Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Granma Province Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sierra Maestra

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 22, 2014

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo  

Km 12 1/2 Marea del Portillo, Pilon, Gramma, Cuba

"Fantastic Views at a good resort"
Posted by: Art  on Feb 14, 2016
see all reviews

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Reviews
Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Pictures and Information
Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Granma Province Cuba

#1
of 4 Hotels in Granma Province

User rating 3.4

Based on 42 reviews

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Information


Club Amigo Marea del Portillo is a complex that include Farallon del Caribe and Marea del Portillo properties.

The complex is surrounded harmoniously by the combination of the Caribbean Sea with all its attributes, and the mountain; giving it a matchless beauty and offering to its guest a pleasant stay, in a tropical atmosphere that offers security and tranquility, ideal for vacations with the family, Honeymoons, Diving, activities with the nature and more.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Reviews

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 3.4 of 5 42 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  20
Average
  11
Poor
  6
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (42)
Party (1)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (10)
Solo Traveller (12)
With friend (5)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (13)
Solo
1 - 10 of 42

"Fantastic Views at a good resort"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Art  on Feb 14, 2016  >  7 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2016 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
31 people found this review helpful

We have another option for our January trips to Cuba; Marea Del Portillo in the Farallon section. So there is no confusion, this is a 3 star resort but the beauty of this gem is its very rural location between the Sierra Maestra and the Caribbean. The weather was as expected and the view from the resort (and our room) was great with both the mountains and the Caribbean greeting us every morning. For this trip we took advantage of the VIP option. This resort is made up of two, The Farallon with its superior rooms rooms located on the top of the hill overlooking the beach and sea, and the Marea section, with its superior bungalows closer to the beach. Both are well laid out with about a 10 minute walk between the two. They say 3 but youíd have to be moving pretty fast. For context we are retired empty nesters in our early 60ís and have enjoyed many trips to Cuba, all at various AIís. This trip was from Jan 13th to 27th, 2016.

Room Number:
4th floor

Arrival:
The check in was a pretty smooth as most of the info was completed on the bus prior to getting there which took about 1hour and 40 minutes. As it was at night there was nothing to see, but our late afternoon return to the airport was much more interesting as we went through many villages and towns. We had a nice room on the 4th floor with a fabulous view.

Rooms:
The room was comfortable and while the fan for the air conditioner was a bit loud, it did provide some decent white noise. Hot water was rare, ok none but it did get warm enough for a bearable shower late afternoon. The maid did a good job keeping the room clean and it was nicely located but then most of them were. The VIP option gave us a few extras such as the no charge for the safe, a sunset cruise, a lobster dinner and trips to Cayo Blanco (white sand beach island). We were also greeted with 2 bottles of rum and 2 bottles of wine plus nicely stocked fridge with beer, pop and juice.

Restaurants and Bars:
The resort seemed to be fairly well booked however there was always seating areas around the bars and lounges available and the service was always pleasant and quick. For most of this review Iím referring to the Farallon section where we spent most of our time. The food was decent and nice variety, chicken,pork beef or lamb and fish as well as various vegetables. The fruit might have been a little light at times though. The bread however was fabulous. The had an in house bakery and most of the time it tasted like it just came out of the oven. The a la carts were ok and pleasant for a change. For the buffet if you got there when it opened you you had your choice of either inside or on the patio (our preference) otherwise you probably had to wait. There was no danger of running out of food, just places to eat. Because itís two resorts, people from the other one come up for a meal, and why not the outside view on the patio was great, but it did make it a bit crowded at times. One thing we did notice was the lack of birds around the eating area (a common complaint at other resorts) canít explain why but enjoyed their absence. There were local entertainers ready to sing your favourite cuban song for a peso or two. Very enjoyable.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Weíre beach people and while the beach is dark sand, it was easy to walk on with very few rocks or shells. We are big into snorkelling but the snorkelling had to wait till we went to Cayo Blanco where we got to see all the usual suspects except the large barracuda that decided to follow us for a bit. The island itself was a treat to visit. With beach bar, great lunch, including lobster, if you signed up for it, and soft white sand, it was a great relaxing place to be.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
In the evening there was nightly entertainment however because we tend to be up early we didnít see many of the shows as we usually crashed by then. What we did see we found enjoyable and worth the time. There is also wifi available however only at the Marea section. Which meant a daily walk to the other resort and maybe a coffee in the lobby or by the pool. They did have a computer at the Farallon but I found the wifi easy to check what I need to and get and sign out quickly.

Other Comments:
In the evening there was nightly entertainment however because we tend to be up early we didnít see many of the shows as we usually crashed by then. What we did see we found enjoyable and worth the time. There is also wifi available however only at the Marea section. Which meant a daily walk to the other resort and maybe a coffee in the lobby or by the pool. They did have a computer at the Farallon but I found the wifi easy to check what I need to and get and sign out quickly.
Would we go back? Definitely! We met some really nice people (many of them repeaters) and the staff were pleasant and efficient. Lastly, if you look up my channel on YouTube (MrJarArt) Iíll be posting a few videos of this resort soon and add to my collection of other Cuban resorts weíve been to.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Old and Boring"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lori  on Feb 5, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2016 | Leisure | With Group
41 people found this review helpful

The rooms are 100 ft from the ocean yes, but were built for soldiers coming in from sea back during the Revolution, just awful. so small and hard hard bed, I am sure it was from the soldiers days.Portable TV (old style) didnt work, one cuban station only. The balcony had room for one chair and was crammed next to your neighbor, and again just not adequate. Glass pull door to balcony stuck so badly had to open with both hands. So the rooms by ocean were AWFUL. I did hear that the cabana rooms were much nicer so probably your best bet. the dining room reminded me of a Retirement Home, no view, no airflow and curtains all along one wall (hence the Seniors residence feel) Food was VERY repetetive and very boring, once we discovered the Fallon Dining Room we made the hike and ate there, I would say Fallon rated 3 stars for sure on the food. Marea beach is dark brown sand, constant waves which chrn up sand. You had to go out in a Catamaran to see the turquoise water. the pool is small and unimaginative. The rsort staff were friendly though but I will try a four star next time I go to cuba as this was my first time and granted it was cheap,, but facilities just sucked..........

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"goods and bads of hotel marea portillo"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  paul  on Jan 24, 2016  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2015 | Leisure | Solo
42 people found this review helpful

26 times to this resort
and i will be back
and i am so proud of this resort for listening
i requested that my cuban friends could move their souvenir tables closer to the resort
in front of the tennis courts and guess what
the manager okeyed it
this is FABULOUS NEWS now my friends are swamped with tourists buying their things
before they were way too far away from the hotel
i am so proud of the hotel for making this change
- the improvments which could be make
1) more fans in the restaurant in the summer so so hot
2) put more security guards in the middle of the night near cabanas
3) get more scooters and bicycles to rent out
4) tell the manager of security and security worker to learn english
5) front reception should have low change eg. 1 or 3 dollar pesos bills at all times
6) tell the bell boys to allow guest to pull their own luggage to their room if they wish
7) if a hotel guest complains to the hotel and police about a robbery then the police need to act on it asap not one month later
8) get fresh orange juice in the restaurant
9 ) the workers need to stop asking for things all the time from guests
10) sunwing needs to stop harassing bike owners and making them open the bike boxes in toronto it is so so silly if it is over 20 km the person pays great place to put stuffed small animals for the 2 yrs olds since they take up much space in the suitcase and stop charging 30.00 to take a bike down to cuba charge it on the way back
cuba is safe and a great place to visit
but i am so happy i am canadian
gord
wasaga beach ontario candad

Arrival:
okay

Rooms:
okay

Restaurants and Bars:
okay

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
sand is hot

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
vollyball should be organized
11.00am

Other Comments:
alfredo beach bar bartender needs to be removed
rude

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fun time, but be careful if you have mobility issues"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sylvia  on Dec 14, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2015 | Leisure | With Group
61 people found this review helpful

We went with a group of 18, and never ran out of things to do or people to do it with. I was recovering from a broken hip and had some issues that others with mobility problems might find helpful. There is a big dip into the ocean when you first walk in, that if you don't know about, can take you by surprise and cause you to stumble going in and out of the water. Also the waves breaking can knock you over if your legs are not strong enough. No problem walking the beach as the sand is firm. There are many different levels going from the pool to the bar, that some people missed seeing, and ended up falling - so watch for the little changes in floor levels. Also the stairs to the cabanas proved challenging for some, causing sprained ankles in a few the week I stayed there. The boat for the sunset cruise and island tour requires you to climb stairs or a ladder to get to the top level. I was not told this before hand. I did manage to climb the stairs to the front of the boat, but could not do the ladder. We stayed in bottom cabana, so that was helpful. The walk to Farallon was good, till you had to climb stairs that were missing the hand rails, so that made it a bit tricky. The pool there was easy to get into. The pool at Marea has a big first step in which required a few of us to call the lifeguard to help us out. So, if you are in great shape this place is a lot of fun, but if you have mobility issues, be very careful!

Room Number:
33

Room Block:
pink building

Arrival:
Dec.2, 2015

Rooms:
Room was okay, the ceilings were scary

Restaurants and Bars:
Marea restaurant needs air conditioning - too hot in there. Bars were fine

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool and beach areas neat and clean

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We enjoyed stretch classes and water aerobics with Henry.

Other Comments:
Lovely place, great price. Very long bus ride to and from airport. Takes too long at the airport. Have to climb stairs at the airport to get up into departure area. People in wheelchairs had to climb off the plane and back on the plane. They did get assistance, but a ramp might make things easier. I can't understand why people in wheelchairs come here. They don't make things easy for them.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"good value- food- location for safe cycling"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  paul  on Dec 1, 2015  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2015 | Leisure | Solo
58 people found this review helpful

But always a but
dont trust the cubans in marea- their job is to rip trick the tourists - i helped a family there leonardo who works at the banana plantation- he tricked me and said he would store my perfect mnt bike- he waited till i left then sold it for 200 convertible dollars- installed a new door window and extension on his house in marea- pathetic
and 90 % of marea cubans will do the same- so enjoy but keep your valuables safe and do not trust any of them.
i have been tricked with 6 bicycles - so i trust no cubans now
but- it is awesome to bike down the coast very little traffic- and the weather and service at the hotel is very good.
in oct the immigration at airport - had a bee up there... stopping many tourists and charging one guy who had a 80.00 wrench set 150.00 convertible in import tax pathetic
make sure you say it is for your own use- and always put under 50.00
the rules change every month- bit of a joke
never be afraid in cub as long as you - mind and respect the laws there.
i have been 63 times to cuba- and i have no fear- it is my escape from the ontario communist queens park laws that ontarians have to face every day.
club amigo in holguin is my second choice
good beach and cheap
good disco- and 24 hrs cuban hang out for ...

Other Comments:
there is talk of them buiding a new airport
north of pillon
and another new resort in the area to accomodate the gringos from the states
the bus ride is too long from manzanillo

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"They say Welcome Home"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Barbara  on Nov 9, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2015 | Leisure | With friend
70 people found this review helpful

You are made welcome the minute you reach the Hotel. Food is a lot better now and the Staff is always Friendly and Helpful. The Entertainment at night has greatly improved with Beautiful Costumes and Dancing. The Singing was wonderful and the Cuban Singer Palomino opened our Hearts to his wonderful Cuban Songs. The Whole Show is a Tribute to Cuba. The Bar tenders are Happy and Friendly. Morning water aerobics and afternoon entertainment BINGO is so worth attending. I will be back and bring more Friends.

Room Number:
50

Room Block:
Cabana

Arrival:
October 14th, 2015

Rooms:
Clean and the Maids are very good. No worries there.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food in the Restaurants are very good now but we did take Peanut Butter and Sweet Chili Sauce.
Bars are very friendly and quick too.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Happy to have gone - not to return"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  diane  on Feb 24, 2015  >  7 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2015 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
128 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
220

Arrival:
Arrival at the airport was a painful process...waiting waiting and more waiting for the luggage. We rented a cab from the airport to the resort and arrived not too far ahead of the bus. The ride was a long 1 1/2 hours and as others have stated the highway resembled more of a cow path at times, and it's a drive that one should definitely take on the bus. Cabbing it was fun though.

Rooms:
The hotel itself has quite a nice physical layout. We were on the second floor and the view from our room was spectacular. Overlooking the ocean and the mountains in the background made for a relaxing time on the balcony. Extremely lovely to wake up & sit on the balcony watching the sun rise - breathtaking actually.
We had a very large room that provided an awesome balcony with two chairs and small table. Plenty of hot water with great water pressure. Clean towels provided daily and never a shortage. Beds were just fine. Fridge worked well and it's always nice to have cold drinks in the room. They only had one 110 v outlet in the bathroom so if you require a c-pap or alarm clock by your bed, bring your converter.

Restaurants and Bars:
The service from staff was nothing short of amazing. They couldn't do enough for us and with a few minor requests, they were fulfilled immediately. Service in the dining rooms was terrific and we couldn't help but have fun with some of the staff - they do love a sense of humour. Now for the negative. The buffet was unbelievable and by by that I mean horrible. If you weren't there at 6:00 pm there wasn't much left by 7:00. Food is not replenished and basically you take what you get that is leftover. Thankfully, there was always soup and a few buns left. The food was not hot at all which made for an even more miserable meal. There was no white wine at all during the week. By the second last day, they ran out of red wine. There was a poor excuse for a rose wine which was better than nothing I guess. We were surprised that there was no pasta except for one evening. It's usually our "go to" meal when the meat is somewhat of a mystery. Butter was only available on one day, the beginning of our week. All in all, they failed miserably in the buffet department. We are definitely not foodies at all, but there is a level of expectation even for a basic buffet. First resort we've ever gone to where you had to line up for the buffet ! Yes, we had to wait a considerable amount of time. Many guests from the Marea were taking all their meals here and I think, there has to be a better system which should only allow a particular amount of guests (from the Marea) per meal via reservation maybe? We did pay the extra for this hotel and Farallon guests were put out. Maybe that's why they ran out of food often. ? We didn't have lunch at the buffet so can't comment on that. Snack bar served up some good snacks ! The chicken burgers were great and looked like it was the favourite of many people. Pizzas were also quite delicious. Oh, again by the second last day, there were no more pizzas available. Our feelings were re-iterated by many a repeat guest so we did feel justified in our complaints.
Bars were busy but service was quick - they offered a good range of drinks. For the beer lovers if you don't like Buccanero, you were out of luck as that's all they served. You could buy Cristal at the store and be happy that there is a fridge in the room. If you go to Cayo Blanco, they serve Cristal there. As far as rum drinks were, some were good and some not. That's just a personal taste though.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We explored the hotel as well as the Marea and found that we enjoyed the beach area of the Farallon much better. Yes, the beach was nicer/better at the Marea but we really enjoyed the "vibe" at the lesser beach. It felt like our own little slice of paradise with lovely privacy to just kick back & listen to the waves and sounds of the area although the water wasn't great for swimming. The walk to the Marea wasn't so bad and it is a nice option to visit back & forth.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The Cayo Blanco beach tour is a must-do. It was alot of fun and the beach was wonderful. Food was plentiful and lots of drinks available. Definitely worth it to go.

Other Comments:
Would we return? No. In fairness though, the drive to the resort was much too long and for that, we have decided to stick to resorts with a shorter travel time. The buffet was our personal worst and we have very low expectations, but really - food shortages? Service & happy staff made up for the negatives we encountered. Of course, all in all we were in Cuba with great sunshine & heat and our goal was met by getting out of this northern weather. Pat and Diane

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"54 times to cuba"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  paul  on Nov 19, 2014  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
130 people found this review helpful

this hotel is for people over 50 years old
young people will be dissapointed
many repeat customers
21 times for me- i love the quietude-
lock your suitcases in this hotel- i have had the maid takes things many a time
tell the security men to stop asking my cuban friend to bring them beer
two hotel sections- many like the falloron- which is newer and has a swim up bar
the lower section is older
sunwing airlines needs a scolding!!! aug 27 they turn the plane around and i am 7 hrs delayed they give me a 75.00 voucher- an insult
then my oct 29th trip- the return - 7 hrs delaysbecause an engine would not start
i am awaiting my vouchre amnt??
they charged me 70.00 in aug- to bring an older mnt bike to a poor cuban family
what a joke!!
in march they charged me 120.00 overweight- i explained i only had gifts for three poor families in cuba- they luv to use my credit card
dont trust cubans- they will take and take- and tell you stories
protect yur goods
enjoy the weather
dont worry
wear sunscreen
laugh
forget about our pathetic communist greedy ontario government who takes and steals our money every year in ontario- mpac, gas , hydro, gasoline, 6 taxes,
cubans do not know how lucky they are with good
weather
free medical
free education
and 2.00 per monthin a hydro bill
gord
wasaga beach ontario canada

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"outstanding"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Col  on Nov 15, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
151 people found this review helpful

The Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo hotel is one of the best hotels in this particular area. This year I have decided to visit Cuba with my wife and spent some time together after all that long working hours back in Canada. To be honest, we both needed this vacation and Cuba was the perfect destination for something like that. This was my third time to go to Cuba and I'm satisfied once again. We didnít know much about the hotel at the beginning, but it doesnít matter the place was really great.
The flight was a bit long because we had to deal with a huge procedure at the passport control. This was the first time something like that to happen. Anyway, after a certain time we arrived at the hotel lobby and not long after we were in our rooms. First of all the hotel looks amazing just by looking at it from outside. The lobby is huge enough just like the rooms. The rooms look perfectly clear which means that the hotel has high hygiene standards. The toilet is also very clean, which was very important for me. All the installed electronics were working perfectly fine all the time. There was hot water all the time and the air conditioning was also great. The additional facilities around the hotel are in great condition and clean all the time, so me and my wife were both happy about that.
When it comes to the food I have only one word to say- amazing. There wasnít even one single meal that was tasting funny or smelling bad. So the food is something that you shouldnít avoid at any cost. The personnel is outstanding. They are available all the time of the day or night on any day of the week.
All in all the Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo hotel is a place that I would recommend to every person, no matter if you are travelling alone or with your family or friends. The conditions are really great and the standards are high the only thing that is low is the price.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"basically heaven on earth"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  darlington  on Sep 10, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
152 people found this review helpful

Basically, the hotel is like heaven on earth, the serenity is amazing, very quiet yet good place. The landscape is something else, beautiful cannot begin to quantify it but it is very pretty. The room has a nice balcony where you can sit and watch people from there; it is such a good view. The pool is nice and then the swim up pool is great because they serve tropical drinks. I read plenty of reviews before I went to this place and all of them had nothing but good things to say about the hotel so I had to go see for myself what the fuzz was all about. I even had an expectation of what the place would be like but what I saw was way above what I expected, it was simply an amazing vacation for me and I will come here for my honeymoon as soon I prepare for the trip. The food choices were way better than some hotels I have gone to, although sometimes, they had little choices than normal but the ones they had was great. The entertainment team really tried their best; they made sure everybody was happy. They had or put up shows to entertain their guests and it was fun. Marea del Portillo is a nice place, overall the area is peaceful and relaxing and I couldnít have asked for a better time in Cuba than what I experienced. Thanks to the management for a great time in their hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube