helpful

I have been to this hotel probably over 45 times. I love Marea del Portillo, the location, the people, the scenery, the friends I have there. I have brought so many of my friends and family members to this area, it is wonderful. I can relax and have fun, go places and do exactly what I want to do, from having a massage, exercising in the pool, walking from one hotel to the other and participating in bingo or other games for a prize of a bottle of great tasting RUM!!! Last year alone I was there 3 times and 1 time in Cayo Coco, Cuba. Now that I am retired, I can come and go anytime I choose and take some different friends with me each time. I enjoy everything about this area, the horses, the iguanas and the fishing excursions are the best. Going to Cayo Blanco is always a treat, have the lobster lunch, the best ever, the swimming in the water at the island is always the best. Going out in the water with the paddle boat, it's new and it gives you some exercise and a tan, being in the water. You work up an appetite and then after lunch, rest up and get a tan in the hot sun!!! Go there to experience the Cuban culture, meet the people who look after your needs, entertain you and feed you, they are great and always welcoming. You won't have only one vacation there, you will go back, i promise you that for sure.

Room Number:
Cabana 8

Room Block:
2nd block

Arrival:
Was greeted with a drink, didn't drink at the time, but was pleased to be offered. Great staff welcomed us. Baggage brought to our rooms by staff. Know everyone there, so there was lots of hugs and kisses on arrival. Fast front desk service, got rooms we asked for ahead of time, not a problem.

Rooms:
Cabanas, no problem

Restaurants and Bars:
Great service, got what we asked for, no problem, the food was cooked, sometimes not hot enough, but edible.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We led the water exercises while the staff was not feeling well enough, no problem for us. The pool was warm enough to into every day. The grounds were well manicured, the gardeners were there every day, keeping the flowers and shrubs well cut and looking great.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Always took part in all activities every day, played games, in and out of the water, down on the beach, or playing and winning bingo.

Other Comments:
Love this resort, everything about it!!!! Went back again and again, will be back soon again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Once you go you will go back"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Barb  on Oct 30, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
154 people found this review helpful

The Staff at the Resort are wonderful. They make you feel at home and the reason you will go back. I had a wonderful time with the lovely Pool and scenery. The staff were alway there to look after everything you needed with a smile and nothing was too much. I could go back alone and not feel alone.
The Entertainment was always exciting and the Dancers were very professional. We enjoyed the Band and the dancing that we did. The island trip Cayo Blanco was worth the trip and their food there was delicious. Of the 5 of us that went 4 will definitely be back. At Maria del Portello the kayak sailing was fun and an adventure. Our guide was very informative on the sail. Security is also on the ball and I felt very safe there. Someone said 2 weeks and I said yes and I could stay another. The Cabana deal if you go VIP is worth it with the things you receive, check it out.
I hope all is safe there due to the Hurricane and God Bless

Room Number:
7

Room Block:
Cabana

Arrival:
Oct 9/12

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Safe Place to Vacation"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Eric  on Sep 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
182 people found this review helpful

We visited the Marea del Portillo for 2 weeks for the 10th time March 29, 2012. We enjoy going to this resort for a quite peaceful vacation. It is not a 5 star resort but has everything we require. Also the price is a great value for what you get. One of the outstanding features are the friendly staff that have always been kind to us. We have visited some of their homes and had some meals with them. We were always treated with respect. We always bring an assortment of small gifts that are appreciated.

This resort has many repeat visitors. If you should go there on a vacation, you will find out why. The staff will make you feel at home. Be sure to treat them as you would like to be treated. Remember these people work hard and have very little.

We always book the VIP package which gives you a lot of extras for very little cost. This includes the safe cost along with free sunset cruises, trips to a beautiful nearby island and a lobster lunch. I mention the safe, please use it for your valuables, and you will not have any problems.

Something to be aware of. Sunwing is the only airline that flies to this resort. Make sure that your luggage is not overweight. Otherwise you will pay over $10.00 per pound for the extra weight. There are no exceptions. We found out the hard way.

Our next trip is November 7, 2012. We have met a family in the nearby village that is expecting a baby girl in late October. For this special occasion we wanted to bring this family a small stroller. We have purchased the extra weight from Sunwing Airlines but we still do not have enough weight left. This stroller weighs approx. 11 pounds, and would be free if it were to accompany a family with a child. The family could use the stroller while at the resort - and leave it with a designated staff member at the end of their vacation. The stroller can be brought to the resort any time this fall or spring of 2013.

If you can help, please contact us. More information about the stroller is on the following web page: http://www.kinglisting.com/stroller.html

Room Number:
Cabana 12

Arrival:
Airport in Manzanello is small.

Rooms:
Rooms were always made up daily and were clean. Make sure you leave a tip or gift for the maid on a daily basis.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bars were always stocked with beer and rum. Plenty to drink - Cuban products only.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds were kept in reasonable condition. Horses, goats and pigs roam the grounds. We enjoy watching them.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Evening entertainmet - Cuban style. Very basic.

Other Comments:
Will continue to return to this resort. Usually go at the same times each year. Other return visitors usually do this too. Very important to us is being safe.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Most relaxing beautiful resort in Cuba"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Katrina  on Apr 5, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
271 people found this review helpful

I have been traveling to Marea Del Portillo for 15 years. I have met many warm hospitable Cubans and even some tourists that I will cherrish their friendship for ever.
For the money this is a very safe, clean and friendly resort. I now live in Alberta and have to fly to Toronto and then to Cuba. It is a long tiring journey but well worth it when I arrive.
For anyone who takes the V.I.P. package which includes a day trip to Cayo Blanco and for some reason you can not go to Cayo Blanco you can request to have your fabulous lobster dinner in the dining room. You must give the staff a day or 2 notice so they can arrange for the lobster to be brought into the resort for you.
Take plenty of Benydryl tablets if you have allergic reaction to mosquito's at home. It will help reduce the itchiness from the no-see-um's. Also pack some Imodium as you will probably eat more fresh fruit and salad then you are used to at home.
Another word of advice, go to your family doctor and ask for DUKORAL . It is an oral vaccine that will prevent travellers .
Last but not least, remember that the one thing that can ruin your vacation is dehydration. If you find you have the runs and aren't all that hungry, you could be suffering from dehydration. All the bars and restaurants have bottled mineral water which if you consume a liter per day minimum should balance your system and get you back to normal. You can also purchase the same bottles of mineral water from the gift shops to have in your room fridge for only 70 cents.
Do not hesitate to stray off the resort, it is 100 per cent safe.

Room Number:
14

Room Block:
Ocean view Cabana

Arrival:
The landing of the plane was smooth as silk. You deplane right on the Tarmac and walk into the airport customs and security. Very friendly people. Once you go through that phase then you need to patiently have to wait for your luggage. As a smoker I find that part difficult as I only want to get outside for a smoke,lol. Once you get your luggage there will be Elana from Sunwing close the the refreshment stand with an envelope with your name on the outside and your hotel reservation card and your wrist band inside. Just as you exit the terminal on your right there is a place to exchange your Canadian money into Cuban CUC. You will need a few CUC to buy a beer or soft drink for the bus trip to the resort. The large buses are air conditioned and quite comfortable.

Rooms:
The rooms and Caban's are clean and quite nice. All have safes in them so you can store your passport and other valuables. Your maid will reset the safe for you and then you chose your own code.

Restaurants and Bars:
The dining room at both Marea and Farillon are clean and the varity of food is good. Remember you are in a 3rd world country and don't expect more than they have available to them. You can get a fresh omlette or eggs fried the way you want them every morning at the grill on the outside of the dining room. I had a glass of red wine every night with dinner this trip but that is usually subject to availability. The alacarte restaurant is Italian food and is quite tasty. You need to reserve your table after 2pm at the pool bar area at Marea.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is black coral sand and can get quite hot on the bare feet so bring sandals or flip flops. Watch for the flags on the beach to see how high or low the under tow is. The beach is raked every morning very early, so if you are looking for shells you need to be up early. There have been some really heavy storms in the area in recent months and that is why there are some rocks along the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
You can stay on the resort and just relax, drink and soak up the sun or take some of the tours they have arranged. It all depends on how active you want to be. The evening shows are quite entertaining.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The marea only gets better!!!"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  paul gordon  on Mar 25, 2012  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
230 people found this review helpful

got 100 km of cycling in for the week- along the ocean road
deviled eggs and canadian bacan for breakfast
fresh fish for lunch
better entertainment this trip- the band is so so so talented
room clean- and good maid service
excellent security for marea hotel
new scooters!!
electric car worked
never ran out of beer!!
they listened to and obtained a second computer!!
money exchange was 97 wow wow wow!!!!
NEGATIVES
SUNWING- dinged me for 220.00 for overweight- when the second suitcase was full of baby supplies, running shoes, flashlight, sunglasses- baseball gloves etc- humanitarian supplies- i will deal with sunwing- i have spent 30.000.00 in last 9 yrs going to cuba.
sunwing has always been fair- in the past with me!!!
- they need to move the fresh water machine back to the fast food - takes too long asking the bartender for fresh water all the time.
ALSO- HIRE THE YOUNG MECHANIC FOR THE BICYCLES- there is only 4 bikes that work for the tourists- out of 25- which need tires and tubes- he is not working - i went to his house in marea and gave his wife many baby things- they have a 3 month year old boy named paul-pablo-
over all a wonderfull vacation
marea staff- be proud- it is my cielo heaven for peace and happiness
i luv the locals- i took them out for some dinners which was a treat for them
senor denero abrazo
from wasaga beach
ontario canada

Arrival:
fast

Rooms:
clean

Restaurants and Bars:
good food and service

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
gooed

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
need to anounce for volley ball for 11.00am each day with port. speaker

Other Comments:
i will be back next winter with sunwing
dec 1
jan 5
feb 9
march 15th

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube