Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Granma Province Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sierra Maestra

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 22, 2014

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo  

Km 12 1/2 Marea del Portillo, Pilon, Gramma, Cuba

"average age is 60"
Posted by: paul  on Dec 14, 2016
see all reviews

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Reviews
Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Pictures and Information
Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Granma Province Cuba

#1
of 4 Hotels in Granma Province

User rating 3.3

Based on 44 reviews

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Information


Club Amigo Marea del Portillo is a complex that include Farallon del Caribe and Marea del Portillo properties.

The complex is surrounded harmoniously by the combination of the Caribbean Sea with all its attributes, and the mountain; giving it a matchless beauty and offering to its guest a pleasant stay, in a tropical atmosphere that offers security and tranquility, ideal for vacations with the family, Honeymoons, Diving, activities with the nature and more.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Reviews

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 3.3 of 5 44 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  20
Average
  13
Poor
  6
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (44)
Party (1)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (10)
Solo Traveller (14)
With friend (5)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (13)
Solo
21 - 30 of 44

"The marea only gets better!!!"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  paul gordon  on Mar 25, 2012  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
335 people found this review helpful

got 100 km of cycling in for the week- along the ocean road
deviled eggs and canadian bacan for breakfast
fresh fish for lunch
better entertainment this trip- the band is so so so talented
room clean- and good maid service
excellent security for marea hotel
new scooters!!
electric car worked
never ran out of beer!!
they listened to and obtained a second computer!!
money exchange was 97 wow wow wow!!!!
NEGATIVES
SUNWING- dinged me for 220.00 for overweight- when the second suitcase was full of baby supplies, running shoes, flashlight, sunglasses- baseball gloves etc- humanitarian supplies- i will deal with sunwing- i have spent 30.000.00 in last 9 yrs going to cuba.
sunwing has always been fair- in the past with me!!!
- they need to move the fresh water machine back to the fast food - takes too long asking the bartender for fresh water all the time.
ALSO- HIRE THE YOUNG MECHANIC FOR THE BICYCLES- there is only 4 bikes that work for the tourists- out of 25- which need tires and tubes- he is not working - i went to his house in marea and gave his wife many baby things- they have a 3 month year old boy named paul-pablo-
over all a wonderfull vacation
marea staff- be proud- it is my cielo heaven for peace and happiness
i luv the locals- i took them out for some dinners which was a treat for them
senor denero abrazo
from wasaga beach
ontario canada

Arrival:
fast

Rooms:
clean

Restaurants and Bars:
good food and service

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
gooed

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
need to anounce for volley ball for 11.00am each day with port. speaker

Other Comments:
i will be back next winter with sunwing
dec 1
jan 5
feb 9
march 15th

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amaazing and relaxing."

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Carrie  on Mar 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
362 people found this review helpful

I am 17 years old and I travelled with my mother and my twin sister, we stayed at the farallon hotel, to me the stay was wonderful I plan on going back with my friends when I turn 20. Our flight left at 6:10am and arrived at 10:30, the bus ride was 2 hours. As soon as you get to the hotel they accompany you with drinks. The hotel workers will carry your baggage to your room. If you are a person that is looking for back time I reccomend the VIP package, If you want to sight see I would reccomend the VIP premier package. Beach is lovley and they mark it off with flags. Red: Don't swim because there are sea urchants that you can step on, Yellow:Swim at risk, Green:you can swim, white:distributes the life guards.

The bridge you see in all the pictures that goes over the pool is located at the farallon hotel. Entertainment starts at 9pm I reccoment you go to Maria del portillo (the one on the bottom of the hill). THe have a disco that runs until 2am, and the excrusions I reccomend: you can do a horse ride, the jeep excrusion, the tres villages, the sunset cruise, the river cruise, and much more.

The best time to go is during winter, it is really hot over there so bring lots of sunscreen and your summer wear. The food is delicious there is flavour, I reccomend trying to just eat on your resort and don't eat to much as your stomach has never had this food before.

If you go to cayo blancho they give you a lobster lunch DELICIOUS. but because I don't eat sea food at all I got alittle upset stomach but it wasnt anything major, I slept it off.

The overally stay I would give it 5 stars. But a hint to people it is a 3rd world country do not expect to get the same as what Canada gives you. Oh and bugs I never saw a bug my whole trip besides the leaf bugs it's more lizards and Igaunas but they dont touch you.

There is stray animals they walk all over the place, they are nice pets. I petted them all but the goats wouldn't let me touch them. I petted the horses when I saw them in the trees eating grass. and when i saw a dog on the beach. But let them smell you first and if they back off dont go towards them.

Room Number:
311

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Smoking or NO SMOKING Room"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Darlene  on Feb 23, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
352 people found this review helpful

This was my 3rd trip to Manzanillo - once at Farallon and 2nd at Marea del Portillo. I was happy to have gotten a cabana! However, whoever had occupied this cabana before me had been smoking for two months and obviously did not have the consideration for the next guests who would be occupying this room. It was disgusting and I ended up in this room for 6 nights which as far as I am concerned ruined my first week of holiday. They tried everything short of painting the whole unit and still you could smell smoke and by this time had penetrated into my clothing hanging in the closet. I was eventually moved to a different room which was smoke - free. Hope this problem gets resolved as I do plan to return. Smokers need to be more considerate and do your smoking outside the rooms for obvious reasons to MOST people.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"At the end of the earth"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  alan  on Feb 12, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
340 people found this review helpful

Weather good and hot, very dry area, average temp 25C, stayed at the farllon complex,up on hill about 1 km from main complex,staff very nice,no elevator in a 3 floor building, swim up pool bar was a first for me, very nice,you notice people can drink a lot and never need a toilet?, average age of the people a the farllon was 60yr olds, at the main complex marea del portillo it's 70yr olds.
they line up 10 deep to get feed at 6pm.

Room Number:
437

Room Block:
farllon,east wing

Arrival:
small airport, you walk off the plain onto the tarmac,i think the only international flights they ever get are from toronto and montreal, and only on thursday, so you are stuck there till next thursday. then you get on a bus and 1.5 hr trip on the worst roads you ever been on. so hope you don't need a toilet to often.

Rooms:
nice room, 2x 3/4 beds,wonderful view, my maid Mary BELL was wonderfull,but the pillow on the 2nd bed was never there .a few maintance issues, the railing on the balcony didn't feel very stong, the drain in the shower didnt work most of the time.

Restaurants and Bars:
the buffet was fine,the had hp sauce that helped spice things up. staff were helpful.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
pool was clean and fun to be around.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
jeep safari was a great ride thur the mountains,on extreme steep and ruff trails , all jeeps are driven by professional drivers,mine was BENNODICTO ,nice guy.
cost 59 cuc
the sunset boat trip was worth it 2hr trip, you have to meet the boat at the dock,leaves at 5pm. or you on the next day trip right DAN . cost 15cuc
BAYAMO day trip 12hr trip,very poor roads, lots of shops to look at in bayamo,a good wax museum,check out the crazy old lady that danced in the streets of bayamo and use to flash everybody,great statue, you just can't make up shit like that.the trip guide was LETICIA ,she was very professional,spoke great english/french, she has a 4yr and 8yr old daughters, and great to look at.

Other Comments:
the most help i got was from a man named EDWARDO , he was the cubican trip agent,and he could get things/or info/ done.i couldn't give this man enought
thanks.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"5 times to marea portillo in south cuba"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  paul  on Jan 14, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
261 people found this review helpful

rained one day
good service and food
very private location
ocean was warm
they need more canadian bacon
and more computers for email

Restaurants and Bars:
fresh fish

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
clean

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
they need to get vollyball going in am

Other Comments:
i will be back in march

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Theft at Farallon"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  dariusz  on Dec 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
286 people found this review helpful

It is a nice resort, but be aware of your money on the beach. There are local men hiding in the bushes by the beach. They seem to be trying to sell you shells, necklesses and other items, but in fact they are watching you all day long.
Given opportunity thay may go for your money or other belongings. The hotel security seems to be tolerant of those men although they are not hotel employees. Strange.

Room Number:
313

Room Block:
farallon

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Marea del Portillo - Club Amigo"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ted  on Oct 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
318 people found this review helpful

My wife and I spent a week here early October 2011, first time to this resort, 5th trip to Cuba. Normally we are in the Cayo Coco area.
Found this to be a smaller, friendly, relaxing place, 1 pool, less windy than CC. Typical food, no complaints, but less variety than larger resorts. Kept VERY clean, and never lack of hot water. We were about 50 yards from the beach of brown sand, in a lower cabana. Weather forecast before we left Canada was for a week of rain, and it did rain early mornings and sometimes evenings, but never enough to prevent sunny days (hot!) and activities. Only rained one full day when we went to Santiago by vehicle on an extremely damaged road. Cuba does not have the money to repair frequent hurricane damage, and this road was in poor enough shape to slow the trip considerably.
We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Nurse visited our cabana 4 times when wife came down with something that caused diarrhoea and vomiting, seemed genuinely concerned.
Did get many bites from no see ums and mosquitos, probably on the beach. Good value for money, you get what you pay for. Rated as a 3 star resort in ads.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Club Amigo - Marea del Portillo 04-12 Oct 2011"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Edward  on Oct 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
299 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
Cabana 21

Rooms:
Older part of the resort? Clean ground floor room, with holes through the wall around the door frame. Bathroom faucet assembly turned with the tap when turning on. Enough hot water after letting it run a bit, but no exhaust fan or vent other than a small window fitted with angled wooden slats. Very steamy situation after a shower.
Our room faced the water, about 40-50 yards.

Restaurants and Bars:
Typical buffet. Small resort, less people, less variety in meals. I understand Cuba, and do not usually expect much from a thrid-world communist country, but the food did get rather repetitive after about day 4. Usually one dish each of fish, pork, chicken, beef from which to choose. Very clean resort. Only one other small restaurant, Italian. Not great, but OK.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is brown sand, not very fine. Eaten alive by no see ums and mosquitos, usually sitting in the evening at the bar or walking the beach. Lots of scratching now.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Scuba diving & lessons. Snorkling, three-village tour, sunset "cruise" in a small boat. Tour to Santiago (CUC95). You pay for all above. Free bicycles to use at resort. Tour to Santiago takes 4 hrs to get there (120 miles). Punishing, uncomfortable, almost painful ride along the coast road which is the worst I have ever seen anywhere. A lot of hurricane road damage, VERY rough ride. Guide and driver supplied.

Other Comments:
You get what you pay for. I understand that accommodation may have been better (different building) had we paid extra for the "VIP" pkg.
This resort is small, no big crowds, easy to get to know other tourists, quiet. There is a much larger hotel a couple of km away, up on a hillside, that was closed while we were there. Didnt visit.
This was our 5th trip to Cuba.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Friendliest place in Cuba"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Karen  on Oct 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
267 people found this review helpful

I just returned from the Marea on Oct 5th from my 15th visit. I have never been disappointed by the people or the hotel. If you have never visited Cuba before, you may be in for a shock. This is definitely not the place for people who want lots of excitement. Small fishing village to one side of the resort and a town of 20,000 12km away. Very quiet and peaceful. There are many Canadians who are repeat guests, some coming for 20 years.

Room Number:
Cabana 1

Room Block:
Cabanas

Arrival:
Airport is nothing like Toronto, although I have experienced less of a wait in Cuba. You will walk from the tarmac into the terminal to clear customs. Once through, grab you bags and head to the bus. Elena, the Sunwing rep will make sure you get on the right bus. Since you will wait a bit for the buses to leave, cold cerveza is abailable for $1cuc.

Rooms:
Cleaned daily. Nothing fancy, but most will only sleep there.

Restaurants and Bars:
I have never had a problem with the food. I actually find it quite good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach, pool and grounds are kept clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Hit the street dance in Pilon every Sat night. $5cuc for the bus to drop you off and pick you up. Lots of fun!

Other Comments:
Be realistic of a 3 star hotel and what you are paying. My last trip, the person who paid $350 total for the trip was the biggest complainer.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Value for your money, beautiful atmosphere"

Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo
User Rating:  Cubanacan Club Amigo Marea del Portillo Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Brandie  on Jul 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
388 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
Cabana 8

Room Block:
Cabanas Section

Arrival:
If you havent been to cuba before its a bit of a culture shock
the airport is very rural.
they are not bad with the arrival but there is a wait for your bags.
the bus has a/c and is actually really nice. so expect 30-60 min in the airport before you board the bus. you will meet elena she is the sunwing rep and she will make sure you board and get on the bus.
Advice * go on the bus your luggage does*

Rooms:
I was in a cabana
The chamber maids keep the rooms very clean
and are there everyday.
there was the odd bug, but your in cuba ( there in your house at home sometimes too so dont complain)
They heat there water with solar power, so sometimes the water isnt very hot and sometimes it will burn so you will figure out the best times to shower.
I found mid day the best.
There is a tv but there arnt many channels 10 i think.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was alright cuban and canadian
bars were great
the a la carte amici was great, nice spin on italian food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was great, beautiful
and in may there isnt alot of people so there was always
a sun shelter and chairs available and the life guards
kept it fairly clean.
Sand is REALLY REALLY hot from 11-5 so must wear sandals.
water was always warm and calm and the weather was great only
rained once at night and even that was warm it was great.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The excursions are nice
i took the 3 ville tour ( very informative and shows you true cuba)
I went into town on the sat for the party with the locals
very nice, cubans are so much fun and very sweet. but you will get asked
for things, I brought a bag of stuff from the dollar store and they were so happy. toilet paper is a luxury in the towns so bring some with you or you will get stuck. some spots do not have doors or toilet seats too so just a little note.
I also went on the sunset/lagoon cruise, very nice highly reccomend it.
and the trip to cayo blanco with the lobster lunch its great do it.
but its 10 degrees hotter then the hotel beach area so prepare for that.
30spf is recommended i had a lower one and got burnt.
remember closer to the equator what works in canada doenst work there...LOL
if you get a chance to go on the excursions with nelson, go he is the best, really sweet and you will remember his laugh forever!

Other Comments:
Overall great experience
its not a 5 star and its not party central
if you want to relax, drink and dance its a nice place
its not jersey shore worthy for the young party goers.
it a calm fun atmosphere
and i read about prostitutes.
I wont lie, yes there is some of that there
but its not like toronto when they stand on the corner, most of
the times its the tourists that request it from the locals when they are around and if your poor its not something you will say no to.
but ive seen this type of thing when i was in jamaica, mexico, dominican and aruba so its nothing to condemn the hotel and cuba for.

im going back in sept with my kids and im looking forward to it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube